george_pilgrim
George A.Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

Issue : DLP Ad scraping the Bottom of the Skillet (Posted January 23, 2013)

The executive of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has categorically denied that its President, its General Secretary, any member of its Executive / General Council , or its campaign management team is responsible for recent advertisements carried in the local daily newspapers, ostensibly sponsored by a group called PARO.

In dismissing any responsibility for the ads or semblance of association with the group, the DLP’s General Secretary, George Pilgrim, in a clear-the-air statement today stressed that the DLP was not party to the advertisements. “We have not commissioned nor authorised any such ads; and, therefore, for anyone to associate the DLP with these newspaper postings is not only totally untrue but very misleading, and designed to put the ruling party in a bad light. As a mature, political party, we do not resort to or condone such tactics that have been the hallmark of the Opposition BLP in recent months,” he noted.

1. Good that the DLP hierarchy sees the need to distance itself from this stupid ad. Hopefully many of the DLPites on the blog will do the same.

2. @David
    Good that the DLP hierarchy sees the need to distance itself from this stupid ad.
    Did Pilgrim say this with a straight face? If the ad was not the responsibility of the DLP we may have seen the birth of the first PAC ( Political Action Committee) in Barbados similar to those that exist in the USA.
    Deniability is good but notice he did take a swipe at the BLP by stating that these tactics have been “the hallmark” of the BLP in recent months.

“Stupid Ad” David? Clearly beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

3. @Sargeant

“Stupid Ad” David? Clearly beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Correct!

4. Had there not been an uproar over the distasteful ads, George Pilgrim would never have said a word. They can comfortably come out days after and disassociate themselves from the ad as they feel that the intended damage has been done.

We can see right through the DLP hypocrisy. George Pilgrim is a bold faced liar, the people behind this ad are deep in the bosom of the DLP! Whom you think you are fooling???

5. If the AD reflecttive actions of the BLP, them there is nothing wrong with it. I think it is responsible politics to remind the voters of the action of any PARTY.

6. @Prodigal Son

Hopefully the two political parties can control the willingness of their supporters to use crass methods to make a point. We have seen Estwick’s head appended to a pig’s body by BLP supporters and the like. We need to maintain standards even in the heat of battle. Our little ones are looking on and importantly we can look to other islands to understand what rabid tribalism down political lines can do.

7. I suspect that the people behind the ads and the DLP knew that there would have been an outcry against them.

They were trying to get the graphic designer to front for them, the person said no, I am only doing a job. They then went to an advertising agency under one bogus name and then changed to another name when the ad agency told them that the Nation said that if a lawsuit is brought against the paper, the ad agency would have to pay the damages. So I guess that is why they had to put a name at the top of the ad.

You think these Dems sweet?? And George Pilgrim does not know who is behind the ad? I maintain you have to be of a special breed to be a Dem!

8. And to top it all off, the ad was paid for in CASH! And the Dems dont know who is behind this?

9. George Pilgrim should be the last to comment on the distasteful ad.. He is part of the whole smear campaign. He, along with others is trying to “wring” the principal and the Secretary Treasurer’s hand to get into a shady deal to re-start the Queen’s College pavilion. He don’t want the project to go out to tender, talking about that it would be a special tender. He and big head ugly Ronald Jones are are part of the conspiracy. Hold your grounds Mr. Principal and Secretary Treasurer.

10. Red Money Burning Red Avatar
    Red Money Burning Red

And a wise one would be quick to ask Ms Mottley who it is that is paying for and running these ads, and while at it that person should also ask her why has she allowed Noot Rudder and his gay band to destabalise Ronald Toppin and why is it that the PA to Forde has been canvassing in St James North against the sex pervert Hinkson?

11. I saw an ad featuring Mia and Owen which accurately quoted a statement made by the former PM about his former deputy. The only thing I found offensive would have been the acronym PARO at the end.

Politicians are truly strange people, they now disassociate themselves from the truth because some people find it to be inconvenient. Can we really trust politicians from either party?

12. @Caswell

Because that is what you saw it does not mean that others were not more discerning to visualise the imagery those behind the ad wanted to portray.

13. @Red Money Burning Red | January 26, 2013 at 4:29 PM |

And a wise one would be quick to ask Ms Mottley who it is that is paying for and running these ads, and while at it that person should also ask her why has she allowed Noot Rudder and his gay band to destabalise Ronald Toppin and why is it that the PA to Forde has been canvassing in St James North against the sex pervert Hinkson?……………………………………….

You know I always say that it takes a special breed of person to be a Dem.

You really got talk for Mr Hinkson. Why dont you talk about your candidate, Harry Husbands who screws around on his poor wife. Remember the lady Esther Byer Suckoo fired unceremoniously, speak to her. Tell BU how the poor wife had to call the police and report their vehicle stolen after it flew pass her and was not driven by Harry Husbands who then had to confess that he gave the lady the vehicle to drive. Look get off of BU this bright Saturday afternoon with your crap!

14. @ Prodigal Son …You seem to have very initmate knowledge about this add.If squeezed a little harder an undercover Dem may surface.To be serious though one would have expected such a statement days earlier,even though like Caswell this extreme offensiveness escapes me.

15. Red Money Burning Red Avatar
    Red Money Burning Red

Mottley has no interest in a BLP win at this election with Arthur still stumbling around the party, she will hang him out to dry this time around and send him away and run her own campaign 5 years hence forth.

There is no one that is within the Inner circle of the Mottley dynasty that will tell you anything other than she has a plan to unseat Arthur and Payne, Marshall and Toppin all of whom set out to destroy her well being.

There is no dispute that she has been having that destabalising program undertaken in the constituencies of Toppin and Hinkson, I know for a fact of life from the mouth of Rudder himself in a place in Black Rock and I know for a fact of three days of canvassing in St James North with Forde’s PA in Sion Hill to persuade BLP voters to vote for the DEMS, not a moment of hearsay my friend but a fact of life, you may not want it said as it dispels the rumour of peace in your party but life is what it is and Mottley has been doing whatsoever she needs to do to keep herself in the frame for the next election when Arthur will be a thing of the past.

Also have you noticed the backward and junior position she has been assigned to speak in these platform speeches a very very junior position an also ran position.

Ps can you see Arthur having to step down as Prime Minister and leaving the country in the hands of Dale Marshall were he to win his seat ?

16. Politics in this country has become so disgusting, underhanded, deceiptful and treaturous that I refuse to believe one single word any of our esteemed politicos say. They have all become self severving trough dwellers, reminicent of the politics of the soviet block era. Why do they even continue to pretend they are working for the people who vote for them, when it is obvious they are only working for their corporate benefactors? We pay, they collect. That’s all that matters to them.

17. What an uninspiring list of leadership candidates. But Pupatello should be at the bottom of the list, not the top. What an arrogant person! She is not even an elected official but wants to prorogue parliament until her by-election date. Probably because she does not want all the McGuinty scandals to taint her chances of being elected. She has never mentioned anything about cleaning up all the Liberal mis-management and scandals. So I can only thing that she wants to continuing governing, if elected, as in the past. And she arrogantly thinks she is going to win her seat in any by-election? Chances are she will not. And after she loses the election of her seat, what then? Is parliament going to be indefinitely prorogued? And yes, we as taxpayers can cover the costs of her by-election.

18. David it is amazing how similar voters feel about polliticians.

The above were quotes about the current Ontario Liberal party leadership campaign.

19. A BLP candidate and former cabinet Minister compares a former Prime Minister to being worse than the Devil – the so called “9000” crowd roars.
    The BLP does not have a problem with that.

The BLP in the St. John by Election uses a photo of a sad widow Mara Thompson, puts a mock crown on it and runs a whole Page ad criticising her as a “Mock Queen.” Paid Campaign ad by the BLP. The BLP had no problem with that tone.

A BLP operative runs a facebook page holding the image of a cow on a corned beef can and inviting young Barbadians to call it the Prime Minister. She is seen receiving awards at BLP functions and is in nearly all the photo ops of the different BLP candidates.

The BLP launches a cartoon page to ridicule a Prime Minister and condones the use the most vile language to describe and talk about their political opponents.

An ad is run by a group and simply uses Owen Arthur’s own words and the BLP apologist “Prodigal” is running around the blog like a headless chicken. Can any one spell HYPOCRISY = BLP.

20. @!

Why don’t you take heed from your GS and party. PM Stuart is suppose to be the man of honesty and integrity yet you care about what BLP operatives are doing?

21. Excuse me but did a BLP supporter on this blog make a candidate’s marriage and alleged infidelity an issue while complaining about the tone of a campaign ad that uses a man’s own words?
    The higher the monkey climb…..Please Prodigal – a word of advice – If you are supporting Owen Arthur with Kerry Symmonds as a BLP candidate- please do not make infidelity and treatment of wives an issue. Your spit shall surely land in your face. Just some friendly advice.

22. @David
    You need to call out the BLP on their hypocrisy, not give them a free pass. Have you ever checked out the things that the BLP is encouraging their followers to say about our Prime Minister right now as we speak.

23. ……..”The Deloitte report was stolen”.. Who could forget such absurdity and nonsense coming from the highest Office in the land..Poorrakey that’s what it is.. Question: stolen by whom and when, where?…..Did heshe come thru “The White House” window in the mid of the night?……Even if the document was misplaced…. did Deloitte not have copies ?….Is such the best that can be offered up to people you now carry down to the wire like luppy ‘living dogs’ by obviously soon Dead Lions?…Why the hold up for us to exercising our constitutional right anyway? Don’t you Lions think the outcome will be the same whether you do so now, or April 30th? Is this how we treat those who put you Kings of Beasts there in the first place to ravish us and make a mockery?

Oh come now Mr.Leo… bullshit us not anymore….WE READY TO VOTE….. pray, grant us that..

24. We ready to vote but maybe we are not ready to put an arrogant, vindictive Owen Arthur and his exra arrogant Muscle Mary back in control.
    Onions, you sound like a pig that miss the trough.

25. To clarify: when the Prime Minister referred to the CLICO Report being stolen it was in the context that it was published by the Nation before it was made official.

26. @!
    Save you pigtails for another night bro…weak distractions at this period won’t work….I was re-activated for one purpose..to silent soft spots like you….you DLP well wishers are just that with these weak ass articles ..when you all know the truth Fruendel is carrying out a mission of self destruction to the party that plans to throw him overboard….you cohorts seek to provide DISTRACTIONS…..but it is what it is…..Stuart is now on a Hari-kari mission…THE PARTY’S DESTRUCTION…..deal wid it boss !

27. “We have not commissioned nor authorised any such ads; and, therefore, for anyone to associate the DLP with these newspaper postings is not only totally untrue but very misleading, and designed to put the ruling party in a bad light. As a mature, political party, we do not resort to or condone such tactics that have been the hallmark of the Opposition BLP in recent months,”

This statement, poor grammar and all, does not deny KNOWLEDGE of the person(s) responsible for the ad. George Pilgrim would have done better by keeping his mouth shut.

28. Dirty Politics – Can’t trust Owen Arthur and or those BLP folks, can trust them. I think Prime Minister Stewart should keep doing what he is doing, make them beg for an election date.

29. David breaking news.

History has been made in Canada.

The new Leader of Liberal party of Ontario is a lesbian.

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/politics/article/1320429–ontario-liberal-leadership-convention-kathleen-wynne-puts-gay-question-to-rest

30. BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

31. As a form of Protest , the BLP should call a Mock Elections for a particular date. Have people go throught the process of marking a ballot paper that could be used as a flyer with slogans from the BLP’s campaign

32. @Hants

There is hope for Barbados’ first gay prime minister then?

33. Enuff;
    Actually, George is suggesting quite clearly that the BLP put that AD out there. No one in the DLP hierarchy is responsible for the ads. The BLP has a history of running such ads. Ergo its the BLP that put out that false flag ad. We will soon hear that Mia is the one that put them out herself.

Now that would be very interesting.

George, connect the dots please.

34. http://www.thestar.com/breakingnews/article/1320567–kathleen-wynne-is-ontario-s-new-premier

Ontario has a gay new Premier. A lot of our Bajan immigrants are in Ontario. A lot of our tourists come form there. A lot of investment money too.

Let me see whether Owen will tell Ms. Wynne to her face that she is not “a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society”

Aw right den Owen man up!!!

Do it.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/26/us/politics/gay-lawmakers-growing-presence-suggests-shift-in-attitudes.html
    In the 113th United States Congress there are six openly gay or bisexual members in the House — a small but tangible sign that their presence at the highest levels of government is no longer something only whispered about. The Senate has its first lesbian, Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin. The lawmakers’ partners, no longer relegated to the shadows or introduced generically as “friends,” stood beside them on the House floor when they were sworn in this month. Their adopted children are attending Congressional retreats. And this week they sat in President Obama’s presence as he insisted on equality for “our gay brothers and sisters,” words few of them ever expected to hear in a president’s Inaugural Address.

I bet Owen won’t tell Obama he is wrong when he insisted on equality for “our gay brothers and sisters,”

35. Jamaicans have a saying “duppy know who to frighten”

36. David wrote “There is hope for Barbados’ first gay prime minister then?”

Yes David. Despite Owhen’s “wider acceptance” b e Bajans will support a gay Prime Ministress and make Millertheanunaki happy……. 5 years from now.lol

37. Never mind the BLP protestations, pretty soon they will show their true colours with some very nasty ads about the DLP and the PM and as usual the BLP yardfowl choir will sing their legitimacy.
    Fair is Fair and Owen Arthur will be exposed for the pretender that he is.Clyde Mascoll said that he was a monumental failure as an economist and I heard Mascoll say recently that throughout the years he (Mascoll) has always been consistent in his arguments.

38. “Yes David. Despite Owhen’s “wider acceptance” b e Bajans will support a gay Prime Ministress and make Millertheanunaki happy……. 5 years from now.lol”
    DIDN’T WE SUPPORT A GAY DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND ACTING PRIME MINISTER FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS

39. ‘Let me see whether Owen will tell Ms. Wynne to her face that she is not “a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society”
    why trod a dead horse? the cadres polls have consistently given a resounding passing grade to ms mottley as to her wider acceptance and acceptability by the public of barbados. the folly of the argument is that ms mottley has continued to overwhelmingly retain her seat which obviously she could not have done with the support of the sexually deviant in her constituency alone. if as we surmise that mr arthur was indeed referring to ms mottley’s sexual behaviour- rather than his foot in the mouth illadvised comments of stupidity for which he is well known- then the public has reudiated his perception in no uncertain terms and has endorsed ms mottley as a future leader of barbados.so why trod a dead horse.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | January 27, 2013 at 5:44 AM |
    “DIDN’T WE SUPPORT A GAY DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER AND ACTING PRIME MINISTER FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS”

And we might just be carrying on that “happy and gay” tradition under the current dispensation without the publicity of show and tell. After all the man currently in charge of an expired administration is a fine specimen of a graduate from the finishing school of which the same gay DPM was an outstanding principal in his time. Hear of no gayness, speak of no gayness but hide all gayness in the closet.

My support of MAM for PM has absolutely nothing to do with rumours of gay abandon gaiety but solely with a liking for the person who the miller feels have the requisite skills and vision to move this country forward and get the people especially the young to rally behind and support her in this much needed voyage of change and development in a world of technological quantum leaps and economic shifts of paradigm dimensions.

Now balance, stop peeping through the hidden hole in the closet. You might just see a man fumbling with a date of deliverance.

41. Red Money Burning Red Avatar
    Red Money Burning Red

I think the real difference is that the Canadian does not have a track record of abuse of her female sex partners, she maybe is free from the history of vicious beating and furious biting as handed and bite out by Mottley.

Nor is she one who determined if some should stay or leave the country by if that person was willing to submit her body to Mottley for it to suffer its abuse and STRAP Lashes, as one Guyanese was forced to take to have her Work Permit granted, those are immoral and sick reactions by a sick an immoral Mottley person.

42. Musings: Illegitimate expectations

1/27/2013

By Jeff Cumberbatch

Dan Quay promises the future will get better tomorrow…
    No.19 of “25 Craziest political promises ever” – David Pegg

I really shouldn’t be, given the political climate at this time. But, more often than not these days, I still wonder at our penchant for the mundane, the banal and the superstitious. Right now, on the local blog that I follow avidly and to which I sometimes contribute, there is an earnest and intriguing, though sharply polarised debate concerning the appropriateness and, assumedly, effectiveness of the most recent political newspaper advertisement published last week by the Democratic Labour Party [DLP].

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=28895

43. DAVID BU should apologise for connecting the ad ,to the DLP.furthermore should remove the underline caption which says DLP AD from the picture

44. just because a man could tell a lie? the ad falls lock step in DLP message so far. wanna really think people stupid?

anyhow stay tune.

45. @!
    “Excuse me but did a BLP supporter on this blog make a candidate’s marriage and alleged infidelity an issue while complaining about the tone of a campaign ad that uses a man’s own words”?

Excuse you……………in response to a DLP operative attacking OSA, I had to bring up that to show the hypocrisy of DLP yardfowls. You all seem want to expose OSA’s business and project the DLP as paragons of virtue which of course we know is so wrong.

Keep on attacking OSA, it will backfire on you!

46. JUST ASKING | January 26, 2013 at 10:16 PM |

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT
    yuh maths way off just askin cause the dlp starting with five safe seats; the blp with only 2.

47. Interesting to note that a flavour of the much debated PARO ad appears in today’s press minus the bullet holes…hmmm.