Austin
Austin

Each day the poor DLP leadership continues under PM Stuart – “the food lines for those homeless and in need get LONGER”. Each day that the poor leadership in the Ministry of Tourism continues – “we lose more and more hotels and small businesses that depend on this vital sector of our economy”.

Each day the DLP continues to blame the global recession for all or most of our national challenges – “other Caribbean nations are innovating and reinventing themselves to meet the demands of a changing world and region”.

Each day the DLP continues in power – “the recession of ideas and effective governance continues”.

Each day more and more Bajans are increasingly feeling the impact of the last (5) years of total government under-performance (beyond the impact of the global recession).   Another (5) years of the DLP will render the Barbados we know today “unrecognizable”.

We are in serious times people and the time for voting DLP because common quote “my daddy and mummy vote DLP so I voting DLP” is OVER.  We as bajans have to use our heads, rise above the daily political games and elect a government that has the best chance for improving our lives in Barbados.

Based on what we have seen over the last (5) years with the DLP, we must unfortunately “throw” the baby (PM Stuart) out with the bath water (DLP cabinet).

163 responses to “PM WAKE UP You’re Unintentionally Destroying Barbados With EACH DAY, Do What’s Best For Barbados Sir, LET THE BAJAN PEOPLE DECIDE NOW”

1. It is possible to be so smart that you end up in your owe universe, detached from reality… this is where PM Stuart is and has been.

2. @yardbroom

That 18year old you drinking NOT to get drunk is a few days of food for poor people in barbados with every sip.

You drink and not get drunk … like we need PM Stuart for another term ….

Pure nonsense

3. This election is to save and help poor people in barbados by creating a growth economy.

middle DLP supporters who only care about your picks, and not poor people .. time is up … get the CV ready ….

4. Hi Austin
    I cannot speak for others here. I have never had any enrichment from the DLP, neither do I seek favours in terms of a pick. I blog simply because I am a Bajan. . . no more than that. I have the interest of POOR Bajans at heart but my interest is not in dependency – or a pick – but on how politicians can show a way for our children, and their children. So that we do not have the divisions that stifle real talent and which relagates Bajans of a certain class to always live below the poverty line, regardless of which Party is in power.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Bush Tea | January 18, 2013 at 2:12 PM
    – by “winning” did you mean having the privilege of getting cussed by Sir Roy, Mary Red, the Eager 11, Bushie, Caswell, BU, Owen, Miller (especially Miller ), ….and everyone else….?

Let me set the record straight regarding my assessment of FJS as PM.
    I was one of the first to ask that we give the new PM time to settle in and even backed him when he was presumably about to be stabbed in his back by the so-called Eager 11.
    Even his promise (on his return from Trinidad to solve the fishing dispute) to appoint a new GG ‘very very’ early in the new year of 2012 was accepted by the miller.

The miller was also inclined to give him a chance in light of OSA’s coup on Mia to prove himself worthy of the crown. The miller patently advised him through his mouthpiece Carson C. Cadogan to call elections before May 2012 and to obtain a mandate from the people in his own right. Even an early May 2012 poll would have been to his advantage and would have been an ideal birthday gift from the nation.

Even his big faux pas (initially thought to be born out of naïveté and ignorance of the dark underworld of finance) in supporting a known conman and crook right on the floor of Parliament was initially treated with kid gloves hoping he would have realized the folly of his position and subsequently distanced himself from this crook and PR deathtrap.

But what have we gotten from the man? In the first instance a man who doesn’t care expressing his unswerving loyalty to a crook even in the face of forensic evidence contained in a report that was conveniently stolen to avoid taking action.

And to add salt to the wounds of the CLICO policyholders continues to engage the services of this conman as a consultant at the taxpayers’ expense and promise them the impossible o f returning their investment without a severe haircut to the principal portion of the their stolen investment.

Now the lying trait is something the miller never associated with the man but the numerous occasions leave much to be desired in this aspect of his integrity genome.
    Upfront lying to school children about calling elections and then to admit he knew when he was going to call elections since March 2011, 5 months after assuming full Prime Minister responsibility is tantamount to robbing them of their idealistic innocence and portrays a bad impression of politicians as role models.

Absolving all your fellow Parliamentary colleagues from any perceived past wrongdoings and associations with corruption or graft was indeed magnanimous and stupendously statesmanlike. But to turn around and threaten them with possible exposure and charges along with receiving “notes” to destroy the impression of political unity and incestuous harmony in the BLP are stretching your credibility credentials really too far.

It is here I stand with FJS. A total let down and abject failure! A mini Lance Armstrong and pigmy Mugabe on the horizon that needs to be nipped in the bud.

6. Austin have you got no shame accusing yard broom as being Drunk. How about the RT hon.he is well known fuh opening plenty bottles.

7. Austin why are you accusing Yardbroom of drinking.

It is me who drinking. Hants is not Yardbroom.

I in Canada in -7c weather so my drinking is justified.

8. Austin this one fuh you

9. Hants | January 18, 2013 at 1:44 PM |

“Gine home early today and sip on a little 18 year old Single Malt. I emulating Owen although uh hear he prefer his likka white.”

See Austin? It was me not Yardbroom. Yardbroom is a gentleman…..I think.

10. I thought it was Hants who was going home to open the 18 year old Scotch. I did not see where Yardbroom said on the blog that he is an imbiber of any kind. So how could he be drunk, especially at that time of day?

11. @ac

For your information Arthur is a bad diabetic, his drinking days are over.

12. Hi Hants,
    18 year old Single Malt? what a cellar of only the best you must have. Hi Pat & AC, – Thanks – I had no idea what he/she was on about.

13. i think it is austin who is drunk . check the article that sure came from the mind of a person high on spirits.

14. David | January 18, 2013 at 7:33 PM |

i didn’t know that he was a diabetic! , sumbody tells me that diabetics is one of a side effect from the consumption of too much alcholic beverages . 14years is a long time No wonder!

15. If you intend to do a good job, being a parliamentarian is not an easy job. I am speaking as someone who was involved in politics for years, and I was even a personal assistant to a minister. And having served in that capacity, I know only too well how difficult the job can be. That said however, I have seen the members of parliament who form the Government functioning at their incompetent best. They aspired to become MPs and now that they have achieved their goals, they now find that the burden of the office is to onerous to bear, but the salary and perks are too much to let go without a fight.

16. Austin – I tell you call Jose y Jose and the other sewage collectors before you start to write and spew your sh**e.Stupse.

17. @Caswell “they now find that the burden of the office is to onerous to bear, but the salary and perks are too much to let go without a fight.”
    I am sure that the salary and perks were not a factor in Muscle Mary coming back after he said that he finished with that. I look forward to the BLP manifesto promising to cut MP salaries. Keep dreaming.

18. One of the biggest lies that the BLP keeps repeating is that the rest of the Caribbean is doing so well- you see if you repeat this , it is the only way to put the blame solely on the DLP government.
    But what the hell is the BLP talking about?
    Check the facts – St. Lucia PM complaining about the St. Lucia fiscal deficit as the highest as a percentage of GDP in the region and with over 20% unemployment.
    Jamaica in the hands of the IMF.
    St. Vincent dealing with the IMF.
    Grenada with over 25% unemployment.
    Antigua dealing with the IMF.
    Is this the better than Barbados that the BLP is speaking about?
    Don’t believe the BLP lies. Barbados is doing very well in the context of what is happening to tourism dependent economies across this region.
    There has never been a sustained period of growth in the Barbados economy without a simultaneous boom in the economies of our major trading partners.Don’t believe the BLP lies.

19. Yardbroom wrote “what a cellar of only the best you must have.”

No sir. 1 bottle of the best for me ,myself and I and the usual JW black, Mount Gay and ( ESAF white in the frosted bottle in fuh when any real Bajan rum drinkers drop in.

20. @ Hants,

Ha,ha,ha! You too funny. I thought I was the only Bajan who practised those tactics. ha, ha ha. I have even emptied one alcohol in another bottle. lol. Some of these Bajans dont know what dey be drinking.

21. balance | January 18, 2013 at 5:05 PM |
    DON’T YOU THINK WE ARE PLACING TOO MUCH EMPHASIS ON THE RESULTS OF THE CADRES POLL. POLLS DO NOT VOTE, PEOPLE DO AND THE FACT OF THE MATTER IS THAT THE DLP IS STARTING THE RACE WITH FIVE SAFE SEATS WHEREAS THE BLP IS ONLY STARTING WITH TWO.

Do tell which two: St.Peter, St.Michael North East, Christ Church West, St. Thomas?

22. @!
    Barbados was doing well (definitely better than now) on January 15, 2008 as well. Yet we changed governments. Get the picture?

“Sustained growth”

Why would you think that the average voter wants or even expects sustained growth? Bajans ain’t stoopid. The DLP will be voted out for different reasons….all of which only serve to amplify the genuine economic concerns.

Cost of living, the economy, unemployment. 74% of B’dos concerned about economic matters, and the best our politicians and policy makers can say is

“We are doing well”
    “We are stable/stagnant”
    “We expect reasonable growth”
    “The worst has past us”
    “It is not our fault”
    “Major projects are on stream”
    “Our policies will work in 10-15 years”
    “The MTFS is working beautifully”
    “There is only one path”
    “It is a society as well as an economy”

The DLP will be voted out for naievete, arrogance, piss poor messaging, taking Bajans for idiots, setting horrible examples while begging for restraint and not being forthright, upfront and in honest communication with the people of Barbados in perhaps the most critical time in our history

I’m tempted to say that CS, JI, DB and DW didn’t do much to help the cause but hey, who am I to cast blame.

Observing

23. observing@ !

The DLP will be voted out for naievete, arrogance, piss poor messaging, taking Bajans for idiots, setting horrible examples while begging for restraint and not being forthright, upfront and in honest communication with the people of Barbados in perhaps the most critical time in our history

well observing your assesment also rings especially true to the BLP govt of the last 14years. Typical BLP having a case of “foot and mouth disease”.

24. Yes ac. It rings completely true for the BLP of 14 years. That’s why they were voted out .

Just Observing

25. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 7, 2013 IS A BIG DAY FOR BARBADOS AND FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2013 AN EVEN BIGGER DAY FOR 1 POLITICAL PARTY…

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Smooth Chocolate | January 19, 2013 at 8:36 AM |

Are you sure you date of February 7 is sufficiently informed?

I speak under correction (Caswell to advise but not Legalese) but a period of 14-21 days are required for nomination day and polling day to take place. If Parliament is dissolved on Tuesday January 22 then only 16 days would have elapsed between the date of dissolution of Parliament and actual Polling day if it is going to be the 7th February.

Wouldn’t the 16 days from Tuesday coming be a bit tight on all parties including the Electoral & Boundaries Commission to conduct such large and defining elections?
    But you might just be right because during the following week there are important dates in the Christian calendar. First will be the start of the Lenten season Ash Wednesday and the next day the 14th a real RED letter day Valentine’s day when red will be the Ruling colour. One suspects he will go for the following week.

The following are relevant sections of the Representation of the People Act:- CAP. 12:

CONDUCT OF ELECTIONS
    36. (1) For the purposes of every election, the Governor-General
    shall issue a writ under the Public Seal addressed to the returning
    officer for the constituency for which the election is to be held. Every
    such writ shall be forwarded to the Supervisor of Elections for
    transmission to the returning officer to whom it is addressed.

(2) Every writ issued for the purposes of subsection (1) shall be in
    the Form 2 set out in the Third Schedule and shall specify the day of
    nomination of candidates, the day upon which, if necessary, the poll
    shall be taken, being not less than 14 and not more than 21 clear days
    thereafter, and the day the writ is returnable to the Governor-General.

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

You are correct the minimum period between a dissolution of Parliament and Election Day is 21 days.

28. however Observing that a five term govt is guilty of the same offences as the BLP who had a long reign of 14 yrs. that is where i disagree. the BLP was arrogant ! even up to this day while being in opposition the leadership thumbs it nose at the public in defiance of not showing up for work. can you name one such minister in govt who has done so even when publicly “called out” . one must believe that such leadership is representative of good govt. this and other issues the electorate would be bear in mind

29. 5 years is a long time for anyone to sit and watch the current DLP be totally ineffective at navigating barbados through these challenging economic times … not to mention having to look at a failure of a PM who lives in a bubble.

30. @austin
    I’m switching hats here so forgive me in advance..

Which (tourism dependent) country has managed to “effeectively navigate these harsh economic times?” Feel free to draw on an statistical data if you can.

What aspects/areas would you give Freundel a failing grade in as Prime Minister? Please understand the job description of Prime Minister before you answer.

For balance I must say totally agree with your USA-OBAMA. analysis a little earlier although at other times I accept you as a full red blooded BLP card carrying contributor 🙂

Observing objectively

31. @ac

i didn’t know that he was a diabetic! , sumbody tells me that diabetics is one of a side effect from the consumption of too much alcholic beverages . 14years is a long time No wonder!………………

ac,
    What is the hell is your beef with OSA? Could God, woman, you are annoying! Do you know that Freundel Stuart is a diabetic also? What is the point? What does OSA being a diabetic have to do with you? Diabetes is so prevalent these days, one has to be so careful, it is nothing to gloat over. One thing for sure, OSA has never fainted in public three times like Freundel Stuart! Have you forgotten that the GANG of 11 wanted to use this as the reason to ask him to step down???

We on this blog who support the BLP criticise Freundel’s laziness, his lack of vision to take this country forward and the fact that he has overstayed his welcome as a PM, not his personal health matters!

Deal with the facts and leave out people’s personal business. Did not the Dems tell Barbadians when David Thompson was ill that it was none of their business? Since you were delving into OSA’s business, why did you not say that David Thompson was a heavy drinker of Absolut Vodka which contributed to his pancreatic cancer. Would this not be fair? Oh, I forget, you dont know how to, you see things only through DLP lenses!

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 19, 2013 at 3:57 PM |

Good!
    Ac needed that verbal ‘cut-ass’ to put her in her rude place.
    Those who live in glasshouses must not throw stones. It’s like Donville calling people fat and overweight.
    She has lost the rational argument and debate so she resorts to mudslinging at OSA her bugbear who has gained almost 10 percentage point in the leadership race.

I will call Fumble a liar because there is evidence to prove it. Just check the Sun on Saturday with the little school boy in a tête-à tête with the ba liar.

33. @Prodigal Son & Miller

Where we differ is that the personal health of our leader(s) is the public’s business.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 19, 2013 at 5:00 PM |

Agree in principle. But only if it established as a canon or openly accepted convention in our system of prime-ministerial governance similar to what prevails in the USA with the President.
    A PM would have to undergo regular health checks (both physical and mental) especially one before taking up the post. Do you think a lie detector test (polygraph) would be part of that mental health check? LOL!!!

35. @Miller

Given the pressure of the job it makes sense for us to look at it. Too many of our PMs are dying in office.

36. I agree with you David. I believe that the health of the Prime Minister, and of the Leader of the Opposition is our business.

Cud dear man. if I was hiring a baby sitter to look after littlest Johnny I would want to know if the applicant for the job is in good health or not. None of us want the baby sitter to faint when she is giving 12 week old Johnny his bath. Or have the cook pass out at the stove, or the or the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Opposition passing out on the job. None of us wanted Tom Adams, or Errol Barrow, or David Thompson dying on the job. It is damn inconvenient for us when the Prime Minister ups and dies on the job.

Our leader’s health is our business

37. Pat wrote, ” I have even emptied one alcohol in another bottle.”

Let me be pellucid. I do NOT do that.

I just keep that one bottle for only those who like scotch and can appreciate the delicate taste of a quality liquor. Me,myself and I.

Now on a more serious note, if Owen has stopped drinking it is really problematic.
    The Barbados rum industry has lost its best Brand ambassador.

I do wish him well and hope he has a doctor as good as Georgie Porgie taking care of him.

38. @ Hants

If you had an old Bajan alcoholic woman who came every evening after supper for her nightcap – three glasses of my Remy Martin VSOP, and never so much as a picture postcard at Christmas, not even inviting you for a day old fish cake, what would you do? Well, I am polite and she is an old lady. So, I bought a nice bottle of St. Remy French Brandy and emptied it into one of my cognac bottles and she did not even know the difference. She is still alive, in her 90’s (thanks to good cognac) and going strong. She now lives too far to saunter over every evening for her cognac.

I had another piece of tail who when we first met pretended that he was an abstainer, “dont drink, it is not good for you”. He only wanted coffee. Then I noticed my Jack Daniels disappearing. Then to add insult to injury, my $129. bottle of special oak Maccallans (at the LCBO it is kept under lock and key) went down like a leaking tap. So I decided to taste his coffee and discovered that my good liver destroyer was in it. Needless to say, he got a good Bajan cussing and a swift kick to the curb last July. Have not seen him since don’t want to see him ever. I recently found out that a bottle of Glenfiddich I had to the back unopened was half emptied.

Met a mutual friend lately who told me he is an alcoholic. How do these alcoholics find my liquor cabinet?

39. @Miller
    A PM would have to undergo regular health checks (both physical and mental) especially one before taking up the post. Do you think a lie detector test (polygraph) would be part of that mental health check? LOL
    Still searching for truth? Would you get off that Appolonian bandwagon before you fall and dent something? You are the only one who wants a virtuous politician from the DLP and given whom you support that is the equivalent of speaking out of both sides of your mouth.

Is lying to a child of greater import than lying to the Nation? When you were a little boy and you asked your mother “Mum where do babies come from”? Did she sit you down and talk about penises and vaginas or did she say “I don’t know ask your father”. I’ll bet she didn’t tell you the truth and I hope that you’ve forgiven her for that but who knows.

Any way your veracity challenged PM in waiting lied to the Nation but in your opinion that’s of no consequence but you can colour me “Partisan”

40. @ miller in reference to prodigal tirade..Did i tell a lie. Now be honest?

41. @Pat
    I had another piece of tail who when we first met pretended that he was an abstainer
    This wimmins lib ting gone too far when a woman could describe a man as a “piece of tail’, next ting yuh gwine be making booty calls and kicking we to de curb after we perform (or fail to perform) our duties.

Pat how cum you couldn’t smell de alky on his breath? Didn’t you canoodle in de missionary position? Are you sure you aren’t making dis up?

Dis is a political blog so I gwine shut my trap before de webmaster accuse de Canucks of subjecting his blog to some kind a carnality.

PS: Pat I know it gets awfully cold in Bytown.

42. Sargeant wrote “Dis is a political blog” and “subjecting his blog to some kind a carnality.”

This blog is about politicians fcuking “the people”.

Can’t get more carnal than that.

Fcuk is a very successful cosmetics brand.

43. @Hants
    This blog is about politicians fcuking “the people”.
    Pithy! Pithy! Pithy!!!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | January 19, 2013 at 7:24 PM |

Since both are liars let’s settle for the more technically competent one to manage the economy.
    BTW, OSA never claimed to be a man of upmost integrity; just one fighting demons within some of which he managed to wrestled to the ground like the beast of Ephesus.

The analogy about the birds and the bees don’t wash here, Sarge.
    He not only lied to the little child but to the entire nation including you. But what can one expect from a man of your moral stature willing to sell your soul to the devil to protect a liar just like Freundel protects his crooked pal Leroy. Birds of a feather tend to fly together.

“It’s discouraging to think how many people are shocked by honesty and how few by deceit.” ~Noël Coward, Blithe Spirit

45. RE HANTS
    I do wish him well and hope he has a doctor as good as Georgie Porgie taking care of him.

I NOT IN THAT OK.? rEMEMBER THE LAST TIME I DIAGNOSED A PM ON THIS BLOG AS JAUNDICE ??? CAUSE AND CORRECTLY SUGGESTED CARCINOMA OF THE PANCREAS

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | January 19, 2013 at 7:32 PM |

@ miller in reference to prodigal tirade..Did i tell a lie. Now be honest?

To be honest ac, it’s impossible for you not to lie regarding anything to do with OSA or the BLP.
    It’s like (according to your playbook of lies) OSA looking in the mirror and denying he ever drank white rum. Ask Carson or Sarge.

For you not to lie about OSA and the BLP would require the miraculous work of Jesus’s twin brother Bonnke to raise Sir Charles Babbage from the dead to deprogramme your robotic motherboard for a brain designed by DLP Software Inc. located at No.1 Cesspool Hse, Lying Alley, George St.

Trust the diagnosis was of assistance!

47. @Miller
    You don’t have to remind all of my moral failings, I can assure you that I struggle to improve daily. Recently a fundamental part of your argument against FJS is that he lies to small children which is the equivalent of catching at straws, show me a politician who doesn’t lie and I’ll buy that beachfront property in St. George. If you debate competency perhaps you may be on firmer ground, but to perpetuate the argument about truthfulness is comical and uninspiring.

Isn’t it curious that a little child would ask the PM about the Election date? Was he doing someone’s bidding? What is the minimum age for the BLP youth arm? Behind every precocious child is an adult who he/she is mimicking or imitating and some smart parent decided to send their little angel to ask the PM about the election date, is politics uppermost in the thoughts of young Bajan children?

Since an election is in the offing I’ll ask the blog master to award Geppettos for the most outrageous lie uttered on the political platform daily, the scale would be 5 Geppettos for the most egregious, 4 for a bold face lie,3 for a stranger to the truth,2 for a mild lie etc. Since the campaign has not kicked off yet I’ll award 5 Geppettos from the last session of Parliament for this statement ‘‘ I sometimes wished I was at Cabinet when that came”.

48. Can’t wait to see the outcome of elections, and the fallout.

49. It is amazing that in a country that boasts of a high level of literacy among its citizens, we can have membeers of a former 14 year old BLP administration going around the country fouling up the night air – alleging that the DLP administration has overstayed its time in office – and as such the whole of Barbados is DISGUSTED .

Funny enough – DAVID of BU fame has joined this peurile debate !

Now, here are some interesting considerations :
    1. The life of this current DLP administration ends at midnight on 11 February 2013 – this is in sync with the supreme law of the land – the Barbados Constitution.

THEREFORE, the BLP charge of the DEMS being an illegitimate administration is unfounded since we are only at 20 Jan 2013.

2. All across the globe one can recall the glaring images of people / citizens rising up against administrations that have overstayed their time in office. Which government agency or private sector agency in Barbados for that matter has ceased to function and taken to the streets because the DLP administration is still in office on this day 20 Jan 2013 ?

THEREFORE, the BLP charge of the DEMS being an illegitimate administration is unfounded and designed to sully Barbados reputation – since we are only at 20 Jan 2013.

The BLP is clearly showing it has no regard for the CONSTITUTION of Barbados – since when has MORALITY became Owen Arthur’s friend ?

Leave a Reply to AustinCancel reply