Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
Now that the general election is over, and the nation has indicated its distrust, or indecision, of the two main parties, the marginal majority held by the DLP must, nevertheless, be treated with the respect and seriousness which the urgency of the nation’s predicament deserves. It is, however, an opportunity for the DLP government to start afresh, and, whatever the impulse, the prime minister must take a firm grip on policy and drive through his ideas. This is now his government, the electorate have given him a mandate and it is his moment to make history. He now has an opportunity to write his name in the nation’s story comparable to that of Errol Barrow or even Grantley Adams. Equally, he can go down as another Bernard ‘Bree’ St John or Erskine Sandiford, as someone who made very little impact on the nation and who is remembered for all the wrong reasons. After appointing his Cabinet, the first thing the prime minister – and at the time of writing only the attorney general has been appointed – should do is draft a ten-year development plan, with radical pathways for dragging Barbados, kicking and screaming, in to the 21st century.

Reforming the Public Sector:
Some civil servants, in their arrogance or ignorance of democracy, boast that while politicians are there for short periods, they are there for a working life. One of the first things the prime minister should do is to dis-abuse them of this nonsense. However, this does not mean entering territorial fight with senior civil servants; the changes must be carried out with civility and professionalism on both sides in the interest, most importantly, of present taxpayers and future generations. The failure of politicians and civil servants to work effectively together will in any case impact on the quality of service the general public receives. But, it is to improve the efficiency of this service that changes must be made.

First, he should appoint a policy delivery unit in his department by reforming the so-called general management and coordination services unit, with the authority to intervene right across the entirety of the public sector to ensure that policy is being adhered to and in being implemented in agreed time limits.

This could be funded by cost-savings. At present the unit has one permanent secretary on an annual salary of about Bds$147926, a chief research officer ($98087), a director of communications ($88182), a senior administrative officer ($88182), and other positions, including a cleaner, a so-called general worker, seven maids, two telephone operators, three driver/messengers, a fulltime messenger, one senior messenger, four clerk/typists, two stenographer typists, three clerical officers,  and a maintenance coordinator, a total of 51 staff at a cost of over Bds$2m a year.

This is the staffing levels and positions that have been in existence since Adam was a lad, many of them totally irrelevant in a modern age. Instead of a departmental cleaner, why not form a central government cleaning department with responsibility for cleaning all government offices, and privatize it, giving ordinary people the feel for being entrepreneurs?

In this day and age there is no need for so-called maids, to do what? Just put a couple electrical tea-makers in offices and let the staff get on with it; why two telephone operators, just let calls go through to the available staff members who can transfer those calls as relevant; three driver/messengers, a senior messenger, a fulltime messenger, can all be replaced with a simple well-staffed post room; four clerk/typists, two stenographer typists (an oxymoron since a stenographer is a typist), can be replaced by giving all members of staff should have a personal computer on their desks, all departmental drivers should be formed in to a single pool with a three-year government contract to provide their services. And the permanent secretary, senior administrative office and director of communications could all be replaced with a head of department and a press officer, all bringing about enormous savings. Little additions such as template letters, style sheets for report writing will go a long way towards improving efficiency and cost reductions. Reforming the public sector is not principally about reducing staff numbers or cutting costs; it is in the main about making the public sector more efficient and effective in its delivery of services to the public.

Training is also important.
We need to reform our educational system, the administration of justice and the rest of the criminal justice system; we need a traffic control system, and a proper environmental policy.  Finally, any reforms of the public sector must have at its centre the full use of the diversity of talents who at present are under-utilised. Working in the public sector must become one of the most prestigious ambitions of our brightest and best coming out of any university, including the University of the West Indies. But they must be given the freedom, in an orderly way, to develop their ideas and reach for the top so that the nation, the very people who pay for their education, could ultimately benefit.

Economic Reforms:
The first challenge for the government is to drive down both the deficit, while at the same time encourage savings. This can be done by increasing VAT on certain luxury items (alcohol and unimportant luxury goods), the introduction of a tourist visa reasonably priced (Bds$30) will fund the BTA, for example. There are numerous other cost-saving initiatives that could be introduced. One just needs common sense reasoning, not economic expertise, to realise that government cannot borrow to pay civil servants salaries, rather than raise the necessary revenue. Common sense tells us that if we are underperforming the global economy, and indeed the regional one, then our economy we are in dire straits. What handsomely paid technocrats are paid for is to come up with solutions to these problems, even if they are not fully accepted by the decision-makers.

With Governor Worrell, despite the lessons of Economics 101, we know what he is not in favour of: decoupling and even devaluing the Barbados dollar from the Greenback, spending any part of that massive war chest we have as foreign reserves; creating a new retail bank to financialise the system; widespread public sector reforms; the presence of Canadian-owned banks.

However, what we do not know is what he prefers, what his answers are to these historic economic problems, deep structural problems that clog up the system and have nothing to do with the 2007/8 crisis – and that is what he and his senior team are paid for. Prime minister Stuart does not have the luxury of sitting back and waiting for a miracle to happen, like the academics and technocrats, it is his job to rescue the nation’s finances.

We know, based on its most recent projections, the central bank is basing the nation’s economic recovery on the traditional tourism sources of the UK, Canada and the US to themselves recover; but these economies – even the Canadian – are not as strong as they used to be. Without repeating the numbers, if is worth saying that to make a simple point. According to Tony Rennell, three years ago the Chinese comprised about four per cent of hotel guests; now they comprise a third.
We have already seen the government building up a portfolio of three and four star hotels and one five star, the Hilton, which it runs on a franchise. Yet, for totally inexplicable reasons, we have seen the government underwriting Bds$70m and rising to fund the Four Seasons white elephant on the false belief that what tourists really need to come to Barbados is another five star hotel – while the others remain under-occupied. This is the economic reasoning of the mad house. Not only that, does our medium to long-term tourism plan include marketing to the Chinese, the fastest growing international travelling sector?

In any case, is tourism the only answer to our catastrophic economic underperformance? We already have a world-class premium product, and have done for the last three hundred years, rum, yet compared with its peers (other spirits) Barbadian rum is seriously underperforming. I have been calling for the past few years for a legal definition of Barbadian (Bajan) rum, which goes unnoticed in a political culture dominated by lawyers. Can Barbadian (Bajan) rum be defined by the breed of sugar, the manufacturing of the molasses, the art of distilling, what exactly is it? If we do not legally define out rum Bajan rum will become a generic product like Demerara sugar and we will lose that intellectual property right.

Infrastructure Improvements:
The new DLP government should use its first 100 days to launch a massive Keynesian ten-year infrastructural plan in which many of the traditional communities, including all the slums in the middle of the city, should be bulldozed and rebuilt. It should turn areas such as Nelson Street, Wellington Street and the surrounding areas in to a modern garden communities, complete with play areas for children, offices, one,  two and three bedroom homes, offices and shops, along with a school(s) and places of worship. They should have free wi-fi, a cycle park, a skate board park, road tennis facility and community halls with gyms. It should improve Palmetto Square and make it an extension of our main shopping thorough fare, with decent retail shops and offices; it should improve Tudor Street, Baxters Road, Suttle Street, New Orleans and that entire district. I have already suggested a small theme park linking Culpepper Island to Ragged Point, in a way that has not been done since Sir Grantley Adams filled in the sea between Pelican Island and the mainland to form the port. They should also carry out a cost/benefit analysis on developing a dry ski slope in the Scotland District, two or three nationwide leisure centres, a good dolphinarium and more. In short, he must give the impression of thinking. There are those who will pour scorn on these plans on the grounds of funding; but they are all fundable, an issue that I have dealt with elsewhere and will be quite prepared to do so again.

Funding:
Government should put a compulsory purchasing order on the entire area, then draw up the necessary plans complete with completion costs; then it can approach the money markets to raise the money, using the development as collateral, it can auction off parts of it to foreign direct investors, or it can become more cautious and develop the area gradually, giving existing property owners first refusal on the new apartments.

There could also be dual pricing: one for locals and one for second-home overseas buyers, including Barbadians. Priced correctly, the overseas buyers could part-subsidise the funding for locals. Government should enter the money markets, institutional and retail in a robust way, using its fiscal muscle to attract investors.

For retail investors, it should take lessons from Greece and Israel and launch a Diaspora Development fund, either closed or open ended, with taxed investments, tax-free growth, and tax-free dividend withdrawals, after a set period, say five years. There must be a reason why people want to invest in Barbados. It should launch a premium bond, based on the UK example, to fund the leisure sector; introduce a compulsory long-term saving plan, based on the Singapore or the US 401(K) models, or even the UK’s ISA plans.

We need to draw up a portfolio of assets that could be sole off: the Government Printery, Transport Board, the hotel portfolio as mentioned, instead of selling CBC auctioning a licence instead for a second television station, impose a tax on mobile (cell) phones, get rid of the vulgar ZR vans, impose a new tax regime on churches and other places of worship and secular charities – the list of possible revenue-raising policies is endless.

Analysis and Conclusion:
All over the world there is an intense debate going on between regulators, politicians, academics, think-tanks and the press over the financial crisis and policies to return troubled economies to growth. Even in Italy, Spain and Greece, where the technocrats have intervened, the discussion has been robust and informative. Yet, for deep cultural reasons, there is none of this echo in Barbados; there is a mistaken belief that the minister of finance, the governor of the central and their advisers know best – leave it to the ‘experts’. But an opened, informed debate can produce remarkable results if all the participants are honest about their knowledge and biases.

Only this week I attended a meeting with a eurozone central bank governor – it was under Chatham House rules so I cannot give too many details – organised by the Centre for the Study of Financial Innovation, which should have been relayed to the Barbadian public. First, it showed that even when the governor is a highly respected academic s/he is not a fount of all knowledge. Sometimes in a crisis other people, especially those working at the coal face, have workable ideas and suggestions that may be, just may be, worth trying. This may not be the Barbadian way of doing things, but changing behaviours is one of the challenges of innovation.

Instead of seeing this crisis as doom and gloom, it should be seen as an opportunity to refine our governance and re-structure our systems to make them more relevant for a modern, high-tech world. Despite the resistance of the central bank governor and his supporters to new ideas, we are still waiting, five years after the global banking crisis, for the green shoots to spring from their alternative suggestions. All we get, however, are excuses: that it is a global problem, that our major trading partners are having problems, everything but sound proposals to answer the uniqueness of the Barbados economic situation.

In the final analysis, the sham that masquerades as a legal system, including the long delays and questionable expertise, will block any hopes the government, and many senior business people, have of making Barbados a leading regional – even global – financial centre. Business people need legal certainty, competence, good non-banking professionals and sound governance if they are to do business from offshore jurisdictions. To attract reputable international businesses we need a competent and transparent regulatory system, and the Financial Services Commission is not it; we need a proper ombudsman service representing the interests of consumers; we need a proper banking network to provide the credit needs of businesses. They also need high-quality supporting services, including first-rate middle and back office workers – so far, apart from the local CFA Institute branch, there is no evidence of this. In fact, government could spend some of the money it is wasting on the UWI on funding able young people through the CFA Analysts exams.

The ball is now in prime minister Stuart’s court, it is his to drop or serve with passion. There can now be no excuse.

1. Mr Cummins I believe things are applicable,when you were in Canada garbage wasnt strewn about the streets without penalty.The rule of law was respected.Trust in the civil service was not eroded although I cannot say the same for politicians.I dare say you are entitled to a pension that has given you a good standard of living, even better in Barbados which should be the right of all people who have worked hard all their lives Iwould not speak for Mr Austin but for myself the problem is not that you dont have thinkers it is the doers that are lacking, and if you are a doer like Mr Sandiford you “pay the price”…
    I moved my 93 year old mum in with me because I promised her she would never go to a home. Now I see this darling old lady everyday, when my sister comes back home after the winter she says mum is looking more tired things are starting to fade parts are not working as good as they did, things I miss because they creep up so slowly.So sometimes looking from outside the fishbowl can be a benefit as well. Hopefully between the two inside and outside some way forward can be seen for Barbados to prosper.

2. @ Alvin
    Did you sell Culpepper Island to Mr.Doyle?

3. @enuff
    /I didn’t sell Culpepper to Mr. Doyle. I couldn’t afford to sell anything to anybody.. You might ask him who he bought it from, or perhaps you can ask MacFingall, or any of the residents of Skeete’s Bay. I would have attendedn that meeting but I left the island the day before it was scheduled. who was one of the people at the town hall meeting who raised questions of Mr. Doyle regarding his plans for the area/ You might find out from OSA when it was bought, who it was bought from and who the Minister in charge of Town planning was/ You might also ask whether it fell under the aegis of the Special Development Areas Act.
    @lawson. “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder”. we make the type of life we want and set our own standards. If we can’t afford to buy the frozen fish in the supermarket, what’s to stop us from going down by the beach and discussing price with the fishermen, taking the fish home,scaling it and freezing it ourselves, thus saving those costs that contribute to the high price in the supermarket/ I have not been able to buy a new car yet in Barbados, but I have been able to get from point A to point B with my second hand cars. As long as we keep breathing we will get old, parts will wear out and death is inevitable So prepare for it in your mum and later in yourself. Our young people have to learn to treasure the older folk and do what you have done, take care of your mum. I helped my sister look after our mum at home until she died at 96. So feel good about taking care of her and set your own standards.

4. Anyone who thinks we just have to hold on and tread water for a while until the US and European turn the corner and economic growth returns once more (for them and us) should be aware that signs are pointing to it being a very long haul that happens (if we don’t destroy ourselves in wars and revolutions first).

Interview with Paul Craig Roberts former head of policy at Department of Treasury under Reagan, and the editor at The Wall Street Journal, founder of Institute for Political Economy, and prolific author. We speak about the crashing economy and why it is collapsing, austerity, corruption, Greece, the IMF, and Paul explains some of the complexities of the ill fated money system that is destroying us.

5. I sincerely hope that the newly minted members of parliament that are now charged with running th island, read these blogs and see them as what they are intended, food for thought. This might make a huge difference. The comments above cannot be found in any hand book or dead colonial laws. Let’s hope the ministers are reading.

6. @ Hal Austin do u know how much work is put in at the Government Printery can government pay a private firm to do Ballot paper,Estimates,and all other important docoument that the governmemt need. staff at the printery have a skill they dont get pay for that skill tell me who going to pay for 200 station dairies for police done by hand no machine did u ever come in the Government Printery and see the work that is done the staff had sleep less nights the pass 2 weeks getting out the ballot papers and now waiting for the estimates to come to the table so tell me is there a need to close the GOVERNMENT PRINTERY is there a need the amount of work that is done for all government department is of important for the country did u ever sit and think y yes we are more computer basis now but can a small printer produce what a press does in less that an hour no you need to take a visit to that department and see for yourself the (90) odd staff that does this work need praise not doom.

7. @ Georgie Porgie I checked out the diabetes link. All rehtoric aside that is worrisome and problematic. Thanks for the heads up. They say stress is the silent killer but this is worse than stess. Thanks agian for the data. I hope this type of information is being directed to the right quaters.
    @ Green Monkey your point is well taken. However, that was the excuse sold during the campaign for the stagnant economy (i,e US and Europe). The PM eluded to other markets (Brazil, India and China) so we should have hope since he is thinking outside the box. Refreshing. Let us see if they move in this direction because the old guard (Europe) has been over run.

Good thoughtful comments from you guys.

8. @ ASKQUITH

Apparently Drama has already started on other side…..

as reported by PUDDING & SOUSE in today’s Saturday Sun:

Pure bedlam

People were swarming all over each other as hell broke loose at a City meeting last week.

From all accounts, the runoff was as close as the recent national poll and it came down to a secret ballot.

The main man was nowhere to be seen but his influence loomed large enough to throw the event into chaos and near blows.

The discussion over who should rule the roost got so hot that table and chairs were angrily pushed around. Some of the filthiest language was also heard, according to insiders. All of this allegedly took place in front of some shocked newbies.

The opening of some old wounds triggered verbal attacks that almost ended up in punches being thrown. Frank discussion led not to unity but bitter divide and even started to sway some away from the popular choice.

Exhausted by the verbal clashes, the group finally decided on a secret ballot which put the former chauffeur back in the driver’s seat.

But there were at least two obstinate mates who had earlier gone around Marshalling the troops with whom the decision did not sit well.

Friends are telling the new driver to keep her eyes not only on the road but on the passengers behind her.

(I tell yuh!!!)

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Stuart dont want or need any “advice” from you, Hal!!!

10. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Carson, nice to see you are on the ball. Have a nice day.

11. @ SB

Government is in the business of getting things printed, not owning print works.
    Govt should get the GP valued, ring fence the current staff pensions, give them a three year contract (the period small businesses take to survive), after that they will have to compete with other print works for govt work.
    It should be an enterprise owned by the workers who will be responsible for appointing their own managers.
    For the first three years they should be allowed to operate from the present site, paying a peppercorn rent, after which they will have to relocate.
    The workers will become entrepreneurs, rather than just lazing about and taking taxpayers’ money.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 2, 2013 at 10:06 AM |
    “Stuart dont want or need any “advice” from you, Hal!!!”

For one of the very rare occasions, CCC, I agree with you.
    Why seek further advice when he has a ready-made script to follow regarding the jumpstarting of the economy?
    His views on the economy to put some life into it are most interesting: getting consumers to spend and businesses to invest.
    Sounds like something stolen, sorry, “borrowed”- since Freundel is a man of integrity- from the BLP book of economic proposals.

We shall now see instead of waiting to see.

CCC, please let us move forward and no more OSA jokes. If you do we will send you back in the dog house to sleep with that bitch since she has ‘fired’ the pit bull.

13. Countdown: Any day now we can expect the return of our good friend Tina Roach.We glad ta have ya back dear heart!

14. @ hal austin you seem to have the way forward for barbados you should be PM Barbados would be in great hands all of the woo of the country be settle and we be in a better place so keep pushing for A Better To Tomorrow

15. What amazes me is that we discuss all of these maters without mentioning the role that the current educational system plays in retarding national process. One of the reasons why we are lagging behind, has a lot to do with what and how we are teaching our children. Rest assured that unless we radically reform the educational system we will go nowhere and go nowhere very quickly.

16. We feel compelled to defend Hal Austin. We have a government that just barely made it back. A system that is totally ignorant to any kind of governance of national unity – national reconstruction etc. A population, so backwardly, that it would prefer to pay 14 opposition MPs for doing nothing when what abilities they possess could better be deployed in the service of the nation at a time more critical than any other in human history. Political parties so entrenched in a dead culture of ‘winner takes all’ that they will see Barbados destroyed before they get down off their high horses and realize the limitations of their anachronistic organizations. Even their masters in Westminster have abandoned this perverse types of political rivalry. Party hacks, who invest, almost religiously, all confidence in politicians. A confidence that imbues political figures with godlike characteristics. ‘Infallible’ politicians intent on playing stupid political games with the peoples’ futures. And there are some who would say that the well-intentioned efforts of Hal Austin are misguided. When we look at all of the figures in this political pantomime in Barbados we do not find any genius anywhere. If there is to be genius it might best be located within the collective wisdom of the people, not politicians or any individual. Hal Austin is right to insert himself in the politics of Barbados. There is NOBODY within the body politic who does not need some help, or has a better brain than Mr Austin or anybody else.

17. We need to avoid this culture of ‘the maximum leader’. We are persuaded that Fruendel Stuart missed a unique opportunity to radically change the political culture of Barbados by forming a national unity government with the BLP. This early failure may well cause problems not so long from now. This enlightened approach could have remove the urges of his people and those on the other side from imaging formations that may cause political dislocation. That we could have easily ended up with a hung parliament should have sent a signal to Stuart. Should political instability comes home to roost we will all know that he was the man who lacked the instincts to radically transform the political culture, forever! Surely, this must be a man that needs some help, no?

18. @Pacha

We need to avoid this culture of ‘the maximum leader’. We are persuaded that Fruendel Stuart missed a unique opportunity to radically change the political culture of Barbados by forming a national unity government with the BLP. This early failure may well cause problems not so long from now

Agree with your point 100%. Especially so when MAM is on public record stating that she will work with government for the betterment of Barbados. DLPites may recall that it was the late David Thompson who threw out an invitation to Arthur, Sandiford et al to sit at a round table and parley the issues. Can you imagine what public collaboration at the hierarchy of our political system would do for a nation in the throes of growing tribalism?

19. @ David

Yes. Would have been good transformational politics too – especially for the DLP regardless to whether the BLP accepted Stuart’s offer or not. Stuart could have emerged as the political doyen of this generation if a different type of interpretation of the results of the election was made.

20. @ David
    We think OSA would have been accepting of this idea that MAM

21. @PAcha

The political pundits will tell you the Westminster system is designed to breed adversarial politics.

22. @David

Well! Do you believe everything they say? Now is not the time to unquestioningly accept ‘official’ narratives. How can we as country ask people to be creative and our so-called leaders are intent on holding on to what others have long thrown away?

23. The Westminster/Whitehall model has failed. We need a new politics part of which should be a new second chamber – one-off non party appointments to the senate for a seven-year terms. The idea is as second chamber made up of ‘experts’ who can scrutinise bills coming from the lower chamber. In that way we will get better legislation and not the second rate drafting that we get at present.

24. @ David
    Yesterday we suggest that there was a misinterpretation of the election results by Freundel Stuart and the DLP. Our suggested was that a defeated Arthur would have been more amenable to this initiative that an elected Mottley (as leader of the opposition). Arthur was PM already and he might be looking towards his legacy. While Mottley would perceive a different trajectory and therefore less inclined to accept Stuart’s possible offer. While Arthur has been intent on not leaving the BLP with Mottley in charge. So we are talking about a narrow window.

25. @Pacha

You realize you are saying that the vision of our leaders is not expected to align to national interest except when they have exhausted personal interest.

26. There is no Honeymoon for Stuart and his Goons
    Honeymoon ??
    There should be moves to use Parliament to make the term of this Government the shortest possible.

Last term was the longest ever; this term should be the shortest ever

27. Yes of course! The people’s interests always have to be assumed to be secondary in our system. However, the people might benefit from a coincidence of interests (smile). Maybe a win, win.

Leave a Reply to Green MonkeyCancel reply