Donna St.Hill - Bio
Donna St.Hill – Bio

Caribbean people have long been at the forefront of African liberation and empowerment. From political giants like Sir Walter Rodney, Marcus Garvey and George Padmore, to more recent stalwarts in the vanguard like Bob Marley, Sir Hilary Beckles and Eddie Grant, out of the geographically tiny islands of the Caribbean have come the towering intellectual raison d’être of African emancipation, black power and Pan Africanism.

Today, as a second “scramble for Africa” ensues around the globe, Barbados along with the rest of the Caribbean has an opportunity to leverage our history of leadership on the frontlines of African unity, now that that same passionate engagement is needed in order to consolidate the economic transformation currently taking place on the African continent. However, while in the past Africa reaped the benefits of efforts of its stolen tribes in the middle of the Atlantic sea, in the midst of the worst economic crisis in living experience, the advantage is not just one way but a potential win-win for Continent as well as the Diaspora in the Caribbean.

Read full Article

139 responses to “Opportunity Africa: Leveraging Barbados’ First Cousin Advantages to Maximise Trade and Investment in Africa’s Economic Rising”

1. @ prospective Nigerian Investors.
    Look an offer I just received.
    Man says its legit, and he sounds (and spells) real good.
    get in quick boys before the realtives turn up.

Abbaz Gazanfer Nasir (gazanfer@gazetapl).

Sent:

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 4:55:04 PM

Dear Friend, I am Abbaz Gazanfer Nasir, i was the personal lawyer to Steven Williams, a citizen of your country who used to Work with construction company here in Nigeria.Steven Williams is 68 years of age, made a fixed deposit of fund valued at USD$14,500,000 (Fourteen Million, Five Hundred Thousand United States Dollars Only) with a Security Company/Finance institution in Turkey and unfortunately lost his life in air craft with is family, he left no clear beneficiary as Next of Kin except Some vital documents related to the deposit still in my possession. Recently, the governing body of the Security Company/Finance institution contacted me on this matter, requesting that I should notify the next of kin of my late client to claim the funds and I am yet to provide the Next of Kin to lay claims to the Fund. I knew my client had no living next of kin and i have made lots of search to see if i can get in contact to any of his relatives but my search was fruitless to locate any of his extended relatives. A clear and legitimate agreement with you, I seek your consent to present you as the next of kin so that my late client’s fund will not be confiscated by the Financial Regulatory Authority. You and I will share the money, you will be entitled to 40% of the total fund for your role as the relative and next of kin of my late client, 60% for me. Be informed that there is no risk involved as all necessary legal document which will be used to back you up as the legal beneficiary and next of kin of my late client will be procured. All I r equire is your sincerity, honesty, co-operation and utmost good faiths to enable us see this deal through. I guarantee that this will be executed under a legitimate arrangement that will protect you from any breach of law. Kindly, get in touch with me by my e-mail or telephone to enable us discuss further. You may also send your telephone number so that I can call you. Do not forget that a transaction of this magnitude require utmost confidentiality and sincerity. I look forward to your urgent response. Thank you, Abbaz Gazanfer Nasir

2. Jackassbauman…………….another nutcase, why are they drawn to this blog?

3. Dr. love…………if anyone is stupid enough to answer this letter, much less send their personal information to this person, they deserve to lose everything they got and more.

4. Dr. Love…………i was not in Barbados at the time, but was it not one of these same scams originating from a South American country that wiped out Ezra Alleyne? everyone nearly died laughing…………..you know the thief from thief scenario.

5. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bushie and Dr. Love and Jock Bauman. You are the biggest barrel crabs. You don’t even try to get out of the barrrel you just want to sit there and pull down anybody who moves above you.And you call yourselves Bajans?Shame on you. What does it matter whether Ms St. Hill has a PhD or not has a PhD or n

6. Hi Alvin………….they don’t realize that it is still people’s personal choice to pursue financial progress.

7. Well Well, an idiot, May 29,2013: “Jackassbauman…………….another nutcase, why are they drawn to this blog?”

Because it’s like shooting fish in a barrel, you idiot moron.

8. Jackassbauman………….you are supposed to be contributing and coming up with ideas to help push the island forward, exactly what are you doing?

9. The briliant National Hero Alvin Cummins, May 29, 2013 at 5:47 PM:|
    “@Bushie and Dr. Love and Jock Bauman [sic] …. Shame on you. What does it matter whether Ms St. Hill has a PhD or not has a PhD”

It doesn’t matter. Don’t care if she has a doctorate or not. It goes to character, goes to integrity. Why say you “read” for a doctorate that you never actually got? Why do that? Goes to character.goes to integrity.

And Dr. St. Hill’s opinions about Africa and its development are child-like. Sorry about that.but we do wish her well in her consultanies to world leaders, especially in “Africa”.

10. Jackassbaumann…………..you really do sound jealous.

11. incorrect Jesus was a Jew Jews are white.
    sorry thought every one knew where Jerusalem is.
    guess not .sad feel bad for ya.
    go jump in a well.well well lol

12. Nigeria is where all the scams on the internet come from.much scam artist are there.
    i wouldent trust anyone from there furder than i could throw dem.

13. @Alvin
    Man I jus here chillin and yuh gettin malicious.
    Ent mah problem yuh at de bucket end.
    I peaceful nah,g’long.

14. @Alvin
    I think the only way anybody will get you to “see the point” is with a sharp stick and your rectum.
    “Jock” is pissed cos she lieing; NOT because she has or hasn’t got what she says she got.
    He is saying that ONE of the main “Phuckups” of Barbados is the unchallenged “Bullshit”
    Hypocrisy and Lies,dont have a COLOUR ,they just the cancer eating out our Country, killin all of us..

15. Dr. Love………..all the haters like jackassbaumann who may very well be incorrecto or moneybrainless in drag can see right now is that money sitting in the credit unions in Barbados, poor black people’s money, they are salivating and would stir up any amount of strife while wracking their brains to come up with any amount of slick scams to get any dumb politician to let them have access to those funds. Yesterday a white jew in the US was selling spots in heaven to gullible and extremely dumb people, one white person purchased a spot for $100,000 dollars until Ebay had to pull it down, shut down the scam and call the police, the jews in tel aviv are made up of nothing but thieves, con artists and warmongers……..right now the only thing the politicians have to watch out for in Bim are the ticks, flees and leeches that make up the minority on the island, whose latest goal is to get at the credit union members money come hell or high water.

16. @ Well Well.
    Be carefull of selective thinking.
    Human Rights are inalienable.
    Free speach is one of them.
    In itself a valuable identification process.
    One see’s the Wood among the trees.
    Jock’s words may Identify him,BUT they do not negate a basic truth which is also what you are saying.
    The SYSTEM The SYSTEM The SYSTEM is poisoned and dieing.
    .It is now thrashing and in its deaththrows it will inflict injuries and destruction on anyone and anything it see’s will “SAVE” it.

It is a TOTALLY negative force and it feeds on Positivity.
    What nourishes GREED? Wealth!!!
    What nourishes POWER? Corruption!!
    The Political Elite of Barbados ,have eaten already ALL of the wealth of the Common Man of Barbados.
    Now they wish to consume His/her safety net .
    The SAVINGS of a LIFETIME of HARD work.
    Relegate us all to BONDAGE and reduce us to chattels owned by them.
    What do you think the “NEW WORLD ORDER ” is?
    You said they ” on the trip to the states; LEARNED NOTHING ”
    I said to you they were NOT LEARNING they were being INSTRUCTED.

17. Dr. Love…………….the site on Wall Street was never renamed from a few centuries ago, it continues to be called the stock exchange for a very valid reason.

18. I am still trying to wrap my head around a jewish scam artist sitting down and coming up with the idea of selling spots in heaven, which is in itself an intangible, and people stupid enough to bid for spots to go to heaven, an intangible only spoken about in fairy tales and fables like the bible and people willing to give up their hard earned money for a fable………..

19. @Well Well
    ERRRR!!! Wasn’t it like the JEWS who invented the Bible???
    How many people believe it.
    So whats odd about selling “makebelieve plots” in “Wonderland”
    I mean lets get Real? Unreal?? Just pretend!!?

20. @Well Well.
    On face book (so I hear) you can send plastic ducks to “makebelieve”freinds makebelieve farms to makebeleive you are being makebeleive loving and haveing makebelieve care for these makebelieve freinds.
    Make me beleive the whole FRIGGIN Planet is just makebeleive.
    Face book (I hear again) has ONE BILLION users.
    Wrap yuh Head roun dat!!!

21. Dr. Love………….we are living in a make believe world, just a cleverly crafted facade.

22. what is stupider buying a place in heaven, or strapping c4 explosives on your body for a spot in heaven and 100 virgins.

23. Lawson, i see you have read about the jewish guy in the US selling spots to go to heaven on ebay, i would gladly export all three groups of idiots to another planet, but that is just me, everyone will have a different opinion.

24. What about the non-Jewish guy in Barbados, Leroy the Prophet. He said “Give me thy money and I will go forth and multiply it for thee.” Scams come in all forms from all races.

25. @ Dr Love
    “…….Make me beleive the whole FRIGGIN Planet is just make believe.”
    Profound! ….it is EXACTLY that….
    It is in fact a ‘short term’ project, designed in a number of phases to accomplish a long term goal. In the overall scheme of things it is really just a fleeting illusionary exercise. We are currently approaching the end of a fairly significant phase.
    You cannot deny however that the screenplay, engineering and artistic design is really out of this world…..even though the bit part actors are mostly bowls of brass…. 🙂
    Indeed it is so realistic, (having been designed in the IMAGE of what is actual reality) that most of us actually operate on the basis that our world IS reality…..when it is just a carefully crafted training ground.

..this is why BU David et al are so fixated with solving our social and economic challenges – and so sorry for the poor and destitute among us… They feel that this existence is real and is important…

When the truth finally comes out, it will be seen that some of the really struggling actors in our make-believe world will have qualified for the major lead roles in the coming permanent reality of REAL life..

26. Dr. Love…………….in answer to your question about facebook, look how right you are……………

http://gawker.com/5636765/facebook-ceo-admits-to-calling-users-dumb-fucks

27. An idiot manages to write what is probably the single most wretchedly stupid thing ever published on the internet. Let’s quote Bush Tea:

“In the overall scheme of things it is really just a fleeting illusionary exercise. We are currently approaching the end of a fairly significant phase … even though the bit part actors are mostly bowls of brass…. Indeed it is so realistic, (having been designed in the IMAGE of what is actual reality) that most of us actually operate on the basis that our world IS reality … when it is just a carefully crafted training ground.”

Priceless. Utterly depressing, but priceless.

The idiot thereby reveals his ignorance of compassion. Because what is the point of compassion if the world is a false reality in which we are bit-part actors on a training ground? Compassion, the single most important human emotion in the history of humankind, an emotion that outweighs even love, the emotion that makes civilization possible, is irrelevant in this idiot’s wasteland of preparation. Preparation for what? This isn’t a rehearsal. This is what you get.

I’ve never really known true hunger, or abuse, or torture. But I can feel compassion for the hungry and the abused and the tortured. And my compassion can make me act against hunger and abuse and torture. It’s obvious to anyone who isn’t a delusional dunce or a member of some fringe millenarian sect that civilization is possible, if it’s possible at all, only because we can feel compassion for those who experience things that we do not experience. Only if we act on that compassion.

What motive is there for compassion if we’re just supporting players in some cosmic drama? Why act on your compassion if this is not reality? That man who sleeps on cardboard in a doorway in Oistins, obviously mentally ill, obsessively combing his hair, perhaps a little Tourette’s, definitely some schitzophrenia, probably other ailments that I can’t diagnose in the brief moments when I try to give him something, he’s another “bit actor” is he? I should just walk on by, safe in the knowledge that an idiot on Barbados Underground knows for sure that this poor man’s life is just a training ground for the REAL reality?

You’re an idiot. You can barely keep to the first person in your writings. Almost nobody cares about your particular compassion-free millenarian cult.

28. So we are living to learn, this young man became a billionaire because of facebook users and now has the audacity to insult them because people are dumb enough to spend their hours on facebook doing very little or nothing.

29. Jocky are you calling Bushtea an Idiot????? Waaait you can’t insult the bushman like that. Dat is my bush friend even though he needs some lessons on pleasing a woman.

30. @ Islandgal
    What specific lessons?…. and when will you be ready to start… 🙂

LOL @IG,
    Why do you think Jocky Bormann trolls around on BU reading post from stupid bloggers – including idiot bushmen? Most people that Bushie know simply avoid things (and people) that they dislike, or consider ‘idiots’.

Anyway, It is good to note that Bormann can ACTUALLY put thoughts together over and above his usual petty complaints about grammar, personalities and tense. The fact that those thoughts are garbled and illogical is another matter altogether, but this should not be surprising for someone who comes across as largely molded from a typical redneck from the outback of middle America.

@ Bormann

1 From your perspective Bushie IS an idiot. You get NO marks for that discovery.
    Bushie would be an even bigger idiot to have expected you to understand the particular post to which you referred. You may (or may not) have noted that it was addressed to one Dr. Love.

2. From your rant, one is left to deduce that the epistemological basis for your assertion that COMPASSION is some kind of supreme human characteristic is that “you feel so”.
    Presumably the fact that you have “compassion” on some poor beggar as YOU sail through life justifies everything….
    LOL …so much for your “compassion” for the idiot Bushie 🙂 ..or is compassion only for those with good grammar, and who speak in the first person singular..?

But…
    Welcome to the debate Jocky, Perhaps you sincerely may wish to discuss the idiot rantings of the bushman…even if only in the hope that you can improve the idiot’s atrocious grammar and spelling and perhaps even dispel, with reasoned logic, Bushie’s concept of life being just a temporary testing and refinement phase of a much much larger project….
    If so, then (as Jeff B said) obring it on…. Compassion versus Character

Who knows, you may even learn something (presuming that such a possibility exists of course…)

31. @Jock
    “Dem feels it knows it.”

32. @Bush Tea
    Man dat some heav shit yuh layin pon me.
    Bus mah brain.
    is I is or is i aint?
    Epistam??? dat word .
    I ent sah good wid de noggin man.
    feignites !!
    I gotta consult wid de madam.

33. New
    If you sport an afro* you are an african**
    (*) or are bald / shave / straighten your curls
    (**) unless you have a jewfro

34. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your web site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this accident did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

35. This is an excellent article and one that should inspire all right thinking persons to move in this direction. I fear that much of the positive information here will be lost because of sheer ignorance and discrimination against Africa by several people in Barbados.

The simple belief held in this country is that ‘ We Bajans better than Africans and we dont want them people hey.”This is true of Governmental Departments as well as some ordinary persons also, Mention the word African or even people from specific countries in Africa coming here and an image is conjured up of people who are trying their best to get to Barbados illegally, and who would engage in all kind of scams just to be here. The amazing irony is that there is alot of Black talk and claims of African heritage in Barbados. Some Barbadians love wearing African clothes, but the sad reality is that once a person comes from Africa to Barbados, that person may face subtle and sometimes overt discrimination even from Governmental Departments. Barbados is no paradise. It never was and never will be until its preconceptions of people change. Barbados at best, is a ‘lucky’ country not having to struggle with many of the problems which others truly had to struggle in order to survive. Consequently there is a haughty spirit which exists in this country- that we are better than some of our own Caribbean neighbours and certainly better than ‘dem Africans or dem bush people’ How ignorant and backward is this view!!.Given the way things are moving in this country, socially, economically and from a number of other perspectives- this country may fall rapidly fall and may not necessarily recover either!

Barbados has to learn to respect the fact that every African coming to this country is not some deceptive person trying to marry as a way to get into the country. They may bring valuable experiences and knowledge to this country as well. We can learn from them and they can learn from us. But for us to learn we have to remove our misplaced sense of superiority, bigotry and prejudice. Simply put, pride goeth before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall.Pride is one of the things which God hates.

I commend you Dr St Hill for this timely and informative article an I for one remain open to the possibilities of investing in and living in Africa and making a positive difference there. I just wish that this island’s ( Barbados)perception of people may change for the better before it is too late.

36. Is this the same one involved in this Nigerian debacle? I not seeing any reference to the great con inflicted on our African brothers and sisters.

37. We all know that Japan’s economy has been stalling for well over two decades. It is now looking to the African continent to reboot her economy. Perhaps it has viewed with envy the rapid strides made by her enemy China in Africa.

Could this be a win-win situation for Africa and her people or is this just another opportunity for some well connected politicians and business people to fleece this great continent|?

http://www.nation.co.ke/business/Nairobi-to-host-huge-Japanese-forum/-/996/3075876/-/l90ofc/-/index.html