Submitted by Looking Glass
Always exploited, often brutalized, indentured servants were slaves without shackles. Liz Wiley, here, finds a moment of rest. Photo by Dave Doody - http://www.history.org/
Always exploited, often brutalized, indentured servants were slaves without shackles. Liz Wiley, here, finds a moment of rest. Photo by Dave Doody – http://www.history.org/

So England paid the Caribbean slave owners to release the African slaves they had “enslaved, brutalized and exploited. The freed slaves by comparison received nothing in comparison in recompense for their dehumanization, their cruel treatment, the abuse of their labour, and the plain injustice of their enslavement – BU April 14/2013

The Caribbean is a region with many countries many of whom had no relationship with England and or slavery. To write about Caribbean slavery without being specific as to the islands involved is to put it mildly is misleading.

In the case of Barbados the absence of history heightens our inability to think with clarity. The British discovered Barbados I believe in 1640. Indians were the only residents there. Some eventually migrated to British Guyana. The first English settlers the vast majority of whom were Jews wanted to grow coffee but England needed sugar. To this end they sent in some INDENTURES/white slaves, arranged for Blacks to be sent from Nigeria and paid them to work on the land. Unlike the USA they did not buy the African blacks.

The Whites not the Blacks developed the country and made it a democracy from about 1845. 18 year old George Washington first learned about democracy when he visited the island with his sick brother who came for treatment in 1895. He made America democratic I believe in 1950. That a sick American came to the country for treatment is an indication of the country’s development at the time. Among other things the Whites built the hospital, established social services and the business sector. Four Jewish indentures were instrumental in building the Bridgetown business sector. Their businesses are still in existence. A few Blacks set up their own business; one had a chain of six shops.

Elementary and the major secondary schools were established before 1900 to accommodate the kids/girls and boys the vast majority of who were and still are Black. This at a time when the Whites were not more than 20% of the population and 25% today. After school the White kids went to work in the family business, a few went abroad. The Black kids went to work in Bridgetown and the government; some became professionals others masons, carpenters etc. A few worked in their family stores but a many were unemployed. The economy as was structured then could not absorb them. Many migrated to the UK and North America to work and or to pursue higher education. Few Blacks went into big business. The same is not true today, but only a few can now migrate.

The Jews developed, built and governed Barbados until Blacks took over the government around 1925. They introduced and managed cricket and had three clubs, but only about 6 Whites ever played for Barbados. It is hard to believe that a racist group would devote so much time, energy and money in developing a country in which they were not more than 20% of the total population. It is unlikely that you would have done so had the situation been reversed. A few married black women and along with some others had Brown Skin children from black women. Like some Blacks not all recognized and supported their bastard kids.

They interacted and socialized with you at school, work and play, but did not generally entertain you in their homes. Could this be the reason why they are seen as racist? Black and White behaviour is similar in many ways. If so then Blacks are also guilty of what amounts ‘black class racism’ within the black community. Upper class Blacks do not normally entertain lower class souls at their homes. The same is true for the middle class. How you view and relate to the Brown Skin souls is another story.

Stop blaming the Whites some of whom were also indentures who like your fore parents worked on the land. They are only about 25% of the population. It is now your turn to develop to further develop the country. So far there is little to suggest that this is being done. As I said before our only natural resources are land, sea and sun. Use them to develop the country. Economically the country as currently structured cannot absorb the work-pool. Until you do the country will fall deeper in debt. And stop relying on foreign investment and Tourism to see you through. Despite what some think Tourism cannot save you. These days Blackie wants nothing to-do with the land that brought that brought their fore-parents to the island. Ultimately it remains their one salvation

1. @WW
    U racially attacked ME! I play to win, so I unload in your RASSHOLE, now U demented lil fool want to pretend that U could expose me. U placed a target on your back and I hit it dead centre!

When U downtown watch out for a very large 6ft 2in white guy with piercing blue eyes and mek sure U cross the road safely, if that is possible for U of limited capability! I was just in a meeting on Credit Arbitrage with a very sophisticated Investment group, what U going do SHOP!

2. @Miller
    I honestly have no knowledge about Amerindians living in Bim when the British arrived in 1627. However, if you are certain about the accuracy of such, fair enough. Its been along time about 40yrs since i read Cbean History.
    Looks like we owe a debt of gratitude to the Amerindians for saving whitey’s “sorry ass.” Logically black Bajans should therefore hate Amerindians for so doing, as may be left to their stupidity, whitey would never have found water and some black explorer from Africa would have colonised the island by 1650 or so??? PITY!

3. @WW
    Only a real fool like U would think that HC in the 1970s was some race based educational institution. By then the vast majority of teachers were black Bajans / Cbean, the English were long gone. Naturally, U would NOT have accurate info about this since U went to school at the standpipe on Saturdays in July/ August.

4. @Miller, WW et al
    In the book by Sir FA Hoyos, former Hstory Dept Head of Lodge School, entitled .. Barbados A History from Amerindians to Independence, he clearly states on page 14 that Bim was NOT inhabited when the English arrived in 1627. He says the Arawaks were here from AD 800 to AD 1200.

With due respect please dont hesitate to send all the necessary references that PROVE any of what wunna contending! U see intelligent people like me always allow for being wrong, hence why I do so well in the investment business!

5. @WW
    U say U have white blood?? Well we may be family girl cause I had a Grandfather and uncles that had plenty outside women of colour, naturally U in particular are unlikely to be family because u dont seem to meet the minimal IQ BUt then again every family has idiots. Indeed, some famous Bajan Surgeons, Doctors, Lawyers were produced from my families exploits with their loins.
    WW U have no need to get excited I am in noway interested in U!

6. Moneybrain…………there is way i would deal with men who clearly have and display the attributes of cockroaches, you would be a little more than shocked to know who my white relatives are and like me they know you are from the bloodline of the unschooled and foolish europeans who were kicked out of europe for being of inferior quality stock.

7. Moneybrain…………….no way i would deal with cockroaches like you.

8. Well Well

Why wunna women so quick to temper … You know that Money only horsing around. Man call the man a Jack Ass, alright, he accustom… but not a cockroach man … da is carrying it a little too far.

9. Moneybrain…………i had a meeting with a bunch of big, white, blond, brunette, black, indian, chinese, and saudi executives, see you live on a majority black island, you are a minority, but you have so little respect for the black people on the island, without home your ass would be on some sidewalk begging your daily bread, that the only way you know to interact with them is denigrate them while still smiling with them, I don’t know why black people in Barbados don’t stop spending their hard earned dollars with the lowlife bajan white trash on the island, teach yall a lesson.

10. @WW
    Yes like my relative who went to Cambridge read Law and then won a landmark case in the 1700s against bringing slaves to the UK, we stupid bad!!! U almost make me feel like regretting that, BUT I would never make the assumption that the majority of people of colour should suffer because of a few like U!

Tell me who U family to?? I likes scandals! Are U light skinned? I find light skins are by FAR the most racist of coloured peeps. The most racist at HC was light skins, I suppose because they felt the necessity to prove their black identity. and their hate for whitey.

11. Baf…………….i horsing around back at him.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Moneybrain | May 27, 2013 at 2:58 PM |
    “Logically black Bajans should therefore hate Amerindians for so doing, as may be left to their stupidity, whitey would never have found water and some black explorer from Africa would have colonised the island by 1650 or so??? PITY!”

Wrong again, Moneybrain! You certainly are not on the money with this Amerindian thing.

Is that how you view a people living a simple existence in a healthy land of paradise land?
    A race of people through their natural generosity welcome with open arms Columbus and his band of lost mutineers that reminded them -through tales handed down from their ancestors- of alien visitations from the sky.

Maybe you are right after all. Only if those “natives” on the renamed island of El Salvador instead of feeding and caring for them had slit the evil Christian throats of the wayward vagabonds from Spain an the Canary islands their lighter skin brothers on the continental land masses to the South and North might still be a thriving species of humanity today.

If there is any hating to be done by black Bajans it would have to be their own ancestors on the black gold coast of West Africa aka Ghana and the Jewish slave traders and Christian privateers who sold them to businessmen like yourself who were given estates in the newly conquered lands in the name of King James, King Charles and his successors in return for support, patronage and gold to the English Monarchy.

If you chose to believe what F.A. Hoyos wrote in HIS story about the indigenous people you could as well believe that Columbus “discovered” the New World; blacks from West Africa came here as refugees, African snails sail to Barbados from Africa in a dug-out canoe and Jesus Christ was a white man with blue eyes and a purple heart that came to save the black slaves.

Do you really think that FAB Hoyos would have told the truth to offend the white Bajan elite by writing that they are the descendants of an ungrateful lot which almost wiped out in a fit of genocide an indigenous group through murder, disease contamination and cultural obliteration?
    Pick sense from that and realise that ‘money is not always brains’.

13. Moneybrain……………….unlike you who love to brag and boast and ultimately told us who your relatives are, i have no need to brag nor boast nor expose my lineage, you would not want to know who they are since none of them are on the island and would not wish to mingle with the likes of you cause you know european and north american whites do not think highly of bajan whites at all, and, since i was not the one on here hiding like the cockroach that you are while harboring ill will toward black people, i will leave you to wonder, suffice it to say, i know who you are, where you came from and how your useless mind works……………

14. @WW
    I live in Toronto clown, BUT I should not call U by your first name as U have already proven U cant read, reason or anything else. Why U so racist though..”.black peeps should stop doing business with Whitey”. I sold ALL my business interests in Bim long ago and removed every penny from the island mainly because of peeps like U! If I was still there U might have a point about stupidity BUT I can dominate in the vast Canadian/ International Investment scene so I leave Bim to the guys that need a small pond!

15. Moneybrain…………….if i said i lived in New York, you would say the same thing, if i said i lived in london you would say the same thing, you should have kept your mouth shut, Barbados is extremely small and i know you live on the island………….stupid is as stupid does.

16. @WW
    U dont know SHYTE about me or anything at all! DUNCE!
    Unlike U I dont care what small minded people pretend to try to think!
    Dunces like U are always trying to denigrate others accomplishments and that is one reason U dont get ahead. Thanks for creating less competition, now how about dying and leaving a lil more oxygen for the rest of us.

17. Moneybrain……………you can’t dominate your own doo in Canada, take it from someone who knows.

18. @WW
    U cant read, I said Canada/ International (U joker) . People like U are relatively POOR and deservedly so!

19. Moneybrain……………you don’t have power over that either, you gotta stay there and rot in your own filth, you rotten mind will kill you, we want you alive so you can go crazy with hate.

20. Moneybrain…………………i don’t care what you said, i know how the Canadian international market works and you are not a player.

21. @WW
    I dont hate U I PITY U!

22. Moneybrain…………….you got time to pity somebody, that is ample proof you don’t live in nor do business in Canada, there is no room for pity here……………i don’t pity you and happy to see you so filled with hate, you are unable to think rationally. You only have time to pity when you live in a small space, you live in Barbados.

23. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well
    It makes no sense arguing with people like Moneybrain. They are too dense. When Barbados gained independence it was people like Mondybrains who Migrated (not emigrated) to placres like New Wealand, Australia, and Yes Canada (which at that time had an emigration policy against Blacks). Trudeau cahnged that. However those who took everything they had and left should be made to stay where they are and let us live in peace. You have no uses for us, and the feeling is mutual.Leff out Moneybrains.Hde igrunt!!

24. Alvin……………..I knew you would see straight through him.

25. Alvin…………how is the weather on your end? it was boiling hot in Yorkdale around midday but downtown Toronto was freezing, i thought this was supposed to be spring.

26. @Alvin
    Yes come help to add more STUPIDITY to WW so that between wunna U could have a combined IQ of 30! ONLY white peeps migrated, right? DumbAss! WW claims to live here in Toronto, so should I conclude she is white?
    U cant see through someone who is 250lbs clown WW.

27. Moneybrain……………..if you saw me you would salivate, cause that is as close to me as you can get…………….i don’t need help to deal with you, i already have you where i want you, where everyone can see you for what you really are………..

28. Moneybrain………………….by the way, you are obese.

29. @WW
    Interesting that U have NOT produced one shred of evidence about your contention that there were Amerindians in Bdos when the English arrived in answer to my proof source. I await your brainless response.
    @Alvin
    I migrated to Toronto in the 80s, I was not seeking a refuge from black people, just the opportunity to develop my knowledge and accomplish much more than Bim could afford. Indeed, I conduct business with black Bajans wherever possible ie furnace guy, auto purchases, accountant etc probably more so than most black Bajans living here in TOR.

Alvin U are sure right to say there is no point in arguing with me, simply because U and WW lack the mental capacity to win any such arguments. However, that deficiency has nothing to do with race because as I stated previously I went to HC with many very clever black youths. These HC black connections are still my friends to this day.

30. Moneybrain…………….i don’t have to prove anything to you, the earth speaks for itself, it does not have to rewrite history for selfish gains, nobody is interested in your stories, you have already been outed, what more do you want?

31. Moneybrain………….i gotta tell ya, you been nothing but entertainment for me today.

32. @WW
    What “outed” are U talking about? U made a bigting about something which U are FACTUALLY WRONG and some how in your demented lil mind this “outs” me!

33. @WW
    I dont have to tell U that U are one DUMBASS lil bitch because U already know dat!

34. Sticks and stones………….i am not the one who exposed myself, Moneybrainless.

35. Money come come, you got more class than that … You still my friend, so I asking you man, don’ go down dey ..

36. Baf………………leave him, he has not even noticed that he can’t move off this thread, i will keep him here all night, i had him here all day……….what would you call that Moneybrainless? I call that brain power, the type of IQ you will never understand.

37. Well Well

You and ac would mek a good pair … HA HA HA … MURDA .. De place gun bun down …

38. Baf……………there is a new name for that one, she is now…… acSLEAZE

39. MoneyBrainless…………see, you got stuck on a slavery thread, that is nothing but a big lie, now who put you there?

40. @Well! ……wait u trying to pick fight with ac…………Girl I will head butt u dumb assss….all 250lbs of it ……! now go answer Money brain question……….

41. HA HA HA HA MURDA … FIGHT … CAT FIGHT UP IN HEY TANIGHT … HA HA HA MURDA

42. acSLEAZE………….what fight what, you can barely read and write and have no comprehension skills, Moneybrainless said he weighted 250lbs, not me……………you need to go answer Old Onion Bags. I have had Moneybrainless on one thread for over 10 hours, is it not ironic it’s a slavery thread, can you do that?……………now you go answer Old Onions, I have this under control.

43. BAF >>>>>>>>U are an instigator my response was to get your attention…………HA ! HA! and it worked…………….I neva beat up on the sis maybe Well WEll might be the first………..let’s see how she responds………

44. acSLEAZE……………Old Onions still waiting for you, as i told you I am working on Moneybrainless, he can’t even visit another thread.

45. HA HA THIS IS FUN … DE LASHES START … I paying attention … HA HA HA .. I tekking bets

46. Well ! WELL! so what couldn’t care less maybe about 300lbs and counting u sitting on a computer ten hours trash talking and u talking about skills somebody need to tell u that the blog is a world unto it self nutting to do with skill or comprehension… wait u tink people out there really tek what people say so seriously;;;;;;;;;;;;;; who fooled u…Btw u a good example of trash talking………………..

47. acSLEAZE…………….i think MoneyBrainless has finally realized how long he has been chained to this thread, so I will now deal with you, but I know it will take you some time to figure it out, and i have to go out, so we can continue tomorrow…………….but read and digest this information, read carefully and what you can’t understand just googe………

Well Well. | May 27, 2013 at 8:16 AM |

Old Onions……………what really sickens me, are the sheeple like acSLEAZE, who if i had my way would be tightly fitted into handcuffs and shackles for her acSLEAZINESS, people like her with the limited intellectual acuity of vicious crabs would knowingly aid and abet the financial victimization of her own people by the present administration, not unlike the CLICO scam, just so she can fly party colors and boast, but later, soundly blame the victims, just like she did with the CLICO scam………credit union members need to take a stance.

48. ac you tek dah standin’ up ..?

49. @ well;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;u r correct I realyl don’t unstan the mumboo gumbo comment above………………………two thumbs down……..

@ BAF……………..the best position ! rated no 1…..

50. @WW
    Dummy a man that is 6ft 2ins and 250 lbs has to be obese, according to your limited ability to think?
    Solid manhood dis! Big and thick all over! Muscle to spare! Only fools rush in to expose their stupidity!
    U can’t keep me pun here because I DONT have to work on one thing at a time like U, slowy! If U had half my brain power and 10% of my financial resources U would understand that! $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ REAL$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$! HAHAHAHA!

Leave a Reply to MoneybrainCancel reply