Update: The Nation newspaper has issued a public apology to Sir David Seale and Caswell Franklyn in today’s  edition. It turns out that it was our own Caswell who penned the Guest Column and NOT Sir David

In a recent blog BU investigated the issue of attorneys who opt not to be members of the Barbados Bar Association (“BA”) on the basis that the Legal Profession Act contravenes the Constitution of Barbados and is, as a result, a nullity ab initio.

The almost unanimous opinions expressed by BU’s legal eagles was that the Legal Profession Act would be found in law to be a nullity ab initio.

BU has received a letter from attorney-at-law Wilfred A. Abrahams to the President of the Barbados Bar Association dated April 12, 2003 in which he gives notice that the attorneys of the chambers of which he is head, Aegis Chambers, intend to object to appearing in court with any attorney who has not submitted themselves to the Legal Profession Act and, inter alia, accusing these dissenting attorneys of committing an illegal act by practicing law – See Letter sent by Abrahams to the Bar – part 1 and Part 2

Mr Abrahams is being disingenuous to a degree that is alarming in a practicing attorney-at-law. At the Annual General Meeting of the Barbados Bar Association held on Saturday November 01, 2008 at Amaryllis Beach Resort – a meeting chaired by none other than Mr Wilfred Abrahams himself, in his capacity as president of the BA, BU notes the section of the Minutes of the meeting as follows:

(iv) The Resolution

A query was made by Ms Paula Lett as to whether there was a meeting with the Registrar [Maureen Crane-Scott now a High Court judge]  to discuss the issue of Attorneys-at-Law practicing privately in Barbados who had not paid their annual fees and the outcome. The Chairman [Abrahams] in response confirmed that a meeting was held with the Registrar and the Chief Justice [Sir David Simmons] and after a number of meetings and a number of letters, it was decided that it was not worth the effort to pursue this matter and that litigation to do so would be too expensive. This matter will no longer be pursued. [BU’s insertions] – See Extract of Minutes parts 1 & II

To add to the mix, is a column by Sir David Seale – who is not a lawyer and has no right of audience before the courts and no professional competence as a lawyer – which was published in today’s Nation (17/04/2013). Sir David offers what is in effect a legal opinion, even going so far as to quote the Legal Profession Act, and opines that the dissenting counsel are breaking the law – See Sir David Seale’s Guest Column Nation Newspaper.

Some may find a disquieting similarity between the opinion proffered by Sir David Seale and some of those published elsewhere. It is well known that Sir David Seale’s closest neighbour is none other than the daughter of the other Sir David (Simmons) and that the Seales and the Simmons are very close friends – indeed, it has been observed that each and every weekend, Simmons stays with his daughter and enjoys the unrelenting hospitality of Seale. Obviously people who are close to Simmons think that this confers on them a law degree and right of audience.

There are a number of matters that BU finds deeply disturbing here.

1. That the CJ and the Registrar (now a sitting judge) were so completely derelict and dismissive of their professional obligations that they actually held a meeting with Mr Abrahams as president of the BA and at that meeting advised him and the BA legally. That is gross misconduct on the part of both.
  2. That the Chief Justice and the Registrar both advised the BA NOT to seek to have the issue clarified by the courts in a matter of legislation that, by breaching the Constitution, is a nullity ab initio and void and of no effect. In other words, the Registrar and the CJ advised the Bar to allow a fatally flawed piece of legislation to subsist, instead of moving to have it corrected. That too is gross misconduct on the parts of the Registrar and the Chief Justice.
  3. That Sir David Seale, a person with no right of audience before the courts, has sought to influence public opinion in a matter touching on the right of audience before the courts of certified attorneys-at-law and, in effect, accusing them of misrepresentation and fraud.
  4. That Wilfred Abrahams, knowing full well the basis of the argument, has taken the stance on behalf of his chambers as set out in his letter which, incidentally, is copied to the present Registrar and the Chief Justice.

It appears that, far from going into retirement at the undeserved expense of the Bajan taxpayers, Sir David Simmons is still trying to influence the administration of justice which, during his tenure first as AG and then as CJ, he has the distinction of rendering into that of a banana republic.

Sir David Simmons is trying to insist that his appointees on the Bench be respected, even though by his own actions and omissions (and their own) he and they have eradicated their right to any respect whatever.

Sir David Simmons, along with his cohorts, is trying to establish the legacy he wants, rather than the legacy he will receive from history – he is trying to re-write history to suit himself.

As for Wilfred Abrahams, BU ventures to suggest to him that sour grapes will not get him the QC he so earnestly desires. AND that neither will his attempts to go through and curry favour with what is now the back door.

Recommended Reading – Other Tales From the Courts

188 responses to “Tales From The Courts XII – Barbados Bar Membership Revisited – Registrar and Sir David Simmons, Wilfred Abrahams Exposed”

1. Well it was sounding like a lawyer who wrote the letter…………i don’t see Seale having that kind of mental acuity.

2. DR. THE HONOURABLE

Now you is de twit … Man Jeff this is BU, wah you apologizing for .. Stupse, I hope David ban yah ass …!

3. @Lemuel. Calm down. We Bajans are a direct and forthright people. If a body calls you a twit, call them it back. How many times have you referrred to people, both male and females, as “stupid bitches”? Relax. Chill, as my grandchildren say. Get back on the issue – IF Casewell did indeed write the letter that purports to have been from Sir David Seale, what is your opinion on that? Bearing in mind that Casewell has said it was not him and my sources say that Sir David says it is not him? What do you see as being the ramifications of this?

And if it was not Sir David Seale, what are your views on the action that ought to be taken against the Nation?

Another question for you. Do you think that those dissenting counsel who refuse to pay BA’s fees, have an action against Wildred Abrahams for defamation?

And another. I know that he is your legal adviser, but do you think that “Lassie” is a good name for Casewell? Just think when you go into court, Caswell can represent you, court permitting, as a “McKenzie Friend” before the lady magistrate who did not like his chest hair – so do you think that, instead of calling him “Mr Franklyn”, she ought to call him “Lassie”?

So many issues in this one blog that you can sink your teeth into, instead of fretting about a body calling you a twit. Which admittedly you sometimes are. And I am sometimes as well, as my friend Baffy has pointed out on COUNTLESS occasions. The old English saying is, “Don’t get your knickers in a twist.” I commend it to you.

4. @BAFBFP | April 18, 2013 at 9:43 AM | That is my laugh of the day. Thanks. However, don’t get caught like Guy Fawkes did.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks David. This is the article that I sent simultaneously to BU and the Nation. You have already posted it.

6. @Caswell

What we are interested to know is why did the Nation tag Sir David with this article.

7. That would mean the Nation Newspaper screwed up……..who are they hiring there?? obviously idiots who would want to give Seale credit for other people’s columns.

8. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Barbados Underground Talkshop

@ David BU 10:31 am

Maybe it was a simple, uncomplicated, unfortunate error.

Must we always tilt at windmills?

9. There are no simple uncomplicated errors in Bim when it comes to certain things…………………..you find premeditation and deliberate acts in an effort to complicate most things.

10. And besides, a proof-readers job is also to doubly verify the source(s) of each column, whether it is guest or otherwise…………..how i know this……………one of my relatives was a lead proofreader at one of the leading universities in the world campus newspaper…..there is no excuse here.

11. @Well Well. Correct.

12. It would seem that this matter of lawyers paying their Bar dues has been regenerated after about 40 years after it had been generally accepted that the provision cannot be enforced.
    2. All of the persons raising the issue, Casewell, the Nation, coucou n flying fish and now Sir David Seale(the new non de plume for Casewll) seem to be focusing their attention on a person who has been recently granted silk.
    3. They all seem to have an agenda when one considers that the target was recently the subject of much political attention, it would seem because of his recent support for the PM and the DLP after long association with the BLP.
    4. It is well known that the same target was a very close associate of David
    Simmons just like Casewell and Wilfred.
    It is clear that in their zeal to go after this particular person, both Casewell and the Nation are tripping up.

13. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar

Windmills are large, but they are not giants.

14. BU remains suspicious about this ‘slip up’ by the Nation newspaper.

15. There is no such thing as co-incidence.

16. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar

Have fun.

17. @G-Gurlz | April 18, 2013 at 10:56 AM | I could not possibly agree more.

@David. I look forwward to Casewell’s explanation as to how it was possible for the Nation to tag Sir David Seale. You know, I often speak about Sir David Seale and mis-call him Sir David Simmons – and vice versa. Might it be that in an effort to lend credibility to his piece posted to both BU and the Nation, the name of Sir David Simmons came up in connection with authorship and was misunderstood? Something like, “Discussed this with Sir David Simmons when I was with him and Sir David Seale on the weekend and he said that it was exactly what he might have written it himself.”

And what would have been the ramifications for the Nation if Casewell did indeed ascribe authorship to Sir David Seale in error for Sir David Simmons? Vicarious liability of the Nation, amongst a whole slew of other things maybe? And, on the same premise, what would have happened if anyone tried to drop Casewell in it? An e-mail trail from Casewell leading back to Heaven knows who perhaps.

While completely accepting the exuses in the Nation apology, it has been issued with (for them) uncharateristic haste and in such a manner as to ensure that (a) Sir David Seale is apologised to; and (b) Casewell to is apologised to. Maybe I am just a little suspicious, but it seems to me to be just a tad too neat.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I think that placing Sir David Seale’s name on my article was a mistake. I really feel that he should be proud to be associated with my work even in error.

19. @Lassie. Are you serious?

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

Hereinafter, whenever I see your handle, I will think of you as Don Quixote

21. Casewell, you are such a fraud. It takes a particular brand of dishonesty to do such.

22. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

Gentlemen, as difficult as this may be for you to do, please, try to focus on the discussion at hand.

23. Hee, Hee!!!

24. @Casewell. Hence the word “quixotic”. I can live with that….easily.

But have you any idea how many legal actions have been commenced today (at least the protocols have)? Massive!!! So, I don’t know if “quixotic” will be found to be an applicable word in the near future. But I will endeavour to report events to David as and when they occur and maybe the strong wind of change that BU started and persued, will happen. Another of SWMBO’s favourite songs is from Les Miserables and, ever since the movie, she has been warbling it CONSTANTLY, so the lyric is engraved on my brain.

“Do you hear the people sing
    Singing a song of angry men?
    It is the music of a people
    Who will NOT BE SLAVES AGAIN!!

25. Caswell boy , you in trouble . Trying now to hide yuh fraudulent scheme should give yuh some employment which you sorely lack . yuh mean to say you jump into dis blog attacking left right and centre without letting we know that you write dat article and not David Seale and it tek Jeff to point out the bassa bassa and now you so shameless that you claiming you have to check records for a article dat published only yesterday ? like the Gurlz say you are a special bran uh fraud .

26. Amused
    You continue to call me a twit and my knickers aren’t twisted. But at least your well tuned prose is easier to read than most. Caswell can fight his own battles; like you i saw the letter or article in the Nation. Yes, he is my legal adviser, but remember an old smooth legal head like yours will tapped in times of dire need. Those who believe that name calling can rattle me are in for an enormous shock.

27. In case some have forgotten there is a big issue being discussed here, an issue which strikes to the heart of the quality of society we wish to build.

28. Kind of simple

It is an individual thing.

If I were a judge I would simply say that once you appear before me I expect you are in compliance with the law. I am not running around checking on you.

If I get to find out you misrepresented your status to me, I will cite you for contempt of court and lock you up.

I will reverse any order I made for the benefit of your client based on your miserepresentation before me.

.. and if I find that your opponent knew you were not in compliance I will cite him/her too for being a part of the conspiracy to lie to me…… and reverse any order I gave to the benefit of his/her client … and lock him/her up.

In more simple terms …. one or both of you lied to me and you will feel the full weight of my wrath!!

Now, I could respect a judge like that!!

The alternative is the judge is also party to debasing the system he is sworn to uphold ….. and then the GG should act and do so decisively.

Before Independence the speed limit was 30 mph. Since independence not only has it changed but the units of measure are no longer English.

If that can happen, what are the few lawyers bellyaching for?

If they are so attached to the constitution why not get the speed limit changed back the same time too!!

29. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar

For the record.

Caswell’s article, the one currently in dispute, was published on BU on 9th April, 2013 and was titled “Defaulting Lawyers”.

There were 40 comments from the usual contributors including:
    • BAFBFP
    • DR. THE HONOURABLE
    • Well Well
    • Amused
    • Colonel Buggy
    • JUST ASKING
    • Islandgal246
    • David BU
    • Lemuel
    • Simple Simon
    Legal, Legal Too, Disturbed Attorney and eyez also weighed in.

Thereafter, on 10th April 2013, David BU published a blog titled “Non Membership in the Barbados Bar Association Does Not Preclude a Lawyer’s Right to Practice Law”. That blog attracted 104 posts.

Seems persons are so busy blogging that the don’t remember what they are blogging about.

Chill out, nuh?

30. BU gives Caswell the benefit of the doubt ie. He missed the hyperlink to his article last night when he commented. We are not willing to give the same doubt to the people at the Nation newspaper. We are not unsympathetic to those in the BU family who feel the same.

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Wuhloss

When Jeff broke the news about the apology I had not read yesterday’s or today’s papers. I never denied writing the article. I just hadn’t seen it in the Nation under any name. You would notice that the identical article had previously appeared on BU.

32. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar

@ Caswell

There are quite a few “Don Quixote” types around BU.

33. Caswell………….no need to explain, I too read the Nation article, and though the words seemed somehow familiar, i did not realize it was the same one you wrote……………..let the Nation deal with their problems.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks for clarification. I am not worried about the abuse. You see, our friend Amused is going a bit senile so don’t let that disturb you.

35. Come on, Lassie, is that the best you can do? Rhetorical. Yes.

@David. I agree with you. As I said, absent any PROOF to the contrary, I have to accept Casewell’s version of events and the Nation’s apology without reservations. BUT, like you, I cannot extend that benefit of the doubt to the Nation.

@John. I suggest that you read very slowly and carefully the comment made by Solicitor and then revisit your last comment. If you don’t understand the comment, BU has a large number of in-house legal eagles who will be happy to assist you. Say but the word.

@Lemuel. I recall that I also called myself a twit. And you know the old saying? It takes one to know one? Take comfort in that.

36. Amused | April 12, 2013 at 9:00 AM |

@David. Alair Shepherd was the QC and Sonja Richards was the judge. MEANWHILE, in another court…….on the same day…….

I am told that Barbados’ favourite judge, Elnet, refused to allow audience to another QC and asked him to leave her court. He advised her (rightly) and he had not interferred with nor obstructed the proceedings, he is a member of the Inner Bar and has a right of audience and therefore he was not leaving. So Elnet flounced out. Then, Elnet, clearly having been told, yet again, that she is wrong, returned. However, during this time, the QC left, so she sent the Marshall to ask him back to court. But he refused to return until she had apologised (which she should certainly do, if only to try to salvage what little credibility she still has). To date, she had not apologised and the QC has not returned…..maybe Elnet figures she hasn’t got any credibility left anyway and is just marking time until the Barbados taxpayer can pay her pension.

Looks like the gelding has started!!

Guess the aggrieved individual could complain that the Judge is practicing as a Vet without a certificate …. and besides she is not using any anaesthetic!!

37. Is it true that Caswell Franklyn was arrested today for impersonating Sir David Seale ?

38. Is it true…………..I know this is all in jest, but really, who would want to impersonate an old creep like Seale.

39. Amused
    I would not be put off by any designated that is attributed to me from you. However, you know that I reserve the right to respond to any bare pooch fowl cock who spends time picking twigs around this here farm. Brother Amused, when one lives in a glass house one should not throw stones. As I said earlier I reserve your advice and great knowledge for times of dire legal need. I see too that Caswell is getting soft on you.

40. I wish the legal and labour experts on this board to consider whether a solution to this issue might be to employ a Rand formula type process. It applies to all employees – union and non-union – and was supported by the Supreme Court of Canada as not undermining freedom of association (the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms is also not violated).

The Rand formula (or automatic check-off) is part of Canadian labour law in a “workplace situation where the payment of trade union dues is mandatory regardless of the worker’s union status. This formula is designed to ensure that no employee will opt out of the union simply to avoid dues yet reap the benefits of the union’s accomplishments (such as ensuring higher wages, better job security or other benefits). Supreme Court of Canada Justice Ivan Rand, the eponym of this law, introduced this formula in 1946 as an arbitration decision ending the Ford Strike of 1945 in Windsor, Ontario. The Canada Labour Code and the labour relations laws of a majority of provinces contain provisions requiring the Rand formula when certain conditions are met. In those provinces where the labour relations laws do not make the Rand formula mandatory, the automatic check-off of union dues may become part of the collective bargaining agreement if both parties (i.e., the employer and the trade union) agree. If there are religious objections to paying dues the dues may be donated to a mutually agreed upon charity per Canada Labour Code Section 70. (1)”

Argument may be raised about whether BA is a trade union. But does it represent members of the legal profession? Do they benefit from its existence? In any case, paying fees/dues would not make it compulsory to be a member of the BA.

41. Wait, I worried now … Wah happen to ac ..?

42. Just want to know Avatar
    Just want to know

The person who wrote this piece is a person with sour grapes in his mouth, and it has indeed edged his teeth.

43. Just want to know
    If you are referring to my post at 4:46 PM, I should let you know that I have no stake in the matter. I am an ardent follower and supporter of BU but seldom comment. What sour grapes what? My post was intended to bring another view to the table. If that bothers you – tough.

44. Some people don’t even like to entertain new ideas……………sometimes it’s best to just watch them try to get out of quicksand and smile.

45. @Lemuel
    You continue to call me a twit and my knickers aren’t twisted.
    Good attitude, don’t sweat the small stuff as a different vowel would have put you in
    Rihanna co(u)ntry as in the description that she has expressed that Bajans are fond of calling each other

46. Sarge
    Sometimes we try so hard to forget where we come from that we do not know who we are or what we are becoming. The Caribbean is suffering from this a lot. When Walter Rodney was trying to get over the message about shaping our own destiny and to a lesser extent the Black power Movement of the 60’s, we brainiacs decided that massa’ trough was too good to let go. We are now seeing the seeds of that choice. Economies fully dependent on the crumbs from the white man’s table. We call it tourism in the Caribbean. Industries which assembly as opposed to create and produce commodities. Intellectual hypocrites who think that making it is drinking drinks in the right circles irregardless of the social dislocation that is taking place all around them. we are worse than those who bury their heads in the sand. At least they thought enough to bury their heads, we on the other hand CAN NOT think at all.

47. ANOTHER JUST

Dear , Just Want to Know

Just want you to know that the name JUST is mine
    It is a Sir name , last name , family name
    It is written like how the chinese write and , they read and write from right to left as opposed to Westerners left to right

So JUST is the family name
    and you ‘Just want to know’ could be an imposter because you are not known to me and is certainly not from the JUST family.

Is much as you abmire me to want to take my name , let me warn you that I dont take too kindly to imposters

Who are you ?
    I AM
    JUST ASKING

48. Amused
    It is good to see that Abrams came out to clearly say what the academic hypocrite jeff Cumberbacth could never say about the illegal lawyers among us law abiding citizens.

49. Abrahams used to be BAR president at some time so I guess he knows of what he is speaking……………..
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/in-breach-of-law/

If that is the case, plenty attorneys in Bim have been practicing illegally for decades, including the qc who think themselves a gift to the clients and above it all…………..I noticed the AG is pretending he does not know all of this……………….they need to build special prisons for this lot and make sure there are no windows.

50. Excellent to see the Nation has joined the fray, excellent indeed. Now some ACTION!

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply