Submitted by Dear Loving Person

With general elections not due for another five years though, team Barbados urgently needs to address the economy and does not need so much political rhetoric.”

Sanka Price described as the omniscient editor

The  above is an unsolicited bit of advice from Nation columnist, Sanka Price, posing as he often feigns to be the omniscient editor, who is attuned to the pulse of the nation. He would be well advised to take some of the same medicine he is prescribing. His “weakly” contributions are precisely that – partisan political rhetoric, being passed off each time as objective, analytical prose. I wonder if he reads the texts presented before he affixes his name. If he did, he would realize that his opening sentiments are acutely applicable to him.Talk about ‘spitting in the wind and it lands in your face.’ Well, his contribution in today’s issue was a classic example.

He is being used to fight other people’s battles, as week after week his dislike and condemnation of the DLP administration are patently obvious. The February elections are barely three months behind us, yet his drawn campaign swords  remain unsheathed. But, he is not alone in this misguided effort to seek to derail this administration, rather than face the stark economic reality that is confronting EVERY OTHER country in the world – including the US, the UK, France, Greece, Italy, Ireland, Canada, Cyprus, Portugal, Spain, Venezuela, the Bahamas, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Grenada, etc.

For instance, only last Monday, a public holiday, on VOB’s Brass Tacks programme, we heard still BLP hopeful, Indar Weir, and DLP antagonist, Dr. Sally Cools, asking, Senator Reggie Hunte, not once but three times, to “name at least 10 things the DLP did in the last five years’. Senator Hunte started by stating “we have built lots of houses”; but before he could continue he was unceremoniously interrupted by both of his above mentioned opponents who shouted: “you see, he cannot even mention one thing they have done”.

I wonder where these two individuals were last February. All the pertinent issues were well ventilated; the DLP’s achievements and challenges were clearly articulated; and the electorate spoke. Weir and Cools were probably on another planet. They certainly  could not have been in Barbados during the campaign to ask such a question.

Well, without seeking to rehash the last election, here is some salient information for both of them, as well as for Sanka Price, Peter Wickham, Albert Branford, Patrick Hoyos, Carl Moore and the other BLP mouthpieces at the Nation, who also contribute their ‘weakly’ diatribe, seemingly oblivious to what is taking place across the globe.

Here are the unvarnished facts:

• the DLP executed a fantastic housing programme; building more houses in 5 years than the BLP built in 14 years in office – Workhall, Woodbourne, Parish Land, Marchfield, Greens, River Crescent, French Village, Cherry Grove, Vineyard, Coverly, Arlie Heights, Sayers Court, Pool, Forty Acres, Lancaster, Four Hill, Tweedside Road, Country Towers, Valarie, and Forde’s Road, etc. all attest to this;
  • the 500 housing lot programme provided many low income persons with lots at $5 a sq. ft;
  • NHC tenants of 20 years standing were given their units FREE of cost;
  • land taxes were reduced;
  • first-time home owners did not pay VAT on building materials;
  • new Blackman-Gollop Primary School, new Maria Holder Nursery School and new Thelma Berry School built, while St. Ambrose Primary and Anne Hill School were rebuilt;
  • sixth forms created at the Ch. Ch. Foundation and St. Michael Schools;
  • the Lodge school was re-built;
  • construction of additional blocs at Harrison College, the Alleyne School, Parkinson School, the SJPP and St. Lucy Secondary, and hard courts at Princess Margaret and St. James Secondary;
  • construction of roundabouts at Boarded Hall, Coral Ridge, Speightstown and Lancaster;
  • widening of the ABC Highway from two to four lanes from the Darcy Scott Roundabout to the Garfield Sobers Roundabout;
  • construction of new Post Office at Oistins;
  • Barbadian students can now borrow up to $100,000 from the Student Revolving Loan Fund (it used to be $50,000);
  • the interest rate on Student Revolving Loans was reduced from 8% to 4%;
  • revised income tax bands that gave  all workers additional disposable income;
  • major remedial work completed on the BIDC building at Newton Industrial Park, on which the last Government wasted $M9, and from which the last contractor ran off with millions of taxpayers’ $$;
  • the St. John Polyclinic substantially completed;
  • free bus rides for all students;
  • free summer camps;
  • energy grants provided to assist unemployed persons and the elderly, over 65 years old, in paying their electricity bills;
  • establishment of a $25 millionTourism Industry Relief Fund to assist hoteliers and stakeholders;
  • increase in the minimum wage from $200 to $250 a week;
  • a massive $M60 Warrens Road and Traffic Safety Improvement Project;
  • an intensified road repair programme along major highways as well as secondary roads;
  • NIS unemployment benefits were increased from 26 to 40 weeks;
    * Constituency Councils were established and are functioning;
  • passage of the very important Employments Right Act;
  • several Double Taxation Treaties signed to favourably position the country;
  • construction of a Leachate Treatment Plant;
  • commencement of a modern Waste to Energy Plant began;
  • commencement of new headquarters for the Barbados Water Authority;
  • start of a new headquarters building for CXC;
  • improvements to the QEH and polyclinics;
  • expansion of the Community Health Programme to include home visits to mentally ill patients;
  • increase in old age (non-contributory) pensions and maternity and funeral grants;
  • several elderly people’s home repaired and replaced by RDC and UDC;
  • novel agricultural initiatives with small farmers in Christ Church, St. John and St. Philip;
  • reduced the fiscal deficit from 9.1% to 7.4 % by 2011;
  • maintained the foreign reserves at 1.5 billion $$ ( 18 weeks of imports) during the recession;
  • laid the foundation for a green economy;
  • initiated a Water Augmentation Project and a National Tractor Cultivation Project;
  • started the Cassava Feed Project;
  • improvement to the Drug Service and overhaul of the national formulary;
  • intensification of programme to eradicate plant pest, like the Giant African Snail,
  • which is now under control;
  • re-introduction of an agricultural extension service to farmers;
  • work commenced on a new Fairchild Street Public Market;
  • and, single mothers no longer have to go to the courts for child support, and leave empty-handed and disappointed because of delinquent fathers.

All these were accomplished in the worst economic recession the world has seen since the 1930. That is  the DLP’s record over the last five years, and there is more.  Dr. Cools and Mr. Weir, on the other hand, you failed to ask Senator Hunte on Monday what the DLP inherited in 2008. You ought to be ‘fair and balanced’ as moderator, David Ellis, said during the discussion.

Here is some of what greeted us on assuming office: colossal wastage, cost over-runs, nepotism, infelicities, corruption, unethical hiring practices, dozens of over-paid but non-functioning ‘friends and family’ consultants, massive debt, an inflated and under-functioning public service – several departments and statutory boards were set up that are duplicating what others are doing, e.g. UDC, RDC, Invest Barbados, the Pan African Commission, etc.

So, armed with the above irrefutable evidence of the DLP’s achievements, and in spite of the difficulties created for us by several factions last time out; in spite of the worst global economic recession in 100 years; in spite of the related socio-economic challenges;  in spite of the  doomsday prophets; in spite of the persistent canards; and in spite of the back-stabbers, the mature and knowledgeable Barbadian electorate realised that the challenges and difficulties we faced were not of our own making (and that the opposition could not do better) re-entrusted the country’s affairs to a caring and capable DLP.

It is evident that Team BLP, including the above mentioned apologists, are still in anguish from the their February loss, and they are now hell-bent on fighting a five-year election campaign. The DLP will neither be drawn into nor be engaged is such tactics.

With God’s help and an understanding and reasonable electorate, we will continue to work in the interest of the vast majority of Barbadians, and pitch tent at the appropriate time. Not before!

137 responses to “Some People Are Fighting A Five-Year Political Campaign”

1. Why do politicians like to invoke God in their utterings, God has nothing to do with politics and definitely nothing to do with corrupt man-made systems.

2. This link is for those following the Email scandal in T&T:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/temails.pdf

3. I read that this morning, this could bring down the Trinidad government and cause fresh elections if the emails are verified.

4. I hope Owen is on his to help the Brits out.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-22623519

5. THIS DLP GOVERNMENT IS THE WORST GOVERNMENT IN THE HISTORY OF GOVERNMENTS

FREUNDELITIS IS THE WORST PIECE OF UNISPIRATIONAL , SLOTHFUL , JOKER -stuck in the 1960s EVER TO BE CALLED PRIME MINISTER .

MAKES ERSKINNY MOUT SANDIFORD LOOK LIKE SIR WINSTON CHURCHILL,

Sanka Price right.- he right !! right to criticise the DLP –that dishonest bunch of persons who told lies in 2008 and 2013 and get the last BUY ELECTION knowing full well that they could not handle the country. In the old days the men would have engineered to lose that lection to save the country. But what did you have ? –A BUY ELECTION –distorting everything==SHAME ON THE DLP

Continue the good work Sanka

Who ever wrote this piece of shit is just another Dangerous Lying Piece of shit talking conniving to continue to fool Bajans JOKER

6. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Sanka Price has really lowered the bar as it relates to fair and balanced journalism. Unfortunately, because he spent the last 5 years years being so consistently one sided and biased in his analysis , he is like a one trick pony set in his ways and whose articles are as predictable as night following day.Every week , he is attacking the government but refuses to counter with anything critical of an opposition with an almost equal numerical presence.

He is basically abusing his position as a senior editor at The Nation newspaper to push a partisan agenda. He does it with his columns and he certainly does it with the “Question Time ” and “If I wuzz” sections of the Saturday Nation of which he is the editor.

It is a shame that the Nation newspaper refuses to ensure that Barbadians get balanced columnists but instead have to listen to partisan commentary every day the Nation newspaper, the BLP journalistic prostitute.

7. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The fact that the most partisan individuals can say “keep up the good work Sanka” should be a wake up call to Mr. Price and his conscience.
    Anytime, you are being praised by party yardfowls consistently, maybe it is because the yardfowl realises that you are fulfilling a partisan purpose and not a sincere , impartial writer.

8. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

JUST ASKING

What happened to:-

BLP 29 seats
    DLP 0 seats
    Independents 1 seat

Hopeless fool.

9. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

It seems that the major criteria to be a columnist in The Nation BLP newspaper is to be a BLP Supporter or to attack the government.
    That is why Caswell Franklyn is now the latest Nation columnist – check the trend.
    Mr. Franklyn in a response to this assertion said on this blog a few weeks ago that he was instructed by the Nation not to write anything political .
    Yet, he proceeds in his columns to suggest that Donville Inniss was demoted and then to launch a blistering broadside against the Hon. Prime Minister last Sunday.
    What Caswell Franlyn meant was thet he can write political articles in the Nation if they are critical of the DLP.
    Franklyn for all his talk will not dare write an article lambasting Mia Mottley or else he will be looking for a paper to write in. Is Caswell Franklyn a man or a mouse?

10. “…is a shame that the Nation newspaper refuses to ensure that Barbadians get balanced columnists…”
    The “Nation” is the popaganda arm of the One Caribbean conspiracy whose primary objective is to be, to this region, what the illuminati and the “One World Order” wants to do to our world.

When Harold Hoyte and his gang of traitors sold out to the Trickidadians, they essentially handed the PR victory over to the enemy of Barbados.
    Unfortunately for them, they did not factor the impact of BU or the guts and tenacity of BU David into their plot and now they are in duck’s guts in terms of effectiveness….

…said all that to say that Sanka Price and that ilk are doing EXACTLY what they are paid to do….destabilize Barbados.

If the BLP had won the elections, they would have been anti BLP too (what were they before 2008?) the Nation is just plain
    ANTI- Babados.

11. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Caswell is a standpipe lawyer, smart enough to know some of the law but dumb enought not to know most of the law.

12. “….Is Caswell Franklyn a man or a mouse?”
    Stupseeee….what man what?!?!
    …a mouse nuh!
    Otherwise we would have a BUP in place and all like now so, nuff brass bowls would be stacked up at Dodds…..

13. A good look at that list of things done under this jack o lantern DLP would show that there is nothing earth-shattering extra-ordinary about any of them.

They fall with the range of what is expected of this piss poor government.

Also, it is sad and sickening too when DLP/BLP people beat their chests or bosoms and seek glory and ecstasy over things that these DLP/BLP governments are expected to do on the behalf of the public in Barbados.

These people must surely get a life! Get real!! For, their respective governments are not providing the recipients of these middling half hearted benefits with any favours any tokens – which the purveyors of such things really think they must be engaging in.

Surely if the vast majority of people in Barbados had the absolute means to acquire many of those things that are listed as DLP achievements, some billy goat would not now beating his chest over this excessive dependence of many people in Barbados on the government for many things.

14. old onion bags Avatar

Lovin Dear

16-14 win and you talkin monkey? GREAT EXPECTATIONS….you ever hear bout short change?

15. Wonder what the BU family thinks about Wickham’s comment about the DLP throwing Benn to the wolves and therefore creating a hurdle to winning the seat. Benn is 63 years old and if Arthur goes the full term it means Benn will be pushing 70 in 2018 possibly 2019.

We see great folly in Wickham’s statement.

16. The Barbados Business Authority of Monday, May 20, 2013, presents the Issue: Has the Barbados’ economy reached its tipping point? As usual in this business newspaper, there are two persons who present different opinions on the issue at hand.

In this latest edition, one of the persons who presents an opinion is Mr Ryan Straughn. He is of the position that it is no longer a matter of whether the political economy has reached the tipping point, ( but) that, ‘it is time to put on your pyjamas and say, “Good night”‘. He points out that with businesses closing rapidly, bankers and insurers losing confidence in government paper, this has to be the case.

As for the other person, Mr Tennyson Beckles, he blatantly refused to answer the question, but prefers to go on some kind of waffling meandering effusion of his own.

Anyhow, in her own well put together, well researched coherent piece, Ms Natasha Beckles, in outlining the editorial parameters around which the issue is set, and which is something that always precedes the two opinions or perspectives, refers to, what we might call, a massive case of strong headedness by Leader of Government Business in the Senate and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Senator Maxine McClean.

Ms Beckles cites something that Senator McClean was reported to have said in a previous Nation Newspaper edition of March 26, 2013, which is the following: that ‘it should not be taken for granted what the Democratic Labour Party administration had been able to achieve since taking power in 2008, in terms of keeping the economy on an even keel during a recession that brought other developing countries to their knees’.

Furthermore, Ms Beckles also chronicles what the Senator was reported to have said in the said earlier edition, “I can say categorically that we were able to stabilize the economy.”

Indeed, this former UWI Cave Hill Management Studies Lecturer should have told that latter ignorance to the trees in the forests in Benny Hill.

But then again she is such a foolish talker at times.

What this arrant political joker must be told in no uncertain terms is that at this stage, Barbados has entered it sixth consecutive year of depression and that it is getting worse and worse materially financially politically by the day for thousands upon thousands of people and for many of them that have their own businesses in this country.

What economy stabiized what!!

17. The only thing Sanka Price is good for with regards to the Nation is I Confess, who carry away who panty in Pudding & Souse; & the Health magazine. Just like Albert Bransford I skip over his Editiorial contributions in the paper.

18. In regards to Sanka Price, is there not a quote somewhere warning people against taking counsel from ‘fools’?
    The reality is that Sanka Price is just an OSA lacky, he and Kaymar used to call OSA daily planning the next days edition of the Nation Newspaper.
    I also been told that people down leave anything in the open around the ‘fowl tief’ cause over the years too many thing went missing.

19. David………………some people don’t enter age into the equation or in the grand scheme of things, they think everything is forever.

20. old onion bags Avatar

If I were the omnivorous Lovin Dear..I would be glad I get TWO PICKS and not ONE and din even win a poop, ..compared to Poor Benn, who din get nuttin… AND even had mo votes..whaloss!

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

Another member of the family finished her first degree yesterday. That makes three memebers of the family with first degrees. HILARY BECKLES wants one degree in every house hold, but we have three. Two on there way way to second degrees and ultimatelt Phd’s.

Coming from very poor backgrounds this would never have occurred under the Barbados Labour Party. They fought long and hard against free secondary education. We would have had to be WHITE or privileged blacks. We were none of those.

Democratic Labour Party through God’s grace made it possible.

DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY to the WORLD!!!!!!!

22. Carson……………..congrats.

23. A major international credit rating agency is warning of more Caribbean sovereign debt restructurings ahead of the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) annual meetings in St Lucia this week.

The Wall Street-based Moody’s Investor Service said on Monday that it expects sovereign credit quality to continue deteriorating in the region.

“We see the defaults of Belize (Caa2 stable), Jamaica (Caa3 stable), and Grenada (unrated) over the past year as being part of a broader debt crisis in the Caribbean,” it said in a report.

“Moreover, we expect the risk of sovereign default in the region to persist as countries continue facing a combination of solvency and liquidity pressures and are increasingly unable and unwilling to service debt,” the report said.

Moody’s said the Caribbean’s debt overhang is a “legacy of debt accumulation that started in the 1990s as governments accelerated borrowing, often from external commercial sources, to finance public-sector investment.

“At its core, the Caribbean’s debt crisis is the result of a combination of poor fiscal discipline and unproductive investment that failed to significantly raise potential growth rates,” it said, adding that it resulted in “low and declining long-term growth”.

Moody’s warned that an increasing number of Caribbean countries are likely to renege on their debts, stating that they are running out of options in addressing limp economic growth and dismal state finances.

“At the moment, we see a high probability that Belize and Jamaica will relapse into default,” Moody’s said, adding that some countries, such as Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname are more economically stable than others.

It said Jamaica has a debt-to-Gross Domestic Product (GDP) ratio of more than 100 per cent, while the Cayman Islands and Bermuda have ratios of 23 per cent and 28 per cent, respectively.

Referring to International Monetary Fund (IMF) data, Moody’s said most small Caribbean states have debts-to-GDP ratios of more than 70 per cent and a current account deficit of 23 per cent.

The rating agency said the “policy toolkit for reducing debt in the Caribbean is limited”, adding that many countries cannot devalue their currency because exchange rates are usually fixed or managed.

In light of big budget deficits, Moody’s said many Caribbean countries are unable to stimulate growth through spending and investments.

“The lack of options has left debt restructuring as an attractive tool to reduce public sector debt,” said Edward Al-Hussainy, the report’s author and a Moody’s senior analyst.

“As new restructurings unfold, we expect governments to be more aggressive in seeking principal haircuts to achieve lower debt loads,” he added.

The report noted that the region has also been adversely affected by extreme weather that has often resulted in humanitarian and economic woes.

24. David this is the piece that has stood out for me

Moody’s said the Caribbean’s debt overhang is a “legacy of debt accumulation that started in the 1990s as governments accelerated borrowing, often from external commercial sources, to finance public-sector investment.

“At its core, the Caribbean’s debt crisis is the result of a combination of poor fiscal discipline and unproductive investment that failed to significantly raise potential growth rates,” it said, adding that it resulted in “low and declining long-term growth”.

Where was sanka price and many of the newly born fiscal hawksothers when debt was being racked up on all the unproductive projects (cricket world cup, gems, new prison, judicial centre, UDC, RDC, electricity subsidy) to name some.

25. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

this is a really silly article…u should get ur facts correct…students can only borrow up to $50,000 from the student revolving loan fund NOT $100,000 unless they changed it December last year. the housing programme was NEVER the creation of the DLP, it was under the BLP that they were started but 2008 elections interrupted it, the DLP just continued. however, look what they did to Coverly, they sold it to that thief and the rest is history. under the DLP the NHC has REDUCE the amount you may borrow for housing purposes, for years it was $50,000 but the jackass govt reduce it to $30,000!! can you imagine that?…i would not waste time pointing out ur other inaccuracies, read, read, read

26. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@The Dummy @ Dumo | May 22, 2013 at 10:25 PM |
    Caswell is a standpipe lawyer, smart enough to know some of the law but dumb enought not to know most of the law.”

AND U ARE PITIFUL NOBODY WHO CANNOT MAKE A CONTRIBUTION…but ur name does tell us who u are

27. Now I am neither B nor D.
    I just look at the list and ask myself.
    Have others reading the list , put forward for our admiration ,trepidation, a feeling of misunderstanding; a feeling that says,:
    These are very good things.???
    So why are we as a Country STILL IN such a mess
    . Are these not “Sops” in exchange for votes and at the cost of the whole populace??
    Giving away houses FREE??
    Why?
    20 years qualifying ? Why
    Did we not all pay for the cost of building the houses in our taxes?
    So whats wrong with the rest of us??
    What is it about having a “Subsidised” rent for 20years that “Qualifies” you for a “FREE GIFT” of a dwelling.
    If I was a hard working family living next door and for only 17 years I would be a little vexed.
    $60,000,000 for a ROUNDABOUT.Are we REAL.AND was that the final cost? $60,000,000 !!!!!!
    Lots of “unrealities” just “TUCKED IN” to PUFF the whole list up into something.
    WHAT IS “laying the foundation of a green Economy”??
    What is “Started a Cassava Feed project”?? For whom? For what objective? At whatcost? After what objective surveys of DEMAND and final costs of production?
    LAND TAX DOWN??? I never noticed,maybe just mine they missed?
    “An intensified road repair programme along major highways as well as secondary roads” .INTENSIFIED???? What the “Cheese on Bread” that mean. I presume we are talking MTW?? INTENSIFIED..??

Lets see some proof.
    When I see some acheivements wrapped up in a wadding of BUMPF and FLUFF , I begin to smell a rat.
    Dogs bark. Cats Miaow .
    What do BULLSHITTERS do?

28. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@NationBLPnewspaper | May 22, 2013 at 10:21 PM |
    “…Yet, he proceeds in his columns to suggest that Donville Inniss was demoted’

HE WAS DEMOTED,… Ministers are paid according to the Ministry they head, the Ministry of Health is much more taxing, he salary has been reduced due to the Ministry he is now heading…HE HAS BEEN DEMOTED

“and then to launch a blistering broadside against the Hon. Prime Minister last Sunday.” …ARE U FOR REAL? Caswell explained to all and sundry how the PM a ‘big able’ lawyer did not even know about the laws in place to deal with buying and selling votes….Primus Minister est magnum naribus ingens labiis nigrum Asinus asinorum… if as a lawyer something so fundamental as that, an ordinary citizen would have to educate him on…well it means to me that i too should run for elections next time since it appears to me that even the dumb too have power…if people that cannot read, could head CLICO and control even the DLP thru money, then i can fully understand why the PM had to be taught certain important things by a very brave citizen…i hope Caswell continues because as far as i see it, he knows our laws better than the thieves who are being paid to know them…

i do not know why these et orci orci are controlling our economy but it is obvious that they should step down and let humans be in-charge again
    (i.e. THE P.M., THE C J and THE A G)…makes me want to puke…)

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Thanks!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY will continue to be always ahead of you BLP jokers.

As you BLP members and supporters think in slow motion it will take you about another twenty years to understand the brilliance of DEMOCRATIC PARTY policies.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dr. Love

“Now I am neither B no D.

hahahahaha

Tell that to the Marines!

32. Observer………………I see where they are suggesting they either adopt the US currency and forget the EC currency (which would be extremely difficult if not impossible, unless the US has other plans) or face some very stringent and harsh austerity measures going forward just to stabilize the economies in the Caribbean, that also includes Barbados.

33. @ Carson C. Cadogan

I know it has an easy appeal to those who want to interpret history in their own way, but there is nothing in Barbados called free education.
    It is paid for by the taxpayers.
    In any case, part of the problem in the Caribbean – and Europe and the US – with getting degrees in some subjects is that we suffer from degree inflation.
    What we need in Barbados is a university that ups its game, both in terms of research and teaching.
    We must put a halt to the ever-expanding UWI.

34. Observer,

In the above posts that you made about Moody’s analysis of the serious government debt crises that many countries within this CARICOM region have been experiencing, we see no direct reference to the Barbados’ government’s current serious debt crisis?? Could you tell us and the others on here why was that?

Or is it really true that this particular Moody’s report was focussed on the OECS, according to what we would have heard reported about the same Moody’s report on Starcom Network’s 12.30 pm newscast on Tuesday earlier up in the week, that among other things recommended by them to the OECS was the so-called devaluation of the OECS currency, or the adoption of the US dollar as key aspects of improving their export competitveness, to help them overcome their worsening governments’ debt situation??

35. To the author of this piece of nothing………………

If the DLP had won the election fair and square, people would have accepted the vote and moved on. As it stands, you stole the election by buying votes with large sums of money and the very people who thought that they would have had a change in government to change the disastrous course that this country is on, are very concerned that this useless government headed by a learnt jackass is allowing a man who knows nothing about economics to destroy this country.

That is the crunch of the matter and Sanka is absolutely right in his assessment of Chris Stinkliar. He is out of his depth. Though I completely disagree with his assessment of Donville Inniss………………to me, he is the DLP’s clown prince, talks too much, comes over as a bully and may well be just another economic failure as Stinkliar. Though I have to give it to him, Inniss has some business sense since he has used his skills to become very wealthy!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HAL MARTIN

Anything to knock the good work of the DEMCRATIC LABOUR PARTY.

however you and other BLP people try, you can not get away from the good work that the DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY has done for this country and the good work that they are continuing to do. Without the DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY you and PRODIGAL SON would not be where you are today.

You can put that in your pipe and smoke it!

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HAL MARTIN

“We must put a halt to the ever-expanding UWI.”

The problem with Black people like you is the fact that you have climbed up the and now you are seeking to kick it down.

You have spoken in true Barbados Labour Party fashion.

38. @ Carson C. Cadogan

If education is free, why does the government owe the UWI $200m?

39. Yagga Rowe
    —–asks again

Who has the biggest balls ?

40. @ Carson C. Cadogan

It is nothing to do with climbing, but with improving the quality of the university. Not taking in students on so-called foundation courses judt to make up numbers, when they rightly should be getting remedial education.
    On no spending taxpayers’ money to mass produce lawyers and historians and cultural theorists and people spending what little money in government coffers to study cricket.
    It is about setting benchmarks, like giving the university ten years to reach the top 1000 universities in Latin America dn the Caribbean, and fifteen years to reach the world’s top 5000, measured on any global benchmark.
    By reviewing the contracts of dons so that every five years they must produce a book or at least five peer-reviewed long essays in reputable publications.
    Shifting government spend on education from first degrees to post-graduate work;
    At the very least we need to audit and reform a scholarship system first introduced in the 1920s.
    Mr Cadogan, improving our university is not to dumb down. But putting a graduate in every home, even if it is a degree in journalism, is dumbing down.

taB

41. Hal…………..don’t care how much you point out to people in barbados that education is not free, neither is the bus fare for kids free, the taxpayers are paying for it, you could say it until your are blue/green/purple in the face, the government ministers and their stoolies will forever say it is free, inferring that the government is giving the taxpayers something, which they are not. Hal………….you will learn to just leave them alone, they will have more enough to keep them really busy very soon.

42. @ Well, Well

I fully understand you, but why do our newspapers and phone-in radio programmes explain such basic economics. How can a society that is so badly informed make rational informed decisions?

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Persons who worship the Barbados Labour Party and pushing the “sell everything” agenda, should re-read this article.

“New Zealand’s Vaunted Privatization Push Devastated The Country, Rather Than Saving It ”

by Murray Dobbin

It has been so long since anyone in the business press has praised the New Zealand “miracle,” it’s almost as if we imagined the whole thing. But, of course, the current silence is really no mystery. The 15-year free market experiment has been an unmitigated disaster. The suffering caused among ordinary New Zealanders is well known: the highest youth suicide rate in the developed world; the proliferation of food banks; huge increases in violent and other crime; the bankruptcy of half the farms in the country; the economic disruption of hundreds of thousands of lives; health care, education and other social services devastated by the mad marketplace scientists.
    But, of course, neo-liberal ideologues don’t hold much truck with the human consequences of their experiments. So let’s examine those things they do care about. The revolutionaries promised to tear down the “debt wall,” unleash spectacular economic growth, spur foreign investment and productivity, create enormous new wealth and new and better jobs.

They failed on every count. Instead of a brave new economy, they delivered an economic version of Frankenstein’s monster. The initial wave of changes — deregulation, privatization, tariff elimination — was justified by the infamous debt crisis. This was a ruse all along.http://www.commondreams.org/views/081500-106.htm

It would be good to do a little historical reading. That would be better than throwing out the baby with the bath water.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HAL AUSTIN

Keep talking to “Well Well” you are both in the same boat.

Just trying your best to keep down Black people.

45. Carson………….that is unfair, we are looking at reality. Would you believe me if I told you that millions of jobs have now gone online, guess who is getting the most of them?? South East Asians who are charging 50 cents and hour and $1.46 an hour for what I used to be paid $30.00 an hour in the States. Hal is just trying to point out to you that with all the degrees out there, people cannot find work, cause employers are paying slave wages these days……………………in 3-4 years Bajans will not be equipped to compete in the new job market, no one wants to see black people down. Most of us out here are aware that your leaders in Bim are not even aware of these event now occurring.

46. Carson Cadogan congrats.My family also experienced the first degree member of the family.My niece recently graduated from University.
    Like your family,my family was extremely poor and impoverished.However through excellent guidance from my departed mom,my other brothers & sisters along with Yours Truly were able to overcome those obstacles and be rather successful Black and proud Barbadians.
    Thanks to the great Democratic Labour Party,many other poor Black Barbadians were also able to improve their lot.
    My mother always reminded us that the despicable Barbados Labour Party was always against the introduction of free secondary education.She also reminded us that it is the late great Errol Walton Barrow that provided the opportunity for the vast majority of poor Black Barbadians to have access to free secondary education.
    All right thinking Black Barbadians should be thankful for the great Democratic Labour Party.It is the Democratic Labour Party that we as Black Barbadians were able to improve our lot.
    Carson Cadogan,AC & all the other Democratic Labour Party supporters,we are moving forward with this great party.
    Long live the the Democratic Labour Party.
    NB At least fifteen (15) years in the opposition for the corrupt,beleaguered Barbados Labour Party.

47. Those degrees that everyone is spending hundreds of thousands on at universities and are so proud of achieving will be worthless with things as they are unfolding. People have to be equipped to get hired in this new world where everything is now reverting to slave labor because South East Asians are willing to be exploited and take the lowest of salaries although they too have impressive degrees.

48. Hal………………they don’t care and will not believe us until it hits them. I remember vividly the government being warned in 2007 about the impending economic disaster, no one in Barbados believed the very people who are responsible for creating the disaster and who was trying to warn them, do you really believe that they would believe you or I trying to warn them what to expect?, they have to feel it before they will understand. I have given up on them, sometimes it’s best to let them fall in a hole and watch them climb out, they are resilient they will survive.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is HAL AUSTIN’S opinion, and we all know how wrong Barbados Labour Party supporters can be. Case in point, the last General elections, all BLP people including HAL AUSTIN had the BLP winning twenty nine or thirty seats.. If we want to go further just look at the Barbados Labour Party predictions for World cup cricket. $750million spent which was supposed to cause a flood of visitors to Barbados and make everybody rich, didn’t happen and the wild spending by the Barbados Labour Party and its members and supporters have us where we are now.

50. How can the NIS be taking in 15 million monthly when so many people are being laid off? Up to yesterday, it was announced that Pages at JB’s is closing at month end!

The problem the minister has is that he has exhausted the available NIS funds. Is anyone wondering why the FSC is now compelling the credit unions to put their monies into banks knowing that there are limits to how much money banks by law can keep as liquid cash.

By the way, dlp………cant you stop lying??????/ Your list is taken from the DLP manifesto……..promises, not many of them kept………..and the glaring lie is the Student revolving loan claim..up to recently, the limit is still $50,000. As you dems are always lying, why dont you at times try to tell a truth now and again, huh??

Leave a Reply to Well Well.Cancel reply