Submitted by David Weekes
Why no x-ray?
Why was no x-ray ordered?

This is a very emotional issue for me so I will try to keep focused while making this submission.

Three months ago my father, the late Samuel Weekes sustained and injury while he was at the St Philip Geriatric Hospital.

Daddy was injured on the 11th of January 2013 and sustained what the attending doctor called “soft tissue damage”.

That Doctor prescribed Panadol, Paracetamol and Voltaren. Five days later, on the 16th of January, Daddy was transferred to the QEH.

Eight days later on the 24th of January, I received a call from the QEH indicating that Daddy actually suffered a fractured hip from his fall on the 11th of January during which time a doctor is prescribing Panadol and Voltaren.

QEH requested me to come and sign consent forms for an operation, which I did the same day.

129 responses to “Doctors at St Philip Geriatric Hospital and QEH Bungle Diagnosis and a Son is Left to Mourn the Death of His Father”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David | April 30, 2013 at 11:32 PM |
    @Doc GP
    Do you know of Dr Babb?

If it is a female call D…………..Yes I do

Well Well | May 1, 2013 at 7:16 AM |
    GP…………….you are one doctor i will certainly not visit……….

who cares? I gave up seeing morons like you long ago lol lol

re Again, a doctor cannot assume to know whats going on in a person’s body without vital tests and scans, if that person is telling him/her the pains and symptoms they are experiencing.

IN OVER 90 % OF CASES THE DIAGNOSIS IS MADE ON THE HISTORY! DOCTORS WHO TAKE A GOOD HISTORY ARE SUPPOSED TO GET THE CORRECT DIAGNOSIS IN 98% OF THE TIME

The healthcare system in the US and elsewhere is not the greatest in the world, but even they are intelligent enough to know that upon seeing any patient the first thing you do is order tests or scans to determine the source of injury and render a diagnosis.

IN THE US BECAUSE OF FEAR OF MALPRACTICE DRS OVER ORDER TESTS AND SCANS
    IN THE US BECAUSE OF FEAR OF MALPRACTICE DRS TREAT RESULTS INSTEAD OF TREATING PATIENTS

How do you know what organs are damaged inside patient with internal injuries has unless you order a scan?
    YOU CAN HAVE A GOOD IDEA BY TAKING A GOOD HISTORY!
    THIS IS STILL THE FOUNDATION OF TREATING PATIENTS

IF YOU GET UP FROM YOUR CHAIR AND YOU DONT YET KNOW THE DIAGNOSIS YOU USUALLY WONT GET IT BY TESTS AND SCANS

A VERY HIGH PERCENTAGE OF SCANS AND TESTS ARE NORMAL!
    RE The same goes for patients who have dengue, lepto, etc…………bloods tests are routinely ordered so a diagnosis can be rendered for the unknown

IF YOU SUSPECT THESE ILLNESSES [NOTE YOU HAVE ALREADY MADE THE DIAGNOSIS] YOU ORDER TESTS TO CONFIRM NOT MAKE THE DIAGNOSIS!

AFTER ALL DIAGNOSIS OF THESE ILLNESES IS CONFIRMED BY OBSERVING A RISE IN TITRE OVER THREE WEEKS BY WHICH TIME PATIENT WOULD BE LONG DEAD!

I LOVE IT WHEN MEDICAL ILLITERATES TRY TO TEACH MEDICINE ON BU. VERY GOOD ENTERTAINMENT.

2. GP……………if a person has had an accident and complains of internal pains…….would you diagnose them simply based on their medial history??……..if you do and have done that in your past of a physician, you are one incompetent jackass and i wonder how many complaints have been filed against you………..or you may just be entertaining yourself with the bull**** you are spewing.

3. That shoud read………….would you diagnosis an injured accident victim with internal injuries based on their medical history?? that just re-enforces my opinion that no one in their right minds should visit your office, assuming you still practice…….GP

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE IMPORTANCE OF A MEDICAL HISTORY

YOUR QUESTION IS A STUPID ILLOGICAL ONE YOU ARE PUTTING THE HORSE BEFORE THE CART
    would you diagnosis an injured accident victim with internal injuries based on their medical history??

1 PATIENT IS INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT
    2 HISTORY +/- EXAM MIGHT THEN SUGGESTS THAT THERE ARE INTERNAL INJURIES
    3 AT THIS POINT DR DECIDES IF AND WHAT TESTS ARE NEEDED
    IT IS A JUDGEMENT CALL BASED ON THE ASSESSMENT- NOT ON EMOTION

THERE IS A LOGICAL PROGRESSION THAT ALWAYS STARTS WITH THE HISTORY!

YOU OBVIOUSLY HAVE NOT SEEN ANY PATIENTS
    YOU WOULD MAKE A LOUSY MEDICAL STUDENT LOL

IN THE USA YOU WOULD OF COURSE COVER YOUR TAIL BY ORDERING ALL THE XRAYS AND SCANS AND ECHOS ETC AND THEN MAKE THE DIAGNOSIS

HERE THE DR TREATS HIMSELF AND THE RESULTS AND IN THE PROCESS MIGHT EVEN FAIL TO TREAT THE PATIENT

5. GP………………..medical history, age, etc. etc. are standard information for patients to give a hospital or doctor………………..but that should not be primary in making a diagnosis especially for a victim of a fall or an accident…………..because i suffer with allergies or had asthama (example) that does not explain why my hip is broken, or i have three cracked ribs, or a freaking spinal injury…………….i cannot believe i have to explain this to someone who calls himself a doctor?? how old are you again?

6. And don’t try to pull the wool over my eyes………..many patients who have trauma go into a hospitals in an unconscious or semi-coma and are unable to provide personal information and medical histories, so you are telling me doctors like you would simply refuse to give medical assistance cause you don’t have that information?? instead of running tests and scans……………did you read your oath “first do no harm’…………..are you sane or just out to entertain yourself??

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY A MEMBER OF THE LOWLY EQUINOIDS
    YOU OBVIOUSLY DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT HISTORY TAKING IS ABOUT

1 PRESENTING COMPLAINT
    2 HISTORY OF PRESENTING COMPLAINT [NOT PASS MEDICAL HISTORY ETC]

CHECK ONE OF THE BASIC TEXTS DUMMY LIKE MCCLOUDS OR HUTCHINSON & HUNTER OR BATES

YOU EXPECT TO TEACH ME THAT WHICH I HAVE SPENT MY LIFE DOING

DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY PATIENTS I HAVE SEEN AND HOW MANY HISTORIES I HAVE TAKEN YOU NARROW MINDED TWIT

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

Hold yuh man!!!!!

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

many patients who have trauma go into a hospitals in an unconscious or semi-coma and are unable to provide personal information and medical histories,
    DR HAS TO GET THE HISTORY OF THE EVENT THE HISTORY OF THE PRESENTING COMPLAINT
    THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH personal information and medical histories,

so you are telling me doctors like you would simply refuse to give medical assistance cause you don’t have that information??
    NO FOOL!

instead of running tests and scans……………YOU DO NOT JUST RUN TO TESTS AND SCANS WITHOUT SOME HISTORY AND EXAM AND A PRESUMPTIVE OR DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS

HOW CAN YOU KNOW WHAT TESTS AND SCANS TO DO FOOL?

SHALL WE DO ALL IN THE BOOK?

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This from England:

University professor, 37, dies from lung cancer after string of doctors dismissed symptoms as ‘anxiety and depression’

A university professor died of lung cancer aged 37 after doctors repeatedly dismissed her illness as ‘purely psychological’.

Lisa Smirl, 37, saw three different doctors with a range of symptoms over a year-long period but they were dismissed as anxiety and depression.

By the time cancer was finally diagnosed it had spread throughout her body and was terminal.

Dr Smirl, who was married to a medical doctor and lived in Leeds and Brighton, kept a heartbreaking online blog about her treatment.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2290128/University-professor-37-dies-lung-cancer-doctors-dismissed-symptoms-anxiety-depression.html#ixzz2S3HL2p6H

11. @Doc GP

If we understand you correctly Doc Babb when he examined Mr. Babb after his fall he should have been able to diagnose that broken bones was in play which would then have triggered a request for X-rays/scans etc?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

For an old man you are really ridiculous. Try and behave your self, if you can.

13. GP……………………….do you know how many doctors like you who have refused to order tests or scans because you took one look at another human being and decided you could render an accurate diagnosis on what is wrong with them, have caused the death and misery of untold patients??……………doctors are by no means perfect and there are reasons why the X-ray machine and MRI scans were invented along with a myriad of different lab tests for one thing or the other that easily counts in the millions of problems that can plague a human body. I am sure you will never tell us how many complaints have been filed against you, if indeed you practiced what you are now preaching……………………

14. GP……………….you are really going over board……………tests and scans are run every day to narrow and determine a patient’s problem so that a wrong diagnosis is not rendered…………..as a doctor are you not familiar with the term “running a series or a battery of tests” to identify an unknown ailment or disease or in my case, a whole body scan MRI from either head down or neck down………..just to identify what has been damaged in the body in a region that can be as far north or south of the body that even you GP with your deluded “X-ray vision” could never detect?

15. It is clear that medicine is a guessing game for many Doctors. Instead of using modern technology some seem to think that they can guess and treat patients. If one is not comfortable with your Doctor’s diagnosis do not hesitate to get a second opinion or even a third opinion.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David | May 1, 2013 at 10:41 AM |
    @Doc GP

If we understand you correctly Doc Babb when he examined Mr. Babb after his fall he should have been able to diagnose that broken bones was in play which would then have triggered a request for X-rays/scans etc?

YES FROM EXPERIENCE IN THIS CASE

HISTORY IS ELDERLY PATIENT WITH FALL
    ONE MUST RULE OUT FRACTURED HIP

THESE DO NOT HEAL WELL BECAUSE OF POOR BLOOD SUPPLY

FRACTURED HIP IN AN OLD PERSON IS ALMOST A DEATH SENTENCE

SUCH PATIENTS DIE FROM COMPLICATIONS OF BED SORES

THE REAL ISSUES IN THIS CASE ARE PATIENT WAS GETTING PANADOL AND PARACETAMOL? THESE ARE THE SAME

PARACETAMOL OVERDOSE IS VERY LIKELY IN AN ELDERLY PATIENT WHO PROBABLY ALREADY HAS A FAILING OR MUCH SLOWLY METABOLISING LIVER

NEXT THING IS PATIENT HAD AN OPERATION
    QUESTION WAS HALOTHANE USED AS THE INDUCTION AGENT

17. well well, why are you mixing it up with this bajan village idiots?Have you forgotten the reasons why you high tail it out of here? 40% of registered voters didn’t vote last elections….the bloody fools have been jerked around by the medical staff at the QEH for ever and ever…dem like um so.
    When going about business at certain places, my camera and mini tape recorder is all ways at the ready.

18. That is all i have been trying to say…………….i have been in pain for the last 4 years because 3 doctors decided they can tell from what i described to them and by just doing some routine visual exams, what was wrong with me without the benefit of X-rays or MRI scans…………….and all three in Bim, got it wrong, and i know i am not alone, just look at what happened to this senior citizen.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

islandgal246 | May 1, 2013 at 11:10 AM |
    It is clear that medicine is a guessing game for many Doctors. Instead of using modern technology some seem to think that they can guess and treat patients. If one is not comfortable with your Doctor’s diagnosis do not hesitate to get a second opinion or even a third opinion.

YOU ARE ALL MISINTERPRETING WHAT I AM SAYING
    DIAGNOSES WERE MADE WITHOUT modern technology
    DIAGNOSES WERE MADE LONG BEFORE modern technology

DRS DONT guess and treat patients
    THEY TRY TO GET A CORRECT DIAGNOSIS
    THE PREQEQUESITE OF THIS IS A PROPER HISTORY

DRS SPEND MUCH TIME IN THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING LEARNING TO TAKE HISTORIES

OFTEN JUNIOR DRS FAIL TO MAKE THE CORRECT DIAGNOSIS BECAUSE THEY TOOK A POOR HISTORY

E.G IN DIAGNOSING DENGUE ONE MUST ILLICIT A HISTORY OF BREAK BONE FEVER. ASK THE PATIENT DO YOU FEEL AS IF SOME ONE HAS BEATEN YOU ALL OVER YOUR BODY.

IN LEPTOSPIROSIS THE PATIENT MIGHT HAVE WORKED I AN ABATOIR OR COME IN CONTACT WITH RAT URINE ETC WHILE WORKING IN GARDEN WITHOUT BOOTS

HISTORY TAKING HAS TO DO WITH PICKING UP BUZZ WORDS

20. Whitehill………………..you are right, i swear, the most important thing to the intake clerk at the QEH when i was brought in by ambulance, was if i attended church, i told her straight up, no i don’t, i wanted to see what she would do, suffice it to say, there was no way i was going to spend a night in there…………..that is the one time i strongly felt like spitting on another human being…………..keep your camera and tape recorder rolling.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well | May 1, 2013 at 11:31 AM |
    That is all i have been trying to say…………….i have been in pain for the last 4 years because 3 doctors decided they can tell from what i described to them and by just doing some routine visual exams, what was wrong with me without the benefit of X-rays or MRI scans…………….and all three in Bim, got it wrong, and i know i am not alone, just look at what happened to this senior citizen.

YOU ARE BASING YOUR ATTACKS ON ME BASED ON YOUR BAD EXPERIENCES

YOUR DOCTORS DID NOT TAKE A PROPER HISTORY
    XRAYS AND SCANS ARE NOT MAGIC
    THEY MOSTLY GIVE ANATOMICAL INFORMATION
    THEY SHOULD BE USED FOR CONFIRMATION OF THE DIAGNOSIS WHICH OUGHT TO BE MADE BY HISTORY

I AM WATCHING DOCUMENTARIES ON US TV WHERE DRS ARE MISSING DIAGNOSES EVEN AFTER DOING XRAYS AND SCANS

I HAVE SEEN A CASE WHERE A PATIENT WAS MISDIAGNOSED FOR OVER 15 YEARS AND ONE FOR 50 YEARS AFTER BEING SEEN BY MANY DOCTORS

22. I remember there was a US president, i think was Garfield, long before X-rays and scans, he was shot at the world fair in Buffalo………..well his doctors diagnosed all sorts of things for him and gave him all kinds of treatments and ended up killing him from over-diagnosis…………what did he die from……………….gangrene………….something you very rarely hear about since the advent of x-rays and scans………

23. Thanks Doc, will try to see if additional info is accessible. These kinds of topics can be emotional but your point of a doctor using histories in a triaging process as integral to a diagnosis is understood.

24. Island……………there is also a very good reason why doctors, even when they are 90 years old, are considered PRACTICING physicians, they are still practicing on the patients.

25. GP………………….i gave those doctors a detailed history as an extremely healthy female…………..and they still got it wrong………….i made one visit for a scan in North America and was immediately SHOWN what was wrong for the past 4 years……………now explain that.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well | May 1, 2013 at 11:38 AM |
    I remember there was a US president, i think was Garfield, long before X-rays and scans, he was shot at the world fair in Buffalo………..well his doctors diagnosed all sorts of things for him and gave him all kinds of treatments and ended up killing him from over-diagnosis…………what did he die from……………….gangrene………….something you very rarely hear about since the advent of x-rays and scans………

LOL MORON YOU KNOW NOTHING OF WHAT YOU SPEAK

the advent of x-rays and scans HAS NOT STOPPED FOLK DIEING FROM GANGRENE ……………ANTIBIOTICS HAS

CLOSTRIDIA WELCHI OR PERFINGEES IS STILL VERY MUCH AROUND AND COMMON IN CERTAIN AREAS

DRS MAKE THE DIAGNOSIS BY TAKING A GOOD HISTORY OF THE PRESENTING COMPLAINT AND THEIR KNOWLEDGE OF MICROBIOLOGY

NOTE THAT A MERE PRICK IN THE TOE OR FINGER MIGHT CAUSE YOU TO GET GANGRENE

27. GP………that did not stop Garfield from being over-diagnosed and dying now did it??

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well | May 1, 2013 at 12:31 PM |
    aNTIBIOTICS WERE NOT AVAILABLE IN GARFIELD’S TIME

HE NEEDED DEBRIDEMENT FOLLOWED BY ANTIBIOTICS

I WANT YOU TO GRASP THAT EVERYTHING HAS ITS TIME AND PLACE

THAT INCLUDES TESTS SCANS AND XRAYS
    THESE ARE TOOLS
    BEFORE THEY WERE MADE DIAGNOSES WERE MADE
    THAT IS HOW THE SCIENCE DEVELOPED

29. @ BU family.

I do not think that my Father or anyone was/is going to live forever. He was 86, a diabetic, had Alzheimer’s, had had two diabetic induced comas and a number of other ailments which older persons have.

I know death having, in quick succession, buried my sister almost 2 years prior and my Mother in 2009. So don’t misunderstand what I am stating here and I want you to note that the QEH and the Geriatric Hospital, while both part of the Ministry of Health, are separate entities in law. Daddy broke his hip at the Geriatric Hospital in St Philip (GHSP) NOT the QEH.

I would hope while reviewing this incident you examine the process and the details of (i) Daddy’s injury at the GHSP (ii) the time that elapsed before I was told of his injury (iii) the time that elapsed before the GHSP transferred him to the QEH, (iv) the medication he received at the GHSP during that time (v) his examination thereafter at QEH (vi) the time that elapsed before I was told of his need for an operation (vii) my treatment by QEH staff re signing their incorrect consent forms for said operation (viii) the issue of Daddy’s body “disappearing” in the morgue

There are some things that you readers migth read between the lines since David Weekes does not want to be sued for defamation.

I feel that Samuel Weekes’ family is entitled to knowing all the aspects of the medical care administered to him, don’t you? .

During a separate meeting I requested with QEH officials (not the Geriatric Hospital now) after my father’s death, I asked the following questions.

1. When did my father arrive at the QEH? What time was he admitted to the hospital? (day/time)
    2. Was my father accompanied? By whom?
    3. How long was the party who accompanied him at the hospital?
    4. Was any medication prescribed for Daddy while he was in the A&E? What was it?
    5. What is the protocol associated with cross institutional intake of patients? Does someone from the sending institution in this case the St. Philip Hospital bring any documents/case files on the patent? Are there such documents of file?
    6. Were QEH staff told was the nature of my father’s injuries and/or how he had sustained them? What were they told?
    7. Was QEH provided with any information on the medication prescribed by the St. Philip Hospital? Did such information include medication that he had taken up to the time of his being admitted to the hospital? What was that medication?
    8. Were x‐rays taken? When? Please discuss the x‐rays
    9. Given your determination of Daddy’s condition, post the x‐rays, does the QEH think that the medication being administered at the Geriatric hospital was adequate for his injury?
    10. Was any medication prescribed for Daddy while in the hospital?
    11. Is there a list of all medications that was administered to my father?
    12. *** mentioned pain killers, ** and an anti‐coagulant, what was the purpose of the anticoagulant?
    13. Is this standard medication for a patient with soft tissue injury? Why would it have been prescribed?
    14. When did QEH realize that the injury was a broken hip? What did you do then?
    15. Why was the family members who came to the hospital not told the nature of Daddy’s injuries when they asked? Why were they told that he had a slight flu when he did not?
    16. When was it determined that, based on his broken hip, that an operation was required?
    17. What extra treatment/action was taken with regard to Daddy?
    18. Why was no surgery effected when Daddy first came to the hospital?
    19. If kin were present on the 17 and 18th what was “the challenge to have the consent form signed by a family member?
    20. Why was I not called, for one week?
    21. What were the results of the post mortem? Please explain/expand
    22. Will we be supplied a copy of the X‐rays?

After meeting with QEH, I requested an official letter replying to these questions.

I have asked the blogmaster to upload their response for you to read.

Tell me if they refused to answer 19 of my 22 questions?

I wrote and requested Xrays of Daddy’s broken/fractured hip (while they were doing his autopsy), and offered to pay for them, they state “the X-Ray report was read verbatim at the meeting …. and there is nothing more that can be added by the QEH”

I have sought the support of the Coroner’s Office or the CEO at QEH, the CMO at the Ministry of Health,the Office of the Minister of Health with no success.

Again I cry into the night, is there no QC who will come to my rescue?

30. GP………..you are still missing the point………….Garfield had at least 5 diagnosis, all wrong, there were no scans and MRIs then………..this is 2013 with scans and MRIs and doctors are still misdiagnosing without using the available scans and MRIs that have been invented for the benefit of the patient and still getting it wrong.

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SIR
    If you can get legal assistance, these are the important issues to pursue.

It seems your relative had a visible soft tissue injury secondary to his fall.

It seems your relative had a fractured neck of femur secondary to his fall.

It seems that this was not picked up early. Could have been diagnosed with a high level of suspicion [call it educated guessing], but elderly folk especially are prone to this injury after falling.

Such patients tend to have a poor prognosis and tend to succumb eventually to the complications of bed sores.

You said that your relative was receiving Panadol and Paracetamol. I hope they know that these are the same thing, and your relative was not recieving a toxic dose, due to impaired hepatic function that tends to accompany old age.

in the light of the above possibility, you want to find out what agent was used to induce your relative at surgery. If this agent is one that is eliminated by the liver mainly this synergism might have led to acute hepatic toxicity

David, if I can find it I will ask one of my assistants or colleagues to send you a ppt on paracetamol toxicity.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

He had his three score and ten.

For heaven sakes the man was 86, let it go.

Legal action will not bring him back.

33. GP……………………..I knew you could do better.

34. Here is the response from the QEH referred to by David (Weekes).
    http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/qeh-response-to-queries.jpg
    Look forward to the information. It seems not necessary to have to state the following but a human life is not defined by age.

35. They just passed the buck (the blame) back to District Hospital without giving any satisfactory information.

36. CCC seems to advocate for a system like in the movie Logans Run where the consumption of resources must be managed so everyone is killed when the reach the age of thirty. Any death which could have been avoided must be investigated if only to make sure it doesnt happen again, that is what will make this mans death easier for his family knowing he was a catalyst for change and the possible saving of other senior citizens.

37. The following presentation sent compliments of one of Doc GP’s students as promised:
    Paracetamol Overdose

38. Lawson………..not only senior citizens but everyone, i too had a run in with incompetent doctors and it could have cost me the use of my legs with spinal injury.

Carson probably does not think he will ever see three scores and ten………….the way the economy is going, he may be right.

39. The doctor at QEH gave me a prescription for Paracetemol, when i filled the prescription, there were so many large tablets that i asked the pharmacists if he expected me to eat all of those, it took me a year to go through them and only if i could not handle the pain i took them……….just imagine an 86 year old who had unknown, and undiagnosed injuries, those pills would have been toxic. Same with the Valium, highly additive if used every day, but they encourage you to eat them down.

40. GP……………great info.

41. @Georgie Porgie

HISTORY IS ELDERLY PATIENT WITH FALL
    ONE MUST RULE OUT FRACTURED HIP

THESE DO NOT HEAL WELL BECAUSE OF POOR BLOOD SUPPLY

FRACTURED HIP IN AN OLD PERSON IS ALMOST A DEATH SENTENCE.

You are so true!!!

My step grandmother was in a nursing home on Welches Road, just below Govt Hill. She either walked into a door or fell. She told the nurse that she was not in any pain. That she was not hurt. The nurse, however, watched her and noticed that she was favoring one side was walking with a slight limp. She called the attending Dr. who ordered an X-ray. He told the great nephew who looked after her for us the same thing you outlined above. She did have a fractured hip and was confined to bed. She died at 97, less than a year later. She was also suffering mild dementia. The hip never mended. She had no bed sores. The nurses turned her often and gave her masssages.

42. @carson cadogan

“For heavens sakes man, the man was 86, let it go”

I am 81 Mr CCC and I have children and grans and great grands.

The joy of seeing them and playing with them each day my LORD allows me to live past that 3 score years and ten cannot be measured in silver or gold. If one of them goes before I do, I would miss them sorely and would investigate it too.

I hear you telling Weekes let it go, sweep it under the rock, and I who would wish to live to 150, (if mine does not fail me) commend him for his balls.

I pray that endoskeletal technologies advance to restore this body bent now with osteoporosis

Just for arguments sake thou heartless man let us suppose that instead of dying from a gangrened hip injury that caused Sam to slip away on his bed in B5, suppose that there was a nurse or Dr Babb at the QEH practicing their own form of mercy killing, you know, that big word, euthanasia would you be so quick to get on that time allotment totem pole to say “let it go?”

I would not even ask an imbecile like you if it was your mother if you would be similarly persuaded.

But then again Carson, that is the man you are, one soured by your own experiences, saddled with the GT Panty, it is easy to see where your mindspace is CCC.

Weekes, I seems by their response that they are hiding something, get a lawyer a good one, behold an oxymoron too, not any of the ones Plantation Deeds lists, and given the extents of his list, you don’t seem to have any choices.

Just had a thought Weeksie, write to one of the Jamaican lawyers taking Myrie’s case, with all the anti -bajan sentiment circulating they might just be willing to take your case.

There is some potential irony in that young Weekes, a CARICOM laywer fighting the case of a CARICOM citizen who is suing CARICOM!

Ignore fellows like Coitus Interruptus Carson, poor fellow, de troubles pun he home front got he distraught poor sole, en he striking out.

GP seem to say you gots a case en GP ent no slouch in de medical department

43. GP wrote “DIAGNOSES WERE MADE LONG BEFORE modern technology.”

Most diagnoses are still made without modern technology. A Doctor uses technology to confirm or disprove his initial diagnosis.

86 year old man falls off a bed. 99% of doctors would expect to find broken bone or fracture somewhere.That is common knowledge.

44. @David Weekes,

Most reasonable people support your search for the truth about what happened to your father.

Stay strong.

45. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well ” in the US…first thing you do is order tests or scans to determine the source of injury and render a diagnosis.”

No, No.

The first thing a good doctor does (if the patient can talk) is TALK to the patient, and LISTEN fr the answers. Most of the time the patient, or accompanying family member/friend/caregiver can tell the doctor exactly how the patient was injured.

The very best doctors know how to TALK and how to LISTEN.

Doctors in the U.S. order expensive tests and scans because they have devilish lawyers sitting on their shoulders,ALL the time.

The doctors in the U.S. are practising CMA.

Cover my ass.

46. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well | May 1, 2013 at 10:05 AM…”medical history, age, etc. etc. are standard information for patients to give a hospital or doctor”

Medical history is not only about the past and what illnesses you had as a child. Medical history is also about what brings you to the doctor today. My doctor fr example always begins by asking “so what brings you here TODAY”

Then I can tell him about the traffic accident, the fall, the headache, the burn, or the fact that I have become convinced that I am Leonardo da Vinci.

Then the doctor moves forward from there

47. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well “the most important thing to the intake clerk at the QEH when i was brought in by ambulance, was if i attended church”

Oh dear you are a fool indeed.

The religion question is also asked at hospitals in the great white north too.
    The intake clerk is NOT trying to make you go to church, and there is no need to spit on anybody. They are asking so that they can send (or NOT send) a minister of your faith to see you while you are sick. Many people find it comforting to have a visit from their minister of religion when they are sick.

If you are not religious then you do not have to see the minister, and he/she can spend time with somebody who appreciates the visit.

48. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well “what did he die from gangrene something you very rarely hear about since the advent of x-rays and scans…that is the one time i strongly felt like spitting on another human being”

Dear Well Well:

I am really glad that you decided to leave Barbados. You are a complete moron indeed. Any Bajan child past 11+ age can tell you that x-rays and scans can neither diagnose nor treat gangrene.

The poor President might have lived IF antibiotics were available then.

But IF my grandmother had balls she would have been my grandfather.

49. @David Weekes “12. *** mentioned pain killers, ** and an anti‐coagulant, what was the purpose of the anticoagulant?
    13. Is this standard medication for a patient with soft tissue injury? Why would it have been prescribed?”

I should really let Doctor Georgie Porgie handle this , but very likely the anticoagulant was prescribed because your father was going to be immobile for a while and anticoagulant would prevent the formation of blood clots. Patients can get blood clots if they are laid up for a while and these clots can travel to the heart or brain and can kill..

50. Dear Well Well:

Were you wearing your seat belt when you had that accident in Barbados?
    Were you the driver of the vehicle?
    Were you sober?
    Had you taken any prescription drugs in the days before the accident?
    Had you taken any non-prescription drugs in the days before the accident?
    Had you taken any illegal drugs in the days before the accident?

Leave a Reply to Well WellCancel reply