Submitted by Bruddah-Bim
Gerard Johnson, General Manager at Inter-American Bank (Caribbean)

Al Jazeera just issued a report detailing the “Silent Debt Crisis” that is currently gripping the Caribbean. The Governor of the Inter-American Development Bank for the Caribbean, Gerard Johnson, was invited to offer his opinions as to how the Caribbean can change its fate. It pains me to say (though with little surprise) that Mr. Johnson has offered little (if any at all) insight and ideas as to how the Anglo-Speaking Caribbean can further develop their economy. You can watch the segment here via this link:

It was clear that he had no vision whatsoever; seeing as how Mr. Johnson kept on preaching for the smaller island nations (i.e. Barbados, Antigua, Dominica, St. Kitt’s, etc.) to “seek ” flight shares from Latin America instead of simply relying on the northern economies; and also hinted that the Caribbean further extend itself as a service based economy by continuing to perpetuate the status quo by calling for more “call centers” in the region. This man clearly lacks any kind of insight for it would seem that he has already detached himself from the region and has made himself VERY comfortable in the U.S. A man with such little insight as to how to remedy this financial situation is DANGEROUS. Johnson didn’t seem too concerned as he used this excuse “It doesn’t take much to spur growth in an island with a population that’s [a few hundred thousand]. But what this “educated” fool failed to mention was that in a region that is home to groups of islands home to several hundred thousand people respectively cannot compete in the same industries on a regional level. And it would be foolish for the Caribbean countries to continue to follow the protocols laid out by the Inter-American Development Bank, World Bank, WTO, and the IMF alike for it has led to the region’s persistent economic decline for the last two decades.

Related Article: Debt: Trouble in paradise

That being said, it should be made CLEAR to the Caribbean people that the global financial woes that is currently poking at the global economy will not be letting up any time soon, and that in order for the Caribbean to be able to avoid becoming the next “Africa” (by means of economic lagging) we need to SHIFT our economies as a REGION from a SERVICE based bloc into a PRODUCTIVE bloc. I have made many calls as to how Barbados can potentially salvage her economy. The same can be made possible for the greater Caribbean. IF the Caribbean adopted a model of administration that was reminiscent to that of the E.U. and A.P.E.C.; then the Caribbean can better poise itself economically and politically within the global community.

CARICOM needs a wave of reforms in order to achieve this. Instead of the Caribbean competing with itself in the same industry, we need to understand that we MUST work together as a region in order to survive and become relevant. The Caribbean should be further engaging Latin America on a serious level in terms of making strategic partnerships with Latin America government and corporations alike. In fact; it should be on the agenda of Caribbean leaders to ensure that they engage Latin America NOW seeing as how it is home to some of the world’s fastest growing economies. For one, Caribbean governments should be focusing on engaging local Caribbean investors to enter ventures with Latin American investors. Particularly through MANUFACTURING, TRANS-SHIPMENTS, TELECOMMUNICATIONS, and MUTUAL Finances.

What am I getting at exactly?

I am positing that CARICOM should poise itself as a partner of the Union of South American Nations (AKA UNASUR) by first establishing CARICOM as UNASUR’s Manufacturing center. There are many industries which require manufacturing and the Anglo-Speaking Caribbean has the capacity to reach such demands. CARICOM needs to strategically parse out which industry/ies a particular island can manufacture for in order to limit the chances of Caribbean islands competing in the same industry; thus establishing a model of mutuality. This would then engage the transport/trans-shipment industry for the manufactured goods made by Caribbean companies for Latin American corporations and would then be exchanged. This would then further the growth in telecommunications between UNASUR and CARICOM (becoming a potentially Highly profitable market); which would then lead to the establishment of financial ties that would be MUTUAL as opposed to being subservient as we have seen with Europe’s and N. America’s “Offshore Banking” schemes.

It really frustrates me that ABSOLUTELY NO ONE in the Caribbean governments seems to be serious about how urgent this situation is. And it further IRKS me that West Indians would rather be preoccupied with mundane matters such as pedalling Homophobia, Elitism, fashion trends; and etc. Unemployment is on the rise in the region. West Indians need to WAKE UP to this reality with a quickness or else we will STARVE! Bajans need to be more proactive and seek a better formation of the CARICOM. We have a Fast growing Youth Population that has no real Future.

I wish Bajans were as keen on talking about bettering our socio-economic as well as political development as they are so keen as to share their unbridled opinions on insignificant issues such as the “morality of Homosexuality”. If this article doesn’t scare you into reality; then ALL WEST INDIANS (not just Bajans) might as well kill themselves off in a desperate bate to stave off starvation when the poverty settles in on a regional level.

94 responses to “The Debt Crisis Affecting the Caribbean”

1. @Pacha

From all recent indicators it appears the strategy of this government in Barbados is to borrow to maintain our position on the HDI.

2. Regarding Bahamas debt to GDP (economic performance) if we want to use this indicator. While it is true Bahamas has a lower debt profile compared to most islands in the Caribbean, an there is a good reason, there is evidence to show that it has the largest increase in government debt level in the period 2008 to 2012 relative to the Caribbean. We are all on the same ship which is headed South. Some of us will get to the end of the line before others. So don’t be smug!

http://www.tribune242.com/news/2012/dec/31/bahamas-suffers-largest-debt-growth-caribbean/

3. @ David

The people that the government of Barbados follow still aren’t sure if inflationary or deflationary policies should be applied. Debt is likely to drive inflation which will be seen when you to to the supermarket. Inflation maybe better for the property owning classes in the short term. Deflation is more difficult to manage but in the medium term may produce mark to market asset prices. These are only two element in the macroeconomic model and the above is based on all other things being equal, which is impossible. We have previously concluded that the Caribbean is in a cul de sac. You talked about The Bahamas. Only they books in the short term may appear superior to others they are based on international business. We estimate that increased pressures from the OECD countries will sooner or later hollow out the artificial economy of the Bahamas.

4. On the subject of mark to market one wonders how in a stagnant market for the last five years properties continue to be floated in the millions in Barbados. No downward price movement!

5. Ever heard the expression “Cant see the Wood for the Trees”
    It aint rocket science(but everything these days is made to appear as”rocket Science” as sheeples then need to pay “Experts ” to translate,for Sheeples to understand,what should have been plain everyday Bajun)

Its when so many “experts ” get their spoon in the pot and make a soup of what should have been a very clear production.
    “Progress” is another name for the same thing.

How “behind the times” we are,Barbados would be if ; it dont take what works,what real, whats common sense and DUMP THEM and “move forward” “Move with the times” “Stampede with the Lemmings”
    Never mind Logic dicates that ONE person is more likely to be RIGHT than 3 million or the “REST of the World” is to be “collectively ” right.

Common Sense!!
    NAH!
    These days we gotta have “AN EXPERT” on everything from “taking a leak” to ” ALVIN’ising ALL of EXISTENCE”
    You even cant take a “Shite” less’n somebody want to come and pick it over with a stick.
    One day I read an “expert opinion” that “OIL PRICE DOWN as heatwave stops use of Central heating” same paper nother page ;Expert opinion states “OIL PRICE JUMPS as families HEAD(drive) FOR THE BEACH”

Am I being to obtuse???
    I do hope so, as it means you are reading and THINKING.
    THINKING what???
    It really doesnt matter ONE PHUCK” what you are thinking.
    JUST THAT YOU ARE.
    You are not just a ” reiterator of rhetoric”, an “emittor of elctronically ether transmitted STATISTICS”.
    Computors have a lot to answer for
    .BLAM a BUTTON and there is the WHOLE WORLD of “Facts” for you to “absorb” “remember” “Regorge” .
    Understand ???AHHAAA! Now that is another question.You FEEL you got UNDERSTANDING or just a good memory?
    I had a little trained monkey,could “remember” everything,could “regorge” (Do) everything he had been shown but couldnt UNDERSTAND ONE PHUCK”
    We accept unquestioningly, too quickly.Revere the “Experts”
    What are we monkeys , just jump up and down and impress cos we have a few remember tricks but ABSOLUTELY NO THOUGHT OUT UNDERSTANDING??
    Do we:
    Treat questioning and asking for answers like being cought masturbating in Public.
    Shamed.Ridiculed.
    WHAT!! you didnt know EVERYTHING!! YAH IJJIT!!

Now ,move to today and the Politicians and the “FACTS” put forward by them, for your understanding.
    UNDERSTANDING ???
    The” facts” presented and UNDERSTANDING of them a “non sequitor”.
    Doesnt Follow”” cant be UNDERSTOOD.
    SO why are you not questioning, seeking to understand,NOT just “MONKEY SEE MONKEY DO” ,shamed by your “Ignorance”
    WHAT IGNORANCE!!!
    You are being fed a “Bunch of Shite” by a “BUNCH of EXPERTS”

If you got a dollar in your pocket and you have just ordered a cheffette snack box,YOU NEED and expert to tell you you got “Problems”??

I think NOT cos you are applying COMMON SENSE.

TRY the same PROCESS with the current situtation in Barbados.
    It aint difficult to “find your way home”

6. @ David
    You have touched on the central point. The answer is a range of factors. These include the relatively long history of upward property prices, the absence of cyclical conditions in the local marketplace, the relatively small market size, limited land, an artificially high market price as maintained by the monopoly/oligopoly forces, a missed placed perception that there will be a near term turnaround and the irrational psychology that foreign capital will always be attracted to Barbados, ans so on.

7. I like to read everyone’s post before i start positing, so i will know who the real contributors are and whom i should prepare for……….Bruddah, you know how to throw out ideas, it’s just to find the right leader who knows how to use deductive reasoning to see which idea is the most viable….as Dr. Love said, no rocket science needed.

Dr. Love……….missing in the current leaders are critical thinking skills and deep thought analysis skills.

Pacha…………..they keep toggling between inflation, deflation and hyperinflation, it is working, it’s called confusion………the below link will give some who can dissect information and read between the lines what dynamics are in play.
    http://www.expressionoftruth.com/2013/05/the-large-families-that-rule-world.html

Some people continue to take it all for a joke, to the credit of Donville Inniss someone told me he mentioned hydroponics to them sometime in the past, though an extremely expensive venture, one cannot lose, hope he meant for the whole island and not for himself only.

8. @David
    Business is the answer
    Floated = asking; not acheived.

If the “Value” of the building is included in the books of a company and the company wished to use the property portfolio as collateral for funds ,it’s assessed value WAS at around 13 times the stated rental value.
    Like in UK, as town centers folded many properties were “LET” to charities,this enables the property to be still “Valued”at 13 times the rental (thus maintaining the owning companies full book value, cos the property technically IS being let )AND the owning company then able to claim back a “Charitable donation of”the yearly FULL rental “from the Inland revenue.
    A win win situtation.

If it is a privately owned entity.Just a negotiating ploy.Ask more , give a huge “Discount and get finally what was your realistic expected price.

Julie Dash has said that property ( I presume from knowledge of her access to REAL acheived prices) in Barbados has dropped 52% altho recently in a newspaper report she is said to have said now the % is 35%.
    Whichever; a big drop.

9. @Well Well.
    100% my point.

BAFFY said ;absolutely accurately “Government is NOT made up of stupid people”.
    I would just say to that, there is a negative and there is a positive.
    If “not being stupid” = “being clever” which I doubt personally,but even if it did.
    There is still(to me) Positive CLEVER and Negative CLEVER.
    The ruling Political Elite of Barbados?
    + or MINUS??

10. @ When you’re thinking about ‘mark to market’ you have to think about ‘price discovery’ too. In terms of the Barbados economy these have little effective meaning. In other words, there are too many ‘ambiguities’ within the asset pricing system.

11. Dr. Love………….when one’s cleverness is tempered and clothed in self-interest, it is useless to anyone else.

12. @Pacha

Indeed!

Given that everything in Barbados is pinned to collusion one can only speculate about valuers, realtors, financial institution and others.

13. @David
    Call a spade a spade!!
    Dey PHUCKIN ciminals.
    Dat ent Spekulniffinkin.

14. davidweekes001 Avatar
    davidweekes001

Calcification is a process which normally occurs in the formation of bone but abnormally will, depending on its location have deleterious consequences.

As a pretend scientist I have come to the unsupportable hypothesis that as we become older a societal calcification quietly occurs that unknown to us causes us to abdicate positions and values that we held to so dearly and which drove us to great heights in our heyday.

For those of us who had no heyday then their “heights” and more line unnoticeable swells on the ocean of life

When you are comfortable and your monthly pension assured to be what the average man’s yearly salary is while they are in the heyday of their contribution to family and country, you really lose sight and connection to the plight of the poor man or the society that birthed you and led to your success in the land of milk and honey.

With time the coming of calcification to your doorstep with make you similarly insensitive and seemingly oblivious to the plight of lesser men.

There are very few of these persons who has live meteors arisen and moved across the constellation of international agency recognition who can point to any singular contribution that they made to show where their navel string is really buried.

Pamela Williams was/is one of those persons who quietly has done that, shown her commitment to our CARICOM member states in the hundreds of millions of dollars, so has Sir Hilary but like meteors, you do not see them everyday.

Some men are born great some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them and there are a few who are simply clueless as to what “these fields and hills beyond recall Re now our very own” means and if they are, simply could not care less.

We appoint the watchman at the lumber company as the head of our National Council for Innovation and Invention and then wonder incredulously how all he manages to do is to slip the lumber over the wall at 3.30 while we are sleeping or repeat in parrot like fashion the litany of sugar is dead tourism is dying and we need to shift to the services markets. Growing up stupid under the Union Jack.

15. Davic Weekes…………. growing up stupid but self-serving under the union jack.

16. @ Bahamared

Strange comments for someone who is proud a citizen of The Bahamas–a collection of islands. Imagine if New Providence, Andros, Eleuthera, Exuma etc were all independent islands?

17. In the USA cities are going bankrupt. Real bankruptcy! Courts are appointing receivers (managers). Voters representatives are being stripped of their power, schools are be closed in droves, other ‘essential’ services are being cutback or curtailed etc. Whole islands are being sold in Greece. Is it possible that this movies could be coming to an island near you soon? What of the concept of territorial integrity? Is it possible that a global brand like Nike could be the Prime Minister of Barbados? Is it?

18. old onion bags Avatar

No….Not in the literal sense that is….We Barbadians would never allow that (nike)….Bata maybe.. havent you heard…class is class, form is but temporary…..

19. @ David Weekes

We hate to have to disagree with you but this thing about heroes and heroines is problematic for us. In a society were equality knows no bounds there is no need for this hierarchy of ‘respectability. This social construction limits progress. Look at the trade union movement or credit unions, a few people have captured ‘respectability’ and they can’t be removed unless they die or when they have mercy on us and decide to retire. Everybody should have the same level of ‘respectability’. In fact, it is this structure that has partially brought problems to you.

20. The Bahamas is on track to lose it’s cash cow. Yes it has well over 700 islands but it has absolutely NO natural resources to speak of that can be readily exploited for exportation. Like many of the tiny island nations through the anglo-speaking caribbean, if we do not supplant offshore banking and corporate tourism by first pushing for domestic ownership of these two industries with a focus on manufacturing and agriculture; then they will cease to exist as “sovereignties” (despite much of them being a “commonwealth”). West Indians are talking about it can never work; but you have to realize that it WONT WORK IF WE CONTINUE TO REMAIN FRAGMENTED as a region. It has worked to our detriment in this supposed post-colonial era. The main issue that I am getting from those who oppose a reformed and more Unified CARICOM is that it can never work because of the Pervasive cultural insularities that in turn fuels nationalistic sentiments in each respective island. That maybe the case; but west Indians must be aware of the fact that We have FAILED as individual island nations to stick out from the rest of our own crowd both economically as well as politically. THe caribbean has a collective history of slaver and colonialism. It is time we align ourselves along our shared HISTORY (not histories) as a region and Use our COLLECTIVE INCENTIVE TO SURVIVE THROUGH UNITY AND SYSTEMIC & STRATEGIC INTEGRATION. I SAY IT CAN BE DONE! If it couldn’t then the EU would never exist. We have more commonalities than the EU; hence our formation could be more COncise given our commonalities in culture, history, location, faiths, and political structures. To say that It will never work is AN INCREDIBLY LETHARGIC COP OUT!!

21. Bruddah…………….Obama told them some years ago when he was in Trinidad to work something out, Biden just came down and told them the same thing AGAIN………….even the Bush administration (so well despised) was reluctant to have much discourse with them unless they are kinda unified, it took the EU 15 years to get it all together, no one is telling them they have to agree on everything, but at least agree to be a unit for survival’s sake, but we can only suggest, we cannot make them do anything.

22. @ Well Well

I stipulate that is the case because it has been ingrained within virtually ever island’s culture to be divisive by preaching for “independence” while at the same time trying to emulate the systems and lifestyles of former colonial powers. We are now seeing that it does not work as such structures bears very little relevance to caribbean society. But the privileged fat-cats in parliament have becomes comfortable with it as they are able to establish fiefdoms out of their respective nations (ie. all Caribbean PMs). It is a disgrace that the caribbean people do not see how harmful this is. Nobody in the world Knows of the West Indies; we are only globally renowned as “Jamaica”. If the world doesn’t realize who you are (ie. a Vincey or Bajan) then THAT should be a point of worry for some. We have no collective agency, hence we lack a voice thus are insignificant as a union. Hell, THE A.U. (AFRICAN UNION) HAS BEEN MAKING MORE MOVES AS OF RECENT, MORE SO THAN CARICOM! And that is the world’s most GENETICALLY diverse continent we are talking about.

23. What use is having nationalistic “pride” if no one the world over knows who you are or cares?

24. Bruddah…………..the parliamentarians have deluded themselves that people in the outside world knows or cares who they are and they have managed to convince a very gullible public of that as well, so in essence they think their individual countries are defined on the world stage…….it’s all part of their delusions…………If you ask any of the presidents in the large metropolis’ who the individual PMs are in the Caribbean, they would have to get their press secretaries to check a list and give a name, but those tin pot ministers in the Caribbean would not believe that, they believe themselves to be well known and all powerful, they don’t realize that all their power is regulated only to the people who believe their nonsense.

25. brudda bim stop wasting u time with these hard head knuckle head people. some here already figured out the solution to Barbados economy that is to sell or Privitasing everything under the sun .or if u like BUSH TEA he figures that in the grand scheme the big Man upstairs got an easier solution by wiping everyman man boy and child off the face of the earth…. so Brudda just sit back and relax no sense sweating over these things.

26. @ Well Well
    Extremely yet frighteningly precise!

@ AC
    I would, but as a Bajan and West Indian I fear for my Caribbean people; not just Bajans. THey don’t even know that they are well on their way to becoming a region of desolation, desperation, and squalor. It is both frightening and frustrating that the lethargy PERSISTS on a CULTURAL /POLITICAL/ECONOMIC LEVEL THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE REGION.

27. @enuff

You say: “Imagine if New Providence, Andros, Eleuthera, Exuma etc were all independent islands?”

Your comparison is not a fair one. The islands you named are a single cultural and political space with 400 years of history as such. They have not only a fully integrated economy, but are fully culturally and politically integrated.
    The same can NOT be said of Caricom – all they have in common are colour pigmentation and a shared British colonial past. While I am proud of the British AND the African heritage of the Bahamas, sharing them with, say, Trinidad does NOT mean that we are culturally or politically part of the same nation.

The Bahamas is essentially an Atlantic country and obviously has more in common historically with the US south than it has with Trinidad -most of us even come from Loyalist refugees and their slaves.

Barbados, Bermuda and the Bahamas actually share a lot culturally, all three having never lost internal self government when all other British colonies did. That is partly why the three are so much better run than the other regional states.

But to pretend that New Providence and Togago will ever be sister islands of the same state (like NP and Grand Bahama are) is to engage in fanciful thinking.

The implicit black nationalism of Caricom and its founders (none of whom were remotely impressive men) shows the actual motivation for the movement, which has never had any hint of economic rationale. Put together, they comprise an economy and market smaller than Ecuador. Why should The Bahamas or Barbados, which have done well trading with the world, turn themselves inward by pandering to the pretences of this silly club?

28. Bahamared………….i really don’t know much about the internal mechanisms that fuels the Bahamas but are you telling me that it is not considered one country? the islands display some sort of individualism?

29. @well well

I am sorry if I was confusing, but that is not what I meant AT ALL. The Bahamas is a single country in every sense (culturally, politically, historically). I was saying that is why it is so different from the Caribbean at large, another group of islands that are NOT one country in any meaningful historical, cultural or political sense.

30. Bahama……got you, the insularity displayed by the Caribbean countries is damaging and destructive to say the least.

31. @ Bahamared

“Barbados, Bermuda and the Bahamas actually share a lot culturally, all three having never lost internal self government when all other British colonies did. That is partly why the three are so much better run than the other regional states.”

You’re so full of it you elitist prick. It is that same sense of elitism that fragmented the west indies. Bermuda is not even in the caribbean chain, and the Bahamas is just barely, not to mention that Barbados is closer to Trinidad and Grenada and the Saints geographically, but we ALL have a shared history. I don’t get your logic AT ALL. Guyana is more culturally affiliated with the Anglo speaking caribbean because they were a BRITISH colony. All of our ancestors were taken from a wide selection of West African empires and kingdoms, and EACH ISLAND is an amalglamation ofdifferent african civilizations mixed in with British. THAT IS THE CRUX TO OUR UNIVERSAL CARIBBEAN CULTURE YOU FOOL! NO PRETENSE THERE!

32. @Bahamared

A history that is no different to the other Caribbean islands. So think about it and come again.

33. @enuff

A history that is UTTERLY and entirely different. Except for brief, intermittent departures, the Bahamas has bad a mercantile, service dominated economy since its settlement in 1647. Virtually no plantation economy, and none that lasted more than a generation or so.

The ancestors of Bahamians black and white (and we are almost all mixed) were pirates, privateers, wreckers, gun runners, bootleggers and blockade runners. Most slaves were ship hands and mariners. Many, many blacks were never enslaved and were simply captured by British arms at sea and settled in New Providence, which is why we have African settlements like Fox Hill, Adelaide and Gambier.

That is TOTALLY different from the plantation system of the West Indies and has produced a profoundly different culture and identity.

Part of the identity of the latter is a self-destructive self-pitying and obsession with slavery and white people. Hence the scorning of service industries (like that moron Bruddah is displaying) and the childish, emotive attaching to anything (like Caricon, UNASUR or Petrocaribe) that sounds like wannabe black/third world nationalism.

We have done just fine by keeping our distance and I recommend it for Bim as well.

34. This Bruddah must be a relative of that idiot Gonzalves in St. Vincent. I recommend they find some little island (hell, we can even give them a small cay somewhere in the Exumas) and practice their “Caribbean civilisation) while the world passes them by.

Too bad he is such a homophobe. Otherwise they needn’t suffer from the lack of females stupid enough to join them in their paradise.

35. @ Bahamared

And I am a relative of the House of windsor 5 times removed. You’re full of shoite. They did have plantation slavery in the Bahamas. And it is a well known fact that a good number of american colonists flocked to the Bahamas ALONG WITH THEIR SLAVES. YOU FOOL NO ONE!

36. @Brudddah

Yes, they did try plantations in the Bahamas when the loyalists flocked here with their slaves. AND THEY FAILED. If you ever visited the Bahamas you would see the folly of trying to grow cotton in Bahamian sand/soil.

The last of the loyalists, Burton Williams, died in 1852, having moved his whole slave holdings to Trinidad, from whence one Eric Williams descended.

Even the small percentage of Bahamians in the few islands where plantations were tried (Exuma, Cat Island etc) were out of the business within a generation or two. The vast majority of Bahamians were, for the vast majority of our history, engaged in trade or maritime activities…..until Sir Stafford Sands introduced mass tourism and offshore banking after WWII…dumbass.

37. By the way, a few more Stafford Sandses elsewhere in the region would have come in handy, instead of the political windbags who pioneered the ignorant slogans you push.

38. @ Bahamared

A true imbicile. And just how exactly (or what rather) differentiates the Cultures of Bim, Bermy, and the Conch Islands from the rest of the caribbean! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! WE WERE ALL COLONIAL OUTPOSTS U ASS!!

39. We are not separated into two groups, idiot. We are ALL different, but some are more alike than others.

We in the Bahamas are sufficiently aware and unashamed of our difference that anybody advocating joining CSME or being part of your Universal Caribbean wonderland (much less joining with a bunch of Latin American basket cases) would be given the kind of reception that Liberace would get in Jamaica if he wandered into Denham Town soliciting gay sex.

40. The Minister of Finance has recently said that if the government cuts transfers to many other entities and to many areas of government, private sector businesses would be made to suffer less income.

It is clear that this is pure unadulterated rubbish that is coming out of the mouth of this individual!!

Now, when the incomes/payments of private sector businesses are TAXED by these wretched DLP/BLP governments, such results, on the whole, in subsequent money transfers to most government workers and many businesses doing business with the government.

Note too that there would have been use of monies by the different levels of the private sector already in getting those items, goods and services that the private sector provides to the workers and businesses that will benefit from the transfers.

When these particular workers, businesses and such like actually get these monies ( as transfers) from out of the core financial system, they then go and use much of them (less savings) to give income/payments to those private sector business people that hitherto would have had their overall incomes and payments TAXED by these stupid DLP/BLP governments, as a very idiotic backward illegal means of helping to provide for some of the same transfers; and to give income/payments to those same private sector business people that would have been found later to be providing such items, goods and services ( in whole or parts) to the government workers/the businesses, etc for them to deal with the same items, goods and services that would have already involved the same processes that see the same items, goods and services involved in the use of money (the getting of income/payments) by the relevant private sector business people.

Therefore, in countless instances, these processes result, in far, far fewer private sector items, goods, and services ( in the thousands upon thousands ) than otherwise possible coming onto and leaving the market with the lesser use of monies ( monies that should have gone and have been used by people to get help get the use of far far great amounts of items, goods and services) and at the same time result in these intellectually politically bankrupt sick DLP/BLP governments preventing the making of income/payments in the millions upon millions of dollars by the private sector in Barbados.

So, what ignorance and scaremongering about private sector businesses suffering from government cuts in transfers when already they are suffering from many of the destructive effects of evil wicked TAXATION. Such suffering would not come about if there was not this system of TAXATION in the first place!!

Now, there are three primary ways in which money makes it out of the money circulation process in the country and into the core financial system: (1) via their representing evil TAXATION; (2) via loan deposits into the relevant financial institutions; and (3) via personal/corporate savings into them.

Now, there are two primary ways in which money makes it out of the core financial system and into the money circulation process in the country: (1) via withdrawals of whatever amounts of personal/corporate savings from out of the relevant financial institutions ; and (2) via credit transfers by the relevant financial institutions to some individuals, businesses, and others including government.

Now, since 2008, the amount and scope of tax transfers have been dastardly enlarged so tremendously, that the government has severely reduced the disposable remumerations of all commercial entities, and that it has seriously reduced the saving and loan deposits of all depositing entities into financial institutions therefore too in the country

Now, since 2008, the real actual cost of use of local money has skyrocketed, such that there are increases in withdrawals of personal/corporate savings and reductions in credit transfers to individuals, businesses and other entities.

Now, the fact that the government cannot wickedly tax monies out of the core financial system, it has had one major option left – under this diabolical disgraceful financial system – to use credit transfers of monies from out of the core financial system, to get monies out of it at a great cost to the remunerations of Barbadians, thereby pushing the cost of use of local money astronomically higher, just to allow some others ( some government workers and businesses and others) to have use of money.

So, were such situations (the way how income, saving, withdrawals, etc have been performing recently unsatisfactorily) turned around with the removal of TAXATION, interest rates, etc. and too with the right fiscal financial political systems put in place at the same time to support such dispensations, there would have been entire reversals in those trends ( moving from a situation of more transfers to fewer transfers) which would be partially signified by this stupid suffering that the neophyte Minister talked about at the said BCCI gathering a couple of days ago.

And, finally too it must be clearly soundly theorized visualized by the PDC that when evil TAXATION is systematically removed abolished by a governing coalitional arrangement that the PDC shall be part of, how it will never ever be possible to realise private sector businesses suffering from cuts in government TAXATION transfers.

41. Bahamared……………As i have said before, i know nothing at all about the history of the Bahamas, can you explain this to me about Stafford Sands……….

This is a question still debated today. The question is often answered with an air of great authority by those who haven’t a clue what they are talking about. Anyone who lived during the sixties, but were not a part of the PLP brotherhood, would be a fool to ask such a question. They all knew what it meant to be ostracised, victimised, denied jobs reserved only for followers of the “Chief”, and verbally abused. Many of them, both black and white, packed their bags and left.

42. @ Bahamared
    “We in the Bahamas are sufficiently aware and unashamed of our difference that anybody advocating joining CSME or being part of your Universal Caribbean wonderland (much less joining with a bunch of Latin American basket cases) would be given the kind of reception that Liberace would get in Jamaica if he wandered into Denham Town soliciting gay sex.”

You fool. If that were the case, then the collective push by our forefathers to get the caribbean into a post-colonial era (ie. VIA INDEPENDENCE FROM BRITAIN THROUGH COALITION); then we would still be colonial outposts (at least ‘officially’) to this day. We would have never been able to succeed in gaining such widespread independence. An ass like u wouldn’t understand how economics and geopolotics functions; so I am not about to waste my time trying to inform a complete simpleton trying to pass him/herself off as “educated” would be a complete wast of my time. Not to mention Pedigree. Stay in your lane if you wish to perish so badly. Just don’t try to rain on mine.

43. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

44. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really
    appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thank you

Leave a Reply to Well Well.Cancel reply