Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Tonight is shaping up to be a victory for the people and for Barbados. I am pleasantly surprised and quietly proud. We have defied all polls, expectations and political/election stereotypes. BU has been a great conduit for it to begin. Let us move ever closer towards that much needed tipping point and let’s hope that those who lead us wake up and realise that this is a wake call to do better for all of us

– Observing(…)

A result which the most ardent of DLP and BLP supporter did not predict. Barbadians have witnessed a 16:14 result in favour of the Democratic Labour Party. The result also blew the Wickham CADRES model to smithereens, made all the more interesting that Wickham performed two polls leading up to the general election. BUs one regret is that even as the country faces unprecedented challenges – posed by the global economic landscape – we have a parliament which will struggle to do business given the result.

Here is an opportunity for earth changing decisions to be made to the current system. BU hopes the actors in  our democracy do not allow this moment to slip. This is a victory for Barbadians.

1. @ David
    Why you encouraging Wickham in foolishness nuh? What come out and face what music what? 🙂
    If Wickham knew what was good for him he would follow Old Onions example and keep a low profile for the next 5 years or so…

@ Adrian L
    The elections done. The only thing that will happen with tourism is continued decline. The source markets are suffering…..
    We have enjoyed an extended period of operating WAY above our class and we would be fools to expect such levels of performance to continue when there is such intense competition from NEW, cheaper and more innovative destinations….and such idiots running our industry at ALL levels.

Time to look SERIOUSLY at alternatives….

2. @ David

3. @Bushie

It was a tongue and cheek remark.

4. @Bush Tea: Butch Stewart spending [he says] $100 million dollars in tourisn development. He shut up [or down] Paradise for how long???? Man these “investors” does use we like toilet paper sometimes

5. @ Bush Tea ;In Grenada

6. Never before has there been such a close election in Bim. Clearly the populace do not want to be led by Arthur again- and justly so. Arthur’s attitude, arrogance and pass history was /is against him.

The narrow win and loss of seats by the DLP suggests that the electorate did not think that their recent past performance was stellar. Perceptions about Fumble’s ability -or lack thereof also might have contributed.

When one considers that the electors were on the horns of a dillema in chosing between the devil [Arthur] and the deep blue sea [the relatively incompetent DLP], and in the shadow of the immediately recent occurence in Grenada, the people opted for a draw.

Consequently the expected swing to the BLP never went higher than 2% over all. It was enough to bring them a few more seats than last time, but not close enough to the 7% to enable them to win out right.

It is silly to scold Wickhams polls because there were too many unusual factors at work this time, which he could never have prefigured.

7. @Doc GP

Good analysis, it is evident Wickham’s model of polling was challenged by closeness of the poll.

8. @ David

Why don’t you critique the FireFruendel bullshit that the BLP pushed in this campaign.

I glad for them, the BLP deserve to get this asses licked-in.

9. @all
    Interesting tidbit. Peter Wickham is reported as saying that he is “convinced that the view of Barbadians have clearly changed”

Will anyone tell him and others that his polls have the impact of changing views and behaviour?

Just Observing

10. Oooooooooooooo!!! I am glad the voters made them pay through the nostrils and also had the good sense to make sure they all now have to walk on hot coals. It’s called baptism by fire. At least we can safely now say that Barrows vision of taxpayer funded education worked last night.

11. Wickham should really be saying that the voters have realized that “Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me” and he should be congratulating the electorate for their powers of perception.

12. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

13. David
    Wickham’s model held true for ARTHUR, MIA KELLMAN, MARA PAYNE, DALE JONES etc. Except for Mia when the first boxes were counted their opponents were ahead, but predictions from historicity determined that these would still win- and they did. Similarly in St Philip the safe seats of Estwick and Lashley Certain traditional seats like Agard also followed the pattern.

Unexpected departure from the norm cause difficulty in prediction because of several factors that must be considered including poor choice of candidate, because in this election the party brand did not allow newer or weaker candidates to be swept home.

The last two polls caused the diehards of both parties to be energized, and it seems that both parties were successful in getting their folk out to vote.

14. @David
    I am not privy to Adriel’s CV but have a fair idea of Hal Gollop’s ability because he has always been in the public domain.Adriel is not as extrovert,bold,
    learned or ‘cocky’ as Hal is but legal background and exposure aside,the point made by Dennis Johnson is spot on.Stuart will find it difficult to manage this session of Parliament because of the headcount.He is going to find it very challenging so he cannot make bold decisions.As a matter of fact, its possible if he has repeated wobbles in keeping his troops in line he might be forced to return for a firmer mandate.This time around and based on the mischief Stuart did with the Mottley affair, OSA will not hesitate to support a no confidence motion if it comes to that.

15. @ BU/David
    “…Wickham needs to determine his role in the Barbados space ie. political scientist, pollster, social commentator etc. He has been allowed to assume a ‘godlike’ spectre on all issues in Barbados”

I don’t think the different roles Peter plays have anything to do with him not hitting the nail directly in the head. I think that Peter wants to be all things to most people and that will not suffice. He probably felt like a sow in a sash after the tables turned late in the game. Yuh win sum, yuh lose sum.
    Anyway, Peter may want to get in touch with Nate Silver in USA who is considered the master at predicting elections correctly to learn more–basically to see what he may have overlook in his assessment.

Congrats to all the elects and re-elects. I know this is very hard to do in your line of work but stop trying to fool some of the people some of the time and try to tell the truth all the time.

16. Can anyone say, easy to topple???

17. Don’t want to be beating up on Wickham, but he really underestimated the knowledge the voters have on the level of corruption that was practiced for decades by both parties. Technology has become very dangerous for politicians. Ask mitt romney (mutt robme). The younger generation can now see clear into the next decade, while the present crop of politicians can’t see past their fat stomachs.

18. I should have said
    I know it might be hard to do in your caliber of work but since you are starting a new slate think of WHO put you there and WHY you are there. Stop trying to fool some of the people some of the time and tell the truth all the time.

19. @ David
    Touché.

@ DJ
    It is so easy to fall prey to the ruthless exploiters now out there, that the wonton promotion of tourism is, in itself a VERY DANGEROUS exercise in these difficult times.
    Our experiences with kind-hearted Canadians and guilt-ridden British tourist DO NOT properly prepare us for any expansion into other markets…..even CARICOM markets……

This is compounded by the kind of incompetence among our tourism management that comes from years of easy success and lack of serious competition.

What silly to scold what Wickham what??!?

Wickhams whole methodology is predicated on an unscientific reliance on what he calls a ‘national swing’. That concept is flawed because the ‘national swing’ is really an aggregate of domestic constitutional swings which CANNOT be correctly applied across the board.
    Two or three DLP candidates may well lose popularity quite significantly AND MAY OR MAY NOT HOLD THEIR SEAT, while creating a “national swing” that is not applicable outside of their constituencies. (Eg St John, St George S)
    In landslide situations, Wickham may get away with this flaw, but it should be obvious that it is a logical weakness.

A proper poll should sample EACH constituency and deal ONLY with individual constituency swings in making serious projections.

In other words…
    National Swing is not a reliable dependent variable in a situation where local domestic realities are so divergent.

20. This will be remembered as the election with a ‘wobble’.

The only thing in this election that ‘wobble’ is Peter Wickham, he does ‘wobble up and wobble down’, on what i do not know. As someone said here recently , he is a remarkably simple individual.

Despite all of the money that the BLP put in the St. Michael, St. Andrew, St. James and St. Joseph constitutences, them STILL LOSS.

The good LORD don’t sleep and there shall be no rest for the WICKET.

21. @ David:

Stuart can choose to solidify his tenure as leader, by keeping a united team, or demonstrate that he is the leader and exercise his authority. The latter would be fool-hardy and proves nothing.

22. @Adrian

Understood, he manages his team with gloves to ensure unification, how then does he achieve anything of note in this term?

23. as a team the DLP will achieve plenty; as the leader of the team he achieves as well. Ruthless leadership has no place in our modern world. People are more independent in their thinking and any effective leader must take this into account.

24. Well said, and it will be remembered as the election with a wobble to topple.

25. Congratulations to my DLP friends. Your party pulled a rabbit out of the hat.

I sincerely hope that the government can get it together, especially in light of the ominous signs on the horizon, especially the continuing massive current account deficits built up over the last five years and continuing every day. Borrowing to pay salaries and other current bills is unsustainable.

We can all brace ourselves for the onslaught of the $150 million cut in expenditure starting with this year’s estimates.

26. @Adrian

Understand your point but Stuart’s ability to keep his team intake must be measured by objectives/policy implementation which move the country forward and not that he has a team. Again BU wish him all the best.

27. It’s not up to Stuart alone; Remember the eager 11 did not go through with whatever they were thinking -not out of any deference for Stuart- but out of concern for their own political careers. The DLP was elected as a Team; Stuart knows this, they all should know this — that they are all equals with Stuart merely the first is even more true today.

28. @ David: This has to be said.
    My comments in no way were directed at you with regard to bias. That you are good at what you do and have properly managed BU is beyond question. As a result BU has become a place of first reference for political discussion on the Blogs in Barbados.

In the 2008 general election you favoured the DLP – or appeared to – in this one, you seemed to side with the BLP. I infer that only from your comments. However you did allow others to post regardless of the Party they supported – certainly without censor on my part. As a Moderator you can be given a good Pass.

Going forward I am glad Prime Minister Stuart did not promise the moon in the DLP manifesto. If Barbadians pull together we will come out the other side of this downturn stronger.

29. Leroy Parris for Senator?

30. In the field of human conflict never was so much owed by so many to so few … BAFBFP 2013

Who were the few you may ask ..? They were the people who through their actions (a pre-election double pole) encouraged a dormant disillusioned default Barrow sympathy voter to put aside a few minutes in the day so as to ensure that “the wrong person does NOT win”.

Wunna notice Dennis multi-tasking ..?

31. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@ac | February 22, 2013 at 10:29 AM |
    “STUART has demonstrated that he is capable of walking through landmines without being blown to bits”

this is a silly statement, the win for the DLP shows that they got the majority of seats only, this is a perfect example of why the First Pass the Pole system does not work. i do not know which party has accumulated the most number of votes but if it shows that the BLP had the most number and the DLP the greater number of seats then it means that the majority of people will be governed but the unpopular vote. i think this system should be changed at some point in time

32. Now that there is no Election to win, the calm measured approach to governing Barbados will prove to be the best and PM Stuart will do a good job.

There are several commenters on BU including Millertheannuki who have been preaching import substitution and food security.

Some of us have suggested that Barbados needs to be cleaned and painted.
    Imagine Tourists going back home and saying.Barbados is amazing.The place is so clean and beautiful.

Some have been preaching Solar and other alternative energy to reduce the dependence on imported oil.

Almost every positive suggestion we have seen on BU was regurgitated on CBC TV and VOB during election coverage last night by the panelists.

Barbados can and will be better.

33. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

the only reason I think Todd did not win was the fact that he probably did not hand out money, like i am pretty sure Denis Lowe did. it boggles my mind that for the constituency that Lowe represented, would actually return him, when he was the worst of the DLP MPs who did not help the constituency they represented. I seriously his win, i question Wood’s defeat and i especially question George Payne’s victory. people have been witnessed to money giving out, a relative told me of the 1000s that was given out in St. Michael West Central yesterday in ‘broad day light’. I am relieve that it is over, that none were injured but time will tell, if this win will take Barbados steps closer to economic prosperity of recede into economic poverty

34. i cannot believe what some of you political shite hounds on this blog are saying, seems like all some people know, is partisan politics. We have to get away from this B and D crap and start working together.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just look at this thread, the same sorry bunch of knuckleheads.

Saying nothing important, no wonder you are back on the opposition benches just as I predicted!!!!

36. Smooth choclate my comment does not only lend itself t the “wining” but the overall theatric scence of events leading up to the victory. people seem to forget that Stuart was handed a job when t DT died even though others would say he wasn.t not prepared it was obvious that he was mentally astute and efficient in the ways he dealt with these issues individually which was necessary in helping him carry on with the job of running the coutry in a crtical time.

37. Stuart will gingerly deal with his colleagues, he can’t afford to rock the boat, less one or two jump ship to the other side, but i suspect he will try to assert himself now that he has faced the electorate and has been given a mandate. I expect interesting times within the five year period.

To bash Peter is totally unjustified. He did say there was a 5% margin of error, so if we look at the results we would see that he really wasn;t wrong.

38. Fran i am looking but ib can,t find the landsllide he predicted which was to befall the DLP. can you?

39. @Adrian

Fran made the good point why Stuart will have to get it right.

40. Walk gingerly my ass … Wunna people don’ know who wunna dealing with. The man, like like his predecessor Sandiford, will feel he has got a mandate now; that he has won the confidence of the “people”. He is going to f#ck up in the very near future, make no mistake, and like his predecessors will tell the rest that he alone owns the bat, the ball and stumps.

Prediction, a very very early elections to come …!

41. @David
    The more I muse upon this result,the more I disagree with the view that the Barbados electorate are the winners.Think of it.When the Hon Members choose a Speaker,I assume it will be a Dem and likely Carrington again.Stuart now has 15 including himself.The opposition 14.New blood on the opposing side will want to make their mark and we can look forward to drawn daggers from Prescod, Symmonds,Bradshaw and Bostic.Sorry Gooding-Edghill did’nt make it.His platform delivery was impressive.I posit the view that Stuart might be a lameduck Prime Minister this session.He will not achieve anything without looking over his shoulder and looking at the opposition benches too!

42. BAFFY & GABRIEL
    I think that you are both correct.

43. Baf
    Again you are right, but this political culture does not permit a ‘third way’. As a result Stuart has no other option than to do an Arthur and pilfer some Bees to buttress his narrow ‘minority’. We must thank our slavish acceptance of the Westminster model for a near and possibly soon constitutional crisis.

44. @Yardbroom

Back to your reference to BU being pro-BLP. The record will show that on the weekend we analyse the manifestos of both parties and took the opportunity to make the point that the electorate was very apprehensive about the return of Arthur which BU agreed. The other point is that BU repeatedly raised the concern with Miller et al about the proposal of ‘putting money in people’s pockets’ and the impact on forex. Also BU has incessantly questioned the Miller about the proposed energy policy of the BLP which sees pricing and the move to alternative energy as separate issues.

The problem we find that it is difficult for many to appreciate that some people operate at the level of dealing with issues and could careless about political colours and or individuals.

45. Anyone that has interest in a wonderful bargain can go to ebay.com:
    FOR SALE
    A brand new set of DESIGNER DRAPES,brand new DESIGNER CURTAINS pre purchased for ILARO COURT,but no longer needed.
    AC,TTP,CCC and CLONE need not attempt to buy.

46. Hamilton Hill yah Jackass HA HA HA … You feel that Owen marry to a relative of Stella ..? HA HA HA HA.

Pacha

You see how cleanly GP can strike two different balls to the same exact spot pon a field …? Man that is tek real Brain Lara type skill nah …!

Pacha if there is a “Constitutional Crisis” man that would be a good thing, ’cause at least something profound would be happening in the house of Parliament for a change … HA HA HA

47. If this victory was achieved in the right manner then it will last out the full term,because i cannot understand how a box can be found after one clock when a recount is called .

48. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

There is only one thing that happened in this Election
    The poll result helped to mobilize Dems and Dems who had planned not to vote, came out in their numbers
    Nothing is wrong with the poll by Peter Wickham
    Peter did say that the DEMS could win if they mobilize on election day but you cannot predict emotions and emotions can change in a minute.
    True or False

49. @New Era ”Despite all of the money that the BLP put in the St. Michael, St. Andrew, St. James and St. Joseph constitutences, them STILL LOSS.

The good LORD don’t sleep and there shall be no rest for the WICKET.”
    —————————–

And how bout all that Chinee money? Who pelt that about deng??

Nuff ipods and ting.

Cadres poll was RIGHT cepting they did not factor in alla de spenning…

Chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

50. bajantoy | February 22, 2013 at 4:41 PM |

If this victory was achieved in the right manner then it will last out the full term,because i cannot understand how a box can be found after one clock when a recount is called
    —————

Chaaaaaa deng!

Leave a Reply to Rendered AssistanceCancel reply