Submitted by Wolsley Grannum , Atlanta  GA
Stuart and Arthur, political leaders of the DLP and BLP

In 1992 independent Presidential candidate Ross Perot dropped out of the presidential race, citing dirty tricks and scare tactics by the Republican Party, as the reason for his decision. Twenty years later, the Republican Party continues to practice dirty tricks and scare tactics on the American People. The just concluded Presidential elections here in America clearly showed up the Republicans for who they truly are. This once great party of Abraham Lincoln has lost its way.  This Republican Party did everything in its power to defeat President Barrak Obama. From voter suppression to smear campaigns, personal attacks, media manipulation and negative campaigning, all supported by billionaires who had one agenda. That agenda was to defeat the President. In spite of all they did Barrak Obama won re-election with 52% of the vote.

In Barbados the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has come to the end of its first term in office and general elections have been called for February 21, 2013. Weeks ago in anticipation of the pending announcement, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) like the Republican Party had already resorted to dirty tricks and scare tactics to defeat the DLP. This once great party of Grantley Adams has lost its way. It has been taken over by right- wing conservatives who will lie, cheat, manipulate the media through negative campaign advertising, and through bogus manoeuvrings (like boycotting parliament) intended to scare Barbadians into voting for them.

Boycotting of parliament was a ploy intended to force the Prime Minister into calling the elections, so that they the opposition will have something to talk about during the election campaign. Prime Minister Stuart is no fool . He is a brilliant lawyer, an educator, a serious and honest politician and a great orator who makes it clear that he will not be side tracked or thrown off course by the political machinations and political chicanery of the BLP. He must and will remain focus to the task of making Barbados a better place for all its citizens. The DLP does not have to resort to dirty tricks and scare tactics to win the election. Its record over the last five years will be enough to convince the people of Barbados to give them a second term. The BLP like the Republicans will try to make this election a referendum on the economy, and they will fail.

The American economy which is the biggest in the world is going through some serious challenges. Unemployment is up by 8%.  The prospects of a full economic recovery will not be realized  until  the year 2020 according to the experts. Things in America are rough for everyone. I have some friends living here in Georgia who tells me every day that they plan to go back to Barbados, because things In Barbados are better that in America. Some of them have been unemployed for more than two years. Unemployment benefits have dried up for them. They have no health insurance for their families, and some are on welfare and food stamps.   One of them in particular has his bags packed  to return to Barbados but he is waiting for the outcome of the elections. He assures me that if the DLP is returned to power he will make the move. If the BLP wins he will stay in America and ride out the economic storm. Can you imagine that in the wealthiest nation on the face of the earth there are persons with Masters Degrees working as cashiers at store all across the USA? How many Bajans in Barbados with masters’ degrees working as cashiers or flipping burgers at Burger King or Cheffette?

I hope that Barbadians like the Americans will understand that politics is not only about the economy alone, but it is also about being a part of a society that cares about their welfare. That is why the Americans rejected Mitt Romney and the Republican Party. The DLP has demonstrated over the last five years that it is a party that cares about people. It has passed some of the most progressive social legislation in Barbados since the 1960s when it was in power. In spite of the downturn in the global economy, there has not been any major dislocation in the society. No retrenchment of worker in the civil service, no massive layoffs in the private sector, the hospital is not closed, Houses are being built, Roads are being repaired, the polyclinics are open daily, the schools are open and Barbados is still functioning at full throttle.

The people of Barbados cannot return to the failed policies of the BLP. The policies that got Barbados in this mess in the first place. During the years of plenty they wasted the taxpayer’s money on riotous living. As the date of election draws closer and closer the BLP will continue to resort to trick and scare tactics to win the election. I call on all the foot soldiers of the DLP to do what myself and others in the Democratic Party here in Georgia did to reelect President Obama. We knocked on doors for him, put up posters for him, worked in the polling stations and proclaimed the message of the Democratic Party here in America. You the supporters of the DLP must do the same. Your mission is to make sure that the DLP is returned to power on February 21, 2013. “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning”. Boycotting parliament was trick no.1which did not work. Don’t be fooled there are many more tricks still left in the BLP’s bag.  Beware!

286 responses to “Say NO to the Return of the Barbados Labour Party”

1. Thanks, David.

2. only 48 hours gone and I’m sick already.

3. Last night on CBC news, I saw the DLP war room with the general secretary, a fired senator and another man. In this room were a number of laptops and I wonder if this is where all of this filth is coming from.

4. Observing(…) on January 31, 2013 at 6:12 PM
    only 48 hours gone and I’m sick already.
    ———————————–
    I am not surprised that you have begun to feel the effects of “morning sickness”

You were one of BU top exponents on the Jeff Broomes and the AX issue ….now that Jeff Broomes have reported to work….you have become PREGNANT with folly !

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ G-Gurlz | January 31, 2013 at 4:36 PM |
    ” de two o wunna coming across like persons riddled with envy an jealousy.”

Skipper or Mistress, the miller is a retired old man soon ready to return to the oven in the Sky. What envy what? Of Hal? Don’t make me laugh! That dry-up man of a god horse or insect stick?
    I am out of that jealousy game. But the feet of this Morality high horse must be broken to knock the hypocrite off his pedestal. And that is my only mission to slay the hypocritical beast of Ephesus who is owned, controlled and ridden by the local money god called Leroy Greenverbs Sam Pookie Parris.

Comprenez

6. We were told by the Minister of Labour that unemployment is 10.8 percent, yet, the PM stated at the Chamber of Commerce that it is 11.7 percent. Which is right figure?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 31, 2013 at 6:18 PM |
    “you have become PREGNANT with folly !”

Nice one Fractured! Now tell us who is the Daddy? You or “!”?

We are hearing that a scan is revealing a spitting image of a double headed fool of a Clone with the DNA of a Fractured Blasted Lying Pimp (BLP).

Can you confirm the baby fool’s paternity?

8. Oh! boy what a difference a day makes in politics.!BEES getting sick! maybe sick of OSA. the allegations the PM levelled against OSA would even make a dog stomach sick.

9. Fiddler on Roof Avatar

The DLP have no organistuon whatsoever. Preparation trumps just about everything else and I have sneaky feeling.

This DLP campaign is designed for two outcomes

1. Make the DLP lose and make FS responsible

2. Make CS look good and thereby becoming Leader of the Oppostion

10. So far when one listens to the political narrative and try to align it to the challenges which confront us there is a vacuum.

A people will get the government it deserves.

11. @Fractured
    If the Rt Hon Owen Seymour Arthur BA(Hons) MA.was so stupid as to make even a joke let alone write some DLP operative such a script as described then he should be ashamed.Then again,David Thompson invited one and all to Queen’s Park in 1994 to release a document and pact the then leader of the opposition Owen Arthur had made with the IMF.Guess what !!It was the 1987 election promise all over again when the said David Thompson went all about St John talking about a Development Plan he had for St John.Well he dead and gone and neither a St John Development Plan nor an IMF pact has ever see the light of day in Buhbaydus.The DLP is a party of brazen liars and dotish blind followers who believe the likes of Pornville Inniss who has been challenged by David of the BU to deny his leading role in a company peddling certain merchandise that the average bajan would not associate with Errol Barrow’s legacy.The DLP can’t have pins with the BLP and its powerhouse of
    proven, talented, political administrators of good repute.

12. David wrote …….”there is a vacuum.”

Bajan political mass meetings are comedy shows.

13. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i am hoping to see the following not gain seats:
    owen arthur
    donville inniss (especially)
    george payne
    dale marshall
    noel lynch
    jerome walcott
    michael lashley
    george hutson
    anthony wood

patricia inniss has already lost her seat, it’s a pity she’s running against Mia. the DLP probably has no use for her.

14. Agreed Hants. The meeting last night was mostly comedy.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 31, 2013 at 6:55 PM |

One is getting the clear impression the DLP intend to fight this general election (G E) on attacking personalities rather than debating challenging issues.
    From the DLP meeting on Wednesday evening the ad hominem strategy seems to be indicative of the modus operandi to be employed in this G E campaign.
    These threats of persecution and prosecution of the BLP leadership and candidates seem to be the easy fare for this most unsophisticated DLP administration.
    Will we be seeing from the next meeting a focus on serious issues going forward instead of the ‘who is a woman’ that tells ugly Freundel the truth or grassing on OSA for trying to sell MIA like some piece of political property?

We really want to hear about the oft promised Four Seasons Restart, Pickering Housing Development scheduled to start since 2010, Merricks, Foul Bay and a number of other projects in the promised pipeline.
    Can we hear from the DLP about how the country with its international junk bond borrowing status can access overseas finance to build a new hospital, a WTE plant, a sugar cane industry plant, additional cruise line terminal and the buy out of ABV for the workers while still owing hundreds of millions all over the place and still have to pay annually for the Prison that will eventually cost us $750 million.

Time to get rid of this shameful mickey mouse administration before it’s too late for this once proud Bubaydus!

16. @Baf

Do you mean Sparman and Harris?

17. @Miller

Then the BLP should lead the way. You were off to a rocky start with Barney in Heroes Square.

18. @ David
    I have refrained from posting any comments for that same reason. You would think the likes of Fractured and his cohorts would talk about his party’s accomplishments and plans but instead it is this constant focus on Owen-Mia relations and down right nastiness about others. It is all wrong to speak ill of the dead but okay to assassinate the character of the living.

19. the BLP should be pointing the same accusations of non-debate to their leader who has avoided debate on issues by staying out of parliament. The meeting allowed MPS to showcase their stewardship to the public it was not all about MIA and OSA as the BEES would want others to believe. However showcasing the hypocrisy of Both MIA and OSA was important as it gave the public a view of the true test of their character which they can decided for themselves and there is nothing funny about that. A leader must have be of good character some one which others can emulate and be proud of.

20. The best party will win.

21. Wunna hear from Barney yet the PM announce to the world last night Barney is a miserable woman. Did he/she deny it? Lord come for your world the jokes about Barney killing me with laugh.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 31, 2013 at 8:02 PM |

A muzzle and a diaper have been put on Barney since his loose deadly lips with girlie wide-open ‘pooch’ emissions in Heroes’ Square and his unfrocking by the Fumbling womanizer called Saint Jerome the patron saint to ugly ‘wo-men’ including those found “trans-vesting” on Pinfold and Crumpton Streets at all odd dark hours of the night.

23. @fractured
    You seem to have broken your understanding and logic. 6weeks in a cast should help

Your thermostat is malfunctioning. Too much cold can freeze the brain

@miller
    I too am looking for platform issues to take center stage

@david
    They have a chance on saturday to be mature in their contributions.

If wednesday was an opening salvo, it was laced with the wrong mix. The back and forth invective, insults and innuendo are exactly the reason the electorate is sick. Even the PM joined in. This election will not be won in the “old” way. Whoever the victor is will need to rally a divided, polarised and politically ynauseated country. If the !’S, ac”s and fractured’s can’t see past that then good for them.

@fractured (again…)
    By the way, if you’re going to try and use my stance on an issue against me (Broomes and AX) at least get it, the facts and/or the context right. Preferably all three..

Your “pregnant with folly” metaphor didn’t even make it past the first trimester and was eventually shown to be a terrible misdiagnosis of stomach cramps and a missed menstrual cycle brought on by an electoral hormonal imbalance. It happens in some extreme cases and characters every 5 years. Do accept my sympathies though.

Just observing

24. IF……we as a people talk about corruption and Integrity legislation and is serious about it having become a reality as part of our po,litical system .then WE must take the first step and make it clear to our politicians or those seeking public office that as potential leaders and representative their character would be scrutnized as our right before giving them our vote of confidence .

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Wanted | January 31, 2013 at 8:49 PM |
    “Wunna hear from Barney yet the PM announce to the world last night Barney is a miserable woman. Did he/she deny it? Lord come for your world the jokes about Barney killing me with laugh.”

When two old “queens” are hiding in the same closet one must eventually ‘out’ the other with the younger hiding queer being kicked to the kerb for the whole of Bay St. to hear in order to shift focus away from the reigning older queen.
    Cammie the King Maker would be proud of his student he initiated in the rear guard art of cloistered brotherly love as opposed to any hidden sexual misogyny and openly known misogamy.

So continue to laugh at the queers of the Bay Land. The Morally Righteous Hal G might just be able to tell you who is the most Wanted Queen of them all: From Greenverbs La Reine, to Queen Muscle Mary to the ugly duckling Fumble Dickhead.

26. Gabriel Tackle on January 31, 2013 at 7:12 PM
    @Fractured
    If the Rt Hon Owen Seymour Arthur BA(Hons) MA.was so stupid as to make even a joke let alone write some DLP operative such a script as described then he should be ashamed.
    —————————————
    Hi Tackle

Reading the above, I was saying the same thing like you…..but when I remember the last time Owen Arthur was accused of a cheque deposit on the floor of the House in 2006….he disappeared from the House for a while.

It was not until 10 January 2008 in Haggatt Hall….that me and you along with thousands of Barbadians realised why the hell this Owen Arthur with BA (Hons) and MA run from the HOUSE ………on the blasted screen was his damn signature on a $ 750,000.00 cheque – residing in his personal bank account….but really belonging to the BLP party bank account.

Somehow in 2013……you and I got this damn feeling again….that Owen Arthur dodging something again !

He stayed away from the House too long again this time…..who are these “young people” among the BEES MPs that Owen claim he allowing to “grow” , while he lime at the bar in the lunchroom of Parliament ?

Have a pleasant supper, ANGEL GABRIEL !

27. An elected members’ role is both parochial and national at all times,however these interests will be conditioned by the member’s party position that is to say whether his party is the governing party or the opposing party.The presence of a member of an opposing party in parliament is of little or no significance compared to a member especially of the cabinet in the governing party.Other than introducing a bill dealing with specifics of his constituents I do not see why OSA would be an eager beaver to debate the likes of kenney bess,denis low,mikul lashlee,stevun lashlee,hutson,pornville,kellman the nuisance,cross over lashlee,blackett,jones,sleeping boyce,walking todd,sinkliar,all of whom go to make up that most notorious parliament of misfits, slow learners and time wasters.It’s such a testy lot,who would blame OSA if he prefers to sit in his office rather than hear a lot of hot air and meaningless claptrap.

28. @Prodigal Son aka BLP yardfowl
    “a woman would look at Noel Lynch twice” –

This is how the BLP wants to lift the narrative of the campaign by attacking a man or woman’s physical characteristics and then calling everyone to the city to spend the whole night cursing a dead leader who cannot respond.
    I repeat my earlier assertion : This is the worst group of BLP candidates ever assembled in recent history. The only thing that I can see this BLP group looking to restore is their bank accounts and contracts for party supporters who have missed the treasury’s trough for the last 5 years.

29. miller behave yourself man you know its not right for muscle mary to be cursing a departed DT to the amusemnt of owen, mia and the Bees in Trafalgar Sq.
    mary was out of order .

Then Mary Noel runs around the place trying to insult the PM saying he black and ugly after all Noel black, ugly and greasy to boot.

Cud dear man the PM isnt a brawling fellow he uses proper grammar to punish you.

We know Muscle mary incapable of the PM language slkills so he does bewse rough and crude like a drunken pirate.

The PM simply put him in his place with language the frowsy ruffian can understand. You and me would do the same if mary persisted in trying to degrade us. Noel mary should stick to running a foot race here and there like his idols Ben Johnson and marion Jones.

30. @Gabriel Tackle
    spoken like a true BLP yardfowl who would excuse Owen Arthur getting a big fat salary and not even attending Parliament. You are putting party ahead of country as usual.

31. Observing(…) on January 31, 2013 at 9:00 PM
    —————————-
    Time for you take a dose of epsom salts now that your discomfort persists !

32. “Listening to Onions , Observing , David of BU , Enuff , Miller et al , we always wondered what is the BLP concept of UNITY.

Well before the BEES can host a political meeting for this 2013 campaign….they have to first explain to the people of Barbados what does UNITY between MIA and Owen mean .

Before a stunned crowd of 14, 000 persons in Bay Street an attacking PM Stuart challenged

1. Mia Mottley to deny that she asked him to call polls to get rid of Owen.

2. PM Stuart repeated his call a SECOND time (outside the floor of Parliament) for Owen to deny he wrote to Stuart begging him to tek Mia off the hands of the BEES.

Well before the people ” fire Freundel” , Mia and Owen have to explain to Barbadians why they both want to FIRE each other !

And to think those crooks claim to be UNITED !
    We ready fuh de polls….we ready…we ready…we ready .”

Fractured BLP,i undtand your eagerness to chomp at the bit over what you perceive to be a big issue but what in my view is given the fact that it is accepted that poltic is no sunday school. the nastiness of politics drive politicians to employ the lowest of tactics to score cheap poltical points on their opponents both within and outside of their party and it is within the right of the DLP to try to capture as much political mileage as possible by repeating as often as possible the allegation of the purported note from mr arthur to mr stuart. in my view though , it is really makng a mountain out of a molehill since the whole world knows that there was a rift of monumental proportions between mr arthur and miss mottley which dented the image of mr arthur and had the tendency to fracture the party as well. the allegation of both mr arthur and miss mottley appealing to the DLP leadership for respite from each other might very well be true.; but in- fighting in political parties is nothing new, what is of importance is that miss mottley and mr arthur can now be perceived as having buried the hatchet and are united behind the party as it seeks to regain the government. while mr stuart did not see stupidly see fit to pass mr arthur a note he did publicly declare that mr thompson was a divisive force within the party and was not fit to regain its leadership.
    mr arthur never sought to deny miss mottley the right to represent her constituents like mr adriel brathwaithe and mr ince sought to do with mr david estwick. and now are they not all one big happy family. WHAT SAY YE MR FRACTURED IS THE DLP UNITED BUT THE BLP DISUNITED? WHY CAN THE DLP ANTAGONISTS BURY THE HATCHET BUT THE BLP CANNOT? .

33. @Fractured BLP
    “He stayed away from the House too long again this time…..who are these “young people” among the BEES MPs that Owen claim he allowing to “grow” , while he lime at the bar in the lunchroom of Parliament ?”

Whenever Owen Arthur is cornered , he will try to lie with a straight face. he really thinks that Bajans are stupid. Now he claims that he would not attend the Parliamentary debates so he would let the “younger people” grow?

Are these the youngsters he is referring to: George Payne, Gline Clarke,Cynthia Forde, Ronald Toppin, Rawle Eastmond,Dale Marshall-
    He did not mean Duguid because Duguid abandoned his constituents for Canada and we know that he is not interested in Mottley progressing. One can safely conclude that Arthur once more tried to lie his way out of a tightspot.We cannot trust anything he says.

34. @Observing
    “This election will not be won in the “old” way.”

Tell that to the BLP – Boycott Parliament before the election is called, put up billboards, pay for radio jingles by Lil Ric, hold a massive free concert with popular entertainers,- Does that sound familiar sir? Does that sound like something that happened before?
    Sounds like the BLP is trying the “old way”. Just Observing.

35. @!
    Sigh. The bell has rung. Let’s move past the superfluous and get on with the job at hand….please!

I’ll ask this….if in good economic times with reasonable performance, your old ways won you 20 seats, what do you think those same old ways will do when reversed in rough economic times with low confidence and less performance???

And which message are you guys going to stick with? Eh?
    Sunday it was trust and leadership
    Monday it was performance
    Tuesday it was Mia and owen and disunity
    Wednesday it was about red corsettes and “he shes”
    Thursday it’s about a “clean campaign”

You always seem to think that because I don’t cry fowl that it means I like fish. I had planned to reserve much comment and just observe but comments like yours make me unsure.

I think a question mark might be a better suited punctuation for you. It’s more fitting.

Just Observing

36. This is directed to “Fractured BLP; “!”; “Wanted”; CCC” and all those who are trying raise dead issue from 2008. The electorate heard those charges and today, the electorate are looking for issues that will place Barbados back on the economic map. Let’s reason for a second. If Clico give Owen, (who is not a friend), a $75,000.00 cheque, do tell me, don’t you feel that Clico will give its perceived friend far more than what it gave Owen. probably the $3.3 million ring a bell. The public is not waiting for your assessment of candidates, on February 21, electorates will go in a 2×2 box and place an “X” on the candidate of their choice. Today, the entire BLP travelled in unison to Bridgetown, went in the Treasury Building together and pay for the opportunity to run in a democratic electoral system. This is what the public will be looking at. No blogger can change that perception. Now to party readiness. All along, we heard how the opposition ain’t ready, even the PM keep harping on Mia/Owen not speaking and who hate who, and who can’t stand who. Wake up Sir, it is about time you refrain from all this small talk, all this diabolical tripe from yesterday quoting from Greek philosophers and biblical quotes and unable to deal with fiscal measures that will place us again as a 1st World developing country. Tom never abused Barrow, Barrow never abused Tom, Sandiford never abused Bree, Bree never abused Sandiford, Owen never abused Sandiford, Thompson never abused Owen, but here in 2013 we witness a sitting leader telling the last leader derogative remarks. The people listened and it will be an indelible mark in one’s brain on the 21st Feb. Don’t disappoint us with such remarks Sir, the electorate ain’t interest about who eat Parliament food, who wearing dresses instead of masculine clothes or who praticing to be a porn photographer al la internet. BTW, where are the DLP posters, manifesto and promotional brochures for individual candidates. ARE YOU REALLY READY!!!!!!!!!! Will you place elections on the front burner?

37. Tell me Why, that is the meat of the matter for any right thinking person.

the 1st question would be, how does Owen give away Mia or any other member? how? only an ass with an ass for brain would come up with something as stupid as that.

2nd all the while Fractured BLP and company is here trying to push a message, the DLP his party is not ready at all. so even if the BLP is not unified, which party looks like a hot mess right now? clearly not the BLP.

54 hours and counting after the DLP call the election, we see some of their candidates putting up old (2008) posters and some (Jones) even printing banners and putting up.

which party unified again?

but Fractured BLP think bajans stupid. keep thinking that way my friend, keep thinking that way.

38. but here is a killer for Fractured BLP.

send the lambs to the light (grave): http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/01/31/power-for-independence/

but who is the butcher:

“Prime Minister Freundel Stuart this afternoon told Barbadians he was sorry for not being able to provide more employment for them, especially young people, during his Government’s term in office.”

again who is unified?

39. Its interesting to review the reasons given by the various commentators above to “say no the return of the BLP”. Most of them are spurious and bear little relation to the real concerns of the uncommitted voter since none of the two platforms can be expected to sway a significant number of the committed BLP or DLP voters at this time. Lets just deal with one theme for now that seems to be uppermost in the minds of several of our new posters here. What does it really matter to an uncommitted voter if Owen Arthur and MIA wrote missives to Freundel asking him to help them separately in their battle of nearly two years ago and which has since been ostensibly settled? Would the uncommitted voter’s real concerns be about notes or about the cost of living or the use the government is putting to their pension funds or what is it doing about jobs? or how is Government policy likely to affect their children?, or which mix of ministers are likely to be able to do something about such concerns? imho, this note story would have to be very low on the totem pole of issues that are likely to energise an uncommitted voter to commit to one party or the other as both parties live in glass houses as far as the issue of cohesiveness of the party is concerned with the DLP having far more serious issues of that nature.

What was the date on those notes? Can they be proven to have been actually written by the supposed author? Were they witnesses? Can third party couriers be trusted to have told the truth? Were the notes written in jest, between friends? were the notes meant to be taken seriously? Could any one of the two have expected that Freundel would take them seriously? Come on! FS has done some strange things over the past two years, but acting on any of these purported notes would have provided another data point in the strangeness of FS and OSA would have deteriorated much more than I would have expected in the last 2 years to have seriously written such a note to FS expecting positive action. Similarly Mia would have gone down significantly in my esteem if that alleged note was written outside of the heat of the events that led to the rift. Since Mia and Owen allegedly passed notes about each other to the leader of the DLP, could we somehow extrapolate that such passing of notes could be a regular occurence in the house? If so, were some notes passed to the BLP from FS and some of his loyalists and from Eager 11 combatants re. their displeasure with the way FS was handling the affairs of Government 2 years ago? Is it possible that some of those notes were kept to bring out to the light of day when appropriate? Might we be hearing something of such imaginary notes in the near future?

We have not yet heard the reply to the “note” allegations from the BLP side but I suspect the whole issue is a red herring put out to deflect the country’s view from the real current and widening split. That being within the DLP, and one that has to be there as a result of the numerous slights that FS has meted out to his team members, as implicit in various stories carried in the media spanning his total administration, no matter how united they now appear. Politics make strange bedfellows.

I sense a momentum on this blog towards the DLP following the DLP’s first meeting. Whether that can be sustained or not remains to be seen as the BLP mounts its platform campaign over the weekend.

So I have no problem with saying YES to the return of the BLP. They showed their ability to manage the economy properly in their 3 terms of office. But I would definitely say NO to the return of the DLP with FS as the PM of this country for 5 1/4 more years. The signs are clear that he would wreck the country if he were allowed to rule in his quixotic, laid back manner once more. I would also have no difficulty with the DLP being returned to Government minus FS and with a reduced majority and CS being placed in a Ministry other than Finance and Donville Inniss in one other than Health.

40. tuesday evening
    BLP – press conference, posters up in most seats, website updated, election logo revealed
    DLP – nothing

wednesday
    BLP – facebook changed, photos up, jingles on radio, full page ads in paper, billboards up, posters in remaining seats
    DLP – some posters up, mass meeting, performance document released

thursday
    BLP – newspaper sticky, jingles on radio, full page ads in paper, motorcade in town, public announcement from leader, deposits paid as a single group, photos posted online within minutes, mass meeting advertised with a mobbaton of entertainers, call for campaign code of conduct, claim of a ready manifesto

DLP – some more posters up, a few non uniform banners in some seats, seated press conference with Bobby Morris and team, website changed (and incomplete and tacky), announcement of women’s forum later in week, previous night’s photos and videos posted

# of DLP candidates not seen out and about publicly yet since Tuesday evening (apart from Wednesday night) – 22

Does this even feel like a competitive campaign from an incumbent government? do some people realise that they only have three weeks and no time to “pick up steam”? Am I missing something here???

Will we get to have a televised debate?
    if so who?
    Freundel v. Owen?
    Chris v. Mia?
    Donville v. Kerrie?

Just Observing

41. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

i don’t think this country can handle 5 more yrs of the the kind of leadership Stuart provides ,Barbados needs more energetic and robust leadership, one who takes the bull by the horns ,not wait and see and don’t worry bout it and de DEMS could stop talking bout poor ppl and houses they build for the poor ,cause poor ppl cant get financing for houses that cost over $100,000

42. The supporters of the Dees think people out there deliberating over who sent notes to Frundel about Mia? You people have any idea what people are going through with the economy like this?
    What happened to the DLP? there was a time when politicians used the office they held to build institutions and policies that benefited this country. From the university, BCC, health clinics, highways. New industries like the international businesses or laying the foundation for others like the work done on the offshore oil. All this government does is talk, talk, talk, talk. nothing gets fixed, nothing moves forward. The only thing that is changing is things are getting worse.
    All this government seems to think the job that we the taxpayers pay them for is to talk about how corrupt the other side was and how grateful we should be the dollar is still 2 to 1. They can’t do anything, we have to wait for Obama and Cameron to fix their economies before we can get better. We should be paying them not this government since they cant do anything.
    I am not interested in all the mud-slinging. If the Bees were as corrupt as they say, why has none of them – not 1 single person been charged with any wrong doing? If you are sitting on evidence and not prosecuting people then that makes you corrupt too doesn’t it? If you have no evidence, you have also spent no time, brought no legislation forward to fix the system that allowed these acts to happen. So what does that make you? Complacent. I do not know who is being fooled by this nonsense. You think any sane Bajan believes your lot is clean? Please.

43. Tired of this on February 1, 2013 at 6:41 AM
    ————————-
    Tired of this….thousands out there agree with you.
    Last time we paid Owen Arthur and his administration to build instistutions for us.

We remember well what they built :
    # GREENLAND $ 80 million !
    # GEMS 300 million !
    # NIGERIAN SOLAR project $ 4 million !
    None of the above exist today !!!!

We change that administration in 2008 and in TOUGH times and with little resources…..and 5 short years…. they gave us :
    # NEW SCHOOLS
    # NEW HOUSES
    # NEW GOVERNMENT OFFICES
    # PAY DOWN SOME OF THE HUGE DEBTS OWEN LEFT
    # NEW ROADS
    # NEW PIECES OF LEGISLATION

And NEW HOPE .

That is what the UNSURE , WONT SAY , THOSE THAT TRICKING WICKHAM , really taking into account right now.

You don’t worry about the corruption of the last Owen team….you will see how that will be handled …..stay tune .

44. All that is needed to complete the comedy acts by both parties is for someone to pay the male trannys and prostitutes in Bim a lump sum for a list of names of the politicians who frequent them for services and actually give gifts such as cars and houses while supporting some as they would a wife. Then everything should be exposed, then everyone will see why the libel laws will never be changed in Bim.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tired of this | February 1, 2013 at 6:41 AM |
    “I am not interested in all the mud-slinging. If the Bees were as corrupt as they say, why has none of them – not 1 single person been charged with any wrong doing? If you are sitting on evidence and not prosecuting people then that makes you corrupt too doesn’t it? ”

Well put! Not a man exposed or charged during the 5 year reign of vicious lying accusations and character assassination. Instead of Fumble who was AG under the DLP administration initiated criminal prosecutions against the alleged BLP crooks and con artists (including Bowman Mascoll from Hardwood Housing Estate) he now plans to ‘Prosecute’ (more like persecute) their characters on the political platform during this campaign.

What a laugh! Sounds more like character assassination by a man whose claim to integrity has been shot out of the water after lying to little children, promising the impossible to CLICO policyholders, protecting a crook called Sonny Pookie Parris and more recently pretending to be a man of god before performing a miracle by turning a He-She faggot called Barney into a real She-She called Muscle Mary.

46. The BLP yardfowls crowing early this morning man, they like they getting anxious- Don’t panic.
    @Observing – all your observing is being drowned in your hypocrisy. You say that the election cannot be won by the “old ways”. I then show you that the BLP is trying all the “old ways” and you respond and say that it worked for the Dems then so it would work for the BLP now.. Man, you let me down. I thought you would take the high road but you are as partisan as the rest of them.

@Unequal Rights and Injustice
    You talking foolishness. This country does not need Owen Arthur now or at any forseeable point in the future.Owen Arthur showed no interest in restructuring the Barbados economy, absolutely no interest in efficiecy in government- the same man who was putting his friends as “consultants” with taxpayers money to help them out at our expense. The same man who will curse ordinary citizens on the floor of Parliament while hiding behind Parliamentary priviledge.So called riobust leadership left taxpayer with millions of wastage in Gems, Greenland- you got to be kidding. As far as the economy , we certainly do not need a man who Clyde Mascoll said was a monumental failure as an economist.

Please tell me one year when the BLP was in power and the Barbados economy was growing while our major tourist market was in recession.

47. You know despite all the criticism which the BLP has levelled at Donville Inniss including the character assasination and the misleading newspaper ad with an old lady- I have not heard anyone in the BLP say that if given the opportunity they will totally reverse the changes implemented which has saved over 30 million dollars annually without withholding any essential care . Another example of BLP hypocrisy. They knew the Drug Service needed to be reformed but kicked the can further down the road for 14 years and when a bold, visionary minister took decisive action to arrest the problem, the BLP response is to take the political low road and run dirty ads to try to capitalise. Then the BLP has the audacity to say that “leadership’ is the main issue.

48. @Tell me why
    “Today, the entire BLP travelled in unison to Bridgetown, went in the Treasury Building together …….. This is what the public will be looking at. No blogger can change that perception.”

Exactly, THAT IS WHAT is was designed to do – create an illusion of unity. Perception ,not reality. The larger point is it ties into everything the BLP says – Perception not reality, Style not substance.

That is why the BLP is out there promising everything to every interest group without any specifics about how it could be financed. If they can create the illusion that they have all the easy answers, they feel they can pick off one or too gullible voters. Look out for more BLP publicity stunts coming soon to camouflage the worst group of BLP candidiates ever assembled including the recycled misfits like Muscle Mary and Anthony Wood who after the last election in St. Philip went to people and asked back for things he gave out before the election. St. Philip South and St, Michael south will reject both of them.
    It will not work.Bajans are not stupid.

49. “Not interested in the mudslinging ”

Also not interested in seeing Corruption and illegal activity lined the halls of Parliament like in the “good ole days” . The DEES going to call on the BEES for full accountabilty on the days going into the the election and OSA is the leader and he will be called upon to answer for all that he have said and done that would scully thye face of our nation. The integrity of a nation is just as important as its economy and those who we put in place would be called upon for such . this is not 1992

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply