The following is a communication which was sent to the VAT Office by Hotelier and social commentator Adrian Loveridge.

Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

On or before the 15 March 2013, we will be expected to pay over to Government the amount of $37,526.60 in Corporation taxes due for the last financial year [2012]. If we do not pay on time, then there will be an immediate fine of 5% of the amount due, which equates to $1,876.33 plus interest accrued of 1% per month or 18% annually, which is 3 times the latest rate of Government borrowings to sustain a bloated public service and pay for dismally failed projects like GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Limited) and the chartering of Carnival Destiny for CWC2007.

As a small business that has operated on Barbados for twenty five years and has honoured all statutory obligations, it is a significant amount of money. Yet the same Government has owed us outstanding VAT refunds of nearly $30,000 for up to two years. Of course they have not paid us any late penalty charges or interest.

Before going public, I have written personally to the Ministers of the various Government bodies involved, but up until today not received any form of response.  It appears they feel they have no obligation to businesses that are successful, sustainable (through there own efforts) and those who have demonstrated viability over decades of operation. Yet week after week, it is almost impossible not to read or listen to endless rhetoric about the importance that small businesses will play in the recovery of our economy.

As a frequent writer on tourism matters, I have become used to attracting a high level of attention in Government circles with all the negative consequences this has brought over the years but this is another matter. We are left with three simple choices. Go into overdraft and pay commercial bank interest to pay the corporate taxes due, pay the fine and interest or receive the monies we are owed by Government. At the same time, the new administration must define its priorities and decide whether it is going to be its policy to support and encourage small businesses to grow and survive or whether through its actions, it is going to bury them, with all the employment implications that brings.

1. What rubbish I dont know anything about blp of dlp but I can tell you this I had a relative of one of your ministers working for me in canada and he was one lazy f#$ker hopefully it is not a family trait.

2. @CCC
    Name the country in the Caribbean ahead of us? Do you mean in tourism growth this year? All of them!

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Someone said that CCC was a jackass. A jackass nearby overheard the conversation and went berserk with laughter! Yes CCC is more stupid than even the lowest of the equinoids.

4. Dr Georgie,

Take ten marks! That was out of the top drawer!

5. @GP

Understand a lot of the vitriol levelled at Adrian is personal because of public positions as a social commentator as well as those with political axes to grind.

6. @Georgie
    I thought you were going to say that the jackass committed suicide in shame!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Georgie Porgie | March 8, 2013 at 3:48 PM

Is this the best that you can come up with?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I should have added that your age is catching with you!!!!!

9. Not that Carson don’t deserve some licks in his behind, since he delights in sharing same to others, but wunna SURELY can see the point about a destination ranked 27th out of 200 being in decline as against one ranked 160th experiencing growth?

Give Jack his jacket…

All over the world Billionaires are becoming multi-millionaires while some poor-boys are picking up a few berries.
    Comparing GROWTH RATES are meaningless in such circumstances.

If COW experience a 10% decline and Bushie buys a bobcat and grab a few small jobs that would have gone to COW in the old days…with 50% growth..does that make Bushie a better businessman?

The FACT is that Barbados has operated WAY above its weight category in tourism for a VERY long time – and such performance CANNOT be sustained in difficult economic times without brilliant leadership, management, people engagement and marketing.

Such skills are NOT apparent anywhere nearby at this time….especially from the jokers who run our industry at all levels.

10. @stuesope shut up what! if corporations owes money to govt they out to pay so govt don.t have to go begging the taxpayers for bailouts in the form of increase vat cause these corporate lackeys think they are in a special category all by themselves

11. Government is useless and run by a bunch of mutts who are either not interested, on sick leave, on unpaid leave, transferred to another department, on vacation or traveling on business.

12. And standard working hours are 9 to 3 with 2 hours for lunch.

13. 20 percent of them dont work on a Monday, which is slight better that on a Friday.

14. thats right I heard they dont like to work wednsdays…. it screws up both weekends

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The problem with some of these jokers is the fact that they are willing to go out of their way to damage and besmirch the good name of Barbados.

It pains them to say anything positive about Barbados. The reason being the population is largely BLACK PEOPLE who must be velified at all turns.

The sad thing about it is they have willing BLACK ACCOMPLICES.

16. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

Carson

The public service in Barbados is a frigging joke and for you to be making lame excuses for them does Barbados no favours in the long run, trust me brother.

17. Are you for real …I dont have to do anything to damage Barbados reputation your doing a pretty good job on your own. To the contrary I could have bought a house in downtown ottawa in what I have spent over the years visiting your island. So maybe I feel I have earned the right to say it is not the place I first visited, the people arent as friendly, it is not as safe, it is not as pretty. so whos to blame???? Well I dont care if its blp or dlp its the people collecting a salary to make sure these things are always at there best and that is the govt. I am glad to see the blacks and whites are getting together to accomplish something, its a start. Now bugger off

18. One of the reasons hotel owners, big shareholders (not hired managers or employees) close hotels is to selfishly pocket or safeguard their private millions. The national interest or workers are of no concern to them. Silver Sands close, Blue Horizon close, Escape close, Almond Beach close, Sandridge close, Sandy Beach close, Allamanda close. Adrian let us know if the chaps who owned or operated these properties are in personal financial difficulty.
    ——————————————————

Adrian Loveridge we still waiting on you to let us know about the poverty stricken owners/operators of the hotels above who close them because they were broke. Those properties are part of the closed 37 you like to regale us on.
    Your cronies undersea, lawson, dr.Love ,steupse can help with the answer they close to the action.
    You selfish progeny of the slave owning class think majority of Bajans are dunces.

19. David | March 8, 2013 at 12:02 PM |

The statement made that Plantrac building has been sold to Trinidadians is erroneous. Those of us who want to be honest know that PLANTRAC was a Neal and Massy company which has always been a T&T owned company.

What we need to ask is who are the new owners and what will be the nature of their business bearing in mind it is a huge residential neighbourhood.

Here I am thinking Plantrac was a company owned by Plantations Ltd. which was bought way back by CLICO …. so long ago that it might have been during another DLP administration …. in another lifetime!!

Maybe it was Tractors and Equipment in Warrens and Plantrac was the BS&T equivalent.

Nope, Tractors and Equipment was on the BS&T compound at Warrens so I am betting it was Tractors & Equipment that was BS&T.

(Actually I checked the shareholders some time ago … Tractors & Equipment was definitely BS&T)

Plantrac supplied tractors and equipment to the erstwhile booming Agricultural sector so the building at Eagle Hall will have been custom made and not of much current use.

Looks like the Trinis are unloading non performing assets and converting them into cash!!

Ah boy, I remember getting my innoculations as a child at Bosvigo at Dr. Manning …. it had a wonderful Sweet Lime hedge.

I always feared the Penicilin shots …… rear end!!

If there is a CLICO connection I sure hope some of the BIPA members are benefitting!!

20. @TRUTH
    Your cronies undersea, lawson, dr.Love ,steupse can help with the answer they close to the action.
    You selfish progeny of the slave owning class think majority of Bajans are dunces

Well Written TRUTH.

What is it got en yuh Boxy yuh ent able tuh sit comfortable?

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

john

“Ah boy, I remember getting my innoculations as a child at Bosvigo at Dr. Manning …. it had a wonderful Sweet Lime hedge. ”

You are dating yourself.

On a more somber note I remember there was a shop opposite Dr. Manning where one saturday night one of the guys from the area beat to death his girlfriend. A guy called “donlikemuh”.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“What we need to ask is who are the new owners and what will be the nature of their business bearing in mind it is a huge residential neighbourhood”

I told you what it is going to used for: a huge storage complex for Trinidadian goods.

Every one has until FRIDAY next week to vacate the property or be thrown out onto the Bajan streets by the new TRINDADIAN owners.

See if you get that now.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 9, 2013 at 8:36 AM |
    “I told you what it is going to used for: a huge storage complex for Trinidadian goods.”

And to think this is all taking place under the auspices of a black Bajan only DLP administration!
    Are you the same CCC who cussed OSA and the BLP for selling out Barbados to foreigners especially our Caricom “brothers” Trinidad?

Man, CCC, get your placards together and along with ac, “I”, Fractured, TPP and the ‘anti-foreigners’ gang to assemble in George St. and march to Eagle Hall. The miller will be taking up the rear just behind ac to prod her along with a barge pole made by Wickham.

BTW, CCC, before you set political fire to the place you should ask if the 5 tractors promised by the “silenced’ Minister of Agriculture has been delivered and currently stored in that warehouse as promised in the last budget speech.
    After all, he gave his hot air promise that these tractors were on their way to the Island to plough from St. Lucy in the North to Penny Hole. But what can we expect from this vocally castrated Chihuahua whose gun-ho word is not even worth what Paddy Marshall shot at in the empty bond.

24. Estwick also declared last year that he would be giving up the ministry of agriculture unless he got the finance needed to run the ministry, he also declared that it was the most neglected ministry. We know what happened to all that TALK. They sicken me.

Re the hoteliers debate……Truth, said it well………..in all their delusions of superiority, they really do think the majority blacks on the island are nothing but DUNCES, that is also how they judge the leaders (with some truth) who encourage the scams and cons against the taxpayers.

25. Ac not anti nobody but is for fair play not allowing the fat cats to make up the rules of the game accordingly while the those who play fair are left to hang out to dry and the the ordinary bajan having to refill the empty baskets. People are wiseto how the games are played and understand the deceit and “show me your hand mentality” that is engrained .

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

well well

“they really do think the majority blacks on the island are nothing but DUNCES, that is also how they judge the leaders (with some truth)”

You must be refering to the Barbados Labour Party LEADERS. That is why even in opposion the Barbados Labour Party campaign was flooded with WHITE PEOPLE AND MUSLIM terrorist money.

They all know that the BLP can be bought.

27. Carson…………I am trying hard to be neutral here, only this morning i got some information that privatization will be inevitable among some other horrible news yet to be verified.no one my be able to blame the opposition this time. word of caution, keep an open mind.

28. White people and terrorist money ??? Are you really this stupid or is this some kind of act. It must of been very confusing for Dr. Manning at which end he was giving the injection.

29. I warned him.

30. Hey .Chill out.
    Check out this

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=f309fSTWYo4

link en Laff.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

well well

Dont you all get tired trying to predict what the DLP will do?

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The blog owner predicted that the DLP would call elections in November 2012, remember?

That is just one example of folly on this blog.

33. I am not predicting anything, I am hoping that one party or another one day find the strength to do right by the majority. I am not a party person.

34. If they would both lead the way in making sure the majority have total control of the wealth in Bim, it would make me happy. As things are right now, they are both lacking…………….can you say not???

35. The first set of leaders who successfully and professionally manage to stop the con artists and foreign criminals from slithering into the island with millions, start checking to see where they earned that money while stopping them from thinking they can dictate what happens on the island because they see themselves as superior, will definitely grab my attention.

36. Just returned from the travel show,overall lame thank god the tickets were given to me. however there were some bright spots Cuba was giving out drinks of Havana club, Newfoundland and the atlantic provinces had a large area, and had a lot of people working creating an energy,Barbados was small and run by one lady from the consulate Harriette Smith she was friendy and informative, more than happy to help me find a place for crop-over but if the future for Btu is tied to Rihanna it was certainly missing, Rather than some-one standing there handing out pamphets the think tank has to get together a plan and like a snake oil salesman of old bring the people in and sell Barbados An energy or buzz has to be felt by the people so when they are thinking of a vacation Barbados pops into there heads and not just in the winter, all year round.

37. @lawson

Thanks for your follow up, can’t say your report reveals any surprises.

38. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

lawson,

Thank you. Harriette is a lady I have personally worked with several times and I have the utmost respect for. It is not her fault that she was the only representative, as the stand was booked by the BTA at the last minute (4th March) after it was questioned WHY there was no Barbados presence at the show. Despite the financial limitations of the private sector tourism industry on Barbados, they would have supported this event, IF THEY HAD KNOWN ABOUT IT!

For eight years we largely funded and organised a unique annual event called the re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show, which filled scores of hotel rooms, attracted up to 400 overseas delegates and brought around a BDS$1 million in foreign earnings each year. The BTA withdrew their support, citing as the reason that they could not persuade one or two of their 130 Barbados based staff members to ‘man’ the stand for one and a half days.

Until the BTA is manged properly and restructured, I really dont’s think its going to get much better.
    Now think about it for a moment, which market is likely to produce more business in the near future. Canada or Germany?
    So where are many of the BTA staff currently?

ITB in Berlin. Can you possibily imagine the cost?

39. The weather here today is beautiful and looking out the huge glass windows of our new congress center at the parliament and arts center watching the ice on the canal melt you can feel spring in the air. I was thinking there should be two shows one in the fall because thoughts of winter are disappearing and cottage time is soon apon us.An idea I have is rotating Barbados booths at the larger shopping malls on weekend in the fall for a month ., a blitz if you will.like we have for fire prevention week. I am sure this would create a Barbados buzz for the winter and the spring show geared strictly towards crop-over and Rhianna . If the people dont want to work weekends… easy solution… get new people.

40. @Miller

why u dont leave me alone, u aint see how quiets i was last few days, dont wake a sleeping giant yah hear. How soon yah going on ur trip, i taking one within a few days.

41. @ TO THE POINT

And are you taking this trip courtesy of the hard-earned money of the taxpayers by any chance? Also, are you by any chance taking along CCC, ac and another 10 or 12 others in the junket? We are all aware that when party people travel it has to be 1st class airline tickets and Penthouse hotel reservations. Ah Lie?

42. I tried looking for Plantrac on the CAIPO website and it seems to have vanished …. no such company exists or existed!!

Maybe it wasn’t a company.

I’ll check and early phone directory and see.

!996-97 says Plantrac Engineering Limited was in existence.

So how it could just vaporise and disappear from CAIPO?

Maybe I searching wrong!!

I just can’t find it.

Something funny (not ha ha) going on here.

43. The corporate affairs website will not give as much info, you will have to go and physically ask to do a search of the company, all documents are supposed to be given to you leading back to original registration and ownership. If there is no info on who bought or owns the company, someone has something to hide and paid handsomely to have it hidden.

44. Lawson wrote “Rather than some-one standing there handing out pamphets the think tank has to get together a plan and like a snake oil salesman of old bring the people in and sell Barbados.”

Clearly there is a problem at the BTA and it may be budget.

You should always have at least 2 people manning a booth. Everyone needs a washroom break so 1 person means the booth will be left unattended during breaks.

What someone I know has recommended to others is that they have two 42″ led monitors running video so there is always something to attract visitors if staff must leave the booth.

Lawson’s “booths at the larger shopping malls” idea is great.

45. Well Well | March 10, 2013 at 8:11 AM |

The corporate affairs website will not give as much info, you will have to go and physically ask to do a search of the company, all documents are supposed to be given to you leading back to original registration and ownership. If there is no info on who bought or owns the company, someone has something to hide and paid handsomely to have it hidden.

It has not been my experience that a company just disappears of CAIPO. Sometimes I may spell it wrong and the Company is not found … it is usually my fault …. not always.

Very occasionally the company is ancient.

My concern is that Plantrac Engineering Limited may have been owned directly or indirectly by CLICO which as we all know is going through its own troubles.

Its disappearance, if indeed it has disappeared, seems extrremely suspicious.

I’ll try a few other search avenues.

Maybe it is me doing something wrong!!

46. @De Hood

yes i am taking along one person and to dump that person in the atlantic ocean and that is you. I have enough to travel at my own expense and have been doing that since 1974..

47. I found out Plantrac is now RIMCO.

Seems strange that CAIPO would forget a company name.

48. Hello, I enjoy reading all of your post.
    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.