Marston Gibson, Chief Justice of Barbados Designate
Marston Gibson, Chief Justice

In the interest of sharing all information received about any matters which BU has reported on, we have been advised and updated on the issue of the Parris v BLP and Nation and Barbados Advocate as follows:

Mr Hal Gollop QC filed an action for defamation against the Nation which pre-dates the Parris action. The law firm of Carrington and Sealy acts for the Nation and Mr Vernon Smith QC is acting for Mr Gollop.

The essence of the complaint is that on January 07, 2013, the Nation captured and published the photograph which is the subject of dispute. Reasonable conclusion, the Nation was the author and the holder of copyright of the photograph. The BLP subsequently used the photograph and caption in their campaign. Thus, Mr Gollop has also advanced a claim of conspiracy against the Nation and the BLP.

At an election meeting at the Ivy on January 10, Mr Chris Sinclair made comments on BIPA that were responded to by the Nation with the picture at dispute. Mr Gollop immediately commenced the protocols (CPR)  against the Nation and, the time limit of the protocols having expired, Mr Gollop filed suit some time BEFORE Mr Parris filed his suit.

To date BU understands that the Nation has not filed an acknowledgement of the claim. Mr Mottley QC is representing the BLP in its defence of the Paris action.

How is it that Mr Gollop’s action is not proceeding, while the action of Mr Parris is proceeding with such haste? AND being heard by the Chief Justice? There is the inference which some have made that the Simmons appointed people in the court system are doing favours for the party that appointed them. The independence of the courts and of the judiciary from the executive must now be carefully examined.

115 responses to “Update: Leroy Parris v BLP, Nation and Barbados Advocate”

1. So much for Gollop being above suing for petty crap.

2. I know some people just could not help themselves answering AC, without actually answering her nonsense, I must say, whomever would believe such garbage is an out an out idiot.

3. Look………………..Island is just winding you up, I am all female, very little male hormones.

4. @ Well Well

I was doing the same winding her up and on this blog, other posters too. Why? Give them just a little bait, they take it WITHOUT hesitation. Notice that, The Montreal Jazz Festival and the New York Metropolitan Museum. My boyfriend, a French-Canadian, resident of Montreal Quebec, Canada often calls me a bad girl.

5. Well ! Well! wether one believes it or not it is not what I assumed or perceived or made up it is well documented in the High courts of Barbados u ass hole. As to wether I believe it or not it is up for such evedience to be proven in the courts, Wunna always trying to take little stick to cut down big tree with all wunna verbal nonsense and onesided attempts to denigrate others without proof. like I said the policyholders have an association who can sue Leroy Parris “IF” they want answers, but have they after five years of giving the members the run around. ,Now Leroy Parris take on a big fish and wunna angry. wunna full of shit… nobody stoping the policyholders from suing Parris all wunna do up in her on this blog is talkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk nuff shittttt hoping somebody out there gonna help wunna out . Trinidad now spend 25billion trying to topple Clico any wunna going to back the govt to spend 25cents to sue Clico, to get wunna money back.. just lot B/s talk. wunna guh long… no wonder ac keep laughing at wunna foolishnesss,

6. Look………………..which month is the Montreal Jazz Festival held?

7. @ Well Well

I am a teacher, teach sixth and seventh grade Social Studies. For this reason, I have little tolerance for stupidity: islandgal246, Smooth Chocolate, Baffty, Miller too wherever he is these days.

8. For the record, BIPA has initiated legal proceedings:

BARBADOS—Former CL Financial chairman Lawrence Duprey is one of several persons served with pre-action protocol letters by attorneys Alair Shepherd, QC, and Esther Obiora Arthur on behalf of the Barbados Investors and Policyholders Alliance (BIPA).

Directors of Clico and British-American Insurance Company (Baico), as well as the Supervisor of Insurance in Barbados, the island’s Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and Auditors PricewaterhouseCoopers have also been served with the letters which are accompanied by draft statements of claims.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2013-01-30/duprey-named-lawsuit-against-bipa

9. The DLP government cannot sue CLICO Barbados because it is CLICOs 10 million dollars put them in power in the first place, they cannot do anything to Parris, cause he runs the government, what big fish you thing Parris is taking on, is small fries in the real world, I wish he had the balls to come out here and swim with us real sharks, we will hand him back to you in one pound parcels.

10. It is only illiterates would look up to people like Parris, they were never exposed to real people with real substance so any two bit thief would look like a savior…………..don’t get me started.

11. David………………i know parris was served with papers, they made a big stink about not being able to find him and he was at St. Angela’s school picking up his kids, only a jackass like ac living in Barbados and did not know this and I am all the way in North America and know.

12. Lesley Haynes loves nothing better than to serve on insurance boards and also represent plaintiffs, hope he has to pay through the wazoo. So ac the idiot, what say you now?

13. @ ac #2 who said….

@Bush Tea. My heart bleeds for you. I said “A prophet is NOT without honour, save (except) in his own country. Words spoken (not by me) but by one greater than I; Jesus himself. Sorry you did not or do not understand what it means
    Alvin
    Jesus spoke in parables to confuse the sheeple who surrounded him…and clearly to cafuffle brainiacs like you…

1 – A “prophet is not without honor” means that a prophet DOES have some honour. (NOT WITHOUT – double negative)
    “Save in his own country” says that the exception to this truism is in his own country.

Putting these together, Jesus was saying that a prophet has no honour in his own country…..which is what the bushman said….

If you need any other assistance please feel free to ask.

2 Bushie never said that Professor Wade was any but an outstanding son of the soil……only that he was without enough influence to place even ONE Bajan scholar in his MIT program. This assertion was made by the prof himself in a lecture here last year.

How do you know that Bushie is not a professional colleague of the prof…? Perhaps even a senior one….?

You seem to be in love with your own verbiage, but your comprehension skills are seriously compromised….Perko would be ashamed…. But …Up and on….

@ the original ac
    All is forgiven you. You truly know not what you type… But now that Old onions have gotten over the elections loss, someone has to play the role of BU jester …..and you do it so well…..

@ Islandgal re Well Well
    …as Technician used to advise….DO NOT FEED THE TROLL.

14. LOLL…..Look is out Looking and Well Well looks like seasoned meat……Watch out Well Well! ROFL

Ok Bushie Je vais arrêter pour le moment! Je n’ai pas un copain Québécois comme Look ….Pouffe !

15. So Well! WELL! what was Leroy Parris charged with. Was it theft . Fraud if none of the above you can specifically state your own findings

BTW bush TEA….I forgot u exist! no need to remind me!

16. When I was a boy, I often heard people being defamed even while they were present and you might have gotten a cuss out. However, people today are not made of that sterner stuff that our forebears were made of and as a result, feelings get hurt very quickly. It has reached the point where you can’t even think out loud. LOL

17. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Caswell

Paris is entitled to feel that he was defamed and make a claim for damages. He must prove that claim and substantiate the damages being claimed.

Well Well

Please you provide one piece of evidence that David Thompson was worth $30 million, dead or alive? Just one piece of evidence you malicious nasty terd.

18. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

Only 57 months to go before the BLP have a chance of being returned to Government. You may be dead, God forbid, before the BLP and Rawdon Adams is returned to Governenment Headquarters at Bay Street.

19. Dummy……………you can’t even spell turd, now why would i want to bother with you when it is clear you are an illiterate………………..i said all that was needed to be said. ac would not understand the meaning to be served with a subpoena not even if she was served with a hundred, so i would not even bother.

20. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

If you count your chickens before they hatch often all you end up with is egg on your face. The BLP may be in Oppostion even up to 2023. That is not a terrible prospect unless you support the BLP.

21. Dummy………….who the hell is rawdon adams, you mean adams son, just another politician, no different to the ones now in existence and don’t follow two legged man, neither do i worship two legged man, man cannot save you, you would think after all these centuries people would have learned by now……………pity the fools……………by the by, you might be in your grave too by the time what you are predicting occurs.

22. Rawdon Adams is NOT a politician. Last time we checked he was living happily with his family in France and is a respected Financial Analyst.

23. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

You are oh so clever but your debating skills or lack thereof suggest you are really just a retarded village idiot. Which village has misplaced its idiot?

24. Caswell……………….it is not a matter of being thin skinned or having hurt feeling, those animals could care less what was said about them, it is all about seeing who else they could milk, no one will hire them in their businesses any longer so they have to go with what is available and utilize any opportunities that fall in their laps and turn it into monetary gain, don’t get tied up.

25. Dummy……………..the village i live in has 13 million people, how many live in your village?

26. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

An in 2008 OSA was done with politics too. Why was Rawdon and OSA at Cin Cin two weeks ago discussing politics and the legacy of the Adams family in Barbados?

Is a politician only a politician when openly and actively involved in politics?

27. David……………why are they continually associating his name with politics in Barbados and why would he even want to consider entering that pit of vipers that is the political arena in Bim? I am sure he lives in a large “village” why would he want to downgrade? to hear Dummy tell it.

28. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

One idiot in a village in 13 million people, you are only special idiot.

29. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

What did you do with the champagne you bought in February to celebrate the BLP election victory? Did you use it wipe down yourself on the 22nd to help break the fever?

WUNNA LOST. Mia undermined Owen and the BLP in St. Michael, ask anyone in the know. The DLP didn’t buy the election, some in the BLP sold the victory.

30. Dummy……………….you really and truly gave yourself an appropriate name, as well as being new to the blog…………what i must tell you in all your crazy utterings that are peppered with lack of knowledge is that the there is no more money in the NIS fund to borrow to pay salaries, no one is lending money to pay salaries, that should be the only concern that is uppermost in your dummy of a mind………………….Dummy.

31. There comes a time when the back and forth bards get boring. Please discuss the issues.

32. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

I told you already nitwit people or financial institutions don’t determine if to lend money to Governments based on the usage of the funds, only whether the Government can repay.

The NIS has a surplus of 15 million dollars each of every month, that money has to be invested so notwithstanding the amount of cash the NIS has already invested in Government paper, the NIS cannot be out of money knucklehead.

33. Now, if the present administration was not so indebted to Parris, they would no doubt be able to show integrity and finally get the integrity legislation in gear as well as the transparency that was another promise and they would certainly be happy to let us know about all that is now hidden from the taxpayers who pay their monthly salaries, we would also be hearing what is in the CLICO report that allegedly fell off a truck?? When this administration starts to admit that the taxpayers are really their masters and not Parris we might actually start having some respect for them…………………how hard could it be to appease the CLICO policyholders who are also taxpayers?…………what I really want to hear is when the case against CLICO and it’s former directors will start. Having said that, the judiciary will only continue looking like the side show of clowns that they are projecting themselves to be if they continue to give this Parris drama priority.

34. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Errol Barrow,a former member of the BLP, was a highly respected politician.Brilliant economist and Public Finance guru.
    JMGM Tom Adams,a former member of the BLP, was a highly respected politician.Brilliant economist and Public Finance guru.
    H Bernard St John,a former member of the BLP,was a highly respected politician.A decent and knowledgeable person.
    Owen Arthur,a member of the BLP is a highly respected politician.Brilliant economist and Public Finance guru.
    Erskine Sandiford,a member of the DLP.A decent person.Out of his depth.
    David Thompson,a member of the DLP.Died in office.
    Freundel Staurt,a member of the DLP.A decent person.Out of his depth.
    Conclusion:
    Barbados ,post 1976,has been better off when governed by the BLP.

35. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i think this shows how connected and powerful Parris is in this country under this DLP gov’t. Owen Arthur 2 nights before the elections read from a document which strongly implied that a massive fraud was committed by a couple people on the CLICO policyholders. one of them is Parris, how come he has not rush to court with that one yet? and that was said on a platform.

duppy know who to frighten and old house should hide from strong winds.

36. @David. You got to laugh. I was reading the Nation this morning and came across comments made by Adriel Brathwaite speaking at a prize-giving yesterday at the Crane. I was gripped by the very first lines, which read:

“A culture of preparedness for natural and man-made disasters must be developed in Barbados and it must start with the young people.”

Quite apart from the fact that entire speech is a long, banal platitude, it is interesting to see Adriel telling young people that they must be prepared for man-made disasters. He is not speaking about acts of terror or warfare, you know. He is preparing them for the man-made disaster that is the judicial system and for the fact that he intends to do NOTHING about it.

As for Hal suing the Nation, I am glad he did!!!! If anyone has a cause of complaint, it is Hal. But how the hell did Parris manage to jump the gun and get a hearing set down first? Interesting question. It seems that Hal, who has an excellent reputation, is going to have to go to the back of the queue, while Parris, who has no reputation left at all, jumps to the front and the Chief Justice rushes in to hear the case.

We have heard a lot of arrant nonsense from Responsibility Please!!! Granted the CJ, as a sitting judge, can sit in any court. But the nonsense about the CJ being assigned because the judge previously assigned was not available to hear the case, is laughable. The CJ is not on some sort of rota. So far as I can discern, he has sat on only ONE case to date. So, I have a few questions.

1. How come ANY judge was assigned so quickly, given the backlog and the number of people on remand for years?

2. The CJ is head of the judiciary and therefore responsible for its day-to-day operation. He is also head of the Court of Appeal in which, it is custom, that he sits and presides. So, the question is, since he has all of these justices of appeal who are hardly overworked by having to work three days of the week, why was one of them not scheduled to take the case? Why the CJ? Why not Sandra Mason or Moore or one of the others?

3. Why was Parris simply not made to wait until a High Court judge could be found, like all other citizens of Barbados are made to wait?

4. And if we are talking of things nepotistic, since when is Parris an attorney-at-law? Since when is Parris a silk? So, as he is neither, how does it happen that a silk who has complained for precisely the same thing, has received no favours and yet Parris has? So the nepotism clearly is not extended to the members of the legal profession, but to others. I posit that this is one of the man-made disasters that Adriel was warning to be prepared for. So it stands to reason that we can look forward to more of the same.

I am not surprised that the two cases, complaining against essentially the same thing, have not been joined. Hal’s position is very different to that of Parris’.

But, how interesting is the rush to hear the Parris case, with, apparently, no other JAs being available to tear themselves away from their 3 day work week and the CJ jumping in to save the day, despite the fact that there are many cases that have been waiting for YEARS longer and creating a FAR greater prejudice for litigants. The argument proposed by Responsibility Please!!! is therefore specious and transparent and utterly lacking in any sort of credibility and I reiterate that he is the one who needs to get his facts straight.

37. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Well Well

Back to the champagne tho, what did you do with it? If its a good brand like Moët or Dom Perinon then it will appreciate with bottle age so on or around 2023, it should be quite nice to drink when Kerry Symmonds wins the elections for the BLP.

38. Responsiblity Please !!! Avatar
    Responsiblity Please !!!

@ Amused .
    You are blaming Mr Parris unjustifiably. The application was brought by MOTTLEY & CO to have George Griffith removed as a party to the action. Parris was therefore dragged into court . You may therefore ask how come Mottley and Thorne who were representing Griffith and the BLP could get into court so quickly. you may further appreciate why I have been asking BU ( DAVID ) to check the FACTS and report them . I am sure after the facts are known DAVID will agree that an apology to the CJ and Parris would be the honourable thing .

39. Responsiblity Please !!! Avatar
    Responsiblity Please !!!

It would seem that George Was made a party in his role as the General Secretary of the BLP .

40. @Responsibility Please!

BU has always been quick to offer an apology when driven to do so.

41. How can Parris say that he had a good reputation after the Clico fiasco and that the Nation has now sullied it???? He needs to do a factual check with mainstream Barbados. His only friends are the PM and the MOF who have defended him publicly. We were told that “he was no leper” but that couldn’t convince the rest of the population to be enamoured with him. It is clear he has a lot of clout to have his case heard before the hundreds who have been waiting for many years. Does money oil the wheels of justice?

42. Responsiblity Please !!! Avatar
    Responsiblity Please !!!

I know that . That is why in the interest of fairness I keep asking you to properly research and reveal the FACTS. Those facts are within easy reach as Griffith and the BLP were represented by counsel , the two QC’s and a junior and Parris was also represented. Any one or a combination of these should assist you in putting together the facts.

43. Responsiblity Please !!! Avatar
    Responsiblity Please !!!

The posting above indicates how badly the facts have been misrepresented . the ” CLOUT ” was not displayed by Parris ; it was displayed by MOTTLEY & CO acting for the BLP and GEORGE GRIFFITH .

44. Responsiblity Please !!! Avatar
    Responsiblity Please !!!

@ David.
    I have done my own little bit of research and have found out that the matter has been adjourned on the application of Parris’ lawyer to some date in JULY . I am also informed that the application for the adjournment was stoutly resisted by Mottley . It was a matter in Chambers so the facts were not made public . GO AND DO THE RESEARCH !!!!

45. @Responsibility please!

Will work our sources.

46. I would like to know when the Judiciary will deem it time for the matter against the AG, CLICO and the former directors of CLICO to be called, this little sissy defamation lawsuit by the these players whom we know are all corrupt from both sides of the fence is a distraction from reality and the issues that need to be addressed for CLICO victims (policyholders).

47. On an aside……………….Trinidad has been advised to invest more money in start-up businesses in Barbados, i too think it is a wonderful idea. The world is in start-up mode, there will be tremendous benefits for other islands to invest in Bim at this point.

48. People behaving as if Clico was a government office. It was a private subsidiary of a Trinidadian parent company. The Barbados government at the end of the day dont have to help depositors get back a cent. I think its admirable that they are trying to help people get back their deposits. Parris, who was CEO, was getting a wash load of benefits from Clico. So what. Its what the board members and shareholders offered him. And on another note how much funds did the parent company in T&T took from Clico Barbados? Was there a receivable sitting on Clico’s books still? Is it written off? I work in a subsidiary and if the parent company wants all of cash and cash equivalents, they can do as they like and take the liquid assets and place a payables on their books to us. The subsidiary can have a receivable sitting on their books till Kingdom come.

49. Kevin………………just one question, which CLICO executive in Trinidad approved 10 million dollars of Barbados CLICO policyholders money to fund the 2008 elections in Barbados?

50. Kevin, perhaps you should go back to sleep. Firstly, the late Prime Minister all but guaranteed policy holders that they would get back their money, before pumping $10 million back into the company for which he was lawyer. Secondly, there is evidence from the forensic audit that something fishy was going on at CLICO, but the authorities, that is, the government, have so far refused an investigation into the matter. When some kind of suspicion of fraud is mooted, generally the authorities in the country take action. Check what happened with Stanford and Madoff. There are those who quite correctly believe that having given a guarantee to policy holders, the government has an obligation to see it through.

Leave a Reply to Well Well.Cancel reply