Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

There is a very fine line, when writing a column like this. The risk of being branded as a pessimist is high. I only hope that readers will focus on the message that is trying to be conveyed and perhaps apply some of the content objectively to look at issues in a broader more holistic way.

When I heard the Minister of Tourism recently predict that he anticipated long stay visitor arrivals in 2013 should reach the same levels as last year, frankly I was surprised. Look at our largest single market, the United Kingdom has already experienced a decline of 15,631 visitors in 2012, when compared with 2011.

In the first week of May, Virgin Atlantic brought forward from October 27 their planned change of aircraft on the Gatwick/Barbados route by substituting the larger B747 aircraft with smaller A330 equipment on each day of the week, except for Thursdays. This immediately cuts up to 1,134 seats weekly and by the end of December this year I estimate to be almost 40,000 seats lost. Put another way, we will lose airline capacity for nearly 23 per cent or around one in four of all our British land based arrivals annually, which in 2012 totalled 173,519 persons. It is also not unreasonable to conclude that at least 50 per cent of those lost seats could have been used by the largest tour operator into Barbados, Virgin Holidays.

Has anyone considered the incredible overall loss of occupied room nights this will bring to our hotels and the devastating financial consequence? Needless to say, its not just the negative effect on our accommodation providers, but the trickle down effect it will have on restaurants, attractions, activities, car rentals, shopping, taxis etc. And at a time when Government most needs higher tax collection, the loss of non reclaimable VAT on all these tourism offerings.

It’s vaguely conceivable, that our policymakers imagine they are going to make up the numbers from other major markets, like the USA and Canada, but this is extremely unlikely. Out of these two sources, there was negligible growth in 2012. But sadly so far, in the first four months of 2013, there has been an average monthly decline of 11.9 per cent from the United States and 9 per cent from Canada.

Of course, we do not have the winter climatic advantage for most of the remaining eight months, so this trend is hardly likely to change without extensive cost-effective ‘consumer facing’ marketing and a dramatic improvement in destination visibility overall. Yes! there are a few rays of sunshine on the horizon. The Thomas Cook double-drop charters from Manchester and TUI flights from Hamburg, but these do not commence until November, and clearly will not come anywhere close to making up the Virgin deficit.

This scenario regrettably paints a very gloomy picture, but personally I believe we must start to face this reality and implement measures needed to redress this situation, rather than repeatedly utter predictions, which are at best, whimsical and almost impossible to achieve with the status quo.

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Any attempt to suggest or imply that Virgin decision’s to cut back seats on the Barbados route is geared to deliberately ‘hurt’ the country is pure codswallop.

How can we even think of accusing an airline of overcharging on seats in which the total tax component of the lowest open fare is more than 60 % of the cost of the ticket. Let us use the economy fare being charged to the East Caribbean and return for say May or June 2013.
    It would cost the visitor to Barbados around £540. 00 of which £329.00 represents tax and the remainder is for the flight ticket itself.
    Some might argue that it is even cheaper to fly to the USA or even Canada. But competition from other carriers is the primary reason for this.

If we want to blame someone or something for Barbados’ loss of business out of the UK and its current predicament of its tourism industry please do not look to the airlines (both VA & BA).

Look in the mirror at home and see the source of your problems. If you want to cast blame to some agent overseas then look to the UK government who sees the APD and other levies as an easy source of revenue to help plug its fiscal deficit.

The airlines are not responsible for the significant fall in travellers to Barbados. Why should Virgin continue to fly jet fuel guzzling 747’s when 30-40 % of the seats remain unsold on a daily basis?

At least BA saw the light a bit earlier. Don’t be surprised if both airlines move to a ‘3 or 4 days-a-week’ flight schedule to Barbados if the country does not get its act together rather sooner than later and become once more an attractively premier destination for UK travellers.

2. Today is a bank holiday in Canada. This morning ( as I do at every opportunity) I went fishing then went for a long drive, sunroof open and some Bob Marley testing the air drums.

Come home and log into BU after a wonderful morning. Old Onions would have enjoyed it cause he is a ol time recreational fisherman.

To the serious topic at hand.

The constant and relentless of the BTA and the Minister of Tourism without out definitive ideas to improve the industry is a waste of time.
    Sorry but I aint nuh betta cause I ent got nuh godd ideas eider…..but

“Canada simply gives up competing for the American tourist
    The Canadian Tourism Commission says trying to lure American tourists is a waste. Its campaigns are not getting value for money.”

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

3. Who is blaming the airlines, or suggesting they want to hurt Barbados? I think in general we are having a useful discussion and trying to understand the underlying issues in the tourism sector.

There is a lot of scope to debate our response to the very real external challenges and any self inflicted internal choices.

Its an open debate whether as Adrian suggested we would have been better off spending the money on a virgin subsidy. i really don’t know enough about the sector and the issues to debate that.

Maybe you can be more specific by what you mean by getting our act together.

4. Well Hants many on this blog seem convinced that with the right leadership we can get back to pre 2008 numbers and probably keep growing them as well. I sure hope they are right.

5. Miller Virgin is making major adjustments to deal with higher energy costs. Wat are our local providers doing on that front?

6. If yuh can’t beat dem join em. Wen I did fishin pun de bay at nite in Babadus
    I did see people trackin nuff turtles. I almost trip over a huge one one nite.

De Trini’s lickin cork.
    “Flourishing turtle tourism is providing good livelihoods for people in formerly dead-end farming towns, with the Trinidad-based group Turtle Village Trust saying it brings in some $8.2 million annually. The inflow of visitors, both domestic and foreign, to Trinidad’s northeast coast jumped from 6,500 in 2000 to over 60,000 in 2012. Officials with the U.S.-based Sea Turtle Conservancy say Trinidad is now likely the world’s leading tourist destination for people to see leatherbacks.”

7. Gabriel………………that is a humongous and expensive price for the taxpayers to pay.

8. Could someone, perhaps Mr Loveridge, please provide some suggestions on how the anemic tourism industry can be revitalized.

9. I challenge BU bloggers to post 10 ideas that can immediately improve Tourism in Barbados.

We have heard all that is wrong over and over and over and over and over and over and…..

10 ideas in the next 2 hours.

10. Observer………………you are making sense about the failed or failing entities, but will those who are in charge and are in denial about the fundamental changes that have already taken place world wide, want to do anything about it?. Remember, there are none so blind as those who cannot see.

11. Dr Love,

Thanks for your words of encouragement and magnificence.

We will shortly arrange another meeting for those persons who by the dint of collective social political efforts are seriously about the fostering and the realisation of a brighter and better Barbados for all people here in Barbados.

If you are in Barbados, cause we sometimes do not know who on this BU blog site are typing out of Barbados, we will surely later and in a timely fashion give to you – via this BU medium – one of our member’s cell phone numbers so that the you and the member would be able to connect on the matter of the putting forward of a proposal for the date, time and place for the holding of this particular meeting with you and some others some time ahead.

12. Miller………….they got a tiger by it’s tail, I can only laugh.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observer | May 20, 2013 at 1:02 PM |
    “Maybe you can be more specific by what you mean by getting our act together.”

Here are a few do’s and don’ts.
    Please get the Immigration and Customs officials to present a pleasant welcoming image at the airport. A few more ‘manned’ desks at the Immigration hall when things are busy along with light entertainment live or displayed on a few screens in the arrival area highlighting the various scenes and information about the Island would go a long way in relaxing and informing the first time visitor.
    First impressions count and mean a whole lot to a first timer.

Stop seeing every white visitor or one speaking with a British accent as easy game to be ripped off starting with the taxi drivers.

Clean up the island. There is too much garbage and trash around that can give the impression that Barbados is an unhygienic place that can put the health and safety of the visitors at risk.
    Keep the beaches free of man-made garbage and waste. Visitors don’t mind Nature’s little waste but the sight of plastic and human waste are a massive turn-offs.

Stop the harassment- sexual and otherwise- to visitors. Every white or foreign looking woman is not really interested in engaging the services of foul smelling ill-kept hustlers.
    Stop the criminal and violent attacks on visitors. It spoils their dream holiday and gives the country a bad name.

Being courteous and helpful to visitors does not take much to do. The average Bajan of yesteryear took pride in helping visitors without expecting tips or bribes.

Provide more entertainment of a local nature reflecting the cultural heritage of the country not excessive ‘wukking-up’, American hip hop and BET type musical fare passing as entertainment.

Provide more things to see and do. Get the cultural and heritage sights back on stream like Sam Lord’s Castle. What about a working replica of a sugar factory as a museum attraction along with displays of artefacts and information about the sugar industry and its historical role.
    What about making use of the many derelict and abandoned vehicles despoiling the landscape by turning them into artificial reefs (after stripping them of dangerous materials) that the visitors can visit as a marine attraction?

What about a few casinos and night clubs that put on cabaret type shows or the type once performed at the Plantation Gardens or the Museum. What about a few plays or theatre productions?

The list above can be easily added to.
    Barbados’s tourism product is tired and tacky and in need of a serious makeover; and you know it too!
    Stop blaming the outside world for our problems. The Western World economy is not going to return to a pre-2008 scenario. Barbados must earn its way in a growingly competitive world with more players going after the same tourist dollar or pound sterling.

14. Miller said:

“Stop blaming the outside world for our problems. The Western World economy is not going to return to a pre-2008 scenario. Barbados must earn its way in a growingly competitive world with more players going after the same tourist dollar or pound sterling.”

Miller……………..before you can do all of the above, you will have to convince those in denial that the world has moved on to a new system and 2008 coming forward is now a mere footnote in history, you will have to start with the leaders cause it is so plain to see that they do not know. I wish you the luck of the Irish in that job, there are people in the world today who are yet to move on from things as they were in the 17th or 18th century. Good luck my friend.

15. Hera are 10 ideas.
    1 Give a credit voucher in barbados for the APD paid by British tourists who book at least 2 weeks with participating hotels.
    2 Establish two Canadian hubs, excluding Toronto, (More westerly perhaps), provide charter flights with a Sweepstakes free holiday for x amount of the seat numbers for Canadians booking for minimum of 2 weeks.
    3 Promotions in T & T for Barbados fete weekends with reduced accomodation prices.
    4 You Tube viral promotion competitions for Barbadian school children, who are on the internet every free moment anyway, for them to try go get a video of Barbadian life in their environment to go viral. Incentives and prizes for them having the most likes and hits would be Ipads etc.
    “Know Barbados Facts” competition on Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter to engage potential visitors, with free holidays for winners.
    5 Deregulate the closing time of clubs on the tourist strip, Hastings to St Lawrence Gap, so that the visitors can spend longer times and more money on nightly activities.
    6 Muzzle the Church in relation to gambling.
    7 Replace everyone at the BTA in the marketing department every 3 years
    (or renewable performance based contracts
    8 Remove VAT on all hotel supplies.
    9 Refocus the marketing strategy of the BTA to 80 % internet Social Media applications, in correlation with the apparent ratio of holidays booked worldwide using the net.
    10 Rebrand the aforementioned Strip as a weekend 24 hour indigenous arts, crafts and cultural performers market at various locations, using commercial car parks or any open area on the Strip ( an extension of Oistins)

And I can give you another 10 if you want, low cost , can be implemented immediately!

Michael Allamby
    Beauty and the Beach Souvenir and Tourist Shop Shop
    Material Things Complex, Worthing, Ch. Ch
    Michaelallamby@gmail.com

16. Clean up your island
    Make it safer
    Meters on cabs
    Make golf affordable you need a loss leader
    Quit treating tourists as a resourse rather than a customer
    Now for immediately advertize, show up at events, go to the malls, you have to spend money.
    Focus on medical or dental, where tourists can have a long term stay and maybe have that dental work done cheaper than at home.
    Ask the big business people on the island,they have the most to lose, I am sure they have good ideas
    Work together, black white,rich,poor dlp,blp you need eveyone on board.

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

PDC, and Dr Love @ dvd life and debt ,, Barbados is on its way there now. Its what to the Jamaican , free zone of slavery, free zones for them , slavery for who ever worked at the docks on the ships

18. @ PDC;
    We agree with you 100 per cent on that one.
    We, as part of the Coalition of Unified Parties (CUP), are moving ahead with our plans for the next elections in this country.
    —————————————
    PDC Adamson look I am putting it to you that CUP does not have ten MEMBERS icluding two puppies and a cat.
    If I were you I would take the savings Dr. Love offer and vamoose. Thats about three hamcutters and a bread and two you looking at.

19. @Hants

BTA should explore new markets. Forget UK, Canada and USA, those who can afford to and want to come from those countries will. Focus on the far,near and Middle East. We have mosques in Bim and lots of Moslems. Prepare audience specific campaigns for each country, show tolerant, law abiding, friendly citizens. You have to go where the money is in order to get some.

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Dr. Love,

‘skinny white boy’

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

Oh! how I wish and I think my wife does too.

21. @Holla
    yuh got mah measure,
    Laff ah buss mah butt..
    Mebbe four cutter doah

22. @PDC
    You up for the four cutters:).
    Big oaks from little acorns,.
    Not like the D’s start from the TOP and work down.
    Yes I will be in touch.You need to watch your back.

23. @Hants
    Where you at?
    Must that fishy smell got you all messed up.
    After “how many” years of corruption and misuse.
    Someone has to come up with an idea to IMMEDIATELY revitalise the Barbados tourist product.
    ONLY immediately, couldnt you ask for a quicker route??:)

24. @ hants■
    @Adrian

Afghanistan’s forgotten crisis: its economy May 20, 2013
    Donors say the Afghan economy is largely sustained by aid money to the tune of $15bn a year while the country is plagued by unrestrained corruption

15B a year !!!!!!
    Who needs tourism? Mebbe we all got to go Afghanistani
    Cancel all the good ideas.
    Join the Taliban.

not only that when you do go, you are guaranteed Heaven and 13 Virgins.
    Wheres THAT leave TOURISM??

25. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Hants I provided suggestions to improve tourism. I challenged Adrian to comment on them or put forward his own and he lamely said the he is tired putting suggestions forward. I read everyone of his blogs and don’t see that. Could he give me the davertising budget for five of the biggest hotels and an idea of the type of advertising? Adrian said: “during the past 25 years we (does he mean his own hotel?) have generated over 12 million in foreign exchange (that is about 0.4 million or 250,000/year.What about the others?Didn’t you or others like you qualify for any of the government funding available for the years prior to 2008, or wasn’t there any?Strange.Adrian also asks “Should hoteliers borrow from Banks to finance debt?” You are responsible to seed your own ways to finance debt. Is borrowing from Banks the only way you and other hoteliers know to do this? How about equity financing? How about restructuring? How about cost cuttting etc. How about seeking partnerships with other international hotels or investors from whereverI? If the tourism incustry contributes to the GDP it is contributing to itself so don’t get on as if you are doing someone a favour, with reluctance. You ask if hoteliers should be responsible for building/refurbishing places of amusement; by that I guess you mean entertainment. If it advances the tourism product that puts money in the tourism industry’s pockets then the answer has to be an emphatic YES. Everyone has to put the shoulder to the wheel and push.I went into a travel agency a couple of weeks ago in a large mall and saw high quality brochures advertising Sandals all over the place.You couldn’t avoid them. Where were advertisements for Barbadian hotels or guest houses?
    @Island Gal. They are NOT out there “spending money on their product and marketing it on the International scene leveraging every possible avenue themselves.” BULL CRAP!! I search diligently, go to many, many travel agencies in Toronto, There is NO EVIDENCE of this.Are you really when you say: “you can’t expect the tourism players to market the island>” Why the HELL NOT?The tourists visit the island and stay at the hotels, they don’t bunk at Government headquarters. Toyota, Mercedes, BMW etc do their own marketing. The Government does not market their products.Why can’t hotels in Barbados do the same thing? Marriots, DAys Inn, Hyatt etc market themselves. How many hotels come up with innovative ideas to market their products? How many hotels offer specialty packages to overseas tourists for events like Crop-Over, the Jazz Festival or any other attractions? Hotels and their managers have to be more innovative.

26. Plus we already qualify we already got the “unrestained Corruption”

27. @ Everyone.
    Didnt we all KNOW the Brudda Man Alvin would come up with a Brilliant Save the Day idea!!
    Alvin man ,rest yuhsef,the combination of the earthquake and the testostrone jabs done mess up yuh head.
    N Stop picking on “Skinny white boy ” Adrian.

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Alvin,

In you had walked into a travel agency 25 years ago, it would be the same, dominated by Sandals publicity material. Things have changed. Take the UK as an example, less that 7 per cent of all the holidays booked last year (in the UK) were booked in a high street travel agency. Why would a small hotel or guest house therefore try and display paper material/brochures in one of them. To hopefully get to 7 per cent of the market? We and other small hotels have not had any choice but to promote ourselves. If left to Government agencies, we would have been dead in the water, decades again.
    I would be happy to take the time to explain things to you from someone that hasn’t just talked about it, but you have to start by understanding the industry and how its works.

29. Pacha…………….hope you see this comment, a kid from Bronx Science one of the gifted high schools in NY decided he was sick of the school, dropped out, created Tumblr and just sold it to Yahoo for 1.1 Billion…….HA!

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/yahoo-acquire-tumblr-1-1-billion-article-1.1348552

30. I really can’t remember who I was debating with about the common entrance stress test, Pacha, if it was not you, my sincerest apologizes.

31. @Adrian
    There you go AGAIN
    I keep tellin you.
    UNDERSTANDING and ALVIN
    as David said earlier
    “Non Sequiter”
    keep repeating to your self the Phrase
    BRICKWALL BRICKWALL BRICKWALL!!!

32. Dr Love careful what you wish for…. those 13 virgins are men

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | May 20, 2013 at 3:17 PM |
    “The Government does not market their products.Why can’t hotels in Barbados do the same thing? Marriots, DAys Inn, Hyatt etc market themselves. How many hotels come up with innovative ideas to market their products?”

We couldn’t agree with you more!
    Let the hotels be responsible for their own tourism marketing either individually or as a group under their umbrella trade union the BHTA.

As you can follow the red herring trail what then should become of the BTA?
    After this privatization of the marketing & promotion of the tourism industry why have an ineffectively redundant statutory board draining over $100 million annually down Maxwell pond?

If this agency is not achieving its mandate why continue with it? Why not merge it with Invest Barbados as a separate division in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade and save the taxpayers millions?
    Here is a name for the new entity to be merged or subsumed under the MoFAFT: The Bajan Tourism & Foreign Investment Agency.

It’s time the functions of this “black” elephant be outsourced and save the taxpayers from this constant sucking on their sore dry out nipples by parasites that refuse to be weaned and grow up.

34. @lawson
    Really!!??
    I’m starting to invest in “Vaseline” (money wise that is)

35. Miller…………don’t know if anyone realized where i was going with the last post, but the new and workable ideas will come from the young and vibrant minds that are now in schools on the island, problem with being able to tap into these brilliant minds is the leaders thinking they are the brightest and the ones with all the ideas, solutions are just a bunch of know it alls and will not listen but will successfully continue to slide into the abyss. My, my………….

36. Dr Love there seems to be a lot of promiscuity in barbados, I have heard many people dont like going to windy bathsheba because they make sounds like someone blowing into a coke bottle…maybe you should be investing in cork

37. Allamby has put forward some good sounding ideas. To my simple mind around five or so of these initiatives can be implemented by the players in the sector themselves. Why is this not happening, why wait for the government agency which can never be as nimble as the private sector?

38. @Observer

Agree with you this is a new normal. If it is a new normal we have to develop strategies which align to the new normal. It is clear the MoT has bee reactive more than charting a vision for the industry. Can you give an update on the operationalization of the Tourism White Paper?

39. @Lawson
    HMmm!! I have to sit down while I think about that one.
    There a terrible whistling noise round here distracting me.
    CORK you say?? Not WOOD ?Cork?

40. @ Well Well
    Yes, I wonder when we could have just one of these guys. Why not create a production line to develop this kind a thing. All these island ‘scholars’ for all they years but no respect for the ‘unschooled’ and the real brilliant people

41. @Milller

Like your suggestion about aligning MoF and Invest Barbados. The tourist market is crowed and to have an effective voice we have to market country and not hotel. Unless you have a big brand like Sandals etc.

42. Dr Love. AKA ALVIN Avatar
    Dr Love. AKA ALVIN

I was in India a while back and a begger asked me for money as he had none.
    I of course didnt give him any ,but I did advise him to consider “cost cutting” and possibly “restucturing” his operation.

43. @Lawson
    “a lot of promiscuity in barbados”
    I understand now.
    But the correct phrasing should have been
    “Barbados is totally PHUCKED”

44. Idea 1: Keep the place clean.
    Clean Bridgetown on a schedule, multiple times a day, 7 days a week, including Sundays. Last year I was showing “a member of the diaspora” around historic Bridgetown and some of the places stink.. Flower Alley (near to a major taxi stand in Bridgetown) stinks. Amen Alley (near to the historic St. Michael’s Cathedral) stinks, ALL, ALL, ALL of the bus-stands stink. The busstands and the taxi stands should be as clean as the airport. Scrub the floors, scrub the drains, cover the drains, paint the walls, clean the toilets every 20 minutes, empty the garbage bins every 2 hours.

45. Loving it. 10 suggestions from Michael Allamby and many more from the rest of you.

Keep them coming.

David please inform the BTA and the Minister of Tourism of the free ideas on BU.

46. @Hants

We don’t have to, they read daily.

47. Idea 2:
    Market the markets. But clean them first. Right now all of the markets stink. Tile the floors, Paint the walls. Clean the toilets every 20 minutes, Empty the garbage bins every 2 hours. Paint the walls. Make them places where people would be happy to eat, buy produce, lime, shop.

48. To who it may concern…this is the first time I am posting here. The impostor by the name of “Island girlz” is NOT ME. Island girlz kindly choose another handle.

Simple Simon I totally agree with you and have been singing that song for years on how STINK this country is. Why would anyone want to leave their clean country to visit this dirty one? It is STINK STINK STINK!

49. @islandgal

The glamour is on the marketing and NOT the product.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Good” ideas coming from Barbados Underground and Adrian Loveridge, wonders never cease.

Leave a Reply to Well WellCancel reply