Mia Mottley,Leader of the Opposition
Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition casting her vote in the 2013 General Election – Photo credit: Nation Newspaper

Mia Mottley’s elevation to the position of Opposition Leader  was a predictable one for many. The fact that the decision to replace Arthur was made quickly is positive for the Barbados Labour party (BLP). Mottley will have five years to grow with her team in the eyes of the public. it is accepted that a robust contribution from the opposition bench is necessary to maintain the people’s business. An Opposition bench with an increased majority and a few new and young faces should make life interesting in the new parliament.

Many Barbadians believed the BLP made a mistake when it brought back Arthur to lead the party. BU is sure there was a good reason why a majority of the BLP parliamentary group sided with the decision. Whatever the reason BU hopes that Mia Mottley and the BLP have grown from the experience and set it behind them.

On behalf of the BU household we wish she and her team all the best.

1. An sarge; Damiani reminded us that the Eager 11 are all still there and FS only has 4 other members he can count on in a scrap. You can’t really be serious talking about Mia being uneasy wearing a crown when the PM’s uneasiness must be almost as if his crown is made of thorns.

2. Checkit-Out

I was about to say that at least the people of Barbados will be spared the size of the last Cabinet given the number in the Lower House, but fa’get ’bout the Senate picks …. Stupse!

3. Checkit- Out
    What scrap? Winning resolved the issue of the Eager 11, they are not facing the prospect of an Election for a few years so why would they rock the boat? The Election was the BLP’s to lose and they managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory, even if members of the DLP are dissatisfied with their new assignment they will grin and bear it nothing succeeds like success.

Mia still has to cement over the fissures in the BLP, they removed her from her role as Opposition leader and she couldn’t even win a leadership position in the Party when Payne ran against her. Arthur accused her of mishandling the Party finances leaving her to bleat to the media about democracy and reforming the Party.

Look I’m just speaking from memory you sure you want to go down that road?

4. No party is without internal struggles for power. To pretend that any party is without leadership struggles would be hypocritical. I would wait to cast judgement on either the government or the opposition. It seems to me that everyone on this blog claims to know exactly what is currently going on inside both parties.

It doesn’t make sense speculating on which party is more united than the other and what sort of fights are going on internally because if you are not one of the members of the parliamentary group of either party; then you simply do not know.

A cabinet hasn’t even been appointed yet and the first sitting of parliament has not even occured and everyone here is trying to sggest that Ms Mottley will again be ousted as leader or assumes that the DLP winning will automatically quell any leadership battles. Why not wait until a few months and see what developments spring up?

I personally believe that it will be a totally different ball game from both sides of the political fence. These 5 years will be so interesting.

5. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

@ Sargeant ..
    ” Mottley is as overrated as Stuart is underrated ” …What a mouthful !!!!!

6. @millertheanunnaki | February 25, 2013 at 11:19 PM | Amen!! Well said. Congrats, MAM.

“The miller does not want to fight in the gutter but if required he has enough dirt stored up to sully all the hypocritical linen in a dark closet parading as whiter than snow.”

I got nuff dirt too and I will side with you, Miller, so between the two of us………

@Sargeant | February 25, 2013 at 11:40 PM | “…….Stuart is underrated…….” I agree with that completely, but not most of the rest of your comment. I have always strongly believed that he IS underrated. Unfortunately, this is the fate of many bright, competent people of good faith with a lack (or dislike) of communications skills. Stuart now has no choice politically but to work on that, because he is not opposed now by a distrusted has-been, but by a strong and very popular leader. I have no doubt that if MAM had led the BLP into the general elections, the political landscape would have been very different today. But the good thing is that neither Stuart nor MAM are revenge-driven and both are pragmatists – and, outside of the House, they actually seem to like each other – so I am hopeful that, where possible, they will work together in what is, after all, a time of crisis. I would go further and say that, given the crisis, it is their duty to do so. And they must be held to account if they do not.

7. There is another to run in St.Peter, a man form the North. Cylde Mascoll should run in the constituency that Lynch vacates, he will have a fair chance there.

The BLP needs to find a strong candidate in St.Philip vs Dr.Estwick, Lynette Eastmond just does not have the roots support.

Same for the constituency that Jerome Walcott has intimated that he may not run again.

This must be done asap, in the event of an earlier than expected general election. They muist all work the ground from this month.

8. CHris Sinckler must be Loving this!

9. @Miller

we dont normally see eye to eye, but a nice blog.

10. @TTP

Except when he try to set an agennda on what would be off limits pertaining to MIA lifestyle in the political arena, He seems to forget his ruthless and constant accusations pertaining to PM STUART sexual lifestyle . miller you open the gate .Either you apologised or ac would follow your example! promise

11. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

Sargeant

I would think it unwise to predict what the likes of Dr. Estwick will do if he is not satisfied with his assignment.

Remember that he is an Estwick and one of them cross the floor already on a point principle. If Stuart plays his cards wrong then he will be the shortest lived PM in the history of Barbados.

12. BAF, has it ever occurred to you that some if not most of these scholarship and exhibition winners will return to contribute. Given that a lot have tried over the years and were soundly mistreated, we also have to take into consideration that there are not enough jobs and positions available for scholars to contribute anything in Bim i personally know of lawyers and doctors now in Barbados who cannot find jobs and have to emigrate anyway. My point continues to be, Trinidad sends 40% of their brightest minds out to study, Trinidad now owns Barbados, around the world, India, China, Japan, USA, Germany, Canada etc, etc, sends their brightest minds around the world to study cause they know that some if not most will contribute even if they do not return, in some for or another t the country of birth. Most people in Bim don’t understand that a countries population is their only true resource, trying to academically imprison scholars on an island that has very little resources, will see that island remaining in the 18th century mode, with politicians continuing their small island corruption indefinitely. How many scholars do you see wanting to enter the nasty swamp of politics in Bim. The last scholar who had anything to do with politicians in Bim was more than happy to die in his sleep and he had just turned 40.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

THE QUEEN OF FRAUD AND PONZI, i hope you all now see a small part of what we were and still talking about , THe fraud now spread to the people , right in their faces and still they party in the streets. SOME SEE the fraud and then stop the cars from driving in the street of the city ,, Toppinnnn did not look so happy for Violet Beckles dealing with him and Suck-coon Byer to make fun of the truth about the Estate and to offer 2500 lots to buy off the peoples vote,Of land she nor none have clear title to , same old mess , But the Broom is on its way to remove them all, SO some say she also was paying for votes? Might got trap in her own mess.

14. What would be encouraging for MAM and the BLP is for Toppin, Payne and Marshall in the coming weeks and months to make statements/gestures which show their unequivocal support for her. It was not loss on BU that MAM was flanked at the press conference yesterday by Sutherland on her left and Bradshaw on her right.

15. MIA has exposed her weakness over the past five years. that is she can easily be manipulated . that is not a good sign of a leader . Her strength must be in the ability to be firm and not always willing and ready to please.AS a woman i respect her and am pleased to see that one day barbados MIGHT have a WOMAN PM. however i am a little disappointed to see how her past LEADER was able to manipulated her and she willing performed as expected.
    One can only Wonder if Barbados reaches a similar crossroad as Jamaica if she would cave into the dictates of foreign interest or would protect and preserve the interest of the people when push comes to shove.

16. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

One thing Mia Mottley will not have to worry about is press coverage. The Media loves her . She is a talker and has many admirers in the press. One issue for Ronnie Clarke and Starcom, at the opening ceremony of the LIME football tournamnet last year Ronnie Clarhe admitted that he voted for Mia Mottley in his constituency in 2008. We have a programme manager at Starcom admitting that he voted for the woman who is now BLP opposition leader. Pat Hoyos admitted on Sunday what the world knew that he was supporting the BLP.Surprise surprise.
    PM Stuart will have to fight a stronger opposition and a media that will side with Mottley on every issue. Remember you heard me say it here first.
    It would be good to ressurrect The Barbados Association Of Journalists.

17. it would be interesting to know the names of the ones who voted against MIA .

18. @ Crusoe .
    ” …Clyde Mascoll would be the ideal candidate for St Michael South ” ..
    I say to you Crusoe, leh he come ! the licks we put pun Lynch would be like child’s play . wunnuh din think Lynch could get beat suh bad nuh?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246 | February 25, 2013 at 11:16 PM

there is nothing outstanding about Mia, except her size and you know what else.

Which I will mention later on.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We cut off quite a few heads, Seethru now accepts that he is a spent force, Mascol will not be taken seriously again, and the pollster is now being seen for the fraud that he is. Just to mention a few.

Boy, quite a lot of issues were settled in the last elections.

We are really going to have a lot of fun with Mia as we go forward.

Stay tuned!!!!!!

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The old lady in the bus ads. should be given a Queen’s honour.

She singlehandedly save Barbados from the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party and its WHITE and INDIAN backers!

Three cheers to my senior friend.

Hip, Hip, Hooray

Hip, Hip, Hooray.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also we want Seethru to vacate that office space at the UWI!

23. @Carson C. Cadogan | February 26, 2013 at 8:17 AM |
    The old lady in the bus ads. should be given a Queen’s honour.
    She singlehandedly save Barbados from the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party and its WHITE and INDIAN backers!

Three cheers to my senior friend.

—————————————————————-
    Cosign. That ad was devastating. Poor Atherley beg for its removal. It drove a stake in the heart of the BLP. You think the old girl may get a Minisrty? lol

24. NationBLPnewspaper wrote”PM Stuart will have to fight a stronger opposition and a media that will side with Mottley on every issue”

That is good for DEMOCRACY. Barbados is not Cuba.

This could be the best governance Barbados has had in 50 years.

It is up to the parliamentarians.,

The elections are over and it is time for Nation building or Nation saving.

Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information acts should be passed into law and the appropriate bodies set up to enforce them.

Food security and import substitution should be a priorty.

CLEANING Barbados should be a priority. Tourism is “your business”.

Solar energy and wind power should be a priority.

The above will create JOBS and has has been preached from the BU pulpit by both dees and bees including Millertheannaki who is probably now an advisor to the Leader of the Opposition.

25. “…….Mottley will have five years to grow with her team in the eyes of the public….”

Ammm, that’s if they give her the chance to be the leader for the full 5 years David. When it came over on the news that Mottley is the new opposition leader the first thing that came out the mouths of my coworkers was “I wonder if she will still be the leader time next election”.

With people like Dale Marshall, Kerrie Symmonds and Owen’s fraction, she will have to keep looking over her shoulder.

26. @ac
    “it would be interesting to know the names of the ones who voted against MIA”…………………….. .

When the king died, were you interested in who voted against Freundel? It has only been hours since Mia’s elevation to leadership and I mean you start bringing out your knives already? What the hell does it matter, she got the majority of votes and this is what democracy is all about.

You only come on BU and blabber your nonsense and conveniently ignore what goes on in the DLP. Do you know that when Freundel Stuart went to the GG on that morning on DT’s death, the GG asked for all of the DLP MPs to come to Government House just to ascertain that they were all behind Stuart? Do you know that that blabber mouth from St Lucy who voted for himself held on to his vote and told the GG that he would give his support only if he is guaranteed a ministry?

That ac is what went on in your party. Mind your business before the BLP’s!

27. @Kevin

A leader finds a way to grow their power base in order to survive. The fact that she was taken out as opposition leader before means she was not there yet.

28. With the result of the poll 16/14 Barbados must now deal with the fiscal mess that’s left from the last government.Failure to constructively solve this mess will create a more serious result in this economy:-
    Credit will dry up
    Money supply will contract
    Unemployment will spiral
    Businesses will fail
    Property values will decline
    The solution will be to reduce the public sector payroll,but who on the DLP side is willing to do that given the posture that group took on the election platform.
    But it must come as day follows night,and all you ‘won’t say’,’won’t vote’,’indifferent’ middle class bajans will weep and gnash your teeth.You have given over your stake in this country to the ‘lumpen proletariat’ led by a person who delights to carry 3 or 4 pens in his pocket looking busy and wearing a wedding band on his left hand,but nobody knows if he is married and to whom.It’s a state secret.We like it so

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Waiting

“You think the old girl may get a Minisrty? lol”

yuh cracking me up!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mia will be fighting on two fronts, in a manner of speaking.

She will have the unenivable task of taking on the Democratic Labour Party while fighting for survival in the Barbados Labour Party.

My sources tell me that the Barbados Labour Party is blaming “traitors from within the party” for their recent defeat.

Whatever that means.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | February 26, 2013 at 5:34 AM

I appreciate your offer of an olive branch, intellectually speaking of course.
    In addition to the MAM factor the BLP lost the elections because the DLP did a magnificent job in demonizing the privatization agenda. That TV ad involving the pensioner on the bus was most effective in securing undecided or vacillating voters to vote DLP.

We will soon see how much of a man of “integrity” you are when the bus of privatization arrives for you to board for free. But before you jump on just remember that the DLP administration made it abundantly clear that under no circumstances will any DLP administration under the leadership of The Honourable F J Stuart will privatize, divest or outsource any State owned and controlled entity or function. We shall see if there will be any privatization without electoral backing. The people voted for integrity in public office and we await a pellucid manifestation of this vote of confidence.

BTW, any word on the Four Seasons project? What about the Central Revenue Authority (CRA) that was promised to the IDB to be up and running by April 01, 2013?

32. Prodigal Son what ac should mind is the fact that to date the has not named a cabinet. In light of what is reported at the QEH, one would think that would be front and centre but i could be wrong.

33. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Will the Nation newspaper change its columnists to give balance now that most of them have confessed to being BLP supporters-Look at the list below and see how unfair the Nation newspaper was to the DLP?

Monday – Harry Russell – in the weeks leading up to the election, he openly called for the DLP to be defeated.

Tuesday – Tennyson Joseph- along with George Belle and Peter Wickham formed a trio of constant criticism of PM Stuart and the DLP.Very pro – BLP and supportive of his friend Owen Arthur.

Wednesday – Sanka Price – never said anything good about the DLP in 5 years of writing – repeated any economics point made by Mascoll and never could bring himself to be balanced.

Thursday – Clyde Mascoll- an opportunistic BLP spokesperson who used his column to campaign relentlessly right up to two weeks before the election. His column was a free ad for the BLP every week.

Friday and Saturday Nations – edited by BLP supporter Sanka Price. His Eff I Wuzz section was used to do nothing but cuss the government mps – very biased.

Sunday – BLP supporters Peter Symmonds, Ezra Alleyne, Pat Hoyos and Albert Brandford- a four prong BLP attack in one paper lambasting the DLP week after week.

I will not include Kaymar Jordan and her role (that speaks for itself). No Bajan can look at the above and not see that the Nation newspaper used BLP supporters masquerading as “independent columnists” to promote the BLP and try to sway public opinion. With the Parliament now virtually tied, it is time for the Nation newspaper to be truly fair and balanced. Nothing but a fresh set of writers would remove the stench of bias that emanated from Fontabelle for the last 5 years. Time for change at the Nation newspaper.

34. In that case you will have to follow the money and find out who got paid or who was promised what.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

“the DLP did a magnificent job in demonizing the privatization agenda”

well said!

When on the political platform, I hammered it.

36. David | February 26, 2013 at 7:04 AM |
    What would be encouraging for MAM and the BLP is for Toppin, Payne and Marshall in the coming weeks and months to make statements/gestures which show their unequivocal support for her. It was not loss on BU that MAM was flanked at the press conference yesterday by Sutherland on her left and Bradshaw on her right.

And David I am sure that you could not have helped noticing how perplexed and unforgiving George Payne and Dale Marshall looked after the announcement was made.

You should also have noticed that the maruauding BLP “five rebels” of October 2010 was again in action yesterday as they sought to re install Owen Arthur…with the addition of one more traitor (As Owen Arthur was absent )

I believe you noticed the treacherous look on Kerrie Symmonds face….when it was disclosed that Mia Mottley had won the Leader of Opposition vote yesterday.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

“Will the Nation newspaper change its columnists to give balance now ”

The simple answer: no.

The Nation newspaper, is the modern day Barbados Labour Party BEACON NEWSPAPER.

The Nation newspaper was set up by wealthy Barbados Labour Party bigwigs around 1970. Thses people are still around, one of them was on TV on elections night representing the Barbados Labour Party during the Tv panel discussion. Oh, by the way, he started out by saying quite clearly that the Barbados Labour Party will win the elections, this was before even a single vote was counted.. So much for his common sense.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | February 26, 2013 at 5:45 AM |

@TPP, could you please convey a message regarding intellectual honesty to ac?
    Tell her that the miller will only attack and expose those who lay claim to the title of Mr. Clean & Pure while wearing dirty and soiled undergarments.

Unlike what ac has done to OSA the miller will never be interested in the private life, far less attack, any person in public life unless that person is being hypocritically disingenuous in discussing other people’s private lives or sexual orientation. The miller comes from a culture where such public attacks are deemed as criminal offences.

With regard to her specific charge about Mr. Integrity let her know the miller was most upset about that derogatory remark about Noel Lynch for which he has so far failed to apologize to the man and his wife. Mr. Lynch is deserving of much political vilification and attack but that slanderous barb by the PM was the “most unkindest” cut of all coming from a man of ‘feigned’ integrity.
    Until he does, the charge still stands with personal evidence to support him.

Again leave Mia Mottley’s private life and sexual orientation out of the political shooting range. A similar level of behaviour applies to all in public life unless they are hypocrites and liars.

CCC, you have been warned! It would do you a world of good to emulate a few good things about the UK, Canada the USA and other mature democracies that Bajans like to ape.

PS: Ac & CCC now OSA is beheaded and to be buried politically who or what will now be the focus or target of your putrid venom?

39. @ David,

Will someone clean (with Clorox) the steps of Parliament after Kerrie Symmonds W.B. walks up into Parliament?

The lease the BLP could do is hire Karcher to clean the place afterwards.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | February 26, 2013 at 10:34 AM |
    “When on the political platform, I hammered it.”

And it is this same display of dishonesty and lies that will come back to bite your backside within the coming year or so.
    We shall watch as you stew in your own privatization juices. When one lives above one’s means there comes a day when one must face the bailiffs.
    Retribution is a bitch, CCC!

41. To Carson Cadogan hope the old lady in the ad don’t end up in the same DLP run Oueen Elizabeth Hospital that Donville say everything good wid it.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

http://itccs.org/
    read well People , C.U.P will see you all in court

43. @Fractured

The expressions on the faces can be read two ways, ie. They are unhappy the BLP lost or …

44. Barbados is in a real quadmire after the 21st and what’s all the merriment about? Next up is the laying off of Civil servants by the droves and the big P Word privitization. Bet no one wants to be first to break the news that DEM lied.

45. Mitt Romney [United States] was not the best that the Republican Party had to offer. The better qualified were/are indeed those on the Democratic side of the road: Barack Obama, Hilary Rodham-Clinton, John Kerry and Joe Biden, etc. President Obama in his 2nd term is hitting hard, hurting and humilating republicans that he has to contend with. Americans did not see this during his first term in offer. The first term was too much compromise. This 2nd term is NO COMPROMISE. He is determined to work for the people, those who elected him.

Obama’s 2nd term in office is his last because the 22nd Amendement of the U.S. Constitution set a term limit for election to the Office of President. Hilary Rodam-Clinton is now in retirement; she may and may not run for president in 2016 but no republican or other democract could rival her name and recognition but there are others of notable strength. The United States is better in the hands of President Obama and the Democratic Party. Owen Arthur was not the best the BLP had to offer neither is Mia Mottley, Kerrie Symmonds or Dale Marshall. Barbados is better in the hands of Prime Minister Stuart and the DLP, a better unified and stronger party. The BLP like the republican party [United States] are now seriously injured and in need – major surgery.

46. How much longer before we see long line of Civil servants in the unemployment lines can anyone help me? Paying salaires from borrowed loans will soon come to an end dear Bajans, WAKE UP FAST ! Elections Honeymoon soon over and reality will have to kick in.

47. @Bearer of truths

Relax!

Let us cross the bridge when we get there.

Also let us know if you will be using this moniker always, it is a credibility issue.

48. BIG FIVE PREDICTIONS
    IMF in charge before Christmas
    Bds Credit Rating declines rapidly
    Massive public sector lay-offs and cuts in social programmes like Free Uni
    A Jamaica -like post 76 fiscal crisis with devaluation on the cards
    Collapse of the Stuart Gov pre 2015

49. @ dercris
    The majority of ‘predictions’ I’ve read on this site and on calling programs have not came to light. I have heard the BLP will win the election; the DEMS will get a much as 3 seats; etc etc etc. So go and come again. I aint know why you wishing all of this ‘badness’ on Barbados.

BTW where is Old Onion Bags? They are very quiet these days.

50. Given what everyone nows is hanging in the air, I think most people are justing waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Leave a Reply to CrusoeCancel reply