Opposition MP questioned Paradise Beach Limited project during the Estimates

Barbadians welcomed the revelation by Opposition member of parliament Ronald Toppin that two Paradise Beach Limited  bond holders had to be paid by government to the tuned of BBD120 million. There was also the view that government’s haste to dump its minority holdings in the former Barbados National Bank, now Republic Bank, was to ‘shield’ this transaction in the wash.

What Toppin’s intervention did was to force Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to issue a clarification statement. BU understands the MoF’s explanation concerning the need to protect sensitive discussions by honouring non disclosure agreements. We also have applied similar understanding to the CLICO and Barrack transactions. Hell we understand why we the TAXPAYERS should not be told one damn thing. Those of us who understand the ramifications of the pending decisions will continue to live in hope that we will be told how a few people in smoked fill rooms will guide our future as well as our offspring.

In light of the Toppin revelation that government had to honour an obligation to two bond holders, how does this position the Barbados government? Can we draw a conclusion that the Barbados Government – or we the people – are owners of what use to be a picturesque piece of property at Black Rock?

.Extracted from the Facebook page of Avinash D. Persaud posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2012 at 12:44am (FB time). Persaud is the Executive Chairman Paradise Beach Limited which is known as Four Seasons. Please note item 5.

1. It is a 110-key, Four Seasons operated and managed hotel, at Paradise on the west coast, plus Four Seasons-serviced villas and apartments, in all occupying 33 acres.

2. The project was suspended in February 2009, as a result of the global financial crisis and the attendant collapse of private sector investment. This challenging environment, in which private investors are often looking for extreme, short-term-returns and un-Barbadian exemptions from labor and environmental laws, stymied a handful of previous rescue attempts.

3. If the project had failed, 300, largely Barbadian trade creditors would have been left with approximately $34m of debts being unpaid.

4. Seeking to avoid the adverse economic and reputational consequences of default and buying time to find a long-term solution, the Government guaranteed a $120m loan from ANSA Merchant Bank. No Government cash was transferred but until the guarantee is fully released the Government will appoint 4 of the 8 Directors of Paradise Beach Limited.

5. If the guarantee is called by ANSA McAl, all lands and assets of Paradise Beach Limited will then transfer to the Government. The lands were independently valued recently at $200m.

6. At the centre of the long-term recapitalization plan, is sufficient funding to complete and open the hotel without depending on the timing of villa sales. This requires a further capital injection of $260m to complete and open the hotel. On December 9th, the Inter-American Development Bank’s private sector arm backed the recapitalization plan and obtained internal credit approval for an IDB-led syndicate of $180m. This is a commercial loan to a private entity, it is not a loan to the Government and is not guaranteed, though because the IDB is owned by Member States, the IDB requires no-objection from the Government.

7. In obtaining internal credit approval, the IDB credit committee commissioned independent studies on the commercial viability of the hotel and comparison with similar hotels. These studies indicated the hotel was strongly commercially viable in the long-term. The project’s financials were further vetted by PWC, the global accounting firm. The Government and all potential investors have seen sight of these reports.

8. The IDB-led syndicate will disburse $180m, once the IDB Board has ratified the decision of its credit committee – expected shortly – and the project has spent $80m of non-IDB loan proceeds. $60m of this $80m will likely come from NIS Barbados. This investment will be purchased in Barbados dollars but will pay out in US dollars providing much needed diversification for the NIS. The remaining $20m is expected from Four Seasons and other investors in current discussions with the Company. Four Seasons has only ever invested once before in its 83 operated hotels at the stage of pre-investment – because they are an operator not an investor with investment funds, investment committees and investment professionals – and is a measure of their confidence in the hotel.

9. There will be an initial 150 jobs within 4 weeks of disbursement to resume work on infrastructure and villas and this ramps up within 9 months of the disbursement to 1200 local construction jobs for 3 years when the construction of the hotel will commence. The 9 months will provide for the detailed drawings for the redesigned hotel to be completed and contractor appointed after the tendering process required by the IDB and ANSA is completed. There will be $700m of construction spend on the hotel and villas. On opening of the hotel there is expected 875 permanent local jobs and $100m of annual foreign currency receipts.

10. The presence of Four Seasons will bring to Barbados the marketing and branding power of the world’s number one hotel brand, which will significantly complement the marketing budget of the Barbados Tourism Authority and extend the Barbados brand to new and important markets.

11. IMF has not frowned upon the Four Seasons investment by the NIS, quite the opposite. The IMF is recommending the NIS diversify its assets more. Everyone would consider placing less than 2.0% of NIS investments in an investment that earns its returns from well-to-do tourists, not local tax-payers, is backed by the IDB – the world’s largest development bank – and Four Seasons – the number one hotel brand- and vetted by independent experts, as prudent diversification

1. @Caswell “our leaders default position is to tell lies even when the truth would not hurt or cause embarrassment”

Cuh dear Caswell man!!!!

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As hard as you all try, this “issue” raised by the “man whose suits dont fit well” on the BLP political platform and now on BU is really a non issue.

This is all water under the bridge. You jokers going down the same road that you went down the last five years. It didnt help you then and it wont help you now.

I wont waste two seconds debating this foolishness!!

Find something constrictive to talk about .

3. ever since that whole thing bout the world ending in 2012 peoples been acting strange what say you I doubt that project will continuethose men already gotten there pockets full up till now its like government is on stand by? for something someone well it sure looks like they jus got these ends of projects and big fests going on like party till the world ends its looking like its all about partying ends of projects tekking ppls $$$$ and gearing up for something

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

The ‘independent’ valuation would seem to relate to a value of BDS$129 per square foot. What value, if any would be placed on the existing incomplete structures and any costs related to removing them and starting all over again?

5. A judicial review of government abuse of the national insurance fund by investing in a project without obtaining expert independent advice which is not in the interest of the members the scheme.

6. David (not BU) Avatar

“I wont waste two seconds debating this foolishness!!” thank god for small wonders.

7. Adrian Loveridge wrote “existing incomplete structures and any costs related to removing them and starting all over again?”

The structures are concrete and steel. I am sure they could be completed but there are Architects and Structural Engineers to determine what is the best option.

This project failed because the principals involved did not plan the project financing properly.
    Maybe they should look at the New 4 Seasons Toronto project I alluded to earlier.

8. Hants do you know what happens to steel from China when it is exposed to salt air for several years? 4 years or more?
    Jada is now importing labour from India saw some on the road today and was told that they are from India. They are being housed at some posh apartments in St. Peter. They were brought in to do specialized work I was told. I wonder how/who they got work permits for these workers?

9. If this is true, and I have no reason to doubt it, how can Jada, headed by New Barbadians, be importing Indian cheap labour when official unemployment in Barbados is about 12 per cent, and in reality about 25 per cent. Where are our immigration officers, our police, our tax officials? If Jada is found to be importing these workers, who gave them permission? If it is illegal, are we going o fine Jada, or preferably, withdraw Barbadian citizenship from its principals?

10. islandgal246 wrote “Hants do you know what happens to steel from China when it is exposed to salt air for several years? 4 years or more?”

No I don’t but if I needed to know I would hire an appropriately qualified Engineer to tell me. What I do know is that it would probably take 10 years for exposed rebar to rust enough to be useless.
    That is a personal (not expert) opinion.

11. @Caswell

tell us what is a judicial review and under what circumstances would or could one be requested?

@Hal

u did not say whether u r going to make a donation to the projects i mentioned, those are worthwhile casues. What saay ye.

12. @ To the Point

As a concerned citizen I will gladly make a contribution to a fund to make a judicial review, but only if you could get a senior lawyer to act pro bono. I will not contribute if an expensive lawyer is going to charge us for the privilege.

13. A senior will NOT take these kinds of cases that will challenge the status quo.

@islandgal

What you have stated is serious business, we need to confirm this to be the case. Were advertisements for work permits carried in the press as required? Those on the ground know that work permits can be fast tracked based on who is the applicant.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | March 24, 2013 at 4:48 PM |
    “If Jada is found to be importing these workers, who gave them permission? If it is illegal, are we going o fine Jada, or preferably, withdraw Barbadian citizenship from its principals?”

You really don’t know what going on in Barbados today? Do you know who jada really is? It’s the corporate face of the money men that control the DLP and would be in receipt of any major contract that does not involve funding by the IDB or other foreign investors.
    Who do you think was one of the major financiers of the DLP heavy spending campaign for the last general elections. The old lady in the Transport Board bus ad?

What jada wants jada gets; Indian workers and all.

15. Well some have sought to pay attention to the beginning of this project.

Those persons have recognised the mealy hands of Owen Seymour Arthur and his Minister of Labour at the time who allowed this project to be overrun by Chinese labour…..without having the requisite work permits !

The BWU rightly protested this wanton abuse of Barbados’ Labour Laws.

In the lead up to the 2007 Cricket World Cup the same OSA and his Minister of Labour allowed the Indians to work on Kensington Oval without the requisite work permits and at STARVATION wages. These Indians were even housed in buildings owned by BIDC. And the great OSA raised no alarm ! Even though there was widescale national condemnation of this wanton abuse again.

There was a valid reason why OSA didn’t gave 2 hoots.

Because it was the same OSA who announced to all and sundry……that he employed ILLEGAL Guyanese to build kitchen cabinets at his private residence.

No wonder when the Pemberton group could not get around the BWU with they trick (which received the blessings of OSA) to employ ILLEGAL Chinese on the Four Seasons project……they angrily pulled up stumps.

I repeat again……the only truth OSA has uttered since January 2008…is when he stood up in Parliament and said ” BLAME ME OSA FOR EVERYTHING BAD, UGLY and INDIFFERENT THAT HAPPENED IN BARBADOS……between 1994 – 2008 ”

And the Four Seasons project began during the 1994 – 2008 period while the great OSA ruled the roost in BIM.

I believe Miller can recall that fact and display honesty for once !

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To The Point

Please don’t take this as a definitive answer. A judicial review is a trial where the court examines the process of the decision making as opposed to the actual decision to determine if is done within the law. The court can examine administrative acts or omissions, with few exceptions.

The Administrative Justice Act defines an administrative act or omission as: “an act or omission of a Minister, public official, tribunal, board, committee or other authority of the Government of Barbados exercising, purporting to exercise or failing to exercise any power or duty conferred or imposed by the Constitution or by any enactment”.

17. I hear from a BIGUP REALTOR that not much property over 350,000$ is selling on Bim and that property has dropped 52%.
    I take it that IF the 4 seasons was re re re re started that the properties would be priced to sell at 349,000 .99 cents.????
    WHAT the PHUC we want MORE overpriced property when ent shit sellin anyway???
    La la la
    Sounds of Music.
    Run thro the grass with hair blowing in the wind.
    This is Friggin make beleive isnt it.
    Like Barbados is BUST and we ARE discusssing ,raising the DEAD???
    Line up Lineup!!!
    Wait your turn suckers for a chance to buy a BARGAIN, a Decaying Re re re started,overpriced dwelling on HMS Barbados/Titanic.
    Come and get Shot (not fatally) robbed. raped, your children killed,feel assured our lawyers will care for your money(maybe fore ever),legal matters settled quickly (The DPP just changes the facts),see police in action, along with Pigs flying and the PM nailing Financial jelly to the ceiling.
    Pay Ludicrous land tax ,overpriced water bills,get Phuced around by immigration , see your investments disappear in a PPUFF of devaluation.
    ALL THE FUN OF the FAIR.
    ROLL UP ROLLUP!!!!!

18. mr austin, i am saying to u, instead of talking about a judicial review and politcal bullshit, pledge to give money to needy causes to lisa daisley and the homeless project. This would be a good humanitarian gesture, u dont need no lawyer for this, be a good overseas based barbadian and contribute to the less fortunate. I will pledge to make a contribution, what say ye?

19. Dr. Love…………….it’s called living in LA LA LAND.

Hal……………as long as you involve any local lawyer, you can guarantee it will go to hell in a hand basket. If you really must, bring your own lawyer who can practice in Bim and who is willing to do pro bono work, otherwise, just follow the advice of TTP. I know that your intentions are good, but you also have to face the reality that is Bim.

20. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

@Alvin Cummins
    ‘Boots’,I will be brief.In using the word ‘catholic’,I meant to convey the uncritical acceptance by DLP supporters of anything coming forth from the DLP hierarchy.The likes of Sinckler,Sealy,Jones,Stuart tell you guys jump,you ask how high.
    The 4 Seasons was moving along well enough but you DLP hacks peppered the call in programmes about Barbados being sold to foreigners and west coast being sold to the highest bidder etc.and locals were being excluded from west coast beaches(recall the famous walk of the ombudsman )All DLP lies.
    Then you write of imported Chinese labour.The Chinese were in Bim since the 80’s and brought in under your party people.They built Deighton Griffith,Lester Vaughan,Queens and the Dame Elsie complex of the Ministry of Education.Barbados had to bring in Guyanese artisans to cope with the vast amount of building going on in Bim,in other words there was more than enough work for bajans to cope with but you DLP catholics were so desperate to
    kill the fatted calf for your party supporters that you could’nt separate truth from fiction;as I said ..catholic supporters.Liars,cheats,thieves.Now you have this country in an unholy mess and you will not get any investment as long as the DLP forms the gvernment of Barbados because you are all a bunch of liars and swindlers.Nobody can have confidence in the DLP.You change your song everyday..you cannot be trusted.

21. am i to understand from the article that barbados government will have to pay the $120 000 000.00 but will get $200 000 000 in property? if so, then it does not sound like such a bad deal at all.

22. Gabriel Tackle
    The first job the Chinese did in Barbados was to build the Gary Sobers Gym. This was long before Q.C and the other jobs.
    To the DLP Supporters
    It is time the DLP stop blaming the last BLP administrations for the ills of Barbados. You did this for five years, the electorate of Barbados have re-elected you,come with a new approach, stop the blame game and get on with finding solutions to a critically ill Barbados.

23. I have referred to the Chinese generosity already. If we have 12 per cent unemployment, and even higher among the important 16-24 cohort, why are we allowing Indians and Chinese to take our low or non-skilled jobs?
    More important, two things about the Chinese largesse: they do not like renovations as we have seen from the Eyrie great house and the refusal to fund the Empire. They prefer to build on green sites, as with the Community College, where they vandalised the site with second rate buildings.
    Second, China has as a policy a preferment for bilateral agreements, in which they try to bully single states. Caricom should be entering multi-lateral agreements with China, but form all kinds of selfish reasons Caricom is a failure.
    Lastly, when China built the 2007 Cricket World Cup stadium in Grenada, they sent 250 workers to work on the site. On bilateral condition was that they all had to stay on, a common China trick (they also export people).
    What they did not tell the Grenadian authorities was that nearly all, if not all, of the workers were ex-convicts.
    What sweetens goat mout’…..

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ june boy | March 26, 2013 at 5:32 AM |

They, the DLP elected MPs, sound so pathetic. Everything that is a problem in Bim today is the direct result of some event that took place between 1995-2007.
    Even the recent findings by the Auditor General covering operations over the last 5 years are placed at the doorstep of the BLP.
    But what is even more off-putting is that the contagion has spread to the Senate in its new session. McClean, Ince & Hunte continue to blame the BLP for every shortcoming in public administration. Even the ravages of the tropical storm Tomas are placed in the windsock of the BLP.
    We want to hear from these senators especially Tony Marshall and Dr. Carmichael questions regarding how the government will be financing the $1.2 billion deficit. Not just sticking a figure in to make it look presentable as a set of budgeted submissions. How can we as a country finance such a large projected deficit with an already $9 billion debt burden and a junk bond status label around our neck?

25. It is an intellectual default position. They can easily blame their parents, or grand parents, or the sun not shining. At some point they must realise that they are in charge and they cannot continue to pass the blame.
    We as a society are to blame – our best people would not become involved.

26. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

Fractured BLP= why don’t you leave OAS alone, you have won the election by thieving, & buying votes, you are in power, you have a thieving liar as a minister of Finance, so continue to lie & steal. Where are you going to get 600 millions dollars from, when it was told 90 million was too much. Give us a break, one of your ministers once said TIME IS LONGER THAN TWINE. So shut up & go to sleep like your PM.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Imagine NOT A WINK from the Central Bank governor bout this $120 million Bond repayment……Is like it never existed nor has any implications on our future outlook….”independence eh”…..swallow dear suckers…swallow and get accustomed….unna ent see the real shaft yet..

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply