Prime Minster Fruendel Stuart being congratulated on election ight at party headquarters
Prime Minster Stuart being congratulated after the DLP was the declared the winner

There are some things the BU household has surrendered to by saying, we just do not understand.

1. It is amazing how people say things that are just not true. It is SOP that the leader of the Opposition clear out his things before elections, the things were only moved to Roebuck Street on Thursday. Who would believe that anyone would order drapes for Illaro Court before a win. The fact is Owen hardly used to be at Illaro Court for the fourteen years he was PM, he spent most of his time at his home in West Terrace. Let’s try to be more fair!

2. @ David | February 25, 2013 at 2:38 PM |

It is official Mia is leader of the Opposition……………………..

It will not be long before the long nasty knives of the DLP begin to attack her.

3. Prodigal Son | February 25, 2013 at 3:31 PM |
    @ David | February 25, 2013 at 2:38 PM |

It is official Mia is leader of the Opposition……………………..

It will not be long before the long nasty knives of the DLP begin to attack her.

I believe the BLP made a monumental mistake in appointing Mia as Leader of the Opposition.

This has nothing to do with the DEMs .

It was Owen Arthur who told Barbadians that Mia is not ready for national leadership.
    It is Owen Arthur who needs to come back to the public and tell us if his rancid ridicule of Mia has changed…..now that she is poised to lead the BLP once again.

Owen needs to speak up……until then Mia remains the STEP KNEE leader of the BEEs until Owen gets another……URGE..to PURGE !!!

4. Is it true PM Stuart fainted today?

5. Enuff

It is true. After learning of Mia’s appointment, the Prime Minister was taken over by a spell of laughter which resulted in him losing his breath and then fainting.

6. Brain Less Pimp

Give it a break. Cant you take time out to enjoy your ill gotten win! My goodness, you are annoying. You Dems should be the last persons on God’s green earth to talk about leadership in any one’s party. You really want to go there with leadership issues?

Need I remind you of 1994 when the DLP imploded with DLP MP’s voting with the BLP to bring down PM Sandi.

Need I remind you of David Thompson reign of terror over the DLP from 1994 until his death………………..which included his treatment of Dennis Kellman, his treatment of Clyde Mascoll and the way he wrestled the Presidency of the DLP away from the very same Freundel Stuart. The very same Freundel Stuart wrote a 17 point indictment on David Thompson.

You really want to talk about divisions……….talk about 11 men/woman who sat down in meetings with Freundel Stuart and got up and plotted against him.

And you have the nerve to talk about leadership?

7. 6 months remaining before another downgrade and we end up in the IMF hands

8. @Fed up

woulny iy impact u, but as i advised u before emigrate before we get the downgrade

9. @Bayland

no one in the pm constituency would want to buy ur vote, internal poll of that area showed that barney did not have a chance, so go and come with some thing better.

10. Anyone from the DLP intending , wanting to ‘attack’ Mia had better think three times. She is more popular than all put together.

It will backfire big time. Trust me.

11. @TTP
    are you saying that no vote buying occurred in the Bayland?

Just Observing

12. @TTP
    If so, please tell us where else did vote buying NOT occur.

Observing

13. TTP does not want to admit that it was his party who did the most of the vote buying. Among the heavily targeted constituencies were: St James North, St Michael NW, St Michael West, St Michael South Central, St Michael Central, all the Ch Ch seats!

An ill gotten victory. Dems will go down in history as the party who bought the 2013 election.

14. Is that Leroy Paris with the blue pants in the background?

15. no one in the pm constituency would want to buy ur vote, internal poll of that area showed that barney did not have a chance, so go and come with some thing better

external poll showed incorrectly that the blp will win the election so polls are determined to be good or bad depending on whose side the poll favours or not favors,
    talking about the buying of votes. what would you call inundating the payroll in marginal constituencies out of the coffers of government. never have i seen it more blatantly practised than this time.

16. Balance; Actually, “inundating the payroll in marginal constituencies out of the coffers of government” is a bit different from actually buying votes. The temporary worker might be expected to vote for the government because of a sense of gratitude for getting a wuk, especially if he hadn’t worked for sometime. He could quite reasonably not vote for the government candidate despite getting the temporary job. The passing of $300 dollars in exchange for a vote is a bit different even though both operations are bribes.

Nevertheless both operations should be condemned.

17. hey i dont care if its a bribe i get $300 to vote for fruendel and that buy some food for my children…wish there was election every day..dey wan my vote and dey pay for it

18. This government was elected five days ago. When are the new ministers going to be announced?

19. David; How does one search for comments by specific posters on this blog; eg. posts today by checkit-out or posts over the last week by Observing?

20. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

Observing Is just bitter over his failed predictions. He was certain the DLP would loss so he has to have a reason hence the accusation that the DLP spent more money than the BLP. If you look at his last post carefully you would notice its an open admission that the BLP bought votes.

21. @Rendered Assistance

It was a close result which many did not predict; even DLPites. In defence of Observing he gave two predictions.

22. @david
    Thanks for the defence but the truth is a powerful shield. If you check you’ll notice I stopped predicting the tuesday before elections. That’s when I realised something was up. And even then my “dlp best case”
    was still 16-14.
    I challenge the blogger who believed that James Paul or John Boyce would have won their seat. Compare that to a dwindling st. Lucy margin and rhe st george south loss and we have to admit that we saw an uncharacteristic and non traditional election.

@rendered
    Since you need assistance more than that you dispense let me state something I stated weeks ago but blinded loyalist choose to ignore
    1) I prefer Freundel to Owen ANY day
    2) I am philosophically aligned with the DLP more than than the BLP
    3) I always intended to and actually did vote for the DLP representative in my constituency.

Let me also say I am surprised but glad that the DLP won.

You, ac, !, fractured and any others who have challenges with the objectivity and veracity of my posts can feel free to digest these statements which I made LONG before election day and stand by regardless of where the wind blows. Lastly, show me where I said the dlp spent more than the blp and I’ll stop blogging forever.

Render in Peace

Just Observing

23. @david
    link does’t seem to work.

@all
    i agree with many who have said it’s time to move past the result and onto the consequences.

Is it an unwritten tradition that losing candidates automatically go into the Senate??

24. Amended the link, it was https.

25. It is generally agreed that something with this election was not right. There is NO way that John Boyce could have increased his votes in Christ Church South, not from the level of complaints and dissatisfaction coming from his constituents. NO way! I would like to know how he did that? Something is wrong. John Boyce please explain how you could increase your votes with the level of disgust people have for you!

26. @Prodigal
    “It is generally agreed that something with this election was not right.”
    i would suggest replacing “not right” with “different,” just to be politically correct. 🙂

In a swing against the DLP, Kellman decreased his support but back bencher Paul increased his. Byer-Suckoo lost a 900 vote margin but Boyce gained over his 2008 margin. St. Peter, St. Andrew, St. James North and Central, plus St. Michael North, St. Thomas and all of St. George go BLP, but lowly St. James South in the middle stays DLP.

Statisticians, forecasters, analysts and pollsters need to find another line of work. The dynamics may have been changed forever. lol. Looking forward to the next one!!!

Just Observing

27. Dale Marshall and twin George Pain won in 2008 when the swing predicted both jackasses should have been kicked into the nearby Atlantic. Whats your point Observing(…)?

28. @waiting re my point
    They were in BLP extrastrongholds, their historical margins were a buffer against any swing and they have never been previosuly under any real threat. Did anyone really expect them to lose in 2008?

Over or underperforming a swing isn’t the core issue. It’s the comparison between and variation of the individual margins including their deviation from the average swing.

Makes for a good statistics/politics/psychology/probability class.

Observing

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply