UK Guardian
Photo: UK Guardian

At 32min.35sec of the Dr. David Estwick presentation of the Democratic Labour party (DLP) 2013 Manifesto Launch he laid out government’s strategic plan for restructuring  the sugar cane industry for generating valueaddeds by accepting financing from the Japanese.  That is diversification: using sugar cane to generate power (25,000 megawatts) by reducing the fuel bill by 150 million dollars among other recommendations. The cane industry restructuring project (CIRP) is estimated to cost 230 million dollars.

This project which Dr. Estwick unfolded during the political campaign in February 2013 has taken on critical importance given the planned expiry of European Union sugar quotas in 2015.  The resultant action is that it “would lead to a reduction in the price in the European market.  This in turn would make the EU market less attractive to the ACP and other higher cost exporters.” The bottomline is that countries in the Caribbean (including Barbados) would lose its preferential status in the EU market.

If the APD debate is any thing to go by it is unlikely Barbados and other Caribbean islands will be able to influence the 2015 deadline. Our only hope is if the quotas are removed by the EU it will create a problem for sugar cane refiners in the EU as well.  Barbados will be banking on the European Commission extending to deadline to 2017-20 given this consideration.

What is evident is that the EU’s commitment to reduce its carbon footprint which has given rise to the APD. And now EU’s further commitment to replacing imported sugar under the ACP-EU arrangement.   These two key forex generators (in the case of sugar other GDP factors come into play) are under threat. How Barbados is able to strategically respond in the narrow window available becomes a national imperative.

In light of the EC aggressive time table to expire preferential treatment for our sugar, Dr. Estwick’s plan to restructure the sugar cane industry has taken on urgent significance. Although there is nothing to suggest we couldn’t develop other markets for our sugar, the reality is that Barbados will not be the only game in town and even if we were to acquire new markets the price would be unattractive. The rapid diversification of the sugar cane industry as outlined by Estwick must be the plan.

Can we do it?

All of the above is detailed in a summary by David Jessop who is director of the Caribbean Council.

146 responses to “Sugar Cane Production: A Race Against the Clock”

1. old onion bags Avatar

If only these Democratic touts would put up and hush up and DO SOMETHING to relieve the poor hungry people of this land with solutions..instead we have a Dummy incarnate picking fights with another moniker…what D hell…Deal wid CLICO for the pensioners sake

Are you all aware of the numbers people who this evening will have nutting chops and wind-pipe for supper? And you all talkin BULL

2. old onion bags Avatar

That includes you too Bushie…..why you dont use all them brains David day ya have, to help out your just professed” party of choice ” out of this mess den?….since you now ready to vote AGAIN!

3. miller
    Although the cost of production has exceeded the selling price on the world market, Barbados has maintained the industry for its foreign exchange.
    To improve efficiency and maintain production costs the Barbados industry has also moved from being labour intensive to full mechanization.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Now ac to the rescue with the Distract Video Plan…cheezon bredds man….Tis thing ent so difficult…but it ent a walk ova…time you all do lil head work( not headmaster work) and take this country fWD>>>>>for cryin out loud

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | June 17, 2013 at 5:55 PM

Skippa, you could vote for whom the fcuk you want any time any day, ya hear! The miller does not give a damn either here or in hell!
    Let me tell you something, boy blue, the miller does not rice at the BLP, the DLP or at any other table in Bim. And you better get that in you ras ass bush pipe and smoke it.

Imagine a man who claims to be possessed of this BBE inspired intelligence defending a lying hypocritical incompetent administration that is putting your children’s future in jeopardy? Can you imagine a small 2X3 place where loads of people are unemployed and are walking around hungry or can’t get their gear (dope ) to sooth the pain of hopeless living?

Can’t you see that despite your BBE inspiration this piss poor administration is doing bare shite to your country that you, unlike the anunnaki, cannot just up and leave just so?

Man just take a drive or walkabout around Bim and see the awful dismally desperate state of the place while your kiss-me-ass idiot for a leader behaves like a true tampon hidden in a bloody hole!

When the frigging forex runs out later this year what the hell yare ou going to do? Continue to blame the blasted stupid corrupt BLP for seeling out Bim to foreigners or cuss the white man as is your modus operandi to justify incompetence and apologize for the current misfits?

6. old onion bags Avatar

And Bushie …I ent nah vagabond….fishing is a honest trade

7. Bushie,
    How dare you have a different opinion from The Blog Oracle…lol
    What a muppet..

8. A watch of Estwick’s presentation addresses the generation of energy from the sea.

9. @ David
    What electricity from what sea what?!?
    We can’t even get piece of cloth mek from the best cotton on earth that grows just so from a piece of plant in the ground…. or a National Bank run- and Estwick talking bout electricity from the sea…?
    ..so you mean that it is not obvious that the Dr. was bullshitting…? 🙂

@ Miller
    Bushie hope that you is a real real lawyer. No other profession could so routinely build straw men, only to then turn and pelt licks in them….
    When you see Bushie supporting ANY political party besides BBE? The Bush man voted for the LESSER of two evils – and from the looks of things there continues to be no change in the status.
    the DLP is bad, but wunna like wunna worser….And here you are not even in power, and looking to put lashes in Bushie’s old tail. Can you imagine if you was the AG? Or DPP?….no bozie…Bushie prefer to sink with sleepy Stuartie….than get crucify by your gang of vagabonds.

@ Onions
    You ARE a vagabond,….it is just that you never win a fight yet…
    Wait bozie, you is miller little poodle now…? Why are you running around nipping at all of his adversaries’ heels…?

10. @David

Bout how many years now THEY cant master running water thro a pipe. AND the pipe ALREADY in position.

Estwick wants us to beleive THEY can master generating power from the sea.

Reliable Government sources report, PM has publicly stated,the principle is so easy that he could;
    “Do it en muh sleep” !!!

Grace be unto GOD ,we SAVED!!!

11. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Maybe the problem in the sugar indutry is that the Chairman of the BAMC is an octogenarian or near there and its time to send him off.Maybe he is waiting to be nighted ….repeat nighted.
    Maybe its time the UWI recall and cancel the degrees it awarded to some of its graduates who became lying,deceitful,dishonest DLP ministers.Barbados can do without these pretenders to the truth who are not living up to the motto Oriens ex Occidente lux…a light arising from the west.Can one say,having heard this DLP pack of jokers who went to UWI that they truly represent a light arising from the west?Stuart?Estwick?Jones?Brathwaite?Inniss?Lashleys?Sinckler?Husbands?Todd?Are any of these exemplary in their conduct of the affairs of government?I give them all a failing grade and Barbados is the worst for it.As the Tourist Board was Sandy’s downfall,the Police Service will be the downfall of Stuart’s administration.

12. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Gabriel
    Who is the chairman?

13. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Dr Love
    It is your type of ignorance which defeats Barbados time and again. Nasty stupid jealousy, that’s all……nothing more, nothing less.

14. Is it still Dr George Reid who use to post on BU in 2008?

15. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Gabriel
    Its Brathwaite?

16. And that now bushy area ,on the right of the ABC Highway coming from the airport, just after the Newton Industrial / Balantyne Junction,which a few years ago were productive cane fields, is now sporting a Real Estate “For Sale” sign. Another concrete and permaclad estate in the making.

17. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

Last I heard it was Atlee Brathwaite..

18. @3in1 Dumo
    Pray tell; my erudite gentleman.
    That one may understand to which type of ignorance. it is, that you refer?
    Stupid? (In what manner?)
    or
    Jealous? (for what reason?)

Defeats of Barbados?? You can of course name them all?

Our eminent Estwick esq., should maybe have adjudged the value of attaching a pipe to your rear entrance and thereby obtaining,some of the excess gas not expended from the other extremity.
    Barbados would then have a limitless supply and single handedly you would have saved the day and be adjudged a “hero” of Barbados.
    A picture of your rear end could then be hung from the NI building ,for us to pay homage.

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

You damn fool, before suggesting reasons for BAMC, you should at least get the fact right. The chairman of BAMC is Dr. don Marshall not Dr. Atlee Brathwaite.
    No shortage of fools in Barbados and on BU

20. Gabriel
    “As the Tourist Board was Sandy’s downfall,the Police Service will be the downfall of Stuart’s administration”……………………..
    You are so right, with the breaking news that the Commissioner has been sent on leave immediately, your prediction may be very true! We have a corrupt government, an extremely incompetent AG who is clearly out of his depth, a government who changed the law to bring in what we now know is a CJ who is out of his depth, incompetent to the highest degree and a compliant GG who would signed anything this government tells him to sign.

We have a nasty government who was against Commissioner Dottin from the first day they got power. I hope Mr Dottin SUES them but then they have their lackey the CJ to mess the lawsuit up!

Now we know that Jones’ crack head comment was not mouth open, story jump out!

21. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Dr. Love

Clever but sad, all at the same time. You would not understand, it’s in the atmosphere and you are a lowly earthworm, eating mud and with no eyes to know or see anything.

22. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Wiretapping is a trapping?

23. @3in ! DumoThe Dummy @ Dumo | June 17, 2013 at 10:19 PM |

Dr. Love

Clever but sad, all at the same time. You would not understand, it’s in the atmosphere and you are a lowly earthworm, eating mud and with no eyes to know or see anything

NOT only do I not understand ,what you say is incapable of being understood.
    It is archetypal claptrap from a Psuedo educated type.
    “Clever”? In asking for an elucidation ,I would suggest that it is rather the opposite of clever.
    I am asking for “guidance and explanation” None is forthcoming from you.
    Just “Psuedospeak”
    It would apprear the “sad” part for you is that you are unable,to gather from your Psuedo Education sufficient “facts” to be able to answer the simplest of questions.

24. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

@Dumo the Dummy
    Your observation that Brathwaite is not chairman of BAMC is taken.As I understand it,and I stand to be corrected he is Chariman of BSIL and was or is again chairman of BWA.In so far as BAMC and BSIL and now add BWA to the mix, are concerned its a case of Jacobs’s voice and Esau’s hands.Talk of interlocking chairmanships!

25. Aligator Crab Avatar

I have always found the gentleman to be professional and helpful when it comes to national issues, you know otherwise?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | June 17, 2013 at 10:16 PM |

Now you are one smart dummy that knows exactly what is going on and who is doing what. So in order to show your inflated ego’s worth, please let us know the facts surrounding the following queries:

The Chairperson of the BAMC (as you rightly pointed out) Dr. D Marshall has made a number of pronouncements about the future of the sugar cane industry.
    Are we correct to say that he recently confirmed that the restructuring of the industry is scheduled to really come on stream later in the year starting this month with the closure of Andrews?

Did he also say that it would cost approx $400-450 million to finance this restructuring plan?
    Don’t you think we need to question this magical figure which by sheer coincidence is in the same ballpark for the building of a WTE plant to generate electricity to compete with the sugar cane/cum river tamarind electricity project at Andrews scheduled to come on stream around the same time as the WTE?

Don’t you think we have a right to answer the bullshit doctor where is this money coming from to start the project before year end when this administration can’t even the $150 million and counting to keep the University Campus that employs him from closing?

Don’t you think he can in the role of a political economy analyst also comment on the need for two separate statutory corporations in the form of the BADMC and the BSIL currently carrying out duplicating and overlapping functions under a restructured sugar industry and by extension the agricultural sector?

And to our good friend Mr. L. Parris the GM:
    We need to know how much electricity, it is estimated, would be generated by this sugarcane /river tamarind biomass project earmarked for a restructured Andrews?
    Is it in the ballpark area of 25 megawatts, 25,000 megawatts or 170,000 hours?
    Please clarify along with the plan to cultivate, harvest and process 330,000 tons of ripe canes along with 150,000 tons of river tamarind (we were of the view the river tamarind was to be converted into animal feed) each year right through the year to provide a constant supply of 170,000 hours of electricity to feed into the national grid.

Dummy, you know these friends of yours. After all, there is little difference between a liar and a bullshiter. What the goodly friendly doctor and his sidekick GM have done is to give a new twist to the saying “There’s many a slip ‘twixt the cup and the lip’.
    So speak up on their behalf and explain what really is going on especially with the financing arrangements.

The truth will indeed set you and your lying pals free.

27. Aligator Crab Avatar

@ millertheanunnaki

You should pose those questions to the Ministry of Agriculture, the General manager of BAMC, the Project Manager and Chairman at BCIC. Truth be told this project has been long in the planning and the GoB has no shortage of professional advisors on the project. Bosch from South Africa, Merabeni from Japan, KPMG and numerous others.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Aligator Crab | June 19, 2013 at 9:40 AM |

Since you know that the truth should be told then you do just that as you seem to know more than the Dummy.

We are just reacting to statements made by the chairperson of the BAMC Dr. Don Marshall on a VOB programme and what was said by the GM Mr. Parris in an interview by Barbados Today (today’s edition).

Are my queries to pertinently incisive for you?

How come professional advisors employed by the MoA (if they are so competently effective) have allowed the industry to fall to such sickening depths for it to be placed in the ICU?

The question to you again is where would the finances for such a massive project be coming from? South Africa, Japan, KPMG (all consultancies ad nauseam while putting money with associated kickbacks in friends and family pockets and their own)?

Or is it coming from the IDB, World Bank, EU, IMF or even the poor NIS including its forex?
    Are we going to see another Four Seasons financing fiasco in play with Andrews or is the money already in the kitty just ready for disbursement like easy NIS money for the Transport Board?

If there is one thing a back biter crab can’t do is to shut tight 9cover up) an a(l)ligator’s mouth with masking tape.

29. The sugar industry is in ICU because the BLP administration refused or were ignorant to realise the industry needed to be restructured and converted into a cane industry, plain and simple. It really not too complex fine the source of the problem but that does not help Barbados, what is important is that the solution has been identified and is fast becoming a reality

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Aligator Crab | June 19, 2013 at 12:10 PM

Are you ruefully admitting that the DLP has been a dismal failure in trying to rescue the sugar (cane) industry from terminal decline?
    Where is the difference, then, between the policies and performances of the two parties regarding this industry?

There you go again and again! Blame blame, blame! Blame the BLP!
    What about blaming the international recession for the fall off in demand for Bajan sugar despite the fact that output has fallen in 5 years from approx. 35,000 tons to approx 17,500 this year making it totally impossible for the country to meet its guaranteed export quota and thereby missing out vitally needed forex?

Let us quote some of the bullshit and pig manure excreting from the political anus of the DLP and its humbugs we the voters had to put up with over the last 5 years:

Let us first review the set of unfulfilled promises from the 2008 DLP playbook of lies and deceit:

“When the DLP demitted office it left behind a
    carefully crafted and financed programme for the
    rationalization of the sugar industry. Its primary
    target was to increase sugar output from the current
    level of around 50,000 tonnes up to 75,000
    tonnes. This target was based on the availability
    of the European Union preferential market and
    domestic demand. It envisaged bringing land back
    into sugar production through price support and
    other incentives for farmers.
    Sadly, this programme was abandoned and the now trumpeted
    BLP alternative to rescue the industry involves a
    mishmash of elements – energy and ethanol production
    from “fuel cane”, coupled with 30,000
    tonnes of raw sugar at an investment cost of $400
    million.
    Clearly, a DLP administration must revisit the
    current plans for the sugar sector, and determine
    their viability in the light of the continuing loss
    of sugar lands, the high costs of production in Barbados,
    and the need to obtain firm commitments
    from farmers to participate in any project for a
    sugar cane industry that may materialize. The
    Democratic Labour Party is convinced that sugar
    cane production is essential to environmental and
    ecological sustainability in Barbados, and will
    apply its best efforts to ensure that the maximum
    benefit is derived from the production of all the
    products and byproducts of the sugar cane plant.

What about fast forwarding to February 2013 and let us see if any thing has changed or deliberated excluded from their list of promises and performances.

THE NEW DLP ADMINISTRATION WILL:

“Implement the Cane Industry Restructuring
    Project (CIRP) to bring the sugar cane
    industry to at least a commercial break-even
    position;

Initiate an agreement with private owners of
    sugar cane lands to facilitate consolidation
    of farms and effect better management, the
    use of more technology and the increase in
    sugar cane yields;”

Does the below quote sound modernly familiar emanating from the DLP songbirds of plagiarists and the thieving of ideas now being trumpeted by a dishonest academic calling himself a don of a doctor marshalling his political support behind another pit bull now totally silenced by another dummy?

“Sadly, this programme was abandoned and the now trumpeted
    BLP alternative to rescue the industry involves a
    mishmash of elements – energy and ethanol production
    from “fuel cane”, coupled with 30,000
    tonnes of raw sugar at an investment cost of $400 million.”

31. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Export price (Bds $/tonne)
    $1,413.10 (2007)
    $1,622.62 (2008)
    $1,344.82 (2009)
    $914.39 (2010)
    $963.24 (2011)
    $1,014.55 (2012)

32. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Production cost (Bds $/tonne)
    2,641.26 (2007)
    3,043.56 (2008)
    3,003.00 (2009)
    3,450.00 (2010)
    4,010.00 (2011)
    4,148.00 (2012)

33. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Export Earnings (Bds $)
    46,295,800.00 (2007)
    45,050,634.00 (2008)
    40,750,306.00 (2009)
    22,144,100.00 (2010)
    21,737,000.00 (2011)
    23,661,015.00 (2012)

34. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Area harvested (acres):
    15,563.93 (2007)
    14,560.49 (2008)
    14,400.44 (2009)
    13,692.07 (2010)
    13,545.00 (2011)
    12,203.00 (2012)

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo

You have just unwittingly hoisted yourself by your own petard by providing statistical evidence to convict the current administration for gross incompetence and justification for exiting the industry altogether; as is the objective with the recent move to close Andrews.

It is patently obvious to identify a clear correlation between unit production cost and falling levels of production expressed in tons (which you deliberately omitted) in an industry burdened with very large fixed outlays like managers and office workers salaries.

The question to you is this: If you could not fix the problem in the last 5 years what makes you think you can do it in 2-3 with no money- either foreign or local -around to borrow to keep alive, even if in a comatose state, a sunset industry?

But please don’t try to answer that. It might just be well nigh impossible for you to do just that.

Maybe you can answer the following riddle:
    Since you described the miller as a eunuch and you have an undying interest in mating with it what do you think would result from such a union between an airhead for a dummy and a eunuch tied to a millstone of wisdom? Not a headless moron thick as two planks between the legs?

36. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller
    You don’t understand the issue, you are out of your depth when it comes to commodity prices, demand, production and cost. Revisit and eventually after a few days it will/should come to you.

37. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Now factor in the CLICO issue, given that they are the largest grower of canes in Barbados. You should be aware that it is the GoB who is paying to keep the CLICO plantation lands in cane production.

38. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

And have been since CLICO went into trouble in 2009

39. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller you are neither tied to a millstone of wisdom nor a repository of wisdom, in fact, you would not recognize wisdom if it ran over you and slow speed.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@The Dummy @ Dumo | June 19, 2013 at 3:50 PM
    “You don’t understand the issue, you are out of your depth when it comes to commodity prices, demand, production and cost.”

Neither do you when you can post such figures innocently presented to refute your own argument about restructuring that same industry starting by year with not a red cent in sight.

It also seems that the framers of your manifestos clearly do not understand the issues either.

So let us factor in the CLICO land issue which is indeed a very good point.
    What plans does this administration have in ensuring the CLICO estates are brought back into production ready for the ‘new lease on life’ sugar cultivation target date for a 2016 harvesting?

The more information you put into the public domain (this blog, of course) the more you expose the big lie this DLP administration is trying to fool the people with.

But here is an idea promulgated before on this blog to deal with the CLICO estates previously in agriculture especially sugar cane growing:

The PM and presumably his Cabinet have committed this administration (and by extension the people of Barbados) to settling the CLICO matter by ensuring the policyholders are given back at least the principal component of their investments in that Ponzi scheme.
    Now how is this man with his cabinet of wooden puppets going to do that? Borrow money from the NIS or go on the international market and float a bond with a junk status label stamped on it?

Why not compulsory acquire all of CLICO land holdings in Barbados, transfer the agricultural lots to a special land bank leased to the sugar farmers/ producers and other agricultural agribusiness private sector players?

The compulsory acquisition of the lands can be backed by a government bond floated on the local and international market in which the policyholders would be the primary holders of at least 50% of the flotation. Those whose policies have matured (principal only) could either roll over their annuities into these bond holding vehicles or the government can used the cash generated from the other 50% to pay them out (again principal only) and therefore honour its commitment to BIPA and its ‘bald pooch’ followers.

But again, Dummy, what has been written above is way above your air-inflated head as you would insinuate in repartee with regard to the miller and his ignorant grasp of matters involving “commodity prices, demand, production and cost”.
    Oh, how little do you know, my dummy friend!

41. old onion bags Avatar

IGRUNT Dummy…..doan mind she….stupeeesssss

42. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

As we speak the independent farmers of Barbados are at the Ministry of Agriculture collecting their cheques to the tune of US$10 million dollars.

43. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Put that in your pipe and smoke that crapoe. By 2017 Barbados will have a restructured sugar industry. Miller you keep sitting on your hands and betting against Barbados and saying we can afford to do this, we can’t afford to do that, we can only afford to do nothing.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | June 19, 2013 at 3:56 PM

My grandmother always told me to kind but wary to any‘Dumb’ animal especially if it is a jackass behind the wheel of lorry with an idiot of a barking canine called Carson Ca-Dog-an and carrying a load of porcine excrement to offload in George St.

I will remember her advice and follow suit by not crossing the road in that area.

45. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Eunuch is right.

46. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Miller, your have expired. Pass your sell by date, relegated to a chronic complainer and a purveyor of negativity with a nasty foul mouth and temperament.

47. @The Dummy

Is it not more constructive to engage Miller than tossing only barbs? Others are reading to extract info you know.

48. @ Onions
    LOL – you is Miller’s poodle? Man try and pick your own fights do…

@ Miller
    “There you go again and again! Blame blame, blame! Blame the BLP!”
    Who the F£@#<€ (France) you want them to blame….? Bushie?

Who oversaw the framework for our current position?
    Who wasted MILLIONS in cost over-runs?
    Who sold every thing that was not nailed down to foreigners?
    Who spent MILLIONS on the CSME idiocy?
    Who Made absolutely NO sensible advances in the sugar industry for over a decade…..when we had money to burn?
    Under whose rule did all these foreigners come to be managing the same sugar industry bout here?

OF COURSE um is wunna damn fault! You think um is Bushie or Caswell or even PDP's ?
    …..and to be expecting Freundy to come and fix up wunna mess in a few years (or ever) is adding salt to the wound that wunna inflict on Barbados.
    …we only vote for Freundy to stop wunna from selling we damn children directly to foreigners…. He can't fix one shiite!

If you want to do something USEFUL, perhaps you could HONESTLY suggest and support some of the viable options that we now have….
    ….like getting RID of the lotta deadwood currently in place without wunna talking bouts fair layoffs and other nonsense.
    Like calling for REAL productivity from all Bajans OR ELSE….!

…but you come here playing 'holier than thou' when wunna – (especially YOU) know wunna built the foundation of destruction is hypocritical and deceitful.

…and you HUSH up …Onions!!!! Arf Arf!!

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | June 19, 2013 at 4:43 PM
    “As we speak the independent farmers of Barbados are at the Ministry of Agriculture collecting their cheques to the tune of US$10 million dollars.”

To pay long outstanding debts incurred in meeting the 2012/13 production or is it for working capital to prepare for the coming ghost harvest?

BTW, don’t you know it is illegal to disburse funds in United States dollars in Barbados unless authorized by the CBB as in the case of commercial banks for foreign currency transaction?

It would do you some good and bring some intellectual balm to your troubled small island mind if you were to respond to the miller in a manner befitting of a person who has benefited from the taxpayers’ money in providing you with at least a secondary school education or even university training.
    We would hate to think that you fall into that category of arrogant ignorantly incompetent ‘powful-foolish’ bureaucrats the PM would wish to see return to the cane fields.

How can collecting US$ 10 million in backlog (arrears) funding be of value or associated with the $450 million needed for the restructuring process. Sounds like redundancy or separation money or compensation to us, not so?

Let us strike a deal and come to a truce with regard to this sugarcane industry business.
    If you can tell us when and where this $400-500 million is coming from to finance the industry restructuring programme the miller would back off and listen to the bullshit passing for bagasse.

Leave a Reply to Guy FoxCancel reply