Stuart and Arthur, our political leaders in waiting

Whether you believe that the political manifesto of a political party is its intent to rollout certain policies if elected or that it is a social contract becomes an exercise in semantics. It is currently the preferred option which political parties have to outline a set of promises which they hope – if elected – to implement. In a growing democracy the electorate should have a reasonable expectation that a political party’s record over time should demonstrate the level of credence given to manifesto promises.

What is reprehensible is that with 10 days left to the 21 February 2013 both political parties continue to withhold manifestos (proposals) from the electorate as if it were a big secret. This is happening at a time when our tiny island continues to face unprecedented challenges posed by the global state of affairs. Both major political parties obviously see political tactics and gamesmanship being more relevant.  What does it say about us?

Until we achieve a higher level of maturity how we conduct political campaigns in Barbados the current reality which see political parties entertaining the party faithful and others looking for a good laugh will continue. Why would an intelligent electorate, and society, not demand from the candidates that they communicate their proposals to inform debate in the country well in advance of the election date? If ever there was a time in our history when we needed our politicians to depart from the same old same old the time is now surely. What does it say about us?

One is therefore left to ask, what has been the objective of the political campaigning so far? If both political parties and the handful of Independents have the national interest at heart, why not rush to deposit well articulated ideas and suggestions in the public space? The corn beef  style of campaigning described which served a purpose in the 60s and 70s cannot be relevant now. The irony is that more people, especially the youth, are becoming so cynical about politics and giving up their right to participate in our democracy? We have sunk billions into educating our people yet a significant chunk of our citizenry do not feel compelled to fully participate in our system of democracy. What does it say about us?

One manifesto item that will be of high interest to BU is how will both parties outline a media policy. This is a subject which is dear to the BU household. BU was conceptualized and given birth at a time when we detected deep hostility by Arthur and cohorts directed at the media in the 2006 to 2007.  In an information age it is evident significant institutional strengthening is required in the area of journalism and a supporting framework. Both parties should explore how resources can be strategically targeted at this segment which does not compromise its independence. It is 2013 and there is no vibrant body to represent media practitioners. What does it say about us?

Instead of discussing issues we have to witness politicians on both sides hurling abuse and otherwise vacuous statements at each other. However, in less than two weeks they will dress up in their finest Italian suits and enter the august chamber of parliament to assume the mantle of lawmakers. What does it say about us?

255 responses to “Manifesto WATCH”

1. How about paying undergrads who study in subject areas which are aligned to the national strategic plan.

All others who wish to engage are free to do so at their expense.

2. RE How has St. Lucia advance on the polyclinic model?

dAVID YOU WILL RECALL THAT IN 2008 I EXPOUSED ON BU HOW THE ORIGINAL POLYCLINIC SERVICES FROM 85 SHOULD BE ADVANCED TO INCLUDE XRAYS AND BLOOD TESTS ON THE SPOT. I PERSONALLY WITNESSED AND BENEFITED FROM THIS LAST YEAR IN GROS ISLET.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CASWELL FRANKLYN:

Are there any pieces of legislation or official rules that apply to or govern the involvement of public sector workers including chief executive officers (CEO’s) in open electioneering for political parties?

Leroy McClean is the CEO of the BIDC but yet he is speaking on the political platform on behalf of the DLP during the current campaign.
    Your views will be appreciated here since it can be good grounds for terminating his contract without financial penalty to any incoming BLP administration.

4. The Barbados Government must continue to fund University Education. Barbados is not like Canada where student can get part time jobs to fund their education.

The playing field must be kept level so the shop clerk children can go to University if they are bright enough to do so.

As for the statement “Doctors treating people like scum” I don’t believe that to be the case in Barbados.

For the record, I live in Canada and we pay for University Education but Barbados is not Canada and young people must be given opportunities to excel.

Keep UWI free.

5. This is the blog which GP referred.
    What should Barbados Government Do About The St. John Polyclinic?
    Posted on February 16, 2008 by David | 49 Comments
    Map displays the current (or possible) available health facilities for the people of the North. These include St Joseph hospital- now allowed to be destroyed by the BLP. The Geriatric Hospital at River Bay area – to be upgraded to … Continue reading →

6. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

@ Miller

The only thing in God’s big world that Leroy McClean hates more than the BLP is OSA.

7. @ millertheanunnaki

The barbados economy is going to go into free fall because of paying for uwi undergraduates? Really? UWI’s bills are the source of our economic downfall?
    Government’s money comes from the same place all the time – taxes from the wages of bajans. These bajan themselves or thier children want university degrees. So I do not understand your point about where is the money coming from, all of the money the government spends on anything; transport board, cbc, the constitution river, catering for parties, overseas trips, ministers cars, toilet paper for the ministry, lights at ilaro court, incentives to get people to invest here – it all comes for taxpayers pockets. So how is a government going to ask a taxpayer where the money is coming from for a service the same taxpaying population actually wants as is evident by the fact that UWI, BCC and SJP are always over subscribed?
    Good luck to who ever decides to start charging for UWI, particularly those who like bleating on about how many poor people they help. When they see fee paying students from here and overseas getting a higher education and the jobs they can access while they can not afford to send their child there you think they will say, it can’t be helped?
    Although they have to surrender 1/3 of their wages, pay vat on practically everything they buy, they will be satisfied knowing their child can’t get a degree only rich people and foreigners can, while governed by ministers who all got theirs free of charge?
    You say what I suggest is socialism, what you are describing is a pyramid scheme. Take what you can get at the expense of those following behind.

8. The only thing in God’s big world that Leroy McClean hates more than the BLP is OSA.
    are you sure? my information is that he hated mr thompson more for usurping the seat he believed was rightfully his.

9. NOW (National Organisation of Women has called on Owen Arthur to reinstate Mia Mottley as deputy.

10. @islandgirl
    “How can any government begin to govern when they haven’t estimated how much they are planning to spend”-
    The estimates must be laid and debated by March 31, 2013. It does not mean that the estimates meetings ,preparation and discussion betwwen the related ministries and departments has not been occuring.
    Do not let your BLP blinkers block common sense.

11. The BLP meetings have been very insulting to Barbadians. Owen Arthur stands up in Carlisle Car Park promises everything to everybody and refuses to mention where the money will come from.He really thinks that Bajans are stupid.That is insulting the intelligence of every Bajan voter.

12. The BLP has hired some big foreign consultants to do “Perception Management”- creating impressions.Everything is staged – so you put Arthur and Mottley to sit together in an air conditioned bus and get the press to take a photo and put it on the front page.
    The BLP is pushing a document which is entitled to catch votes – nothing wrong with that politically but the fact that they refuse to tell you where the hundreds of millions in further expenditure cuts will come from should cause all independent minded Barbadians to come to the fair conclusion that the BLP is more about tricking voters than about real ,workable solutions

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ tired of this | February 12, 2013 at 9:16 PM |

I never told you that the UWI funding is the source of any economic downfall but will certainly be a casualty of it if we continue on this freeness path.

The mere fact the Government of Barbados owes over $150 million in funding arrears is testimony that the economy is currently unable to support the level of freeness to which Bajan students are entitled (giving the impression you are trying to convey).
    Unless this economy picks up there will come a time when the country will be faced with making tradeoff decisions between funding free tertiary education and providing free health care and protecting public health or even paying salaries to civil servants.

The reason for our current economic straits is that we are not earning our way in the world. Basically, we are spending more overseas than we are earning. We are simply living above our means. And if you think this can continue you are really living in cloud cuckoo land.
    If you think that the Barbados’ economy existence is based on the printing of Barbados dollars you are really in another world not the real one. Do you know the meaning of foreign exchange and its vital importance to the viability of this economy?
    The people who used to lend us money from overseas have withdrawn our credit card (line of credit) and we have to earn our way and still payback what we borrowed earlier.
    You don’t want us to go to the overseas loan sharks, do you now?

Unless those UWI graduates in whom hundreds of millions have been invested from primary to tertiary level of so-called free education start earning foreign money in much larger sums that same institution will eventually have to charge full cost recovery fees to students or close its doors.

You get the message or you still want to bury your head in the sand and remain on the hill without coming down to earth?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | February 12, 2013 at 10:49 PM |
    “He really thinks that Bajans are stupid.That is insulting the intelligence of every Bajan voter.”

It worked for David of “I will never Lie, Cheat or Steal” infamy in January 2008.
    Why can’t it work in 2013?
    You remember Grynner’s calypso with the punch line ‘No more tricks like ’76’. The more things change the more they remain the same.
    It can and will work because the money will come from the cuts that Chris the Stinking Liar has agreed with the IDB and by extension the IMF starting with the privatization of the Transport Board, NHC & SSA.

How about that “!” or would you say that Sinckliar never said so in Parliament like the King Liar of Pornville “when you find out who is the father of the children you support” malicious quip and public denial?

15. Peter Wickham seemed thrill yesterday that Arthur call the show in the silly season having not called it once in the last five years. How naïve is our #1 pollster?

16. I make the point that Arthur is insulting the intelligence of Bajans by promoting a number of giveaways and nothing about where the spending cuts will come from and millerthe BLPyardfowl says oh no big deal, it was done in 2008 so we can do it in 2013.
    We all know how deep and protracted the recession was, We are all aware of the fiscal deficit which the government is trying to systematically reduce.
    Against that background, the BLP is about catching votes and not serious proposals.
    The simple question all Barbadians need to know from Arthur is “Where will the money come from?”.
    His refusal to be specific should confirm that Arthur is trying to trick Bajans- plain and simple.I am not that stupid to believe him,are you?

17. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Is Peter Wickham a political prostitute?

18. @ millertheanunnaki
    The reason we are in this mess is because government institutions are badly managed,because of bad policy and decision making mainly due to corrupt or inept politicians, and in part the world economy. Not because of UWIs bills. so to dump UWI students and continue to run government the way it currently is you will not improve anything.

I am not burying my head in any sand I suggested government pay less to UWI but allow for a first degree to everyone.When I look at all of the overspend of this government UWI is not the first on my list to cut. For example, how much foreign exchange does CBC generate? so why should millions be pored into that institution at the expense of tertiary education?

You say there is no value in a UWI degree because it does not earn foreign exchange? What part of our education earns foreign exchange? does SJP, does BCC do our secondary schools? Should the government also stop pouring millions into those institutions too? How much value is a trained doctor or engineer or business graduate to barbados? They provide services to bajans but your logic is they don’t earn foreign exchange so there is no value in training them?

Whether we are in debt or not we are still going to need a skilled workforce to function. What you are suggesting will not destroy UWI, which you seem to have a hang up about, it will just gentrify it and limit social mobility and ultimately it wont resolve any debt problems anyway.

19. @!

It does not matter if you believe the BLP has a giveaway strategy, the DLP must counter with a strategy that resonates more.

20. imagine all the money wasted under the BLP if invested in the UWI.

21. @ David
    If you think that any actor in this political system cares about an interest, other than their own, you are yet to be surprised. Why would Wickham be any different, to say Arthur? They are both united in propping up a decadent system! People everywhere, en mass, are still living under a delusion that some politician somewhere will play god and save them when they have the power to save themselves from the politicians. This is no different in Barbados. Arthur knows this and although we have warned you that he is incapable of fixing any economy with his bag of tricks Bajans still want to think he has the answers. For it is Arthur who is largely responsible for the state of the economy. It is Arthur who was a devout neo-liberal. A neo-liberal who, without deviation, followed the dictac of western colonialists. The DLP government was similarly inclined. This reminds us of the fictitious christian ethic. Wickham wants to be seen as a political god, incapable of statistical error greater than 5% and as such is connected by the hip to the political masters on both side in ‘marriages’ of convenience. Without them Wickham has no professional viability. We call on all Bajans to boycott these corrupt elections. We invite all Bajans to vote with their feet and send a message to all political actors that they do not have our consent. They can no longer govern in our name. Not in our names, we say!

22. Re: a free UWI
    Some anedotal evidence:

On a few occasions, I have been to Cave Hill to meet with someone.
    The parking lot was filled to overflowing – cars were parked on sidewalks. Iended up having to park at the very top of the campus, near the restaurant.
    All of those cars could not have belonged to professors, nor visitors like myself. Many of them had to belong to students, or to their parents who are well enough off to either give their children a car or allow them access to one.

Bear with me: A few years back, when gasolene prices started to climb,
    the Nation newspaper did a “man in the street” interview to find out how Bajans were coping. On lady who was interviewed said that she had warned her daughter that she could no longer drive with the air-conditioning on because of the expense. She explained that the car was a BMW. However, she did acknowledge that there was a “plus” in the equation: her daughter was a student at UWI and the car was parked there most of the day.

One more: Even more recently, the Nation carried a story of a Trinidadian
    student at Cave hill who was havingtrouble completing his doctorate in economics because the professor was holding up the process. I can’t remember the exact details. What I do remember,however,l is that this student was very upset because it was affecting his time line of becoming a PPhd in Economics before the age of 40 so he could return home and make a “contribution” to his country. We needmore economists in the Caribbean like we need a dose of the clap. And who in God’s name is going to pay serious attention that waited until 40 to join the workforce.

A degree from Cave Hill is no longer something to value: it is a commodity now. You can spend four years there at taxpayers’ expense, studying sociology and enjoying the biggest “lime” on the island.
    The only way to restore value to a Cave Hill degree is to make it cost something; and there are plenty, PLENTY of parents in this country who can afford it.

23. @David
    “It does not matter if you believe the BLP has a giveaway strategy, the DLP must counter with a strategy that resonates more”
    I think that the DLP will offer on Friday sober(no pun intended against Arthur) realistic proposals that deal with further restructuring the Barbados economy in the areas of alternative energy,agriculture and food security,education, housing and tourism. The cultural industries bill has been approved by cabinet and is ready to be laid in Parliament.

Bajans must stop looking for a quick fix or some economic messiah that will magically drop tourists on our shores.
    You know, David, the BLP keeps telling people not to look back to Gems and Greenland and all their wastage but in every speech, they talk about the economy from 1994 – 2007. The period of 1995 – 2007 was a period of global economic boom with our trading partners and all the tourism dependent economies of the region registering growth. Look at the context under which the growth took place. There is or was never anything special about Owen Arthur. The BLP chief economic spokesman called Arthur “a catastrophic failure” as an economist saying that he wasted too many golden opportunities to restructure the Barbados economy. Those were Clyde Mascoll’s words not mine. Is Mascoll a liar? Please let the public know before he speaks again on the BLP platform.

24. jus mekkin sport Avatar

IMAGINE!!
    Its ONLY about imagination.
    You at the de pantomime and questioning how de fairy stay up in de sky ,MAN use yuh imagination,forget yuh can see de rope!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | February 13, 2013 at 6:28 AM |
    “I make the point that Arthur is insulting the intelligence of Bajans by promoting a number of giveaways and nothing about where the spending cuts will come from and millerthe BLPyardfowl says oh no big deal, it was done in 2008 so we can do it in 2013.”

Poor you, “!”, you don’t even realize when you are being laughed at. It’s called “taking the mickey”. Don’t you realize that you were being injected with some of your own lying serum?
    Any one on this blog who would agree with you that the miller believes in giveaways would need their head examined just as yours to suggest the miller believe in State ‘freeness’.
    Ask David who on this Blog is the biggest proponent of Privatization and outsourcing of some functions now performed by the State.
    You cannot promote a policy of Entrepreneurship, self-employment and a vibrant private sector (from which tax revenues are derived) within a social environment where you greatest capital is a so-called highly educated population up to tertiary level while at the same time talking about expanding government’s control and with the ‘cradle to grave’ nanny State mentality.

26. @Miller

We all know the popularity of the two political parties is massaged through patronage which explains a burgeoning undisciplined public service.

27. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

@ Miller

The DLP, with major help from OSA, have made the BLP owners of the privatization issue. They are trying to counter it by claiming Sinckler is the real proponent, that’s an example of how much damage the privatization issue is causing the BLP.

The electorate do not like this privatization issue one bit and its sinking the fortunes of the BLP and has killed OSA as a present or future leader of the BLP.

I waiting for Operation Bang on Friday night.

28. Nobody paying OSA and the BEES no mind for one the DLP never launced their election platform on PRIVATISATION. OSA owns the PRivatisation issue an issue which he himself touted as a way forward to fix the economy. now like a cahmelion he trying to change colors .FS was right in calling OSA a “political scamp” couldn’t have said it better myself.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ tired of this | February 13, 2013 at 6:34 AM |
    “For example, how much foreign exchange does CBC generate? so why should millions be pored into that institution at the expense of tertiary education?”

This is the point that is being made that tertiary education at the University level (note the emphasis on University) can only remain “free” to all if other tradeoffs in government expenditure are made. The country cannot continue to pay for University education for all and still maintain current expenditure allocations without becoming bankrupt (fall over the fiscal cliff).

You must therefore direct you timely advice to both political parties but more so to the DLP whose leader and current PM made it abundantly clear that there will be no changes in government policy or financial support for State owned and managed entities competing against tertiary education for dwindling scare financial resources.

“You say there is no value in a UWI degree because it does not earn foreign exchange?”

The miller never said such but you did. Possession of a UWI degree is not an automatic passport to a job or cannot in itself earn forex. Hard working people providing a service or making things people from overseas want to buy and pay for in foreign money is what is keeping this country afloat. Not pieces of paper adorning walls or ‘letters’ behind people’s names.

You should note the miller is firmly against free university education or training in the present times for lawyers, doctors and accountants who can recover their investment by charging fees to future customers/clients.
    Let them take out loans and repay when their start to earn income while in practice. Those who work in the public sector can be relieved of the repayment burden and the annual repayment of the loans converted to a grant as long as they remain in the public sector.

The miller in principle is not against “Free” tertiary education but only for those who cannot afford to pay. It would do you a world of good if you read the contribution made @ call a spade | February 13, 2013 at 8:02 AM |. All is being asked is that you leave the Campus and take a walk down “Free Hill” to a more realistic place of financial sanity and economic reality.

So to say the miller has hang-ups about UWI is most unfortunate and out-of-place. Next you would assume that the miller is envious of those holding a UWI degree. But he would not blow his own trumpet but leave you to figure that one out.
    He is only very concerned about the survival of the Cave Hill campus as an institution.

With the growing use of ICT to deliver the teaching and learning process and curriculum at the tertiary levels both regionally and internationally the UWI will be competing in a very competitive on line education market requiring a significant reduction in on-the-ground infrastructure and related fixed costs.

The regional tertiary education provider called the UWI has to make some drastic changes in the coming years with serious rationalization of the three Campuses on the cards. Don’t be surprised if one is trimmed to the bone.

30. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Stay tuned folks Operation Bang is about to be launched. At the DLP manifesto launch General Pitbull will knock out OSA, Dale Marshall and Gline Clarke.

31. @Hants

Mia Mottley was never the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, so how could she be reinstated to that position?

32. Operation Bang?

what happen to the note from OSA to FS about MIA? what happen to the hotel tapes? you people go on. pull the lion’s tail. i hope you all don’t cry foul.

33. @ David (not BU)

Position is the art of gunnery. The DLP is NOT going for a personal target, they are going with an intention to desimate the BLP, based on their record of corruption or perceived corruption. I remember someone on these very blogs last year telling all that Owen and BLP had to be very carefull with FS. This man FS is not playing by an accepted rules. The entire DLP team and machiney met at Almond Bay yesterday for 4 hours to pour the next phase of the campaign. I understand that starting on Friday they will commence dropping some MAJOR bombs.

34. But one thing fuh sure Mia sure does take a lot of sh…t from the men in the BLP . what that crzy guy lynch said is not surprising..Just another stab in MIA .how could a woman of such intelligence allowherself to be so publicly humiliated and remain faithful and comitted to those who does not have her best interest at heart.Amazing ! truly Amazing.

35. Onion rings…

What once seemed an obviously easy fix,
    Somehow turned into a maze.
    Headmaster versus teachers,
    Commissions to phase,
    Stupidity at its highest….
    Just another Dem spade

Somehow and knowingly everyday,
    Good hard earned tax payer’s money…
    Being wasted, away.
    While those sitting in command
    Staunch and doing nothing
    Enjoying hefty portions, on the fatted muttons.

36. Maddox i believe they will try to drop bombs. its the only play they have but its time to tell the people how to move the country forward. however, all i’m saying is if they want to go down that road, so be it but don’t think you have a lock on information.

from what i heard, the BLP could destroy the DLP with one document. like i said pull the lion’s tail but i hope you all don’t cry foul.

37. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

@ David (noT BU)

Hmmmm…………lets see now. The BLP was in office for near 15 years in times of plenty. The DLP was in office a mere 5 years and in difficult economic times. These are facts.

Who do you think did the real real stealing?

All of that notwithstanding, if both parties dig deep down in the gutters and drop their respective bombs, which party is likely to maybe kill a Minister and which is likely to kill a former Prime Minister?

Think carefully and the obvious will float into your head very very quickly. Friday is D-Day for Operation Bang and surely as the sun will rise that day,political careers will be over, before the sun sets that same evening.

38. Hey miller – talking of foreign exchange, did you know that hardly any of the thousands of t-shirts used by both parties in this campaign were made in Barbados? Nearly all imported. Same goes for the printing of posters, etc. Jobs No1? Huh! Buy local? Huh! Look after the importers? That’s more like it!

39. @ peltdownman

Terrible, they should be ashamed.

The BLP manifesto was printed without charge by a printer in Trinidad & Tobago. The DLP manifesto was printed at COT in Barbados.

40. @ Maddox
    One should ask why a printer in Trinidad would do that size of job free of charge.

41. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@ Onions
    Waxin Lyrical!!
    What yuh on man?Share it round.
    Love it!!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ peltdownman | February 13, 2013 at 2:20 PM |

By their fruits they shall be known!
    Neither party is committed to the revival of manufacturing in Bim; renewable energy or otherwise. Just a lot of hot air.
    One only has to see how this government is presiding over the destruction of the local dairy industry to make room for the importation of all dairy products made from Trinidad raised cows to be sold in Trinidadian owned supermarkets.

Now here was a grand opportunity to put more money in the local economy by having all the electioneering paraphernalia both designed and printed locally. But what have we gotten but the easy option to import.
    Maybe if the parties had enough time they would have both placed large orders with Chinese producers who have the sole contract to make souvenirs and Independence Celebration trinkets for Barbados.

43. Many of the DLP supporters on the blog are just liars.

Dale Marshall at his press conference yesterday, announced that the BLP manifesto and all printed election material were printed at Coles Printery and questioned why the DLP material was printed in the USA. He also said all the BLP tee-shirts were printed in Barbados as well.

George Pilgrim of the DLP was in trouble when asked the question by Barbados Today journalists. He said theirs was done through a Barbadian who used to live here. According to him, it is someone who used to breathe the Bardadian air.

Still does not stop the fact that the work was done overseas depriving Bajans businesses and workers and shipping foreign exchange overseas.

44. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

All BLP supporters should do the good and proper thing and stay home on Election Day. This will mean that Mia will be allowed to resume her rightful place as the Leader of the BLP whereat she could organize the party to hold government in 2018 with a united team.

45. Dale Marshall was right in one respect, as I understand that the BLP shirts were printed in Barbados – BUT the SHIRTS were imported. Compare the value of a screen print with a t-shirt. Compare the jobs involved.

46. @Peltdown

While it may or may not be true that BLP the tee shirts were imported, compare that to all the DLP election paraphenalia being manufactured and printed overseas.

They are the government, and chose to heavily support overseas rather than local business.

If you are going to be fair than you have to assess all the evidence.

47. DavidB, I’m not taking sides. Just the facts, man, just the facts.

48. Also consider the value-added for a branded tee shirt versus a plain tee shirt. I am sure the screen printers (in Barbados) walked away with a lot of money.

49. And the facts, without taking sides, are still that while both sides may have spent money overseas, one side went out of its way to sideline local businesses while the other side did a good part of its business with local manufacturers.

Being fair means recognizing all the facts.

50. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

DavidB

How many ‘cakes’ did the BLP sell in Trinidad?

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply