Submitted by Sampoochie
Mia Mottley, Chair of the Public Accounts Committee

I could not believe my ears when I heard the news today of the suspension of live broadcast of the Public Accounts Committee meeting. What`s even more deceitful is the ploy to put it to vote, “Should  the public be allowed to sit in on theses meetings?.”

Is this the same DLP which was given a second mandate after begging on February 15?

Could it be that Minister Ronald Jones was covertly telling us cracking heads maybe necessary to ensure our freedoms are not eroded?

Should the DLP continue in stifling open government, perhaps the fate that visited the Tilman Thomas  administration will also knock. Prayer tells me the DLP will implode before anarchy visits upon us.

69 responses to “These Days Maybe Funny Nites In Barbados?”

1. Oh God what is Alvin Cummins’ problem? Is he in Canada or one of the constituency councillors?

2. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

How silly is the Leader of the Opposition going look when the Parliament of Barbados refuses to suspend the Standing Orders so that the PAC can take evidence from witnesses in public?

The issue is not one of quorum for meetings or her constitutional standing at the automatic chairman of the PAC, it is that she cannot make the rules as and when she wants, for its functioning. She has to abide by the Standing Orders of Parliament, the work of the PAC is not political, it is oversight in nature so Ms Mottley should not be concerned with trying her level best to breach the Standing Orders so that she can score cheap political points at the expense of civil servants reputations.

3. In MAM’s defense we have to agree that several LOO over the years have failed to mobilise the PAC. She has good ground to make alot of noise if we are to judge from the lack of action of the Auditor General’s reports. At this stage it seems that she had a flawed strategy which has been exposed. A little surprise that she would have painted herself in this position.

4. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well, Remember before Independencw we were part of the British Empire and thus were subject to the rules and regulations of the colonial Office. The Official Secrets Act; Canada also has it as a former member of

the United Kingdom,:People working with sensitive information are commonly required to sign a statement to the effect that they agree to abide by the restrictions of the Official Secrets Act. This is popularly referred to as “signing the Official Secrets Act”. Signing this has no effect on which actions are legal, as the act is a law, not a contract, and individuals are bound by it whether or not they have signed it. Signing it is intended more as a reminder to the person that they are under such obligations. To this end, it is common to sign this statement both before and after a period of employment that involves access to secrets.

5. @Alvin

We all get the Secrets Act business.

6. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@WellWell: to continue. the purpose was not to protect politicians, but ot protect the ordinary peopleso that those who had(have) access to sensitive information could not bring our the “people” business and expose it to any and every person. As far as I can remember the penalty for breach was very severe. It was a long time ago but I don’t remember hearing that it has been repealed. As a matter of fact, if my memory serves me right, it was strengthened by the introduction of the Public Order Act sometime in the 1870’s. Governments take this very seriouslyThus civil Servants are not free to discuss the Public’s Business unless ordered to do so by legal authority/

7. Alvin…….i got all of that, however Barbados is supposed to be ‘independent’ and employees as i know it whether you are civil servant or not are bonded to abide by and acknowledge their terms of employment which involves signing non-disclosure documents…..however, Canada has transparency as it relates to taxpayers best interests, they cannot hide behind any secrecy acts when it comes to doing the people’s business in a transparent manner………the taxpayers have a right to hear what is going on and the parliament and government has the power to release the information unless there is something to hide.

8. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well Correction the Public Order Act was brought in in the 1970’s not 1870’s. Slighr “lapsus memorae”
    The discussions in Parliament are broadcast every time parliament and the Senate meet. When debates take place regarding the estimates or expenditure or the Budget, the entire sitting is televised as well as broadcast on the radio. The reports are also carried verbatim in all the news madia, so there are no secrets withheld. the Auditor General’s report is carried in full in the Newspapers and there is free and full discussion every day on the call in programs. The line is drawn where disclosure of persons’ information is inolved. The Central Bank Reports are printed and available on line and in printeed formThe act prevents the Civil Servants from being able to use information that passes through their hands to be used against citizens in any way. Thus if your relative was receiving a pension, a civil servant can’t come and tell you that information. He would be in contravention of the Official Secrets Act, and subject to legal penalty/ So don’t look at it as a penalty against persons look at it as a bebefit for theprivacy of the individual.
    All reports of committee are subject to debate in Parliament so any findings in the PAC report of that committee would be fully ventilated in Parliament and every citizen would be made aware of anything that went on. have no fear. It has served us well in the past and will continue to serve us in the future.

9. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well
    In addition persons can obtain copies of Hansard from the government Printing office, as well as relevant acts regulations etc. The Official Gazette, also available from the government Printing Office which Gazettes the acts and regulations also gazettes apointments to positions etc. contraty to beliefs, there is no secrecy about government business. People just havae to get the facts; before they start to make stupid statements.

10. I’m shock to see that all of a sudden in Barbados you cannot criticize the government. Is Barbados now a Police State? Where if you say anything about the government you are told that some heads will get crack and some people shot. What does this government have to hide and is so afraid of all of a sudden.

11. Alvin…i know about the government printery, my question still is, the voting re PAC on whether the public should be privy to the information, transparency, if that information is already in the public domain, what is all the talk about whether taxpayers should know about it.

12. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Enuf
    It matters not where Alvin Cummins is. Wherever he is he is a Bajan; a Barbadian, a Loyal son, and wherever he is he will defend the interests of his country and voice his opinions. I too have the right to make stupid statements and be subject to censure; and I dDO make stupid statements . Not all the time though.

13. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well The talk is not about whether taxpayers should know about it.The discussion, from what I understand about it, is whether sittings of the PAC, in contravention of the standing orders of Parliament, should be broadcast. There is not an inquiry going on, neither has there been questions of infelicities. The Standing Ord orders of Parliament do not allow it, and there is not such an emergency or grave matter that the standing orders should be suspended.

14. Alvin…………to be honest, i do believe there should be some type of inquiry, though not at taxpayers expense, these little games being played by opposition as well as government are all nonproductive, standing orders not to do a broadcast means the taxpayers will not hear information concerning their best interests, at the end of the day the government is the servant and the taxpayers the masters….that always gets lost in the arrogant little games politicians love to play.

15. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well A well ordered society requuires rules regulations and standards to operate. Don’t see it as “playing games:, it is human nature for one person or group of persons to get the better of the other. We just have to be honest in our dealings. Unfortunately it is also human nature to try to cheat. not everyone does it, but it happens. How we handle it is a different matter.

16. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well The people will still get everything when it is debated in Parliament. . And in the heightened atmosphere that exists at the moment you can be sure that one side will try to take advantage of any infelcities. Do don’t bother your pretty little head. You are pretty aren’t you?

17. Do don’t bother your pretty little head. You are pretty aren’t you?
    Wait!
    You really went Cawmere?
    Pretty shiite! If she was pretty she would got time to be on a computer all day and night typing tripe?
    …she would be out showing off, being wined and dined and the other thingED….
    The damn woman is a witch ya joke…. How you think she know everything, been everywhere and spoke to everybody…. ON she damn BROOM….
    Steupssss

David, we didn’t vote to ban she?
    Wha kind of democracy you does run though?

Man ban she AND the nincompoop “pretty little head” Alvin do!

18. @ Bush Tea
    Rofl, Lol, couldn’t have said it better. My sentiments exactly!!

19. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bushie and Independent…”ban she…and…Alvin do” Sorry you stuck with both of us. I know you didn’t go to Cawmere. We (Cawmerians) got more sense than you showing.

Leave a Reply to The Dummy @ DumoCancel reply