The following is a communication which was sent to the VAT Office by Hotelier and social commentator Adrian Loveridge.

Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

On or before the 15 March 2013, we will be expected to pay over to Government the amount of $37,526.60 in Corporation taxes due for the last financial year [2012]. If we do not pay on time, then there will be an immediate fine of 5% of the amount due, which equates to $1,876.33 plus interest accrued of 1% per month or 18% annually, which is 3 times the latest rate of Government borrowings to sustain a bloated public service and pay for dismally failed projects like GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Limited) and the chartering of Carnival Destiny for CWC2007.

As a small business that has operated on Barbados for twenty five years and has honoured all statutory obligations, it is a significant amount of money. Yet the same Government has owed us outstanding VAT refunds of nearly $30,000 for up to two years. Of course they have not paid us any late penalty charges or interest.

Before going public, I have written personally to the Ministers of the various Government bodies involved, but up until today not received any form of response.  It appears they feel they have no obligation to businesses that are successful, sustainable (through there own efforts) and those who have demonstrated viability over decades of operation. Yet week after week, it is almost impossible not to read or listen to endless rhetoric about the importance that small businesses will play in the recovery of our economy.

As a frequent writer on tourism matters, I have become used to attracting a high level of attention in Government circles with all the negative consequences this has brought over the years but this is another matter. We are left with three simple choices. Go into overdraft and pay commercial bank interest to pay the corporate taxes due, pay the fine and interest or receive the monies we are owed by Government. At the same time, the new administration must define its priorities and decide whether it is going to be its policy to support and encourage small businesses to grow and survive or whether through its actions, it is going to bury them, with all the employment implications that brings.

1. it is not law abiding citizens job to go after these deadbeats it is the govts job.When I hear of people owed money and the govt not living up to its responsibilities it shows a govt not doing its job. It is fairly owed it should be fairly paid.Years ago I would come to Barbados rent a villa or house but would be sending the money to a bank in canada or the usa and just arrive and someone would give me a key then leave it on the table when I left.I now realize the money never entered the island avoiding vat, and tax whatever.So here you have people up front paying their taxes employing islanders they deserve better…..Who f@!#ing cares if the guy driving the audi is black or white just do the job they take a salaty for.Does everyone here have an agenda??????

2. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

I see the post election hurrah is over and we’re back to the usual talking points and muddying of the issue(s).

@david (not bu) 10:18
    Good advice!

@adrian
    You are owed what is due. Full stop. I wonder how many others are in your predicament.

@ac & carson
    Yes, defaulters at all levels should be “called out.”. Does the government have the balls to do that in cases where the biggest defaulters are “buddies” and “pals?”

Just Observing

3. I only went to Brumley my question is are there any poor suffering hotel owners? My Brumley education tell me no. Hotel owners are very rich persons there is no question about that. Each citizen must pay their taxes and what they owe government so that government can pay whoever it owes and ensure public transport, hospitals, schools, police etc function to the benefit of all citizens poor or rich.

4. Why is there no question about that,because you said so.Like any business there are success stories but there are far more failures, I have seen lists on the BU of many hotels that have closed, these are not all owned by multi nationals a lot of people lost their savings in these hotels owners investors workers.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Truth | March 8, 2013 at 8:22 AM |
    “Each citizen must pay their taxes and what they owe government so that government can pay whoever it owes and ensure public transport, hospitals, schools, police etc function to the benefit of all citizens poor or rich”

Now how do we get these recalcitrant dishonest citizens- both corporate and private- to pay their taxes?
    By moral suasion or by praying to some god?
    There are clearly defined laws on the statute book that govern the collection of taxes. These laws are what give the Government the rights to exercise power over the levying, collection and spending of taxes. Implementation and applying the law is what is required in this incestuous little corrupt place.

A case in point Leroy Greenverbs received $3.3 million as a gratuity through a money laundering scheme involving a business associated with a former PM. You can bet your last tax dollar that this gratuity has not been declared and the appropriate income taxes paid on this gratuity to date.
    And you know truthfully full well who are behind this tax evasion scheme.
    Why should other citizens be morally motivated to pay taxes when such blatant law breaking is practiced and protected by pals in high places at the very political apex of corruption.
    Who will guard the guards!

6. I agree government should be paying the people who they owe………..I understand they do not have the money to pay but they would have it if they were doing their jobs. What concerns me is that government also fails in it’s due diligence, there are many hoteliers who owe government……….the names of the hotels, the amounts owed and their owners names should be printed in the newspapers so that taxpayers will know that they are not benefiting from tax dollars being spent on marketing, while foreign hotel owners flourish, these unscrupulous hotel owners should be exposed because they do enrich themselves at the expense of others. Hotel owners should be made to do their own marketing and not at the expense of taxpayers, then maybe government will have the funds needed to repay the hotel owners who play fair. Government seem to have a problem exposing certain culprits to the detriment of the taxpayer.

I do not know of any instance where a foreign hotel owner when closing their premises ever sold it to a local bajan (i could be wrong) but I heard of many instances where the hotel is sold to a foreign interest and the former owner leaves the island without still owing NIS, taxes, and half the island including supplier in the millions. The money they get for the sale does not even have to touch the island, all transactions are done outside. Lone Star was just sold to another foreign interest, can government say that Roberts is not owing them or other people on the island??

7. We beat up on the US as it suits us, but their system of exposing corporate tax cheats and lowlife millionaires who act like they are a gift to taxpayers can’t be beat. One of the positives in America that islands like Barbados absolutely refuses to copy.

8. That should read, hotel owners who sell their properties are known to leave the island owing NIS, taxes and everyone else including suppliers in the millions of dollars.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Another thing, when the Barbados Labour Party got stupid Anne reid to print a report showing that the Government owed the private sector $49million or thereabout, did they promised the private sector that they would forgive the MAMMOTH debt that it owed?

10. The issue of businesses not paying taxes and government doing same is nothing new. We all know how things operate in the ‘islands’. Another businessman in Adrian’s position would have made a call a long time ago and gotten his cheque in the mail. It is the culture of mediocrity which we lovingly embrace.

Will the Central Revenue Collection Agency make a difference?

11. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

here is what i don’t understand. what does me owning the govt money have to do with Adrian paying the govt what he owes them? why should Adrian have to call on others who broke the law?

that is so much shit. govt B or D should pay the man and GOVT should be calling on and going after the ones who are not paying. simple.

i’m seeing this trend all over this country now and it is very upsetting to me. what appears to be happening is people who do the right thing get the shitey end and the law breakers live happy and free.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What is it saying to foreign donor organisations, when they see the Barbados Private sector with such MASSIVE outstanding arrears?

What do the rating agencies think about this untenable situation?

13. @David (not)

All you are witnessing is how the tentacles of political tribalism is further penetrating how we do business n Barbados. We are rapidly closing on Jamaica.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Is the outstanding MASSIVE amounts owed to Government part of the reason the local busineses are selling out to Trinidadians in an effort not to pay up?

Only yesterday I found out that the Huge property in Eagle Hall which used to house PLANTRACT LTD. has been sold to Trinidaians who intend to transform it into a big warehouse complex to store Trinidadian products.

Al the Bajan businesses on the property have been give eviction notices.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Many people posting on this Blog seem to think that hoteliers are fabulously wealthy and don’t pay their statuatory obligations. If it was such a profitable business, then please explain WHY 37 hotels have closed over the last twenty years including our largest one.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 8, 2013 at 9:30 AM |
    “What do the rating agencies think about this untenable situation?”

Now whose fault is that? From your repertoire of lying excuses who should be fingered as the scapegoat for this untenable situation?
    OSA (your Seethru man stuck like a fishbone in your craw) and the BLP for advising the private sector including Jada and preconco not to pay their taxes?

Man stop the blame game and come to the stark reality that your party has been in charge of the Treasury for the past 5 years and not the BLP, not the rating agencies.

Just admit that this parlous state of ineffective tax administration is purely IMF (It’s My Fault) behaviour of the present government.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | March 8, 2013 at 9:35 AM |
    “Only yesterday I found out that the Huge property in Eagle Hall which used to house PLANTRACT LTD. has been sold to Trinidaians who intend to transform it into a big warehouse complex to store Trinidadian products.
    Al the Bajan businesses on the property have been give eviction notices.”

Are you sure it was ‘Yesterday’ or ‘Yesteryear’ pre 2008 when the BLP was accused of selling off all the Bajan businesses to Trinidadians? You seem to be mixing up your timelines, Carson!
    We were given to believe by this nationalistic DLP administration no such selloffs will occur under their watch. We were hoping and praying such bad old days were behinds us.

But the more things change the more they remain the same when it comes to DLP Tweedledee and BLP Tweedledum; you agree Carson?

18. In the same way that Adrian is required to pay Gov’t its due, the Gov’t (I use the amorphous term Gov’t to cover Civil servants, Parliamentarians etc.) The Gov’t should pay those to whom it owes refunds/rebates etc. in a timely manner.

The question is why do some of these Corporations refuse to pay their outstanding taxes etc.? I suspect that the reason some Corporations refuse to pay Gov’t is because they believe that the Gov’t lacks the enforcement will or the regulators have no teeth to act against them; either that or they hold the threat of labour upheaval over the Gov’t ( as we can’t afford to pay otherwise we will lay off some people) a genteel form of blackmail but in small labour markets where the loss of a few jobs could have major political implications for any Gov’t such threats can’t be dismissed offhand.

The Gov’t still holds some cards the same way that Marshalls can be dispatched to arrest those who fail to pay child support why can’t the Gov’t publish a list of Corporations that are in arrears of taxes for a period of two years or more? A form of naming and shaming they can call it “The Corporate Deadbeat list” with semi- annual publishing of May 15 and November 15 each year.

Let’s see who are good Corporate Citizens or who can withstand the negative publicity.

19. Adrian Loveridge | March 8, 2013 at 9:40 AM |
    Many people posting on this Blog seem to think that hoteliers are fabulously wealthy and don’t pay their statuatory obligations. If it was such a profitable business, then please explain WHY 37 hotels have closed over the last twenty years including our largest one.

One of the reasons hotel owners, big shareholders (not hired managers or employees) close hotels is to pocket or safeguard their private millions. Silver Sands close, Blue Horizon close, Escape close, Almond Beach close, Sandridge close, Sandy Beach close. Adrian let us know if the chaps who owned or operated those properties are in personal financial difficulty.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | March 8, 2013 at 9:55 AM |

The Revenue laws in Bim already have enough teeth. Directors of all businesses in Barbados can be held personally liable for the non payment of statutory financial obligations like VAT, PAYE NIS and Income Tax along with property taxes and corporation taxes.

It is not the laws but the enforcement of the laws that is the incestuous problem among pals and bosom buddies in corporate and cocktail circuit Barbados. And this applies to both sides of the politically corrupt divide.

Would you Sarge, if put in the MoF’s position, name and shame your party’s financial sponsors and backers?

21. passing thru south Avatar
    passing thru south

carson you need to check your informants and stop misleading ppl. Go and actually find out if Trinis bought the building, cos i sure it is a bajan

22. In reality a lot of foreign entities who purchase hotels in the island(s) have their own reason for doing so, be it tax write-offs in their countries, laundering, etc, etc. I challenge anyone to tell me that most of them do it for love of local bajans or island people. When they sell these properties for millions to other foreign individuals or entities i guarantee it is nothing for anything other than the love of money or they would be selling them to the local people. Most times they leave the government of the day, who refuse to expose their crimes, and the taxpayers in dire financial straits.

23. The Woodville hotel which stood where Harleqin say they doing contruction by the boardwalk close. Is the Woodville owner in financial difficuty is he fabulously wealthy? Adrian?

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Truth,
    Woodville WAS owned by the Walcott family. Robin Walcott changed the name to Allamanda and later sold it to company that is operated by Lief Brandel (Amaryllis Hotel), who in turn sold it to Harlequin. I understand that Amaryllis is also up-for-sale.

25. Harlequin=clown=harlequinaphobia=you’ve been had. If governments don’t stop kissing up to these culprits, enabling to continue owing millions to taxpayers and start exposing them for the unscrupulous tax cheats that they are, we will continually hear the hoteliers who play by the rules complaining. Maybe it’s time these same honest hoteliers push for their colleagues to be exposed for their dishonesty.

26. it is incumbent upon all of us to want our democarcy to survive and not condone those with self interest to penetrate or do harm to the system cause in the end all would suffer.it is therfore we as a people to do our civic dutiesand openly without fear of reprisal to question those within our system would want to cheat the govt and people of their fair share and rightfully OURS.

27. My friend bush tea have a good idea about having a “watchdog committe “to look into the goverance of our democracy however the people he has chosen to be leaders are tainted and bias. it would be like asking OSA to guard the treasury he knows too much

28. Don’t care how many watch dog commitees, inquiries, studies (they love the last two, wonderful chance to waste more taxpayers money) they hold; unless and until the government start doing DUE DILIGENCE, something that should be already written in the legislation, and stop kissing the ass of those with hidden agendas and lots of money to buy hotels, run ponzi schemes, etc, etc,; unless governments start exposing the dishonest hotel owners, then it would just continue to be more of the same for decades to come.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 8, 2013 at 11:15 AM |

Ac, why don’t you call a spade a spade, at least in this case?

The reason why the payment of taxes is a statutory obligation is because “people’ given an option based on moral suasion would not pay taxes willingly.

That is why we elect a political administration to form the Government to make sure people pay taxes in the same way we have a police service to enforce the laws of the land.
    Why does this country employ a whole army of occupation called a civil service? To get in a pulpit like a priest and with words frighten people into not “sinning” because of some afterlife consequences?
    NO, we employ civil servants to administer the affairs of State. And a major responsibility is to impose and collect taxes from citizens not to beg them to adhere but to ensure they adhere.

30. @Adrian

To repeat, stick to the script. You run a legit business, you pay your taxes ontime. Government is required by law to do the same. It is not your problem to worry about government’s inability to collect taxes.

Here is the link to support your earlier point. And to think our populated is thought to be highly educated.

http://www.smithsgore.com/property-single.php?id=1001143

31. That’s called due diligence and it is supposed to be rigorously adhered to, but from what I have learned over the years is that local bajan whites call and some foreign whites, can call up and demand what they want in very rude and obnoxious tones with some of these same people bowing and scraping and being subjected to the telephones being dropped in their ears. Why would governments allow this kind of disrespect to be visited on employees at the expense of the taxpayers.

32. I have been following this particular blog with interest as it is the clear example of one of the big reasons why Barbados is in it up to its neck.
    The politicians FCuk the ones they can and put their butts up at the ones they cant and take it straight and strong lubricated with $.
    Fcuking Immoral prostitutes. Its a shame $ dont carry aids.
    But in passing as this blog is about “business.Another reason why poot ole Bim in the deep chocolate .Follow this.
    I have a good freind a wealthy business man in France(well who wants poor freinds?)He was looking to invest in Millions in the Caribean.He is linked to an Arab company in Dubai.
    We talk on Skype.So being the patriotic person i am .I put forward Barbados as a HUB for his business.He speaks four languages fluently.Told him that bajuns are well educated, sensible people. that proerty was depressed here so he would find some good deals for his new Hub.
    That I had some freinds who would be able to give him assistance to intigrate.
    He had just flown back in from the Seychells where he has other business interests.
    So he asked me where he could get some basic rundwon on the matters that were of concern an he didnt want to fly again to the Caribbean.I looked up The Barbados Embassy in London so that he could make and appoinment and see them as London France is now just a quick hop on a nice first class train. I gave hime the # and said .I am SURE they will be able to help you
    Attached is his reply AFTER calling OUR EMBASSY in UK:
    useless pricks, they do not understand anything
    and obviously friday is not a good day to work
    they kept passing me on to several people without even bothering to listen what I had to say
    : then, they kept telling me that” ***** was not in charge of VISA***

I ask myself why I bothered.
    Anoother host of Jobs gone.

How much does it cost us for an Embassy in UK??

33. The statement made that Plantrac building has been sold to Trinidadians is erroneous. Those of us who want to be honest know that PLANTRAC was a Neal and Massy company which has always been a T&T owned company.

What we need to ask is who are the new owners and what will be the nature of their business bearing in mind it is a huge residential neighbourhood.

34. Easy to find out the new owners of plantrac, check corporate affairs on belmont road, they are suppose to register all new businesses.

35. No surprise that the overseas consulates would turn away business people who may have honestly genuine agendas and by some mysterious display of genius let in the real dishonest business people………….makes you ponder.

36. Independent Senator John Watson, newly appointed , will have lots of info on this subject. Is a tax audit done prior to such appointments ?

37. Miller etc.
    If the Gov’t as you intimated is engaging with some Corporate scofflaws in a quid pro quo arrangement whereby donations/benefits to a political party/politician is used as a tool offset noncompliance with tax liabilities then that Govt/Party is cheating the citizenry.

I hope that you would encourage your Party to raise this issue ASAP (the Estimates) is an ideal opportunity so the naming and shaming can commence.

As always I don’t have a political horse in this race just hoping for a more equitable Barbados.

38. Stick to what script .the script involves what is right and it must also call for one and all to seek out and embrass the doers of corporate thief . thescript does should only stop short on adriens plight which involves the lifeblood of a country. far be it for average joe or mary citizen to owe taxes/and not pay for years. “woe unto them” one must not only call for there share butas a citizen one must also call on others to pay their fair share .

39. I have been in business for a very long time. My company is totally up to date on BIDC rent,NIS, PAYE, VAT, and Corporation Tax. As a matter of fact, we have no current claims on government for any type of refunds, but if we did, what the hell has government paying us got anything to do with the those in the private sector who do not pay their taxes? The Minister of Finance used this feeble excuse when the Chamber of Commerce complained about tax refunds due. Most of you making excuses for government probably do not know that most VAT refunds are due when a company exports more than it sells locally. So, we don’t need the foreign exchange? When an exporter has to borrow money to cover his expenses, and pay interest on it while government owes him money, that is tantamount to levying a tax on exports. There is absolutely no doubt that a very large number of companies owe government agencies millions, but are they large corporations, or are they a myriad of small to medium sized businesses like lawyers and accountants, and yes, entrepreneurs who have got themselves in way over their heads? You have to stop this nonsense that the tax dodgers are large white or foreign-owned businesses. This is simply not the case. As for the closed-down hotels, many were family-owned. When things start to go south and the business cannot find its way out of difficulties, are you saying that the owners should continue until they themselves are absolutely penniless? Don’t forget that most small/medium-sized businesses do not operate pension schemes, and these owners still have to live through old age. So ac, CCC and your cohorts, get a bit of perspective – understand the facts. Or shut up! Steupse!

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Your information about Plantrac is out dated.

Just like a lot of things you speak about. No wonder your BLP is still in opposition. Listening to you it is simply the blind leading the blind.

41. If the media was inthe business of looking out for the country,s best interest by now all that is owed by these rich fat cats would be paid however we know that,s not going to happen cause as seen from this very isssue once the alarm has been sounded the ones who are always calling for FOI in govt resorts to the tatic of protecting the staus quo the very thing which they accused the govt of. prefering to stick to the script.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

mrcorrecto(Adrian)

Why is it you are always gloating when things go wrong in Barbadoos, England is no different. I was watching a documentary on TRU TV where it was shown that three quarters of all robberies in a certain section of London go unsolved.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

Excuse me but I dont want to send this thread off track.

BUT>>>>>

“BARBADOS MOVES UP IN TOURISM RANKING

Barbados has been ranked third in the Americas Region and 27th in thw World overall in Travel & Tourism competitiveness index complied by the Geneva based World Ecconom Forum.”

How is it that you are always ready and able to barge onto this blog with GLOOM AND DOOM about Barbados but never, ever able to comment of news such as this?

44. @CCC
    Will you never stop?! 27the in the world in competitiveness? 27TH IN THE WORLD?! Yippee!! We have made it to 27TH!! All we need now is tourists. Er..oh!

45. @CCC
    So everything’s okay then. No need to clean up the place, no need to stop the crime, no need to develop on our UNESCO heritage sight, no need to promote the island, no need to keep hotels in business, no need to attract new investment. We can relax and just drift along in the same old way. After all we are 27th in the world. We can sleep easy.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You are so stupid. Name the Caribbean country ahead of us?

how many countries are listed?

47. Great you didnt move up because of anything you did,it was Cyprus is a mess because of Greece and Estonia was the second biggest loser economy in the EU. This reminds me of when I played football, and everyday we would have sprints and one fat lineman Dennis would always come last.One day another fellow to the coaches astonishment was last, and he yelled Tom why are you last.. he said cause Dennis isnt here.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Boy oh boy, you Barbados Labour Party supporters are something else.

49. I was visiting Uk and I was robbed,the outcome was I ended up laughing.
    I called the police,to be told; sorry we cannot attend we have only one and quarter policeman to patrol that area.
    Whaaaa???!!

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply