Submitted by Napolean Bonaparte
Absenteeism on the rise in Barbados

Have you all heard? Latest findings coming out from a recent HR symposium proposes that Barbados has the highest rate of employee absenteeism in the Caribbean. Who Bajans? Is that right? Surpassing the land of the humming bird fete today call in sick tomorrow? All ya really sure you got that one right? So were we dreaming then, when we recently saw an award being accepted on behalf of  Bajans, for being number 38 in the World on the social development ladder, number 3 in the Americas? Wait lazy people wearing two different shoes nowadays then, (brand name) ‘industrious’ on one foot,  ‘shirkers’ on the other? Such a skewbald would surely tumble someday, being  confused and not know which foot goes first.

Could all this have anything to do with Bajans been  under a ‘trance by chance‘, like the one of the recent bus riding pensioner and her rude awakening from what could befall? Too much phantasmagoria maybe? One day we hearing we doing well, next we need  to “shift and adjust” like a lesson of a confusing schematic  inculcating too much  to pedants, who still recovering from an unaccustomed downward economic fall. “You all had better do this, don’t mind us, ”. If the shoes fits… Like a call to curtail perks and privilege of  statutory corps, but an unwillingness to lead by example. Sounds familiar?

Too much double standards man, some given license to sleep, while others sheeple. Any wonder some still stuck in gear?  Sheeple will always follow.

See NISE Report on Absenteeism

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well | May 18, 2013 at 8:02 PM |
    David…………..that will be the deciding factor for employers in Barbados,
    ……………………………………………………………………
    It has already started. Some expats are advertising for Maids etc, and stating that a foreign national is preferred, and apparently one local newspaper carry that advert.
    Jobs are being advertised in the local newspapers for position that many Barbadians are trained and qualified for,and with the necessary experience. But as sure as night follows day,in a short while another notice appears in the same newspapers, with words to the effect, “that having receive no suitable applicants, it is the intention of XYZ Company to apply for a work permit for a non-national.”
    And in true Bajan style. Nobody ,including the Government and the Unions, raises any objections.

2. Sometimes employers are foolish.

Employee: I would like to take 2 hours vacation time off on Wednesday morning to take Little Johnny to the doctor.
    Employer: You can’t use your vacation time to take Little Johnny to the doctor. You must arrange to take Little Johnny to the doctor on Saturdays.
    Employee quietly in her/his head: This man must be an idiot. Doesn’t he know that most doctors in Barbados don’t work on Saturdays (nor Sundays, nor evenings). Most PTA meetings, legal, banking, passport office, driver’s license office etc. can’t be done on Saturdays either.
    Wednesday morning at 8:01 Employee: I am sick today and I can’t come to work.
    Employer: ok.

So instead of permitting the employee to use 2 hours of vacation time to take Little Johnny to the doctor, or to attend a PTA meeting, or take elderly parent to the doctor, or to attend a legal, or banking, or other appointment the employer forces the employee

1: To Lie.
    2. To take 8 hours “sick” time.

Most employers are stupid and have zero people skills.

I wonder what would happen if all employers agreed to permit employees to take small amounts of vacation time as needed for personal appointments?

Maybe, just maybe, this would reduce the “abuse of sick leave”

3. Colonel Buggy asked “How can a child brought up in a Children’s Home turn out to be illiterate?”

But Colonel every country has illiterates. A few people in spite of the best efforts of the teachers will never learn to read.

I expect that this young woman born about 1987, that is, at the beginning of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Barbados, probably contracted HIV from her mother, and likely spent years, and years and years in the hospital.

Does anybody go to the hospital to teach long term child patients to read? Do you go? Would you have gone in the QEH in mid-80’s to teach an HIV positive child to read? Would the child have been well enough and alert enough to take lessons? Have you ever been sick enough that all you wanted to do was draw up in a corner and die? Did you feel like lessons and exams at that time?What happens to the education of a child who is sick, very very sick, for years at a time? What was her life expectancy when she was born in 1987? Did anybody expect her to survive to age 25?

Why didn’t you in 1987 volunteer to take n a HIV positive child,and to raise her as your own? to educate her? Too much work right? And she ain’t gine make it to adulthood right? So why bother? In 1987 when modern HIV/AIDS drugs were not yet available, that child’s life expectancy was about 3 years old.

Did we all make an error in not educating her?

Yes we did.

Fast forward 2013. How many people in 2013 are willing to take in an HIV positive child and to raise and educate that child as their own? Zero?

We expect “the government” to do it right?

And then we blame “the government” when they screw up.

Perhaps we should be,blaming ourselves.

4. Under an inept government like the present DLP government more crap will show up.
    This government an Freudelitis inspires no one.
    Stuart looks like one lethargic piece of rubber. His personna is not exciting, his speeches boring, his actions dissappointing,
    WANTED :Someone and/or a Prime Minister to inspire the people at this time, at this critical juncture in time

5. @Just Asking

A reminder there was a general election in February and the BLP won; lead by Stuart!

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

It most amazing how we can debate workers and loss of economic productivity because of absenteeism without examining the most classic example of that twin malaise.
    There is a saying that a fish usually starts to rot from its head down. And this scenario of rot in the local version of Denmark is taking place right in our highest place of lowest productivity and frequent absenteeism called Parliament.

How can one reconcile the Minister’s berating of workers and their so-called accomplices in the medical profession for “fee-arranged” skiving when he and his parliamentary colleagues on the slim majority side are going on such long leave on a regular basis leaving the people’s business undone at a time when the country’s economic performance and production are way below par.
    How can one justify going on leave for 6 weeks just after the 2013-14 Estimates returning on the 7th of May and off again on another 4 weeks holiday at a time when this country is up an economic creek without a financial paddle?

Are these politicians thinking that by doing nothing and ignoring the issues the problems would just disappear into thin air? They are no different from the ordinary people who take their cue from their bosses and go to work in the various ministries, departments and statutory agencies under the ministers’ responsibility.

7. @Miller
    Re your last paragraph:
    Yes they do
    Yes they can
    Yes the problems will vaporise.
    and
    Barbados along with the problems.

Our requiem will be:
    “The Sonorous Snores of an elected SOMNAMBULIST.”

Composed .conducted and performed by the Honerable member Himself and accompanied by his band of Theives..
    Halliujah brothers! The last one left, turn out the light .

8. @Simple Simon
    Not SOMETIMES .ALL employers are FOOLISH all the time.
    They Employers!!

9. LOL it funny how leaders in Barbados think that they can leave it up to the workers to get everything right. like the tail is wag the dog.

LOL big joke, Change got to start from the top and come down not the other way around. Where is the evidence/data that absenteeism is on the rise any way? i think the DLP just wanna change this sick leave thingy/law so they bring up the subject. Witch “class” is taking the sick leave. workers or managers?

And

would it not be easier to go after the doctors that give out the sick leave.

And

What are the people sick of??????????????

10. sick leave is a problem everywhere, a major problem is not so much the sick leave but the unfunded liability created by accumulated sick leave.In my job I was given 18 days sick leave a year and if not used they were accumlative.When I retire I would be paid out for those days at my salary level after 35 years even though they were earned in my first year of working Over the years things have changed a bit but each retiring employee recieves 6 momths salary, and six months payout for those sick days.as long as they have 260 of them left.

11. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Are these politicians thinking that by doing nothing and ignoring the issues the problems would just disappear into thin air? They are no different from the ordinary people who take their cue from their bosses and go to work in the various ministries, departments and statutory agencies under the ministers’ responsibility.

Politicians should be the very last ones to talk of non productivity for dollar value worth, Where is your beef Mr.Inniss ? When last any of them gave an honest days work for a magnaminous wage…spew spew…Bajan sheeple just following…

12. We should remove this discussion from the realm of the political. They are part of the problem and not necessarily the cause. It was just a few months ago BLPites were finding excuses for Arthur NOT attending a poorakey parliament.

13. Simple Simon………………..no one in their right mind is happy about a 16-17 hour workday, but i don’t think the architects of this new world order had anyone’s happiness in mind when they created it, however, in order to pay rent/mortgage, buy food, pay bills etc, etc, etc, regardless to your feelings, you have to do what you must.

It’s easy to blame the politicians for everything because they are such a good example of bad leadership, in this instance though, they really and truly are clueless to what is happening in reality, they have been waiting since 2007 to see what happened with the US and Europe regarding the economic situation, thing is, it has already happened and they did/do not know.

Colonel………………more to come, just time.

14. David | May 19, 2013 at 6:20 AM | @Just Asking

A reminder there was a general election in February and the BLP won; lead by Stuart
    ————–
    WHA ‘ DAH SUPPOSE TO MEAN ??
    DOES IT MEAN THAT I MUST ACCEPT CRAP FROM THIS GOVERNMENT AND SAY NUTTIN ?
    DOES IT MEAN THAT I MUST FORGET THAT IT WAS A
    BUY ELECTION and that 40 % of the electorate did not vote
    OR HOW THE DLP TELL NUFF LIES SUCH AS THE TRANSPORT BOARD AD ???

JUST ASKING
    ————————
    Good Comeback –JUST ASKING-
    Good Comeback
    Let David take that in he pimm—LOL

Signed
    JUST RELAXING
    JUST GRANNY
    and
    JUST CHILLING–(all members of the JUST family)

15. old onion bags Avatar

………Don’t worry ..Be Happy….comes to mind

Leave a Reply to haha10Cancel reply