The minister [Stephen Lashley] said for the much talked about Cohobblopot, there were two tenders for the hosting of the event, which was won by Rihanna’s Loud Concert and Barbados Food, Wine and Rum Festival organisers Premier Event ServicesBarbados Today

The news that the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) has awarded the right to organize Cohobblopot, one of the premier Crop Over events,  to Premier Event Services with just over one month to go  is interesting. Has anyone bothered to ask who are the directors of this company? What is their history of staging cultural shows? Is there enough time for this company to execute one of the biggest shows in Barbados? How much money is tagged to this arrangement? It is all about demonstrating transparency which is (was?) promoted by this government when it assumed office in 2008.

The two people behind Premier Event Services are Jerome (Jerry) Ishmael and Faye Wharton-Parris. The company has a rich record of hosting high profile events. Of interest to BU is the fact that Jerry Ishmael is Chairman of the St. Michael South Constituency Council and Faye Wharton-Parris is the wife of the beleaguered former president of CLICO Holdings Barbados Limited. For some reason this arrangement has left a sour ‘aftertaste’ in the mouth.  It seems when the two political parties are in office the party faithful are always the first at the trough to suckle from the udder of the fatted calf. Will we ever change the way we do business in Barbados?

Is it not sad that the Creatives who make the festival what it is are the ones who continue to wait for crumbs to fall from the table of the Minister of Culture? Why is it we see the same names every year clutching the manna? The Chetwyn Stuarts, Dorsie Boyces (DB Productions) et al. The Creatives must see the opportunities which abound to play a leadership role in Crop Over and other national events?

The members of the yardfowl brigade will all chime in to sing the same old song. We like it so!

156 responses to “Premier Event Services to Organize 2013 Cohobblopot: There Is Still Meat On the Fatted Calf!”

1. Alvin…………i read about the Arrow recently………my take on the situation in Bim, giving the size of the island and the hardships that are ahead and this being the year 2013 when everyone should know better, other people who really need the money at this point should be given an opportunity to showcase their performance and skills……..i am not saying that tongue in cheek, i know of some instances in Bim government contracts were awarded and when some people who did not like the person found out about it, the contractor was promptly fired and whomever they liked, preferred or who would give them a kickback from replaced the original bidder, so it is not just cut and dried on the island, it is kinda shameful and despicable.

2. @Bush tea; There is no basis for complaining about the contract just because of who the Principals are.
    My point exactly. Note David’s statement: “so if he and his wife got to hurt too so be it” Is this not vicious vindictiveness David? Is this the attitude and society we should be embracing? Is this the essence of christianity?As far as I know the people who invested were of sound mind when they made their decisions. The courts re there to adjudicate the guilt or innocence if or when cases are pursued. By the way How com the number is now 15, ooo, I thought some time ago a figure of 35,ooo was being broadcast far and wide?

3. David (not BU) Avatar

David why are you discussing this with Alvin Cummins?

1. you said 2 company bid on the job, where was tender listed? in the page? i call two friends who are event planners and they did not have a clue this job was in the air.

2. Alvin Cummins is right. 100% person right. Leroy Parris has not been charge with any crime BUT it’s clear to see why he has not been charge and that is because he has the DLP government in his back pocket.

3. we discuss how corrupt the BLP was that on the other hand we talk about all the small contractors who cant get work under this DLP government. am i to believe all these small contractors businesses are owned by the BLP? my point is as corrupt as we say the BLP was, they understand they had to share. this is a concept which DLP would do well to learn.

from what i was told there is a lady with works for Premier Events Services, i was told she is the best in the country and she can pull this off. i personally see no problem with them getting the job but what was the process.

that is where the problem comes.

4. BU will ALWAYS be on the side of the small man if we have to choose. Bush Tea by your admission the system is broke therefore if we have to waste blog space by attacking your fraternity friends so be it. There is a place for being emotional.

5. Alvin…….and they really need to do the same with Rogers, however, competition in Canada is between more than 2 entities, you get better service when more competitors are involved, they have to do much better to survive, if there is no competition complacency sets in. The island needs more competition in all sectors without the umbrella of favoritism.

6. @David
    CLICO Barbados Holdings Company is seperate and distinct fro Colonial Life Insurance Company Ltd (CLICO) the insurance company that issued Life Insurance Policies, as well as the investment instruments the Flexible Premium Annuities, and the Executive Flexible Premium Annuities. These have nothing to do with Clicl Barbados Holdings company. CLICI insurance was a subsidiary of Cl Financial. CLICO Barbados Holdings is a holding company of CLICO. CLICO (The insurance company, is a subsidiary of CL Financial, so Parris wnsurance agent was an employee of CL Financialunderwriters of Flexible Premiun Annjuities, and EXtended Pr

7. @Well Well In a perfect, utopian, society such as tht envisioned by PDC we would not get these types of “despicable” behaviours but unfortunately the world and people like that do not exist. some individuals, yes, but int the world of business such sentimentality is reare. look what is going on in this coutry, from Federal level, to provincial, to muncipal. Where does it stop? Wish these types of people did not exist in our country but they have learnt from the “progressive world we live in. All we can do is despair and hope not to be caught up in it.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins:

Now that you are in the Constituency of SMS where Jerry and his brother the heart specialist Dr. Ishmael were raised in a “Paragon” atmosphere of decency and upright virtues can you tell us if the Government’s tendering process and rules were followed in awarding the contract for the construction of houses at the “Grotto” in the PM’s constituency?

After all, the house building sector in the construction industry is very competitive and should be ideal for inviting the most attractive bids from the many competent players in the market involving both B’s and D’s and the PIP’s.

Please Alvin, just answer the question and no references to what happened under the BLP more than 5 years ago. The people wanted to put a stop to corruption and lies since January 2008 and daily are being sorely disappointed.

9. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well. The ruling applies to all those who offer mobile services ( cell phones etc) where they have in the past tied purchasers to three year contracts. They now have to offer only two year contracts.

10. Alvin……..good, they were really out of control those service providers. As to your comments, the good news in North America and Europe is when these individuals are caught practicing immoral, unethical or illegal nonsense, they are always exposed and pay for their crimes one way or the other, read Friday about this elderly female, mayor i believe it was Vancouver, now has to answer for some crap she did……….you get no such satisfaction in Barbados as a taxpayer.

11. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Miller: As far as I know the houses in the Grotto were part of the Housing policies announced from the first term (In the 2008 manifesto) so it is nothing neww. I am sure that based on the rules and regulations of the Civil Service the process would have bee the same as those of previous times. I am not there now so I do not have intimate knowledge, I do remember when Iwa back there “the economist” of baras tacks fame, raised doubts about whether hhigh rise houses could be built at the Grotto so it has been in the air for a long time.. and this was long before the election have I answered your question?

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 16, 2013 at 12:47 PM |

Just have another read of what you have written and ask yourself if you are not deliberately confusing yourself and those like ac who believe that your partisan bullshit is knowledge of corporate governance and law.

Just continue with you partisan political diatribe and stay clear of areas you are poorly equipped to comment on.
    We are serious, Alvin. So just keep quiet and pretend you have not read this criticism.

Again you should not be so intrusively enterprising in areas where your ignorance shines forth like a beacon of dullness. Just stick to politics or biology not corporate law and business organization, OK? “Only fools rush in where angels fear to tread”!
    Just leave it, mate! Please, pretty please?

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

14. Plantation……thanks for the headsup, i kept wondering what had happened to them, they were offline.

15. @Alvin

Clico insurance policies were sold under CIL (Clico Insurance Life) which was rolled up under Clico Barbados Holdings ltd of whic Parris was president. CIL is the company which was audited by Deloittes and which was found to be short. Parris formed a company Professional Services Ltd which was used by him to broker business on behalf of himself to the company among other things.

16. What de Shirt!
    How Well Well got back to confusing the place…?
    Alvin agreeing with Bushie?? 🙂
    …lol ..and David vex as shirt!…
    …and Bushie got fraternal friends to offend…. LOL Ha 🙂

Look David
    Two wrongs NEVER make a right.
    If you decide to punish Premier just because you think you know that there is some baggage attached, then you are just as guilty as those who REFUSE to pursue LP because they think he is not a leper.

JUSTICE and RIGHTNESS is a funny thing. Often the initial results are not what we would like them to be…
    You need to do unto this issue just as you would want the authorities to do unto the original issue…..DUE PROCESS.

When those responsible for justice play the ass – as we are now routinely seeing in Barbados, then DECENT honest citizens will be increasingly tempted to take positions such as yours – and there is only one way that this will lead….

The CORRECT action is RELENTLESS pressure on the authorities (the retarded PM) to apply due process with CLICO.

…when the hell will Clico policy holders march to Bay Street and demand action…?…or shut down Bridgetown for a day…?
    ….instead of the lotta petty talk….

BTW Alvin…
    Even a broken clock is right a few times a day, so don’t get big headed because you happen to get this one right…. 🙂 …you still running with a broken spring…

17. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Miler You asked a question and I gave an answer with which you obviously have difficulty understanding. Your question was :can you tell us if the Government’s tendering process and rules were followed in awarding Where in my statement is something you don’t understand? In my blog I also pointed that this construction was part of an ongoing housing iiniative. what is your problem?the contract for the construction of houses at the “Grotto” in the PM’s constituency? My answer was:I am sure that based on the rules and regulations of the Civil Service the process would have bee the same as those of previous times

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well@ I was thinking they were mad at me , for i was not getting anymore emails lololl
    On another note.
    We have a deed for Sandy Lane 436 acres
    They have the other named as Molyneaux our spelling is Mullineaux 250 acres same owners in 1913 and 1920.for both Plantation at that time. Both are checked off on our list.
    We love to see the deeds .
    We dont need to see the need to go to court if some one blocking your land that they have a deed for and then offer to buy it, Remove the blockage .

19. @Bush Tea

How is BU wrong by asking how Premier Event Services, a company headed by the Chairman of SMS Constituency Council and wife of Leroy Parris (Parris is my friend fame) continues to huff ALL the major event planning business in Barbados. No apology offered for our position.

20. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Islangal.
    The spring may be broken but it still running and will get to the destination. The road may seem a little bumpier but the important thing is to get there. What is even stranger though is that I agree with you in many of the things you said above; a point or two I have been making.

21. Plantation…………that may be so in the real world, but they do things a little differently in Bim, you have to fight for what is yours, especially when they are hellbent on selling you out to foreign interests, did you not hear my BBF Moneybrain?

22. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David in answer to Bushie; Any agrieved party can do like Dr. Don Blackman, and attempt to redress any “perceived” imbalances. Don’t forget a precedent has been set already.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 16, 2013 at 1:06 PM |

No Alvin, you have not answered the question!

Yes Alvin, you are not aware of the rules regarding the tendering of capital projects involving taxpayers’ liabilities, contingent or otherwise, in the public sector.

Maybe someone on this blog can advise you if there were public invitations to bid for the construction of houses at the Grotto as required by law.
    Do we have another Al Barrack in Warrens Cave-in on our hands here, financially speaking of course?

What has become of the DLP motif: “We shall not lie, cheat or steal” emblazoned on the 2008 manifesto of promises and commitment to integrity and playing by the rules?
    Gone down the dame cave hole in Brittons Hill that engulfed the Codrington family?

Remember the word “grotto” also means a cave or cavern. Now watch out or your Royal Palms might just get sucked into some large underground hole of partisan amnesia!

24. Unlike many on this blog who are clueless to how business is done in Barbados members of the BU household is all too well aware. We could write about the Rihanna Loud Concert and who managed what and got tickets at discount etc but who cares.

25. Dearest Alvin, waaait I never posted anything pon this blog so why de rasta George yuh calling muh name fuh? Yuh like yuh got me pon yuh mind….if yuh do den tek muh offf reel quick! Calling muh name an I ent even tawking tuh yuh or anyone. Like yuh getting Alzheimer or what?

26. @ David
    “How is BU wrong….”
    Nothing wrong with asking…
    But suppose the answer is that theirs is the best bid, …best history of performance… Best reliability?
    Suppose, for once, we have someone actually doing QUALITY work here in Barbados? And at good rates?

Now if this is NOT the case, then you have a point, but the clear impression is gathered that your post is suggesting that BECAUSE of the principals, the company should NOT be given a contract…even if the NCF (Ha Ha muh belly) beefed up its resources to do the project….
    ….THAT is emotional David! …this is Father’s Day. Don’t let the females in the house overly influence your reasoning… (Remember what happened to Adam… 🙂 )

@ Alvin
    You are so confused (and wrong) that you are replying to Islandgal – (Bushie’s Ex.) bout the broken spring man….
    …good to see that things are on track…. 🙂

27. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Davi You indicated that Parris had formed a company to provide services as a” brokerd” that has nothing to do with the CIL (CLICO) policies or the failure of CLICO Read the definition of a broker or broker service A broker is an individual or party (brokerage firm) that arranges transactions between a buyer and a seller, and gets a commission when the deal is executed. A broker …
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broker – Cached ,

28. @Bush Tea

No BT, if you criticise JADA and Bjerkham than we must do the same for Premier. It is that simple. Has nothing to do with track record and performance. It has to do with transparency and what is fair and just.

29. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Islandgal OUCH!!!Guilty as charged and I apologize for calling your name. It was Bushie’s blog that I was referring to . I should have picked it up from the begining though He saaid “What the shirt” you would have said “what the shoite”, quite a difference. Sorry about that.

30. @Alvin

The point to be made here which you continue not to grasp is that until Parris’ terms and conditions of employment is made public you are clueless as to the arrangement.

Regarding your earlier point that Parris worked for CL Financial therefore his salary can be justified vis a vis Dowridge Miller again you show ignorance to how international companies operate. The CEO is paid based on the profit centre capability of the unit he or she manages in an international company.

31. …so now we are resigned to attacking those who take advantage of lack of transparency rather than those who we have put in place to ensure it?
    JADA and Bjerkham shoite! Who voted for them? Or Premier?

These are just the parasites… Why waste time picking at the parasites when we can apply treatment to the whole dog on which they are thriving?
    When you pick off one parasite another one will just get even fatter…
    Um is the COP, DPP, AG and PM that needs to have their balls squeezed….
    ….and the current arrangement where the main designated balls-squeezer has more of a reputation for biting may not be very effective – cause they may like um…

32. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David, ergo Parris was more successful in his “profit centre capability of the unit he managed,” thus he would make more money than mr. Miller, so why did you make the comparison?
    At Miller so your read “thr royal Palms are Dying”. Hope you bought It I need the royalties. Recomment it to all your other cohorts, better yet buy a copy and give it to iswland gal.

33. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David: Why should Parris, an individual, head of a company that has not been identified in any fraud (either his brokerage company or the insurance company) disclose,(voluntarily) the arrangements of his contract with an independent company? would YOU be willing to do this? Would anyone in a responsible position do this without being ordered by a court? Come on David I know you know better than that, but you like so many others are just trying to sieze any opportunity to fulfill your desire to bring down the man.

34. @ Bush Tea

As stated earlier all the blimps on the radar are targets, ALL!

@Alvin

Why don’t you take Miller’s advice and stop arguing for arguing sake? Dowridge Miller runs a BEST rated company and last time BU checked Delloittes Forensic report CIL’s assets were understated by 300 million dollars. What are you going to say now that a reputable accounting house made an error?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 16, 2013 at 2:01 PM

We advised you not to tread where fools gladly do. And you have done just that!
    Why don’t you also look up the meaning of “Conflict of Interests”?

Mr. Parris was an employee (chief executive officer, aka President of CLICO Barbados) while transacting business with the public and diverting revenue commissions to his owned and controlled incorporated entity called Professional Services.

Mr. Parris’s signature appears on the majority if not all of CLICO Barbados insurance and annuity product contracts sold while he was functioning in the capacity of President of CLICO Barbados. He was also a director and major shareholder of Professional Services Limited during the same period.

And you tell us that you see nothing wrong with this obvious conflict of incestuous interest?
    Maybe you might see nothing wrong with a man or woman sleeping with his or her partner’s sister or brother as the case maybe during the period that the relationship exists.
    Just asking from a human morality perspective and unlike you not imposing my views on you or anyone else.

36. @Alvin

You are a come lately to BU so before you utter forth your mouthings you should do a search of BU and read the many Clico blogs. There is no media which has defended Clico more than BU in Barbados. Because we understand Cyril’s philosophy so disgracefully epitomised by this current crop of Clico executives it does not mean we will bow down to Parris.

37. Boots (Alvin);

Looks like yuh losing it.

I mentioned Jerry Emptage’s name in error as It was Jerry Ishmael I was alluding to and if you had read my post you would have realized it was a mistake, given the context of the statement. But in any case, what was there for anyone to sue about? How I felt about that person’s attitude or outlook?

Also, if you really read my post you would have realized that I was putting forth essentially the same position that you followed up with. But I understand, you can’t imagine someone taking a principled position that is not enshrined in party politics. You think that I am a BLP by my usual comments on the ridiculous things that the DLP continue to do and therefore rush to condemn anything I say without understanding.

Perhaps you need to rest a bit. Your partisan slip is showing even more than ever.

38. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David and Miller.
    Whether I believe actions are morally wrong or not is not important. I express my views like any and everyone else. Everyone has a right to agree with those views or not. I don”impose” my fiews on anybody I just state them I have maintained from the begining and I will until the end. Bring the proof, bring a case before the law courts, find those charged guilty and I will accept the rulings of the court. Why should I condemn anyone in the absence of formal charges. If Mr. Parris conducted business that was an obvious conflict of interest against the laws of Barbados then thos charges should be brought. As far as I am aware none have been brought, and again as far as I know (in my ignorance) there is no legal penalty for thos without morality. so tell me wher I am wrong. If I ignore concepts of morality then there are many more who are guilty of the same offence.

39. Many years ago what is still regarded as the best Cohobblopot staged by a contractor – can anyone remember who organized it? Was it SPICE and Company?

40. @Alvin

Go and talk to BIPA.

Read the Forensic Report.

Explain the 3 million payment to Parris vis Thompson Associates and the rest.

41. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Check it out.
    I already apologised for my error. There was no partisan politics in my blog. I fight for what is right and vigorously defend my positions. Of course I willbe wrong (often) but that is life.

42. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“We could write about the Rihanna Loud Concert and who managed what and got tickets at discount etc but who cares.”

you should write about it before Jay Z gets here to perform. same actors, same stage, new date.

43. @David

Mia was not at one time the manager of Spice & Company?
    Dean Straker and Mia ain’t build apartments together on the sea in Worthing? Dean Straker didn’t have some involvement in the land at Arch Cot? Dean Straker ain’t used to arrange campaign financing for Mia at events with white people at Bagatelle Great House?

44. @Pilotage

If memory serves MAM managed John King’s Band Signature or some similar name.

45. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well
    You gone?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 16, 2013 at 2:51 PM

We are not going to get on any moral high horse and pontificate like Hal Gollop (who, BTW, is Parris’s chief legal advisor) got on the VOB call in programme and acclaimed from heaven on high that “Morality” is the Highest Law of the Land.

What we would wish to see is his contract of employment as president of CLICO Barbados setting out the terms and conditions, the company’s copy of which was conveniently made unavailable and by devilish machinations disappeared from the HR files.

But let us go by precedent and what prevails in normal employment contractual arrangements involving very senior executives of business organizations.

Mr. Parris would clearly be in breach of his contract if he was personally benefitting from his position as President outside the ambit of the business while approving and executing transactions on behalf of the same business.

Barbados is just one small island banana republic where the man in charge who is an unswerving friend of Parris is a dictator that protects his pals and financial sponsors from the justice system. The same way Parris did as he liked under OSA he is doing as chief financial sponsor and controller under a “bought” DLP and its minions lock stock and barrel and no one dares move against Parris except the god of Retribution.

47. Alvin Cummins Avatar

I read the Forensic report, Downloaded it, have it saved to my desk top, and have hard copies. i am quite familiar with it. Remember what was investigated, and the subject of the report…CLICO (CIL). I don’t have to explain anything. I am not Parris, I am not a policy holder, i am not a lawyer involved, nor am I a politician. Let those involved explain. If an when a case is brought justice will prevail.The position I hold I have maintained for years, ever since this thing broke. My position will always be the same Innocent until PROVEN guilty.

48. On the subject of transparency at the National Cultural Foundation (NCF). Not since the days of Elombe have we had someone contracted as CEO who has the credibility to speak about issues related to culture. Recently Minister of Culture Lashley jettison Dr. Donna Hunte Cox and for a brief period John Clarke acted in the role. Now we hear that DLP card carrying member Cranston Browne is CEO. Was this position advertised? What is the arrangement with Cranston and the NCF? The taxpayers are always the last to know.

49. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Miller; What were the terms and conditions of Sir Doulas Lynch when he was at the top of BS&T. By the way why was it sold?

50. Alvin………..no, I am here reading, back and forth between Moneybrain and another blog, I am watching.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply