Submitted by Bryant Brown
Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

The  opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) tried to pull a fast move on the DLP Government, but got trumped. The BLP managed to influence its support media Executive at Barbados Today, Roy Morris to pay CADRES to conduct a survey on the political climate in Barbados to date. Mind you, Roy is a strong supported of the BLP. According to the on-line paper, the survey was conducted between January 11th, 2013 and January 14th, 2013 in all 30 constituencies.

The survey was designed by CADRES Director, Peter W Wickham who has a gripe with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart over CBC not renewing his three-year contract with the broadcasting corporation. The PM is responsible for that entity.

The results of the survey were in Barbados Today’s Wednesday morning edition faster than you could blink. It was meant to give the BLP group of speakers meat to bash government at their planned mass political meeting at Heroes Square Wednesday Jan 16th 2013.  That meeting was to be held right outside the Senate Chambers which was meeting at the time and which actually ended debate about 8.30pm. There were no opposition members at that Senate debate since the total BLP MPs and Senators have boycotted both the Upper and Lower Chambers calling for general elections to be held.

Constitutionally the Parliament does not expire until midnight February 11th 2013 and general elections must be held within 90 days after. This was a skilful manoeuvre by the BLP strategists  but it backfired, leaving egg on their faces. The police refused permission for the event.

CADRES had asked respondents in the carefully crafted study by Peter, if they believed that elections were now overdue. Barbados Today explained that it should be noted that the phrase ‘overdue’ was preferred in this instance since the elections is clearly now due, and to ask about the election being “due” would have solicited an obvious response.

Peter also asked respondents if they believed that this was a good time to change the government. On what bases does he do?

This Republican Barbados Labour Party and detractors like Peter will get a rude awakening when general elections are held; what they expect will NOT happen. Just reflect on the US polling….OBAMA won hands down.

1. David you seem tio have a “Big Bone ” to pick with donville innis . first you called him a liar abot the BLP stampede to the lunch room which was backup by PM stuart and as of now whuich you have not retract the comment. now you finding fault cause he has instructed the electorate not to be fooled by gimmickry politics handed to them by the BLP whom as of now have not presented any hard issues to back up plans “if” any the might have to fix the economy.

2. @ac

Surely you are aware that Deputy Leader of the Opposition called Inniss a liar as well and it was carried in the Nation?

3. The other Big Bone we have to pick with Inniss is to ask how are the plans for the new hospital coming along and is his preferred site still Kingsland.

4. SO what ! the opposition job is to make the govt look bad everybody kniows that as “a given” However it makes me question “what is your Job” in making false accusations about innis.

5. BU question: Since the DLP blame the global recession for anything that is wrong in Barbados as it relates growth of any type ,,,, what explains the growth in the Ministry of “Finance” waist size. How is he getting fatter when bajans getting poorer and thinner?

but seriously….

The DLP has squandered enough time – PERIOD

The DLP had an opportunity 5 years ago to rethink our overall economic strategy in the face of a changing world and take “near” and “long” term actions to stabilize our economy and have some kind of growth, WHILE WHILE finding “innovation ways” to rebuild key sectors to our economy like tourism.

For example: A few months ago the DLP published a 260+ tourism plan that overall gets an “F” grade “total fluff”, “poor innovation ideas that clearly showed a lack of ICT know-how” “and simply prove that the DLP tourism leadership still don’t “get it” just ask any hotel owner.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | January 19, 2013 at 9:45 AM |
    “BU’s sense is that the private sector is with the BLP.
    Always has and always will be. From Plantation to Merchants the BLP is the party of massa and always get the majority of the elections bribe….sorry financing.”

And should we on BU conclude that the following entities are NOT part of the Barbados private sector?

JADA
    PRECONCO
    COST-U-LESS
    And the now dead giant CLICO who still own many plantations but its election bribing.. sorry, financing, arm now morphed into the FAMILIES FIRST Account.

7. @ac

Until Innis or anyone on that side come out and state who were the BLP MPs eating launch in the parliament cafeteria on the day of the boycott they are both liars.

These are different times, only the hacks swallow hook line and sinker what politicians say.

8. For too long we have allowed the politicians to laugh at we, the citizens. Both sides in the House conspire not to convene the Public Accounts Committee. Both sides conspire for the Committee of Privileges not to meet to discuss that David Estwick gun matter. They all conspire to keep their little club going. Some of us are not blind.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I ignored Carson’s goading so they send out the foolish lawyer to attack. You too sir will be ignored hereafter.

10. @Caswell

What do you mean? Details please. Expose them.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have promised not to out anyone on BU who wants to keep their identities secret. However, all that I can say is that: Carson is in mortal fear of Owen Arthur’s return since he would find it difficult to practice his profession because of the stance he has taken; and in Watching’s case, like him I have never come up short by $750,000 in my clients’account.

12. Now david you are beginning to sound silly. a proposal is not written in stone and changes can be added or removed and it doesn,t make sense to be making comments at the drop of a hat for sensation. you are on a mission to discredit Donville at every turn. not looking good on your part David.However Donville has done a good job in the area of health giving much needed upgrade to a QEH which was left in tatters by the BLP who could have afforded to do better in times iof oplenty.

13. @ac

You can believe what you want but BU like many are offended by the announcement that the site (Kingsland) which is being looked at to build a new hospital is just a flying the kite exercise. You can follow, BU will continue to ask the hard question. Guess what? At election time is a good time to ask them and we will be asking more of Innis. Read our next blog.

Again you have not been around BU from the start but last election BU was called by many the ‘DLP Mouth Piece”.

14. It has been reported in the press that the NHC building in Warrens is to be sold for $60 million. The proceeds of the sale are to be used to pay Barrack. However NO other details are provided! I believe that the sale of public (i.e State) assets should be a transparent process.

That said it is alleged told that a UK based trust will be the purchasers of the building. Further that the Government will enter into a lease arrangement for 20 years. This means that B’dos will get $60 million (all of which will go Barrack) and then B’dos will pay out over $140 million over the next 20 years at the end of which the asset will be owned by the foreign purchaser. So we (the citizens) will be not only lose an asset (the building) we will be out of pocket some $80 million. Also two Ministers are to be rewarded a $1 million each for facilitating this deal.

I really hope the Prime Minister as the paragon of integrity in public life will refute this allegation and make known the full details on the sale of the building.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 19, 2013 at 11:15 AM |

Why don’t you follow your own advice you gave two days ago and take a long nap.

You are beginning to sound like a silly repetitious bore trying to defend a blasted liar and exploiter of women and animals for personal financial aggrandizement.
    Go and do a Freundel. Sleep for a while! Come back when the bell rings.

16. FRENDEL STUART ,PRIME MINISTER FOR LIFE (so he thinks)

WILL GET A RUDE AWAKENING ON ELECTION NIGHT.
    HE IS STILL SLEEP WALKING AND TALKING GIBBERRISH
    FREUNDEL STUART IS FULL OF SHITE AND ONE THING ABOUT SHITE IS THAT IT EVENTUALLY COMES OUT WHETHER OR NOT YOU WANT IT TO COME OUT
    …AND SOMETIMES INSTEAD OF YOUR ARSE , IT COMES THROUGH YOUR MOUTH—-FREUNDEL
    —TIME IS UP
    FREUNDEL MUST GO

17. WRONG David ! i have not been around BU previous to the 2008 election. anyhow good to hear you asked questions but it seems that your “yard stick might be in need of an extension. …………………………………………………………………….@miller you “gully bore” what is your problem?

18. @ac

The BLP does not have to make the current DLP look bad …. They are BAD all by themselves with no help needed …

19. Instead of counting eggs in fowl bottom the BLP ought to remember wutless Tom Adams sober words” they listened to us in their thousands and voted for us in their hundreds”.

20. @passing thru
    One of Tom’s great traits was knowing when he was going to lose and how to fix it. 1971 was a perfect example.

One good quote deserves another.

“Tom realised with agonising certitude, that there was a pressing need…he could not communicate to his comrades…his sense of urgency. He could not convince Bernard St.John that defeat was staring them in the face. He (Bernard) seemed to share a sense of security in spite if Tom’s gloomy forebodings.” (Hoyos, 1988)

Sounds like a familiar scenario??

The DLP would do well to take a leaf out of Tom’s playbook where he “fought back like a tiger and won.”

Just Observing

21. Hi, observing this not 1971, the world has become a smaller and more connected place to live via social networking.people living in timbuktu can influence an election. not good to count eggs in fowl pouch botsey.

22. David of BU ,

What hard questions do you propose to ask. A few days ago you posited that Owen Arthur should respond to PM Stuart charge ” that owen asked PM Stuart to take Mia Mottley into the BLP fold”

Following the BLP meeting in Heroes Square last night….one of your first hard questions should have been this morning ” Owen what are your views on that allegation ?” ” Why you failed to address that issue in your first public meeting since it was made ? “

23. Ask and it shall be given Avatar
    Ask and it shall be given

David, unanswered to your question Until Innis or anyone on that side come out and state who were the BLP MPs eating launch in the parliament cafeteria on the day of the boycott they are both liars.

These are different times, only the hacks swallow hook line and sinker what politicians say

It was Mr Rawle Eastmond who had lunch and also ordered a takeaway and he also was in the lunch room the next day as well.

24. The rate at which Stuart is going BU will have time to ask all the hard questions don’t worry…lol.

If Rawle is the BLP MP seen in the cafeteria eating lunch then the charge that Inniss is a liar stands.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just got back in from canvassing in the constituency all morning and afternoon Interacting with REAL VOTERS.

Not EXTSTRAPOLATED VOTERS!

Can some one tell again what Peter Wickham’s Poll said?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“If Rawle is the BLP MP seen in the cafeteria eating lunch then the charge that Inniss is a liar stands.”

that lunch thing stick in your craw.

Barbados Labour Party

We boycotting Parliament, but not THE LUNCH ROOM!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I would advise all BLP parliamentarians to steer clear of macaroni pie.

it caused them real problems this week.

bunch of licorish people.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just visited an old lady. Ninety six years old. she said that the Barbados Labour Party promised to build for her a water toilet, they sent some guyanese to build it. Two weeks after they built some of the walls they collapsed on her daughter.

DLP had to turn around and build the water toilet for her. she is eternally grateful.

And the thing is, the whole family were die hard BLP supporters, but not any more!!!!!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“BU will continue to ask the hard question”

what hard question? you mean BLP question!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Oh yeah, before I forget, just as we were wrapping up our canvassing for the day, the BLP candidate for the area turned up with a FILM CREW trying to film constituents.

All I could hear was, “i in wan nuh picture tek. dah in nuh help to me”!

So they left with their tails between their legs.

I wonder why the BLP need film crews?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As I said before the real poll is coming, dont rush the brush. We will be in no doubt who are the winners and who are the losers.

Just remember all the polls had defeat for Chavez and obama!!

There is great danger in counting your chickens before they are hatched. I thought that the Barbados Labour Party had learned that lesson.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Came acroos lots of youngsters who are not registered. We promply gave them forms to register and and we will be collecting them.

More votes!!!!!!

33. @ David.. Your post at 10:45am tells why so many of us feel a sense of fustration even though we support our respective parties.However the timing of Anne Reid’s revelation certainly catches the eye and makes one begin to think conspiracy.Yes it spells trouble for the government,but would’nt a fair question be is the PSA’s decision based on confidence in Owen Arthur,or rooted in loyalty to the BLP?

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“However the timing of Anne Reid’s revelation certainly catches the eye and makes one begin to think conspiracy.Yes it spells trouble for the government”

It does not spell any trouble for the government.

Thr private sector owes the Government hundreds of millions of dollars.
    The government could use that money to push the country forward. It stands to reason that if the private sector can do so much with $40million just think how much more the government can do with $200million.

If stupid Anne Reid wants to do something, then seek a contra account with the government. Even with that arrangement the Government will still come up being owed just around $160million.

So who is the worst off?

35. OH DAVID! you so funny! who were the BLP ministers eating in the caferteria? David is that a hard question. sounds more like a paling cock crowing after midnight believing it is daybreak. David get serious .now that is one for the record books. not even the nation would touch that.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ HAMILTON HILL | January 19, 2013 at 3:57 PM |

The MoF as a defence to the claim by the PSA about government’s failure to settle bills is counter claiming that the Private Sector owes in excess of $200 million in tax arrears including VAT and more importantly NIS contributions.
    Isn’t this a massively sad reflection and shameful admission of his incompetence as a MoF?

No wonder the credit rating agencies have downgraded Barbados. What’s the sense of levying or increasing taxes if they are not collectible or can’t be collected?
    How does he expect to reduce the fiscal deficit and to exercise sound fiscal management in order to restore the financial integrity of the country and attract both local and foreign investment in the economy?

Is he (the MoF) going to publish the list of all those private sector business crooks who have collected VAT from poor innocent consumers and refuse to pay it over to the VAT Office?

Is he going to publish the names of those employers who deducted NI contributions from the pay packets of the hardworking Bajan workers but criminally fail to pay the contributions over to the NIS to ensure workers future benefits and entitlements are protected?

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | January 19, 2013 at 4:08 PM |
    “If stupid Anne Reid wants to do something, then seek a contra account with the government. Even with that arrangement the Government will still come up being owed just around $160million.”

For a man who claims to be some ‘financial controller” (or is it stock controller) in the hotel sector what an awful lot of misleading crap emanating from the brains of an idiot.

The PSA is not a commercial or trading entity having some kind of parental control over it subsidiaries in the private sector.
    A contra account will only work where an individual private sector business is owed by the government and in turn owes the government.

What about those individual businesses which are up-to-date with their statutory obligations but the government owes them VAT refunds or for supplies invoices many months in arrears or overdue?
    What will government do about those businesses ( after setting of the two debts-(contra accounting) still owing millions in VAT, corporation taxes, PAYE &NIS deductions and contributions?
    Do you believe that small businesses like Adrian Loveridge’s P&Q should suffer because of an incompetent braggadocio minister that only thing he is able to grow is his own abdominal girth?

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | January 19, 2013 at 4:39 PM

Dont be an idiot if they are encouraged to pay the Government what they owe then the government will have the wherwithal to meet its commitments.

Simple as that. All stupid Anne reid is doing is spitting up in the air and it is coming back down in her face.

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones. She should do all in her power to get the delinquents to fess the cash and the government will have more than enough to pay all who it owes.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

They complain that the government owe them $40million but they fail to mention that they owe the government $200million which they refuse to pay.

What sort of knuckle heads are we dealing with?

No wonder the astute Trinidaians are buying up everything in Barbados, they realised that they are dealing with idiots masquerading as business people in Barbados.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

Tell ADRIAN LOVERIDGE to see if he can a Trinidadian to buy his place.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | January 19, 2013 at 4:56 PM |

You are the one who is the blasted idiot.
    Do you know what the term “STATUTORY OBLIGATIONS” means?
    Listen up stupid Carson, the monies collected from customers via VAT and the NI contributions and PAYE deducted from workers pay DO NOT belong to the businesses or the employers. These monies must be paid over with in the legally required timeline.

Go and frig around with the corporation taxes or other business taxes like property rates but not VAT, PAYE or NI contributions.

The same way the government can haul petty robbers and ganga smokers before the Courts (no pun intended) why not business crooks and gangsters in high places or do you condone this kind of administration once the DLP is in power?

42. @Hamilton Hill

Made a similar comment in response to ! this morning. The timing of the announcement sends a signal that the private sector is coalescing around an anti DLP position.

Another disaffected group which has to be factored in any reelection analysis.

43. but wait, hold on, what is Carson C. Cadogan? is that bajan business ppl are idiots or is it that the BLP selling everything to the Trinidaians?

would you please stick to one lie per story, i getting to old for these kind of lies.

44. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

David (not BU) | January 19, 2013 at 5:11 PM |
    but wait, hold on, what is Carson C. Cadogan? is that bajan business ppl are idiots or is it that the BLP selling everything to the Trinidaians?

would you please stick to one lie per story, i getting to old for these kind of lies.

LOL LOL —LOUD LOL

45. @David (not BU)

Dems cannot help themselves. They are desperate!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BLP are the ones who are desperate!
    Remember a certain BLP MP saying, you tink it easy being in opposition.

A BLP MP that his suit is too big for him now.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Any way back in the field on sunday.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM OVER AT BARBADOS FREE PRESS

“but Barbados before entrance of David Thompson and the DLP in 2008 was not financially sound. Three S&P downgrades proves this. Before 2008 Owen Arthur and the BLP enjoyed fourteen years of government rule; the result is ultimately a ship wrecked Barbados. The DLP government, since 2008 seems to have contributed nothing of significance but possibly could not contribute anything of significance simply because the BLP before them didn’t know what the hell they were doing. The financial mess in Barbados is self inflicted. Send them a thank you card, Owen Arthur and the BLP”

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A BIT MORE FROM BARBADOS FREE PRESS

“Everything happens for a reason. There is a reason for everything under the sun. The supervisor in 2006 issued a cease and decease order against CLICO. Owen Arthur in 2006 did not trumpet this, the cease and decease order of which he had knowledge, but Chris Sinckler’s asset’s, the recent S&P downgrade and Dr. Leslie Worrell he did. There is certainly a reason.”

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | January 19, 2013 at 5:48 PM |
    “Any way back in the field on sunday.”

Which field is that? The cane field that your boss man wants to return incomeptent idiots like you to?
    While you are there in the cane piece get Sinckliar to join you to do some real sweating instead of living the sweet life leading to a massive heart attack in the waiting.

Where is the EWB day picnic going to be held? Down Bath again? Why not in St. Lucy at the Father of the Nation place of birth.

Will you be there to hold the mike for Freundel when he announces the date of the lections? That will be the date you letter of termination become effective, Carson.
    But Prodigal or Onions can put in a word for you if you behave yourself on this blog and stop the lies.

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply