Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart said he witnessed it.

The electoral system is one which Barbadians have been proud of until recent general elections.  The cries have been getting louder and louder from the public that votes have been bought on election day. Yes we have had political candidates in the past wooing the public with “corn beef and biscuits” at the village shop but that is where it ended. How big is the problem of vote buying in Barbados?

We have a situation in Barbados where both political parties appear to be guilty of the practice of throwing cash and items around to garner support. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart could hardly post general election to inform the public he witnessed vote buying on election day. His revelation was followed by a similar statement from an equally indignant Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite after his swearing in session at Government House.  Today in the news general secretary of the Democratic Labour Party George Pilgrim stated he had advised members of the public who witnessed vote buying on election day to call the police. One wonders if the Prime Minister called the police when he saw what he saw.

Members of the BU family who were around in 2008 may recall similar concerns raised about vote buying. BU actually posted a blog – Activities In The Farm On Election Day. What is unfathomable is that with all the cash, iPods,watches, herb that was reported to have been distributed on election day, there was only ONE arrest made by the police.

For some reason an alarm was been triggered when we listened to Prime Minister Stuart who spoke so fiercely on this matter on election night (early morning). At this point we will attribute the feeling to gut and keep it under wraps for the moment. What we know, and former BLP candidate for St. Michael North West confirmed it on the afternoon talk show, vote buying is being practiced by BOTH sides. BU wonders what Dame Billie Miller, who has been part of Observer Groups to monitor elections all over the world, must be thinking given the state of affairs which has arisen in Barbados.

The most disturbing aspect of vote buying brings two issues together. Those being bought represent the block (ZR, Minibus) element who come from the most depressed segment of our society and are prone to criminality given their socialization. This group which needs to have certain negative behaviours unfrozen are now being encouraged to do wrong by surrogates who they know represent the political hierarchy of Barbados. The second issue is that the large sums of money being ‘gifted’ must be coming from deep in the coffers of corporate Barbados or even worse, from ill-gotten gains. Ordinary Barbadians are aware of the close relationship which Bounty has to some of our politicos. We will not state any more on this for the moment.  All the indications are exposed to show that Barbados is well on its way to follow the path of a few of our neighbouring islands.

The question for some of us is what can we do to stem the drift. On the weekend a UWI, Cave Hill political scientist, Tennyson Joseph emphatically stated that there is practically little the government can do to stop the practice of vote buying. That was all we needed to hear. To quote Prime Minister Stuart, if we can’t solve these problems after exposing our people to tertiary education, why bother?

Good luck with building a society (please protect us from Pacha, Bush Tea and Baffy).

1. I find the Prime Minister’s vehement condemnation of vote buying laughable because his operatives arrived at my doorstep, encouraging me to get my $300 on election morning at his constituency office. No Freundel! You have no moral authority to speak on this issue.

2. Somehow I believe Damani. He sounds like a keen, honest young fellow, not yet caught up in the wiles of old politicos.

3. Damani are you Noel Muscle Mary Lynch if so the PM dealt with you proper word is the severity of Fruendel’s verbal and ballot beatdown make you scamper from politics for good. Your name is officially mud around the world. You shouldve learnt by now dont mess with Freuendel.

4. “If its just a matter of putting money in your pockets, you could as well turn to the drug pushers and criminals” (or words to that effect)
    Have we seen a turn of the table, where the same DP & C’s are paying people to support certain candidates,who they feel will be sympathetic to their cause/trade?

5. I tried to sell my vote, but I wanted $400,000 for it. Enough to settle a few bills.

Both parties laughed at me.

So I had to give the thing away for free.

6. Wow watching, I don’t mean to offend you but you strike me as a DLP yardfowl. I can assure you that I am not Noel Lynch and I find that insinuation to be a fairly desperate move (even though it is hilarious).However, I know what happened in Brittons Hill from PERSONAL experience and nothing you say or do can win back the respect I once had for Freundel Stuart. The content of your post shows a type of tribalism that really should have no place in Barbadian politics but alas! That will never be because I know i’m being very idealistic and naive.

7. That said, if there has been vote selling, it is because there has been vote buying.

And I believe that the vote buying came first. I don’t want to hear a thing from ANY politician about the loose morals of the boys and girls on the block.

In whose interest is it to buy a vote? Yes a boy who wants to get elected, and get access to that fat $17,000 a month salary, access to power, access to get in on lucrative contracts, etc. etc.

Any REASONABLE person can see that the politicians started the vote buying thing first, and then they start to act all self righteous and morally superior, when we know that the politicians are the whores, and the vote sellers are simply the Johns

8. “when we know that the politicians are the whores, and the vote sellers are simply the Johns.”
    Great analogy Simple Simon….love it !

9. Saying that nothing can be done about vote buying is like aiding and abetting corruption. Pass legislation, have observers, do something! Because the sacred right to vote must remain sacred. It should not be treated as a commodity to buy and sell. But what brave government will be willing to do that?

10. Damani …you know I liking you nuff. You are speaking with a level head. Doan mind some of these political pimps we have here pon BU. Dem jest waiting fuh dem whores to get back wid de money.

11. Stupseeeee

Foolishness.
    Why try to stop vote buying?
    All we need to do is two things.

1 – ENSURE THAT VOTING IS CONFIDENTIAL and that no camera equipment is taken to the polling booth…which is already the case.

2 – Stop the foolishness of writing an identifying mark on the actual ballot ( Which Bushie is pleased to note has been ended in 2013)

If stupid dimwit politicians still want to distribute money and gifts to people in the belief that they will feel morally bound to vote for them, then that is their foolish business…..and that of which every bribing businessman provided the cash.

Bajans would take from Bs, Ds, Ns and Independent and then vote however they see fit, ….or spoil the damn ballot in protest.

The only problem with this practice is that it makes us all look like a$$es, incapable of operating at a mature level with debates, logic, and strategies.

12. Isn’t it precisely because as a society we always ignored or laughed about the well-known corned beef & biscuit scenario for so long that we now are in this situation? That’s what happens when you have dysfunction and a breakdown of law and order in society, it always starts with the small things that are allowed to remain unchecked. Back in 2008 even I knew people who were offered $100 to vote. So now that it has been upped to house, land, drugs, more money, etc. should we really be surprised?
    This is what happens when you have a society that refuses to set boundaries about what is and is not acceptable, and to ensure that laws are actually enforced. It’s not just with the vote-buying either, you see it happening in so many other aspects of Barbados.
    And still many of us are walking around with this silly, false sense of pride that we are not like some other “islands” and countries because we had no political violence. Well, those other islands and countries didn’t find themselves like that overnight; obviously things would have started on a lesser level for them too, including the vote-buying like it did once for us.

Some solutions would be first of all to actually have political parties that have ZERO tolerance for corruption or dysfunction, and we know that is not presently the case. Then to actually enforce the law, make sure that arrests are made, names of the offenders are made public, the parties and politicians whose votes were bought should also be made public. Then of course certain social and economic issues have to be addressed, which is far more complex.

13. “Saying that nothing can be done about vote buying is like aiding and abetting corruption.”

Exactly Damani!!

14. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

15. Damani; On second thought, are you sure that you were offered $300 for your vote to be COLLECTED at Freundal Stuart’s constituency office? Yuh certain you got it right?

Collecting the money from FS’ constituency office seems exponentially more asinine for FS than OSA cashing a cheque for $75,000 dollars on an election morning 10 years ago. I wonder if his constituency office is where the PM was so righteously outraged when the operations of the buyers and sellers were pointed out to him, apparently totally in the open, with no attempt to hide the transactions?

It gets curiouser and curiouser.

16. Bushtea; Your prescription sounds OK on the surface. But times would appear to have changed.

The Drug Dons can actually now ensure that they can deliver a number of solid votes by whatever means. It is no longer “eat yuh out, drink yuh out, and vote yuh out”. Nowadays, If yuh take the chance of not voting how you promised the Don you would, the consequences could be quite dire.

17. The continuance of a first past the post system with all of its failings, the continuance of a Party dominated Upper Chamber and the waste of money and time that it represents, the continuance of a West Minister styled God Save the Queen allegiance and the elitism that it embraces, and the deception that is required to keep it all going is the essence of the moral bankruptcy that the no-voters are most concerned with. Buying and selling of votes is merely a new tip of a very large iceberg …!

18. Yes I am sure checkit-out and I was most shocked! I couldn’t believe what I was told, that “money sharing down at the office, go and get lil bit on election morning and remember it when yuh go to the polls”

Then I inquired as to how much this money was and exactly what office the young man in the ” dems now dems again shirt” was speaking about (just to clarify that he meant the PM’s constituency office) and I was given directions to the office and told that the amount was $300.

I cannot speak from first-hand knowledge about this example I am about to give but I was told by a friend of mine that in certain parts of the constituency, a boy in a yellow shirt was riding his bicycle through the community, yelling “money down at de office, get it quick” I thought that was political suicide on Mr Stuart’s part but apparently not.

19. A number of these politicians were involved in buying votes that is if i believe the PM, and I do. The question is what did he do when he witnessed this crime. Benefit from it or report the matter to the police? Freundel started out his premiership with a lot of creditability in my eyes and it started to diminish with every public intervention. It is now completely gone.

His party broke as many of the election rules as it could with impunity. All regulatory and law enforcement agencies just turned a blind eye. But I find it completely reprehensible when these lawmakers enlisted mostly young men in their criminal conduct.

I am willing to bet that their election returns, in relation to spending, will be works of fiction. Will the Electoral and Boundaries Commission investigate or just publish the returns.

20. With all this technology in our hands why hasn’t there been a video of all of this vote buying? Wunna got cell phones and Blackberries and ent tek nutting?

21. Look, islandgal, I was so shocked I couldn’t think fast enough to record the conversation I had with the young man.

22. As Caswell said, it is a really sad day when politicians could encourage young men to engage in deviance. And then would turn around and criticize the other deviant practises of the youth. I pity those young men because if any arrests are to be made, they are the ones who would be thrown into Dodds, not the politicians who recruited them.

23. I hope you all realise that this matter is bigger than vote buying. Have you ever considered where the money came from? It was the proceeds of bribes. The donors will be the recipients of the big contracts as compensation. I hope you all understand that our little island is a cesspit of corruption. In the last session, we even had lawyers being given large contracts so that they can make enough money to refund what they had stolen from their clients” account.

24. DAMANI, I THINK I CAN SAY I KNOW MR STUART REASONABLY WELL AND I AM SURE THAT HE WOULD NOT SUPPORT AND ENCOURAGE THAT KIND OF BEHAVIOUR. IT WOULD HAVE TO TAKE PLACE UNKNOWN TO HIM. MR LYNCH WAS A POOR CHOICE AS A CANDIDATE SINCE TURNING HIS BACK ON THE CONSTITUENCY AFTER THE LAST ELECTION AND WAS NO THREAT TO MR STUART. EVEN DIE HARD BLPITES WERE TURNED OFF BY MR LYNCH’S PERCEIVED POMPOUSNESS. MR STUART WAS NEVER IN ANY DANGER. MATTER OF FACT, BRINGING URBAN UNDER HIS WING WAS A MASTER STROKE FOR IT ENABLED HIM TO MEETTHE NEES OF THE DISGRUNTLED IN THE AREA AND EMBOLDENED HIS STATURE AS A REPRESENTATIVE.

25. Balance ……we are not blind we can read the screen so there is no need to use caps. You don’t have to shout!

26. Caswell I agree with you 100%! We are allowing corruption to firmly root itself in the moral fibre of our society. That is very worrisome to me because will the Barbados I know be recognisable if this corruption continues to be facilitated the way that it is now?

balance, no need for the all caps, it makes it difficult to read your submission. I can agree with you that Mr Lynch is extremely pompous. However, none of his operatives approached me with offers to buy my vote. I cannot say whether it did or did not occur but I was never personally approached.

I was personally approached by the PM’s operatives and it would be very difficult for me to believe Mr Stuart was totally oblivious to the goings-on inside his own offie. There is no way Mr Stuart was not aware that money was being distributed at his constituency office and unless he was never once there since he called the elections, he knew or at the very least strongly suspected. What kind or representative cannot be found at his constituency office at any time during an election campaign?

And who would be providing this money if not him? I would sincerely hope that he was totally innocent and had nothing to do with this vote buying but all of the evidence points in the opposite direction unfortunately. I am speaking from personal experience here and I am not trying to smear Mr Stuart’s character in the least.

27. There is one sobering fact that you should NEVER let go of, Freundal Stuart is a Lawyer …! Uh hum …

28. Damani
    Since you were approached personally, why don’t you swear an affidavit at a JP, go to the Police or the Press with your accusations, since you know the “operatives”’ who approached you. There gotta be a law against this kind of inducement; after all it is illegal to sell alcoholic beverages during Elections so they must be a law against buying or selling votes.

In other words “Put up or shut up”.

29. I never said I knew the operative, only that he gave me directions to the office and wore a “dems now dems again” shirt You perhaps should re-read what I typed.

I would not hesitate to report the young man to the police and If ever I find out his name or any fact about him that would help with his identification. I can’t very well tell the police that a man of about my age, height and build wearing a ” dems now dems again” shirt appoached me in an attempt to but my vote.

You must think i’m not serious with these allegations but I really do not intend to be all talk and no action. If the opportunity presents itself I will expose this corruption.

30. @Sargeant | February 26, 2013 at 12:29 AM |
    This damani is a fraud and seeing island gal hug he up you know sometthing is fishy. Im not buying whatever crap damani is selling.

31. Dear Watching,

I actually challenge you to ask residents of Britton’s Hill if money was indeed being shared out at the PM’s constituency office But whether or not you believe me, it doesn’t reverse what occured.

The truth needs no defense!

32. With sadness I must now concede that Barbados is the Hypocrisy and Duplicity capital of the Caribbean. On another thread and in another post I was proud that the PEOPLE spoke. The questions I’m fighting with over the last 96 hours is which people and why?
    What does it mean for the future?
    How deep into the quagmire have we allowed ourselves to descend?
    If this was God’s will what lesson is he waiting to teach us?

Again, I await the PM and AG’s further words and actions along with the new cabinet before commenting much more.

Whoever won the elections, would have won it by buying it, albeit via different methods. My great gran used to say that “God don’t like ugly and good always wins out.”. What happens when neither side is good and both are ugly?

My recurring question therefore returns, “will the real leaders please stand up?”

@damani
    I’m curious as to TTP, ac, !, fractured or Carson’s response to your experience. Watching and balance speak out of ignorance and blinded loyalty.

@all
    Imagine…if only ONE DLP seat was. “bought”, then the landscape of the entire election, which would have been 15-15 was grossly manipulated. A worrying thought heading into more challenging times.

Just Observing

33. @Observing ”If this was God’s will what lesson is he waiting to teach us?”

No new lesson, an age old one.

When one sows seeds in bitter soil, the harvest will also be bitter.

Buyer beware.

34. Allegedly this is just a repeat of the prior election. Hundreds of dollars a person happened then also.

But as I said, pity the fool who thinks he can play with the winds of the world.

He will be blown away.

35. Now see why the BLP lost the election in the same manner they tried to cast aspersions on the DLP with false documents. Here again we have the BLP yardflows without evedience trying to point the finger of vote buying on the DLP .Pray tell me if Damani had or was approached why did he not call the police. Talk is cheap evidence is profound.

36. The biggest mistake the BLP made was to underestimated PM STUART and still continue one would think that by now the BLP yardflows would have learnt their lessons. I can assure you if Stuart says something he has proof or evedience to back it up FOOLS!

37. Damani another clown like liz whatever her name being used by the BLP . Boy campaiging has already started. DAmani bring the evidence. some pictures or names would be helpful. BTW don’t panic false accusation can land you in jail..

38. Prime Minister Stuart said he witnessed it. Steve Blackett intimated he had never seen an election like it. Dale Marshall said it. Cynthia Forde acknowledged it.

The question then must be: what role should the Electoral Office and other regulatory agencies play in addressing concerns raised of vote buying. Should it be addressed or ignored.

39. I don’t think the onus is on Damani to report vote buying, I think the onus is on PM Stuart and AG Brathwaite to report the matter to the police and call names. Stuart claimed he has seen personally the vote buying, the police will listen to him and the AG, the same police will only laugh at damani.

40. The vote buying by both parties is not a fairy tale and cannot now be undone. It already happened and if something is not done will continue to happen indefinitely going forward. Let’s see if this party has any honesty left and with the help of the other party, actually do something and put an end to it.. In my opinion, Stuart witnessed, according to him, the murder of the countries integrity, now let’s see if he names the guilty parties or seriously bring forth INTEGRITY legislation to end the practice..

41. balance, no need for the all caps, it makes it difficult to read your submission

my apologies to you and others fr the caps

42. There is a reason why BU has been asking the DLP supporters to be gracious in victory. It isn’t that we don’t appreciate that one should feel like celebrating when the side you support wins. Some members of the BU household have been around for a while and we have not seen this level of political tribalism ever in Barbados till now. We are traveling a dangerous path to nowhere and we need to find a way to pull it back. This call will likely not resonate with ardent political supporters but they should really try to understand what is happening here.

43. damani i find it hard to believe that such a sum of $300 would be offered for a vote. seems unsustainable to me .

44. what is happening here is the need for the BLP to point this abhorrent behavior on the DLP and something must be said. There would always be war in politics but at the end of the day TRUTH must prevailed. it is apparent that since the PM and other members of the DLP came out and said they saw this illegal activity taking place the BEES on this blog have been on the defensive as if the BLP was the guilty party being accused of vote buying and has therefore launched and attack issuing comments accusing the the DLP of illegal activity on voting DAY. THIS IS WRONG and would not be tolerated.

45. @ac

The reality is that the PM who you have a lot of respect for has admitted he witnessed vote buying with his own eyes. We will wait to see the outcome of his investigations. What should concern ALL Barbadians is that it is happening and increasing all the time.

46. BAF, has it ever occurred to you that some if not most of these scholarship and exhibition winners will return to contribute. Given that a lot have tried over the years and were soundly mistreated, we also have to take into consideration that there are not enough jobs and positions available for scholars to contribute anything in Bim i personally know of lawyers and doctors now in Barbados who cannot find jobs and have to emigrate anyway. My point continues to be, Trinidad sends 40% of their brightest minds out to study, Trinidad now owns Barbados, around the world, India, China, Japan, USA, Germany, Canada etc, etc, sends their brightest minds around the world to study cause they know that some if not most will contribute even if they do not return, in some for or another t the country of birth. Most people in Bim don’t understand that a countries population is their only true resource, trying to academically imprison scholars on an island that has very little resources, will see that island remaining in the 18th century mode, with politicians continuing their small island corruption indefinitely. How many scholars do you see wanting to enter the nasty swamp of politics in Bim. The last scholar who had anything to do with politicians in Bim was more than happy to die in his sleep and he had just turned 40.

47. That should read,the larger countries are aware that in some form or another even if their scholars live in another country, they will be able to contribute to their country of birth.

48. It is a serious matter when rabid party faithfuls refuse to understand that vote buying was the order of the day for both parties for election 2013, when people pretend to be so blind that they cannot see, then they will accept any form of corruption and turn a blind eye, just because of party affiliation.

49. If the BEES want to carry on a discussion on need for reform or legislation or tighter police presence around the voting area on this subject i am all for sensible discussion on this issue, but to turn it into a political game of one man upmanship, showboating or to embarrased the party they opposed i for one would come out both guns blazing and match them toe toe. ,

50. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Call for new Elections , The PM is Fraud man over all other Fraud men , Again the proof from the lips of the crooks that will not call the police on other crooks lawyers ,
    Owen now to run away from MIA , so now all eyes will be on her alone as he now step down or got kick down. The Over drinker and one of the Masters of the Super Massive Fraud did not make it back , But the the PM now in place as the new gate keeper , But We have the Keys ,,,,Wake up People We will get them all for the World to see , The Church to the govt House ,,, Massive Fraud ,,, the one two punch to the People Minds ,,
    VOTE TRUTH NOT PARTY, AS YOU CAN SEE YOU ALL VOTED LIES AND NOW MORE LIES TO COME ,,
    THE TRUTH IS ON ITS WAY..

CALL FOR NEW ELECTIONS ,,,, FRAUD NEED NOT START OF THIS NOW TERM.

Leave a Reply to PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDSCancel reply