Submitted by Peter Brathwaite
Good luck Barbadians

Fellow Barbadians,

We go to the polls this Thursday. Emotion, anticipation and excitement fill the air (along with the ‘noise’ of the various political parties canvassing late into the night). Posters and flyers (and big as shite billboards) blanket our landscape (yet no one dared put their respective flyers/posters on the fancy pedestrian over-pass out by CBC last time I saw).

Both parties have published their manifestos. Of particular interest to some, if not most of us, will be the proposed economic policies of both parties. During the analysis of same, I ask that each and every one of you stop, hold strain and consider the words of Henry Hazlitt. Journalist, economist, philosopher, critic and author of the easy to read: Economics In One Lesson.

The “One Lesson” is stated in Part One of the book:

The art of economics consists in looking not merely at the immediate but at the longer effects of any act or policy; it consists in tracing the consequences of that policy not merely for one group but for all groups.

Bee, Dee, Indie or Other. When you hear your party, or the other party, make promises, recall the one lesson above. With any luck whatever is promised will not affect the buying and selling of pudding and souse this and every Saturday into the future.

Good luck to all candidates and to the future of Barbados.

1. May we always be proud to be Bajan, good Luck to Barbados.

2. Amen.

3. i am looking forward to see if bajans can put their education to good use tommorrow
    iam looking forward to see if bajans going to put country first and not be fooled by empty promises
    i am looking forward to see if bajans going to put their stamp of approval on good goverance.
    iam looking forward to see if bajans going to take the crumbs which fall off the masters table in preference for taking all
    AS for ac it is all our Nothing. refuse to settle for less. COUNTRY FIRST
    VOTING DEMS.,

4. May the people of Barbados win, forget the politicians.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 20, 2013 at 6:05 AM |

Bajans will indeed put their education to good use tomorrow by punishing the DLP for the lies and tricks and unfulfilled promises peddled by the DLP in January 2008.

The Deceived, Easily Manipulated Souls (DEMS) will remember the harsh treatment meted out in the last 5 years by those who promised a better society with a vibrant economy where lowering the COL was to be Job No.1, No.2 &No.3.

The Bajans will replace the failed tweedle dum-dums with the known tweedle bees and take their stinging chances.
    It’s safer to go back to an abuser who brings home the bacon than to stick with a known liar, deceiver, unemployed abuser who doesn’t know his economic elbow from his political arse.

If the DLP were not duplicitous liars the people would be inclined to give you guys another bite at the cherry but after last evening revelations about money laundering in Pornville they have now been infected with the Grenadian contagion spread by Wickham poll virus.

Leave the electorate alone. It’s their government not yours, ac.
    Go and know your damned lying pissy (DLP) autocratic place. The people gave you lot a chance to prove yourself and you blew it. The people have had enough hardship for the last 3 years and they don’t want another 1991-93 replay.

6. To ALL political parties remember no seat is safe…..look what happened in Grenada last night. The electorate will speak with their pens and may the best party for the times win.

I want Irene to win St. Andrew and Kellman to loose in St. Lucy. I hope that we will have an opposition. I will go and take back my vote tomorrow.

7. @Miller

Spin how you want it is still twiddledee and twiddledum. both with a vested interest in maintaining the status quo. Do you think Arthur if he wins would be willing to kick the status quo in the rear-end?

8. @ Islandgal

Do not worry, we will have an opposition. Grenada did the clean sweep thing before. I don’t think that is part of our political culture.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | February 20, 2013 at 3:29 PM |
    “Do you think Arthur if he wins would be willing to kick the status quo in the rear-end?”

No! But it’s a pity that lady luck has to be so fickle. Win lose or draw either he or Freundel will be forced to deal with the elephant in the room pretending to be a monkey on the country’s back.
    This consumption addicted economy hooked on imported consumer trinkets will soon be faced with severe withdrawal symptoms. The pending further contraction of forex supply from tourism will soon be the final call for the economic druggie Bim to check into rehab; and the miller does mean the one on Fontabelle that Donville Inniss frequents and pushes his big guts to the front to ogle shaved private parts in exchange for throwing an SJP in the flesh pool.

It would have given the miller greater intellectual joy to see the DLP stew in their own privatization juices brought to a boil by the IMF than to witness any payment of retroactive dues owed by the BLP for their 14 years of chasing the consumption dragon.

10. @Miller

Like you, a side of me wants to see the DLP have to deal with the busted economy given their hypocrisy on privatisation. But on balance, I think the BLP will be able to handle the situation better.

Some serious times confront us the day after tomorrow. The government chose to hide the facts from the people.
    The accumulated and continuing current account deficits are a real monster about to jump out of the closet.

11. I have NO one to vote for, and no outcome to vote for … wah wunna want me do …?

12. I’ve read my DLP 2007/8 manifesto and illiminated those promises that were unrealisitic, yet they came up very short on what was acceivible. I think most bajans would recognise this and vote trhe right way. I anticipate a victory for the BLP by 24 votes. What I will however ask that ALL voters go to the polls and cast your vote hether it be for the B’s or the D’s. My mother, ONE GENERATION AWAY, as not allowed to vote because she didn’t own a business, land, or was white. The right to vote was only given when she was an adult

13. miller wuh dat you say that educated BAJANS gonna return a CORRUPT BLP TO govt.

14. Well today its E DAY! the only thing that is of importance is the long term survival of a country and its people. A lot is at stake people name and reputation has been tarnished , However keeping Barbados name and reputation is equally as important its is the heartbeat of a democracy and the motto for which we stand one of PRIDE encouraging other countries to give barbados greater respect across the world ,Showing that we are LEADERS and not Followers We as a people are therfore duty bound to guard and secure our nation name and reputation and dignity not only for today but for everyday leaving a legacy and and example for future generations young or old as we transform from the old way into a new way . Therefore as we entered the voting booth THINK COUNTRY FIRST . God Bless BARBADOS!.

15. Amen, Barbados belongs to Bajans, not politicians.

16. well in my above post dated feb 20th. my HOPE for this COUNTRY did come true. pleasantly surprised THANKS BARBADOS you deserve a BOW. Now hopefully my final hope be that we would continue to work together to PUT COUNTRY FIRST! that is what patriotism is all about. TOGETHER WE STAND ! DIVIDED WE FALL!

17. i like this Post and i find it kinda of disheartening that the responses were few and far in between maybe it is the patriotism within me. i remember as a child my gran gran being a BLP and the enthusiasm and vibrancy she exudes as she spoke proudly of her party and sir Grantley Adams. Then there was the Mottley era and the same vibrancy exudes ,Now in this era when we speak of our politicians it is with shame and disdain.
    My gran gran if she was alive today would be ashamed of all of us. What a pity! no wonder on refection the oldfolk say “Those were the good ole days”

18. where is Dimani? U run away son?

19. onions come out of hiding and listen to Les Crane!

20. when other countries are rioting in the streets,bajans can be proud of theselves that on Thursday they demonstrated to the world that that they can have peaceful protest by the pawer of the vote. To those who refuse to vote as a form of protest nobody notice since your voice was silent.

21. Oh! how i like being overhere all by myself.It is like sitting in a beautiful garden enjoying the beauty of nature, No noise coming from “empty vessels” like those who flood the political landscape ,Ah! just myself enjoying a little peace and tranquility! with benefits Oh! what a relaxing feeling. for those who wish to get away from the unending torture inside the theatre of politics here is a place where you can unwind. NO gloating allowed ! especially to those in hiding like Onions here is a place wher you can escape the never ending criticism of your party and leadership.

22. her is something to make you laugh

23. oh boy ! i had to take a leak so i hurriedly went over on one a dem political post and did it,it think it was the best place to dispose anybody fluids since over here the environment would not tolerate any form of pollution. mother nature does not forget easily and corruption of the environment might be met with deadly force like a deadly lightning strike upon ones head.

24. i think i am going to get up and go to church cause a lot of political demons causing me to sin my soul. i gonna pray fuh wunna. SIGH!

25. oh! well let me come here and chill listen to some music and some jokes. too many yardflows cackling in my ears. some people never know when it is time to give up sometimes it is necessary to slam the door in their faces and that is especially true of the BLP yardflows. How could a LOST make them so irritable to the point of where if possible they would shoot you.

26. the song posted above is for all the DLPstalwarts !

27. Lol… @ac. When i try to play it, it says that content blocked by EMI, not available in my country.

But, as you note it is for DLP stalwarts only, I must assume that they then have access…. somehow.

Oh, the irony.

28. @ crusoe try it on U tube! Mia too would enjoy it! very beautiful song

29. oh! the awesome POWER of POSITIVE THINKING! A chain is only as strong as its weakest link!

30. this is my little hideaway away from all the noise and confusing .how refreshing indeed and what makes it better is that i can talk with and about myself without interruption from the political wild geese that infiltrates the blog ad nauseum