Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Chris Sinckler has promised to revisit the MTFS

How many more pleas must go unanswered? How much longer must we furl deaf ears? It should be a foregone conclusion by now that the present Barbados economy is about to stall, flat line even, if something drastic is not done by the current administration to revive the patient, who being in the ICU for sometime now, will soon be at a point of no return.

Barbados is in need of a stimulus injection to restart commercial activity and encourage consumers to spend. Not a $600 million stimuli towards capital projects and public works that will inevitable once more find its way feeding certain “big guts horse,’ but a package that will see the now sleeping money multiplier re-engaged. What’s the sense in commercial activity staggering while boasting of  lush green pastures of 16 weeks in foreign reserves on the other end?

Common sense must be exercised while being frugal, given desperate opportunity cash is needed in circulation to kick start the economy. Was it not the President of the BCCI Mr. Lalu Vaswani  during a recent pixel, who renewed the disinter call for the removal of a now arguable 2.5 % increase Vat? His rationale as with many others …. once short term taxation has become regressive, it must be removed, in hope of  re-gearing consumer spending power and encouraging employers to re-hire.

When construction magnate COW Williams has indicated that even his wages bill is not inexhaustible, and workers must be trimmed, when many small business premises in Bridgetown are closing daily (dropping like flies) and landlords are being accused of festering exorbitant rent, then is the time to reconsider your Medium Term Fiscal Plan (MTFP.  Is it really working?

To repudiate courts certain folly and does nothing but become dogma and infuriate the situation even more. It is time to take off the blinkers and be more receptive. We are not sitting it out as some would have it, but more like awaiting an inevitable avalanche. Time to take evasive action is now.

1. PDC…………..here is your long winded explanation to me that i compressed to the really important parts………………
    Hence, Well Well, though you did not say it expressly, you implied it in one of your last blogs directed to us …….. (Appears you still want to keep the bank, but you cannot do so unless you FOLLOW foreign banking rules and regulations), the suggestion that the Central Bank of Barbados once it remains in existence it has to FOLLOW these FOREIGN BANKING RULES AND REGULATIONS – which you have so far failed to identify!!!

PDC……………………i will reply in the next comments.

2. Well Well | May 5, 2013 at 2:59 PM |

PDC…………………i am not the one who has to identify the international banking rules and regulations regional Central Banks in the Caribbean MUST adhere to, you are the one wanting to be the ruler of a whole country, you should be the one already familiar with SEC banking rules and regulations as well as other banking regulations coming out of Europe that governs regional and international banks. If you do not know of these, you are not ready yet.

3. @ David

If you don’t think the Barbadian ‘educated’ engineers etc can’t develop and register patent etc you might as well close down the UWI and all the other schools from primary to tertiary.

4. The comment was more about being able to defend the patent copyright infringements etc.

5. old onion bags Avatar

Supposing CBC owes the Excise and Customs $16 million in Vat……but transfers owed to CBC not yet rec’d total $26 Million..somebody will say..ok we will pay Vat when the money comes, UWI owes $3 mil in Vat (bookstore n Cafe)but expecting $150Mill form Due from Govt….How the treasury accounts for these transactions will depend on current Adm policy of recognising Vat Revenue….Under a consolidated statements method such inter-co transactions will be netted off to avoid double accounting. Obviously this is not so easy with government accounting. Just picture the umpy possibilities that can come about with this thing called Govt accounting and the mistakes that can be made thru incompetency skills or otherwise..

6. @ David Weekes

We are at one with you on these matters. And if you are the person we think you are we well know your competencies in these aresa. The primary purpose of education should be knowledge production. Knowledge production is about creating new industries or transforming old ones. And industry is what Barbados is suppose to be about, no! All pride and no industry, then. Smile!

7. Pacha…………………of course innovators from all over the world can register inventive patents at the library of congress in Washington, they do not have to depend on Corporate Affairs or whichever organization handles such documents………

8. @ Well Well

You don’t even have to register them there. They can we registered almost in any other jurisdiction

9. old onion bags Avatar

According to Observer’s “lumped figs”….who is to say Vat Revenue in 2011 does not include Vat owed from 2009 now collected in 2011….that is why further analysis is necesssary… hence Alvin …common sense must prevail……notwithstanding Observer’s source….where from bro..?

10. David Weekes…………….after speaking to a friend of mine in Switzerland, i learned that you have to vigorously defend your patents and be very careful with patent attorneys, it is not beneath them to sell your patent to the highest bidder…………..

11. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Taxation stays PDC
    Lets hear your next impossible task
    You are deliberately setting yourself tasks you know that you cannot achieve. There has to be term for it in psychology.

will find it

12. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

ac | May 5, 2013 at 10:00 AM |
    cuh dear onions ! but we not gonna Privatise! The bottom been falling out according to you and the other BLP yardflows for over five years and the captain been sleeping but somehow the ROCK still standing ground.
    ———————————
    AN ASININE COMMENT from ac above

Listen !

The Twin Towers were standing one minute
    Next minute , they came down

13. Would be interesting to find out who are the two patent lawyers in Barbados.

14. Pacha……….ok, so defending them is the trick……….

15. @PDC

If you read the link you provided you would have seen that Central Bank from G7 and G20 countries are members of Basel. Here is the question therefore: Of the banks in Barbados how many are domicled in a G7 or G20 country. If any are domiciled in a G7 or G20 country would they not have to follow Basel directives?

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ Alvin
    COMMON SENSE RULES OF THUMB

1. If a people’s income is augmented and their allowances taken away, they will have LESS INCOME to buy goods.
    2. People with LESS INCOME will not buy more but LESS (sales).
    3. As VAT revenue is directly related to SALES….if SALES are less VAT will be LESS.
    4.As such a 2.5% increase in Vat to recapture loss ground IS A REGRESSIVE TAX and should be done away with.

Q.E.D

No compounded figures needed here to compound things.
    (University of Common Sense)

17. @ Pachamama

Anyone can submit a patent with its claims including engineers but there is a specific expertise that a competent patent lawyer brings to that claim so that it not only speaks to what is in existence (prior art) but, because of the lawyer’s wordsmithing encompassed other technologies yet to be developed.

For example the patent for photographic process could, because of a few words, either be limited to say for example what is now outdated photographic film/material or, by carefully though out words, expanded to the “third generation” definitions to include HD image recording processes just because of a few words.

Patents that are registered in 3rd world jurisdictions ONLY (without concurrent WIPO prosecutions and other internationally accepted prosecutions) are, by virtue of their place of registration, not accorded “equality” during litigation in certain 1st world countries.

In layman’s terms you may liken this equality to the scrutiny that a person bearing a passport from Guyana is subjected to as opposed to one from Jamaica when one arrives at the Immigration counter.

Some jurisdictions have a reputation that their travel documents are compromised at source i.e. the immigration department is complicit in purposed falsification scheme. I am not defaming any specific country just giving a hypothetical.

There is something called “priority date” which features in patent litigation cases and refers to who was first to file a patent.

Now it is possible for example for a Bajan like me, having a good friend at CAIPO, to lodge a patent at CAIPO and have it backdated and then seek to sue Apple stating that my Barbados date precedes their IPAD registration, for example. This is why many feel that these, and the poor man’s patent’s (sealing and sending the patent material to yourself when you dont have the money to do the official registration) are really a colossal waste of time

It is however possible to do a Barbadian patent registration and, post having it registered here, follow up with national registrations in those countries where you propose to do business, as well as do a WIPO registration. Each step is time sensitive though.

18. did ac in her previous comment tell a lie. well then prove me wrong STUPID AC….
    Money brain no Bombs falling on Barbados,,,,,,,,,,

19. David Weekes says:

“Patents that are registered in 3rd world jurisdictions ONLY (without concurrent WIPO prosecutions and other internationally accepted prosecutions) are, by virtue of their place of registration, not accorded “equality” during litigation in certain 1st world countries.”

My point exactly, registering your patents in certain jurisdictions causes you to run the risk of someone with the same idea coming after you who is registered at the Library of Congress suing you because your registered patent is deemed not meeting international world standard because of the jurisdiction.

20. I don’t know if some Bajans are aware that their ID Card and Driver’s License are not accepted in some countries, the excuse given is, they do not look real, look like fakes, same goes for patent registration.

21. Meaning that Bajans living abroad would be recognized as FULL citizens, required to pay taxes.

Brilliant idea especially fuh we CanaBajans.
    We would just have to reduce the remittances and go to Cuba or the Dominican republic for an affordable vacation after paying these new taxes.

We can see relatives back home on Skype but we might still be able to bring them up for a Christmas vacation because of the cheap flights Marville does selloff at Christmas.

22. @ David Weekes

Yes. Because we were slow to this other people in so-called first world countries have patented, trademarked or copywrited things like road tennis, from Barbados. Of course there is a an industry in these countries to go to countries of the South and patent things like basmati rice, things that should be beyond their reach.

23. @Pacha

Don’t forget the Black Belly sheep which was US patented…lol.

24. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins
    Is it normal to spend $300 million a year on capital expenditure?
    I quote from Chris Sinckler’s speech, Tuesday 19th March:
    “Together when the BDS$355 million taken from this new stimulus package and the BDS$300 million from traditional estimates, we anticipate an injection of BDS$600 million in capital works spending.”, so yes, it’s normal.
    Are the other projects stimulus money? Prior to announcing this stimulus package in March, the Government’s position was that such a package was not required – indeed, that putting one in place would jeopardise foreign exchange reserves. This was at a time when some of the projects had already been announced. The cruise terminal pier was announced in September 2012. Government did not consider it to be part of a stimulus package then, so why would it suddenly turn into one in March?
    The same is true of the Pier Head Marina; announced in April 2011 and never a stimulus project.
    New projects (unless anyone knows otherwise are the new $20 million cargo shed at the airport an $80 million road upgrade package and $10 million for a new race track at Bushy Park. I make that $100 million of new Government money bearing in mind that they can’t claim much responsibility for the race track.

25. The black belly sheep sat in Bim for how many years, what took them so long to realize that it should be patented, oh, they were waiting for the Americans to do it for them…………same with the sugar, it is rebranded by a non-Barbadian and sold all over Europe, while the local government exports it to Europe at a loss……………

26. oh no people

27. Tired and uninspired Avatar
    Tired and uninspired

@Pachamama
    Just because one files a tax return in the US it doesn’t mean one actually pay taxes. And, a bajan residing overseas and earning income locally or holding property here is already required to pay taxes. That’s not the same as paying a fee to maintain citizenship. The US tax code is so complicated even lawmakers over there don’t understand it, it’s riddled with deductions and exemptions to the point were they have created an industry for tax avoidance. That is what they are chasing with overseas taxes, not charging for citizenship.
    If you want to, as you say, ‘build strategic relations with citizens elsewhere’ you think the best way is to jack them up for money when the government runs into problems? And what ‘protection’ does the government offer citizens abroad exactly?
    Bajans always carrying on with profundities about reforming education, breeding entrepreneurs, sustainable agriculture and exports now it’s patents. Wishing for all these pie in the sky imaginings to materialize out of nowhere is not going to help us. How is any of it going to happen? Who is going to do the work to make these thing come to pass? The civil service? Government ministers? internet bloggers? the Boy Scouts?

28. Barbados is in a very sorry state…. the people are so passive and will sit and take anything. Its like it dont matter unless it is personnally affecting you.
    We concern ourselves with a lot of foolishness and here is an example of the foolishness we are so concerned about.
    Sir Roy and his rape comment, tell Sir Roy to carry he A… and retire his tired soul or is it sole (from aimelessly marching).
    The writers here just ignore all the important issues Barbados is dealing with or trying to deal with.
    Payne and Hinkson issue…. their business who gives a rats A… about it.
    What we should be shouting for is the intergrity legislation, proper accountibility and washing away nepotism.
    What about the foolish laws we have here condoning nonsense such as that issue with the squatters in Fort George. They can come and build without the permission of Town and Country Department, paying no taxes for the land yet you who is doing all that the law requires will get all sort of problems.
    Truthfully the Town and Country Department is another issue all together. Send in an application and it takes for ever to be approved. Lord help you if it has to go to the Minister.
    I dont have to mention the Courts, and I am not only talking about the delays, what about the marshalls who refuse to assist with those who refuse to pay fines??
    I can go on and on

29. Tired and Inspired………………forget the ministers, they can’t even think in straight lines, you stand a better chance with the boys scout………..

30. AC……………..now which Einstein got you to say STUPID AC on the blog??

31. @ old onion bags

A few years ago, the government changed its accounting system from cash basis [i.e. revenues are reported in the income statement when cash is received and expenses when cash is paid] to accrual basis [i.e. the adjustment process is used to assign revenues to the periods in which they are earned and expenses when they are incurred].

32. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Listen PDC, leave the big banks dem ‘lone, ya wastin time. Dem belong to powers and principalities with malevolent intentions, one lil man like you ain’ gine mek a dent with dem. The best you could do is start a meeting hand. If you can succeed with that, there you go, your own bank free from the controlled system that the Rothschilds own. Don’t mind them gine try to assassinate you afterwards. Musn’t let the goyim have interest free money.

Now this thing about taxation, as long as it have governments and public servants, public services like public education, health, law and order etc they gine have to get paid. That’s where taxes come in, nothing is really ever free. In a perfect world taxes would remain in equilibrium with peoples wages. But in our world taxes seem to rise higher and higher while wages remain the same or dwindle for the little man. Being the little man they have the least money, money is power, purchasing power. Everything and everyone has a price. So those with the most money just buy what and whom will ensure they keep their purchasing power.

This is what is called oligarchy, who has the most money has the most power. There is no democracy. Oligarchy is one of the key ingredients of the collapse of civilizations. It has contributed to the fall of Rome, Byzantium. Mayan priests held a monopoly on religion. Most of China’s history was marked with economic booms and devastating busts(one of the reasons chinese and japanese hated merchants).

That’s one side the next side is the politicians they buy aka government for sale, oligarchy at it’s finest. Politicians may be oligarchs too. Now when these politicians pander to these “too big to fail” companies/individuals who finance the party two things occur. Party politics is now corrupted beyond repair, politicians become essentially security guards for these companies/individuals, what wealth wants wealth gets, to hell with the struggling man. Next; politicians now treat the electorate with contempt because they know the electorate is not their master nor holds the power. Thus they lie cheat and steal bankrupting the public purse, leading right back to taxes, taxes rise but the country never seems to be able to balance the books.

Taxes are necessary to pay for honest politicians and public amenities. Sad thing is there is only one way to stop this sick system. Violent revolution!! “The blood of matryrs must mingle with the blood of tyrants”,
    They know this because it is true. Every successful revolution was violent and many got killed. From Caesar’s coup to the Arab spring, the only way to get rid of corrupt, nasty politicians or to purge a government is to drag them out of office literally, They will not leave their dens of vice willingly. That’s why they rush to enact gun restriction laws and impede persons rights to bear arms.

I am in no means advising such revolution at this time though. We need responsible people with level heads to conduct such an exercise. We need investigators to uncover the ties and connections and evidences of wrong, so when the wicked are punished it will be justifiably so. And to any would be whistle blowers, learn from Bradley Manning and Julian Assange, leak the info anonymously first to gain public reaction , have back ups and a good lawyer. I gone!

33. @ Pachamama

We are our worse enemy.

You may not know this but in the course of any one year there are no less than 20 IP seminar/workshops conducted across Barbados by local agencies and international institutions on patents, copyright and trademark issues.

Every year i get invited to some of these, not all, my name has been banned from most of them nowadays, and all of the pundits talk pretty at the meetings.

Let me give you the format, the BLP/DLP minister introduces the conference, the invited guests show a lot of slides, people like you and me get up and vent, we break for sumptuous lunches, the Moderator thanks everyone for coming and we break away into small groups exchange business cards and meet and do the same thing the following week.

Now we bemaon the fact that we dont have a resident pool of IP personnel in Barbados (and in the region) however when WIPO and the rest of these agencies coordinate these local gatherings, instead of us requesting some permanent transfers of these skills we sell ourselves short for their underwriting of a local conference which their EU budget has allocated for this exercise with the natives.

No one is prepared to say to WIPO that, as part of their on-going outreach, what we want them to fund is a “revolving” IP training pool which takes (i) existing lawyers and (ii) final year students ant the Law Faculty of Cave Hill and the Hugh Wooding facility in T&T and exposes them to tailored Skills Transfer programs

THe objective(s) of this “revolving” IP Skills Transfer programme is that over the course of the following 5 years, it will create resident capacity for IP, in Barbados, and across the region.

Such a program, augmented by ICT, would provide training for enrolled lawyers, and other interested professionals, to train in and become certified by WIPO or other acreddited agency, in IP basic, intermediary and advance IP prosecutions.

It could even be augmented by some type of established relationship with a few EU based legal/academic institutions supported by the expensive and underused distance learning facility at Cave Hill.

I am sure that LIME or Digicel or one of these telecoms firms would rush to give $$ to UWI for something as meaningful as facilitating our entrepreneurs, professionals and all and sundry the resident capacity to make proper PCT submissions

This really comes down to us as a people stopping begging from these agencies (as Mr Cadogan has stated that i am begging for QCs and $$ for my case against the Geriatric Hospital) and to demand that they, in giving us these TA programmes, fashion something that we own, instead of needing to beg for another handout next year.

I am not an expert on this subject matter, I however have 17 patents and patents pending so my suggestions come from the school of hard knocks and the painstaking process of converting IP to viable commercial products across the minefield of disbelief ( a black man did what?), inadequate financing (that is too much money for you) professional shepherding (people who dont know anything about anything but are being paid to mentor you, infringers (private sector and government) and legitimate real world competitors (for whom corporate espionage is a whole different ball game.

These difficult times demand that we change the rules that are being spoon fed to us.

It is my profound hope that entities like CAIPO and the relevant Ministries of Government start demanding more of these counterpart agencies if they are serious about changing our path towards economic stagnation.

Don’t mind Weekes, a day coming soon I. like all of you, will lie down and die and all of my ramblings will cease and desist.

Focus on what is useful in my message, Chaff and Grain “keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness, blow the rest away”

34. @ David Weekes

You are right! You have highlighted the need for a kind of transformation that is very necessary at the operational level. It boggles the mind to consider that Barbados continues to fail in producing people like you, but when you create yourself nobody would recognize the importance of what you do. Nobody would recognize that the needs of your business might not necessarily fall into a cookie cutter financial environment. When you are successful everybody will want to share your success, though. I believe that, single-handedly, you might have developed more patents than any other Bajan.

35. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“Some state categorically that Sugar is dead. Tourism, according to wiser commentators than I could ever be, is said to be dying. Offshore financial institutions are closing down and/or moving to other more “amenable” jurisdictions.

We have to look at alternative strategies to bolster our economy because this recession, and increasing violent crime, doesn’t really care if you are a DLP or BLP supporter. ”

the problem is that some leaders in this country dont see things this way. clearly everything is ok.

36. old onion bags Avatar

Good new folks…I am redirected to the fact that a new and expiditious undertaking from a land of the emu…..is about to bring relief to BIM. Though advised the devil is in the details….I am sworn to secrecy….I say no more than there is hope for City dwellers.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart has advised Democratic Labour Party (DLP) colleagues not to be sidetracked by “infantile and puerile tit for tat”, saying that the big picture must be to create a better Barbados.

Stuart was speaking yesterday morning during worship at St Paul’s Anglican Church, where dozens of party supporters offered thanks for their 2013 general election triumph and also celebrated the 58th anniversary of the founding of the party.

Before a congregation that included a number of knights – Sir Frederick Smith, Sir Philip Greaves, Sir Harcourt Lewis and Sir Frank Alleyne – the Prime Minister told party members that good Government could not be achieved by being engaged in adolescent sparring.

Stuart said the Government’s objectives could only be achieved by a disciplined analysis of the challenges facing Barbados and a determination to face “those challenges courageously and creatively”.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You know nothing about the DLP. All guess work on your part.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Out in full force, misleading all the other BLP idiots.

Onions after all that you said in the run up to the last elections and nothing at all that you said came to fruition, I hate to break this news to you , but your credibility is shot to hell.

However you are doing a great job leading the other BLP jokers up the path to La La land. that will give the DLP the necessary room to continue to keep this country afloat without any unnecessary distractions.

BTW you and CASWELL FRANKLYN have another five years to continue to sign for your supper. I rather think that you will be a little ancient to for that post as High Commissioner to England in the next five years.

You are already wash-up just like SEETHRU.

40. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson

My grandmudda used to keep a pump action FLIT CAN with Shelton for dog fleas and fowl lice…which whenever the rain fell used to sojourn under the cellar….(probably hitchin a ride on the dog or a bare neck fowl.)….

I was awaiting your return, though not with abeted breath…..Morning C, is the way you greet bearers of Good News son?

41. old onion bags Avatar

Somehow the blog droppin words and letter like crazy…

@ Carson
    Morning C….Is THIS the way you greet bearers of Good News son?

42. Im not a B neither am I a D, but what i can safely say is that Barbados needs another political party. This present Government needs changing and im not sure that going to the B is the right decision either.
    Hmmmmm how about a communist party

43. David,

We could not have done the amount of online research to tell you of the total number of the banks (commercial retail?) in Barbados how many are domiciled in a G 7 or G 20 country? Any how we can only answer your question a little bit by saying that there are the Royal Bank of Canada, the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (First Caribbean) and the Bank of Nova Scotia that are Canadian based commercial banks and that have branches or subsidiaries here in Barbados that are too located in Canada, USA, Europe and elsewhere. We cannot tell you yet if Republic Bank or First Citizens are located in a G 7 or G 20 country. Anyhow to answer your question as to whether they would not have to follow Basel directives: 1) as said in an earlier post the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision do not produce directives. They produce guidelines and standards, like the International Standards on Capital Adequacy (Wikipedia.org) The Committee does not have any authority to ENFORCE recommendations (Wikipedia.org). This committee and the Bank of International Settlements do not make international law and therefore cannot enforce international law because they are not a body recognized in international law.

2) Their recommendations and standards too are only just those. In its Annual Reports and Annual Meeting for 2012, the Bank of Nova Scotia in writing about the nature of their own forward looking statements remarked that these statements involve numerous assumptions, inherent risks, and uncertainties, both general and specific, and the risks that predictions and other forward-looking statements will not prove to be accurate. In this particular online document it asks readers and by extensions others to do not rely on forward looking statements as a number of important factors, many of which are beyond their control, could cause actual results to differ materially from the estimates and intention expressed in such forward looking statements. Among many other factors they mentioned are the effect of changes in MONETARY POLICY, LEGISLATIVE and REGULATORY developments in Canada and elsewhere, including changes in tax laws (www.scotiabank.com). Hence a careful understanding of the last statement there shows that Scotia Bank recognizes that the laws and rules of countries/nation/states may be or are strong enough to help produce results that are materially different from their own estimations and intentions, eg Basel standards, as are contained in their forward looking statements. Therefore, Scotia Bank and other international commercial banks must recognize that they have to follow the national laws and rules of their own home countries and others or through their representative bodies have social frameworks for consultations and cooperation with home regulators on the way forward for political legal implementation of such recommendations and standards in the respective jurisdictions. Such information from Scotia Bank also confirms what is also on wikipedia.org that Basel recommendations are enforced through national laws and regulations rather than as a result of Committee recommendations and that without adopted by or assented to in such legislation and regulation by sovereign powers they will be mere recommendations and guidelines issuing out of these particular groupings.

3) With regard to the estimations and intentions of forward looking statements, and certains conditions that can help produce results that are materially different from what was expected. David, google Basel 111 and you will see that there is this wikipedia information that tells you how serious concerted political agitation can derail stall the intentions of the Basel Committee. Read how the Federal Reserve Board (a sovereign power in the USA) announced in December 2011 that it wanted to implement Basel 111 rules (rules according to wikipedia.com ), most likely because the USA is a member of the Basel Committee and which therefore through the Fed can be applied to banks in the USA ( not rules for the government of Barbados since in this case they cannot be applied to Barbados).

The Federal Reserve Board had stated how they would not only apply to banks but also to any financial institution that had assets of more than US $ 50 billion. According to Wikipedia.org too there was even an OECD study which said that those recommendations would bring about so-called economic growth (where??). But many banks in the USA got together and argued that the implementation of Basel 111 would hurt so-called economic growth.

But could you imagine that by now the OECD would have made a volte face on their position of material growth and instead was later reported as saying something different from earlier that it would decrease so-called economic growth by 0.05 to 0.15 per cent blaming regulation for slow recovery from the 2008/9 financial crisis. At this time too a number of USA congressmen had got involved in voicing opposition to Basel 111.

So, what wikipedia.org would also tell you is that in January 2013 the global banking sector won a significant victory with the Basel Committee over the implementation of Basel 111 standards, when the Basel Committee extended the implementation schedule to 2019. So it shows that with serious concerted political action anywhere against these kinds of plans that they could be derailed or delayed or cancelled.

4) To show that the Central Bank of Barbados and by extension the government of Barbados have the only say in determining which, when Basel recommendations and guidelines would be implemented in Barbados and the type and amount of legal and regulatory weight that they would carry, NOT any Basel Committee or Bank of International Settlements, and NOT any parent body of multinational banking institutions – the authors of these recommendations and guidelines; are shown in the time that, say, Basel 11 came about, and the length of time the relevant aspects of it took to be implemented in Barbados, are shown by a limited number of relevant guidelines issued by the Central Bank of Barbados, namely, the stress test guideline, the consolidated supervision guideline and a few others and when contrasted with the great number of guidelines and assessments some other regulators issue within their own jurisdictions – which is natural given that Barbados is a smaller less complex financial jurisdiction than say France, Spain,etc; are shown by the fact that say the capital adequacy regulation 1998, made under the Financial Institutions Act, a light weight measure when viewed against a few if any anticipated breaches of the regulation by any financial institutions when contrasted with, say, the Money Laundering and Terrorism Act, a more significant Act than that regulation itself.

Our research has shown too that the Central Bank of Barbados, whilst not being a member of the Basel Committee and a member of the Bank of International Settlements, is a member of the Caribbean Group of Banking Supervisors, a body whose aim is to enhance and coordinate the harmonization of bank supervisor practices in the English speaking Caribbean, with a view to bringing them in line with internationally accepted practices (Central Bank of Barbados website).

For further information on these types of matters see the Financial Stability Report 2012, and the Central Bank of Barbados website.

44. @ Pachamama
    At least you are thinking BIG, kudos to you; unlike the fossil Alvin Cummins who proposed shipping golden apples (lmao) and continues to talk shite on the blog.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Give Alvin a break…….he is from the old school ways of thinking. At Cawmere he was always slow…I recall his request yesterday for figs. but I wondered what for..since he was always flunkin maths and star gazin at wood doves.

46. old onion bags Avatar

I keep wondering why the new currency fro DeLa Rue Hampshire….Although our notes in circulation are in relatively good condition, why the need at this time for the new very colorful ones? Why can we afford to pay De La Rue the printers …in these hard times?

47. I was trying to remember the name of that company who owns the plate that prints money for Barbados……….thanks Old Onions..

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

If I were you, I would put down the computer for a while until I got all my thoughts together.

After the disastrous showing over the last two years or so. I would feel that people laughing at me being wrong all the time.

But then again I am nor you, maybe you have a cast iron stomach.

49. Carson boy…………….you are stronger than before, don’t be selfish, share the information with us…………..cause if it tanks, you know what will happen don’t you??

50. onions,
    My sources tell me that the money needs replenishing. The problem is that the current notes are of a very high quality and cost a lot to replace. Since the country is broke, the Central Bank had to go with a lesser quality and so they made a decision to replace the currency with a cheaper version which quite frankly looks cheap and like monopoly money. Forget the Governor’s hype about all this high security and the crap he said. It is cheap notes they have gone with!

Leave a Reply to Well WellCancel reply