By Baba Elombe Mottley

All across the English speaking Caribbean, there is an ominous movement of sorts, a movement of low frequency rumblings without patterns, without form, not like the rhythms of bumbatuk or soca or the one drop of reggae or mento that we are accustomed to.

The essence of all of these known rhythms is that they link us to a past of chattel servitude where there was little choice for self fulfillment. In time these rhythms. isolated as they were in tenantries and yards and the dancehall, fortified our resolve towards freedom and independence.

Over the last 40 to 50 years, we built indigenous institutions in every sphere, oblivious to the rumblings that were moving across the region. We dismantled the psychological prison of plantation inheritance, killed off the skills we developed to feed and clothe ourselves while we were taught to assemble products that we never used. We set a precedent by bribing investors that our labour was cheap and responsive to training and we told ourselves we could depend on these jobs.

Read full submission

112 responses to “Cost-Us-More!!!”

1. David

I smell a rat! CLICO is not around to finance any more election campaigns: somebody has to pick up the slack. It could be as simple as that.

2. I sure day Bush Tea would luv this, but Cas has been making sense to me for a couple of weeks now. Cost U Less is the most recent example of core issues at stake here..

I am NOT a fan of Mottley… nothing to do with his mindset, just his approach, and maybe his ancestry …

3. What “cost U More” will show Barbados residents is WHO NOT to vote for ever again.
    When this Goverment endorse this company’s entrance into the Barbadian retail arena,they put Bajuns OUT of work NOT in work.
    Dont talk about lowering prices that is impossible,trade has shrunk with the World recession,NO prices will get lowered .Dont kid yourself.
    If you get suckered by “Special Offers” you are ready for the mental.
    Ask any fisherman if he fishes without BAIT. Special offer bait.Retail style.
    The already overloaded retail sector,has more competition than it needs.
    Another entry into the market means the sales cake gets cut smaller and smaller.
    Whereas exspenses and more relevant duties get BIGGER and BIGGER.
    The first place a business will then look is rationalization,less spending ,less staff ,whatever can be cut. Hits so many stations of society.
    If we look at the retail sector,We have the levels.Heavyweight, light Heavy and so on down the scale, till we reach, the little local guy just hanging in.
    This business is not looking for a Charity to run it is looking for a nice Juicy profit.You are IT. It will aim middle to top end,because thats where it see’s the SPEND is.
    You will soon see some major disappearences from that area of the market and the staff they employ collecting Government handouts.
    We are in a NO WIN situation,Mr Stuart needs cash, so no duties or Vat reductions from that area, more like looking to Re-rate goods as different catagories and a HIGHER DUTY catagorie,he got to pay the bills too.
    Devaluation?? Got to be on the cards.In commerce an article will only sell for what someone is ready to pay,Barbados is outpriced in everything and quality wise we are no winners. Look around the Caribbean and see.Look at Europe ,Brits can fly to Tenerife for 180B$ and less,the cost of an airfare from UK to BIM return ,I checked , is average 2400 BS plus. Cattle class.
    Broad street gets hit Bigtime.
    “Cost U More” will shatter an already fragile balance.
    I keep hearing the phrase “tipping point” .This one company can TIP this Economy OVER the edge. A Plague can start with ONE rat,.
    Dont say “I didnt tellya”

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This writer can be easily ignored.

He is pushing the Partisan line of the Barbados Labour Party. If he had said anything different I would have been quite surprised. I never thought that I would see the day when ELOMBE would be concerned about the financial well being of Mr Brewster (Supercentre & Big B’s).

This article is pure poppy cock.

The people of Barbados WELCOME COST-U-LESS. They cant wait for the doors to be thrown open come next month.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

They are some people who see a monster behind every tree.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

Official Opening of the St. George Constituency Office

Friday, January 11 2013, 7:00pm – 11:00pm

The official opening of the St. George North constituency office and Campaign HQ….. Feature address by Prime Minister and Party Leader Freundel Stuart and candidate Sen. Jepter Ince.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Cost U Less will end up hurting this country in the long run. I will concede that there will be short term benefits which might go down to the benefit of the DLP.

It will employ 100 workers but I can predict that many more are going to be displaced from the businesses that will go under because they are not benefitting from the over-generous concessions that Government have put in place for Cost U Less.

The costs of doing business in this country are too high, so in order to recoup those costs, the retailer has to charge these ridiculous prices. Fortunately, for Cost U Less our Government has relieved them of most of the costs that other similar business are forced to pay.

This Cost U Less fiasco has shown a level of stupidity that has hitherto been unknown in the Governance of this country. If Government had a clue about what it should have been doing, it would have created an environment where local business could thrive. Instead, the quick barbecue pigtail mentality raised its ugly head and this Government appears on a path to destroy local businesses for their short term electoral advantage.

8. BAFBFP “I am NOT a fan of Mottley… nothing to do with his mindset, just his approach, and maybe his ancestry …”

Thehe is nothing wrong with being born into a successful family.

BAFBFP you just envious.

Focus on the topic which is an un offical political broadcast in support of Mia.

Caswell Franklyn who is financing the BLP campaign ?

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

I don’t know who is financing the BLP campaign: I have not been involved in the management or finances of the BLP since 2003. However, from what I heard, they had a dinner at $500.00 per plate and it was over subscribed, and from what I understand, many DEMS showed up in the hope that they would be included if and when the BLP wins the next general elections. Their coffers runneth over.

On the other hand, the DEMS have given tax concessions and overpriced contracts to many who would be expected to kickback. We have laws against this but I don’t know if this behaviour is ever brought to the attention of the DPP.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

So lets see here, the crooked Barbados Labour Party are now the good guys and the honest Democratic Labour Party are the bad guys.

Do I have it correct?

11. BU’s position is clear, we have a problem with any strategy which expands the retail and distribution sectors.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The crooked Barbados Labour Party is now washed in the blood of the Lamb?

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

HANTS

The BLP is financing the BLP campaign. The tens of millions of taxpayer dollars which members of the former BLP administration have stashed away in secret offshore Bank accounts is far more than they need to fund any elections campaign now and in the future.

Has any member of the Barbados Labour Party ever explained what happened to the three quarters of a billion dollars cost over runs the BLP chalked up during their time in office?

Dean Harold Critchlow asked Sen. Kerry Simmons to come back to the Senate with answers about the missing funds, to this day not a single word from him.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

Don’t fool yourself, neither side is honest. By their actions, politicians have clearly demonstrated that the people of this country cannot rely on them to police themselves. That is why we need independent bodies to ensure that they act with integrity. The DLP promised integrity legislation within 100 days of achieving office but had to wait until the boys were able to feather their nests before putting anything on the books. I hear that some of them are now rich.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There is nothing wrong with the concessions to Cost-U-Less. Only members of the Barbados Labour Party and their supporters have a problem with them and we all know why.

It is called OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE.

FOR THE SAKE OF OPPOSING!

It is what the Barbados Labour Party does best.

16. @Caswell

who funded the blp camaign for 14 years? Why did owen waive the tranfer tax for the combined CIBC/Barclays and how much was that? Did any go to fund the blp campaign.
    Granting concessions fall under the purview of the MF and both parties have done that. Did the BLP got funding from the orgnisations that built the prison, expand the highway, built the courts and coast guard stations and what about out of the Gems project.

Please if ur going to debate this topic, argue that instead of giving concessions to all and sundrey; foreigners, lets look at giving concessions to local to develop similar entriprises.

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

It appears as though we are on the same page, so why fight with me. You merely summed up what I said, the tax concessions should have gone to develop local business.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

By now, you should have realised that I am not a supporter of either party. I attempt to call things as I see them and incur the wrath of both. I bitterly oppose those concessions. They were short sighted.

19. It’s a bird. It’s a plane. It’s a BLP grenade. LOL

20. The BLP surely could do better than this. Mitt Romney said he lost the race only because Obama gave gifts to blacks, hispanics and young voters. The BLP I think should follow suit, give gifts.

21. Beat it Mottley. Beat it. Just Beat It.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wait a minute, this writer has the surname MOTTLEY.

I wonder if he is related to the Barbados Labour Party’s MIA AMOR MOTTLEY?

If that is so, then this would explain why he is taking this line!

Silly me. Blood thicker than water.

23. I want a house car and land for my vote if a certain party want my vote

Want to know which Party ???

JUST ASKING

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

just asking
    “I want a house car and land for my vote if a certain party want my vote”

Our PM is on record as condemning this type of behavior.

25. Who is Baba campaigning, DLP or BLP.? PM said Owen want to dump Mia on the DLP.

26. Peter Wickham said his polls were only valid for 30 days. Does this mean the DLP could have gained a significant advantage having solve these two industrial situations with AX and LIME?

I think the pendulum is swinging in the DLP’s favour. Owen needs an issue that is not as esoteric as economics. Bajans arent even talking about the downgrades anymore.

27. @ Caswell .
    ” I am not a supporter of either party……”
    By now it should be clear to all that the only person you support is yourself . That is why nobody can do anything right by you ; everybody but you is a fool ; and on and on you go . Of course since you have proven yourself to be unemployable having lost every job you have ever held you have loads of time on your hand to spew your nonsense across the pages of this blog. Do you not think it is about time that you find gainful employment so that the superior intellect which you possess can be put to some productive use?

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Just Asking

You ever heard that I was out begging for my daily bread? I am not a burden to you or anyone that you know.

29. @ Caswell
    It has nothing to do about begging for daily bread ; it is about putting that superior intellect of yours to productive use . Presently it is used only for pulling down everything and everybody . It is therefore being wasted .

30. @Just asking!!
    anything else you selling besides your vote?

31. @ Just Asking !!
    Skippa, why you don’t leave Bushie’s Chairman Caswell alone? You got clothes hang out and looking for rain…?

You like you jealous of Cas yuh! If de man is a critic he is a critic. You want EVABODY to be a LACKY yardfowl? That is his forte. If God gave him a talent to find fault what you want him to do? Brown nose?

LEAVE HIM!

Ah mean you right bout the job thing… 🙂
    But if a man tell people to their face what he thinks of them – what would you expect?
    …last man that did that shoite got crucified yuh….!
    Caswell lucky he only get fired.

If you is a man! Go work today and tell your boss EXACTLY what you think of him …..and tell us what happen tonight
    (skippa, DO NOT TRY THIS if your boss is a woman hear….? ….or your ass in the grass!)

32. Giving concessions to a merchant … Jesus H Christ … Lard come fah yah world hear …

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | January 10, 2013 at 9:17 PM |
    &
    @ just Asking !! | January 11, 2013 at 12:01 AM |

Which one is the real McCoy?
    The 29 to 1 man now selling votes to the zero Party or the brown-noser who is envious of Caswell?

Listen, Just Asking!! the jealous envious one ,when Caswell criticises he gives good reasons for his critically constructive contributions.

What have you done other that attack the man with a load of ad hominems?
    Because the man is not employed in a servile obsequious capacity like you that gives you with the house nigger mentality right to attack the man? In that case then go and attack the thousands of Bajans who have lost their jobs and businesses in the last 4 years.

Caswell has made more meaningful informed contributions on this blog and in the regular media especially in the area of the Law that any of the so-called ’employed’ two-bit lawyers that idiots like you look up to for advice. And he does for free- like pro bono, like gratis, if you know what that means. Just giving you a dose of your own medicine

Go ahead and attack the miller as one of those unemployed BLP yardfowls and scroungers waiting on change of government for a handout to survive.

Go ahead Caswell, BU is behind you. Keep on exposing the crooks and liars and intellectual fakes. Including those in the homo closet like balance, Smooth Chocolate and Look (LOL!!)

34. Baba crying to Bajans to vote for BLP. LOL

35. The million dollar question, or maybe that should be the millions of dollars question, in the last paragraph of Mr. Mottley’s submission is “Who is benefiting from this deal”?

The obvious will be Cost-U-Less (CUL) and politically the DLP for the supposed lower prices to come and the 100 jobs.
    But what about the usual faceless and nameless so called “consultant” or “consultants”, the ones who “facilitated” CUL in obtaining these concessions. Who are they. Are any DLP party supporters investors or “consultants”? Has CUL made or will they be making any monetary or other contributions to the DLP?

36. @ Miller

Did you yet connect with your man from the past? Did he not yet reach you via telephone communication? Said he would? Someone we know? Kerri Symmonds? Dale Marshall?

37. @Look

You have been warned several times, please don’t see it as a sign of weakness. STOP using multiple monikers.

38. @ Miller

Where ever is your safari animal companion islandgal246. She, I guess is the real mccoy, a real safari animal, went back to a real safari, Kenya [Central Africa]. Why not you join her there?

39. David go ahead and ban the imposter LOOK! We wouldn’t miss dem.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

nostradamus

“Has CUL made or will they be making any monetary or other contributions to the DLP?”

Why not try to get them to make a contribution to your Hotel?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | January 11, 2013 at 9:03 AM |
    Do you feel, IG, that idiot “LOOK” is the same one quoting the Bible and the word of its god on another thread (“The CoE Lacks Balls”) and even putting Zoe to shame?

That is the kind of two-mouth hypocrites calling themselves human that we have to put up with just for the sake of loving our brothers even though they are ‘baboons’ like us.

42. David

You gotta start instituting minimum standards, even if it means my losing the opportunity to comment…. whatever it takes to get this Jack Ass LOOK off of the site ….

43. @ David

Excuse me! I beg your pardon.

@ BAFBFP
    @ Islandgal246
    @ Miller

Unlike you, I am well educated, know animal species, theology and of course, world history. I comment on specif blogs of interest. I undertand your intimidation, REALLY. Who’s putting who to shame?

44. “Unlike you, I am well educated, know animal species, theology and of course, world history.”

LOOK you forgot to add Quebecois that you call French and that you are the biggest HYPOCRITE amongst us. POMP ASS HOLE!

45. Multiple Monikers: Enuff, Miller, BASBFP and islandgal246. HA HA HA

46. @ islandgal246

Didn’t forget animal species, you and or yours.

47. @ Miller
    @ islandgal246

Baboons are non-inteleigent creatures, always have been.

48. The topic does not need the above exchanges, no value is added, in fact it becomes boring for others.

49. ……….I think the pendulum is swinging in the DLP’s favour. Owen needs an issue that is not as esoteric as economics. Bajans arent even talking about the downgrades anymore……………

You are right, people are not talking anymore, they are FED UP and just waiting to lick the DLP with their X.

50. Caswell,

Do you know who are the local big boys behind Cost You Less? Who are the directors? Is this information available to the public?

Remember the Dems do not have CLICO this time to bank roll them, so they are desperate? I wonder if they will be so lucky as to get any of what’s in FAMILIES FIRST? After all the cheques for campaign 2008 were written from this account signed by one David Thompson.

Leave a Reply to WATCHFULCancel reply