Submitted by Gordon Jones
Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth.

Nation Newspaper (01/10/2010)

Despite a can-do attitude and an unmatched passion for politics the first term of the DLP administration was not been particularly kind or favourable to Dr.David Estwick. First there was the allegation of brandishing a firearm in the precincts of Parliament and then there was the public spat with a dying David Thompson ending with the now infamous Bajan quote ‘time longer than twine’.

Dr. Estwick who is affectionately known in the political arena as The Pitbull, undertook responsibility for crafting the economic message and arguments for the DLP campaign and also for analyzing the policies and personality of Owen Arthur and for the vicious attacks that resulted there from. Some will argue that it was the combined efforts of Dr. Estwick and Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart that ultimately destroyed the mystique and somewhat favourable memory of Owen Arthur as a leader capable of delivering prosperous times. The combined effort prove too fatal to Owen Arthur’s bid to regain the leadership of Barbados and the experience will serve these two well in 2018 when it is likely that they will be facing the more formidable challenger in Mia Mottley.

In addition, no other DLP candidate in the 2013 elections can match his 554 increase in votes nor his whopping 17 per cent increase over the 2008 vote tally. Not even the much acclaimed Chris Sinckler can match Dr. Estwick’s results in 2013 but that is not to undermine Mr. Sinckler’s performance in St. Michael North West but just to make sure the facts are not distorted, as is the want when it comes to Dr. Estwick.

In the 2003 elections Dr. Estwick secured 2714 votes, in the 2008 election he secured 2648 and in 2013 a massive 3, 720 votes. In each case defeating the same candidate in Lynette Eastmond.

The 2013 win for the DLP was delivered predominantly on the sharp intellects of Dr. Estwick and the Prime Minister and on the hard work of others like George Pilgrim, Donville Inniss, Ronald Jones and many others.

Clear the skies, the Pheonix has risen and is about to soar.

332 responses to “Dr. David Estwick – A Phoenix Rises from the Political Ashes”

1. old onion bags Avatar

And since the quarrel
    Will bear no color for the thing he is,
    Fashion it thus: that what he is, augmented,
    Would run to these and these extremities;
    And therefore think him as a serpent’s egg,
    Which, hatch’d, would as his kind grow mischievous,
    And kill him in the shell

Julius Caesar Act 2, scene 1, 28–34

2. old onion bags Avatar

@Clone

Cool down breds…..nobody trespassing on your verandah son. Let’s see how this one plays out nah…Who is wielding power is still yet unsettled…alike ac I know the heart beating like a gran prix…..

3. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Observing(…) | March 2, 2013 at 8:31 AM |

@david
    Estwick doesn’t need a powerbase.

i was just about to say the same thing. 16-14 Estwick does not need a powerbase. he just needs one more person and that i his power. i will ask again, how does James Paul feel about this?

4. Clone; True!!

5. But the discussion and unfolding of possibilities is everything!

6. If Estwick wants to remain a DLPite a powerbase is important. If he goes independent then he must seriously consider that his shelf-life as a politician will become very short unless he crosses the floor. The same is true for Paul even more so because he is a political light weight.

7. What a low level of maturity here on the BU debate.
    What sore losers!!!

Speculating on the ills that you wish to befall the BARBADOS government……
    Gleefully conjuring up scenarios of doom for us all…

Elections done.
    There are B’s, D’s, I’s and “don’t cares” in the Bush clan.
    Until 2018, or if an election is needed earlier, all o’ de Bushes should be BAJANS.

Wunna people must be foreigners…….

8. @Bush Tea

What is wrong with speculating? Dr. Estwick has a ‘record’ which will encourage debate especially when he was the only one missing from the swearing in. The debate therefore has nothing to do with whether anybody is supporting or not supporting the government. It is a separate debate.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Oh go give it a rest Bush tea…..man you just a spoiler….what gloom n doom wishes what?….How much longer must Dr. Estwick be a football foe some? Is the man to remain in the shadows forever..just because he has intellect?…you missed the point B…..

10. David (not BU)
    Check your maths. Its 15-14, not 16-14. You left out the speaker. If Estwick opted out at any vote it would be 14-14; a hung parliament. If he votes with the BLP it would be 14-15 advantage the opposition.

What powerbase what? He doesn’t need any more potent powerbase than that.

And to besides, he can go fully back into the DLP fold after getting somescaled down demands from the PM.

Suggest the PM might think of redoing his Cabinet; Take on Finance himself; Give Economic affairs to Estwick; get Michael Howard from UWI as Chief Economic advisor; Cobble together an important Ministry for Chris from outliers in the various ministries something like Deputy PM responsible for a, b, c, d, e, etc; Give Agriculture to James Paul or Haynesley Benn (depending on why Haynesley fell from grace), etc. etc.

Whoa! Couldn’t something like that have been done in the first place? If it was, there would have been no need for this speculation.

The person who is under the most pressure here, Clone is your super PM whether you recognize it or not.

11. old onion bags Avatar

BTW…you ever manufactured anything and patented it yet?….well there ya go

12. Bushtea;

It has been demonstrated quite adequately that discussions on this board have no measurable effect on what happens in the real body politic. This forum is just a mechanism for the BU family to toss up ideas and debate them and for anyone to steal any ideas that might interest them. It is no more and no less.

Yuh tink FS is taking on anything said on BU as an indicator of how the general public thinks. Yuh tink Estwick is checking BU to see if he has support here before doing whatever he will do? BU is a virtual e-rumshop.

What gleefully conjuring up scenarios of doom, what? Looking at the other side of the coin it may be objectively presenting and discussing scenarios that could ultimately help Barbados. Once again you are showing your true political stripes.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 2, 2013 at 9:05 AM |

Your politico cum medico namesake would remain just another ‘also-ran’ politician if he remains in that dumping ground of ministerial portfolio. Despite what both parties pretend to promote, agriculture in Bim is not top of their agenda.

It’s a pity and indeed very shortsighted of any government which pays scant respect to this sector of our economy. One only has to look at the state of our countryside and large food import bill to see the true policies of government regarding agriculture and food.

There is no national popularity in the much maligned sector of the economy. With a dying sugar industry and food importation being a massive turnover and tax base for the government, agriculture will unfortunately remain a ‘second class’ ministry.

There are few government contracts to award in this sector; and little partisan political influence can be exercised over those fiercely independent farmers who don’t form a sizeable voting block to distribute largesse or receive kickbacks and campaign funding like the import/ distribution sector.

If he, Dr. D, remains in the Ministry of Agriculture he will be marginalized and frustrated by the MoF. His political ambitions will come to naught and the frustration would take a toll on his already challenged health.

One can understand and even sympathise with the Doc. One suspects he has again been “tricked” by a promise made before or during the first week of the recent campaigning.
    “I know you want that MoF&EA position real bad but you have to help me win back the government and I will reward you accordingly”.
    But then a promise is not only a comfort to a fool but can also be a dry bone to a toothless pit bull whose vocal chords will soon be cut.

14. I agree fully with Checkit out and Observing. An unparrelled situation and in my opinion, due to the apparent lack of consultation and prompt decision making, Dr.Estwick is justified in whatever stance.

Sunhaven seems to have some insider info, IF that be accurate then the PM is surely making a mistake trying to play ‘whose are bigger’ with ‘Django’.

And for those like friend and nice girl ‘ac’ , the irrefutably respected Bush Tea, I disagree vehemently that citizens cannot discuss, speculate, critique, analyse or otherwise, actions of Government.

Discussion is healthy for any democracy…are we a democracy? Or would you rather something else?

Get behnind Government what. If an action is good it will be praised, if not….

THAT is the right and responsibility of every citizen, every watchgod of the nation.

Like it or lump it.

15. Oh dear…sorry I meant watchdog…. and I’ll say it before yall do….freudian slip what, merely a typo.

16. @Miller,

That portfolio is a metaphoric pasture for the Dr., putting him there, especially above Haynesley Benn or James Paul, is consigning him to policital retirement.

A deliberate but unimaginative move.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Checkit-Out | March 2, 2013 at 9:45 AM |
    “BU is a virtual e-rumshop.”

I’ll drink to that! Cheers!
    You need to patent that piece of modern Barbardiana saying.

18. And Bushtea; This discussion, as far as I am concerned, has nothing to do with with the elections. They are gone and everyone knows that the DLP has won 16-14 and there is no recall and that FS is the brainiest PM we ever had. Those facts are not debatable.
    It is a discussion on the the selection of a new cabinet and the thought processes of the duly elected PM and how they appear to have impacted on a few of his colleagues. It is a discussion on what such thought processes presages for the proper running of Barbados over the next five years. As I hinted earlier these discussions cannot significantly impact on what is actually done in Parliament when it meets or the decisions to be taken there. What they can do is inform those who contribute to or read them of the possibilities of other ways of thinking.

Why would you want to dumb down the discussion here? Should we be only talking of your BBE or MME?

What possible effect can this particular discussion have on how Chris Sinckler will manage the expenditure of Government in this term and where he will get money from to pay pensioners like me and the numerous public servants who have been promised that there will be no cutbacks, nor privatisation?

Your cal should really be to the elected members of parliament and the parties themselves, not BU posters.

19. @Checkit-Out

Agree with you to a point BUT we all know that most of them read. ..lol.

20. Cornwell | March 2, 2013 at 10:06 AM |

@ ASKQUITH

Apparently Drama has already started on other side…..

as reported by PUDDING & SOUSE in today’s Saturday Sun:

Pure bedlam

People were swarming all over each other as hell broke loose at a City meeting last week.

From all accounts, the runoff was as close as the recent national poll and it came down to a secret ballot.

The main man was nowhere to be seen but his influence loomed large enough to throw the event into chaos and near blows.

The discussion over who should rule the roost got so hot that table and chairs were angrily pushed around. Some of the filthiest language was also heard, according to insiders. All of this allegedly took place in front of some shocked newbies.

The opening of some old wounds triggered verbal attacks that almost ended up in punches being thrown. Frank discussion led not to unity but bitter divide and even started to sway some away from the popular choice.

Exhausted by the verbal clashes, the group finally decided on a secret ballot which put the former chauffeur back in the driver’s seat.

But there were at least two obstinate mates who had earlier gone around Marshalling the troops with whom the decision did not sit well.

Friends are telling the new driver to keep her eyes not only on the road but on the passengers behind her.
    ——————————————

onion, check it out, observing(…) is any of this true? onion I looking at you in particular. You are the spook who sat by the door. What is going on? Going for a Saturday Sun now in the meantime bring us up to speed . Thenks!

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Barbados Today quotes the PM as saying that he and his re-elected administration could no longer sit back and fold their hands. Now we have it: he has finally admitted that they were doing nothing.

22. @ Checkit-Out
    In Bushie’s humble opinion, it would be impossible to dumb down this discussion….. 🙂
    If wunna fellows really understood what is about to befall us, wunna would appreciate the low level of discussion about what Dr. David likes or dislikes, what Owen will or will not do; and what ac Or Bushie thinks.

As soon as those parliamentarians look at the estimates, our plight should become abundantly clear. Numbers tend to be very frank.

They will then be forced to start to take some corrective – or at least reactive – measures which will very likely START to bring the message home to us Bajans….

It won’t be long now….
    Wunna enjoy wunna BU rum shop…..
    …….it will hurt less when wunna drunk…. Even if wunna stumble in front of an economic truck.

23. Yes David; All of them might read BU but the discussions here have no real teeth. Banning discussions on topics here can serve no useful purpose except to deny posters and the general public access to a different way of thought; hidden facts; alternative views; etc. Would Bushtea also want the Opposition not to bring up the truth and alternative facts when discussing the economy in the next few weeks? Or is the most important thing there be that while ventilating the facts and having sometimes robust discussion, that they vote responsibly?

BU has no vote. Only an excellent forum for discussing relevant facts, truths, conclusions and as well the untruths brought into the ling by unscrupulous BLP and DLP aligned operatives or posters with a paid or unpaid mission.

Can you imagine what BU would be like if we followed Bushtea’s admonitions? I’ll help you, Bushtea and others. It would be another Advocate e-paper where people like Bush tea could prescribe and proscribe what topics anyone could write about.

Bush tea is no more partriotic than I am and I take exception at his inherent suggestion that discussing this and other topics is unpatriotic.

24. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

Chris Sinckler will hang by his own rope, the financial mismanagement of the economy. In a year or two when CS is tossed to the wolves and the people need a savior, Freundel will give them hope in the form of Estwick.

25. @CAswell

Yours is a harsh interpretation. What the PM seems to be saying if we go by his post-swearing in press conference (t)his government is now prepared to free up a little spending even if it means a decline in forex reserves. It has finally dawned on someone that a holding pattern strategy will not cut it.

26. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

It seems no one at the Millionaires table in the DLP wants to set a place for Estwick. Estwick saying wunna better set a place for me or I gine skin the whole table upside down leaving none in a position to eat.

Michael Lashley moved to Public Works just in time for him to flood Rayside (now a JADA company) with roads works similar to what obtained at NHC and Jada, Preconco and Caribbean Homes

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You claim that my interpretation is harsh but I hope that you can admit that it is logical based on what has been happening in this country.

28. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

My mother used to tell me ‘boy don’t worry so much about events, better to follow the the patterns and work from there’.

29. Bush tea;
    Anyone, even a blind man on a trotting horse, who has been following the debates would know that we are in for some very hard economic times as well as for some earth shaking societal times. So why try to stop us debating the inherent issue of what is the best formulation of the cabinet to guide us through that morass in the near future? Should’nt we even discuss that? Should we just throw up our hands in the air and say Freundel the genius knows best, whatever he does is well done?

“Dumb down” was not the correct choice of words. I should have said curtail the discussions. That is what you were actually trying to do from your unassailable position high above all of us other posters. I however recognize that I like many others will have to suffer in this coming economic climate and I think that I should not be proscribed from discussing anything on BU that can help to throw some light on what has put us in this position and what might be able to assist us in making the load easier.

30. Waiting; Re. your question on the salacious “reports” in the Nation about the purported meeting that elected Mia Mottley as leader again, I have absolutely no inside information or idea as to if it actually transpired or not. However, it has a ring of plausibility of several of the innuendos given. If it is true, it merely illustrates the expected point on the continuum of the events put in place by Arthur and 4 other BLP members about 2 or so years ago, especially following an election in which OSA failed to get the majority that most people in this country expected.

However, having said that, I would expect Mia to be a better manager of her troops than FS is now clearly demonstrating that he is of his troops, and, to besides, there is only 1 real vote separating them in the house.

Have any inside stories on what Estwick, Benn and Paul are doing?

31. @ Checkit-Out
    Maybe dumb down was the correct term after all…

…you mean you KNOW that we are in for unprecedentedly hard times….
    You KNOW that Bajans are about to suffer and die
    ….and you are fighting for the right to spend your energies and thoughts speculating on what Estwick et al are thinking…?

Have you been making provisions for your family to be able to get water to drink when the shit hits the fan?
    What about advice for your neighbors?
    How about discussing contingency plans for when the supermarkets are empty….or the prices are unpayable?

BTW
    You are MUCH MORE patriotic than Bushie is….rest assured.
    Bushie actually is a traitor – who has long sworn allegiance to BBE and who prays everyday for “thy kingdom to come”…..in other words, for this one to end…..

The Bushman was actually thinking from YOUR perspective when expressing concerns about the priorities for discussion and planning….

Carry on smartly!

32. @Checkit-Out

How MAM goes from here will make for interesting observation. Bear in mind she is reported to have captured the leadership by a 8-5 votes.

Can we do a tally of who possibly made up the five?

Payne, Marshall,Toppin,Symmonds, (?)

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | March 2, 2013 at 11:12 AM |
    “Payne, Marshall,Toppin,Symmonds, (?)”

Clarke!

34. @Miller

Deliberately left off the obvious to add to the intrigue. Do you read anything into the fact the Clare is the PRO for the group?

35. From where I am sitting Symmonds can be excused because he was supported by Owen.

The other four must be indebted to Owen.

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ Crusoe

I see you had days in the Empire or Roxy Plaza (pit)….here is a bit of trivia from the ole brain box….Django was played Francisco Nero…. had a 6 shooter wid a deadly aim….no mongoose pot… a real Star Black…..

37. What MAM has going for her is that once she holds her 8 Owen and the 5 can go to hell.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 2, 2013 at 11:26 AM |

That position for GC is to, ironically, “silence” him.
    It’s really a ‘numbers’ game being played out on both sides of the political divide.
    The bookies better start offering bets.
    But one thing is sure this time around: No MAM no BLP winning.

39. 8-5 more like 8-6 with the absentee vote the RT HON. now everyone knows where his true allegiance klies and for sure it was not with MIA. ALL HAIL THE KING he finally revealed his nakedness!

40. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    What you worrying bout?…..Your concern should be in George St…..and the meeting in progress…..Estwick should be ur concern not Owen

41. Is Bush Tea BU’s Harold Camping?

42. Bush Tea; It is quite possible that you and I have been thinking along similar lines re the coming apocalypse. I see the current world and not just Barbados’ financial systems imploding within months or possibly a year or two at the most. Also, with the increased incidence of new almost Earth threatening meteors and meteorides, there is a threat of end of world possiblilities coming from that source as well.

But then Clone will tell you that I am always wrong. So I’ve made some adjustments in planning for that likelihood. I don’t have the benefit of absolute surety like you. I’ve however made some provisions, to the small extent possible, for the hopeful survival of my family in the case of forseen shortages, lay offs, government defaults on paying pensions, devaluations, etc. but they are minimal provisions within my meagre resources, e.g. some meagre savings; some small water tanks; a small PV system; networking to get ground provisions to eat, etc; but they dont include providing my own security in the chaos that my worldview suggests that we are about to embark upon. My family and I are not warrior types that could stand off marauding gangs ourselves so I’m hoping that the Police and Defence force will be able and willing to continue to provide law and order. In any case my family and I, if we survive, will have to live within the new realities, as they may be so dire that nothing that we can do now will prepare us for the stark realities that my readings suggest might be soon on us.

As for rushing around and setting up soap boxes trying to warn the general populace of the coming tribulations. I suspect they would put me in Jenkins and I am not absolutely certain that I am right anyhow. So my discussions on this matter are restricted to family and close friends.

Wait! perhaps BU might be a good vehicle to discuss the coming apocalypse more deeply but anonymously!

43. David; Of interest re. your question about MAM is that it would appear that all the new parliamentarians went with Mia! Unless Mia has some deep dark secret that the last campaign has not yet unearthed, I suspect that she will be able to keep her troops properly in tow. (some variant of “wunnah all walk out now” perhaps?)

44. Shadow Cabinet:

George Payne QC, MP – Home Affairs, Labour and Public Service.

Dale Marshall QC, MP – Attorney General and Police.

Dr Maria Agard MP – Health and Social Security

Edmund Hinkson MP – Education and Human Resource Development

Trevor Prescod MP – Housing, Lands and Urban Development

Gline Clarke MP – Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Rural Development

Ronald Toppin MP – Energy, Science, Technology and Innovation

Kerrie Symmonds MP – Industry, Commerce and International Business. He will also speak on Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Cynthia Forde Mp – Youth Affairs, Sports and Culture and Small Business

Dwight Sutherland MP – Transport and Public Works. He will also speak on Environment, Water Resources and Drainage

Jeffrey Bostic MP – Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development

Santia Bradshaw MP – Tourism and International Transport

Senator Dr Jerome Walcott – Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate and Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Senator Wilfred Abrahams – Environment, Water Resources and Drainage.

Owen Arthur MP – Former Prime Minister will be at liberty to speak on any and all portfolios.

Economic Adviser to the parliamentary party will be Clyde Mascoll.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Any news from Dr.Estwick yet ?

Aside ; A horse name Jesse James doing the dog at the Garrison….

46. David Estwick belongs to one party- the DEP. He is the most formidable political operator in Barbados (just outpointing Mia M). He has bad-dog street cred plus a fierce intellect allowing him to outsmart many.He reminds me in more ways than one of Chavez of Venez-charismatic yet ruthless.
    He know his bjan politics and should /when the economy goes belly-up he will make his move to oust PMS.
    Doctors know how to inflict pain in order to save the body (politic). watch him get stuck into the beer and the world changes.
    We have not held the last of Dr Dread!

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ dercris | March 2, 2013 at 5:19 PM |

Hate to burst your bubble but if Dr. Dread accepts this ministerial dumping he will be undergoing major anesthesia to have his political teeth including his economic’ wisdom” teeth extracted leaving him a toothless salmon tot retriever barking at strangers only.

The pending economic failure under the Pinocchio buffoon called Sinckliar would lead to the planned “premature” return of the BLP via a no confidence motion against this government.

Dr. D has passed the age for prime ministerial elevation via the normal meritocratic route and can only hope to be the Leader of the Opposition in the next general elections.
    His only chance of success to the top lies by way of being the MoF right now while betting that similar circumstances play out as they did in 2010 to facilitate the ascendancy of the current holder of the top post.
    Under Chris as PM the Minister of Agriculture would just be a political boy in the yard to be dismissed at will.

He must stake his claim now and don’t back down. Let Freundel and Chris eat humble pie for conspiring against him and reneging on agreements. He deserves his political 40 acres and mule to be the unrivalled candidate for the MoF.

48. I just read the Barbados Today story on the Estwick no show. It seems that it was his voice that has gone only since he is apparently otherwise in perfect health. Possibly like FS he never felt better. So it is quite understandable to many that he could’nt respond to the Nation reporters who were enquiring about his health and apparently his voice had also not recovered enough for him to take the oath of office today. Apparently there was no one in his household who considered it necessary to corroborate the information provided by the PM that Estwick’s voice would not allow him to take the oath of Office and perhaps sign any relevant documents until next week.

49. Miller
    You are salivating at the wicked thought that Estwick would upset the DLP apple cart and hand you a pyrrhic victory.

It is not going to happen and if by some selfish reason it does happen we will go back to the polls and the victory will be more substantial this time around because your party fictitious unity broke up on Roebuck Street last week.

God is a good God and answers pray. You could imagine Owen Arthur winning the government and putting Kerry Simmons above Mia Mottley as Deputy Prime Minister.

His legacy would be that he took that cheque and put it in his Bank account. That again cost him the government because people never forgot that.

Mia Mottley is a smart woman
    She just said on the News with a straight face that the Ministers should be given a chance because not many persons in life are given a second chance.

50. The most important industries in Barbados could be the Ministry of Agriculture and the Ministry responsible for the Police and the Armu.

The Police and Army will be required to protect the farmers. Desperate situations call for desperate actions.

Ask Bushie effin yuh doan believe me.

Leave a Reply to Gabriel TackleCancel reply