Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
As I sat down to write this week’s BU contribution on a pressing financial economic matter, I came across the break out of serious antibiotic-resistant bacteria problems at our only hospital. Those of us familiar with the various infections that plague British hospitals would not be surprised that Klebsiella bacteria has now arrived at the QEH. I must admit, it did not come as a shock to me, since a friend and I have only recently been discussing the rat-infested, rubbish-strewn, health and safety hazard that is the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. But it was the compulsive, arrogant, obstinate greed of the doctors behind their objections to alternative medicine that tipped me over in to widening the debate on the future of the health service and long-term care. It is not a concern about patient care, nor about the general welfare of ordinary Barbadians, but rather a determine attempt to co-opt the attorney general in their little game of protecting their money-making interests. To put it in simple terms, we are in a deep cesspit of our own making, typified by the abandoning of the elderly, so-called granny dumping, for which the entire nation should be ashamed, yet all these expensively educated people could think about is their own bank accounts.

Analysis:
There are issues of more pressing concern that doctors should be involved in, such as the mortality rate at the hospital, the high costs of X-rays and MRI examinations, of overall poor patient care by doctors, who attend surgeries as and when they like. Few Barbadian doctors, aware that their profession is about public health and not just money-making, have raised their heads from the trough that is taxpayers’ money to battle for improvements in the state of public health. But, typically, they are more concerned about the continuing rise of unregulated medical practice – so-called complementary medicine – not in the interest of the public, but because this medical practice main block one of their most lucrative income streams.

Doctors are the most expensively trained people in Barbados, whether they are educated at the University of the West Indies or go ‘overseas’ to receive their training. They also have an awful record of picking their fights: against ordinary people who had the good fortune to be trained in Cuba, one of the best medical set ups in the world, while prepared to turn a blind eye to the rise of so-called Chinese medicine, one of the biggest unregulated scams to hit the Western world. But, long-term health care will be the biggest burden on the national economy in the years to come and unless we – that means all of us, including doctors – do something now to control this massive spend, the already-creaking economy will not be able to stand the strain.

Public Health as Policy:
Public health policy is in need of emergency treatment, from the epidemic of obesity, HIV/Aids infectivity, and overall nutritional shortages, to the $800m cost of the proposed new hospital. However, by far one of the most brutal, uncivilised and savage symptoms of this paucity of policy and funding to be played out in public space is that of granny dumping – leaving elderly relatives stuck in hospitals and other public institutions until they are removed at public expense. Apart from the fact that this anti-social act should be made a criminal offence, anyone dumping an elderly (disabled or mentally ill) relative in any public institution should also be automatically disinherited.

We cannot be a society in which inhumane relatives can relieve themselves of any social responsibility for sick and elderly relatives then hope to inherit family assets. More than that, this reversal of sociological history is to retreat in to barbarism: historically there has always been a trade off between generations; parents have children to whom they are obliged to provide care and protection until they reach adulthood; then, as adults, they go off and raise their own families. As their children grow, the older generation, now also grand parents, continue to enjoy their early old age until such time that they cannot look after themselves. Part of our social compact is that their children then perform a dual role; looking after their parents while also keeping a watchful eye on their own children, who by now would be in their late teens or early adulthood. This is the generational trade off that is part of human culture and which is now mainly practised in Asia – the so-called Confucian principle – and to a certain extent in India, although here is it more something talked about then practised. It is only in Western culture that care of the elderly is palmed off to privatised institutions – so-called long-term care – in which their children and grandchildren believe that a weekly or monthly visit usually on Sundays for an hour or so, fulfils that generational obligation. What is compounding this post-Independence brutalism is that with advances in medical science and lifestyle changes have combined to change the structure of the family. Instead of the three-generation extended family (children, parents and grand parents) many young people are now living long enough to get to know their great grand parents, many of whom now live to their late eighties, nineties and over 100. This development will not only re-configure the shape of the family, but will re-write our social obligations to each generation, over and above any impact it will have on the economics of health care.

Preventative Medicine:
The first lesson in good health care, as we have all now learned, is that prevention is better than cure. Good diet, regular exercise, proper rest, cutting down on salt, sugar, unsaturated fats are the ingredients of sound health, and they are the very lesson that the chief medical officer, the ministry of health and individual doctors should be pumping out every day. To reinforce this, government should have a basket of fresh fruit and vegetables, virgin olive oil, fresh fish, well sourced chicken and minimum red meat, should be zero-rated for Value Added Taxation. Policymakers should accept that the short-term loss of taxation could provide incredible long-term dividends in terms of a healthy nation. To this end, it will be cheaper in the long-term for the state to establish a number of leisure centres, complete with gyms, than to focus our health spend on the hospital and medical emergencies.

Science V Tradition:
Part of the mis-education of a former colonised people is that the victor writes the rules. Part of this cultural dominance is the promotion of Western medicine over that of traditional communities, who, through trial and error (the traditional equivalent of the Kuhnian revolution) have worked out which plants are best for which disease. Western science over-ruled this for over a century, but now even this is in reverse as the Big Pharma companies trawl the world looking for fauna and flora, and even the DNA of some people, in which to develop new medicines. In fact, not so long ago the government and medical establishment in Barbados allowed an American biotech company to come to Barbados and take the DNA of one of our ,many centenarians to order to get their lab technicians to develop a medicine to prolong life.

We can be sure that, apart from what they have already received, neither the family nor the nation will benefit from that intellectual property right when it comes on stream. That, I suggest, is the price of ignorance and is something that senior doctors and politicians should have protested loud and hard about at the time. Instead they remained silent, a silence enforced through their collective, embarrassing ignorance. But Western-based medical science versus traditional medicines will continue to occupy health scientists, health economists and social policy experts.

Big Pharma, Big Money:
Doctors all over the Western world are in the hands of the global pharmaceutical companies. It is in their commercial interest to medicalise ordinary aches and pains, develop a medicine for them, then charge the world. It is how they make their billions and little states like Barbados must push back against this dishonesty, now allow our self-interested doctors to encourage us to spend more. If you want to really read about this US$800bn Leviathan, see Marcia Angell’s The Truth About the Drug Companies, Merrill Goozner’s The $800M Pill, Jerome Kassirer’s On the Take. They also provide good background information on why the entire pharmaceutical industry, so-called Big Pharma, is up in arms against Obamacare.

Analysis and Conclusion:
Barbadian doctors have a lot of questions to answer: we want to know doctors’ death rates, their failed operations, when they are late for appointments, their continuing professional development – in short, if they are professionally fit for purpose. This is information that should be made publicly available, especially to people undergoing surgery. Worldwide, doctors routinely botch operations on unfortunate patients which only come to light by word of mouth or if one is related to a victim. Either in Barbados we have the best doctors in the world or a number of patients are botched, even killed, without as much as an inquest. With no proper patients’ representation, no political enthusiasm for taking up constituents’ issues and the historic deference Barbadians have for so-called professionals, being a doctor in Barbados is almost a licence to murder. But doctors have a greater social responsibility beyond their clinical presence, such as for example when middle aged women have to undergo a hysterectomy or any other serious and life-threatening operation only to be discharged from the hospital within hours because insurance companies do not want to spend the money on their care or there is a shortage of beds. This is an ethical issue, and not one of finance, and doctors should intervene to warn insurance companies that they are putting their patients at risk. But do they? There are areas of medicine and health that we should be actively involved in, if not leading the world: sickle cell, prostate cancer, type-two diabetes, etc, which have a high ethnic and cultural correlation. But their greed has confirmed the urgency of the need for health care reforms, restricting the business and private practice of contracted health service doctors and imposing a strict demarcation line between the expertise of doctors and the care and welfare responsibilities of nurses.

175 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Is Greed Now Part of the Hippocratic Oath?”

1. @Hal Austin
    I’m disappointed in you for taking on those who would try to impeach your credibility or your submissions on a whole. Just like you, I’ve lived abroad and now I’m back home, I’ll have you know there is a bacteria that affects the minds of most bajans of African ancestry, this stuff at the hospital is pale in comparison.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

. The most advanced research on sickle cell is done in the US and Britain. WHAT IS THE MOST most advanced research on sickle cell

INITIAL SICKLE CELL RESEARCH WAS BEGUN AT TRMU BY MEN LIKE SARGEANT AND TAKEN OVERSEAS BY WEST INDIAN PHYSICIANS OR UK OR US RESEARCHERS WHO WORKED AT TMRU

the major sickle cell organisation in the UK is organised by a Bajan nurse. NOT SURPRISED

In the Caribbean, the Bahamas were ahead of the UWI.
    BAHAMAS =UWI

3. @ Well, Well

Thanks for again voicing something that is common knowledge, everywhere but Barbados. I and my colleagues write every day about investing in Big Pharma, and some of the questions you ask are do they have any patented drugs which the patent are about to expire; any new drugs coming out of research and development; what are the future illnesses and epidemic; just ordinary risk and scenario planning.
    In my bachelor days, i shared a hosue with a young doctors and had all the publications and sales people knocking on the door.
    Another friend of mine, a Kiwi, working at St Thomas’ hospital, which covers Brxston, took an interest in pregnant Rasta women and wanted to do some research on them.
    Her professor called her to one side and asked her if she had an interest in those people. She did; he was at home.
    Georgie, I fully understand how you may feel in an inward-looking community that thinks every idea from outside must be wrong and threatening.
    But good on you. At least you are prepared to discuss the issues in your own way.
    By the way, if you want to improve your knowledge, visit the Kings’ Fund website.

4. There are two doctors in Barbados who sell samples from their draws. You better believe it GP.

5. @GP

You wrote:

THE NEED TO UPDATE PROFESSIONAL SKILLS IS MONITORED BY THE PROFESSION. IN BARBADOS I SEE THAT THIS MATTER HAS BEEN ADDRESSED.

Please note this is a NEW requirement which is currently being administered by Mickey Waldrond and his team and based on his last report several doctors remain out of compliance with quite a view indicating they will retire by the grace period allow to avoid penalties.

6. @Georgie

About sickle cell research, you are a victim of the fog of ignorance that surrounds most things. If it is Barbadian or UWI it must be the first and best and most competent.
    Again I say no. Ironically, as i type this, there is an interview on mortality rates at Leeds Children Hospital.
    This is the mature debate that takes place in a society where the ordinary citizens are well informed.
    Log on to Channel Four news. It is there, Georgie.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I HAVE NOT PRACTICED IN BARBADOS FOR ALMOST 20 YEARS
    I LIVE IN FL

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

sICKLE CELL RESEARCH WAS A BIG THING AT UWI FROM VERY EARLY BECAUSE THAT DISEASE IS VERY COMMON IN JAMAICA.

TRMU WAS RUN BY SOME ENGLISH MEN WHO TAUGHT AT UWI.

I NEVER SAID UWI WAS THE FIRST AND BEST AND MOST COMPETENT- BUT IT HAS MADE ITS CONTRIBUTION. ACCORDING TO THE EXTERNAL EXAMINERS THAT COME FROM AROUND THE WORLD

9. @Georgie Porgie

You have outed yourself. I thought all along that you were a defensive doctor. The unarticulated part of your argument is how dare that non-doctor question my professionalism.
    But you are speaking on behalf of most doctors in Barbados. What we need are inquests for every one who dies in hospital, instead of the present practice that if someone is under medical control there would be no need for an inquest.
    Bring all this information out in to public, let us know who the good doctors are and who are the dodgy ones.
    When I was a little boy, my mother took me to Dr Arnott Cato’s surgery at the junction of Government Hill and Howell’s cross Road.
    Then, like most doctors, he worked at the hospital and ran a private surgery.
    I remember my mother telling a friend that Cato had unhealing hands(I am sure that was the phrase). It took me years of living in London to work out what they meant was that most, or a large number, of the patients he operated died.
    I am sure she was not the last incompetent doctors in Barbados. We have to discuss the cost of the health care bill and if we are getting quality for money.

10. @ Georgie

As I have already indicated, this is not a theoretical thing. Maybe the UWI has been doing research on sickle cell for years, but it is not the most advanced, nor was it the first, not even in the Caribbean. The Bahamian were.
    Stop digging when you are in a hole. Google the Sickle Cell Society. Key hospitals in black areas: Central Middlesex, Kings’ College, etc have huge teams working on sickle cell and doing brilliantly.
    Stop trying to big up your alma mater. Britain is also one of the leading nations for medical, sociologists, who in the main are not doctors, but have enormous knowledge on the health service.
    I have also had experience as a patient. A few years ago I took ill while in Barbados and a friend directed me to a St Lucian doctors in the Garrison.
    I remembered th surgery from my days at St Giles; then it was a dentist surgery, Dr Jim Smith, and school kids were taken to him.
    To cut a long story short. The doctors gave me pain iillers that he me in acute pain.
    When I returned to London, it was a Sunday or bank holiday, I went to St Mary’s in Paddington, and the first tyhing the registrar did was to dump the tablets I had and the X-rays, prescribed new pills, and told me the cause of my acute pain was th over-strength tablets the doctor had prescribed.
    I had the privilege of going to a London doctor within days; but what of those people who could not?
    We have brilliant doctors, I can think of Leacock, the retired surgeon, and Sir Richard Haynes, But what about ordinary people?

11. @ David
    Cuhdear, should you not let GP continue to live in his dream world about the competence and professionalism of our doctors…?

You see why he and the other big up doctors and medical folks bout here could not get along now…? Here is GP with all these holistic ideas about his profession and most of the others just want a Benz like Adrian’s….. 🙂

Talking about selling drug samples….how about the fellows that charge you based on the maximum that the insurance company would pay ….(for a 5 minute visit)?
    If GP want to do something he should bring his tail back home and deal with the lotta miscreants that sabotaging his vision of what the profession should be….
    …or at least come and offer some cheap bush medicine….

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

All BU know I am not one who defends the indefensible, and that I have reported on BU UNSAVORY PRACTICES.

In the last 10 years, while teaching in offshore medical schools, I have been threatened with law suits, and violence for exposing the poor standards of teaching.

re What we need are inquests for every one who dies in hospital, instead of the present practice that if someone is under medical control there would be no need for an inquest.

IT USED TO BE THAT IF YOU DIED IN HOSPITAL THAT THERE WOULD BE A POST MORTEM. AND IF YOU DIDNT DIE IN HOSPITAL BUT WERE BEING SEEN BUY A DR THAT ONCE THE DR SIGNED THE DEATH CERTIFICATE, THERE WOULD BE NO POST MORTEM.

TO HAVE A PM FOR ALL THAT DIE IN BIM WOULD REQUIRE A LARGE NUMBER OF PATHOLOGISTS. AND EVEN THEN CAUSE OF DEATH IS NOT ALWAYS EASY TO DETERMINE

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GOOD DAY BUSHIE
    BE GOOD
    I GONE

14. Have a good evening GP.

15. @ Georgie
    I am glad as a teaching don you have seen incompetence. Let us assume, for argument sake, that some of those incompetents got through. Imagine what they are doing to patients today? every death in Barbados should lead to an inquest, but those who have died in hospital under suspicious circumstances dhould definitely have a full inquest.
    Further, if colleagues of any suspect doctors withhold kinformation or refuse to cooperate with thr authorites they too should face criminal charges.
    In brief, what I am trying to say is that patients must come first, not the reputation of doctors.

16. While working for that same insurance company in New York, i got sick from the 10% air and 90% recirculated air breathed in and out by every employee, resulting in bronchial problems, I was sent to the company doctor who told me straight up the company orders that generic drugs be administered to their employees and she did not like how they were treating us. She was right, the generic drug she prescribed had horrible side effects……………Generic drugs = less expensive drugs = more problems for patients.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IT SEEMS THAT THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE IN BARBADOS HAS GONE DOWN HILL IN THE LAST 20 YEARS

WHEN I WAS A STUDENT IT WAS COMMON EVERY SATURDAY TO HAVE CLINICO PATHOLOGICAL CONFERENCES ON CASES IN WHICH FOLK DIED THAT WERE NOT EXPECTED TO.

PERHAPS QEH WAS AT ITS ZENITH IN THOSE SAYS WHEN I WAS TRAINING 30 PLUS YEARS AGO

18. @ GP
    …..Man don’t go yet…
    ….it was GREAT to hear the log GP waxing against Hal for daring to challenge your cherished profession…. LOL
    Like the old days….

As man GP, you want to know what is wrong with Barbados?
    …people like you and Hal like overseas
    …people like Sir Kiff too rich to really care, and intimidated by his white skin….
    …and people like Bushie already taken by a higher calling… 🙂

If we can get you back in Bim (and nobody don’t beat you with a 2X4 or a mahogany chair leg) …you could change things bout here

Instead you down there trying to stuff dumpsy white children with medical know how to pass exams…

Once Caswell accepts the chairmanship of the National Supervisory Committee we appointing you and Sir Kiff to the Cabinet.

19. It is noteworthy that two babies are reported to have died at the QEH. Given the possibility of this Klebsiellabacteria to prey on the defenseless it makes one wonder.

20. @Bushie

We have to give Hantsie a pick.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID
    HERE ARE A FEW FACTS ABOUT KLEBSIELLA

Bacteria belonging to the genus Klebsiella frequently cause human nosocomial infections. In particular, the medically most important Klebsiella species,

Klebsiella pneumoniae, accounts for a significant proportion of hospital-acquired urinary tract infections, pneumonia, septicemias, and soft tissue infections. The principal pathogenic reservoirs for transmission of Klebsiella are the gastrointestinal tract and the hands of hospital personnel.

Because of their ability to spread rapidly in the hospital environment, these bacteria tend to cause nosocomial outbreaks. Hospital outbreaks of multidrug-resistant Klebsiella spp., especially those in neonatal wards, are often caused by new types of strains, the so-called extended-spectrum-β-lactamase (ESBL) producers.

The incidence of ESBL-producing strains among clinical Klebsiella isolates has been steadily increasing over the past years.

The resulting limitations on the therapeutic options demand new measures for the management of Klebsiella hospital infections. While the different typing methods are useful epidemiological tools for infection control, recent findings about Klebsiella virulence factors have provided new insights into the pathogenic strategies of these bacteria. Klebsiella pathogenicity factors such as capsules or lipopolysaccharides are presently considered to be promising candidates for vaccination efforts that may serve as immunological infection control measures.

Klebsiella is well known to most clinicians as a cause of community-acquired bacterial pneumonia, occurring particularly in chronic alcoholics and showing characteristic radiographic abnormalities due to a severe pyogenic infection which has a high fatality rate if untreated.
    The vast majority of Klebsiella infections, however, are associated with hospitalization. As opportunistic pathogens, Klebsiella spp. primarily attack immunocompromised individuals who are hospitalized and suffer from severe underlying diseases such as diabetes mellitus or chronic pulmonary obstruction. Nosocomial Klebsiella infections are caused mainly by Klebsiella pneumoniae, the medically most important species of the genus. To a much lesser degree, K. oxytoca has been isolated from human clinical specimens. It is estimated that Klebsiella spp. cause 8% of all nosocomial bacterial infections in the United States and in Europe. No great geographical variations in frequency have been noted. In the United States, Klebsiella accounts for 3 to 7% of all nosocomial bacterial infections, placing them among the eight most important infectious pathogens in hospitals, and data collected from the United Kingdom and from Germany are remarkably similar to those reported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

22. Thanks for that indepth info, we always hear about the different strains of bacteria in hospitals, but never about their pathogenic strategies.

23. So GP is it fair to say that new borns are very susceptible to contracting a serious illness because of a weak immune e system?

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

yES DAVID ESPECIALLY IF THEY ARE NOT BREAST FED

25. In all fairness to the doctors, they consistently warn mothers to nurse babies soon after birth, that first liquid from the breasts aid in immunity build up against infections.

26. @Hal “By the way, the rich and wel l connected in Barbados show their confidence in local doctors by flying to Miami every time they have a cold.”

As is this a good economic decision? especialy when one considers that a cold goes away in about 7 days whether or not it is trreated.

Your statement may just prove that the rich and well connected are not that smart.

27. @Hal “For returnees, it is a flight back to Canada”

You do know don’t you that Canadians who live outside Canada have no access to their health care system, unless and until they have reestablished residence again by being at home in Canada for a minimum of 90 days.

I don’t know any serious illness that can wait 90 days for treatment.

28. @ David
    “We have to give Hantsie a pick.”
    LOL Hants could get a pick…but he gotta be the 11th man….he like too much fishing, BMW’s and old gold….
    …sounding too much like a former PM… LOL
    …but he can and does keep GP in check….

Bushie hope you know that you (BU David) line up for the big pick… You got the patience, knowledge and dedication for that important pick….plus you does tek a cussing like a real man…LOL

Serious though, we have some damn good talent here on BU yuh! There may be hope for us yet….
    …everything depends on Caswell to get the ball rolling with the Unity thing…..

BU David – PM
    Hal
    Amused (even though he is a lawyer) Deputy
    Sir Kiff
    Lowdown (you done know Bushie going with Lowdown 🙂 )
    Islandgal (she only need a little counseling Bushie style 😉 )
    Cursoe
    Pachamama
    BAFBFP (to keep the forex coming….)
    Observing (to tie everything together)
    Hants
    Pat
    Sir Hillary
    …and bout 6 more.

On the supervisory side we can have
    Caswell – Chair
    Well Well
    ac (who never allows herself to be intimidated by common sense)
    Ping pong (to keep everyone on track)
    Sargeant
    COW
    Kiki
    …and bout 5 more.

29. @Bushie

We are on the same page. Hants has extraordinary levels of emotional intelligent which is a necessary quality with GP, Baffy and Caswell at the same table.

30. @David the blogmaster asked “Did the QEH follow accepted communications protocol by hiding the Klebsiellafrom the public? ”

Why are you asking him that question. The good Dr. is NOT a communications professional.

Do you go to your engineer for legal advice? or to your doctor for plumbing advice?

Stupse!!!!!!!!

31. @Simple

You are making your name proud this afternoon. If there is a documented communications protocol wouldn’t employees, even former employees be aware? Where do you work? Are there not documented policies/protocols which fall outside your responsibility but which you are required to be familiar? Stupse indeed!!!!

32. Bushie Common sense! what common sense ac is yet to find one person here on BU well outside Sargeant and ALvin cummins who have an original thought,cause the whole bunch of wunna sound be always sininging from the same hymn book. Now pray tell me how a committe made up of a bunch of “YES” men going make a whole lot of difference in solving hard problems. th
    You see ac ‘lack of commonsense always get the truth from people cause peop0le always trying to prove ac wrong therfore giving them no other choice but to tell the the true story’ not that ac not already know but want to hear it right from “the horses mouth.Now u bushie go figure.

On another note can’t understand why the negativity to Hal article. the guy never proclaimed to be a medical doctor. i believe he was assesing a growing concern on the burdening high cost of medicine to a society and its overall cost of which taxpayers would have to foot the bill plus the inadequate care given by doctors and those in the medical profession Also the lack of care given to the elders by family members who have turn over such a responsibility to govt.

33. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Native Son
    All that has happened is that people in Barbados have attained the level where they have “caught” the same infection rampant in so called developed states. Abandonment of their “old folks”. The type of society we used to have in the past does not fit into the life-style of the young folks of today, and trying to get it back is impossible. The lifestyle that existed when the village had one person with a TV and everybody else gathered under the window to see a program no longer exists. Now, Everybody has his own TV,Ipod and cell phone, thus they have no time to take care of the old folk. How can you make it a criminal offence if someone says “I work ten hours a day and don’t have time to take care of my old grandmother who has Altzheimer’s and does not recognize me.” The state has to provide the necessary facilities to take care of these folk. I don’t agree with the granny dumping;I think it is abhorrent, but at this stage in our development,
    everybody has to think in the long term and make the necessary financial arrangements to take of ourselves when we reach that stage. It is foolhardy to expect the young people to think in the same way now. Many of them migrate and can only come back occasionally, if they themselves are able.
    And Hal, we have damn good doctors in Barbados, comparable with any anywhere else. We have knowledgable, well trained technologists, with first class equipment.Nosocomial infections occur in the best of the best health institutions. The plethora of medications; anti fungal, antibacterial, and anti-everything else, enables the organisms to adapt and fight back against the same medications that are used to get rid of them. I take high exception to your phrase referring to that”rat infested, rubbish strewn, health and safety hazzard that is the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.” And every person who works there should be hignly offended by it and should demand an apology from you. IT IS NOT TRUE. Good health care, as defined by you, has been, and is being preached ad nauseum by our health authorities. Health fairs are being constantly held all over the island, many many people have taken healthy lifestyles to heart, Gymns are full, many people go walking from as early as three or four o’clock in the morning, and the need for exercise is preached to our children on a daily basis. School authorities have replaced soft drink machines, in the schools or have filled them with healthy drinks. In addition the things you mentioned in the basket of goods are already VAT exempted.
    Educate yourself about what obtains now and don’t get too excited by the Klebsiella. We have had severe problems in the recent past with Pseudomonas, which is more long lasting and dangerous, and even more difficult (but not impossible) to get rid of once it has become established.
    Be proud of what we have because what we have may not be the most perfect, but then, where is?

34. @Alvin

foolhardy to expect the young people to think in the same way now. Many of them migrate and can only come back occasionally, if they themselves are able.

What are you saying here? Only those with the means can avoid granny dumping?

35. @alvin

i went into the qeh recently and saw no rats and i agree with your concern whereby hal reference our hospital as rat infected. Tell him you know about lab technology . I agree that there is an expectation among the doctors that tey are to milk the system and we owe them something. they forget they were trained at taxpayer’s expense.

36. No David…
    He is saying that times and conditions have changed and we should not expect that solutions that worked in the past should be workable now or in the future.
    Alvin is right.
    “Granny dumping” is not criminal as such, it is a direct result of the kind of society that we have chosen to build….foolishly.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Alvin Cummins | April 5, 2013 at 7:18 PM |
    GOOD POST WITH MUCH SENSE
    ALSO RATS DONT CAUSE KLEBSIELLA

38. Why do we believe that having the disabled, frail, very sick, elderly living away from home is a new thing? It is not you know. From the time I was a little thing Barbados had what were then called almshouses. One at River Bay St Lucy, one at Speightstown, one at Folkestone, St. James, one at Beckles Road, St. Michael, one at Rock Hall, St Thomas, one opposite the King George the 5th Memorial Park in St. Phillip, one at Oistins, and every single one of them was full of old people in need of care.
    So having elders cared for away from home is not new. I don’t believe that today’s sons and daughters are worse people than those of 50 year ago.
    What has happened though is that governments (both parties) have over the last 40 years closed the almshouses at Speightstown, Oistins, and Folkstone, and now we have Cabinet Ministers and health officials talking foolishness about granny dumping.
    Barbados population has grown and has aged considerably in the last 40 years, and yet we have fewer bed spaces for the old and infirm who cannot be cared for at home.
    Let the governments (both parties) re-create the same number of places in old age homes, almshouses, nursing homes, district hospitals whatever we want to call them as we had in the 1950’s and 1960’s, and let them increase the number of spaces based on the numbers of elders for care in teh population, and tell them to stop talking foolishness and playing stupid blame games.
    Caring for little children and old people was never free. It was never cheap. Somebody has always paid for it, in cash, or in lost opportunities to participate in the paid labour force.
    My own great grandmother born in 1850’s died in St. Peter’s almshouse. My own father told me so. She was not dumped. As my father described it “her head was bad” very likely what today we call Alzheimers, and her children, all of whom had full time jobs and young children could no longer care for her at home she had to go into the almshouse. What else were they supposed to do? Leave her in the house alone to wander away and die of heat stress in a gully?

We behave as though we have not read our history.
    We behave as though we have never had a conversation with our parents, grandparents or great parents.
    We behave as though days were the glory days.
    THERE WERE NEVER ANY GLORY DAYS.
    There have always been the sick, the infirm, those with Alzhiemers etc.
    There has always been people who are too sick, too incapacitated, too infirm, too disabled by strokes, by diabetes, byheart disease, by Alzheimers, by dementia and who cannot be cared for at home.
    Instead of health officials, Cabinet Ministers, bloggers, and othres looking to blame others and looking to get “free” labour from daughters, granddaughters and daughters in law, they should be looking to rebuild all the spaces which we had before at Speightstown, Folkestone, and Oistins, and to increase the number of spaces to match the number of elderly for care in our population. The governments, and health education officials should be looking to train the appropriate number of quality caregivers.
    In 20 years or less I too will be one of those elderly for care, perhaps one of those elders with Alzheimers or dementia. By then I would have spent 49 years working and paying taxes. I think that for the last 5 years of my life my government which has taken my tax money for 49 owes me some care. My children whom I have raised from infancy to adulthood owe me care also.
    THE OLD WE WILL HAVE ALWAYS WITH US, EVEN UNTO THE END OF THE WORLD.

39. I am certain that I have spent more time at the QEH than Hal has, since I have escorted many eldes and children there. I have been there at all hours of the day and night and I’ve NEVER sen a rat there

40. Granny dumping is a symptom of a culture in decline. It is nothing to do with cultural change.
    As I pointed out, in our society there sis a social familial contract of parents looking after children and those children, when grown up, then looking after their parents.
    Some of these social obligations we have transferred to the state in liberal democracies, although in Japan,, and the confuscian states they still do, one reason why household savings are so high.
    It does not matter if an absent father did not look after you when you were small, in a Christian society we must larn to forgive. It is what makes us humans.
    70 per cent of the children born in Barbados are from one parent families; I| think one way round this is to promote marriage.
    I would give an arm and a leg now to have my maternal grandmother cook for me, to sit and talk with my father and his mother, to have my parents around.
    As I get older I cherish every moment with my few remaining older relatives, spend as much time as possible with my old friends, some of whom |I have known since the age of five at Belmont. |To me they make my world, not eating in fancy restaurants with people who would not speak to me five minutes later.
    Granny dumping is simply wrong; there is no excuse. We have an obligation to look after our elderly, no matter how obstreperous.
    As to making it a criminal offence, all government has to do is to impose an obligation on families to look after their elderly and destitute. Failing that they will be before the courts.
    At present child neglect is a crime. Make elderly neglect a crime too.

41. @Hal

Agree with you that as human beings our obligation to look after the aged should be enforced. How Alvin can offer lifestyle changes as an excuse for granny dumping is mindboggling; it is neglect and a delinquent behaviour which should be wrestled to the ground.

42. how can one read alvin comments and intrepret them as an excuse for ‘ elder neglect by family members as an excuse is mind boggling
    The fact is that changes in society have impacted the family negatively with families living apart and not having the same rules and guidlines which were a focal part of the family unit.
    A lot of the time the task of taken care of one or more of the elderly parent falls on one sibling who is not able to quote with such a task which he or she was not prepared for and out of frustration turn to such health institutions like QEH who they see as the source and quick resolution for their problem.

43. Wait Hal….
    …you wait til Bushie gone and nominate you to the BU Cabinet and start talking a roll….?

“It does not matter if an absent father did not look after you when you were small, in a Christian society we must larn to forgive.”
    You can’t be serious!!!
    That is the longest roll of shiite on BU since Onions eased off posting.

What a man sow – his ass shall reap skipper.
    If you think that some lazy ass young village ram who ignored and neglected his children is owed someone wiping his behind for him when he is old ….you have serious thinking problem hear.?

If you feel guilty about running off to London to seek your fortune and leaving your best assets behind to fend for themselves please do not let that failing interfere with logical reasoning….

Shoite man!
    …next thing we will have ac and Simple Simon making sense as they pelt some lashes in your tail….

44. Bushie…good morning….I agree wid yuh pon dat one I jest surprise dat yuh ent calling muh name. The bush and cutlass lawyer Caswell will agree wid Hal pon dis one. Remember he quoted honouring yuh father to me even though he ent care whether his chile went to sleep wid a empty belly or not, was never there to comfort his chile when it was sick and never bought a school book nor uniform for dem chilren.

Hal what about the step fathers that have been real fathers to other people’s children?

45. @Bushie

To expose your argument, you asked us a couple weeks ago to understand the position Karen found herself which affected her cognizance to generate options when confronted with a situation. Today you want us to forget that some fathers – who probably were similarly ignorant – to be ‘punished in their old age for their sins. The fact that it goes against Christian doctrines to be charitable seems to be of no import.

46. Expecting a child to spend time and resources who by definition was negligent in his or her parental duties maybe stretching the argument a bit much. However if one so desires to do because of christian teachings and principals it should be seen as honurable and exceptional bearing in mind that the commandment was not selective in its command with the principal objective being one of “forgiveness” .However contrary as maybe to modern think forgiveness does have a place in modern world in such situations

47. @David;
    I did not use lifestyle changes as an excuse, it is a reality. I know of one instance where a young to middle aged woman was looking after her mother who was in her early nineties. Her male siblings were all overseas. Her mother was helpless and constantly falling out of bed, getting out of bed late in the night or early in the morning, not able to find her way to the bathroom, and as a consequence messing all over the house. This lady had to work at a job where one week she had to begin work at eight in the morning until five in the afternoon, and the next week she had to begin at eleven o’clock until five in the evening. She would have to get up and clean the place before gettting ready to go to work. She had to prepare meals for the old lady and in many cases the old lady would not eat the food, either through forgetful ness or inability to help herself. I know the many instances where the young lady was so tired at the end of the day that she was on the verge of exhaustion. Sometimes she would have to leave work during her lunch period to go home to feed the old lady, getting back to work late. Fortunately she did not live far from her work lace, but suppose she worked in town but he home was in the country, what would she do? She was not working for enough money to put her mother in a private nursing home (Cost aproximately $2500.00 per month) and there were no vacancies at the Government nursing homes. Even though she appealed to her siblings overseas to contribute financially to the cost of nursing care they were all caught up in their own struggles and could not give her the support she needed. She kept her mother at home until she eventually died. However the stress and strain on the daughter was heart rending. How many of today’s young people have the strength to be so dedicated? And Hal, much as we are overtaken by nostalgia, We have to face reality. As I said I abhor the “granny dumping” in the EMERGENCY department of the QEH. That is not the place for these people, the emergency department is too important to other needs to have the nurses looking after these people. An alternative has to be found. I suggested to the authorities (Minister of Health and SMOH) that renovations could be made to the old Tercentenary ward for its use as a place for “holding” these people until arrangements could be made for their accomodation at other long term care facilities. The Home Care workers could be utilized to care for them, leaving the more valued Nurses, to do what they are trained to do; look after emergency patients. There are other abandoned buildings on the hospital grounds that can be renovated and used as temporary housing for these people. It only requires imaginative solutions and willingness to implement them to successfully handle these seemingly insurmountable problems.

48. Not just stepfathers. But those in your villages, communities and schools you have helped to shape you. I had three head teachers in Barbados – Ms McClean at Belmont, JO Morris at St Giles, and Major Noot, and all three, in some way had an influence on me. I would also put Harry Sealy in that category.I am not that worthy, but try my best.
    In Britain I have also come across the same kind of people: giving of their time and knowledge, sharing their social contacts and foresight and generous to a fault.
    I enjoy the company of my relatives, my aunt who took me to school on my very first day, my uncle, my numerous cousins, my wife and her family.
    It is a genuine love; most of my closest friends are people I have known from Barbados.
    I am not surprised about anything being said here> i have long argued that Barbadians can be aggressive to the point of violence, vindictive, envious, bitter, but I love in hope that that minority of kind and generous people, and there are many, would in time influence the majority.
    I won’t call names, but some great people live in Barbados and I look forward to spending time with them. They do put themselves out of the way to be nice
    I have a number of regrets. I always promised myself that I would knock on the door of JO Morris and thank him for my years at St Giles, the most joyous of my young life; I also regret that I did not spend every day of my mother’s last three months with her and resign my job on the Daily Mail; and my maternal grandmother’s oldest son was 92 and lived in Birmingham.
    I took a week off work to go up and spend time with him, talking about the roots of my family in Brererton and Hannah’s, and how my branch of the family moved to the Ivy in the 1930s.
    I finished work on the Friday and he died over the weekend.
    To ignore your poorly father or grand mother for some perceived wrong in your youth is a mental problem. See a psychiatrist.

49. @ Alvin

Alvin, that has nothing to do with the bogus sociological idea of lifestyle change. Do not seek reward for your effort, you do it out of the kindness of your heart.
    Parents are not perfect, but they have given us the most important thing in the world, our lives.

50. @Alvin

Thanks for the clarification, believe it or not we may be on the same side of the argument. BU’s is more a philosophical position compared to yours which is more tactical. What is the point of explaining away granny dumping as progress? A recent study (CALC) reveals that our poverty line is sinking. How do we define progress anyway? If we are progressing as you say because of current lifestyle changes what is to say we can’t assess as a society to address the impact it is having on our senior citizens. Of course some people may have lived their lives not with an eye to retirement but this is not always the case. We need to protect our aged, they are are not dogs.

By the way have your book Royal Palm on the bookshelf and give you credit for your work championing the cause of the people with the FTC.

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply