Submitted by St George’s Dragon
What happened to the surveillance equipment used by CWC?

The big news in the USA and UK is about their Governments tapping into the internet service providers and having access to all the emails, Skype calls, photos etc., that go through Microsoft, Apple, Facebook and the other technology companies.

What about Barbados?

Will our Government tell us what access it has to our private data? No, of course not. Will our press seek out the truth as happened in the USA and UK? I don’t think so. So it is left to us, the public, to piece together the facts about what goes on behind the scenes in Barbados. Here is my starter for ten.

There have been rumours in the past of phone tapping relating to Jeff Broomes, Hal Gollop and a senior officer in the BPF. Although the Hal Gollop case was referred to the police, unsurprisingly I don’t remember seeing any conclusion to this or the other cases.

It is fairly common knowledge that some security systems were put in place at the time of the World Cup Cricket in 2007 although the headline was focused on a “blimp” which apparently no longer works. It is also known that there is a Command and Control centre in the District A Police Station grounds although what it does is not clear. One of the floors was rumoured to have been fitted out by or for an Israeli company. An Israeli company was also linked to the cameras which appeared on the south coast a while ago. Whether that is the same company is not clear, although the odds are that it is likely to be.

So is Big Brother listening in? What other information do you know?

88 responses to “Is Big Brother Listening to YOU?”

1. David,

In your 11.43 am, June 9, 2013, blog, it is you that stated that “ALL THAT MATTERS WITH PAPER CURRENCY ( our caps for emphasis) is that it has good security features ie, cannot be counterfeited. All the other talk is superfluous.”

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

These BLP people just don’t change.

They oppose for the sake of opposing. When Barbados’ own currency was first introduced, the Barbados Labour Party members ridiculed it, believe it or not they called it Monopoly money. Now in 2013 they are defending it and calling the new notes Monopoly money.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party is one retarded party.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Don’t be a johhny Carson…..the money was made as cheap as possible…look it does not even have a vertical border….is that not reason to query? It’s a country’s currency dammit…go look at a EC or TT $ you kluxx.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Admit it, you all BLP people oppose for opposing sake, nothing else.

This bogus argument, ” look it does not even have a vertical border” does not cut it.

If it had ten vertical borders you BLP people would find something else to criticize about it.

It is in your nature to be stupid.

6. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bush T
    No one disputes that the old ones are intended to be withdrawn GRADUALLY… (just syntax matter btwn. me and David that’s all.)..relax man

7. @Onions

You need to relax, you are free to say you do not like the design but at the end of the day the currency was printed by one of the largest and best known currency printers in the world.

http://www.delarue.com/ProductsSolutions/BanknoteProduction/

8. old onion bags Avatar

The money looks as if ..it just run off on a longgggggg sheet…and cut off with a guillotine…..vertical borders make a difference….and I am not being fussy.

9. old onion bags Avatar

David….so what if Dela Rue is the largest maker of currency….Barbados must maintain certain standards cost factor or not……dun wid dat

10. @Onions

You should be concerned with our ability to earn money, leave the security features to the experts.

11. Old Onions, you should see some of Canada’s new currency especially the 20s and 50s…………clear see through plastic, it does not stay in your hand long enough for anyone to complain though……..ask Hants, Lawson or Alvin.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 9, 2013 at 3:30 PM

Sock it to them Carson, give it to them good! Don’t they know it’s the DLP who gave Barbados its own currency like Independence?

But pray tell us, CCC, do you think that along with making the new paper currency more lightweight the CBB could have also printed a $500.00 and $1,000.00 to make the poor man journey to the shop a lighter experience to buy a tin of corned beef and a pack of biscuits?
    After all, your party promised to reduce the COL with immediate haste prioritizing it as of Jobs No.1, 2 & 3 on the 100 day ‘to do’ list.
    Don’t you think that Bim being in a permanent state of recession for the last 5 years prices should have been falling as expected in classical economics fashion? What has happened to job No.1 or 2 or 3?

It also goes to show the lack of foresight of your administration.
    With the coming devaluation don’t you think printing the new notes with higher denominations would have been a proactive coup de grȃce to save poor Bajans from carrying around such a heavy burden of small denominations in their pockets to pay skyrocketing prices similar to what happened in Guyana, Jamaica and even places like Zimbabwe that Bajans like to skin their teeth at?

13. old onion bags Avatar

…..LOL @ Miller…….poor Carson runs for holes…..dog bite ya

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 9, 2013 at 3:30 PM

BTW, Carson, there is one revealing feature that you ought not to omit from the new denominations- the faces of our latest heroes.

You should put the dead King David on the $500.000 note with the embossed inscription a trusting security feature: “In King Liar We Trusted”.

The crowning glory of the $1,000.00 should be given the dying Godfather of the DLP and chief financial backer Leroy “Greenverbs” aka King Fraud with the security inscription: “If my face fades this note is a legal forgery”.
    After all the man is a financial wizard that was able to use only a primary school education to become the greatest statesman of the DLP. Not even Sleepy, Talma, JCT, BMT or even Berstein or Carlton Brathwaite had so much clout and power over reigning prime ministers.

15. It is entirely jaw dropping and blood boiling to see and feel some of the new Barbados money bills that many people are taking around and using in this country.

CHEESE ON BREAD
    That is serious !

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One of these good days you are going to make sense.

17. PDC
    What happens when blood boils
    I can see some profuse sweating/increase heartrate/brain seizures etc
    Is there a Dr. Porgie in the house
    Come in Doctor

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 9, 2013 at 5:15 PM

I am queuing up right behind you, my friend. When you deliver I will fill your place.
    Not all jackasses bray, some do talk in DLP doublespeak.

But we keep forgetting sarcasm is not your forte.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is amazing, one political party cant be full of so many retards. No wonder they are back on the opposition benches again.

http://www.featurepics.com/FI/Thumb300/20080726/Australian-Currency-822692.jpg

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Old style bank notes to be retired”

http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20130606/NEWS/706069935

21. old onion bags Avatar

I dare anyone to open Carson’s link above and see that this fellow has a serious PROBLEM……

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Do Churches in Barbados pay taxes of any kind?

23. “Every time you post a message you are traceable down to the street and building you in. I will get you. And I don’t waste my time making idle threats.”

24. You come within a foot of my daughter, Roosy, and your life will be changed. Not a threat. An absolute promise.

How’s the Caribbean porno industry working out for you?

25. “Every time you post a message you are traceable down to the street and building you in. I will get you. And I don’t waste my time making idle threats.”

26. @David “We spew about civil liberties and the extent to which government encroaches”

David we don’t want the government all up in we business ok?…even though we don’t have any business.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

27. The Nation By WADE GIBBONS Fri, June 18, 2010 – 12:00 AM…”Acting Attorney General Michael Lashley”

Mikey was acting AG?

Oh boy!!!

28. I could not give two SHITS if anyone is listening to me,,,,,,If my conversation helps to protect ,,even me,,then what the S__t,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Those who are afraid ,,KNOW WHY THEY ARE AFRAID,,,,,soooooo go right ahead my brothers,,,,But ef yuh hear me talking bout PUM!PUM!,,just dont try to record it and sell it ,,at least give me a cut,,O.K.

29. Whistle blower Snowden gets political asylum in Venezuela

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply