For some time the BU family has been concerned that successive governments have been satisfied with throwing money at education and hoping for the best outcomes. The commonsense view routinely expressed on BU that resources should be optimally allocated by aligning the school curriculum to a national policy appears to be an alien concept to the authorities. How do we transform to a high performance jurisdiction if we continue to grow the existing cadre of graduates? How can Barbados nurture and grow its knowledge and skill pool to ensure that we become competitive and productive if we continue to allow the tail to wag the dog? We should have a national strategy which clearly defines the industry segments we know we can compete based on solid research, and educate our people to become the core workforce within those segments.

After decades of boasting of a superior education system where is the empirical data to support the claim to inform public discourse in 2013? Why is there a veil of secrecy which shrouds the management of the education sector in Barbados? Do we know who our best teachers are in the absence of a robust continuous assessment program?  How do we begin to debate whether we need to make changes to our education system when primary data or any data for that matter is not access not readily accessible by taxpayers?

The video above is worth watching. It explains in 20 minutes why our education system may not be relevant in a modern world.

1. David
    It is now becoming a habit that because Caswell Franklyn writes in his real name he can say anything he likes about people but no one can say anything about him before you jump in and say it is not about Caswell.

He is attacking teachers that they cannot teach and how one of them got a little girl pregnant. If he has this info, why not become the public activist to get the person put in prison for statutory rape.
    Why let wrong doings continue and then complain on this blog?

The academic attitude of looking down on the practical subjects is one reason why he cannot be the man that Bush Tea wants to run the country.

There are bright Guyanese, Trinidadians and Barbadians who get 12 CXCs but one thing for sure none of the Barbadians get their CXCs by cheating.

2. @ Clone
    “……why he cannot be the man that Bush Tea wants to run the country”
    Man clone, if Amused had not spurned Bushie’s request for legal representation, ..all like now you would be in deep legal doo doo….
    Bush Tea NEVER advocated for Caswell to run no country….Wuh Bushie mad?
    Bush Tea advocates for Caswell to become Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee.
    ..In other words, to be the head man responsible for KEEPING AN EYE on those selected to run the country….

BIG DIFFERENCE….!!!

3. Equality refers to treating all students the same. Equity refers to meeting the needs of specific groups of students such that access to educational opportunities is the same. The provision of school meals to “poor” children or remedial teachers in specific schools may be examples of equity based policy. It could be argued that Barbadian schools operate with a great degree of equality but a low degree of equity. It is easier and politically more palatable to treat all students equally than to treat students equitably. Equitable treatment requires that differences be acknowledged something that is not always welcomed even by the beneficiary group.

4. Bush Tea

I feel I ready to run de Country. The first thing I would do is put the Defense Force to work and invade and conquer St. Vincent. And after I have taken care of any insurgencies I would next move to Grenada and onto Tobago, all within five years …! I would make Barbadians proud to be the master race, and change the “broken” trident to a new “rising” sun …!

5. Clone
    I am not in the business of calling names but at least two principals were taken to court for child support. If you squeeze me hard enough I could squeal out one of the names. He is a very avid supporter of the DLP. And you are right the BLP government at the time did nothing about it. The children involved were from the low socieconomic strata. I tell when Caswell speaks he knows of that which he speaks.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | March 27, 2013 at 4:06 AM |
    “and change the “broken” trident to a new “rising” sun …!”

Both the flag and anthem are in need of a makeover to reflect modern realities and aspirations for a new, braver and brighter future.
    The updated flag should reflect a receding broken trident way in the background and in the foreground a rising sun as reflected in the song Welcome the Morning Sun by Vern “el veron del congo” Best and with a revised colour spectrum to include a tinge of red and black for good measure.

There is an upcoming event at which Bajans need to take the opportunity to make a clean break with its monarchical past and its continuing love-hate irrelevant relationship with a governance system totally out of place in a 21st Century meritocratic social ideal.

7. Spaceman

Thank you for you understanding and kind support …! (Uhum … I doing Dale Carnegie now so I gota show dat it wukkin’) … Of course the flag is a nuisance, it has always been the most horrible and irrelevant of designs … IT IS A LIE!

8. @ BAF

We are surprised that our brother is being indoctrinated by the likes of the Carnegies. Don’t you know who these people REALLY are?

9. Pacha;

A little exposure to useful information could be viewed as intelligence gathering as opposed to seeking to be influenced … 🙂

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | March 27, 2013 at 8:31 AM |

No sweat, BAF!
    Sorry, but your superhero spaceman like Superman was low on Krypton today and could not save you from the grinding you got on Brasstacks today.
    You found yourself caught between two radio heavy grinders; your intellectual alter ego DJ and your perennial enemy Ellis the joker of Batman fame.

The only consolation that can be offered is that the majority of listeners with a modicum of commonsense could have seen the point you were trying to drive home between those two thick planks ready to beat you into pulp to feed the massive ego of David E.
    Maybe the recent video with the woman beating her child with a 2×3 plank could have acted as a fillip to David the masochist turn the screws on you.

Never mind that BAF, you made your point and those knuckleheads know it. Just watch what VOB does next as part of its Public Outreach programme embedded in the licence requirements.

11. Dennis Johnson Avatar

Sorry Miller. I’m no intellectual match for that fellow who called. Argument too high for a poor-ar$e bwoy from dat place that BAf wants to invade! Been invaded before; so who knows, he may be successful. Know a lot of people who died in the previous attempts, though!

Dennis

12. The problem with baffy is that his bedside manner needs some work. You could have the greatest idea BUT if you cannot communicate and thus enthuse others by that idea it is all to nought.

13. Bedside manner HA HA HA And that is the best that you could do …? Against to professional talk shop blowhards … HA HA HA HA … This world is packed with a combination of Ego and Fraud, that is what business in Barbados in particular has become; and if you’re not about winning hearts and minds, sadly … you are about nothing … HA HA HA

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dennis Johnson | March 27, 2013 at 6:34 PM |

Sorry you found yourself caught between two warring factions. D E on one arrogant side and BAF the anti-American caller on the other just as arrogant side.

It was pure radio theatre today. Enjoyed it immensely.

But you know whenever DE is on BAF flies into a raging mood like a bull seeing a cow in heat and “red” in the way.

Only your ‘diplomatic’ ego stroking reaction to BAF when you are alone carrying the show seems to act as a cooling balm of influence to neutralize the raging BAF in his quest to ‘perfect’ this defective world. Even BAF himself realizes the hill of beans he is up against in this capitalist system.

But seriously though, BAF does have a point about the role of the media in this whole environmental movement in this small very ecologically vulnerable island with an extremely materialistically focused population.

The station needs to offer more help -as you personally have been doing for sometime now- to save these environmental dummies from themselves. Even if only your personal contribution is like the Dutch boy with his finger stuck in the hole of the dyke.

The miller looks forward to the day when you, Baffy, Bushie and the young Cyprian Jr. can sit around the radio table and tell it like it is once more to the breach.

15. BAFBFP I suggest you apply the way you deal wid de white chick. Your VOB “bedside manner” is probably how you deal wid de crop over chick.

So you may be wise to prepare a script before you call in with notes like “be nice” be inoffensive”” kiss ash” suck up to de moderator.

Save your strong opinions for BU where you can share licks like peas without censorship.

Now anything I write for the rest of the evening may be influenced by the 18 year old Scotch that I am drinking. (It was a Christmas gift) so wunna onstan dat I ent one a dem well to do BajanCanadians.

16. yes miller education is a good thing to have but knoweldge can deliver a dangerous blow depending from the mouths of those its is being emitted. thinking of bushie extolling his vitriol for discipline by radio give me the heebeegibbies all i can think of is bushie explaining the right of parents to bushwacked their children gangstastyle..

17. So what’s up with VOB.com. Just went to listen to Brasstacks but the downloads are up to march 15th.
    Do they still re broadcast at night?

18. Dennis Johnson Avatar

Sorry Hants; that was discontinued with the merger [?] of Gospel and VOB. Programmes are to be uploaded to website, but [as you have observed] the podcasts are [as they say] “lagging”

19. Dennis Johnson Avatar

On a more positive note, however; over 25 calls, five e-mails and six text messages underscore the number of people with old computer parts, who did not have a way of safely discarding them.

Since this blog was about our education system; does this not expose an opportunity for our enterprising young minds to find some employment? And I don’t mean just how to dismantle and export “waste”.

Dennis

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Is an over-reliance on punitive school discipline policies pushing children out of education and into the criminal justice system?

For the first time, a US congressional panel is looking into what the American Civil Liberties Union calls a disturbing trend – one that criminalises rather than educates many US children.

“Kids are being kicked out for very minor offences very often …. There are kids who have been arrested in New York City for writing on a desk …. The problem starts with something that is clearly not a violation of the law and then escalates …. For example, we’ve seen cases where some kid is violating the school dress code, a police officer will question them and that escalates into ultimately the kid being handcuffed.”

– Dennis Parker, from the American Civil Liberties Union

The so-called ‘school to prison pipeline’ has been linked to zero tolerance policies that remove teachers’ discretion over how to discipline student misbehaviour.

School-based arrests, disciplinary alternative schools and secured detention are also blamed.

Campaigners say the policy has seen children suspended for minor infractions – marginalising at-risk youth and denying them access to education.

They add that it leaves them more likely to end up in prison as adults.

What is more, the burden of the trend falls disproportionately on students of colour.
    http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestoryamericas/2012/12/2012121391435450853.html

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

US education badly in need of reform

Nearly half of the public schools in the US do not meet the standards set by the federal government.

“The dominant form has been multiple choice question..[which] is an over-emphasis on memorisation and [finding] a wanted answer rather than really thinking, and regurgitation.”

– Monty Neil, National Center for Fair & Open Testing

Recent studies show that US students are average or below average in reading, and science and mathematics, when compared to other nations.

Around 25 per cent of Americans who start high school do not graduate, and that is below the rate of most other developed nations.
    Despite all of this, education has not been a key issue in presidential campaign speeches.
    What little the Republicans say is focused on getting the federal government out of public education
    http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/insidestoryus2012/2012/03/20123298118691716.html

22. When u hAve people like the intelluctuals some likethe likesof Caswell “poo-pooing subjects like Homeconomics.and subjects that are relative to manufacturing and industry in the development of a country then one should not have to look faras to why our country has not been able to develop such industry. when there is /a mindset of an oldergeneration who believes that one can be only of impotrance when your status is one of a doctor or lawyer

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 28, 2013 at 9:39 AM |

If you want to see a turn around of that doctor/lawyer mindset why not tell your DLP administration to immediately cease the awarding of scholarships to study these things? Why not award them to young people who want to engage in the areas you so whimsically speak about not knowing your husband is in earshot of you putting down his profession in which telling lies is the test of success. Hypocrite, you are!

24. Miller it also calls for a”rebranding” and re-imaging of those subjects and showing their importAnce to an economy .Also the the personnal financial benfits derived. When one truly assess the whole picture in reality no one wants to be called a “farmer”.However with a name recognition of importance given like an agricultural technician or scientist it gives a sense that there is something to be gotten in such an area of academia

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 28, 2013 at 10:51 AM |

So why doesn’t your administration get on with the “re-branding and re-imaging” as you are doing with the school renaming exercise (some of them are untouchable)?

Why not start with the lawyers and called them “Legal Practitioners of Terminological Inexactitudes”. And Doctors as “Glorified Witchdoctors with Western Gadgets”.

Poor Adam was a farmer who along with his wife got tricked by a snake oil lawyer posing as a doctor wrapped around a caduceus political double dealing pole of lies and deceit. Now you see the reason for Bim’s downfall.

26. Renaming farming will not stop the stigma that Bajans have successfully attached to feeding themselves by working the land and equating anyone who does so as continuing slavery. I am still to meet a group of people outside of Barbados who are that idiotic to think farming is beneath them. THEY WILL STARVE, AND THEY SHOULD STARVE…………………obviously education has done absolutely nothing for the island’s population. Farming will remain the only means for earthlings to feed themselves…………….what the f*** is so difficult about that to comprehend.

27. If you educate the very young, that their only means of survival and a healthy existence is to grow their own food the backward, ignorant stigma attached to farming in Bim, will disappear. I have an example where I saw with my own eyes teachers from a primary school visiting with their charges removing these children from a rack of live seedlings when they showed interest, instead of explaining to them how the yams, potatoes and other food items they take for granted started as seedlings. I am still so angry at that image, that I could easily resort to violence because of the ignorance currently displayed in Barbados under the guise of development. One of my grandsons who was born in NY, on seeing seedlings in Bim was not aware that food was grown, he thought it all came from the store. When will people in Barbados see that they have been led down the primrose path to destruction by inadequate leadership.

28. Miller you comments underscore the ignorance by which some bajans are content.additionally it also emphaised that without argument that as a society we are willing to remain stagnat mentality relying on the “old ways” of doing things with hope of achieving optium results. The idea of renaming certain subjects that have been attached to a lower class of society does not mean anything of significance to you.even if it injects a postive thought process in the old as well as the young and more acceptance

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | March 28, 2013 at 11:11 AM |
    “THEY WILL STARVE, AND THEY SHOULD STARVE…………………obviously education has done absolutely nothing for the island’s population.”

So if you feel so strong about the state of farming and food security in Bim why didn’t you support ex-Senator Dr. Frances Chandler when she made bitingly sharp comments a few months back in the Senate debating the same issue of the high food import bill and the sorry state of agriculture?
    Why was she treated so shabbily and called a white shadow and a colonial relic who looks down on black people?
    Did you see how see was ungraciously removed as a mouthpiece for agriculture without a suitable voice replacement?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 28, 2013 at 11:56 AM |

So get on with the “reprogramming”. You are wasting your time targeting the miller and his troupe of armchair critics.
    Direct your views and proposals to the political party in power and those who can make a difference like the person(s) who (out of pure political spite) refused to retain a voice in the Senate to aggressively promote the interests of farmers at the national level as an “Independent” Senator.
    We are sure that Dr. Cleston Brathwaite or even Vincent Haynes would have done an excellent job of representation of all agricultural interest groups the same way Tony suck-up sycophantic Marshall can represent the Bajan image of corporate bullshitters and fraternity con artists.

Let us hear you attack this DLP deliberate shortsightedness, for once.

31. Miller……………….I earlier acknowledged that Chandlers obvious (to everyone except the black led governments) were on point with regards to the state of agriculture in Barbados and her very factual assessment that to ignore agriculture was to later have to deal with starvation on the island………..I never said anything otherwise. However, the way she speaks to and look down on others who she thinks are her inferior, I will not accept………………that has nothing to do with the fact that she is and continues to be right about the lack of interest in agriculture and the successive black governments who continue to ignore the fact that their people should grow their own food and not import garbage in the billions of dollars. Two entirely different subjects, the Miller……………..I have a lot of resentment for the governments who have neglected this vital industry, their attacks on Chandler were for all the wrong reasons and was only to hide their selfish, greedy and inept actions. .

32. Farming by any other name will still be farming, how can anyone justify a name change to appease people who are inherently stupid.

33. By the way Miller……………..Chandler has been making those biting statements to the leaders of Bim for many decades, not just a few months ago……………….none cared, none would listen and do you see any of them listening now…………including blowhard Estwick.

34. Inherit in the minds of some bajans is the philosophy 1. nobody can tell me nuttin! 2. we know it all…3. we have been doing it this way all of or lives. ….WELL! WELL! your response speaks to all three.

35. @ac wrote ” When one truly assess the whole picture in reality no one wants to be called a “farmer”.

You do realise that farmers OWN their farms.

36. In the real world outside of Barbados, people are proud to farm and be called FARMERS……………I am ashamed that in this day and age, the only country (island rock) in the world has a population who are ashamed to farm or be called farmers. Farming continues to be a trillion dollar industry worldwide. It is embarrassing that the likes of ac are not aware that FARMING FEEDS THE WORLD, try coming out into the real world and ask for a name change see if they don’t chase back under your rock…………this is sickening, I just showed the post to an agricultural giant in North America and he could not believe it, ac you are an embarrassment and if you are female who is suppose to nurture, even worse. I am truly ashamed.

37. What are you all going to do if Canada destroys the Barbados low tax haven and concurrently there is a further drop in Tourists arrivals.

Beg the UN for food relief?

The DLP has been presented with a glorious opportunity to make Agriculture a priority in providing food security and decreasing the food currently being imported.

Unless the Harper government changes, Canada will kill the tax havens in the Caribbean.
    I hope they have a change of heart given the dire consequences for Barbados but the threat gives the Barbados government a clear mandate to respond to this threat.

38. Hants so whats is the point. aren.t there areas in the field that are related to farming from which there are jobs. what is of importance is getting a young generation to accept that farming is only for those of limited acdemic abilty .howeverv to do so would be a need and a reversal of a mentality that thinks otherwise.

39. If you want to waste time and money on a study trying to decide what the new name should be for farming while people starve…………by all means, feel free……………..but don’t try to initiate your stupidity on the world, it will only work in Bim.

40. Canada has a right to look out for it’s own best interest, while the likes of ac spend the next three decades trying to rename farming, the world would have moved on, and Bim would contain less idiots………..gone the way of starvation. There is a food organization in Hastings that has for decades been trying to make the leaders take food security seriously, they have been met with barriers at every turn. Now this latest barrier of trying to rename farming cause dumb people feel it is inferior and should be renamed to sound more like a thieving lawyer, only in Bim mind you, I have been throughout the Caribbean and found people to be proud farmers. This island is on a shitty slipstream to nowhere fast. Canada has a right to pull out.

41. I personally know PHD holders throughout the world who are giants at farming, some have given up the degrees just to farm. I personally love farming and plan to set up a green house in North America and proudly market myself as a farmer………..where have the leaders gone wrong in Bim, this is unbelievable.

42. If the young generation of Bajans can’t accept the word farmer or farming, it is because of the what they were taught by the older generation, no one wakes up one morning and decide that farming is for people who are not bright.. As I keep saying, I have only seen and heard this in Barbados, nowhere else in the world.

43. Well it is what it is.People are conditioned to beieve what they see ! hear!!and do and after a period of time acceptance. the fact is that the educational system has and is geared to deliver what is the staus quo and people have always agreed to that in principle and the system delivered.Such thinking is where we are in the sense thatwe have reached a dead end and the areas of professionalism is not enough to sustain an economy

44. Well Well
    You are an intellectual giant; you now come here and from so few exchanges could deduce that AC is a big IDIOT. Talk to Bushie next and let me hear your thoughts on him. Don’t talk to BAFBFP; he mout to full of stink words.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 28, 2013 at 3:53 PM |

After taking such heavy blows from Well, Well the miller’s foot in your mouth would be like a lollipop in the mouth of a 7 year old; just pure heavenly delight.

But you need to come clean and accept you made a cardinal error of the 8th dimension.
    What’s wrong with being called a farmer? That’s a name worn like a badge of honour by many people like Mr. & Mrs. Farmer.

For you information to restart your brain stuck in a quagmire of asymmetrical ignorance and confusion FARMING is mankind’s first and foremost activity. Without farmers there is no mankind. The animals would survive but not modern man in his billions. Until the scientists find a pill of eternal sustenance man will always be a farmer.

So shut up and admit to Well, Well you called it wrong, big time. Even farmers make mistakes. Ask Hants or even Adam!

46. Look what is evident here or difficult for the intellectuals to understand is getting the younger generation to understand that there is no stigma attached to the word farmer . the question then is how can it be brought about and get them more committed in that field. how many curriculum in the school teach about “farming” and why not as it as you all stated important to mankind survival. Why aren’t the school turning out students in that area at the end of any school year?>BTW WELL! WELL! this is Barbados where people still believes that getting ones hands dirty and ploughing a field in beneath them. Therefore all i am stating is that there must be a reversal in the mindset in our society in the way people perceive such a skill
    As far as i am concerned i have no quarrells with the word “farmer” as i know and understand the importance but not everybody does .

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 28, 2013 at 5:57 PM |
    “As far as i am concerned i have no quarrells with the word “farmer” as i know and understand the importance but not everybody does.”

So who do you think you are? If an idiot like you can understand the meaning of the word “farmer” and can appreciate the vital role played by the farmer why can’t any educated Tom Mohammed and Harriette Fatima understand the importance of farming?

What is required, ac? A bout of starvation or 2 years of persistent drought in a period of not being able to earn foreign exchange? 2013 might just be the beginning of a 7 year period of real hardship, right ac?

48. Look where you are going to take the issue from educating the old as well as the new generation into an understanding the value of farmers and how to remove the stigma associated with it into having people come to sense of reality by starvation. i prefer education to your medieval way of thinking..; i have come to the realisation that some bajans are educated but are not educational and that fits perfectly with you miller.

49. @Miller

Don’t worry, our artificial inflated lifestyles will force us to accept in the future many things we scorn at the moment.

Leave a Reply to Well WellCancel reply