2013 BLP Manifesto

The manifestos of the DLP and BLP have been released about ONE week before the E-Day of February 21, 2013. Generally people pay very little attention to manifestos in most countries. A manifesto may be described as a political tool to get political parties elected. Although we know they are usually littered with pie in the sky promises, BU had hoped this one time around, given the unprecedented challenges which confront service-oriented economies like Barbados, the electorate would have been wooed and teased by a vision articulated by both political parties (espoused in the manifestos).  How do they plan to navigate the economic and social milestones currently strewn in our path? Why is it this one time our people could not have been convinced to turn-down the political rhetoric, and instead, engage in a level of collaboration hitherto never experienced in democratic Barbados? As a highly regarded small predominantly Black country here was an opportunity created by the prevailing economic challenge for us to lead; a role which is not unfamiliar in the post-Independence period.

Kudos  to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) for being ‘first’ out of the blocks with their Manifesto launch – a sarcastic comment you ask?. Although a trivial point, it has not escaped the notice of BU that apart from the first page which features an aggressive air-brushed image of Owen Arthur reflected on The Team for A Better Tomorrow, Mia Mottley’s photo appears in the most prominent position. To those with an ‘eye’ for these things it is called subliminal advertising and it is designed to draw the eye and create an impression in the minds of the electorate.

During the stewardship of the DLP government (2008-2013) a few issues have always occupied the attention of the BU family. Heading the list is GOVERNACE! On Thursday an increasingly cynical electorate will have to decide which party leads (by a nose) on the issue of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation (IL) among others.

Related Link: Manifesto WATCH

We learned that from the FOI and IL, or what Denis Lowe called a Charter for Change which BU exposed in the McKenzie Files known as BUleak that neither Lowe nor DLP colleagues were eager to legislate and implement integrity legislation. In earlier BU blogs we also learned that William Duguid expressed a similar position on the BLP side. Prime Minister Stuart and party have bragging rights – at least an effort was made to table IL. From experience of how things get done in Barbados BU will argue that there is a lot of room between the cup and the lip. If it is one ailment which afflicts Barbados, we suffer from implementation deficit. Who do we give the nod? The party which brought IL? Or the party which because of a perception of corruption was booted from office five years ago?

Another issue which has been robustly discussed since the event is CLICO and BAICO, CLICO mostly.

The BLP has promised CLICO policyholders (does this include investors too?) they will get 100% of their money. The BLP obviously expects to benefit from 35,000 CLICO votes, or is it 14,000 which was clarified by Prime Minister Stuart on the campaign trail. The question to be asked: is the electorate capable of discerning when will this money be repaid?

Repayment, according to the BLP, is open-ended. The value of the repayment is set “as at the date on which payments of interest to them ceased.” Repayment will be made by means of “a combination of medium and long-term investment instruments and tax relief, where applicable.” We also learn that, “approximately $364.8 Million, which have now become a $76.7 million dollar problem given that the two companies have assets with a current market value of $288.1 million.” BU is unable to appreciate the arithmetic offered by the BLP. Also there is the legal reality. The CLICO matter is under the ward of the court and CLICO Barbados has oversight for premium written in the OECS. Please tell us how Barbados is able to beat home drums first which is promised by the BLP. Bear in mind the promise comes from the BLP, a strident proponent of regional integration.

The biggest suspicion thrown up by the BLP manifesto however is under the heading LAW and ORDER.

“The last Barbados Labour Party administration made the largest investment in policing in this nation’s history to make the job of policing safer.” So much money spent for such a reduction in services. The obvious question raised by this promise is – What about the safety of the people being “policed” from the Police?

We must pay attention to the recruitment of new officers and the retention of serving policemen and women and do all that is necessary to increase the numbers of the Royal Barbados Police Force. Equally, a caring government must pay careful attention to the health and well-being of police officers.” It seems to BU the answer to all our problems is to throw dollars at the problem. BU is reminded that under former Attorney General Dale Marshall is when we saw the rot taking root in the Barbados Police Force. Has building a spanking Judicial Centre at Whitepark Road solve the problem of delayed justice by the Barbados Judiciary? “How will construct[ing] an ultra modern Headquarters at Central Police Station” dissolve the many complaints levelled against the force?

BU has sufficiently highlighted our inefficient, ineffective and moribund judiciary system in the Tales from the Courts. Again the solution of the BLP is to “improve the administration of justice by ensuring that the Supreme Court and its Registry are adequately staffed at all levels including expanding the size of the Judiciary.” Let BU give the BLP the benefit of the doubt that the promises will make a difference. How will it be implemented? We want to know!

2013 DLP Manifesto

The DLP manifesto followed (meeting finished in the early Saturday morning 16 Feb 2013).

Like the BLP’s manifesto it makes a lot of promises, many of which we know will not be kept. And early scan of the DLP manifesto gives the impression – compared to the 2008 DLP manifesto and the 2013 BLP manifesto – that the promises seem more conservative.

Starkly evident to BU when we compare DLP promises to those of the BLP, a conservative FISCAL approach seems to be preferred. This probably reflects the personality of Prime Minister Stuart. There is the perception that the BLP will spend a lot of money – which BU believes we not have – to increase the number of civil servants and their benefits . Similar appears to be absent from the DLP manifesto. The reality is that many of our key markets continue to make massive cuts in government spending. Our major market in the EU countries (especially Britain) and in the USA and Canada – countries from which we source our financial aid may legitimately question why are they are cutting government spending and we giving pay hikes to a moribund public sector.

Surprisingly one of the areas which the DLP manifesto fails to address is the rot in the JUDICIARY and GOVERNANCE system. It is a no-brainer that until this is addressed in the most aggressive manner, all the talk about revitalizing the overseas business sector and foreign investment etc. makes a nonsense. BU genuinely believed with the coming of Marston Gibson – delivered by the DLP – we would have seen an improvement in the judiciary after David Simmons.

On page 55 of the DLP manifesto, in the section dealing with LAW REFORM: “while adhering to the a strict observance of the protection of rights, especially those basic human rights which the Founding Fathers of our nation thought to be fundamental to the protection of the basic freedom as to enshrine them in our constitution.” But it ignores the fact that we have a justice system where these rights “fundamental to the protection of the basic freedom as to enshrine them in our constitution” are breached daily by the very justice system that is sworn to uphold them. Again in BU’s Tales From the Courts several of the issues have been highlighted: 1) holding people on remand for years without bringing them to trial and often, after years of remand, the charges are dropped, 2) despite being told by victims that they have arrested the wrong person, continuing to hold that person on remand on the basis that a confession under duress has been extracted, 3) having civil cases drag on for in excess of 20 years at first instance, not even having gone through any appeal process – that adds another decade to the process 4) the habit of the Registry of losing files which in the age of technology should have been scanned and filed electronically with access to judges on a Network/Intranet and 5) the high level of Barbados decisions overturned by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

Bottomline, neither political party has addressed the important requirement of timely and efficiency delivery of justice, a key pillar required to support any stable society, a society which the DLP likes to tout.

BU has left the subject of TOURISM to last. It is a volatile industry but one which Barbados is heavily dependent. All sensible Barbadians understand that tourism performance will be affected by the economic challenges being experience in our key markets; mainly the UK. What Barbadians have been annoyed about is the fact our performance continues to trail our Caribbean neighbours. The CTO is reporting 5% growth in long stay arrivals across many markets. Barbados recorded a 5.5% decline during 2012. January 2013 was down 8.2% across all markets and an alarming 18.4% down from Canada, one of the markets least affected by the global recession. Most alarming has been the lack of engagement by Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy and government with Barbadians.

A review of the BLP manifesto shows that it consulted with stakeholders; BU does not glean the same when we scan the DLP manifesto. The DLP promised to restructure the Barbados Tourism Authority Board early in its term (2008). We are about to enter another election (2013) and no restructure. How are thousands of voters who work in the hospitality expected to vote in the circumstances?

What is absolutely scary about General Election 2013 is that many fear the return of Owen Arthur, yet the same group is uninspired by a DLP government, who for the first three years of its term seem to be caught like a deer in headlights. The BLP finds itself on the verge of regaining government and relegating the DLP to the ignominy of a one term government. How the BLP has done it can be attributed to a DLP government who many believe could have done better.

Is it possible we are entering a period in our history which makes a third party or independent appealing?

1. A Little Man to Woman exchange:

“I will give you a new car, a BMW? what colour? house on the terraces, clothes to make heads turn.”

“But Oswald you ain’t got nu money!! and you said the Bank manager threatening you.”

“Don’t talk foolishness woman trust me”.

“But Oswald you said that before we had de four children”.

“Stop looking in the past woman, break open a bottle.”

“We can’t afford a bottle Oswald.”

“Then send fu two.”

“Who will pay fuh all this freeness Oswald?

Trust me woman! trust me”.

“But we need to brek fu shore or we will sink to the bottom of the Careenage.”

“Trust me Woman! trust me”.

2. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Barbados Underground Talkshop

3. @David
    BU is in danger of becoming a toothless tiger, an impotent intellectual wasteland, a chair leader for political theatre or a stenographer for the status quo. Instead of representing those who have rendered a judgement about the uselessness of the political culture, instead of pointing to a third way, instead of directing readers to the collusion of political parties and politicians in the dis-empowerment of the people, BU at this critical juncture feverishly presents an editorial line that tries to find some kind of nonexistent decency or rightness or inevitability about the limited ‘choices’ we are supposed to have. Yet this is the same BU, and DAVID in particular, who likes to talk about creative solutions to existential problems. The same David who has expended a ‘forest’ in his writings about the obvious failings of both the DLP and the BLP and the political waste that they represent. The same David who one day after the election will be here again complaining about ‘official’ malfeasance, political corruption, political trickery, lack of seriousness. But now, this Judas, has a chance to present the viable option that we have previously adumbrated, he, consistent with the lackey cultural norms as popularized by the ruling classes in Barbados resorts to a status quo mentality. These norms say to people like David that he should play it safe. That he should not encourage Barbadians to BOYCOTT a regime that is in free fall. A regime that is a relic of a bygone era. A regime that in bankrupt in more ways than one. A regime that continues to this day to live on the backs of the masses of the people in Barbados. Unfortunately, we have had to come to the conclusion that there is no difference between David’s BU and the Nation or Advocate as far as their editorial philosophy is concerned. In other words, we think we have free speak but how can that be when those who guide the debate limit the options the country is to have? WE SAY BOYCOTT THESE ELECTIONS YESTERDAY, TODAY, TOMORROW AND FOREVER.

4. @Pacha

We obviously have a separation in philosophy on this issue. The right to cast a vote by the ordinary citizen is one of the important moments in a breathing democracy. One does not have to take political science 101 to know and appreciate that no system of government is perfect, none. So with respect Pacha don’t be stuffing your beliefs down our craw.

As always feel free to submit your views which will always be given a space.

5. @David
    What is a right to vote? How can it be a right if the right to withhold that vote is not ours? What you are taking about is the basis of misguidance in the system. You are in effect talking about, not a right, but an obligation to support a political culture that is teetering. You have consistently, axiomatically supported the established duopoly. If that is what you are going to do why not present all the possibilities to the people? Ours was never to force our ideas on anybody. In fact, no right thinking anarchist wants anybody else to see the world precisely how she/he does.

6. @David. That is an analysis worthy of the very highest standards of impartial journalism anywhere in the world.

@Yardbroom. That you are absolutely right, you already know.

With apologies to my cyber-friend, the Miller, the BLP lost me when Owen announced his heir apparent in the person of Dale. Then I read the Manifestos and that decided me.

At a time when the countries from which we derive most (if not all) of our foreign aid are reducing their civil service and their social benefits and at a time when our tourism market is suffering and our foreign investments next to nil, the BLP Manifesto is one of the most arrogant, self-serving and fiscally irresponsible documents I have ever read. Basically, what it says is, “Vote for us and we will give you the world. At least we hope to, as long as the worldwide recession doesn’t go from triple-dip to quadruple-dip, or even more dips and we can then wheedle money out of the usual donors.” And on what is this spending spree based? Barbados’ strategic importance to the Western World? That has not been the case since 1989 when Russia eschewed communism. We HAVE no strategic importance, except in the minds of old people firmly mired in the past and our “communications centre” is a thing of the past.

Not that I am giving the DLP a free pass either. Their performance has been lacklustre and without any real balls. But, at least their corruption and unreality has not even nearly attained the levels that made us vote the BLP out of office. And if you look at the BLP slate of candidates, it is the same lot we got rid of 5 years ago. And if they get back into office again, except under young, progressive and energetic leadership, these last 5 years will merely represent a lacuna for the instant millionaires just slavering to attach themselves once more to the public purse.

The BLP Manifesto is fiscally completely irresponsible and unsustainable. And I prefer to choose the lesser of two evils.

So, yes, David. It is time we had a third party. Maybe the ever-loyal MAM might finally make the break in the National interest and form it, as she is the ONLY politician in Barbados with the stature and statesmanlike abilities to do so. But for this time, I am going with the party that will cause the least damage to a country so dependent on the international community.

Anyway, that is my position as is my right. I really am disappointed with both Manifestos. I had expected better. I think we deserve a better choice that having to choose between one party that promotes fiscal irresponsibility and another that is simply the lesser of two evils.

7. @ Amused
    The fullness of time will prove the DLP no less corrupt than the BLP. Just, you don’t know about the corruption yet

8. @ Amused
    AMEN!

9. Only if the modern day electorate knew of the struggles our foreparents went through to gain the right to vote, then we would see that we are doing these ancestors an injustise by NOT VOTING, too many things that they fought for are now trivialised.

10. Good articale BU. I endorse it 100%

11. To my mind a fair assessment on the part of BU.Like it or not,agree with it or not BU has brought to the table a plate of balanced opinion,open for discussion.Wish we could say the same for the main stream media…The same main stream media that sought to dupe the public last election with that bogus boxill bull-shit.

12. @Pacha

Why do you believe that by locating your ire at the political system only that it is the sum of what will resolve the problem in your eyes? What about all the other stakeholders who make up civil society? Are you giving them a pass? Who is to say your unifocal approach is the silver bullet needed? Why don’t you fleashout your thesis to feed more informed exchanges?

13. Bush Tea
    Where did Owen endorse Dale Marshall as his deputy IF he wins the next elections? I thought I heard Owen said he cannot name a deputy not until after the elections If the BLP wins. Even So, who say Owen will be P.M, the elected members of parliament of the party which commands the majority of seats, sit among themselves and select/elect a leader, who is then declared the PRIME MINISTER. The same thing happens in the DLP, I don’t think Stuart will be elected IF the DLP wins the government.

14. One comment about the BLP slogan “Things Dread” on the Tee shirts, if they win what will be on the Tee shirts on Feb.22? If they lose will the slogan be amended to read “Things (still) Dread”?

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Purely from a TOURISM perspective, I cannot see anything in the DLP 2013 Manifesto to address the current crisis in the sector. NO practical immediate solutions and why would you want ANOTHER five years to restructure the BTA, when you have already had an overwhelming mandate for that five years. During the DLP administration we have lost over 100,000 long stay visitors and over 92,000 cruise ship passengers in 2012 alone.

16. @June Boy
    I thought I heard Owen said he cannot name a deputy not until after the elections If the BLP wins.
    If Owen did say that it belies the point that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, Owen did name Mascoll “co leader” of the BLP last go around and look what happened.

17. David and Amused you have both been a breath of fresh air with your thoughtful balanced writing.

18. Read both manifestos, don’t see how a DLP government is going to spend so much less than a BLP government. Both looking to spend and both will have deficits. For now it looks like the Bees plans might yield more economic growth, but no one knows what will happen globally. That said the Dems can’t keep blaming our condition on the global slowdown. Above all economics theories, credibility is the most important factor of all, and regardless of which party wins, CREDIBILITY above all else determines the access to money….credit. Said simply you have as much money available to you as you have credibility. That is how a debt based monetary system works.

19. David

It is over for the BLP. The momentum is with the DLP and the CADRES poll will only add to that as the Base of the party will be energised and barring a major slip up in the closing days, then the DLP will romp home to stunning victory.

It will be crucial for the BLP supporters to understanding immediately thereafter that the electorate has rejected them, they have only rejected OSA and what he represents, winning at all costs and leadership by fear and duplicity.

20. During the DLP administration we have lost over 100,000 long stay visitors and over 92,000 cruise ship passengers in 2012 alone.

So what has the Hotel owners in Barbados done to help themselves.

I own a Business that got hammered during the recession and I had to find a solution for my survival without any help.

Could you list the concessions and tax breaks granted to Hotels in Barbados?

While I accept that Government could have done better I cannot ignore that the country I live in has spent hundreds of millions advertising in ways to get Canadians to vacation in Canada.

The Americans bombard Canada with advertising to get Canadians to visit Florida,Lousiana,Vegas, New York etc.

The last five years have been difficult and not only for Barbados.

21. The BLP manifesto is an insult to intelligent Barbadians. They are telling people that you can have all the services in the world, all the tax breaks and concessions and no massive cuts in government expenditure. It does not add up. Arthur is trying to pull a fast one but it will not work. This is pure deceit and intellectually dishonest.

22. Just imagine if the visionary Sir Hillary on the Hill would have partnered with the captains of industry at the Barbados Chamber of Commerce or one of the Accounting Houses to cost the two budgets. Did someone say Banana Republic?

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Hants,

To answer your question – LOTS and without the benefit of a BDS$92 million annual budget for marketing.
    It’s a wonder there are any hotels left at all. 16.6 per cent increase in VAT, 50 per cent increase in Land Taxes, 72 per cent increase in electricity, 60 per cent increase in water bills and thats just in the last FIVE years.

24. David on February 16, 2013 at 6:48 AM
    @Fractured

Was Operation Bang, or was it Bang Bang postponed?
    ——————————-
    Hi david,
    I was away from BU for a while. I was busy welcoming Beenie Man to our shores in true CARICOM spirit.

Back to Operation Bang , it is obvious you missed Dr. David Estwick presentation last night that the exposed the trickery and treachery of OSA brand of ” optics ” economics . I always told you we the DEMS were going to expose OSA on the big screen. Dr. Estwick through the use of a power presentaion placed the real economic figures during the OSA years and that of the DEMS on the big screen last evening.

You should have heard the screams of disgust from the crowd when the folly of OSA vodoo economics was exposed.

That was Operation Bang 1

OSA says it was only banter between him and PM Stuart on the floor of Parliament over the ” tek Mia Mottley offa muh ” saga . PM Stuart insists OSA wrote him a note.

For OSA sake , I hope he was DRUNK !

When PM Stuart set the record straight on that issue:

Then that will be Operation Bang 2

Now to Peter ” go tek a pole ” Wickham.
    His most recent CADRES poll data shows
    BEES – 17 seats
    DEMS – 13 seats
    Peter in his analysis says it is too close to call

The swing has fallen from 7% to 4% against the DEMS.

PM Stuart popularity is now 36% , Owen Arthur is at 32%

WE ALL HAVE TO WAIT TO SEE IF THE SUNDAY SUN PUBLISH THEIR POLL. REPORTS THAT THE PRESSURE IS APPLIED TO THEM.

That clearly tells me that WICKHAM is having a lot of influence on this GENERAL ELECTION. I guess that is possible now that PM Stuart has promised him an Ambassador pick….to. BULL – GARIA .

This Barbados is a very strange place !!!!

But David the TRUTH of it all…… OSA will not win this election……..the forces of Mia Mottley and Peter Wickham are too POWERFUL.

Their role and impact in this GE would be the final Operation Bang.

I know of what I speak.

25. the bottom line is on hand you have a govt in the DLP which says more of the same. on the other hand you have the BLP saying lets try something new.

persons will make their vote on that.

26. @ David
    We have always spoken about a culture. The political culture is only part thereof. We focus on the political culture at this time for obvious reasons. We are the ones who have led the critique on the local/global economic culture which control the political culture. We are the one who have argued that the culture of colonialism, whether British or American, is anathema to current and future ‘development’. Seems you got a lot of time to confront the boycott agenda while guarding the tenets of the duopoly.

27. @Fracture

Let’s see if the CADRES poll accords with BU picks which is calling it 22-8 for the BLP at the moment.

28. DLP or BLP… who knows or cares

29. http://news.yahoo.com/jesse-jackson-jr-wife-plead-guilty-fraud-014931236.html

Congressman, Jessie Jackson Jr. and wife in the United States is being persecuted and convicted on charges of fraud. Barbados is too far behind, must somehow catch up. Owen Arthur in Barbados is not only a free man but racing for a fifth term as prime minister. LOL He, Arthur and the BLP train wrecked Barbados and accountable for massive land theft. Violet Beckles inherted vast amounts of land from Beatrice Henry; all was taken WITHOUT COMPENSATION of any kind. David Thompson investigated Violet Beckles claim of which involves the BLP administration, and the National Housing Commission (NHC), a government entity. . . . . moving tax numbers from one person with deed to another person with no deed and no proof of sale. . . . massive land fraud.

Speaking at a political meeting at the corner of Deacons Road, Owen Arthur said “the island had been humiliated by the recent S&P downgrade.” We have been reduced to junk status and someone has to be held responsible for it. He Arthur said also that the S&P downgrade report must be taken seriously, but what about Violet Beckles? That old woman has been humiliated by massive land theft and fraud perpetrated by corrupt lawyers and high authorities in Barbados. This must be taken seriously. This must be taken seriously. Someone has to be held accountable.

Thompson of the DLP was not honest but certainly wasn’t fearful. Thompson unlike Stuart did not fear the Violet Beckles case. Violet Beckles must be taken seriously. All those involved and must be accountable – persecuted and convicted: Sir Richard L. Cheltenham, QC, Charles O. Williams, Samantha Cummings, Mark Cummings, Mia Mottley, etc.

30. No duopoly Pacha, simply not convinced by your perspective on the issue so far.

The way to go is to agitate for change and to invade the infected organizations and swamp them with alternative views. This is something enuff has been championing for some time. Because a system is not functioning to expectation it does not mean the people should make the system weaker by withdrawing. This may only lead to the collapse of the very system and anarchy.

31. @@Fractured

I was at the meeting and I was not disappointed with Estwick’s presentation, I knew all along that owen and his gang were strangers to the truth. They think Barbadians stupid.

I am amazed at the number of people who say they dont want owen, and yes this is from canvassing an entire voting box, and belve the dlp will win about 70% of the votes from this box nad this box comprises the rich and the poor. What I find interesting, is some the persons whom I would have considered not holding middle class jobs, understand the issues, including the coutry affording what owen and mascoll promises. most of them are adamant that it
    cant happen.

I have been reliaby informed that the swing has dropped to 3%, but it is clear that the dlp message is resonating with the people. Owen trickery will not prevail. Can u tell me if any nis pensionsers have to pay income tax. Is owen going to break the income tax act, and by the way, those allowences are contributing to persons obtaining greater gratuity and pesnions, but then again, owen had employed an illegal immigrant and he is accusotmed to brekaing the law or changing things to benefit him, like the old man who was robbed of his land , no wonder sandy lane supporting the campaign.

32. @Adrian

you sound an old 45 record. If the govt did not take the necessary action, it would have been a lot worse, the hotel sector is too mendicant. dont u think that we should all play our part. what do u want the govt to do. tell your business friends to pay up the moeny owed to govt.

I visited jamaic last year, and i was amazed at the varoius charges that were on my bill, and our charges cant compare to theirs. what i was happy about that a lot of local stuff on the menu, thats what people like you in the industry needs to do, think local, if things so bad, why u still operating?

33. @Ac

i didnt see u at the meetingl las night by ncf, i was happy to be there estwick really dealt with the mock economist and mascoll that fraud who dont understand practical economics, he and wood should remain in the acdemia world.

34. BU will critique the Cultural Industries Bill in a separate blog, it merits it.

Here is David Estwick’s presentation at the Manifesto launch last night.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/29317700

35. @David

have u got any comments on estwick’s presentation

36. @David

have u got any comments on estwick’s presentation.

37. @ To the point i have always identified with davids estwick and clarity in his presentation of economic matters and his abilty to point out the fiscal landmines OSA would leave standing in the way

38. @To the Point

How come Sinckler did not present on Economic Affairs?

His presentation was powerful. Let us see if it resonates. Of course the BLPites will tell you the debt created can be seen in physical assets created.

39. Fractured and Man assah; Thanks for the preview of the Wickham poll results. if you are correct it means that Freundal will be PM of Barbados for another 5+ years. Wonder how many people will be overjoyed at that news? Wonder how many voters (B and D and non partisan) might, because of that news, go out and vote against the DLP even if they had no intention of doing so earlier?

Thanks again.

40. How come that Stuart and Arthur, two of the early recipients of the much vaunted “free” education can’t come together in a studio and debate the issues. They prefer the old style electioneering where they get on a stage and sling brickbats at each other while their supporters do the same on these pages and elsewhere.

Never mind the above been in the cold so long my brain is cryogenically frozen.

41. @TTP and David
    Estwick has always been excellent at breaking down economic matters simply for the average. Joe. He did it e. Ffectively in 2008. And I’m surprised that they took so long to employ him this cycle. The elephant in the room would be why has he been so underused and, given Poochies and Parris’ of late, where does that. Leave. Sinckler. Also, practical economics, political economics and policy based economics are three different beasts. Best to know which one you are wrestling with.

We’ve all acknowledged that the average bajan does not “want” back Arthur. The question is, what is the DLP presenting as the alternative…with 4 days left it’s going to be tough but we’ll see.

TTP says 4%, fractured tells us 3%, bobbu. tells us don’t worry about it either way. Tomorrow will tell.

Just Observing

42. David; Re. Dr Estwick’s presentation. Like Clive Mascoll’s own on the BLP’s manifesto delivery, they will sway no independent voters as they require fairly intensive thought and the presentations were being delivered to the respective choirs. The die is already cast.

43. A.M. Best Places Ratings of Sagicor Financial Corp. & Its Subsidiaries Under Review; Downgrades Ratings of Sagicor Life Jamaica

OLDWICK, N.J.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–A.M. Best Co. has placed under review with negative implications the financial strength rating (FSR) of A- (Excellent) and issuer credit ratings (ICR) of “a-” of Sagicor Life Inc., Sagicor Capital Life Insurance Company Limited (both domiciled in St. Michael, Barbados), Sagicor General Insurance Inc. (Sagicor General) (Bridgetown, Barbados) and Sagicor Life Insurance Company (Sagicor Life USA) (Austin, TX). Additionally, A.M. Best has downgraded the FSR to B+ (Good) from B++ (Good) and ICR to “bbb-” from “bbb” of Sagicor Life Jamaica Limited (SLJ) (Kingston, Jamaica) and placed the ratings under review with negative implications.

Concurrently, A.M. Best has placed under review with negative implications the ICR of “bbb-” and debt rating of “bbb” on $150 million, 7.5% senior unsecured notes due 2016 of the ultimate parent, Sagicor Financial Corporation (SFC) (Barbados). SFC is publicly traded on Barbados, Trinidad and London stock exchanges.

The under review status follows the announcement of a debt exchange program by the Government of Jamaica, which A.M. Best notes is the second such program in three years. Under the program, eligible investors would receive new notes that have lower coupons and longer maturities. Given SFC’s exposure to the business and financial risks of Jamaica through its controlling interest in SLJ, the ratings of SFC and its subsidiaries have been placed under review with negative implications.

The downgrading of the ratings of SLJ reflects its sizeable exposure to the Jamaican government securities, as well as the ongoing pressures of the weak Jamaican economy. A.M. Best expects that the bond exchange will have a negative impact on SLJ’s risk-adjusted capital and earnings position.

BARBADIANS WITH EXCESSIVE FUNDS IN SAGICOR NEED TO TAKE NOTE BEFORE IT BECOMES ANOTHER CLICO, AS WE TEND TO IGNORE WARNING SIGNALS. WORD IS THERE MAY BE CASH FLOW IISSUES AT THE LOCAL COMPANY REQUIRING MANAGEMENT TO TAKE DRASTIC ACTION TO RESOLVE.

44. @check it out
    “The die is already cast”

I tend to agree with you there. Any shifts in voters after tomorrow will be to the “not bothering to vote” column.

45. @David

Estwick had said from the beginning of the campaign, he was going to put a lie to what propaganda the blp had espoused over the years, and i believe that no one could have dramatised it better than him. It was an excellent presentation. I always felt that dr. estwick should have been minister of finance, and as he said, time, longer than twine, well done dr. estwick. you were magwonderful(thats my new word for abaove excellent and how u like that.

from discussing, this elections with some people who are in the board rooms, with white corporate barbados, i now get a better understanding as why we need elecoral reform in this country, else the meoneyed class will continue to manipulate the political process in small open economies like barbados. when the dust is settled, we should be calling for such reform, where the state allocate a specified sum to both politcal parties, and not a cent more is alloed to be spent, including the sponsoring of ad by groups or individuals.

46. @anthonyb
    Didn’t sagicor take over a lot of CLICO’s business? Just a question without any deep review of what you posited.

Observing

47. @observing

is that all u can say, what an unspirited statments, barbadians are not dumb.

48. @chek

your logic sont seem logical, the floating voters are the one that decide the elections and they analyse, unlike u.

49. @observing

u have been preaching doom, so i dont think u will analyse the manifesto of boath parties, but then again, ur party, like check it out is good at created fasle impressions like what it di for 14 yrs, leaving a leagacy of debt and then the recession compounded the situation. But we are accustomed to rescuing the economy, as david has shown. one day in politics is long

50. @observing

i listen to people talk, and sometimes i evoke a politcal discussion deliberately to understand how people are talking, thats how get to understand the political psyche of the person i am dealing with.

by the way, i was dealing with a mechanic, who never voted in his life and guess why he told me he and his wife were voting as first timers, the though that owen dont have any interest in the common man developments. Over and over over I am hearing that message.

Leave a Reply to Observing(…)Cancel reply