Austin
Austin

In recent days as expected we have seen the DLP attempt to draw parallels between Prime Minister Stuart and President Obama’s record which can only be called completely “laughable“.  I must confess that if I lead such an unproductive government I too might try to grab onto President Obama’s record myself.

A primary strategy of the current DLP appears to be the invoking of the record of past DLP prime ministers (to now include US President Obama) in an effort to get the Bajan people to forget how “empty their pockets have become” under the current DLP government.

So let’s look at some facts and comparisons:

Unemployment has steadily risen under Prime Minister Stuart‘s DLP government., while we know the DLP blame “everything” on the global recession, my position is that they have “significantly compounded” our unemployment situation and many other national challenges with overall ineffective leadership, governance and know-how.  They have been totally ineffective at addressing key issues like unemployment, tourist reform and  much needed fiscal reforms.

Here is a “factual comparison” of DLPBLP records which bajans need to honestly and “patriotically” consider in the next election … noting that at the end of the President Obama first term unemployment continues on the decline.

DLP 2008-2011 unemployment record
2008 – 8.136%
2009 – 10.20%
2010 – 10.60%
2011 – 12.00%
And still rising in 2012
BLP Unemployment rate prior to DLP:
2004    9.582
2005    9.673
2006    8.711
2007    7.376
Less volatile and going down
DLP GDP real growth rate:
2008 =  -0.18
2009 = -4.69
2010 = 0.34
2011 = 0.50
And struggling no matter what the central bank reports.
BLP GDP record prior to DLP:
2005 = 3.877
2006 = 3.559
2007 = 3.826
The numbers speak for themselves.

I believe that the bajan electorate made a mistake in 2008 by electing the DLP which got magnified by the  unforeseen global recession, as we removed the best team (BLP) to fight the impact of the subsequent global recession.

We “the bajan people” can correct that mistake in 2013 by putting what is best for Barbados before partisanship, by using our God giving intelligence to consider the facts and choose a better path forward for Barbados.  The current DLP government has proven that while they may have good intentions, they honestly do not have what it takes to dig Barbados out of the current economic ditch.  The BLP is not perfect but has the talent in it’s ranks old and new who can get Barbados back on track.   “Be a Bajan Patriot First …”

1. I think that Obama would have a very strong case of defamation of character. The only thing that Freundel and Obama has in common is the pigment of their skins.

2. the fact that austin had to run to his key board to refute the comparison says the message has resonate and the BLP operatives are in a defensive mood .

3. @AC

Not the defense mood that is what you should be doing (get it) you and the DLP are that ones that have to defend the dismal DLP record over the last 5 years.

I know facts hurt …..

I am actually in the “laugh” mood 🙂 at your response as I type on the key board this morning.

4. @ All DEM
    Brook Bentons’…..”It’s only just a matter of TIME”…whaloss !

5. For how long can you hide?….Come out d bush man !

6. IT GINE B REAL LICKS….ac….what mother of battles what?…a beat down!

LOL LOL LOL

7. YELLO TABBY GO GET HIS….watch !

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | January 25, 2013 at 7:12 AM |
    There is one other comparison in the form of a similarity that can be made.
    Both men write with their left hand.

Obama demonstrates his integrity and love of family by an open display of love and affection to his wife and two girls. Mr. false lying Integrity ‘leftie’ man of god shows his by being a loner in Ilaro Court talking to the ghost of Lady Carter (with Tom peeping through the “jealousie” not jalousie windows) and Cammie Tudor on his mind.

Have we ever seen Freundel with a woman other than his recently recognised daughter now a full blown woman? At least OSA recognised his love child before she became a hardback adult.

9. Miller LOL you too wicked!

Man leff the PM he can dream can’t he? He has visions of grandeur, let him be for now!

On a serious note, any man who has never married, and is not in a steady relationship with a partner says that he is not ready for responsibility and will never be ready if he has passed the age of 50. He will never know the joys and trials of family life and is not qualified to speak on the subject.

Come to think of it the public has NEVER seen the PM with a female partner at his side. YET they speak of his virtues as if he is a saint. Sumting ent adding up here.

10. PORTIA
    If I live to be as old as Sibylla, I will die as chaste as
    Diana, unless I be obtained by the manner of my father’s will.

11. @miller,
    “Have we ever seen Freundel with a woman other than his recently recognised daughter now a full blown woman? At least OSA recognised his love child before she became a hardback adult”…………

You are quite right on your first question but a just little correction. In all fairness to Freundel, he has always been a part of his daughter’s life. I used to see him at most form level meetings when she was at secondary school. He was the featured speaker (boring as hell) the year she graduated from secondary school.However, his relationship with her mother was over since she was very young!

As we know, Freundel was never a key player in DLP politics so not many in DLP circles ever knew of the daughter until the day she graduated from UWI, the day most Barbadians would like to forget, the day he became PM. The shocked Dems were asking …wait, where she now appear from? Just as a lot of Dems refuse to believe that the dead king fathered a child whilst still married to the queen!

But did I not hear that Freundel was to marry a sitting magistrate?

12. Austin your article is sooooooo important that even the BLP operatives paying no attention .but find it of more interest to bash FS not on his record but on his martial status. however it is quite understandable and maybe forgiving that you would want to present an era of good and plenty and compare to to an era of economic upheaval

13. ac,
    You dont realise that it makes no sense talking about Freundel Stuart. He just a petulant child. His behaviour has gone past being childish. No matter what he does, no matter the nonsense he spews out, he HAS to call the elections.

When the BLP assumes office, they will have to look at this grey area of the constitution as Barbados must never again be held hostage to another PM with the same mindset of a despot like Freundel Stuart!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 25, 2013 at 9:33 AM |

Do you now appreciate the gravamen and relevance of the maxim “those who live in glass houses should not throw stones” or the biblical injunction:-“those who are without sin cast the first stone”?

When the dirty mouth vile characters like you, CCC, “I”, blubbler and the rest of cesspool vermin from George St. get on this blog and say some of the vilest statements about OSA and Mia what do you expect? Retribution must come at some time.
    Remember when you lot described OSA as a rum drinking, woman beating womanizer, with children outside of marriage who is a corrupt thieving foul mouth contemptuous sickly creature? Just look in the mirror and point your finger and see who is behind you. Just a fumbling lying idiot with suspect orientation.

The same thing applies to Mia whom you and the others malign as a woman beater inflicting grievous harm to other women’s private parts of their anatomies. Her love of women is no worse than those who love their same sex on the other side of the political divide.
    According to Todd let them reveal their sexual orientation or predilection starting with the author of the private member’s request to come out of the closet.

15. An excerpt from today’s UK Guardian newspaper:

“Sure, there are all sorts of excuses that can be trotted out to explain away the fact that three years after the recession first ended GDP is still contracting. The crisis in the eurozone hasn’t helped. Rising commodity prices have raised business costs and acted as a brake on consumer spending. But the government also sucked demand out of the economy by raising taxes, cutting welfare and by taking the axe to capital spending programmes.”

Sounds familiar?

16. Look miller don,t even go trying to match characters.caise in this case FS wins handsdown.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 25, 2013 at 11:40 AM |

You mean in the Obama Stuart comparison?

18. BajansScandalous Avatar

Really good article The DLP will get its reward! If we talking about characters and the like; check my post from facebook!

DESE PEOPLE SHOULD BE SHAME!!!

Bajans Scandalous here in ScandalVille remembering some of de tings from last election, in particular how de former PM say He would not lie, cheat, nor steal: well cawwblimma! He did done tell so’much of dem nasty stinking lies already dat Bajans didn’t need to hear no more!

Now all of a sudden now that he kick de bucket he is a squeaky clean, upright (only cause he back didn’t bend) citizen! Last election he talked about integrity and code of conduct and a bunch of rubbish that had me laughing casue he was only spitting up in de air and letting it fall in he face!

He piss parade on platforms all bout hey talking bout Noel Lynch plantation in St. Andrew, and how Owen Arthur cah way money and how much forensic audits dem woulduh unleash bout up in de crank….next ting yuh know bups de truth come out Lynch ain’t own nuh blasted plantation, de man got a mortgage at Scotia Bank lol, Mr. Arthur declare he assets and nothing looking like de millions he did supposed to cah way any way bout dey…and as for de forensic audits…De ony one they had here in Bim de one on CLICO show some some very nefarious dealings between he, Sonny Pookie and a whopping figure of 3.3million dollars.

I STILL WONDERING WHERE DAH WILL DISAPPEAR TO….

BAJANS SCANDALOUS ON THE JOB, WE INVESTIGATING TOO!

19. Sweet Bajan Scandulous……um sweet…wait you born in a suga tank up Buckeley? Girl is suga dey…ac go n crank…..borrow something frum she bosie…..Luv um …..Girl tag again soon Hon..

20. the fact that the dlp using companies to publish ads against the blp n not for the dlp shows the dlp knows the work they have done or lack thereof is not sufficient to earn anudda term…

21. DLP Obama comparison attempt is laughable. No, not really. The United States before entrance of the Obama Administration (2008) was in the mist of (2) wars and falling apart. Barbados before entrance of Thompson and the DLP administration (2008) was falling apart and still is. Now, we may further look at another comparison – the DLP and Obama administration. Mitt Romney and the Republicans according to CNN Journalist, Tom Cohen served up a heaping helping of political red meat to president Obama that called him a liar and a failed leader. Prime Minister Stuart [Barbados] is branded the same.

The BLP throughout the year embarked upon numerous issues, any and everything they could think of to sink the DLP ship. Arthur just months ago reported to Midweek Nation that REDjet might still be flying if government has honored its commitment to the collapsed airlines. Arthur, apparently did not consider FACT that Bajans owe REDjet nothing, absolutely nothing but may owe Al Barack millions. Barrack has in his posession a court ordered judgment; REDjet does not. Mia Mottley fusses to the Nation News (July 2012) that government owes more than $100 million to the University of West Indies (UWI) Cave Hill Campus and called for an “urgent” permanent solution to the mounting debt problem. Laugh. Go ahead and laugh. Laugh, laugh, laugh. Government at moment may owe Al Barrack $77 million, a mounting debt problem that occurred because Arthur was into folly with Julie Price, had hit upon one of his drinking binges and or was sleeping. Barrack has in his possession a court ordered judgment, Bajans must pay. Mottley herself has taken posession of property likely without purchase. David Thompson investigated Violet Beckles claim of which involves the BLP administration, and the National Housing Commission (NHC), a government entity. . . . . moving tax numbers from one person with deed to another person with no deed and no proof of sale. . . . massive land fraud.

Speaking at a political meeting at the corner of Deacons Road, Owen Arthur said “the island had been humiliated by the recent S&P downgrade.”We have been reduced to junk status and someone has to be held responsible for it. He Arthur said also that the S&P downgrade report must be taken seriously, buttttttttt Violet Beckles. That old woman has been humiliated by massive land theft and fraud perpetraded by corrupt lawyers and high authorities in Barbados. This must be taken seriously. This must be taken seriously. Someone has to be held accountable. Al Barack, VECO, the Nigerian Water Heater Project; these things must be taken seriously. Someone has to be held accountable.

Obama’s accomplishments after the first 100 days include passage of the $787 billion economic stimulus plan; signing into law the expanded State Children’s Health Insurance Program (S-CHIP), that the White House says provides benefits to 4 million additional working families; signing the Ledbetter law requiring equal pay for women, etc. but Romney and the Republicans said he was a failure. The DLP government, since 2008 seems to have contributed nothing of significance but possibly could not contribute anything of significance simply because the BLP before them didn’t know what the hell they were doing. The financial mess in Barbados is self inflicted. Sooooooooo Send them a thank you card, Owen Arthur and the BLP.

According to BLP public statement [Facebook], “we cannot change what happened in the past, but the BLP has an enviable and proud record of keeping promises. Clyde Mascoll’s reply to Arthur’s 2004 budget happened in the past and cannot be changed:

“Mr Speaker, as I sat yesterday listening to the Right Honourable Member for St Peter, once again I became convinced that the Right Honourable Prime Minister does not have any clue as to where he wants to take this country Barbados.

The Right Honourable Prime Minister has no clear vision of the kind of Barbados that he wants to leave when he exists the political stage . . . . The Right Honourable Member for St Peter does not speak from a deeply-held philosophical position. His positions and policies reek of political opportunism and pragmatism. His blunderings and meanderings have been masked by excellent public relations machinery . . . .

“Mr Speaker, . . . He is an excellent and affable politician but as a manager, he is a monumental failure. He is reckless with spending the public’s purse and as a leader, he is a disappointment. Sir, with two of the biggest electoral mandates in our history, he has not moved us forward as a country. He has failed to inspire us as a people . . . .

“He has been afraid to take the tough decisions, which is the hallmark of great leaders . . . . He is afraid to offend his benefactors. Mr Speaker, Over the last ten years since the Right Honourable Member for St Peter became Minister of Finance, he has raised the national debt from $2.5 billion to $4.2 billion, an increase of $1.7 billion, which is approximately $1.1 billion in domestic borrowing and $600 million in foreign loans . . . .
    “Mr Speaker, in addition to that magnitude of borrowed funds, this Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Minister, had an additional $900 million more in taxes in one fiscal year, than the last Democratic Labour Party Finance Minister.

Mr Speaker, that would have given the Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Minister, $3.5 billion more at his disposal, than the Democratic Labour Party would have had in 1994. Sir, the national debt is not just an amorphous figure that we conjure up. It is money that our children and grandchildren would have to repay . . . .

“Mr Speaker, the thing about it is that this Prime Minister is a catastrophic failure, when you look at the fact he had more resources than any other Prime Minister in the history of Barbados. The Prime Minister has, in fact, not made good use of the resources available to him and when you look at the social state in Barbados, the decline in the ability to get housing, the decline in the health care delivery, the educational system, the transportation system, you have only to conclude that this Government has wasted the resources of this administration.

DLP members, send him a thank you card, Clyde Mascoll.

22. @ David
    Struggling to embed videos.

23. @enuff

If it is Youtube you only need to post the url, no HTML necessary. If it is still not working you may want to reload your browser or try another to eliminate the problem.

Checked WP forum and there are no similar complaints.

24. Total insult to Obama!!!

25. The DLP alike Obama has been tagged a one-term administration. Obama “without difficulty” has won a second term but his last; a president of the United States may serve only (2) terms. Funny, Omama for now has totally disarmed the Republican party known as the GOP, saying to them indirectly “it’s my way or the highway. The Republicans are now humilated but so very embarrased – have even distanced themselves from Mitt Romney. Owen Arthur and the BLP must win the upcoming election or somehow cheat to win.

26. Bajans are between a rock and a rock stone. The choice is to elect a non leader, or a tief. Right now, my suggestion is to go with the former and let the tief crawl back in his crab hole and disappear.

27. @ Konkieman

Violet Beckles we know claimed rights to Sex Men in St. Peter, Site of the existing Kenisington Oval, ABC Highway, the famed Sandy Lane Hotel, etc. David Thompson made effort to investigate Violet Beckles’ claim of which involves the BLP administration, and the National Housing Commission (NHC), a government entity. . . . . moving tax numbers from one person with deed to another person with no deed and no proof of sale. . . . massive land fraud.

Speaking at a political meeting at the corner of Deacons Road, Owen Arthur said “the island had been humiliated by the recent S&P downgrade.”We have been reduced to junk status and someone has to be held responsible for it. He Arthur said also that the S&P downgrade report must be taken seriously, buttttttttt Violet Beckles. That old woman has been humiliated by massive land theft and fraud perpetraded by corrupt lawyers and high authorities in Barbados. This must be taken seriously. This must be taken seriously. Someone has to be held accountable. Al Barack, VECO, the Nigerian Water Heater Project; these things must be taken seriously. Someone has to be held accountable.

Who? Who is a tief?

28. @ Austin

I also wondered what the planet the Dees live on when i first heard the comparison. Clearly it is not earth. Obama is 1/2 black and male so I suppose there is some similarity but I can’t see anything else.
    The first thing Obama did in the US was pass a stimulus package and a payroll tax cut to the middle class to try and revive the economy. He bailed out the banks and their car industry. Obama has always been a champion of the middle class; college students – they got free heath care and student loans; industry was supported (despite their ingratitude so was wall street) with subsidies and emergency bailouts. Here CLICO policy holders, hardworking bajan taxpayers are left in the wilderness with talk of ‘friends’ and ‘they were taking a risk so they should be prepared to lose it’. Coherent foreign policy – not like us talking up our support for the Palestinians then abstaining when it comes to vote on recognizing their statehood. I can’t understand why this government would try to channel Obama, just before his re-election, he was trying to pass a second stimulus but they are claiming a stimulus cannot work for Bim.

This government has been punitively taxed the middle class – boasting about how much money BNOC is raking in at the expense of the cost of living. Then heaping tax concessions on foreign investors to supposedly reduce the cost of living. How does that make sense? I heard a guy on the radio explain how the fluctuations in gas prices made it difficult for him to operate a courier business cause you can’t change your rates every minute to reflect the increase. How may other small businesses like landscapers, and deliverymen are in the same boat. But ministers like talking about people living beyond their means and sticking it to the middle class because it pleases their base, that reminds me more of the republicans frankly. They have no concept of how their policies affect the lives of people in Barbados and everything is a joke, now they are even joking about with the election date.
    2 year ago, I would have given them a chance, for real. the former administration never lacked competence but they got arrogant and lost touch with the people trust. Now, we need competence again. I hope they have learned their lesson and return to take out of this hole we are falling into.

29. ……..”The Deloitte report was stolen”.. Who could forget such absurdity and nonsense coming from the highest Office in the land..Poorrakey that’s what it is.. Question: stolen by whom and when, where?…..Did heshe come thru “The White House” window in the mid of the night?……Even if the document was misplaced…. did Deloitte not have copies ?….Is such the best that can be offered up to people you now carry down to the wire like luppy ‘living dogs’ by obviously soon Dead Lions?…Why the hold up for us to exercising our constitutional right anyway? Don’t you Lions think the outcome will be the same whether you do so now, or April 30th? Is this how we treat those who put you Kings of Beasts there in the first place to ravish us and make a mockery?

Oh come now Mr.Leo… bullshit us not anymore….WE READY TO VOTE…..grant us that..

30. @ Tired of This on 01/26/2013 – 1:51pm

Tired of This [poster], the DLP house is not clean. They, the DLP entertained friends but the wrong ones, Leroy Parris and Lawrence Dupre. The BLP house is also not clean. The BLP, though, with audacity barks at its DLP foe as though its house is clean or cleaner, it’s not. The light of Greed and corruption shines on both parties, the BLP and DLP but idiocy without doubt weighs more on the BLP side of the road. This is NOT DEBATABLE.

The Al Barack matter originated during the days of Arthur and the BLP. They know this, can’t hide it, that or the 75,000 campaign cheque that Arthur invited into his personal banking account. Both CLICO and Al Barrack are political issues and faces of both the BLP and DLP. Both, CLICO and Al Barrack however, positions the BLP on the losing end of the stick. Thompson and the DLP in 2008 accepted the Al Barrack problem without choice. Al Barrack in 2008 became Thompson’s problem but was FIRST Arthur’s problem. Barbados, Tired of This [poster] relies on too few things to survive, mainly tourism, should invent something and register a patent, should also consider additional cash crops – makes more sense than that Nigerian Water Heater Project – a lost of 2.4 million dollars. Ohhhhhhhh VECO (Alaska), can’t forget the VECO Corporation (Alaska), VECO is the height of delight. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall awarded VECO a government contract without tender. VECO built the prison at Dodds in St. Philip but had no record of building prisons and the prison project, low and behold extended millions over budget. They (Arthur, Mottley and Marshall) maybe now are slapping each other in the face like the goofy Three Stooges. Now, now Tired of This [poster] you said the former administration [BLP] never lacked competence. You said that 01/26/2013 @ 1:51pm. LOL

The Mottley family linked to Mia Mottley ALLEGEDLY purchased the Arch Cot land that couldn’t be built on and got planning permission within six months. The previous owner was denied planning permission. The Mottley family was not. The Codrington family totaling five all died at Arch Cot, Britton Hill; their home fell into a cave beneath it. This occurred during the BLP administration with Arthur at the helm. Those deaths at Arch Cot, Britton Hill could have been avoided. No building on that land should have been allowed. Dale Marshall, BLP member and attorney general at that time blamed no one, “it could have happened to any one” he said, BULLSHIT. That property Dale knew was linked to the Mottley family involving Mia Mottley and the incident occurred under the BLP government with Owen Arthur at the helm. Dale Marshall a fu**king “yes sir” man couldn’t and wouldn’t dare ruffle feathers of those whom he was closely associated. The BLP, said statement [FACEBOOK] “the DLP government is guilty of greed and incompetence” Truth is that both parties, BLP and DLP, exposed to Bajans their incompetence, greed and corruption. The DLP government according to Arthur has a moral responsibility to fix CLICO. Arthur like Thompson stepped down in CLICO mud. Arthur took CLICO money, just a lot less than Thompson. The BLP did nothing, absolutely nothing to resolve the Al Barrack mess that has ballooned quite so large. Al Barack alike CLICO has or will cost bajan taxpayers millions. The Supervisor of Insurance in 2006 you know issued a Cease and Decease Order against CLICO. Arthur and the BLP, AGAIN did nothing absolutely nothing. Soooooooooo, go ahead, do it, send them, Arthur and the BLP a thank you card.

31. The DLP have done more in 5 years when compared to the BLP 14 years, although the DLP is facing one of the world’s harshest recession it have been able to prioritize and put the interest of all Barbadians first. Thanks to the Hon. F Stuart who can be compared to President Obama for being prudent and calm in managing their respective economies…stop hating