Austin
Austin

The DLP would like Bajans to believe that “the global recession” is the blame for all our challenges, but this is simply NOT the case, and a attempt to mislead Bajans.  The DLP cannot blame the global recession for the “RECESSION OF IDEAS, VISION, and LEADERSHIP” that has plugged the current DLP government and PM from day one.

In soccer when you keep passing the ball to a striker who keeps missing the goal, you don’t keep passing him the ball; it’s time to pass the ball of government leadership back to the BLP who can get Barbados back on track.

Below is the DLP report card on DLP manifesto promises which have mostly become all DLP failures:

1.      Lower the cost of living – “F”
2.      Improve access to property ownership – “F”
3.      Health care for all – “D”
4.      Education for the 21st century – “F”
5.      Family First – “F”
6.      Empowering our young people – “F”
7.      Enhancing the role of Women – “D”
8.      Treasuring our Elders – “F”
9.      Sports for All – “F”
10.    Social Security Improvements – “F”
11.     Making our culture work for us – “F”
12.     Hassle Free Service – “F”

Another key failure of the DLP as recently admitted by the PM himself has been their inability to have any positive impact on lowering unemployment in Barbados instead it has risen and is still rising.
If you think you pockets are empty now under the current DLP government, with 5 more years forget the “POCKETS” they coming for your “PANT”.

1. I cannot believe that such an important meeting like this is not being streamed. Come on BLP do better than that.

2. @can’t wait

The Haggatt Hall meeting was advertised to be streamed, one must presume that they have encountered difficulty.

What is disappointing is that their PR company has not seen the need to put out a notice/explanation to those who had expectations of viewing online.

3. Thanks BU for at least trying to keeping the readers informed. BLP Public Relations manager/strategist you have not scored on this one at all.

4. Oh well I’ll just listen to the heroes square comments.

5. @BU

I felt compelled to repeat this again as the wrong decision made by the bajan electorate in 2008 could be compounded in just a few weeks in 2013.

From 2008 to 2013 the DLP has:
    – sold shares in BL&P to Amera of Canada
    – sold shares in BS&T to Neal & Massy
    – sold shares in BNB to Republic Bank
    – increased our national debt from “$5 Billion” in 2007 to “$8.1 Billion” in 2012, an increase of $3.1 billion in 4 short years
    – has taken our foreign reserves from US$2.8 Billion in 2007 to US$1.2 Billion in 2012, a decline of US$1.6 Billion in 4 yrs
    – has taken our unemployment from 6.7% in 2007 to 14% in 2012
    – has reduced the size of our economy by $500 Million in 4 years

All can be FACT CHECKED … Do these numbers matter ???? Of course they do.

The BLP has the talent and performance history to do more then just “one” thing at a time. We must GROW the economy as a priority which initiating fiscally sustainable society building programs after a top down review of all government expenditures, generally speaking.

The DLP building a society slogan is PURE nonsense … sounds good … but totally silly in the recession they love to talk about (interesting). It ONLY make sense if they are BUILDNG A SOCIETY OF POOR PEOPLE which “is” the reality this morning for many in Barbados (pockets tight if not empty) …

“reality cannot be denied”

VOTE BLP

6. Austin are you an entrepreneur and is it your intention to set up a business in Barbados if the BLP wins the next election?

You don’t have to answer that. you already did.

7. AUSTIN WROTE
    ” I felt compelled to repeat this again as the wrong decision made by the bajan electorate in 2008 ”

AUSTIN WROTE “wrong decision made by the bajan electorate in 2008”

The electorate should really listen to BLP AUSTIN. I mean really listen.We overseas Bajans knows best.

8. Why are DLP posters not up?

It is due to the fact that they:
    ignored the” buy local ” slogan and source them abroad!
    ignoring the fact that it will put money in bajans pockets!
    ignoring the saving of the much needed foreign nexchange!
    ignoring the problems of port and shipments from abroad!
    ignoring time lines and called “an un planned election date!
    now they are left waiting to for them to reach Barbados shores
    hope they reach here before voting day!

ps. should i say they also ignored me and you! perhaps Dennis kelman can put a spin to this as always .

9. The BLP website is reporting that the Police is reporting the size of the crowd at Haggatt Hall at 15,000.

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/blp15000.png

10. Brutus:
    There is a tide in the affairs of men.
    Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
    Omitted, all the voyage of their life
    Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
    On such a full sea are we now afloat,
    And we must take the current when it serves,
    Or lose our ventures.

Bajans…. now is the time to rid of freundel and the DLP!!!!!
    thank God!- that the bell has been rung..vote BLP!!!!!!

11. @David
    That is only on that side, you should have seen the ones over by Sky Mall (Julie N) people where at ever vantage point. That’s around 9 or so.

If I knew it was not being streamed I would have stayed but I try to avoid crouds over 12,000 where possible.

12. As far back as 1996, I personally asked the then AG David Simmonds for breath analysers to assist the police when they intercepted persons driving under the influence.

How could Jerome be complaining in Heroes Square recently that Donville has been making a fuss about them. If the BLP had provided them 17 years ago Donville could not complain now.

What used to happen [and probably still happens] is that folk who are regular drinkers when intercepted by the RBPF for DIU might definitely be drunk. However, by the time they are brought to the Police Medical officer, they have often metabolised the alcohol in their blood, and no longer have high blood alcohol; levels.

13. I have read all the comments and would like to make this contribution. Tonight, I attended the meeting held by BLP in Haggatt Hall. Up to after 9 when I left, there weren’t a very large crowd but there were cars backed up on the highway, so maybe there was more people to come. I was sitting with a group of my friends,listening to the contributions by all candidates,when my friend was accosted by a gentleman (being very generous here) at the meeting because she wasn’t wearing a red shirt. My friend that she didn’t get a free shirt so she wore what she had. The gentleman then started to tell her that she came to spy on the meeting. One of my other friends then jokingly told the man that she works for govt so she can’t get involved in his political conversation, the man then started to get on worst and proceeded to tell her that he will make sure that when his govt get in that she loses her job. This of course we knew is foolishness, but to see the level of maturity of this man……so the right of association is only for a few. When I spoke to my father about the situation after we left, cause this man wouldn’t stop harassing and cursing my friends, he told me that this was the type of politics to expect from the BLP and their leader. My friend was in tears when she left because she didn’t ask for what happened to her and I was so upset. Never before had I ever experienced such in my life. It is true that I am young person (26) but that didn’t give this man the right to do what he did. Tomorrow, we will be going to Rices and we will wait to see if we are treated similarly by supporters of the DLP for not wearing yellow shirts.

14. @Leanne | February 2, 2013 at 11:15 PM

That sounds like a drunken ass, someone begging for attention. People like those you should not judge others by. Always remember “empty vessels make most noise”

15. @Undertaker, that may be true but it only takes one incident to cause a person to turn away from you forever….I can’t speak to whether he was drunk but he was definitely an ASS!

16. @Leanne | February 2, 2013 at 11:51 PM

That’s true, I honestly can’t argue with that. Only one bad apple to spoil the bunch. I am sorry you had that bad experience though. I usually go to meeting of both parties and I mostly wear neutral colours. Sometimes I do the BLP in a red shirt. Do continue to give both parties a listen and judge for yourself on content, and not on stupid persons like those.

Until…..

17. If supporters of either of the political parties start to harass people for not wearing one or the other colour at political meetings then we have started on a slippery slope.

18. @Hants

Hope you are not implying that Austin is singing for some supper.

19. I attended the BLP meeting and came home after Owen’s speech. I must say that thousands attended and heard a cadre of speakers who dealt with issues regarding individual constituencies minus the homosexual explicit. People remained in place until Owen finished speaking which confirmed that people didn’t attended to hear entertainers ONLY. Responses were heard from as far as the area by Trimart car park where thousands in sea of red listened attentively to the various candidates being presented on stage.
    As soon as Owen finished speaking, the majority of the audience headed for home. That behaviour showed that Barbadians when primarily to hear the future and not the past.

Ah sleepy and I must be up to help wifey in HER kitchen. Ah gone!

20. To Leanne:
    I read your submission and I find it amusing, as a matter of fact thousands went in neutral colours and I bet you not one was accosted. Reading your story, you can see this is a well orchestrated play to create empathy and make it look as if an individual out of the blue can make someone loose employment in Government. Your closing language shows that you have a political motive. Wonder what people will do for poliltrics. BTW. you said around 9 p.m the crowd was not large. This is around the same time that police confirmed the crowd around 15,000.

21. – has taken our foreign reserves from US$2.8 Billion in 2007 to US$1.2 Billion in 2012, a decline of US$1.6 Billion in 4 yrs
    ———————————
    Windbag Austin,

If your claim above is true. Then Mia Mottley’s promise to spend some of the forex in a recesssionary period is BLP folly ……as usual .

22. Why do you politicos nitpick so?

23. @David

I can answer that for “Fractured BLP” … because the DLP cant fight there record of the last 5 years … nitpicking it all that’s left.

24. Austim you sound like a stuck record. the DLP has an outstanding record .THe government found a country in high debt withlimited finacial resources to pay off the debty and to compund the problem the main source of income came to a standstill with the govt having to swim against the tide .With the economic golbal downturn the DLP was still able to sustain the county economically and socially without having to sell off our country assests as suggested by OSA to the highest bidder

25. @Tell me Why

My responses are below:
    ……………………………………………………………………….
    I read your submission and I find it amusing, as a matter of fact thousands went in neutral colours and I bet you not one was accosted.

I never said that my friend was the only one wearing neutral colours and i can not speak to anyone else that might have had a problem.
    ………………………………………………………………………
    Reading your story, you can see this is a well orchestrated play to create empathy and make it look as if an individual out of the blue can make someone loose employment in Government.

Also, sharing what happened was an attempt to create empathy, it was me being frustrated about the events of the night. If you read my submision in its totality, you would have seen where i concur that the man’s threat was stupid, however, did that stop my friend from being hurt…NO!
    ………………………………………………………………….
    Your closing language shows that you have a political motive. Wonder what people will do for poliltrics.

My closing statement was in relation to a discussion that I had with some members of the VOB chat and they urged that I should attend the two meetings first hand so that a decision can be made about which party will be dealing with the issues. I did that last night and the result was less than favourable, as I don’t hold the future, I can’t predict how that one tonight will end……But I will tell you this @Tell Me Why…@Undertaker was right….Empty vessels do make most noise and you have proven that point.
    ……………………………………………………………..
    BTW. you said around 9 p.m the crowd was not large. This is around the same time that police confirmed the crowd around 15,000.

I spoke in relation to where I was sitting since there were about 6 white tents in front of me that we practically empty and available parking behind them. we had no difficulty leaving the area and we crossed the highway to get back to our vehicle. The highway did have a lot of vehicles which I said previously and that was after 9 but that long line didn’t spill onto Norman Niles Roundabout because we were able to access that Roundabout freely to take home our friends. I am not debating whether or not the crowd was large since the reason that I attended the event was not achieved: that was to hear the issues discussed….

The incident was unfortunate and for you to play it down to level that you did, really speaks to your maturity…….

26. Frugabe is questioning the funding behind the BLP’s political campaign. He said that the expensive bus they took to go and register, the big ads, and the expensive posters that the people funding them will have to be paid back when they get back in office the next 10- 14 years. RFLMAO he has forgotten how his party’s 2008 campaign was paid for. Poor thing he sounded so bewildered when he spoke about it. Well Frugabe STOP LOOKING OVER THE FENCE AND MYOB!

27. Isn’t is bizarre how certain people have suddenly surfaced in here to throw in spokes in the BLP wheels?

28. correction attempt to throw spokes in the BLP’s wheels. AC stop sending yuh friends to do your dirty work!

29. wait island gal. you know my friends! anywho still waiting to hear from the BLP an alternative plan. last night nuff fete But no SOlutions. 14thousand showed up again empty handed, What a Pity! BTW the country still standing not fall off the fiscal cliff. Proof last night that in Barbados that there are people with plenty money and deep pockets to sponsor a BLP FETE ., Still waiting for Solutions>

30. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

31. Now why would someone steal the seismic data??? that if proven to actually be true would afford Barbados’ wealth and ability to pay it deeps and allow it’s citizens to live comfortably, if the proceeds are not stolen, for many generations to come. Are these petty thieves just simply retarded?? How does it look that it seems that the government agencies are just filled with self-serving employees who when they hear a million dollars would sell their mothers, wives, daughters, sons, grands. This is a disgrace that just seems to be getting worse.

32. The Leanne piece is pure jokes!!!!!!!! #justsayin

33. Interesting to listen to Charlie Skeete who is quoted in today’s press all the way from Washington. In summary: if we continue to have flat or negative GDP growth and corresponding growth in government debt, the dog dead.

Some of the BU family have expressed similar concern. It is NOT enough to say the government has maintain stability if the underbelly of the economy continues to tank. The bigger concern is the fact that the BLP is promising solutions which will not address debt reduction and possibly compromise forex reserves.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | February 3, 2013 at 10:32 AM |
    “if we continue to have flat or negative GDP growth and corresponding growth in government debt, the dog dead.”

Not at all! The dog is still barking while lying. It’s the lion that is dead.
    The question is when will the voodoo economics of musical chairs charade practised by both parties come to its end.
    The dog has at most 6 months to keep barking at the approaching bailiffs. Kicking the can down the street will not turn them back.
    Tourism out of our main source market is under severe threat and possible collapse with the ‘schedule’ airlines cutting back flights to possibly two or even one a week if traffic does not look up after the winter cruise season is over.

Canada is about to administer a serious dose of morphine to that cancerous tax evasion scheme called international business in Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean.

35. ! on February 2, 2013 at 9:38 AM
    Hi BU fans,

I was presently surprised to find that Barbados is the home to GRIZZLY BEARS.

Please go to page 6 of the Barbados Advocate for the 1st February, 2013.

You will see a BIG FACE one……actually talking to human beings !

Truly amazing !!!

——————–
    Hi David ,

I saw that post above by a fellow blogger. And was quite surprised about the growth of the animal species type in Barbados.

However, today lo and behold I look at page 37 A of the Sunday Sun and see the same damn animal threatening to harm our PM of Barbados.

Please call the RSPCA and sedate that animal !

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Nothing can be fixed by telling lies , lies lies
    plenty of long talk and long talking with more and more lies ,
    ASK THE MINISTERS IF WHAT WE SAY IS TRUTH OR LIES AND IF THEY EVEN KNOW ANY THING OR HEAR ANY THING.
    The fact that they will not speak proves most
    This is at the ROOT CLEAR TITLE OF BARBADOS..
    You can not put out a fire by aiming the hose at the smoke

VOTE TRUTH NOT PARTY

37. Hurt by Comments Avatar

It is unfortunate that my friend used this forum to express what happened to me since it wasn’t her story to tell. Your comments to her post is a testimony to that. I have asked her not to respond to anything else. Today is a new day!

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

We are now hearing from the transmogrified boisterous Freundel how he is most upset at the amount of money being thrown from corporate boardrooms behind the BLP campaign and advertising.
    Aren’t we all?
    He claims that what is being spent now will become a future debt that must be repaid to the business community behind the BLP campaign of largesse and splurge. Well, of course, he does not include jada or preconco in that business community. These are the only two businesses that made real money in the last 4 years so much so that even Michael Lashley and Chris Sinckliar could walk away with millions of dollars in bonuses and CLICO like gratuities.

Shouldn’t we “punish with laughter” such blatant volt-faced mutterings? Who bankroll the 2008 DLP campaign? Mother Theresa and Saint Lazarus?
    Of course he knows about repaying debts. Just look and he how he has to protect Leroy Parris and keep him close to the bosom right inside the sanctum sanctorum of the DLP where David T reigns supreme as the grand master still in charge of the Families First Account.

Listen, Fumble Dickhead, when you stop protecting Leroy Parris (and get Terrence Thornhill fired from CLICO) we will listen to your sanctimonious ramblings about corporate financing of party electoral campaigns.
    Where is the money coming from to pay for the full-page ads in the Nation newspaper and VOB if not from kind caring corporate donors with clear expectations of the gravy train of awarding contracts to keep moving in their direction? Ask Dennis the Low(e)down 5 & 10 commission agent!

39. @Leanne
    Can’t you find something more intelligent to write about?If that was sent to the Nation or Advocate ‘Our Readers Say’it would be thrown in the waste paper basket.This blog is known to have some serious thinkers and who will call you out if you write nonsensical, kindergarten stories.For a start join the BLP League of Women to improve your writing skills,even fiction.

40. Here is a question for the political aficionados on BU. Are we happy with what we have heard from the two mass political meetings (Bay Street/Haggatt Hall) so far?

41. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Certainly from a tourism perspective, absolutely NOT.

42. @Adrian

Maybe some of us will have to wait for the manifestos. Let us hope they are releases before 20 Feb 2013.

43. @ David
    Wait on the manifesto for what!?
    …you mean wunna will actually put store in what the political parties write in their manuals of fantasy and bullshit…?
    …..after seeing over and over that there is no serious commitment to keeping those promises?

Oh Wait!!! This is Barbados nuh!!?
    ..promises are comforting to most of wunna – aren’t they? 🙂

Here is a précis of the manifestos of BOTH parties….
    – Bajans will be able to continue to buy brand name SUVs and accumulate savings to $ 2 billion by 2014 (while Trinis invest in wunna businesses)

– Everyone will be given a job that allows them a decent living, even if they do not drive a stroke of work

– more money will be spent on education because it sounds good. never mind we seem unable to get any graduates who are able to manage local businesses.

– Just vote for this party and sit back while we make your life glow with goodies….

…..idiots!

44. @ Bush Tea | February 3, 2013 at 6:33 PM |

Excellent post.

45. Oh gosh too much aloes on the blog.

46. @Leann,
    “so the right of association is only for a few. When I spoke to my father about the situation after we left, cause this man wouldn’t stop harassing and cursing my friends, he told me that this was the type of politics to expect from the BLP and their leader. My friend was in tears when she left because she didn’t ask for what happened to her and I was so upset. Never before had I ever experienced such in my life. It is true that I am young person (26) but that didn’t give this man the right to do what he did. Tomorrow, we will be going to Rices and we will wait to see if we are treated similarly by supporters of the DLP for not wearing yellow shirts”………..

I will not doubt what you say as I was not there. Let me tell you what I experienced. Standing next to my group were two ladies dressed in black and were grumbling about whatever the speakers were saying and the MC’s. Every time the entertainers or the DJ’s say chant BLP, they were shouting DLP. We ignored them as I well know that that is how fights break out. Whether they wanted to pick a fight we would not know. Now why would two Dems go right in the thick of a BLP meeting and shouting DLP? We ignored them and they left around 12 as they seem to be enjoying the music.

So if your friend was accosted by a man at the BLP meeting, this certainly is not to be encouraged. I even saw one the fiercest DLP supporters a man named Rawle at the meeting, someone who knew called him out but it was a friendly greeting.

So dont paint all the BLP with the same brush!

47. Just past 8 O’ clock @ Rices in St. Philip.

The crowd is 6000 and building. Amazingly the meeting is running and the crowd is growing without any input from the entertainment / music fraternity.

48. @ac,
    “you sound like a stuck record. the DLP has an outstanding record .THe government found a country in high debt withlimited finacial resources to pay off the debty and to compund the problem the main source of income came to a standstill with the govt having to swim against the tide .With the economic golbal downturn the DLP was still able to sustain the county economically and socially without having to sell off our country assests as suggested by OSA to the highest bidder”…………………………..

ac,
    Did I not tell you that a liar has to have a good memory?

How can you say in one breath that the DLP did an outstanding job and in the next say that the BLP left the country in deep depth?

Commonsense would tell the most foolish person that if you are heavily in debt, you cannot borrow nor can you spend what you dont have. So where the money came from for the DLP to spend like drunken sailors on shore leave? You CANNOT have it both ways, ac.

Let me educate you. The DLP came in found a treasury well plenished and spent crazily, impose the most taxes on Barbadians, cripple the economy, borrowed heavily externally as well as from the NIS, they even sold the shares from BNB and BL&P to support the spending habit they had, and this is why we are a nation with a credit rating status of junk! Go figure!

49. @David
    To be sure any such ideas can only come from The BEES since if the DEMS knew how they would have done the obvious and that would be to increase forex earnings by the three ways we know how and to arrest the expanding debt of the country.The Manifesto and at least live TV debates might be our only method of eliciting the parties’ intentions.Political meetings in our country continue to be mistaken for theatre and the place to display body language of aggression and sow the seeds of distrust,certainly among the loyal camp followers,the unsuspecting , the unprepared and the politically uneducated or ignorant if you wish.

50. @islandgal246 | February 3, 2013 at 8:53 AM |

Frugabe is questioning the funding behind the BLP’s political campaign. He said that the expensive bus they took to go and register, the big ads, and the expensive posters that the people funding them will have to be paid back when they get back in office the next 10- 14 years. RFLMAO he has forgotten how his party’s 2008 campaign was paid for. Poor thing he sounded so bewildered when he spoke about it. Well Frugabe STOP LOOKING OVER THE FENCE AND MYOB!……………………………………..

I heard the fool and I had to say give him a chance because you know he and Thompson were no pals in 2008 as Thompson never forgave him for the 17 point indictment he wrote when the two of them were vying for the Presidency of the DLP. And we know DT was vindictive!.

Sinkliar, one of the GANG of 11 told the NATION in the Big interview that one of the reasons why they were plotting against Freundel is they could not talk to him or that he does not talk to them, hence the letter, to get a meeting with Freundel to talk about campaign financing because for the election of 2008, the DLP had already secured funding two years prior.

Freundel was not really in the know after DT took over. So he play he dont know that by 2006, DT had 34 million dollars of CLICO policyholders monies in FAMILIES FIRST account to blow. And blow it, they did, they even used some to go to Miami and shop for clothes to wear in their new found positions.

Have you not wondered why they are still protecting Leroy Parris and saying he is my friend, he is not a leper! The Dems are priceless, they are the dirtiest of liars. This campaign is going to get very dirty judging from Freundel’s daily rantings, the speeches last Wednesday night and the yardfowls on BU!

Leave a Reply to RoverpCancel reply