Update: The Nation newspaper has issued a public apology to Sir David Seale and Caswell Franklyn in today’s  edition. It turns out that it was our own Caswell who penned the Guest Column and NOT Sir David

In a recent blog BU investigated the issue of attorneys who opt not to be members of the Barbados Bar Association (“BA”) on the basis that the Legal Profession Act contravenes the Constitution of Barbados and is, as a result, a nullity ab initio.

The almost unanimous opinions expressed by BU’s legal eagles was that the Legal Profession Act would be found in law to be a nullity ab initio.

BU has received a letter from attorney-at-law Wilfred A. Abrahams to the President of the Barbados Bar Association dated April 12, 2003 in which he gives notice that the attorneys of the chambers of which he is head, Aegis Chambers, intend to object to appearing in court with any attorney who has not submitted themselves to the Legal Profession Act and, inter alia, accusing these dissenting attorneys of committing an illegal act by practicing law – See Letter sent by Abrahams to the Bar – part 1 and Part 2

Mr Abrahams is being disingenuous to a degree that is alarming in a practicing attorney-at-law. At the Annual General Meeting of the Barbados Bar Association held on Saturday November 01, 2008 at Amaryllis Beach Resort – a meeting chaired by none other than Mr Wilfred Abrahams himself, in his capacity as president of the BA, BU notes the section of the Minutes of the meeting as follows:

(iv) The Resolution

A query was made by Ms Paula Lett as to whether there was a meeting with the Registrar [Maureen Crane-Scott now a High Court judge]  to discuss the issue of Attorneys-at-Law practicing privately in Barbados who had not paid their annual fees and the outcome. The Chairman [Abrahams] in response confirmed that a meeting was held with the Registrar and the Chief Justice [Sir David Simmons] and after a number of meetings and a number of letters, it was decided that it was not worth the effort to pursue this matter and that litigation to do so would be too expensive. This matter will no longer be pursued. [BU’s insertions] – See Extract of Minutes parts 1 & II

To add to the mix, is a column by Sir David Seale – who is not a lawyer and has no right of audience before the courts and no professional competence as a lawyer – which was published in today’s Nation (17/04/2013). Sir David offers what is in effect a legal opinion, even going so far as to quote the Legal Profession Act, and opines that the dissenting counsel are breaking the law – See Sir David Seale’s Guest Column Nation Newspaper.

Some may find a disquieting similarity between the opinion proffered by Sir David Seale and some of those published elsewhere. It is well known that Sir David Seale’s closest neighbour is none other than the daughter of the other Sir David (Simmons) and that the Seales and the Simmons are very close friends – indeed, it has been observed that each and every weekend, Simmons stays with his daughter and enjoys the unrelenting hospitality of Seale. Obviously people who are close to Simmons think that this confers on them a law degree and right of audience.

There are a number of matters that BU finds deeply disturbing here.

1. That the CJ and the Registrar (now a sitting judge) were so completely derelict and dismissive of their professional obligations that they actually held a meeting with Mr Abrahams as president of the BA and at that meeting advised him and the BA legally. That is gross misconduct on the part of both.
  2. That the Chief Justice and the Registrar both advised the BA NOT to seek to have the issue clarified by the courts in a matter of legislation that, by breaching the Constitution, is a nullity ab initio and void and of no effect. In other words, the Registrar and the CJ advised the Bar to allow a fatally flawed piece of legislation to subsist, instead of moving to have it corrected. That too is gross misconduct on the parts of the Registrar and the Chief Justice.
  3. That Sir David Seale, a person with no right of audience before the courts, has sought to influence public opinion in a matter touching on the right of audience before the courts of certified attorneys-at-law and, in effect, accusing them of misrepresentation and fraud.
  4. That Wilfred Abrahams, knowing full well the basis of the argument, has taken the stance on behalf of his chambers as set out in his letter which, incidentally, is copied to the present Registrar and the Chief Justice.

It appears that, far from going into retirement at the undeserved expense of the Bajan taxpayers, Sir David Simmons is still trying to influence the administration of justice which, during his tenure first as AG and then as CJ, he has the distinction of rendering into that of a banana republic.

Sir David Simmons is trying to insist that his appointees on the Bench be respected, even though by his own actions and omissions (and their own) he and they have eradicated their right to any respect whatever.

Sir David Simmons, along with his cohorts, is trying to establish the legacy he wants, rather than the legacy he will receive from history – he is trying to re-write history to suit himself.

As for Wilfred Abrahams, BU ventures to suggest to him that sour grapes will not get him the QC he so earnestly desires. AND that neither will his attempts to go through and curry favour with what is now the back door.

Recommended Reading – Other Tales From the Courts

188 responses to “Tales From The Courts XII – Barbados Bar Membership Revisited – Registrar and Sir David Simmons, Wilfred Abrahams Exposed”

1. George Paynehas sued Edmund Hinkson . The action was filed and served on Hinkson yesterday .

2. @Newsflash

Send us the filing.

3. Will try !!!

4. @ Hants
    “…..could the client sue the Lawyer for false representation.”
    Don’t ask foolish questions Hants….
    Of course a client can sue the lawyer for false representation…..he can also sue the lawyer for having false teeth, for misrepresenting himself as intelligent, for wearing the wrong suit to the trial….

man Hants……., ANYONE can Sue ANYONE for practically ANYTHING.

….now winning the suit is another matter,
    BUT that is the exact point here….
    Someone in Barbados should have taken some action to address this YEARS ago..
    ..either
    1 – The Government through the AG’s office
    2 – The courts through the CJ’s office
    3 – The BAR Association in soliciting compliance from all lawyers
    4- The Lawyers in proving their point about its invalidity
    5 – various clients who blissfully used illegal lawyers (if they lost)
    6- The press on behalf of the public’s right to know
    7- the general public – since it is our business

NOT ONE ASKED!!

What does that tell you Hants?
    …..all a bunch of Brass Bowls
    Gutless, mindless, hopeless sheep.

…so who you going sue? …all of the above? ..including yourself?
    Stupsssss

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You mentioned all those persons and bodies that should have done something over the years, yet still you refuse to acknowledge that where all of them have failed, I brought the matter to the public’s attention, by posting on BU and in the Nation as Sir David Seale LOL.

6. Just stating the obvious.... Avatar
    Just stating the obvious….

Sir David Seale has a right to an opinion and a right to say it publicly. If the law is on the books and it is not being followed is it not being broken?

The proper determiniation as to if the law is unjust is to be made by the courts. In the meantime lawyers who do not pay their dues are in breach of the act.

The situation needs to be clarified. Is it unconstitutional? If they feel so then they should sue and put the matter before the competent authority, get a decision and then the matter will be clear. This is the correct process.

Otherwise they are simply ignoring a law they disagree with.

However if they are not members of the Bar Association, are they bound by it’s code of conduct? By the sanction of the disciplinary committee? Do their clients have any assurance of any particular level of service or professionalism?

You can choose not to join the Bar Association but then you cannot cloak yourself in the respectability derived from it.

7. @Bushie. I am not staying out of it, but thanks for your well-intentioned advice. You see, since, according to Solicitor, Jeff and self the Act is a nullity ab initio, it follows that the BA, which does NOT issue practicing certificates NOR determine qualifications or right to practice, has no authority to cancel those certificates. So, no. I will not stay out of this. Because, unless an attorney’s practice certificate is cancelled by the Government, under the laws of this land that attorney has the right to practice.

This factor opens a whole can of worms in respect of attorneys who have been disbarred by the BA on its own authority. The ramification of that are clear – at least to me they are.

@David. I was aware that proceedings were to be filed and served in Payne v Hinckson either late this week or early next week. I am not fully conversant on what is complained of and therefore would prefer not to comment further until I have axed a few questions.

8. Payne v Hinckson

……… do we know if the Registrar has published a list of lawyers licensed to practise in the OG …..

…. because if she hasn’t it may be whatever papers David gets to display may be a complete joke!!

9. Does anyone have access to “THE OFFICIAL GAZETTE” and can they tell us if Barbados actually has any licensed lawyers practising this year?

10. And I thought Abrahams was different from the rest. Oh well.

11. @ Amused
    A license to practice is not yours to “be cancelled (only) by the ‘government’…. ” ….SURELY it is granted annually FOR ONE YEAR- upon payment of the registration fee (and upon making your peace with the Bar) LOL…perhaps that can be achieved with two rum and cokes 🙂

This is a mold hill amused….don’t try to make it into a mountain…

@ Caswell
    You ain’t a bad fellow you know…..despite all your efforts to appear otherwise…
    You HAVE done some REAL shiite in your time….. But this impersonation of Sir David Seale is really pushing it….! 🙂

Now if you had raised that issue as CHAIRMAN OF THE NATIONAL SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE everything would be different….

….for one thing, Bushie would look like he know what he doing… (…and that kind of thing is IRRESISTIBLE to Islandgal) ….but NO!…you raise it as David Seale….

Until you start your REAL calling, you are nobody. nothing but a pesky BU blogger ….LOL …just like Bushie…

12. Unfreekinbelievable.

BU has becoming the only credible legal information resource in Barbados.

We have Jeff and Amused who always speak the truth as they know it.

We have Caswell Franklyn who takes pride in being correct and obviously has a stash of Law books that he actually reads.

They we have Bushie who knows everything.

Those of us intelligent enough to understand these men can make informed decisions based on their comments.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

Re: your comment at 11:24 a.m.

The Bar Association does not debar any lawyers on its own authority: it has no such authority. The Court of Appeal is the competent authority to disbar lawyers. I think that you use to know this but that’s how dementia works.

Get your facts straight: I did not impersonate David Seale, from where I sit, it looks like the other way to me. LOL!

14. Caswell, to impersonate is to assume the character or apparence of someone else…
    According to you @10.51…… “I brought the matter to the public’s attention, by posting on BU and in the Nation as Sir David Seale LOL”

Wuh Bushie only going by your assessment…. 🙂
    You will need more than the suit to get away with posing as him though…..you will need dinero… LOL Ha Ha

15. Bushie
    You mek me real shame; all amused has to do is to quote some latin and you soft soft in his hands of law. But Bush latin is a dead language may be it speaks a lot about Amused and his smooth prose here.

By the way Bush ALL of us in Bim are nobodies. A recent piece of research that upset the poor british found that 95% of the british came from the servant class. This is why most try to hid their pedigree behind the queen’s accent. Most of us in Bim do our hiding in the parks and terraces.

16. @Casewell. I was very sure you would not see a trap if I set one. I was right. Thanking for proving my contentions.

17. @Lemuel. The Roman Empire covered the major part of the known world, including England, whence springs English, the language. The British Empire covered even more of the world than the Romans. In centuries to come as the language of each former colony of Britain evolves, it is likely that some people like you will talk about English being a dead language when those who use the odd English word or phrase use them. Words like “TWIT”.

18. What is striking to me, is that a matter of formality, albeit required for clarification to ensure proper legitimacy of actions by attorneys, has taken up so much and become the ‘raison d’etre’, while the biggest issue of timing and efficiency of court cases, is still not being addressed by authorities.

That says a lot as to the dysfunctional situation and current state of mind.

Implementing change to ensure effective action, while requiring to be within the Constitutional rules of the land and rights of the individuals in cases, can surely be done within one year, at least the framework of the change.

That the issue is languishing is not heartening. However, that is not surprising, as this is so in so many facets of government now.

Water – so many are regularly out of water, across the island.

Schools -still issues exist, and the issue of Alexandra School, despite Mr.Broomes being moved, as those who claimed that he was the issue insisted, we are now being told that it is not over. Idiocy.

Taxation and VAT – These functions, as the Auditor General has stated, are NOT being carried out effectively and are actually in a full mess. In the midst of a recession and Government’s primary collection agencies are in a mess??

Those are just a few of the things that indicate that the intention and political will are NOT there to solve issues in reality, but merely being sugar coated or band-aided.

19. Amused
    You better stick to the Law thing. Linguistics is not your thing. We have a man here called Professor Peter Roberts who would let you that Latin was not an original language. Most research indicate that Sanskrit or Hebrew would qualify. Poor you are so europeanized that you even fell for that whole world conquor by the Romans. The Romans stole like the Greeks all of the knowledge out of Egypt and the Babylonian Empire.

But if you want to continue in your dead speak go right ahead. Me and Bushie are not following.

Amused if you really knew what the term “twit” meant you would not use it so loosely. I must confess now that you and Jeff Cumberbatch are clearly not men of letters, as I thought you both were. But I do love your smooth prose. It reminds of a palin cock; making a racket on the palin but when the hens should be “served” hiding around the corner. Maybe serving is not your orientation.

Little more on the language thing before i go. even our “bajan” on the surface, the words you repeat are of an english origin, but the substructure of the sentence formation is African. Amused leave this language thing alone. you maybe clearly be the twit here; that is lingusitically speaking. LOL

20. Amused
    I got a good one this morning in the Nation from Sir Roy, and I like Sir Roy shall not stand by idly in Amens Alley while you spout your dead latin phrases about this blog. LOL

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well | April 20, 2013 at 6:44 AM

that is how it works.

Cant see the moat in your own eye but you can see the beam in someone’s else’s eye.

22. #€|@$!!?! @ Lemuel
    “But if you want to continue in your dead speak go right ahead. Me and Bushie are not following.”
    You and Bushie?
    YOU AND BUSHIE?!?!!
    …since when you speaking for Bushie bozie?

…right now when Bushie seeking legal representation um is still Amused (if Bushie got cash)
    ….and Caswell if things tight… 🙂

23. Bushie
    I thought as a man of critical thinking you would clearly see where I was coming from. How could I speak for thee.

24. Bushie
    You must admit that all of us need living words of life not dead words. Given how things working out with the lawyers and this tiefing thing, I am willing to give Amused my money ONLY with a collins sharpened on both sides at arm’s reach. I know I could trust Caswell.

25. Read Jeff’s piece on this matter:

Musings: Lowering the Bar [I]

4/21/2013

By Jeff Cumberbatch

“…a law is just and therefore binding in conscience if its restrictions are… necessary to protect the rights of others and…proper insofar as they do not violate the preexisting rights of the persons on whom they are imposed…” R. Barnett – Restoring the Lost Constitution: The Presumption of Liberty

Given the nature of the content of this essay, I might equally have captioned it, “Groucho Marx and the Bar”. And this has nothing whatsoever to do with the fact that members of the Bar – the legal Bar – have been, from time immemorial, the butt (ha!) of a slew of mostly deprecatory jokes that laymen (and some lawyers too) delight in telling. Like the question asked about why lawyers are buried twenty-five feet below ground -Because deep down they are nice guys! Or the one about Mr. Strange KC who desired nothing on his headstone but “Here lies an honest lawyer”. “But”, protested his wife, “no one would be able to tell that it was you.”

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=30187

26. Bushie
    What became of Chris Halsall. His thermodynamics laws are being broken by new research.

27. We need an Albert Haddock in Barbados.

Remember misleading cases on TV? …. Mr. Justice Swallow

Work of A.P. Herbert

This suggests a commoner can appear in court and needs no lawyer!!

I have heard of two civil cases where that happened.

One was a local civil case which was lost on a technicality but won in the long run in the court of common sense and involved the PM and AG.

Scotland District Association vs O$A and David Simmons re Greenland!!

In the criminal court I often read of criminals who act for themselves … and sometimes win outright against QC’s!!

28. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

LOOK | April 20, 2013 at 4:46 AM |
    Sad that Barbados has let loose their lawyers, politicians too to produce widespread damage there (Barbados):.. George Payne, David Thompson, Sir Richard Cheltenham, Charles O. Williams, etc. Those corrupt lawyers, politicians to have infested itself in …government affairs, ..etc. and like a roach army continuously growing

u forgot to add Freundel Stuart, Michael Lashley, Donville Inniss

29. @Lemuel. You say that I am lacking in linguistics and that I don’t know what “twit” means. But you are wrong.

According to Cassells Dictionary of Slang published 1998, here is what it means:

“twit” n, [1920+] a fool, an idiot, [TWERP + TWAT (2)].

I then looked up “TWAT” aka “TWOT”, but delicacy and respect for Islandgal, Pat and, most importantly, SWMBO, and all the ladies of the BU family, prevents me from reporting my finding here. I note that TWAT and TWOT date from the 17th Century.

Therefore, out of respect for something that IS useful, I prefer to restrict myself to the interpretation of “a fool, an idiot”.

Believe it or not, I have just as many books as Casewell – probably many more. Also, believe it or not, I did learn how to both read and write – English, Latin, Greek, French (very well) and even a little German (not so well, but improving).

I hope this assists you.

30. Amused
    Again, you expose your lack of scholarship when you knowingly refer to a humble brumbly boy as a twit. I could see that Jeff Cumberbatch’s summation came from his inflated ego, and his false sense of intellectual superiority, but yours it is if you are steeling yourself to the sticking place.

By the way I would not know what Caswell has or has not read. But you still remain my legal defender when in dire need.

31. Interesting !! Avatar

@ David.
    Roy Morris’ article in today’s Barbados Today On the position of Mr Vernon Smith’s reaction to his name appearing on the list of lawyers refusing to pay Bar fees raises another very interesting element to this matter . It will be a matter of great interest to see how the Bar Association will respond to Vernon Smith; he is every bit the gladiator .

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When are you going to realise that you should not take legal advice from anyone who purports to be a lawyer but wants to give that advice under a nom de plume. One Amused contended that Vernon Smith objected to the payment of Bar dues because such a requirement was unconstitutional. Barbados Today carries Mr. Smith claiming that he has been paying his dues but the cheques have been continually returned because he did not include VAT.

On this score Mr. Smith is quite right, membership dues are not subject to VAT. Mr. Smith’s dispute is about VAT.

33. How come the other 800 plus lawyers in Barbados apparently pay VAT on theirs?

Do we have 800 plus idiots and one genius in Barbados?

34. Interesting !! Avatar

@ John
    Too many persons are followers and not thinkers . It takes people like Mr Smith to bring about change by correcting long standing errors .

35. Sorry………posted it to the wrong thread. it’s been a long day…

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/04/22/rejected/

36. Vernon Smith is incorrect in saying that the Barbados VAT system is modeled after the English one.

The Barbados legislation was based on the Canadian, Jamaican, New Zealand and Trinidadian Acts.

37. […] (as president of the BA) seeks legal opinions from the Chief Justice and Registrar as reported in a BU blog on April 07, 2013 would appear to be deficient in actually knowing what these reforms should be and how these reforms […]

38. […] years back, as BU reported along with documentary back-up and minutes, Mr Wilfred Abrahams, then chair of the BA, held a meeting with the then CJ (Sir David Simmons) and […]