Chris Sinckler,Minister of Finance

The Draft Estimates 2013-14 and related documents are available for public comment.

Hon. Chris Sinckler will move the Second Reading of the Appropriation Bill, 2013 on Monday 25th of March 2013.

240 responses to “The Estimates Debate 2013-2014”

1. miller why you sounding so frustrated.you the one to shut to f…..k up .we all know that this leadership role is too hard for mottley and as for OSA we don.t expect much of a fight or debate from him since he sitting in waiting awaiting to see MAM failure .

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 18, 2013 at 12:47 PM |

Methinks your purpose would be better served by telling your party that they are the government and not the BLP. Stop blaming the BLP for everything under the sun.
    Get on with the role of governing and not blaming.

The hallmark of an effective government, especially one re-elected to office, is to accept responsibility for what it has been elected to handle. You and other DLP yardfowls remind us of a person hired to do a job knowing full well the challenges involved but constantly tells his employer that the mess left by the previous jobholder is insurmountable and unsolvable. We are tired of your constant blaming others for the present situation now 6 years in the making.

Now please let go of the past. You will be surprised what great wonders and relief it can bring to you.

Any news about the Four Seasons? Sounding a bit frustrated here for a simple answer!

3. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@ac u and de rest could stop with this OSA shite all de time man it so childish getting on like if u did want de man to ….u and he aint pay u na mind ,look de man lost de election ya mean wunna aint satisfied wha more wunna want ,he win he seat get over it and let we get on with de estimates

4. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

I trying to understand who this gov’t trying to fool, themselves, the populace or both. The gov’t cannot continue to run this economy the way it is and Chris Stinkler want to ask the opposition where the CUTS are going to come from???. He can only be asking this question in a rhetorical way because HE is the Minister of Finance, nobody else, and HE is going to have to make some HARD, HARD decisions, it is just a matter of time. CEOs and Managing Directors have to make hard decisions sometimes and have to make them early because it could mean the differences between hurting some workers or filing for bankruptcy, shutting down the company and hurting all the workers. Chris Stinkler and this DLP gov’t is in the same boat and the more they dilly dally, the worst it is going to get.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | March 18, 2013 at 5:13 PM |

This is serious, very, very serious for Barbados.
    The Daily Mail is very popular among that section of British society who used to find Barbados to be an attractive destination for the tropical vacation.
    Bim is really on the brink. Our PM and MoT need to take a trip by the first or second week of April to try to stem the damage.

6. Listening to Sinckler it seemed clear to me that he is preparing the country for some hard decisions.

7. What does restructure of the Public Sector means Minister Sinckler?

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observer | March 18, 2013 at 5:21 PM |

What has he said to make you come to such a “pessimistic doom & gloom” position?
    Would you call restructuring the economy using RE, agriculture, and cultural industries “hard decisions”?

Certainly restructuring public entities with layoffs can’t be on the cards neither can any privatization programme.
    Or should we also focus on crime that is destroying our major forex earner?

9. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

So this DLP Govt is now borrowing to the tune of 100million per month,up from 40-50million per month on current account.Trouble ahead capitan!

10. Listening to Mia Mottley in her reply to Chris sinckler today , you can tell that Mia is disgusted of all the $hite that Owen Arthur did between 1994 – 2008. Nearly every sentence in her presentation she was heard to exasperate , ” it is not the member for St. Peter alone!”

Boy you could tell that Mia hates his guts as much a Miller and enough does !!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel Tackle | March 18, 2013 at 5:50 PM |

But the idiot for a Tourism Minister before dealing with his neck of the woods to protect our major forex earning sector is talking bare crap.

Blaming the high expenditure on debts incurred pre 2007.
    How does he explain the jump from $4.8 billion in 2007 to almost $9 billion?
    Is that massive increase due to the DLP servicing and repayment of the same debt incurred prior to 2008?
    The man is a total fool. The boy must deal with his portfolio and not national finance for which he is totally out to sea.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 18, 2013 at 5:55 PM |
    “1994-2008”
    A period you speak about like the Renaissance. A period perpetually lodged in the vocal space of the DLP.
    Continue to harp.

13. yardfowls on both sides should learn from this picture.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/sincklerstimulus-package-on-way/

14. @Fractured Brain Less Pimp,
    “Mottley responds by saying that we have to take major decisions but refuses to suggest one.The election is over and it is time for solutions”……

You must be really think that the BLP is dumb like you. You got us in this royal mess, do your best to dig yourselves out. You really think that the BLP will give you ideas, you win, govern. The BLP gave ideas about how to restructure statutory corporations and how to stop the bleeding of scare taxpayers monies and after agreeing that something had to be done as per the Sinkliar, you scoundrels took an old DLP yardfowl and used her to scare the pensioners of this country and then you and CCC have the nerve to come here and bragged that it worked.

Well, you “WON”, govern!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 18, 2013 at 6:17 PM |

Birds of a feather tend to flock together both in and outside Parliament.
    Your ace colleague (ac) in the fowl pen should take special note.

Never mind the bullshit talk from both sides. The question is where would this $600 million come from? It must eventually end up on the government’s books with a 25% mark up as repayment for campaign funding.

This off-balance sheet financing ploy would be easily spotted by the credit rating agencies and mark us down accordingly.

But who cares about them anyway? They along with the IDB and IMF can go and “F” themselves. Bim is an island and we can go it alone. The rest of the world can piss off, tourist and all. If they dare come to Bim we will rob them and shoot them.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | March 18, 2013 at 6:28 PM |

Well said!

The days of the DLP gloating over a Pyrrhic victory are now at an end.
    Let them face the music and simmer in their own juices of concocted lies, stealing and cheating.
    These guys don’t realise they have been reelected to govern. Still blaming everything on a pre-2008 bogeyman. They sound so passé.

But it is well with our souls. Time is on our side. They will self-destruct sooner than planned.

17. But wait, miller, how comes we are now hearing from Sinkliar about a 600 million stimulus package when they said before elections….. what stimulus what? He said they were sticking to the MTFS, the CBB said no one can do any better……they pooh pooh the BLP’s suggestion of a stimulus then, now all of a sudden, they have a 600 million stimulus plan.

My goodness me, do they think we are ignorant? But where is Sinkliar going to get all these millions from, with less and less people working, income taxes will be down, with businesses doing less and less business, corporation taxes will be down, with less and less persons working, the less the NIS contributions will be and the less money the government will have to use!

We are really up shit street!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | March 18, 2013 at 7:20 PM |

Why doesn’t the buffoon liar stop the bullshit and come clean with the people?
    If the government is finding it extremely difficult to meet the monthly wages and salaries (including pensions) bill every month where will it get money to carry out these massive projects without borrowing from overseas?

The question is who would lend us with a junk bond status?
    The IDB would be prepared but only if the manpower rationalization and privatization of statutory corporations are implemented and certain central government functions are outsourced or disbanded (as previously agreed).

Yes indeed we are in deep old 1992 shit and the reelected rose tree trimmer Stinkliar is telling up everything is under control and smelling of DLP (destructive lying party) perfume.

19. So after Day I of the Estimates and the obligatory bashing offered by both sides, what were the takeaways?

20. BU has always been supportive of the DLP’s position of protecting the forex reserves. See what is beginning to happen in Jamaica?

21. old onion bags Avatar

Hello Hello…….but wait I miss anything? Dey start sending home people yet?.. I hear Humphrey Walcott Building start mekkin preparations already…
    Hello, BTW…….notice I doan um inhay an argue anymore wid dem 2 palin cock fools…who dem name now?…Miller ,prodigal waana can’t wait doa? Give dem lil time nah……dem soon start to back peddle ..and all dem ones in yello shirt gine buse dem rass clat backweards……..Ah wonda what gine b said……..We know all ya had mo sense than dat…..It was inevitable….or simply…..we shall not lie , cheat or steal….wanna figga um out..

22. David;
    I heard just a little of the debate, but from what I heard, the main takeaway was that we are indeed in deep economic doodoo as expected. The takeaways on the two sides were that Sinckler has accepted some of the the BLP pre-election suggestions (a 600 million stimulus package) and Mia Mottley has indicated that she is the fight to the finish line. The concerted lies, innuendos etc. that are typical DLP strategy, will not deter her from doing what she has to do but she and her team are willing to work with Government to find workable solutions if properly asked.

I’m not holding my breath for Sinckler to ask the BLP anything. That’s not his style, neither is it the style of the PM. Cussing people who they consider to be down, in bajan and latin respectively is. They will do the minimum required for righting the economy at FS’ pace and the devil take the hindmost. I’m usually wrong so I hope that I will continue that record vis a vis the above prediction.

When the individual heads are discussed we will get a clearer picture of by how much belts will have to be tightened over the next 5 years. Hope that before the end of these debates the Government will declare a significant voluntary belt tightening for their parliamentarians. That might help to cushion the damage.

23. Ryan Seacrest, host of American Idol compiled a list from Youtube of his favourite Maroon 5 covers from for his “best Maroon 5 cover” contest. Turns out NexCyx from little Barbados was selected and made it to Round 2. Barbados, help your own win this GLOBAL contest by visiting the link below and voting NexCyx.

http://ryanseacrest.com/2013/03/13/round-2-vote-your-favorite-maroon-5-cover/

24. Just voted David.

Listened to this band for the first time. Very talented. The Singer and the Drummer are awesome.

Hope they make it on the world stage.

25. A predictable “oppose,oppose,oppose” estimates speech by Mottley. Once again, it is clear that Mottley is playing politics first and then thinking about cooperation and bipartisanship second.
    Mottley repeats the same old talking points: Keep noise about the need to cut the deficit and then offer no specifics .
    It shows that the BLP with the largest number of seats of an opposition in independent Barbados is not serious about any deficit reduction. If Mottley wants the government to change its policy of not sending home public servants, she and the BLP should be honest enough to say that.
    But Mottley in one breath says that government needs to cut spending and then she has the audacity in the same speech to complain about different ministries and departments who have seen reductions in their budget allocations.Mottley had an opportunity to show some class. She failed miserably and confirms that the BLP strategy is to keep campaigning. For Mottley, it seems to be all about power. No wonder she would stand in St. Mary’s church on Sunday and talk about “regretable that they did not win the election”. That seems to be her only focus.POWER.

26. MIA response was weak and predictable one that sinckler is used to. just a carry over from her last budget.nothing of substance to offer. one could sense how sinckler used scarcasm as he gingerly taunt her into giving alternative solutions to his proposal of putting people back to work.evidently as one would figure she doesn’t have any. so she resorts to the constant drum beat of doom and gloom.

27. The BLP is predictably critical. That is the role of the Opposition side of Parliament or so I am told by the “experts” on things about Government, politics etc. So ….

Is the often mentioned Medium Term Fiscal Strategy succeeding in achieving its stated objectives?

A good answer should first state the objectives and then provide evidence to substantiate the conclusion.

28. The DLP’s plan to protect jobs is noble however with a depressed economy in tow for the last four or five years and more to come, the fear is that the current strategy is not sustainable unless there is growth.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | March 18, 2013 at 10:13 PM |

We keep telling you that it is not the BLP Opposition that this DLP administration should be wary of. What the government needs to be extremely concerned about are the credit rating agencies, the IDB, IMF, other lenders both local and overseas and the possible lack of confidence by overseas investors.
    We shall see how well this government does to help finance this massive deficit as it seeks to raise US $175 million in the overseas markets carrying around a junk bond label to its application.

This administration can continue to lie to and even fool the local population and even ignore the Auditor General reports on the unreliable state of the government finances as recorded in the suspect financials. But it cannot pull wool over the eyes of credit rating agencies or the IDB. Why do you think this administration is unable to draw down more soft loans available to it? Evidence of project implementation and proper accounting must be satisfied before any funds are reimbursed in foreign currency.

Why do you think this administration is unable to access the US $33 million in balance of payment support from the IDB applied for since mid 2012?

The lies told by this MoF about the shortfall in personal income tax receipts would comeback to haunt him and this administration. There was no need for such a blatant lie. $29 million has suddenly become $59 million just to score cheap political points as if the BLP is in government.
    If you can’t trust the MoF to be honest with simple things that most people know the reason for how can he be relied on to tell the nation truth when it comes to any IMF structural programme that could be ahead of us?

You really think that a projected $1.2 billion fiscal deficit would go unnoticed by overseas lenders and credit rating agencies?

30. Is there an announced reason why the testimony from day 1 of the Barbados leg of the Myrie matter at the CCJ is not available at CCJ’s website?

31. Oh miller stopn crying. Once people are put ton work the economy would srart to grow generating finances across the board also increasing productivity. your Privitisation quick fix get rich scheme would only increased unemployment making therich richer and the poor poorer and whatever financial benefits gained would be loss as govt pick up the slack of the unemployed leading to more poverty. Sinckler plan is viable and is sustainable as it put the country on a path forward by jobs growth and productivty

32. @Miller Mar 18 10.13 pm et aux
    You have it right Miller.The consequences of theuntruths will be revealed in due course.The problem is lack of CONFIDENCE in anything the MoF or the PM say.See the constituencies where the high rises are planned?These two are in bed together to buy their seats in Parliament next time around. The question is what are the priorities on which to expend scarce resources.The economy needs fixing first.Other considerations follow.

33. To repeat the issue is bigger than how well we implement economic policies. How are we able to mobilise all stakeholders to strengthen the social fabric of society?

34. U guys are really full of s…ht. any economist would tell u that preaching gloom and doom does not build consumer confidence. what truthfulness. an ecenomy is also built on phycological effect and the way it affects the consumer mindset .Doom and gloom hinders in that respect.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 19, 2013 at 11:35 AM |
    “Sinckler plan is viable and is sustainable as it put the country on a path forward by jobs growth and productivty”

So if his plan is viable why not start to implement and stop the blame game. Why continue to moan about the inability of his administration to bring about growth and to restructure economy because of 14 years of BLP misrule and the state of the World economy. If he has a plan then let him please get on with. He has been trying since he became MoF but like you, he seems to have OSA stuck in his craw.
    Blame, blame, blame!

Any plan for growth for jobs and productivity is only worth the paper it is written on unless there is finance to execute the plan.
    So the question to you and the MoF: Where is the money going to come from? The NIS even thought he can’t even restart Four Seasons? Not a mention from him in his long diatribe of lies and misleading figures of fiction. The only figures to be relied upon in those Estimates representing figments of his imagination are those related to statutory emoluments.
    Get the Four Seasons restarted and we will listen to him and drop the gloom and doom harangue.

PS: We notice you have started to back-pedal or “soften up” on the Privatization inevitability. Even the unions are beginning to confess to seeing the inevitable outcome of any public sector restructuring. Are you behind them, ac?

36. @Miller
    “Get the Four Seasons restarted and we will listen to him and drop the gloom and doom harangue.”
    Maybe we need to check with the lawyer for the Four Season project who is being paid sweetly on retainer and find out what is the reason for the delay?
    By the way, what is the official BLP position on Four Seasons?
    At least one person in Parliament has benefitted from Four Seasons and that person is someone you like and know very well.
    Can you tell me if she is still the lawyer for the project? I hear the pay is even better than the $14 000 a month she gets as opposition leader.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | March 19, 2013 at 4:32 PM |
    “By the way, what is the official BLP position on Four Seasons?

Same as the DLP! Dead in the water and returning to being a monkey sanctuary! When do you plan to visit your family?

38. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

!
    You have the gall to ask what’s the official position?Left to the BLP that project would have been finished.The DLP led by the dead king who will not lie,cheat nor steal,in cahoots with the BWU shut down that project in 2007, when it was moving full steam ahead.If I were the BLP,I would let all you DLP choke in your own spittle.Pirates all!

39. What is Mia Mottley’s position on the Four Seasons Project?
    Has she resigned as the attorney for the project?

40. Day II of the Estimates, what are the takaways today?

41. I was disappointed but not surprised at the poor quality of the submissions by the new BLP Mps. They adopted the same angry partisan approach as their leader Mottley. How unfortunate to start their political terms with such vitriol. Someone needs to remind the BLP that the election is over.
    Dwight Sutherland was not impressive – he rambled and had to be corrected over and over. I wish the young man well but he is no Louis Tull.
    As for Santia Bradshaw, she should stick to entertainment, her contribution on tourism was poor.
    I think that Ronald Toppin must be wondering why he was fired as Shadow Minister of Tourism.

42. The BLP obviously was not prepared for opposition. They seem to be still in shock that they are back in opposition and therefore it seems that the same campaign speeches are being repeated.
    How can the BLP keep saying that the government needs to cut spending and then in every speech lament about the reductions in allocations to ministries.
    We cannot have it both ways.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 19, 2013 at 5:14 PM |
    “Day II of the Estimates, what are the takaways today?”

The only takeaway is that the government is drowning in debt and the productive sectors and social services are being hurt as a result as the need to service and escalating debt situation. Money borrowed to support import-based consumption instead of investment in the productive sectors.

With a stagnant and declining economy whose major tax sources are transactional in nature and with the ongoing need to borrow to pay bills on the current account including interest on borrowed funds something has to give.
    Expect some kind of fiscal eruption very soon. We have a simmering fiscal volcano on our hands.

44. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

I really want to know about this Medium Term Fiscal Strategy. Does it really exist or is it part of the smoke and mirrors the DLP usually try to fool the public with. If i had to judge by the estimates, and the progress of the economy over the last 3 years and on Moody’s and S&P ratings it has been a calamatious failure. If you listen to the DLP on the MTFS they don’t speak with any conviction to make barbadians feel that it is a real plan. Very little if any thing has been done regarding this Medium Term Failed Strategy.
    The DLP now want to accuse the BLP of not putting out alternatives but to me is only a veiled acceptance that their methods have failed. The DLP has been in power for 5 years and has won the last election. surely they cannot want to blame somebody or something else for their failures. Barbadians are watching the DLP. Like Bob Marley said you can fool some people sometimes but not everybody every time.

45. Poor millergot he bibedees all in knots waiting fuh the rock to fall over the fiscal cliff if govt don,t sell the little left realestate to the highest bidders and we all become hand to mout beggars.but lemme tell you something miller hell will freeze over before that happen.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 19, 2013 at 7:18 PM |

But we are already “hand to mout beggars”. What would you call selling the remaining BNB shares way below market value? Selling to the highest beggars and not even bidders? Now that is real ‘paro’ economics.

Ac, you better get ready for the big freeze and let an Eskimo sell you some ice to build an igloo
    Next move to be announced by the MoF is the sale of 30% of shares in GAIA Inc & Port George Fergusson as the promised IPO.

47. I’m not hearing any more talk about paying Mr Barrack; are we going to wait until the debt reach $ 100 million ?

48. what about the rumoured sale of npc?

49. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I must commend the Barbados Advocate for fair and balanced coverage of the Estimates debate so far. The Advocate has clearly risen to the occasion ans is giving both sides equal and adequate coverage.
    CBC TV is also showing the contributions of both sides and that is good that we get to see excerpts of the actual speeches.
    The Nation newspaper needs to stop spinning the news and just report it. However, over the next few days, The Nation newspaper will predictably have Sanka Price, Clyde Mascoll,Pat Hoyos and Albert Brandford cursing the government while giving a free pass to the opposition.
    The election is over but the Nation newspaper is still campaigning for the BLP.

Leave a Reply to Well WellCancel reply