Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

I suppose you can put it down to my naivety, so long in coming, so many great expectations and then in hindsight, the reality of the situation. Almost 40 percent of the eligible electorate chose not to vote, the status quo re-elected for a second term by a precariously small majority and just microscopic adjustments made to the governance of an industry in crisis. At least, that seems to be the scenario, so far.

Clearly there are plus points. Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner, appointed as a Parliamentary Secretary in the reconfigured Ministry and Tourism and International Transport, when many of us years later are still puzzled why the two bodies were ever separated in the first place. The Senator brings her abilities in marketing to the table at a time when this discipline is needed more than ever.

Shadowing the Ministry is Member of Parliamant Santia Bradshaw and while I don’t want to diminish her abundant legal qualifications, I am far from convinced we need or want any more lawyers involved in tourism policymaking. But she is also an entrepreneur and after looking at her website, I was personally impressed with the high level of presentation. Hopefully she can add value and youthful objectivity to the sector from a constructive opposition stance.

Now is the time for solutions.

A line in the sand has been indelibly etched: to re-state what many of us have been saying for months. While the global recession and the dreaded APD tax have helped stifle growth in visitor arrival numbers, they are not the sole causes of our dismal performance in tourism. Now this has been established beyond any reasonable doubt, it is time to move on and implement policies that will restore viability to the industry.

‘All the signs suggest Caribbean tourism is rallying’ and a ‘5.4 percent growth rate outpaced the rest of the world’. These comments attributed to Chairwoman of the CTO, Beverly Nicholson-Doty when referring to statistics for 2012. With Easter just over two weeks away, traditionally arrival volumes start to fall very soon after. This means we are currently facing an extended softer eight long summer months without any national marketing plan in place. What really puzzles me is that both Government and the BTA have failed to explain the fiscal challenges they are currently encountering honestly to the private sector. There has been this cloak of silence, while the public sector seems to enjoy this assumed comfort of continued employment almost at any cost.

But as we enter the shoulder season, thousands of tourism workers have genuine concern, whether they will keep their jobs or have working hours severely reduced to dramatically lower living standards for them and their families. Frankly, it has been an appalling job of public relations in keeping the private sector fully informed and ‘we’ should all learn from this.

Following the tragic events of 911, with all the then associated impending doom and gloom that threatened our number one industry, a meeting of key players in tourism was convened to brainstorm our options at that time. It was, in my opinion, one of the most productive meetings that I have attended in twenty five years. Maybe, its time again, to put the politics aside and focus exactly how we are going to kick-start what fuels our economy.

1. This was three years ago still nothing in place.It is early days but since the general election Minister Sealy seems to be in hibernation.

2. I would like to see how Miss Irene will handle this ministry. I believe she will come with some fresh ideas and find I hope she will find a way to link the cleanliness of this island to Tourism. There are many ways to start invigorating Tourism and it should first start at home. Let us have a clean up campaign for ALL householders and ALL Businesses to beautify and maintain their surroundings. We need to make this island healthy and clean one. After the house cleaning could then invite others to visit. Right now we are inviting people to our dirty island.

3. Here we go again. _sing the code word “jump start” “fuel” all words related to asking for “more money ” in the tourism industry. weklkl the giovt have propsed several incentives to help the sector along with millions of dollars. However the govt decided that putting all the eggs in one basket does the country no good and has wisely decided to strengethen trade and manufacturing to “fuel” the economy. YOU GET IT ADRIEN.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | March 11, 2013 at 7:32 AM |
    “We need to make this island healthy and clean one. After the house cleaning could then invite others to visit. Right now we are inviting people to our dirty island.”

Totally agree with you. This island is in need of an immediate clean up.
    But it seems no one in authority is listening and seem blissfully unaware to their degrading surroundings.
    Just take a trip around the Inner St. Michael area and the South Coast.

Now that the winter season is coming to an end and the expected layoff of workers employed for electioneering purposes we should not be surprised if the environment is further marginalised and disregarded as a first casualty of fiscal containment.

If the government is to go on a serious, concerted and continuous clean up programme the miller will shower them with praise from high heaven.

5. The people have learnt.the govt is listening. Thedays of putting it all in one sector are behind us.we are now embarking on a path of long term growth and sustainabilty one that would weather the storm in hard economic times. the tourism sector has proven that under such stresses of golbal recession it cannot sustain itself. hopefuly the movers And shakers in the tourism industry would join hands with the govt and people and make it all happen for the good if the countrty.

6. Heard that Adrian?? We welcome your thoughts on diversification to aid in further revenue attraction that would increase foreign exchange. two or three other foreign exchange earners would benefit Barbados and it’s people. What do you say???

7. What does government diversification of the economy strategy has to do with effective use of resources and being environmentally sensitive i.e cleaning the country etc? In fact cleaning Barbados should NOT be driven by sector concerns in tourism.

While we move to diversify should we neglect or strangle the sector which is paying the bills? We really need to separate the arguments.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 11, 2013 at 8:51 AM |
    “All the signs suggest Caribbean tourism is rallying’ and a ‘5.4 percent growth rate outpaced the rest of the world’. These comments attributed to Chairwoman of the CTO, Beverly Nicholson-Doty when referring to statistics for 2012.”

Ac, does the above statement mean anything to you? Are you questioning the veracity of the figures and the integrity of Chair of the CTO? But you want others to respect our local leaders?

So you really believe that “Manufacturing” can be the salvation and major foreign exchange for the Barbados economy? Do you really think that in a world of free trade and subsidized Trinidadian manufacturers that own and control the production and distribution businesses in Bim Manufacturing can outperform tourism and the offshore sector as our main earners and employers of school leavers? What are going to export? canned monkey meat?
    Woman, get real before you are sent back to the cow itch fields?

9. long term goals and stragety must be inclusive .enviromental issues doesn”,affect tourism alone it affects country and strategies that benefits all is where we begin.

10. Miller outsuide “privitization” what else do you have to offer. your efforts to poo! poo! the govt have falllen on deaf ears so said the voting public. even ” Even the most ardent supporters have gotten a dose of reality and has put that “dead dog” to rest leaving you the lone barking chihuahaa trying to take flight

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 11, 2013 at 10:01 AM |

Why don’t you deal with the issue in hand and leave out the red herrings?

Can manufacturing replace tourism as our number one foreign exchange earner as you are recommending?
    No go from there!

12. U fickng idiot i see u looking foir an agrument in yur suggesrtin..com the fact only a fool would think iothewise. however our country cannot survive alone on tourism that is the point and for some their eyes remain closed to that fact and constantly harped on the need for more funding in that sector while all other sectors remain dormant.

13. What Barbados could certainly use is some new forms of attractions that will set them apart from other destinations in the region …

14. There has been so much talk about culture and tourism..i.e. the culture industry and how it will help tourism big time… and yet one of the many ‘great’ (*not”) ideas (or should I say *approved by Parliament* according to one disbursement of the information or *passed by Cabinet* according to others, ideas or sentences or rules within the Culture Bill that went from Culture Industries Bill to Culture Industries & Development Bill and now appears on the GIS website as…do note the T removed from the Development, so it reads quite rightly DevelopMe….

http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/CULTURAL-INDUSTRIES-DEVELOPME-T-BILL-APPROVED-BY-PARLIAMENT%20FEBRUARY%202013.pdf)

… is this on Page 8 under Interpretation of the Act:: “approved producer of “audio-visual content” or “approved producer” means a film production company incorporated under the Companies Act, Cap. 308, or registered under the Registration of Business Names Act, Cap. 317 that is controlled by a resident of Barbados;”

Bearing the above in mind, and according to what is being said by The Ministry re this Bill being one of the first Bills to be seen to in Parliament, the general consensus being on the government side that it is so good it will be passed immediately upon presentation to the hallowed halls…I wonder if Puerto Rico and Jamaica forced this big movie production company/team to find local partners…then employed lawyers galore to incorporate local companies on these islands under their laws before the production company/team were able to seek permission and approval of their film/production from The Ministers of Culture who could after all of this time consuming and foolish path (according to how I read the Barbados Bill) just say “no…not a creative package I approve”…hmmmm…the mind does boggle sometimes eh?

Have a feeling the monies that come into a country when Hollywood or Bollywood or any large movie-making company in the world decide to use the particular country/island to film will not be part of the Barbados landscape…and the interest and advertising that arises from being the location will also be lost….oh! I forgot our tourism is on the rise and we do not really have to think on this type of ‘free’ advertising with perks…

And don’t forget the kind of lessons to be learned by having these people here employing locals and having them perhaps learn the tricks of the trade….ooops! I forgot…slap slap…wake up Rosemary…that last sentence?…forget it…I remember now…our local film makers already know it all.

http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/672571.html#axzz2NFX1hJuk

15. For those who do like to lick on links:

Blair Underwood among Hollywood stars to shoot new movie in the Caribbean
    Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
    image The film adaptation of Shakespeare’s “Macbeth” is to get underway in September in Jamaica and Puerto Rico.

CALIFORNIA, United States, Monday March 11, 2013 – Motion picture history will be made in the Caribbean this year with “Macbett”, a new film directed by Aleta Chappelle, making her the first African-American woman ever to direct a film version of a Shakespeare play.

Broadway and Hollywood actors Terrence Howard, Sanaa Lathan, Blair Underwood, Harry Lennix and Evan Ross will star in the Caribbean-set movie adaptation of Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”, filming of which is scheduled to get underway in September in Jamaica and Puerto Rico, according to Indiewire.com.

The new film’s storyline revolves around General Macbett (Howard) who meets the “weird sisters,” rulers of earth, water, fire and sky as the spirit daughters of Mother Africa.

As the strange spirits manipulate Macbett by telling him he will soon become king, Macbett and his beautiful wife Lady Macbett (Lathan) become obsessed with ambition, setting the stage for “Something wicked this way comes. Open, locks, whoever knocks,” in the words of Shakespeare’s original play.

Howard appeared on Broadway in the 2008 revival of “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”. His film and TV credits include “Iron Man”, “Hustle & Flow”, “Crash” and “The Brave One”.

Lathan starred in “A Raisin in the Sun” on Broadway. Her film and TV credits include “AVP: Alien vs. Predator”, “Blade”, “The Cleveland Show”, “Boss”, “Out of Time” and “Something New”.

Underwood appeared in the most recent Broadway revival of “A Streetcar Named Desire”. His film and TV credits include “LA Law”, “Gattaca”, “One Life to Live” and “Deep Impact”.

Lennix starred in “Radio Golf” on Broadway. His film and TV appearances include “Ray”, “The Matrix Revolutions”, “State of Play” and “The Matrix Reloaded”.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/672571.html#ixzz2NFn0NDz8

16. @ miller and island gal
    and all those criticizing the “Cultural Industries Bill” did you contribute anything? As far as I am aware input was sought from anyone who wanted to make a contribution at town hall meetings or written in suggestions. Stop criticizing and contribute. For those who don’t want to invite tourists until the country is “clean” I ask how many support recycling, encourage “people.” who create the dirt in the first place, to use garbage bins and not throw the paper cups etc out of the vehicle windows etc. In other words encourage each person to be responsible for his own clean up campaaign. Each person should have pride in contributing to a clean environment. See each tourist or potential tourist as a friend that you are inviting into your home.

17. @ Adrian.. Santia Bradshaw is an MP not a senator…

18. perhaps they can use all the empty boxes by the airport as mini factories?

19. the mini houses i mean

20. Barbados is a tropical destination with existing infrastructure and Hotel plant.

A clean safe Barbados if well marketed could be a preferred vacation destination.

Nuh lotta log talk. clean de freekin place and put the police to work with the assistance of the BDF. Crime against tourist will ruin the industry if it is not dealt with seriously.

Then hire competent professionals to market Barbados.

21. Alvin Cummings……..I am sure I contribute MORE than YOU do. I promote Barbados as a garden destination on my blog, I have been recently covered by Joanna Fortnam of the Telegraph and more recently by Louise Hampden Horticultural Consultant, TV Producer & Writer at the BBC. I recycle, I have an environmentally friendly garden and I am into preserving old houses. Many visitors who contact me via my blog to visit my garden. HOW DARE you! You are such a fcuking moron!

22. Alvin Cummings you may be comfortable with a dirty Barbados and therefore you can’t see it. There are many of us here who practice what we preach. There is a mindset on this island that if they don’t dirty the place people will not have work. I have tried on several occasions to ask people to stop littering and that was the response I get. We need a NATIONAL lesson in PRIDE for our surroundings. Take for example Six men’s fishing village, as very picturesque place BUT the filth that has collected over time is heartbreaking. That village if cleaned up and landscaped on the seaside it will be another beautiful window to the sea.

23. AC…… What exactly is your point? If we continue on the path we are taking l we will get there on that list. We are such a small country with a small population it is easier to clean a small house than a large mansion.

24. my point is that you guys keeping harping about barbados as if it is the nastiest place in the world . apparananly it is o.k for you to send that kind of a message on a daily basis through the world wide web. yes barbados does have its problems but other countries as well and some of those countries listed in the video tourist still keep going as adrien and others would attest to aware of the crime and gore and apparantly not daunted by the negative publicity, so what is your point ? and please don’t remind me.

25. AC …so it is better to remain silent than to address the filth we see piling up on the streets? The overgrown lots and bush that harbours rodents and thieves should remain and not be addressed. We all want a cleaner Barbados and hope by harping on it, would make everyone become a bit more alert to what is happening and to do something about it. To remain silent means that you are just as guilty as the people who litter and foul up the island.

26. Here we go again. Can we try to maintain our standard? Whether another country is nastier cannot be a benchmark. As Hants keeps saying like a stuck record, let us clean the damn place. Let us address the rising crime situation. Pushing it under the carpet is a Bajan mindset which will not work any longer.

@Alvin

BU is not the Advocate, we do what we do. We discuss the rotten underbelly of Barbados society which the establishment would like to mask.

27. and you know why tourist keep going back to some of them places cause drugs are rampant and are easily accessible govts look the other way in order to stop their dying economy from the eventual death. the drug trade is like a runaway freight train while crime and violence effects the average citizen of those country but you know what the govt could give a damn cause whatever makes the tourist happy even to the determent of the moral fabric of the country makes them happy.
    then people like you islan gal comes along with you pitch fork in hand pointing out all that is wrong with barbados, we too would be heading down that direction if we give into those whose interest is self and country be dam.

28. AC said “and you know why tourist keep going back to some of them places cause drugs are rampant and are easily accessible govts look the other way in order to stop their dying economy from the eventual death.”

Girl You believe those things don’t happen bout hey? Try walking on Accra, Southern Palms or on the West coast beaches. Sorree, I forgot that you don’t (can’t) swim 🙂

29. @islandgal

It seems what ac is saying is that we should repose our confidence in the authorities who have shown the capacity to fix the ZR issue, praedial larceny issue and the jusdical system which is about to collaspe under its own weight. all of these issue straddle decades.

30. yeah they happen here but if people like you keep berating immigration handling of such issues it can only get worse. can’t forget how when the jamaican girl level those “finger rape” charges at govt you were first in line cheering her on. .

31. David I guess AC loves how things are and sees NOTHING wrong with the system. She definitely lives in a fool’s paradise!

32. AC…..go to the loo or to bed, you are babbling.

33. Is Minister Richard Sealy alive?

34. @ Islandgal
    “The overgrown lots and BUSH that harbours rodents and thieves should remain and not be addressed”
    …you stepping near to the edge with your propaganda against “BUSH” yuh….and dropping insults and accusations of Bushie ‘harbouring rats and thieves….. ‘. Watch ya self yuh!!

…But wunna minding Alvin Cummings though? He sound like one of them old time country fellows whose last visit to town was in the 70’s before donkey carts were banned from the city.

Bushie went to great pains some time ago to explain why Bajans litter up the place – but wunna play wunna can’t face the truth, so wunna keep on spitting in the air ……

Wunna know that when THOSE SAME Bajans migrate they become some of the tidiest citizens in Canada, USA England etc?

There is no sense of OWNERSHIP by ordinary Bajans of this country as a whole. We have not had the quality of leadership that has been able to build a national consensus of collective togetherness.
    So we have the Block communities, the Heights and Terraces, the white community, the muslin community, the church communities etc, BUT THERE IS NO REAL BARBADOS community as such.

Add this to the clear disparity in ownership between these communities along with the lack of social interactions, and it should not be difficult to see why a fellow takes the attitude that he should just drop his empty drink bottle by the side of the road or on “them big people lawns”……let them pay someone to clean it up….

Wunna think that an average Bajan feel enough ownership of the beaches not to leave it dirty? …when these beaches have become the front yards of the wealthy, while Bajans squeeze through “beach access” gaps to see the water…?

If Hants,Alvin or Islandgal feel that just calling for a cleanup will accomplish anything – wunna must be fambly to ac or Onions (may he rest in political peace – RIPP 🙂 )

35. @millertheanunnaki | March 11, 2013 at 9:36 AM |
    @ ac | March 11, 2013 at 8:51 AM |
    “All the signs suggest Caribbean tourism is rallying’ and a ‘5.4 percent growth rate outpaced the rest of the world’. These comments attributed to Chairwoman of the CTO, Beverly Nicholson-Doty when referring to statistics for 2012.”
    ————————————————————————–

miller you mouth very dirty when you ready so dont curse me but what Loveridge isnt revealing is the robust 5.4% growth is dominated by the non English speaking Caribbean. The cheap vacation hotspot Dominican Republic with a tourist industry bigger than the whole Eastern Caribbean doing the dog with mass tourism. DR, Aruba et al is where the real growth is located. The English speaking Caribbean is finding it hard to grow tourism in the prolonged recession not only Barbados . We know Loveridge relishes any opportunity to twist figures to highlight Barbdos ‘ bucking the trend.’ He is adept at cooking figures to make Barbados look bad.

36. here you again with your negative crap which does nothing to enchance your country or people. after all the negative publicity u pounded on barbados you still looking for people to come to visit the country. how about if you promote your garden about the number of insects that eat you plants or have died from diseses how many people would be interested in buying any of your plants, i mean yuh might say you clean them up but you would never say how many succumbed to disease or insect on your blog , BTW i have frequented your blog and have never read such exposure.

37. Did BU not feature the nasty Sluice Gate at Graeme Hall which is the responsibility of government?

Did a member of the BU household witness today a group of boys next to a canefield ‘sucking’ cane and without any trepidation throw the cane peel in the road? How difficult would it have been to toss the peel in the kuss Kuss grass which borders the cane field? It is a head thing Bushie, you are correct.

38. Here is the tourism stat sheet to judge for yourself.

http://www.onecaribbean.org/content/files/JAN28Lattab12.pdf

39. Bushie dahling, yuh mekking muh laff yuh sweetie pie yuh. Bushie I see where yuh coming from and I agree wid yuh. The lack of ownership of this island by our people is sad. True when dem go to over an away dem does fall in line pronto. Like we have to start leading the pack back to de Bush to appreciate what goodies de Bush can give we.

40. AC…yuh can’t read, I have exposed the African snail on my blog and I have very few pests attacking my plants. AC to tell the truth I don’t like to sell my plants and many people will tell you that. They are amazed that there are very few pests and I grow plants for butterflies to lay their eggs on, yet my other plants are beautiful. You should come over one day for a visit. My only problem is the lack of water and I don’t want to see my bill when it comes. I have an ecologically balanced garden. I do not spray unless it is a naturally derived insecticide. I have several neem trees and have lots of aloes. Stop trying to pelt rocks, take a pill and chill!

41. @Bush tea.If I rent a plaace from someone, it is not mine, I don’t have ownership. does that mean I should keep it nasty? Whether you like it or not Barbados is ours (yours and mine) We should all take pride in seeing that it is kept in the best condition possible. If you go in the bus stnd, (ours) or the van stand (ours) do we have to own the bus or van to make sure that we don/t drop our garbage in it? Even if someone else owns the lawn, why would you want to throw the bottle on the lawn. I am living in Canada for a couple of months, I spend the rest of the time in Barbados. I own nothing in Canada, yet if I am esating something I will not wilfully drop the container on the street. I keep it until I get to a garbage can. It is all in the attitude, and as long as people have an attitude like you theplace will always be dirty. If I visited someone whose home was a stinking mess why would I want to go back there?
    And Bushie, you can get aqccess to any beach, go on any beach aand stay on the beqch as long as you like. It is your duty therefore to make sure that the beach is kept clean.Whether or not someone else owns th house on the beach you can still bathe on the beach. @island girl. I am happy that your are doing your part. think how wonderful it would be if everyone did as you do.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching | March 11, 2013 at 8:39 PM |
    “We know Loveridge relishes any opportunity to twist figures to highlight Barbdos ‘ bucking the trend.’ He is adept at cooking figures to make Barbados look bad.”

You would only receive a good tongue lashing or cussing from the miller when you peddle dirty lies and promote partisan political hypocrisy on this blog.

Look what you have gone and done to Adrian. Smear the man’s character without just cause just because of your partisan propensity to lie.
    Show us where Adrian ever twisted figures and cooked up statistics on tourism to make Barbados look bad?
    It is people like you who refuse to accept and deal with the real problems negatively affecting tourism in Bim and contributing to its demise.
    Continue to dig your heads in the sand and place some bogus recession.

Adrian has earned more foreign exchange for this country than you and your ilk could ever do in a million years.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ millertheanunnaki | March 11, 2013 at 9:45 PM |
    “Continue to dig your heads in the sand and place some bogus recession.”

Should read:
    Continue to dig your heads in the sand and place blame on some bogus international recession that seems not be affecting Jamaica and the other Caribbean destinations as far as tourism is concerned.

44. Look Alvin, it may be better if you just ignore the bushman cause you only looking to make Bushie cuss ac and Onions now! (When anyone get Bushie VEX VEX he does cuss ac and Onions)…

Obviously you is some kinda “goodie two shoes” namby pamby, half Canadian sap who sees everything through rosé colored glasses.
    Bushie is from the REAL world where no one gives a brass bowl bout how nice and sweet and obedient you can be….cleaning up the beach after you get a dip and picking up sweet wrappers in Younge Street.

OF COURSE ” We should all take pride in seeing that it is kept in the best condition possible……” But if a fellow feels pissed off because of perceived unfair practices; sees no future for himself or his children; feels ignored by the system……you think that fellow will take pride in ANYTHING…..far less in keeping de “Big-Up people” place clean?

Stupseeeee …you really went Cawmere? …you sound more like a Crumpton Stree man yuh….

45. you see island gal.you seem to relish the tought of always having negative to say about barbados; i am yet to read anything positive you have said about barbados,so your crusade about cleanup barbados as just another chinck in your armour so i fail to see youwhere you are being genuine in your comments but just being hypocrtical and downright nasty on a consistent basis.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | March 11, 2013 at 9:25 PM |

You are totally missing the thrust or kernel of Bushie’s argument.
    The Bushman is far from condoning such actions. He is totally against littering but only proffers a set of plausible explanations as to why some Bajans don’t care about their surroundings or the environment.
    You are imputing motives to the man unjustifiably.

47. along the way one would find these individuals relish condemning barbados to the grave of :do nothing: can be agreeable on almost any topic that promotes the degrade the island reputation.

miller Topic”DOOM AND GLOOM”
    adrien loveridge :Barbados TOURISM INDUSTRY Having a death RATTLE
    Islangal..”One million things that is Wrong with Barbados.
    soon to be published and release on Amazon .com.

Leave a Reply to WatchingCancel reply