Submitted by Yardbroom
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

In arriving at a just determination, when a plethora of evidence must be examined by a properly constituted tribunal,  it is often best to decide first on what can be agreed on.  In the Alexandra issue it is agreed – or appears – that the problems there started before the term of this DLP Government.  However, when elected to government  problems should be solved which you inherited, that is the nature of being elected to govern.  So the problems despite their history must be solved by this administration.

In the first instance  Prime Minister Freundel Stuart stood back and was criticised for so doing.  With a cabinet consisting of Ministers with portfolios in charge of respective departments, they are expected to discharge their responsibilities.  A Prime Minister should not be seen as a dictator, he must allow his ministers an opportunity to make decisions.  When the problem of Alexandra appeared intractable the Prime Minister agreed to meet with BSTU and if the speech made by them after the meeting is to be believed, they were listened to.  In politics being cordially welcomed and politely listened to does not always mean an agreement with your stated position.

The Prime Minister decided having listened to the complex issues involved, to go the route of a Commission Of Inquiry.  Here (On BU) there was “some”  disagreement with this course of action.  However, this decision gave the electorate to whom the Government is ultimately responsible an opportunity to learn first hand of the issues involved and form an impression – on the plausibility of evidence – of the major players giving evidence before the Commission.

Why is Alexandra important?

(a) Most of us have children and like the majority of the Barbados population have been to school.

(b) We have at some time therefore interacted with Heads and teachers.

(c) We want our children to have a rounded education, in an environment that is conducive to learning.

We have an issue which is complex but to which the electorate can “relate.”  It matters not if you support BSTU or Mr. Broomes, the situation at Alexandra could not continue as it was.  It is a teaching establishment, where it is “alleged” the teachers could not co-exist in peace and harmony,when discharging their duties; one has to question what were the core values being taught.  It was finally decided that a cancerous root had taken hold and in order to make a fresh start, drastic action was needed.

The transfers were many but so were the problems.  Can any “reasonable person ” believe that after a meeting with the Prime Minister of Barbados, the findings of a Commission of Inquiry and an order signed on behalf of the Governor General of Barbados we could go back to the “status quo” as if nothing has happened.

There is talk of the transfers being “punitive”, are we expected to believe that after the evidence at the COI the blame lies only with Mr. Broomes and only he should be separated/transferred from Alexandra, would that be justice?  If you accept there is fault on both sides, then both sides should be admonished.  Even if “mitigation” is warranted it does not extend to the point where the impression is that one side has escaped unscathed.

The teachers at Alexandra like “most” teachers in Barbados have the interest of their students at heart and in the main are honest decent people and try with due diligence to do what is best for them.  How then have we arrived at this impasse? It is because they have become entangled in a situation where like snowflakes, they are snared in a snowball rolling downhill at speed, around which is tightly tied a red scarf flailing frantically in an icy wind.

There is also a feeling they must show solidarity with colleagues, some of whom they have known for many years.  If you are not part of an inclusive group; a staff room can be a “lonely place” particularly for those who transgress unwritten rules.  Often some staff members only go there to collect mail or read notices and dread passing through the school gates in the morning and that is not because the task of teaching causes fear.  That is the human aspect of this situation, to them much sympathy is extended.

Alexandra (Greek) feminine form of Alexander a name sometimes given to the Goddess Hera is usually taken to mean: “One who comes to save warriors”.  It would be ironic would it not, if the astute leadership skills demonstrated by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart – you may disagree- has caused she – Alexandra – to come to the aid of a true warrior and so define the outcome of the next Barbados General election.

1. what die david

2. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

BEC, BCCI and BPSA all public against national strike, and Sir Roy out to all with guns blazing!

When has such entities ever supported any action taken by the Union. Would they come out and support a strike. Come on Friends, Comrades
    Is this some kind of trick

Even some workers are opposed to strikes but strikes happen anyhow. Contrary to comments that I have read throughout the day, the Strike is still a potent weapon.

The Union must demonstrate that it is serious. The Government must provide the enabling environment so that there would be industrial relations peace and not war

3. @Observing

Ms. Redman and her crew have been disrespectdul to the CPO and I say to her meet after they have cooled down , even though nothing will be undone, this will give them an opportunity to save some face.

4. @Miller

it takes a jackass like u to know that the pm is a blasted fool, atleast he is move civilized than u and ur mind is still in the canefield, wow.

5. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Its interesting that two powerful men are now holding –DATES– over our heads like the sword of Queen Elizabeth, the one she used to knight Sir Garfield Sobers:

SIR LEROY —is holding the National Strike date to his chest-I think he is just playing games anyhow. There will be no National Strike (Island-wide Shutdown)-Its a Bluff from an old Bluffer

HON . Freundel Stuart (a product of my alma mater) is holding the National Elections (General Elections ) date close to his chest.

Both of them are playing games.
    This is what people who feel that they have some hold on the masses do to the masses.
    Keep them in suspense while showing off
    Both of them are just showing off
    Having said all of this I am still supporting Sir Leroy but I feel that there will be no strike. There will be a one hour March and that is all–The Grand Old Duke of York is at it again
    Shades of the early 1990s

6. “The public sentiment on the AX issue is with the transfers and the DLP administration, period. Down wid dat”
    Well Said. Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley at loggerheads again. That is a boiling cauldron that can only be covered up for so long. Arthur cannot stand her and vice versa. BLP DIVIDED but taking acting lessons.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | January 11, 2013 at 5:41 PM |
    “it takes a jackass like u to know that the pm is a blasted fool, atleast he is move civilized than u and ur mind is still in the canefield, wow.”

The miller is a jackass so that gives him the power to know when a blasted ass is playing the fool with this country’s future; not so, TPP?
    The miller will prefer to have a cane field worker as his pal any day than a crooked leprous idiot called bulling Greenverbs as a bosom buddy and special advisor.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Additional Services

Your comment at 9:18 am betrays a total misunderstanding of the term, “due process”. It is not a gift from anyone. It is the legal right of all persons dealing with Government and its agencies.

To the Point

You claimed that the teachers were punished. If that is so you are really saying that they were punitive. You can’t have it both ways.

9. @Bush Tea
    KNOWN ONGOING SITUATION FOR TEN YEARS, then Bushie would NOT wait until the bush children were at a critical stage in their lives to pull down the house and possibly affect their whole future
    You are conveniently overlooking the fact that the School was in turmoil prior to the COI and now you want to place the same bad actors post COI on the same stage for another few months. If the situation was dire prior to the COI imagine how disruptive it would be after the public slanging match (testimony), they would be at each other’s throats with the Ministry still being asked to referee. Who would want their children to be caught in the middle of that forever dispute?

But…….according to you that would be a wonderful learning environment conductive to producing good results. There would never be a good time to move Broomes and the teachers, if it was done later there would be a hue and cry about the Gov’ts tardiness and if perchance a new Gov’t was elected, based on the utterings of the former Min of Education there would be another 10 years of the same crud.

The School has new leadership, the students have seen the Storming, they are now norming soon they’ll be performing (that’s what real leadership can do).

BTW the NCO’s and grunts are the backbone of any Army; they are in the same category as the Cane cutters you profess to admire.

10. @ Sargeant
    Bushie will excuse you because you are far away and you only have the low level experience of a soldier on which to base your comments.
    The FACT is that there is turmoil in practically ALL schools in Barbados. The difference at AX was that Broomes felt that he needed to take a stand. The others deal with it by pretending that it does not exist….or at least ensuring that it is not known…

The FACT is that academic results, sport and discipline at AX has been generally good and improving…. The only issues with waiting until exams would have been political in nature.

Finally, anyone who would allow themselves to become a soldier, and place their very lives in the hands of politicians and officers (who are all a bunch of egotistical maniacs) can probably be described as the “back bone” of the army as you say….
    …Bushie would describe any such persons in by using a different part of the human anatomy, and in metallic terms …….of brass to be more specific…. 🙂

11. Celebration and merriment has come early to the Pine early this year, and I am not talking about Socaholics. The staff at Parkinson is in a joyous mode since the source of their problems is now firmly located at Speightstown. Many of them had to leave BUT and seek sanctuary in NUPW because BUT supported management no matter what.

12. @Miller

acording to ac you hypocrite, if the pm has a bulling adviser you should support him, r u not on here poncticating that bulling advisers hae rights too? Your canfiled mentality is now showing, lord have mercy, with all the educcation you have been expose to, u r still in the canefileld. Amen.

13. @Caswell

Point me to where i used the word punished in any of my rantings, u know i am not bright like u, and foolish like miller the POOP.

14. Hi Sargeant, January 11, 2013 @ 9:56pm
    A clear concise rebuttal based on the issues raised, which were then developed into a factual analysis of the problems at Alexandra. You are worthy of a salute on this parade ground, it matters not your uniform or title.

15. Where is Owen Arthur?

16. Owen Arthur created the AX mess .what can he say now after being part of the problem .

17. Free advise to Jeff Broomes, on completion of sick leave report to Parkinson make a public statement that your love is for teaching children and get to work. Right there you place Redman and Frost your sworn enemies six feet under.

18. To the Point

On January 11, 2013 at 6:23 am you commented:

“Excellent article, dont mind caswell, it is only what caswell writes that make sense. Both sides are to balme and therefore the punishment must be meted out to bot warring parties.”

That is where you mentioned punished. Debate the issues and stop trying to abuse me. Those tactics don’t deter me, ask Bushie.

19. Owen Arthur cannot face the public after PM Stuart exposed the cruel plans he has for our former esteemed female Deputy PM. Even the Nation news paper of Saturday 12 Jan, 2013 on page 9 is calling on Owen Arthur to comment on PM Stuart disclosure of that now infamous note.

The BEES can keep Owen Arthur he is too TAINTED to be PM again of this fair land .

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | January 12, 2013 at 12:27 PM |

And if Owen responds and denies ever sending such note what would Fumble do? Accuse the same OSA of “stealing” the note?

The Right Honourable Owen S. Arthur must not bend that low to respond to Fumble. Let the most unpopular ever PM by default produce the evidence to substantiate his charge. He is a lawyer and must know the onus is on the person making a charge to present the evidence.
    The more this man talks the more she shoots himself in his integrity foot lying in his mouth.
    Let him produce the evidence that the IADB has not refused to fund the Four Seasons project until serious and far reaching adjustments to the government’s fiscal programmes are initiated.
    Le him and his minions like you deny that!

21. Where did you guys get the idea from that both sides in the Alexandra dispute is wrong from. Do any of you honestly realize that these disputes has be ongoing for over ten years? In the end what was the union supposed to do? Did any of you hear the coo testimony where one of the witnesses wanted to hit Broomes with a two by four? What was the union supposed to do not represent their members? Apparently you people in Barbados has to back one side and you always back the wrong people. I guess you back people just for the sake of backing them. You are talking about over ten years of abuse from the principal and no one see anything wrong with it. I guess you guys never listened to Broomes testimony where he practically did what he wanted to do without suffering any consequences and you guys have the nerves to back Broomes. Do you guys also realize that the DLP has been in power for five years now? When are they going to be held responsible for what is going on in the country and stop blaming the BLP. Is the BLP still in power. There comes a time when one put on ones big boy pants and accept responsibly and stop blaming others.

eae

22. Hi Erskine Miller,
    I hear your voice and it is clear. In most disputes there is blame attached to both parties. . . it is true not always in equal measure. As you have said this dispute was protracted, which meant over time those without fault became so entangled with rivalries etc that they too transgressed. Others became involved, positions hardened and it became impossible for those persons to occupy the same space and co-exist in peace.

It was necessary therefore to move some people on and that has been done. I have refrained from mentioning political parties or individuals. A solution had to be found for Alexandra School – a new beginning – it might not be perfect but neither is everything in this life and the Law Courts do not make things perfect [ as some people seem to think ]. . . they only bring finality and something we must live with.

23. @yardbroom
    Stand and take a bow. Couldn’t have said it better.

Observing

24. @Caswell

in my haste to type my blog i used the word punishment, could have used a more politcal correct word, but remember i am not in court and nothing i write here can be used as evidence, apart from that I hereby stand by every thing that I have written,

Remeber we are steeped in research techniques. Just reminding you.

25. @OBSER

i AGREE with ur sentiments.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | January 12, 2013 at 5:03 AM |
    “acording to ac you hypocrite, if the pm has a bulling adviser you should support him, r u not on here poncticating that bulling advisers hae rights too?”

It’s not the “bulling” that riles the miller since he knows that the current boss man- who does not keep lepers as pals- was politically tutored and mentored from the rear by Cammie Tudor- a man of high esteem, unmatchable intellect and an envied political strategist of such excellence as to have received the title “King Maker”.

What riles the miller is that the man currently running the show feels comfortable associating with a bulling crook and liar who displays total disdain to the people he has caused great pain and hardship because of his ponzi scheme.

Not one iota of concern, contrition or remorse; but just a continuous display of haughty materialistic ostentation and social hobnobbing to project an image of being ‘untouchable’ and above the realm of justice and fair play.

This bulling crook sleeps at night resting in the sound assurance that he will never be exposed by the directorate on both sides of the political divide and corporate Barbados because of his bankrolling over the years and the damaging secrets- both hidden and open- residing in his bosom.

27. @Miller

I just want u to know that that man is married to my “famaly” albeit a distant one.

why would u think that he will be insulated from the law courts if he operated a ponzi scheme here.

It is the policy holders to take him to court if they think an injustice was done or if he breached the company act.

Why would u have to refer to him as a buller if is is true that he wets his appetite with the same gender. Isnt that condrdictory?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the Point | January 12, 2013 at 6:15 PM |
    “It is the policy holders to take him to court if they think an injustice was done or if he breached the company act.”

Sorry TPP you might have to attend a funeral in the very near future. My condolences in advance.
    Why then is the PM getting involved and promising to the policyholders that they would indeed get back at least the principal amount of their investments? Or am I misleading readers and the PM never made such a promise to BIPA?
    Why did the PM get up in Parliament and sang the praises of the same crook who is his pal?
    Don’t you think this could have the effect of “colouring” the case in any lower court of law?

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

Re: your comment at 5:53

Is that the best apology that you can come up with? In any event, I graciously accept.

30. @Caswell

apologise, u got to be kidding i offer u none. I said I stand by every thing i said.

It is u that owe us an apology when u advised the PM that Broomes could have been retired. Do u remebered also advising BSTU to stick to its gun and insist that Broomes be separted?LOL.

31. @Yardbroom,
    What was the union supposed to do. If you continually slap me in my face and I take it sooner or later I am going to retaliate. And if in my retaliation you happen to get hurt seriously or even get kill is that my fault. Didn’t you get what you deserve. If I continually show weakness then you are going to continue to take advantage of me. There comes a time when enough is enough. A person can only take so much. As I have stated before, go back and see all the grievances the union had against Broomes. As far as I know Broomes lost every one of them. Correct me if I am wrong. Both parties are not wrong. How comes no changes was made at the moe. Are we dealing with fairness here? I read an article yesterday where Ronald Jones said that he was shocked at the testimony gleaned from the coi, was this guy serious. Was there a report that was gathering dust in his ministry? Since he is the minister are you telling me that he should not have know what was going on. I guess that certain people think that we as the public is stupid. Jones should be the first to go from the ministry with others to follow.

32. TTP don.t pay miller any mind again his hypocrisy shines true as he uses the term “buller” in a derogarty manner to defamed the PM and his friend. albeit talking about gay rights while at the same time condeming others who would utter or demean gays using coments of similar fashion.

33. @AC

I caught he off guard, he doesnt realize that some of us got good memory. I always see the double standard in Miller’s argument, especially when he wants to pull down our esteemed PM, who is honest and sincere and delberate in making decisions.

34. @Miller

look i will not continue to argue foolishly with u. If the govt gave an assurance whats wrong with that?

Why did owen after castigating MIa pubicly now walking about with her? I dont want u to respond. Of all the bloggers here u r the most lied, corrupt in ur reasoning and antiquated in ur thinking. Dont resort to cursing either, as I said sometime ago, i raised up near to fishing villlages and I have spent a lot of time on the beaches perfecting the vocabulary of fishermen. And, I think I have mastered it very well. I have also mastered the use of the English Lnaguage and can use it, If want to be ostentatious in my wrting i can, but the blog sphere is not the place for such.

YOU ARE A CRIMINAL TO THIS BLOG, U PRETEND TO BE ONE THING AND OFTEN SHOW A DIFFERENT COLOUR. I DONE ON THIS ONE.

35. What next?

Teachers taking action Monday Added by bteditor on January 11, 2013.Mary Redman
    Scores of teachers are expected to attend the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union meeting on Monday afternoon.
    President Mary Redman told Barbados TODAY that letters had been sent to the Ministry of Education and schools informing them about the meeting which is scheduled for 1 p.m. at the Barbados Workers’ Union headquarters.
    She also disclosed that letters had been sent to the permanent secretary in the Ministry of the Civil Service and the chief labour officer apprising them of what had transpired and about the BSTU’s need to have a meeting.
    This afternoon, executive members of the trade union held a series of meetings with teachers at Coleridge and Parry, Alleyne School, Christ Church Foundation, Deighton Griffith, The Lodge, Queen’s College, and Combermere School.
    Redman said those meetings went well.
    Teachers will have the chance to have their questions on the transfer issue answered, seek clarification on anything, and discuss the possible courses of action available to the trade union. They will also be asked to decide the way forward. (DS)

36. @David,
    “It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence”.

The above quote was from the AX incestuous article. I do not think you have it right with Mrs Griffith Watson being in this group, certainly not with Jeff Broomes and from what I have heard from officials at the MOE, she was not too keen of Jones’ mannerism when he became minister. Hence she got out as soon as she could.

Remember too Idamay Denny and another top official named Sylvia left for greener pastures and I am sure, Sylvia had her sights set on the CEO position.Remember Mrs Griffith Watson was Principal of St Michael’s when Jeff Broomes became her deputy and I do not think any love was lost when he left for AX.

37. @David

Mary is just on a pr exercise and it will fail. mark my word. has she forgotten her fight with cxc. How often is she going to call meetings and is she going to ask other teachers to pretend they are sick? Is she emblodened by the folish talk comimg from the maximum leader the duke of york.

You go Mary and make an ass of ur self.

38. Hi Erskine Miller, January 12, 2013 @7:46PM
    You asked:”What was the Union supposed to do?”

In a professional organization, here I use the “professional” to mean a properly constituted one, that acts responsibly.

In conducting meanful dialogue, you have to couch your language in ways that seem “reasonble”. In public utterances as a Union Representative you are speaking not only to the individual you are at logger-heads with, but the employer and perhaps most importantly the general public. Who have not had access to incidents reported to you at the various metings you have held.

It does not matter how powerful or right you are – or feel you are – even in Law at some point someone else has got to see the merits of your case, even if it is a Judge. You are never all powerful and completely insulated from the opinions of others.

To state publicly:
    (1) He “must” be separated from Alexandra School, and
    (2) I am “not” backing down.

Does not allow you much room to manoeuvre and indicates all negotiations are meaningless, unless they result in you getting your demands.

Those were “Major” errors of judgement.

I have a high regard for “some” Unions and those whose responsibility it is to discharge the union’s business. I believe Union members are best represented by those who can see the bigger picture, have a well thought out strategy and are not immediately reacting to events, through utterances that become the major talking point, instead of the “merits” of their case in disputes.

The real tragedy of this situation at Alexandra, is that honest, decent, hard working people, will now be coralled and asked to sacrifice themselves on the alter of “saving face”. . . so sad.

39. @Yardbroom

you have said, what i was saying from day one. Mary and Froth hardened positions necessitate what action was referred to the gg by the psc and his consequent sanctioning of same. Caswell is not without fault as he was advising the BSTU as well.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

It appears that you like me and that is why my name keeps popping up in your comments. Advising BSTU what! Last year when this matter came to a head, I visited their headquarters and gave moral support to show my solidarity. They were already being advised by Hal Gollop, and you know that I am no match for him.

41. @cassie

i respect ur submissions some time, thats why i want to be sure that u dont want to steal the few members bstu has, lol.

tell ma who i can get donate an ipa to mah to mek mah feel important. U know that sometines we will agree and disagree. What I can say is that u r wrong to hint that the shop steward was transferred from ax becasue of her trade union activities and i consider that argument a moot agrument, even though anybody can be transferred as long as there is no diminishion of status or rank, unless it was punishment for an offence for which he/she was found guilty of according the established procedures..

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

It is not my goal to steal any members from BSTU or anyone else, but if they come, I will not stop them.

We will continue to differ on the question of the transfer of the shop steward in these circumstances. She was performing her duties as a union officer and was transferred as a result. You must also remember that the PSC does not make lists of people to transfer. That was done in the Ministry of Education and according to my information the immediate past president of BUT played a starring role in that selection process, which saw increased influence of her union at Alexandra.

I would also like to see you comment on my theory that these transfers will result in problems for the administration of justice in this country. Witnesses who gave evidence at the Waterman Commission were penalised, and I believe that will cause problems for any judicial or quasi-judicial process because future witnesses will think twice before they give evidence and get punished as a result.

By the way, transfer is not one of the list of penalties that the PSC can utilise.

43. Caswell’s column in the Nation today makes for interesting reading although many of the points he hits have been delivered on BU. It is good he has a mass audience to disseminate his views.

They have come for Jeff Broomes, and as a trade unionist, I must speak out before they come for me.

From the outset, let me state that I am not defending Broomes because I think that he is guiltless. But in Barbados, everyone, even Broomes, is innocent until he pleads guilty or guilt is established after a duly constituted body makes that determination after hearing the evidence and giving the accused the right to be heard.

I am therefore concerned that the Public Service Commission (PSC) has taken steps against him, under the guise of a transfer, before it follows the rules in order to establish his guilt or innocence.

The Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) has achieved its goal of separating the principal from Alexandra School; but it has nothing to rejoice about when you consider the way it was done. I hope that the membership of the union is sensible enough to condemn the method that was adopted by the PSC. The BSTU should vociferously disassociate itself from the denial of due process to Mr Broomes. Even murderers who kill in front of witnesses are give

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/frankly-speaking-speaking-out-as-a-trade-unionist/

44. Another interesting article is from our own Jeff Cumberbatch, compulsory reading:there is also Ralph Jemmot who penned ‘Education. canefields and civility which is worth perusing. Maybe if he or anyone reading the blog can email us the article…

Musings:Diversion and division

1/13/2013

By Jeff Cumberbatch

Given the current instances of industrial disquiet pervading the island in the early weeks of this year, the triskaidekaphobes among us must be wearing, by now, the smug expressions of those who “told-you-so-didn’t I?”

Of course, no dispute or controversy in Barbados would ever be complete without the interjection of some politically partisan element, no matter how remotely removed from the issue it may be. And, in one of the disputes, that of the Barbados Secondary Teacher’s Union [BSTU] with the recommendations of the Public Service Commission to the Governor-General in respect of the involuntary transfers of some of the members of the union, fertile ground has been found for the exercise of this cultural penchant.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=28657

45. @ Yardbroom

You have the patience of Job. You would also make an excellent teacher, especially for those with disabilities.

I ignored the gentlemen when I realised:

1) he listens but may not hear, or
    2) he hears but may not understand.

On reading Jeff Cumberbatch’s article this morning, it put into sharp focus something my cousin said last night. She attended a comprehensive (no cxcs) and manages a small guest house. On speaking about the controversy with the teachers and the PM’s analogy to the cane fields, she told me the government should stop funding University and take the money and pay for the nationals healthcare. It may be because she recently paid $700 for an X-ray for her sister, or she may be quicker than I thought.

46. @Caswell
    as DAvid said we’ve ventilated your column ad nauseum already here. Gotta give it to ya for having the balls to publish something which is easily disputed, highly debatable and not on the most solid legal or logical grounds. Good stimulant for national discussion though albeit a few weeks later than the BU family. have to ask though —

“She was performing her duties as a union officer and was transferred as a result.”

which duties?

and to anyone that may know…

has a transfer in the public service ever been proven to be a punishment and rescinded as a result?

@prodigal
    you’ve reminded me of the “old girls club” on Constitution Road…. Those were some days!

Just Observing

47. Why is the CPO refusing to meet with Redman and the BSTU BUT have met with Broomes and the NUPW?

48. The Grand Old Duke of York

The grand old Duke of York,
    He had ten thousand men;
    He marched them up to the top of the hill,
    And he marched them down again.

And when they were up, they were up,
    And when they were down, they were down,
    And when they were only half-way up,
    They were neither up nor down.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_old_duke_of_york

49. The Duke of York or simply the Duke, a nickname given to trade unionist Leroy Trotman about 1994. when thousands of union members were called out on strike. Many felt that the strike call would be an exercise in futility, much like the actions of the nursery rhyme Duke of York.

In fact the strike call was extremely effective, since it lead directly to the fall of the then DLP administration led by Erskine Sandiford.

A strike fall now is likely to be as effective. The union’s members still have significant power.

We will see later this week.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | January 13, 2013 at 1:45 PM |
    “He had ten thousand men”

The poor old Duke’s army has been decimated to a rag-tag band of stragglers with roots in the “cane fields”.

But that is what happens when the men in charge of grass roots movements sell their souls to the political devil who doesn’t give two hoots about workers but only about satisfying their own narrow political and personal financial interests like taking bribes from employers and other gift like blackberry phones and free nights at hotels with blindfolded room service to impress sophisticated prostitutes in trysts and other ménage à trios and free-food-hotel-fueled orgies.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply