The following recommendation was submitted by St. George”s Dragon for discussion.

BUBU needs to consider adopting a set of rules in respect of posts which are vicious or hostile. I believe this is important in order to be able to demonstrate to those who are starting to make noises about banning Barbados Blogs that there is a degree of editorial control over what is posted. If done in the right way this would not be censorship, just make the Blog a more responsible place and elevate the discussion. Apologies to other websites from which I have borrowed wording  but as a start, what about:

• BU promotes a receptive, transparent and civil atmosphere for comments and users. Critical, in-depth and intelligent discussions and debates are encouraged. Everyone is welcome and encouraged to voice their opinion regardless of identity, politics, ideology, religion or agreement with other community members, as long as those opinions are respectful and constructively add to the conversation. However, this community does not tolerate direct or indirect attacks, name-calling or insults, nor does it tolerate intentional attempts to derail, hijack, troll or bait others into an emotional response. These types of comments will be removed from the community. Individuals who consistently or intentionally post these types of comments will be warned and, if necessary, excluded from the community.

• If your comments consistently or intentionally make this community a less civil and enjoyable place to be, you and your comments will be excluded from it.
  • Vicious, violent and hostile language are not welcome here. If you use this type of language, you will be removed immediately.
  • Comments which are extremely abusive, off-topic, use excessive foul language, or include an attack on another contributor will be deleted.

Any other thoughts or suggestions?

1. They legalizing marijuana just about everywhere now, how soon u think the barbados government will do the same???

2. David, we are all well behaved and follow the strictest code of code with due respect given. If someone is ever insulting to BU fambly they don’t need to defend themselves as their fambly will

3. See everyone is going dance around this topic, nice dance steps.

4. @Kiki

wait, weh you learn to rite like we? uh mean ‘fambly’. well spoke.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 2, 2013 at 3:38 PM |

We would much prefer if you were to use the phrase “decriminalization of marijuana”. Using the word “legalizing” implies that it is something everyone has to do in order to be in compliance with the law.
    This is a question being posed to you, Well, Well: Do you see the use of marijuana in the same light as you see homosexuality?
    After all homosexuality (according to your previous submissions) was introduced to the black slaves by the white colonial masters and subsequently outlawed by the same colonial masters.
    Fortunately marijuana was always a tropical thing but demonised and outlawed by the colonial overseers who saw it as a threat to their alcohol and tobacco businesses.
    After all, the puppet governments managed by corrupt politicians realize that it’s more profitable for them personally to keep the use of marijuana illegal. The marijuana plant has much wider industrial, commercial and health uses other than smoking which (unlike tobacco) makes little contribution to the public purse except through fines and penalties on the small fry involved in the currently illicit trade.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

John Boehner Told Harry Reid ‘Go F— Yourself’ Outside the Oval Office

The fiscal austerity crisis has been temporarily averted, but given the apparent animosity between the current leaders of Congress its a miracle that any deal was made at all. Politico has a rather lengthy breakdown of the last week or so of negotiations that led to last night’s budget bill and it leads off with an anecdote illustrating the current state of American politics. As they arrived for a much-hyped meeting with the President last Friday afternoon, Speaker of the House John Boehner spotted House Majority Leader Harry Reid approaching just steps from the Oval Office. According to “multiple sources,” Boehner pointed his finger at Reid and without any other fanfare said, “Go f*** yourself.” When Reid asked him what he was talking about, Boehner simply repeated his curse and moved on.

http://news.yahoo.com/john-boehner-told-harry-reid-f-yourself-outside-103332376.html

I guess under the new rules we will not be able to post any more of the above articles because ” this community does not tolerate direct or indirect attacks, name-calling or insults,”

Oh boy the good old days. Now gone until after the elections when St. george Dragon hopes that the Barbados Labour Party will win.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is amazing how people of a certain colour can get their way.

We are doomed as a race.

8. Personally, I don’t smoke and agree with much about what you said about its limited legalization, however, again for the hundredth time, I am not against homosexuals and understand the underlying and deep seated problems associated with persons practicing because of psychological, biological, psychotic and every other reason that would cause any human to part take. It would be interesting to hear the Barbados government explain why marijuana is no longer demonized.

9. They did not have much choice, the house of representatives, it was real fun watching them curse each other.

10. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Carson C. Cadogan | January 1, 2013 at 9:41 PM |
    “All the censorship in the world will not get the Barbados Labour Party off the opposition benches come next general elections.”

STOP FORCING UR DREAMS AND WISHES ON THE PUBLIC. We already know that the DLP will NOT be voted in….

REALITY IS GREATER THAN DREAMS AND WISHES….grow up

11. St George's Dragon Avatar

I would like to thank everyone for their contributions to this post and sum up the overall response.
    15 people responded (including BU/David).
    Excluding David, 10 said don’t change things; 2 said that there might be some merit in the idea but to be careful not to destroy BU in the process; I couldn’t work out what the other 2 were saying – sorry.
    The answer then is clear – there is no support for greater editorial control.
    By the way, for clarity:
    – I have no designs to take over BU and am not sure where that idea came from
    – The suggestion was nothing to do with politics – of either persuasion
    Finally, I note from the thread “The C&E Lacks Balls!” that @ Look’s post was deleted. No comment.

12. @St.George’s Dragon

Deleting Look’s comment fell into the discretion BU mentioned. LOOK has an agenda of pushing Plantation Deeds’ and we did what we had to do. An example is now unfolding on the Church blog with Miller and Baffy. If it continues we will have to repeat.If commenters have no interest in a particular blog they should consider that others may.

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply