Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

I suppose you can put it down to my naivety, so long in coming, so many great expectations and then in hindsight, the reality of the situation. Almost 40 percent of the eligible electorate chose not to vote, the status quo re-elected for a second term by a precariously small majority and just microscopic adjustments made to the governance of an industry in crisis. At least, that seems to be the scenario, so far.

Clearly there are plus points. Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner, appointed as a Parliamentary Secretary in the reconfigured Ministry and Tourism and International Transport, when many of us years later are still puzzled why the two bodies were ever separated in the first place. The Senator brings her abilities in marketing to the table at a time when this discipline is needed more than ever.

Shadowing the Ministry is Member of Parliamant Santia Bradshaw and while I don’t want to diminish her abundant legal qualifications, I am far from convinced we need or want any more lawyers involved in tourism policymaking. But she is also an entrepreneur and after looking at her website, I was personally impressed with the high level of presentation. Hopefully she can add value and youthful objectivity to the sector from a constructive opposition stance.

Now is the time for solutions.

A line in the sand has been indelibly etched: to re-state what many of us have been saying for months. While the global recession and the dreaded APD tax have helped stifle growth in visitor arrival numbers, they are not the sole causes of our dismal performance in tourism. Now this has been established beyond any reasonable doubt, it is time to move on and implement policies that will restore viability to the industry.

‘All the signs suggest Caribbean tourism is rallying’ and a ‘5.4 percent growth rate outpaced the rest of the world’. These comments attributed to Chairwoman of the CTO, Beverly Nicholson-Doty when referring to statistics for 2012. With Easter just over two weeks away, traditionally arrival volumes start to fall very soon after. This means we are currently facing an extended softer eight long summer months without any national marketing plan in place. What really puzzles me is that both Government and the BTA have failed to explain the fiscal challenges they are currently encountering honestly to the private sector. There has been this cloak of silence, while the public sector seems to enjoy this assumed comfort of continued employment almost at any cost.

But as we enter the shoulder season, thousands of tourism workers have genuine concern, whether they will keep their jobs or have working hours severely reduced to dramatically lower living standards for them and their families. Frankly, it has been an appalling job of public relations in keeping the private sector fully informed and ‘we’ should all learn from this.

Following the tragic events of 911, with all the then associated impending doom and gloom that threatened our number one industry, a meeting of key players in tourism was convened to brainstorm our options at that time. It was, in my opinion, one of the most productive meetings that I have attended in twenty five years. Maybe, its time again, to put the politics aside and focus exactly how we are going to kick-start what fuels our economy.

1. @ Bushie

Look Bushie why D brass sole you callin my name fa?….You ent see me hay fa de longest while

Lying low drinking d-grouse
    Quite as a mouse
    Ent troubling a louse
    Enjoying my poems n souse
    But now about to buss a cuff
    In a fellow cawmere frouse

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 11, 2013 at 10:13 PM |

You are purposely omitting one off the list.
    OSA’s fishbone stuck in ac’s craw for the last 14 years going on 20 causing permanent constipation at one end constant verbal diarrhoea from the other orifice.

When you are able to vomit up the OSA bile we might just move on with you and see Barbados as a thriving paradise with a booming economy and smiling tourists in the millions on our pristine beaches.

3. onions you still steusping after the BLP got anothe five years in the wilderness…..how yuh like that downgrade………..Poem and souse u on a diet.

4. No my darlin ac……I got new company…..pick bones on that one

Johnny Walker Black find a new friend…whaloss…..but I hear D grouse responsible for taking ur head hauncho Davidy…..so is like not much wee…gree ?

5. AC unlike you, I will not lie cheat nor steal about things I see going on around this piece of rock.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | March 11, 2013 at 9:05 PM |
    “I have several neem trees and have lots of aloes”

The Neem tree is one of the best natural protectors to have around the house. Besides providing excellent shade they can act as natural insecticide and pesticide. The tree can also be a village pharmacy.
    The miller has two and has given away many seedlings now turning into big trees themselves.

You could invite ac over to your place for some meditation and a cup of bitter Neem tea for her political blood cleansing. But given the way she thinks that Bim ought to be a national dump full of garbage all over the place and an acceptable eyesore, the Neem tree might just sway mightily as if a hurricane of waste is in the area.

BTW, do you get the hummingbirds and the other yellow breasted ones sucking the nectar from the aloe vera plant when it puts out its fertility stems?

7. Cyprian La Touche Avatar
    Cyprian La Touche

It is always so easy to slip away and run from the topic at hand,which is what needs to be done to fix our tourist industry. Dicussions about manufacturing and agriculture, and how many eggs need to go in whichever baskets,are all I ever hear about when we start to discuss this most difficult topic.

Blaming society is usually the first recourse of those,who either lack the imagination or intent to solve its many ills. We did not get where we are overnight and we will not get where we want to be by tomorrow night either. We have the right to,and must analyse and criticise those who have been elected and duly PAID to clear the path before us.

Too many times we choose to repeat the same mistakes,and refuse to accept the fact that we have been wrong and not wronged for all these years.The facts speak for themselves,the industry is in crisis and has been for a long time.Current programmes are not working,and even a cursory glance at those proposed, reveal a complete lack of imagination and will be ultimately doomed to dismal failure.

Have you seen the BTA’s promotional video featuring Rihanna?
    Follow me to Barbados? Are you freaking kidding me? Why would I want to come to Barbados ? To frolick in sugar canes and ride a rusty bicycle on a road? WHO IS YOUR TARGET AUDIENCE? Young people who recognise Rihanna and want to party ? Clearly NOT!!

I have no idea what these people are trying to do and obviously neither do they. Maybe we really should be spending our precious few dollars and going to Brazil and let them show us how such a campaign needs to be run.

8. Any ah wunna go’ a problem wid me pissing pun a pailin’? … I just want to know. It is one of a few remaining truly liberating cultural privileges …

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Redman,

You will see that my original column (Barbados Business Authority) does NOT mention Ms. Bradshaw as a Senator.

Miller,

Thank you for your balanced support.

Thank you for posting the CTO statistics. It makes a NONSENSE of the statement by Watching – that the figures ‘are dominated by the NON English speaking Caribbean’.
    The lengths that some go to disguise the truth.

10. All this lotta long talk from all yu – all saying in different ways the same thing – for there to be a change the leaders of this Island MUST by setting the example of passion, commitment & proper leadership begin the change themselves. This Country signs every International agreement in sight, Environmental, Money Laundering, the list goes etc etc & nothing is ever enforced.
    As a retired person I cannot believe the changes I have lived thru in this country & I am glad that I grew up when I did.

11. @Tudor

Your comment gets to the meat of the issue. A couple questions you could have asked to get to the meat of the matter using your references:

How many people have local authorities arrested in the last year for polluting the environment? Perhaps our friend Carl Moore has the statistics.

How many Barbadians have been arrested in the last FIVE years for money laundering.

12. Miller asked…. “BTW, do you get the hummingbirds and the other yellow breasted ones sucking the nectar from the aloe vera plant when it puts out its fertility stems?”

Good morning folks, yes Miller I have hummers and Bananaquits by the dozen in the garden. I also have a humming bird feeder that attracts both the hummers and the Banana quits, sparrows and lizards. I enjoy watching them try to scare each other off to protect the feeder. I have even documented the hummer and her babies. http://benthamshouse.blogspot.com/search/label/humming%20bird%20nest

13. Tudor

You retired now and you glad that you grew when you did …? Stupse. So you neva wuk behind a fluffy pun Kadooment day den… Don’ knock it till you try it hear …! My sympathies …

14. I was surfing the accomodation for crop-over, looking for something for the wife and kids, and of course I would send out emails checking cost, safety etc. and it dawned on me why am I having to do this? One of you computer guys could set up a web site where I type in what I want to spend and want and if anyone wants to fill a room or villa and the money works for them they call them back.Rather than the best advertized, or waiting for a call anybody could have a shot at a potential customer.A lot of people just book because they are tired of searching and use name recognition .Kind of like travelocity. Once the people come to your place then it is your job to keep them coming back.

15. LOL @ Onions
    RIPP

Don’t drink too much, you still have a lot of humble pie to eat.

Try and bring your tail back here on BU and tek ya licks like a true Cawmarian 🙂

16. old onion bags Avatar

Bush T
    Not Model T…..man you is a new kinda idiot or wat?…. Wid ac like a true lamprey and you say what? t…..man we all dun kno how tings went down…talk bout suprising dems selves……so wait if dey cud play huff um why should I play saint? Din Pilgrim not say..”foolishness dont breed sense.”……but such is life in the tropics.

17. On one of my trips to Bim, I threw a piece of garbage in a trash can in Bridgetown, and was promptly told by someone who was watching me “you could never be from bout here, putting garbage in a can” the comment made me wonder. Shortly thereafter I had cause to walk around the bus stand by river road and noticed the many trash cans available for garbage, however, right beside every trash can lay a heap of garbage. I was stunned to see it was acceptable to throw the garbage next to the can as opposed to in the can. I am sure I have not been the only one to notice this, tourists have eyes as well. Education from very young is sorely needed to stop this disgrace, and yes, when the same culprits go to Canada, US, etc, they are the cleanest persons on earth. Makes me think it’s because they are Bajan they take the island for granted and display reckless disregard. Correct me if I am wrong.

18. We must try fix each problem with a 360 degree view. There are the well known Bridgetown vagrants who have taken up residence which is fodder for another discussion. Do we need to do an Ed Koch?

19. This tutorial is indeed useful. I have just downloaded it. Thanks again

20. @ David
    What Ed Koch what!?!
    …all we need is a leader with a little common sense, a little vision and a lotta balls.
    These are all simple problems that any mature teenager can think through.
    What the hell would (will) we do when confronted with REAL problems – like there are in 80% of this world…..
    Stupseeeee…..

21. @Bush Tea

There is a pervasive belief by a generation of Barbadian that this is God’s country. Really!

22. That pervasive belief should be instrumental in letting them see that the country should be kept clean………otherwise, it means there is a serious problem with their thought processes.

23. All we need are people who are proud of their country and take pride in keeping it clean. all the hooting and howlering by the politicos does nothing to improve the image of our country. like jamaicans say “outta one many” that many means all of us indivually.

24. If NY City which was a disgustingly filthy mess and the 70’s and 80’s could be cleaned up somewhat in the 90’s, so could Barbados, absolutely no excuse can be offered………………it starts with the leaders.

25. Until the public is educated about the health risk and various bacteria attributed to disease due in partby unsanitary method which people used to disposed of garbage all the money spent for cleanup would be uselessas people only response to “cause and effect”what is needed is getting to the root cause and the source/s of this problem by way of education along with heavy fines..

26. Actually David, Barbados IS God’s country.

We have been blessed WAY beyond anything that we actually deserve. …Hell, we have been blessed DISPITE everything that we actually deserve.

One of these days, Bushie will even explain WHY this has been the case, but even without such an explanation, it should be easy to see that ….
    – our success in human development in the period after WW2;
    – our phenominal success in tourism (which Adrian seems to think is some national right);
    – our being spared the ravages of destructive hurricanes, earthquakes, droughts, etc UNLIKE even our neighbors…
    – The general lack of destructive violence (dispite greater disparities in ownership of assets than there is is some strife-torn jurisdictions)
    – ….among MANY other blessings
    …..have been way outside of the statistical average for other countries in this world of ours.

Have a look at the historical Hurricane paths for example, and see if a pattern is not clear….

This situation was so for a REASON, and for a TIME.

If we had been WISE, we would have stored away reserves during that time of blessings and plenty, and be fully prepared for the coming time of testing….
    We all know how THAT turned out…..

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Bush Tea, I certainly don’t think its a ‘national’ right. I know what it takes, as I have been working in tourism for 50 years and so has my wife.
    Those of us who make a living out of tourism, rarely get a second chance to get it right.

28. millertheanunnaki
    Adrian has earned more foreign exchange for this country than you and your ilk could ever do in a million years

Miller the spectacular cut ass you get on Feb 21 with more licks on the far horizon in 2018 give you double vision. Idiot you dont know Loveridge property is open 5 months of the year without security guards. Leave the fancy middle class terraces overlooking the ABC where you, onions and the bush T johnny reside and swing by Adrian’s place. Have a talk with other hotel folk or neighbours. What major foreign exchange what? Also didnt he tell us he sold the place?

The people responsible for tourism foreign exchange are the hardworking long suffering workers on the front lines giving their all to make a living in the process making visitors welcome and doing Barbados proud. I’ve got little time for owners and top management in some of our hotels. They believe they are the true rulers of our nation. The electorate never even heard of them but because all of ours eggs are in the tourism basket they blackmail GOB and make scandalous demands on the public purse indeed the country.

Thats why its a game changer for the Dems to restructure our economy weve got to to erect additional pillars for the economy to stand on by any means(legal lol) necessary. Thats why the Dems won and a BLP yardfowl like you lost. The BLP talking petty micro economics about little money in your pockets the Dees past that at the macro level tackling restructuring.

29. Hi Adrian,
    Your position on tourism is well taken and have been well argued. Bushie differs from you in the following respect.

Consider world champion Hussain Bolt.

This chap appeared out of the hills of Jamaica as a teenager and immediately demonstrated the kind of potential for performance that exceeded the statistical average by degrees.
    Bolt has gone on to establish all-time records and set new world standards.

At some point,(depending on how his talent is managed) he will decline in performance. At that point, we can take two contrasting positions

1 – Bold is lazy and playing the donkey, and needs to buckle Dow and train like he did in the early day in order to get back on top.

2 – Bold has been blessed with a special gift and talent and he has made good use of the opportunity that he has been blessed with. Now that phase of his life has passed, he should move on to the next phase – FOR WHICH HE SHOULD HAVE USED HIS GOOD FORTUNE to prepare.

Bushie’s is the latter position with respect to Barbados tourism, while you seem to be suggesting that Bolt has a responsibility to keep up with the Blakes of this world.

How is Bushie misreading your stance?

30. @watching …………..APPLAUSE! APPLAUSE! Loud and clear!

31. Where is the 5.4% robust growth david? Hear from powerhouse Jamaica.

KINGSTON, Jamaica — “A winter of discontent” is how Opposition spokesman on tourism, Edmund Bartlett, described the current winter tourism season in Jamaica.

“I am seeing that it is likely to be a winter of great discontent for Jamaica,” Bartlett told the Observer, Monday, explaining that the situation was having an adverse effect on the foreign exchange rate.
    Foreign currency trading resumed Monday morning with the United States dollar being sold for an average J$97.31 cents.

Basing his assessment on the latest tourism figures, Bartlett said that the tourism industry has suffered five consecutive months of decline since last October, at an average of two per cent per month and with January’s decline being as much as 4.7 per cent.

“The government has been preoccupied with finding ways to contract the economy so much that it has taken its eyes off the sectors of growth and the generation of foreign exchange, and they have not seemingly bothered to recognise that the tourism industry, the principal foreign exchange earner apart from remittances, has been experiencing five months of negative growth in stop-over arrivals, and the consequent reduction in foreign exchange earnings,” Bartlett told the Observer.

“This is unprecedented in, at least, the last ten years, because even during the worst recession in years, 2008-2011, we still had growth in stopover arrivals and earnings,” he said.

Bartlett also noted that the three main tourism markets for Jamaica — Canada the USA and the UK — which are responsible for a total 90 per cent of stopovers have been experiencing severe downturns. He said that Canada, which showed the most significant growth even during the recession, was nearly 15 per cent down in January.

“The UK last year was down 17 per cent and 12 per cent in January, and the US showed less than one per cent growth in January,” he said.

“Where is the ‘Bolt Bounce’ from the one million pounds spent on London last summer? Bartlett questioned.

He said that the growth in cruise visitors was far from sufficient to ease the situation, as such visitors represent only one percent of revenue.

According to Bartlett the situation has been so bad that some hotels have been rotating staff, which is unusual in winter, and the reduction was also affecting inflows into the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF) and the hotels’ room tax.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Bartlett-says-tourism-experiencing-a–winter-of-discontent-#ixzz2NLEiHHTQ

32. @watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc

You are dishonest in your rebuttal of Adrian’s argument. Why don’t you compare Barbados to one of the other islands which has experienced growth? Were you the one one harassing Adrian in December that we will have a good Winter period and Adrian was chided by you for showing concerns? Your partisan BS will not wash on BU only with DLP partisans.

33. i AM PROPOSING BUSHTEA FOR POPE BECAUSE HE KNOWS EVERYTHING BOUT EVERYTHING
    ONLY BUSHTEA HAS THE ANSWERS

34. No. david tiurism is down not only in barbadios and yiu and adrien and other BLP yardflows/are being disingenuious in blaming it all on the govt. the fact is that throughout the booming years when the BLP reign the world economy was on fast track and the BLP other than handing over the public purse to the Tourism industry did nothing of real substance to enchance the industry now all this back and forth is nothing more than to pressure govt to give more of what they don,t have..

35. @ac

Coming from a DLP yardfowl we are on equal footing!

If you took the time to read the article posted by the multi-moniker ‘watching’ here is something you missed:

“The government has been preoccupied with finding ways to contract the economy so much that it has taken its eyes off the sectors of growth and the generation of foreign exchange, and they have not seemingly bothered to recognise that the tourism industry, the principal foreign exchange earner apart from remittances, has been experiencing five months of negative growth in stop-over arrivals, and the consequent reduction in foreign exchange earnings,” Bartlett told the Observer.

“This is unprecedented in, at least, the last ten years, because even during the worst recession in years, 2008-2011, we still had growth in stopover arrivals and earnings,” he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/Bartlett-says-tourism-experiencing-a–winter-of-discontent-#ixzz2NLSW7Ib1

The former tourism minister of Jamaica is saying the same thing Adrian has been saying. In essence, despite the depressed markets of the world Jamaica can do better.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching | March 12, 2013 at 11:15 AM |

Unless you are involved in the same foreign exchange earning sector you are in no position to criticise Adrian for his efforts.

But what can one expect from a person whose taste of mediocrity and rating of high or outstanding performance is measured by your evaluation of the recent electoral result as
    “spectacular” win of a 2 seat margin from a previous 20 +1. But let us grant you the pyrrhic victory, even if by hook or crook.

However, before you carry on your futile attacks on Adrian, it would do you a world of good to take on board David of BU’s comment @David | March 12, 2013 at 12:20 PM |
    “@watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc”.
    Take heed and watch your idiotic comments about people who are making a significant contribution to this country in earning foreign exchange to support the imported conspicuous consumption habits of lazy bastards like you.

37. The big irony is that Adrian has been consistent in his feedback about where he sees improvement is possible. Last election those who posted on BU debated how the BLP treated him. Now we see the roles shifted. In a second term government BU expects the DLP partisans to attack BU because we attack the issues period which is something the parties will never like.

Well hear this, BU thrives on criticism.

38. @ GP
    “i AM PROPOSING BUSHTEA FOR POPE BECAUSE HE KNOWS EVERYTHING BOUT EVERYTHING”
    Pope Shiite!!
    Bushie don’t want no “Popeship”, ….how about a motion for Islandgal to be constrained to swear obedience to Bushie from henceforth…. 🙂

39. Yeah david i read that too sounds familiar. here that swan song everyday coming from BLP yardlows .however the gist o the article highlights the reality and decline of tourism in the Carribbean.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUSHIE
    I not sure you can handle Island girl’s garden But could you teach ac to spell, use punctuation, some logic and how to keep quiet when she has nothing to say of substance?

41. Hey gorgie porgie wha.s up doc. wuh happen that new job fire yuh ass .see u got plenty time to be all up in people.s bizness how about finding a garden that u could mow down.or dat too much work fuh u to do. maybe u could try a little viagra.

42. “how about a motion for Islandgal to be constrained to swear obedience to Bushie from henceforth…. 🙂

NEVA HAPPENING ….You got to swear obedience to ME BUSHIE first then things will heat up!

43. old onion bags Avatar

Bush man on a lease….I could just picture it….Hear Islgal…”hua..eat dat…hurry up too.”….

44. watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc Avatar
    watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc

David | March 12, 2013 at 12:20 PM |
    @watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc

You are dishonest in your rebuttal of Adrian’s argument. Why don’t you compare Barbados to one of the other islands which has experienced growth?
    ———————————–

What untreated crap are you and your sidekick BLP yardfowl miller coming with. You fully support Loveridge in his ad naseum misleading arguments based on cherry picked data to show the rest of the Caribbean is growing and Barbados is not. Isnt that so?

Now its been pointed out to you the growth Loveridge harps on is (1) mostly in the non English speaking Caribbean eg DR, Aruba and (2) even powerhouse Jamacia with the unmatched promotion muscle of Bolt, Marley,reggae, movies, proximity to US etc is seeing big declines you get on your high horse with lies of dishonesty in rebuttal. Where is the dishonesty? Read what the former Jamaica tourism Minister said. Its his details not mine. The rebuttal is clear, honest, factual.

We know the blog is yours and you can attack and distort as you please and more often than any individual blogger still it does not change the truth no matter how much monikers you pin on me.

The reality is the English speaking Caribbean is having a hard time in tourism because of the world economic crisis not Barbados alone as YOU, Loveridge and your lapdogs miller and islandgirl gleefully want us to believe. Ive got a plane to catch. I’ll be an arrival statistic in Washington DC by noon tomorrrow .

45. I think that firstly, Barbados tourism needs in bit of shaking up starting with Petra Roach in the UK where we have lost a lot of ground.

The UK is supposed to be our premier market. Petra has been there too long, all she does is sucks up to whom ever is in charge so that the status quo can remain the same. She is only interested in her position in the UK and her “hob knobbing” with the who’s who. Our UK market is not doing well because of low staff morale, they cannot stand Petra’s management style or the lack of it. Petra socializes, not market Barbados. That is our problem.

We could have done something to counteract the impact of the APD in the early days when it first was imposed. This government has put little money into marketing but instead opted to put money into GOL airlines which made no sense.That money was wasted, big time. I suggested a while ago that this same money could have been used to lure UK visitors to Barbados. It is always better to build on what you have rather than trying to re-invent the wheel. One way could have been offer some kind of credit to offset the APD once the visitor got here, not from the UK.

I do feel that we would have lured more visitors. Jamaica must be doing something to counteract the APD as they are getting the lion share of UK visitors. So ac, dont talk about no world recession or blame OSA.

To top it all off, just before elections, the PM told the Chamber that they are looking at exploring South Africa. This is a non starter, a waste of taxpayers money.

46. watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc Avatar
    watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc

@Prodigal Son | March 12, 2013 at 5:48 PM |
    Jamaica must be doing something to counteract the APD as they are getting the lion share of UK visitors.
    ——————
    Prodigal this is an incorrect and erroneous statement check the data before you publish.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    Any access to a summary of the Estimates?
    Heard, en passant, there is projected to be a deficit in excess of $1 billion for the coming financial year? Is there any truth to that?

48. @Miller, see the bolded below.

Estimates laid in Parliament

Government’s Budget, setting out the Estimates of Expenditure and Revenue for the financial year 2013-2014, was today laid in Parliament.

It is estimated that Government’s total expenditure for the financial year 2013-2014, on the accrual basis, will be $3 873.9 million.

When converted to the cash basis, total expenditure is $3 808.6 million, an increase of $227.5 million or 6.9 per cent over the revised figure for 2012-2013. Of the amount approved for 2013-2014, $2,994.0 million represents current expenditure, while $879.9 million represents capital expenditure and amortisation.

Wages and Salaries are expected to increase over the revised amount for 2012-2013 by $14.4 million or 1.8 per cent to $823.8 million. The increase is due to increments.

Expenditure on goods and services is expected to decrease by $54.8 million to $378.0 million. Current transfers are also projected to decrease, declining by $28.9 million or 1.9 per cent to $1,037.0 million.

The repayment of principal and interest on Government’s debt is expected to account for $1.3 billion compared to the revised projection of $1.1 billion.

On the accrual basis, current revenue for the next fiscal year is projected at $2,625.0 million. On the cash basis, current revenue is projected at $2,590.2 million, an increase of 7.0 per cent over the revised revenue of $2,420.7 million for the financial year ending March 2013.

When amortisation of $721.6 million is taken into account, a deficit of $496.7 million on the cash basis is expected, representing 5.3 per cent of GDP.

The Estimates for the 2013–2014 fiscal year include these provisions:

(i) A current subvention of $145.5 million is being provided to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital;

(ii) A subvention of $101.7 million has been provided to the Barbados Tourism Authority to facilitate marketing and promotion;

(iii) Invest Barbados has been allocated the sum of $4.5 million to carry out its operations;

(iv) $10.0 million has been provided to the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. to carry out work on capital projects;

(v) Grant funding of $26.7 million is expected to be received to assist in carrying out the following programmes:
    Human Resource Sector Strategy and Skills Development;
    School Plan Enhancement & Refurbishment Programme;
    Technical Services to the International Business and Financial Services Sector;
    Technical Cooperation Facility and Support to Non-State Actors; and
    Technical Assistance to the Office of National Authorising Officer.

(vi) A current subvention of $34.7 million and a capital subvention of $3.4 million has been provided to the Sanitation Service Authority;

(vii) An amount of $27.0 million has been provided to the Barbados Drug Service for the purchase of drugs;

(viii) A current subvention of $71.3 million has been provided to the University of the West Indies;

(ix) A current subvention of $21.3 million has been provided to the Welfare Department;

(x) Skills for the future programme under the Ministry of Education has been provided with an amount of $7.0 million; and

(xi) The Low Income Housing Project under the Ministry of Housing has been provided with $4.5 million. (Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs/BGIS)

49. @watching/observant/1000 pounds of blubber etc

The problem with you and those of your ilk is that whenever you are challenged you have to resort to disingenuous positions but all are reading and can draw conclusions.

Leading up to the winter period when the Governor stated that this it was a make or break season, what was your response when it was pointed out that Barbados had found itself in a precarious position? You posted article after article to show that Barbados’ performance was good. Some of us told you to wait that it was premature. Now that there is the reality that our product has underperformed in comparison to the region you come with a different position.

No one is saying that we are not operating in tough times but we are saying we can do better. It took this government 5 years to rollout a tourism master plan document which STILL has to be operationlized. On this blog we have asked why no presence in Ottawa in the important Canadians market. We were told at the 11th hour we registered a booth last week but same old tacti; no buzz at the Barbados booth while the domestic presence, Cuba and others had the buzz. We could go on.

Stop the partisan bull crap, the idea is that we have to use our tourism budget smart and if we go by the feedback from the operators in the market, Barbados is not being seen. Until we find an alternative to replacing the forex which tourism brings in we need to do all that we can to be the #1 in the Caribbean. Out survival depends on it.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 12, 2013 at 6:51 PM |

Thanks, David.

It seems as if no transfers/subsidies have been provided for the Transport Board and the BADMC. Or are they subsumed somewhere under the parent Ministries?

Leave a Reply to Colonel BuggyCancel reply