Barbados Auditor General Report 2012

The exceptions noted in the Auditor General’s Report 2012 continue to tell the same sorry tale year after year. It does not matter whether BLP or DLP is occupying Bay Street.

What will it take to get this obsolete civil service to get efficient? Why is it impossible for university trained Permanent Secretaries and other senior civil servants to work with government to build efficiencies in public sector processes? Frankly, reading the Auditor General’s report year after year has become an embarrassment.

1. David

Many of these University trained permanent secretaries could not work anywhere else. Lots of them are incompetent who did not merit their positions. Since the constitutional amendments of 1974, which have been misinterpreted to mean that the PM recommends who should be appointed as permanent secretaries and heads of department, mostly the party faithful become PS. As a result, they are destroying the Public Service with politics. Just imagine a day after the general elections, an officer in the Department of Commerce wore a Chris Sinckler shirt to work. His boss, Dennis Kelman’s brother, has apparently taken no action. After all, their party just won.

2. Why should I be surprised at this.Barbados has become a banana republic type democracy and its worse since the DLP led by the dead king and now the sleeping giant has reoccupied Bay Street.The pastor from the Marchfield Church of God is unable to put his foot down now that the majority is a slender 2.

3. I don’t think embarassment is the word.

The question is…..do our systems need reforming or do our public workers need reforming/retraining/retiring?

Observing

4. Where is the PM? I noticed that Richard Sealy is acting PM.

Re Public Sector reform, I notice that Irene Sandiford Garner is taking them on as well. She cannot get her secretary to come with her! It would be interesting to know if this person is a public servant or out of her campaign house!

5. Note that the Auditor General commented on p.4 of the report that the Public Accounts, as has been the case under both administrations, refused to meet to call “on accounting officers and other public officials to explain issues reported in the audit reports and, if warranted, make recommendations to Parliament for corrective action“.

6. The auditor general’s report is curious. What makes people, especially public servants, respond in a lack lustre manner to it is the officers in the auditor general office itself. A friend once told me, and she has a number of years in the public service, that once the AG came to a meeting with the then PM OSA. She anticipated a clash based on the report which had circulated. After the exchange of pleasantries the AG litterally “flew” from the room as if in full flight. In keeping with Caswell’s comment, most of these officers are afraid of their shadow when dealing with the political directorate. This was before the present one; so I am not sure how he operates but given his reports and no action then he maintains the status quo like ALL the other AG.

Carson Cadogan needs to encourage his team to amend the legislation governing the AG and allow him to convene a court to try civil servants and especially the political directorate. Then we would know something happening.

7. A change of the culture in the public sector is required. Even if those at the top want to have a more efficient service, the culture in the public service is largely one where it is considered acceptable to put in the minimum effort possible. Unless someone is committed to changing this, not only in terms of policy changes, but actual change which is reinforced with punitive action, nothing different will happen.

8. ”A change of the culture in the public sector is required”

———

Errr, where have you been the last 35 years?

It is so, and we like it so. Stupse, wunna cud wait your turn an complain, …..an we aint want nuh cam’ras neither…..we is we…. and if you want that signed, go to de other office….and the next to get it in triplicate… then come back to get it authorized.

Funny, that before the elexshun the word was that BLP would fire people and blah blah….

Now Garner talking public sector reform…lol

DLP could have saved foreign exchange and just told people to read the BLP Manifesto, instead of printing their own.

9. Recently Senator Fraser delivered a scathing attack on the financial indiscipline in government ministries. His position was dismissed by the government and in particular Minister Sinckler. A read of the AG report exposes a level of financial indiscipline which should be an embarrassment to ALL educated Bajans. Bear in mind a key strategy of the Medium Term Fiscal Policy is for government to improve its cost management. A joke!

Here is an example on p55:

There is no formal policy for the recovery of arrears.

3.82 Statements of arrears were not submitted to the Director of Finance and Economic Affairs, Accountant General and Auditor General in accordance with Financial Rule 41.
    3.83 The loan balance of $2,520,041.58 indicated by the subsidiary ledgers maintained by the Training Administration Division was not recorded by the Treasury resulting in an understatement of Government’s assets by this amount.

10. FRI, MARCH 29, 2013 – 12:08 AM

THE RECENT AUDITOR GENERAL REPORTS are free of scandal, but the same cannot be said of findings between 2005 and 2007. Leader of Government Business in the Senate, Maxine McClean, made that assertion while delivering the wrap-up presentation in the Upper House Wednesday night. “As I read the Auditor General’s reports, I was glad there was an absence of scandal. I want to say that if you want to see scandal, one should check out the Auditor General’s reports for 2007, for example,” she said. McClean said the reports for the year 2007 highlighted concerns in the Ministry of Energy and the Environment in relation to contracts. (MK)

I remain seated in the bleachers.

11. Here is an extract from page 56 of the AG’s report:

It was however observed that considerable sums owed to the University of the West Indies were not listed as a liability on the Financial Statements as required. This resulted in Government’s liability on The Consolidated Financial Statements being considerably understated. The University indicated that the outstanding balance was in excess of $154 million as at 31st July 2012. The bringing to account of these transactions would also have increased Government expenditure by a considerable amount.

Was this an oversight or financial dishonesty? It is no secret concerns have been expressed about this matter by the Opposition and other commentators. It is one thing to say you can’t afford to pay BUT it is another to not reflect the liability accurately in the ‘books’ because it has implications for the weight of government’s level of expenditure. We seem to be concerned with optics here. Are we there yet?

12. @ David
    An oversight, PIMRP!!

13. @David et al,

I am not sure why the question of scandal is important. The real issue is that financial mismanagement (as indicated by Fraser and supported by the Auditor General’s report, lack of fulsome and appropriate disclosure (as you point out) and fiscal responsibility have gone to the wind.

That said, I expect no different as the Auditor General repeatedly produces excellent reports which are then ignored the government in administration.

Political expedience has become the norm and rule of management.

Bah humbug.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 29, 2013 at 9:09 AM |
    “Was this an oversight or financial dishonesty? It is no secret concerns have been expressed about this matter by the Opposition and other commentators.”

Do you actually believe that this government is in a position to pay off the arrears to the UWI in a few months’ time?
    Where would government find two tranches of $45 million by July this year to settle $90 million of the total arrears? This government can’t even collect enough tax revenues when the fiscal quarter comes to meet its current account commitments; now where would it find $90 million in 3-4 months? From the NIS or from a commitment to sell the GAIA or the Sea Port to foreigners or locals with foreign dollars?

Don’t you see we are dealing with a gang of lying bullshitters hoping for the IMF to arrive sooner rather than later to save their sorry asses by blaming some bogus international recession and the big bad wolf IMF that every stupid Bajan would buy into?

15. Hi Miller,
    You always bellyaching about the IMF. There is no need to constantly remind us about yourself :

Ignorant Miller Fuming = IMF

16. Here is the 64k question.

Last general election there was a big debate about integrity among the two leaders, Arthur or Stuart. Should the integrity of the leader not be judged by the actions and decisions by the people he leads? Read the AG report and tell us if the government approach to governance issues has changed in the last 10 years.

We have lost the ability to be focussed on the substantive issues.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 29, 2013 at 2:14 PM |

You have a track record you are following to a T. It’s just a matter of time and with a $1.2 billion fiscal deficit, a $9 billion debt millstone and junk bond status around Bim’s neck and poor performing forex earning sectors where else can you go but to the international loan sharks?

It’s My Fault, is it? Well if you can pay off the UWI arrears then the miller would be the fall guy.

But then again you can always blame OSA and the BLP for causing and maintaining the protracted recession. Or your can switch beating hands and focus your strap on the new whipping boy Ryan Straughn with Prof. Howard on stand by as the sacrificial scapegoat.

18. @Enuff | March 29, 2013 at 9:03 AM |

FRI, MARCH 29, 2013 – 12:08 AM

THE RECENT AUDITOR GENERAL REPORTS are free of scandal, but the same cannot be said of findings between 2005 and 2007. Leader of Government Business in the Senate, Maxine McClean, made that assertion while delivering the wrap-up presentation in the Upper House Wednesday night. “As I read the Auditor General’s reports, I was glad there was an absence of scandal. I want to say that if you want to see scandal, one should check out the Auditor General’s reports for 2007, for example,” she said. McClean said the reports for the year 2007 highlighted concerns in the Ministry of Energy and the Environment in relation to contracts. (MK)……………………..

Enuff,
    I laughed my head off when I heard this clueless woman. She obviously lives in DLP La La land, in a bubble. She has not heard of a government minister involved in the porn business who as a
    Minister of Health was involved in the supplying of inferior products to the said hospital he was over, same minister where a road was built to accommodate his personal properties
    or
    of another minister whose has amassed so much wealth by contractors building houses and who is in bed with drug dealers
    or
    another minister who texted a contractor asking for his cut and who was moved away from a particular ministry by the dead king months into the administration and who gives contracts to the highest bidder so that he could get his cut
    or
    of another minister whose previous firm is getting contracts under the very ministry over which he is in charge
    or
    of another assistant minister whose father’s house was fixed by taxpayers
    or
    of another minister who was given a new vehicle from a contractor in the very ministry of which he is in charge.

More later. Maxine is the lying clown in the Senate!

19. David I only reach page 26 and cannot believe what it is that I am reading. This is shite man … consultancy fees included in the asset register, Southern Golf Co getting money before a loan arrangement is put is place, a Treasury that is as inept as the ass of a constipated cow … and not a chance of a head rolling …?

I reading this thing slow, ’cause every so often I got to go and relieve myself over the toilet …

Man this Auditor General gotta be lying man …

20. @Baffy

What is he saying that he has NOT for the last few years?

21. This is the first time that I am actually taking the time to read the result of tireless effort of he and his staff. I have not so far come across anything about Barak though, it must be in there somewhere. To be honest if your treasured David Ellis had any real merit he would have mad himself familiar with its content and would have been prepared to bring this information to the public in a simplified form; it would be an example of the media at work. But there is where the problem is, it is work, and NOT talk which is Ellis’ preferred activity.

22. @enuff
    Inuendo and rumour do not hold weight as evidence. Bring the evidence.

23. @Alvin

What more evidence you need than all the malfeasance unearthed by the AG?

24. @ David
    BAFBFP’s “Guy Fawkes” solution is looking more and more attractive yuh…

The VERY FACT that the Auditor General’s report is qualified should have some consequences….if we were serious people that is…
    …and the fact that this has gone on now for YEARS says something about Bajans…not only the politicians.

Brass!

25. @ Alvin Cummin
    Overpayment
    5.120 A company was contracted to provide services on the Automotive Refinishing Workshop for the sum of $34,996. An additional amount of $4,400 was paid to this company for plastering. However, the Workshop is not plastered.

You should also read the story about the ‘Project Administrator’.

26. “A Nation of thieves” Errol Walton Barrow

27. u know i have been reading these asinine comments coming out of the serpentine mouths of the BLP . How in all honesty can u guys be critical of the of the auditor general report /i clearly remember the first auditor general report at the time when the BLP was in power and the waste of over 2million dollars unaccounted for. Contracts without tenders . simple office supplies costing thousands of dollars which could be bought for much much less. i could go one.U guys a bunch of gutless hypocrites.

28. AC
    At that time your boys the DLP were in charge of the instrument of Parliament to investigate the allegations form the AG report; David Thompson and company did nothing. Just like Mia and company shall do nothing.

29. In the US, many of our politicians would not be eligle for reeclection based on these AG reports. Many of these indiscretions are public servants afraid of losing their acting appointments and trying to aid out a minister’s friend or company.

30. People pay close attention to page 66 subsection 4.11 and 4.12. These are positions normally given to political lackeys. These men on the farm labor program have been complaining for years about being ROBBED by these people and nothing has been done. Where the hell is AC ?

31. Which doctor or who from the Drug Service benefitted from the purchase of all the H1n1 drug – 800,000. While the rest of the health sector suffered for funds. When shall we stop allowing doctors to pull this “life and death non sense” only to discover later funds were being wasted. Some of these doctors need to be locked up; start with the Chief Medical Officer.

32. Both parties have an unflattering record of convening the PAC. Bear in mind it is one of the most important working committees in parliament and by extension our governance system.

33. When one looks at Invest Barbados, it is even worse. 70 million dollars spent between 2008 and now, in Asia and all over the world. Those in charge are: Wayne Kirton and Anthony Bryan of the Barbados Advocate.

34. ”Which doctor or who from the Drug Service benefitted from the purchase of all the H1n1 drug – 800,000. While the rest of the health sector suffered for funds”

Do you know that H1N1 is here and active? Is can be deadly and has affected many.

35. Crusoe
    If you bought h1n1 supplies and they have expired then something is wrong. At the time the doctors were behaving as if Bim would be wiped out. Why have these supplies expired. Too much was bought. Somebody want locking up for the 800,000. If we have as you are implying an outbreak of h1n1 tomorrow those supplies would be of no use to any person. Money was wasted. We give the doctors to much say on these things and then there is no accountability when money is wasted. No wonder they never liked Donville.

36. Frustrated businessman Avatar
    Frustrated businessman

I don’t think the snivel service can be fixed, the corruption and inefficiency are endemic. I do believe it can be marginalised to the point where the negative effect on us is much smaller. If 5% to 7% of snivel servants retire each year, the obvious thing to start with is not replace them. Then privatise from the bottom up, not the top down. We don’t need to sell the SSA, we need to give the trucks to the men operating them and pay them by the tonne delivered according to the costs already established to get garbage to the dump. We don’t need to pass corrupt organisations on to whoever will have them, we need to disassemble those organisations. The money we piss away in CBC to employ 110 people could subsidise agriculture to employ ten times that number. Common sense is anything but common with so many feeding at the trough.

37. Frustrated businessman

This is arguable the most interesting comment that I have read all year … Thank you

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply