Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

The most recent CADRES poll which surprised many that DLP leader Fruendel Stuart had eased pass Arthur has been reversed. Under pressure to explain the weekend poll which bucked a trend, Head of CADRES Peter Wickham took the sensible decision to redo the poll. The euphoria displayed by the DLPites has been short lived because the new poll has Arthur leading Stuart 37% to 32% with a 7% swing in play.

1. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

Sandra “LOSER” Husbands is running one of the nastiest campaigns in Barbados while handing out DVDs claiming to be a Christian. She is turning off many residents with her tactics. I do not know who is advising her apart from William Duguid who lives in Canada and draws taxpayers money as an MP but the residents are lining up behind Donville.
    Donville Inniss is an excellent MP and his work and effort throughout St. James South is evident while being one of the best ministers of health in recent history.
    Lazy Sandra “do little” Husbands has also resorted to a loud truck driving through suburban districts blasting Lil Ric and Crimeson songs- wrong move again.
    She is getting very desperate and is trying the same tactics that Liz Thompson tried when her campaign was failing.No wonder Sandra Husbands was rejected in all the other constituencies which she was trying to get.
    She like Lynette Eastmond has never run a successful business but is running around trying to tell people how to run theirs. She is a failure and St. James South will reject her big time. She should run on merit but unfortunately she has never done anything of merit. Shame on you Ms. Husbands – you want to run a nasty campaign and have others in the background doing the dirty work for you. That will never make you a winner.

2. Wickham redid the poll because he did not get the results he expected. That’s my honest opinion. From the time he was removed from CBC he became very bitter towards Frenduel nd has been spewing anti-Frenduel rhectoric since then. Now he’s trying to shape public opinion so as not to embarass himself. Now he has taken down George Belle with him as well. Come Thursday night we will see the outcome. I strongly believe the DEMS has all St. Ph, all Ch Ch except Ch Ch West. So it will come down really to St. Michael.

And @ AC Blackett & Sealy will still win, Todd I feel will be defeated.

3. again i would reiterate that this poll would renegise the DEMS cause some would see some kind of sinister approach building a ground swell of support for PM Stuart .

4. Good questions, if you listen to the clip above media houses received the revised poll around 8PM. The Nation had time to update their website.

5. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

St. James south residents will vote for Donville Inniss in massive numbers.Donville Inniss has done a good job and is an excellent MP and minister. As Chris Sinckler’s campaign song in St. Michael Northwest says : “Why settle for less when you got the best?”
    St. James south voting for Donville.The best choice.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | February 19, 2013 at 6:15 AM |

Harold Wilson once said a week is a long time in politics but it seems only in Barbados 48 hours is the new week in politics.

It was only on Sunday that many were singing the praises of Wickham and the integrity of the polls to reflect the surge in support of Freundel as the preferred leader for PM and the associated upward drag for the return of the Dems.

Now that the outlier has been brought back within the statistical norm of play Wickham is again a reaffirmed enemy of Freundel Stuart and the revised poll is faulty and must be rejected à la Bobby Morris, ac, TPP, Yardbroom and the other political enforcers for the DLP.
    It’s interesting to see how the weathercocks of Integrity on this blog can only see the direction of the wind when the yellow sock is in the air.

But David why would you like to see a ban of polling a month or two before elections?
    Why this rare streak of autocratic fascism regarding our democratic system of electioneering? Why not argue for compulsory voting like in Australia?

What about the millions spent in misleading advertising and giveaways to bribe the voters and breaking all the rules covering electioneering spending and disclosure?
    What evidence can we point to showing that polls have impactful effects in reversing swings against governments?

Why can’t we attribute similar intelligence and political sophistication to the ‘average’ member of the electorate as we arrogantly do to ourselves on this blog?

Why do we show so little confidence in our much boast about educational system if Barbadians are not capable of demonstrating political maturity and discerning enough to be able to differentiate between reason and practicality and bullshit and pie-in-the-sky promises?

7. @ TO THE POINT and
    @Oilman | February 19, 2013 at 5:43 AM |

I completely agree with you both and in particular am completely onside with Oilman. I have no political bias. Indeed, until about a week and a half ago, my vote was BLP simply because I believe, like the Mighty Miller, that the future of the country lies with the young and I saw a BLP led by MAM to be the right way to go. However, when I saw MAM being repeatedly slighted by Owen and his gang, I started to have reservations – a lot of them.

For me, however, the clincher was the BLP Manifesto. Now we can say that Manifestos mean nothing and I will agree with that UP TO A CERTAIN POINT! Manifestos give a window into the minds and thinking of the party concerned and of its financier/leader. And that Manifesto, in a time of REPEATED global recession, is one of the most fiscally irresponsible documents I have ever read.

Now, I am not going to, ac-like, instruct anyone how to vote and my views are my own and I impose them on no one. But the DLP Manifesto is, to my way of thinking, a fiscally responsible and measured document that reflects the thinking of the DLP and its leader. As such, it is, in my view, the correct course for Barbados to follow AT THIS TIME. That could easily change 5 years down the road. But for THIS TIME and in THIS CLIMATE, for me there is no alternative. Therefore, I will vote DLP.

And all the clamoflage of who did what to whom and with what, will not deflect me from the central point of what is best for my country as a whole.

I rest.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ We voting For Donville | February 19, 2013 at 7:42 AM |

The DLP is the party pushing the Integrity agenda and unashamedly exploiting the Bajan Christian leanings to garner support for its candidates’ hypocritical outburst about care and social concern.
    Mixing the politics of exploitation with the religious considerations of the people is the height of wickedness
    So if Donville is to be judged against moral criteria he should lose his deposit.
    Here is a man that made his materialistic wealth by exploiting human weaknesses and engaging in sexual depravity of the worst kind.
    Here is a man who is a blatant liar not only in relation to the Duguid affair but also in regard to the new hospital knowing full well that no decision has been made regarding the location of such a currently unrealistic project.
    Let the big guts liar look in the mirror before hurling invectives at other people.

9. I sincerely hope Wickham don’t have to run out of Bim with all that political tap dancing. Looks like Donville is paying his supporters some big money, just don’t get too cocky now..

10. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

@Miller
    I am sure you meant to say “So if Owen is to be judged against moral criteria he should lose his deposit”

11. @Amused
    Man you got me frighten now cause I find that we way of thinking too similar to be true. I personally thought that this conservative and high taxation approach of the DLP was not the way to go. I agree with the BLP approach in terms of energy policy(reduce BNOC profits and give ppl and ease).

But I been ‘in town too long’ and when de BLP manifesto come out and them telling de country them going to reduce VAT, increase salaries, solve CLICO, give back allowances etc, I then realise that of the two evils, de DLP seem more plausible and sensible. There is no way that all these goodies promised by the BLP can realistically materialise given the massive debt we have on our hands.So I was with Owen and the BLP when they said they would reduce light bills and reduce the BNOC profit margin to ease consumers but when them decide to go further into these ridiculous give aways, I was forced to reconsider.

Now I made it clear in the General Election Watch section that I voting DLP as a form of protest cause I believe strongly that Mona should have gotten the nod over Wood. My approach was and still is, to vote at the local level and that I will do. So my vote goes to the Dems on a matter of principle. I voting against a BLP representative that when he lost, tek back sports gear from my grand son and curse me family and in- laws.

12. @ac
    The poll wasn’t “redone.” Another poll was taken.
    Also, a lead for stuart or arthur does not mean a lead for the dlp or the blp.

@reasoned
    The Nation did not want to pay for. 2nd poll. Peter said so upfront. Cadres doesn’t release polls, the sponsors do. Despite any concerned views of the pollster.

@amused
    Agree with the overconfidence. My simple take was that MP’s should simply do what they were elected and are paid to do. Then no one has to worry on election day. But, as they say, hard ears ya won’t hear.

Regarding big guns, at this stage you would need 10 lbs of C4 explosive. The Tuesday news cycle is done. Only Wednesday remains. The BLP campaign hasn’t “fired” much mud. The DLP offloaded a truckload or two over the last 3-4 days. Did it work? Will the BLP’s return volley increase their perceived lead? My earlier post spoke about timing. It is critical. Haggat Hall 2008 was pefect timing. A good run up, a sweet ball, and then just enough pace and time left afterwards for the swipe to get the caught behind. The timing and magnitude of “the note” wasn’t enough. Let’s see on Thursday how much “leadership” really matters.

Just observing

13. At first look this morning I strated to tell myself that perhaps this poll ting was like buying a shirt or pants.If it does not fit carry it back.Then sober reflection suggested that more so this time than any other in the past,Peter Wickham must call this one accurately or he is done.I still think that polling is his true passion to which integrity is staked so would he have risked it all?Time and the final result will tell.

14. Just so that the miller knows I forgot to say my prayers last night.Dat caan happen again.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ We voting For Donville | February 19, 2013 at 8:16 AM |
    “Miller: I am sure you meant to say “So if Owen is to be judged against moral criteria he should lose his deposit”.

Bossman, Owen is not parading as any paragon of virtue, any angel of integrity and promoting himself as a young Francis of Assisi aiming for the epitome of morality on the road to sainthood.
    OSA has his own demons and he might fool people about his magical powers regarding the economy. But morality, Sir, is not part of Seethru’s bag of tricks.
    So let us compare like with like.

Let the people judge Owen according to his boastful arrogance to fix the economy and turn Bim into an economic oasis where the world going through an economic and financial desert would journey to for solace and wisdom from the god-given guru of economic management.
    This is where OSA’s Achilles heel lies. Not in his moral character which is WYSIWYG.

16. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

Observing
    “The BLP campaign hasn’t “fired” much mud” – You cannot be serious.You need to check the nasty campaign which Loser Husbands is running in St. James or Gregory Nicholls paying school children on nomination day to cheer for him and hold up his poster and curse his opponent- or the BLP campaign speeches which claim that the DLP trying to keep medicine from old people and caused the death of people- the Santia Bradshaw campaign truck which “accidentally” pulled down some wires in the middle of Patrick Tannis meeting, all kinds of nasty remarks about David Thompson from the BLP speakers and chairmen – you must be. Look at the final ads in the newspapers on the last two days – it will say nothing about practical BLP solutions- it will be pure attacks on the Prime Minister. The BLP has run the dirtier campaign.

17. The election day will tell us all the story.

The DLP’s campaign appeared to be managed without a strategy to highlight resoundingly why we should re-elect them. It is flat and offers a ‘by the way’ message unfortunately leaving the electorate to base their vote not on the campaign message but on their life experience of five years under the DLP.

I expected a stronger more vibrant presence of the DLP showing why 17.5 % VAT remained; the reduction of and removal of debt mounted by BLP at the NPC; and most importantly if their candidates are credible managers of our monies. I also expected a more tailored financial review and projection of our finances and a reaffirmation that strategies used by imposing higher taxes were necessary to keep our dollar from devaluing.

The Mia and Owen issue really is a component but walking to the polls all men and women will have in front of them is ‘will my financial position change?’ and, ‘if it does how will that affect the Barbados dollar?’

18. @observing ………..the poll wasn,t redone i was just overdone giving one a sense of what theb POLLSTER might be thinking. NOT GOOD!

19. @ David

Peter Wickham has no moral grounding. People like him find it easy to sell their sooul to the devil because in order to be what they already are, they already made a pack with the devil.

WiKiLeaks demonstrated, in my opinion, that Peter Wickham is a traitor. For a few shillings and pot of soup, he would do whatsoever is in his best interest even give out confidential information, both political and otherwise.

This is a last ditch effort by BLP and its sponsors to so see if they can swing it or worst case scenario recover some of the millions and millions invested in this failed campaign by way of financial contributions by unsuspecting business interest in Barbados and Trinidad.

20. These polls reflect Wickham’s hope. My question to Wickham is: “What is in it for you?’

He is definitely trying to influence the electorate to vote for BLP candidates therefore the undecided voter has the ringing in their ear that BLP will win and when they do I will be on the winning side.

Not withstanding the fact that the DLP did itself an injustice by not employing a strategist along with a vibrant campaign manager a year ago, Stuart is now faced with the fight of his life to the very end.

Stuart comes over like a person who spends more time with and trusting his enemies (party members who have no interest in his leadership) rather than allowing God to prepare a table before him in the presence of his enemies.

Yuh don’ keep your enemies close but keep them in sight.

All of that being said, it will be a very close win and based on the hurt of financial scarcity men will decide which is more important, Barbados as a nation or me as an individual being able to buy food, pay bills and have savings.

Regardless of what we say Barbadians has two choices
    (1) Barbados first which gives DLP victory. Or,
    (2) My pocket first and the economy afterwards. This concept gives the BLP the victory.

Honesty and integrity are not being pushed, reiterated and cemented guess because the Integrity Legislation was not passed along with other factors of course.

21. In this whole quadmire of confusion is deception and corruption another one of OSA failings which is deeply ingested in the poll………………another point of reference which i am highly suspicious of is the grinding wheels of the movers and shakers in the Tourism industry who sees a win for OSA as being a win for them afterall they were the beneficaries of the past 14years with little to show. . I suspect there was nervous reaction coming from them after Sunday POll. hence the revSion.

22. who paid for the poll.

23. Brief “Stuart is now faced with the fight of his life to the very end.”

No he is not. Win or lose his life will not change much. He will still get a pension for life that can support at least 5 Bajan families.

Politicians and former politicians alway end up “comfortable”.

Doan worry bout de politicos. Look after your own …

24. Don’t want to take away from the seriousness of the elections, but nydailynews article is very telling. This 13th Amendment abolishing slavery in Mississippi was only done last fall. The lying excuse was “clerical error”. I would bet a 150 years from now others will hear the same excuse when it is revealed that slavery has still not been abolished in the US. Most people in the Caribbean will not be aware of these travesties because the local politicians have to interest in educating them.

Um, 150 years late? Mississippi finally ratifies slavery ban
    The 13th Amendment became the law of the land in December 1865 after Georgia brought the total to the required 27 states.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york#ixzz2LLuqMBjk

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york#ixzz2LLtQ

25. Local politicians have no interest in educating their people.

26. @ Amused
    I cautioned here, no celebratory noises yet by the DEMS. Forty eight hours is a long time but I tend to agree with you that most people have already made up their minds but there are a few constituencies where the victory could be decided by hundreds of votes. It is there that these last few hours will now matter.

If the DEMS hold their nerve, keep calm and get their voters out and be determined. They can have a working majority in the next Parliament.
    – – – – – – – – @ DavidI never said to ignore polls, what I did say “we are giving them an authority they do not merit”. Some think the polls have said so, so it is gospel. I have followed election polls for a long enough to know, that people who commission polls “often” have a biased interest. Sometimes they will pay for a Poll and will not publish it because the findings are not what they want. Therefore I always exercise caution this is not a new tact by me I have said so repeatedly.

27. The People must get it rightv this time . it is”US” or THEM. Them being the big corporation who have a been a drain in the past years on the finances of barbados with out thought or reason to fall out on the little guy. included in the high defecit are many govt sponspored and unpaid loans and unreported vat covering a 14year span.and to what benefit .this election must benefit t the small guy who has a dream and a vision for his country.not those who have feasted off the fatted lamb leaving bony and dry

28. Now the million dollar question is, how many of these slavery laws against black people are still on the law books worldwide just waiting for the right century when the descendants of slave masters can pull the same trick again on the descendants of slaves. Don’t think your local politician will care, too busy stealing the next dollar or selling us back into slavery. Black people in the US are now asking themselves how many are those laws are still in existence. If not for a vigilant Indian guy from that state who realized something was wrong last year, those laws would still be sitting there just waiting to be used again.

29. i am inclined not to now trust these polls. one of them is fraudulent, because people do not change their mind within a few days unless unless something major occurs and nothing did. i believe that the one published in the Sunday sun should have been the final one whether or not it was accurate. i am now inclined to doubt all of them. in any case most people already know who they will vote for, a poll cannot and will not make anyone decide to change their selection at all, it is pure backward thinking. It is the political meetings that will probably have some sway not a poll.

30. Don,t be fooled barbados the big corporations are behind these yoo polls and wickham has always been on their side hence the “privitisation ballon ” that fell flat on its face. the events of the past two days should have revealed that much since in effect the thought of Stuart winning would not be the solution for them to be in control. afterall the last 14 years with all the money flowing all the little guy was able to own was a car and a house But unable to crack the glass ceiling in the business world

31. I here listening to David Ellis question Wickham, along with this caller on the VOB brass tax. Boy Wickham tying up heself. Wickham credibility gone. I really disappointed.

32. YEARS AGO, Bushie tagged Wickham as a scam and a hazard to public well-being.
    Bushie is (unfortunately) always right, but it is hard to comprehend how even he could sink this low. Wickham is clearly available for purchase by the highest bidder…..perhaps in more ways than polls….

33. What about the millions spent in misleading advertising and giveaways to bribe the voters and breaking all the rules covering electioneering spending and disclosure?
    come, come mr mille is the above what you would want me to be compulsorily forced to participte in/

Why do we show so little confidence in our much boast about educational system if Barbadians are not capable of demonstrating political maturity and discerning enough to be able to differentiate between reason and practicality and bullshit and pie-in-the-sky promises?
    i do not vote because i can differentiate between reason and practicality an bull-shit and pie-in-te-sky promises.

34. Peter’s position is that he has always called the result for the BLP in the last four years. What went wrong on the weekend is that the data showed on the weekend that Stuart had eased pass Arthur in the leadership rating. His other prediction based on his dataset remains of a BLP victory has NOT changed.

BU’s position is that polling in our small communities have muddied the space.

35. lol. Now Wickham saying that he got to rethink his claim that one of his polls is valid for 30 days.lol.—Boy de dog dead Wickham!—-so how we know that we not go see another wobble tomorrow for de dems again? i feel wobble is de word of the month.

36. A curiosity is if Wickham decided to eat the cost of the second poll why would corporate want to contribute? This is tantamount to philanthropy 🙂

37. Wunna people is something else. Peter Wickham does a poll and it reveals that Arthur is leading Stuart, and wunna say ignore the poll, it is irrelevant. He does another poll and reveals that Stuart is leading Arthur and wunna embraced said poll, jumped for joy and declared Stuart to be the best thing since sliced bread.
    Wickham does another poll that reveals that Arthur is still leading Stuart and he now has no credibility even though all along hiss polls were saying that the BLP was on track to win the election.

In the poll published sunday that showed Stuart leading, a BLP victory was still forecasted but wunna DLP chose to ignore that prediction and chose to run with the Stuart leading Arthur angle.

Wunna really living in Barbados?
    What does Bobby Morris know that the rest of wunna Dems don’t apparently know?

38. The pollster | February 18, 2013 at 11:12 PM |
    -If Wickham’s poll tonight is radica;lly different from the one on Sunday methinks his credibility will be shot to pieces.
    -If its radically different then like Freundel Stuart contends the only relevant poll is the one on Thursday.
    {{{{ -Methinks Wickham will not stop polling until he gets the result he wants a overwhelming defeat of Stuart and the DPL or until the election intervenes He is running out of time.}}}
    -Word on the ground is Wickham fired CADRES pollsters who conducted the Sunday poll.
    ………………………………………………………………………………..

As I was saying now that Wickham has the poll which fits into what he requires the polling will stop. My fervent wish is the skullduggery on the part of the Wickham’s and BLPees is for DLPites to become galvanised and descend on the polling stations in unprecendneted numbers to ensure the economic madness Owen is recommending for our fair land does not happen. Now is the time for all loyal Barbadians to rouse themselves to ensure the Dems win a truly deserved second term to carry on the fantastic work they did in the past five years.

39. @Raw Bake
    You missing de point. This is not a case of two polls months apart. How do you expect people to truly put faith in a polling exercise that can give two contrasting results a mere couple of days apart? And added to that, you have Wickham pon de radio tying up heself when de questions getting ask. All of a sudden, his polls that were valid for one month are no longer valid because of this wobble effect. Added further is the reality that Wickham get a call from Corporate Barbados to help out wid de last poll. Yes he gets his business from this sector but let we get real man.

I supported Wickham cause i believed that despite his biases he would act like a professional when doing his polls. His record in Barbados has been stellar so far in terms of predicting election outcomes. But I cant in good conscience look at this situation and say all is well. All is clearly not well man!

40. Well wickham has overexposed his hands he will feel the pain for bending backwards and allowing corporate barbados to f..ck him. these corporations especially tourism must have it there way. the small entreprenure must suffer unable to have funding because those who control these companies especially in the tourist indusry feels a sense of entilement. Wickham has become their middle man and spoke person but in his quest to please he would find himself fighting an uphill battle for respect across theregion

41. What is the difference between a pollster and a political scientist.

42. Wunna expect Peter to come out and say that there were “irregularities in the first poll data? Peter stated that as part of the methodology only one person per household is polled, however I know for a fact that in one occasion, that two persons from the same house were interviewed.
    I also heard Peter say that Cadres does not poll obvious BLP or DLP strongholds yet the poll on Sunday went into Orange Hill an obvious BLP strong area.
    The poll published on Sunday was conducted while Peter was away from the island when he realised that some aspects of the poll deviated from the norm he informed the Nation and asked not to publish it as he would conduct another poll free of cost but the Nation refuse the offer.

43. I have notice that some of you do not respect persons professions and not see them as professionals. Namely Pollsers and Economists. If an Attorney or Doctor says something it is gospel but not other professional. According to some there is always something sinister and devious.

44. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

Peter Wickham is a waste of time. This is where being a pollster on one hand and a bias political commentator (brass tacks) on another, things get screwed.

In 2008 Chap Boxill took the money from the Nation and the BLP and sold their sold to the devil and produced what their clients demanded.

In 2013 Peter Wickham and CADRES could not resist the temptation of money and has become the political prostitute of the BLP. It’s not hard to work out.

45. Thursday hurry up and come please, I am tired of these people talking nuff shoite bout dem party. I am having a pool party on thursday night all are invited and please bring yuh own food and drink.

46. But does anyone with sane mind expect Wickham to admit on national radio or anywhere else that this whole poll data debacle is part of some scam to influence public opinion?

47. @Watching
    So how comes in his own defense, Peter Wickham has not spoken to these irregularities you have mentioned, that forced him to do this latest poll?
    Stupse!

48. Denying the truth does not negate it!!

49. @Watching
    Oh so you pon Barbados Underground playing de role of Wickham Lawyer? You saying that you and only you alone know bout these irregularities? You saying that you can defend Wickham better than he can defend heself? Well I bow to you cause if Wickham had time to defend heself and at no time mentioned these irregularities, I guess then that he need a lawyer for trute!

Leave a Reply to Observing(…)Cancel reply