Kammie Holder, Environmentalist

A country is not the concrete structure, people make a country. Much money is spent on health care and education to ensure we are healthy and literate.  Thus many are literate enough to understand the hazards of illegal dumping.  This January 1st, 2013 Nation Newspaper article which is attached speaks of a problem we pay lip service to.

Is there any truth that a petty squabble between two government department stands in the way of  a  Freighters Waste Certification System implementation with hundreds of books already printed? Now, some will say the Minister as CEO of a Ministry should not be blamed. But all blame must lie at his feet as well as his management team so tasked with its implementation.

I can recall a television registration system which supported the television licensing system. Dr Denis Lowe are you telling me with all the brain power of your staff and the Data Processing Department a database cannot be created for a Central Computer Register of large appliances for tracing?

A few miscreants with their filthy habits of littering, makes a mockery of what clean up campaigns such as Clean Up Barbados seeks to achieve. The civic actions of others who undertake other clean up campaigns must also be encouraged because very often political actors challenge civil society to get involved.  I boldly say governments of Barbados love to make muscular environmental policy statements internationally, while locally no firm concrete actions are taken, not good enough.

Finally, the Ministry of Health Inspectorate continues to literally discount and trivialize efforts to stamp out illegal dumping. Where is the disincentive for illegal dumpers when they receive a slap on wrist as punishment?  Dr Denis Lowe and Donville Inniss, making illegal dumpers clean up after themselves is not enough and should carry a forthwith penalty of $5000.

Stop all the long rhetoric seeking to appease the minds of simpletons as talk is extremely cheap!

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!!

Happy New Year David

YOu know David while i agree with you on (a) the inadequacy of the quantum levied for illegal dumping (b) the fact that with the big up IT courses that the Sir Hilary at UWI does tout dat we ent got no resident capacity to do any of de simplistic software fuh dimwit Lowe et al to use across all we government departments and (c) de concern we all should have that, if it is true, dat your subordinate staff contrling implementation of your directives i would wish to put forward another perspective. (Man i like i start dis year wid alot uh perspectives LOL)

But before i lef out de UWI angle i may have to retract my suggestion about dem using dem bright ass students to assist Lowe en ting,

Using Dem people pun de hill might not be de bes-sest ting, cause dem got deom own problems too causing de group befo Sir Hilary (de former radical) import Banner to do all de UWI courses and web collaboration and enrolment and ting at great cost and it still ent wukking, si it might not be too wise to employ dem given the limited vision of dodo birds Gibbs and Moseley.

Meanwhile back at the ranch….

You evah did own a dog or a cat David?

Well let me give you dis profound bit uh Confucian wisdom. Did you know that a cat nor a dog DONT SHIT WHERE IT DOES SLEEP?

Even a dog doan do what we bajans does do!!

We bajans are a nasty bunch of animals David. We take no pride in our surroundings and behave worse than the cat and dog!

I doan point no finger at Donville nor Lowe whu afta all you got to giv ovah a pinch uh salt to dem fellows, it is we who is to blame.

If the DLP as part of the outgoing actions of this administration would get marston to enforce community sentences, while wearing big, oversized orange jumper suits for offenders, post applying a $5000 fine, did illegal dumping would stop.

But then again Marston ent going administer no community sentence pun he fren dat does drive dat Mercedes Compressor dat does come every friday en dump he stuff pun de spot goin up by WIRL

2. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!!

Correction, the submission is by Kammie Holder a well known activist on matters to do with the environment.

If Hillary could generate the same vigour/passion to assist building efficiency in government as he does cricket, who knows what is possible.

On 1 January 2013 11:43, Barbados Underground

3. You know, funny this should come up> I spoke to a gentleman last year, no names necessary-it involved an onion drying machine donated to bim years ago by I believe, he said the Canadians. Now mind you, this machine was worth millions donated to the BAMC?? I think at that time. However, through the same petty squabbling the machine was never used and sat out in the rain rusting for a good five years while they squabbled. Eventually, after feeling heartsick, one gentleman as an agriculturalist, requested a meeting to offer to either rent or lease this onion drying machine so bajans would not have to forever be importing onions, as he told it, they took months to have a meeting to decide whether to allow this, at the end he was told no, he could not rent or lease the machine and the onion drying machine stayed in the rain and rusted away for more years while the recipient of the island’s tax dollars bickered, and squabbled and argued about who should have control. The onion drying machine was never used, now we know why Canada got fed up of trying. Do you think the outcome will be any different with this bunch????? Barbados stii has regular onion shortages and still import onions, I believe the gentleman said it happened at least 30 years ago, as we can see, nothing has changed.

4. There is a lack of political will to correct the ills in Barbados. People have become very comfortable in their own filth so much so that they cannot see it.

5. A few miscreants with their filthy habits of littering, makes a mockery of what clean up campaigns such as Clean Up Barbados seeks to achieve.
    ……………………………………………………….
    ” A few” ? sir. Should that not be a ‘ a few hundred thousands ?”
    But who is listening? Certainly not those in charge, and those who litter.

6. islandgal246 | January 1, 2013 at 1:48 PM |
    There is a lack of political will to correct the ills in Barbados. People have become very comfortable in their own filth so much so that they cannot see it.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Spot on my girl. Sometime ago ( hope you are not having lunch) I passed a bloating dead dog along side of a suburban street, and not 10 feet away was a roast corn seller doing a brisk trade . Recently with all the back up of garbage island wide, I passed a rum shop/restaurant in a popular district with patrons stuffing their faces with drinks and pork hops, not giving two hoots or the slightest concern about the mountain of rotting and festering garbage that stunk to high heaven. Perhaps Bajans have developed Politician Noses. They will fall into a tank of shit and convince voters that they are using a brand name cologne.

7. The lack of feedback on this topic says it all doesn’t it?

8. And here is a popular and disgusting form of dumping,that one encounters, any place, any time .
    [IMG]http://i48.tinypic.com/34jagid.jpg[/IMG]

9. Here is the link to that pissture,
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8333771253/

10. When people continue to hear, see and smell the same thing over a period of time they become desensitized. If any of you have ever lived in cities like NY you will understand what i mean. It just does not bother you anymore.

11. Colonel Buggy wrote “And here is a popular and disgusting form of dumping”

At least the material being dumped is biodegradable.

To be fair old men have to pee often and there are very few public toilets in Barbados.He could have been more discrete maybe?

12. @Well Well I agree.

New York stinks but people are moving too fast to notice.lol

13. What is a Freighters Waste Certification System?

Buggy
    Don’t knock ’till you’ve tried it. There is nothing like pissing in the wild … HA HA HA. Its a stress reliever … tek it from me …!

14. You gotta ask the people who are arguing about it, see if they know.

15. Well Well | January 1, 2013 at 3:27 PM |
    When people continue to hear, see and smell the same thing over a period of time they become desensitized. If any of you have ever lived in cities like NY you will understand what i mean. It just does not bother you anymore.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    And that is why we are campaigning to remove these unwanted sights, sounds and smells, if not for ourselves who have become “desensitised’ , then for our next generation, who will have a head start on keeping their surroundings clean and tidy.
    I wish you had not gone down that line about New York.
    I have not lived or visited New York, preferred other cities like the one below,where I spent a number of years
    http://www.muenster.de/stadt/livcom/index218.htm

16. Hants | January 1, 2013 at 3:30 PM |

To be fair old men have to pee often and there are very few public toilets in Barbados.He could have been more discrete maybe?
    ………………………………………………………
    The code we had while living in some forest in the hulas was ,The tree on the left is the GENTS, the one on the right is the LADIES. But most of the water works I see are done by relatively younger men, who make no effort whatsoever at concealing the pipe cock.

17. Another issue which we as a tourist oriented place need to tackle is commercial houses, especially in Bridgetown, putting their garbage on the sidewalks and side roads to compete with pedestrians and vagrants. Better needs to be done!

18. Does the above really happen in Bridgetown …? I was not aware; but then again I am hardly in town anyway

19. @BAffy

A good place to check is the corner of the building which houses Nelson Arms on Broad Street. On the outskirts of town check by the Elcourt Pharmacy off Belmont Roundabout.

On 1 January 2013 21:24, Barbados Underground

20. Kammie Holder is an enviromentalist now ?
    Oh my chick monk cold
    -wuh next ?

Sainthood ?

JUST ASKING

21. BAFBFP
    Only poor people go to town
    You wouldnt see rich people in town or people who think they better than the rest even if they aint got nuff money
    ALTHOUGH Rihanna made a cameo appearance there last week,

part of her contract with BTA ? I wonder

You dont see Richie Haynes in town
    Geoffrey Cave, Cow Williams, Red Plastic Bag, Vic Fernandes, David Seale, Judge Frederick Waterman, David Simmons, Chethelham the Wilkies. the Huntes, the Corbins, the Wilkinsons, the Parkinsons, Parkers, and the lot
    These people shop–over’n’ way

Only rats and poor people does be in town

22. And more often than not, when the commercial refuse is removed from the street of Bridgetown by private truckers,it ends up cart roads in the Belle and Waterford.
    One of the suggestions of the persons who used to deal with garbage on a voluntary basis, with the Future Center Trust was to peruse this garbage, identify the source and prosecute,for starters, the business where the garbage originated from.

23. In today’s Nation once a again the Minister of Health is threatening /promising to deal with those back yard garbage burners. With election around the corner, a promise is a great comfort to us suffering fools.
    Not to quote Mr Duguid.

24. Some months back Lowdown Hoad in his weekly column, mention in his jovial way, that while he was at a gas station he saw a man , peeing in the bush, and then immediately afterwards went straight into the convenience store without washing his hands. What I very often see in the Oistins area, is men going behind the wooded sales booths, if you can call then that, at nights and pissing on the door steps of these huts, shake clean, and then walk into a nearby restaurant, buying food,and proceeding to handle, with their unwashed hands, the mustard, pepper and ketchup containers placed on a table for communal uses.
    And we are talking of people who could very easily be mistaken for decent, intelligent and clean people. But I guess an expensive car , or a collar and tie, may be deceiving.
    I wonder why the Ministry of Health does not insist on restaurants,issuing the small packets of condiments, with take-ways, like the other fast food joints do.

25. One day I stopped behind a yellow mini bus at a traffic light. Some one in the back of the bus threw out some garbage, I blew my horn. As soon as the lights changed and the bus pulled off, the jackass litterbug pushed his body through the window and threw out a Cheffette box, a pet bottle, a cup and paper napkins. I could not believe that a grown man could be so stupid.

This is the kind of uncivilised behaviour being manifested by stupid people who do not know or care about our environment. I happen to have a corner lot and I am forever picking other people’s thrash they drop. Bajans just do not care about the environment or Barbados for that matter.

I sometimes wonder if a clean up campaign would bring any lasting results. Maybe I can still dream!

26. greeting and all de best for 2013, from de old man river. funny to say that i hear in de vob news today that de giab, or de general insurance assocation of barbados warning de public not to get into these uninsure van, or pirate vans.now tell ma. i went school long. i am only ah old man seating by deck of the bay, now these vans does pass right by de police station, them dot report them vans, de ploice but will report ah zr vans for not stoppin at ah bus stop, these ting ent fair,john boyce what are u goin to do bout these vans,what are de transport authority doin, them is bear joke ppl can even get de minibus men wear a uniform. u think that there goin do some bout de pirate,ever since i hear de taxi men in broad street was to move ,but what there still there,them fellow does block lower broad st,any body got ah suggestion i gone ……

27. @Prodigal Son
    I sometimes wonder if a clean up campaign would bring any lasting results. Maybe I can still dream!
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    “Lasting” on this matter mean until sundown,or when no one is around, which ever come first. Jack-in-the box gully,and the Belle Gully are typical examples why a clean up campaign is meaningless, without the necessary follow up policing.These are two of the many sites which have been cleaned up time after time,over the years , just to revert to their stinking conditions a a short while later. Bajans on the whole think that they are being smart when they dump without being caught,even when that dumping threatens our water supply. Check out the Belle area near the Water Works pumping station.

28. How have they managed to deal with this problem in Singapore …? Ahum … ahum …

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

A Freighters Waste Certification System sounds like something complicated which has been borrowed from another country where they have the resources to run and manage such a system. What exactly would it be intended to do for us and how would it be managed?
    I suggest that all we need is a ramping-up of current practice and law. Mount a proper advertising campaign to tell people that dumping is unacceptable – and continue it long-term.
    Reinforce that by making examples of people who dump. Don’t just put the pictures of a few lone dumpers in the paper; take them all to court and fine them – on make sure it happens on a regular basis when you catch them.
    People dump their rubbish because they don’t feel it is important to do otherwise. Consistency of message and application of law is the only thing that will change that.
    As an aside, what happened to the photocopier dumped on the highway? The Minister said he would make that a priority to address. It should be easy to track down ownership. What happened to that?

30. @BAFBFP
    How have they managed to deal with this problem in Singapore …? Ahum … ahum …
    Yuh think that the Singapore Authority is like these two bit jokers that call themselves politicians in Barbados? These people know that they inhabit a small country with a lot of people and they are damn serious about the environment.

To show how serious they are they banned the importation and sale of chewing gum because people were discarding the wrappers everywhere and sticking the gum in all kind of places ,so if you plan on visiting leave the Juicy Fruit at home

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chewing_gum_ban_in_Singapore

31. My dear mother always told me not to shake hands with men, that men pee all about the place and then don’t wash their hands afterwards.

I fear she was right.

32. If the public toilets in Bridgetown were a plentiful as clean, and as well supplied with soap, paper and warm water I am sure that it would cut down on public peeing in Bridgetown.

The question why are there so few public toilets in Bridgetown?

Why are they so dirty?

Why are they frequently in a state of dis repair?

Why is there no warm water in these toilets. After all the sun to heat the water is free?

Why is there no soap?

Why is there no toilet paper?

Why are they not cleaned every 20 minutes like the ones at the airport?

Can some BLP and DLP yard fowls answer these questions for this SImple SImon.

A lot of Bajan men have benign prostate enlargement, and a good number more prostate cancer. Maybe some of these men peeing in public, can’t hold their pee, and maybe they are disgusted at the state of public toilets.

Aren’t you?

33. Simple Simon | January 1, 2013 at 11:15 PM |
    If the public toilets in Bridgetown were a plentiful as clean, and as well supplied with soap, paper and warm water I am sure that it would cut down on public peeing in Bridgetown.
    Shortly after coming back home some 30 plus years ago, I had cause to use a public convenience in Bridgetown. That was my first and last time,in Bridgetown and Barbados for that matter. I could not believe my eyes, not to mention my nose, when I walked into that shit house, there is no other name for it, which was located just east of Mrs Ram. No description is necessary here, and it has taught me ,and my family to do our business before coming into Bridgetown.
    And yes many of the same people who are p& s -ing in the back alleys of Bridgetown are the very people who forced the authorities to closed down these health hazards.
    Perhaps we need to install in Bridgetown, some of those urinals we see in Amsterdam and Paris.
    [IMG]http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae236/Bradley432/URINAL1_zps148775a7.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae236/Bradley432/amsterdam-outdoor-urinal-2_zps117d1a2a.jpg[/IMG]

34. Colonel your links not working can you repost?

AC those videos were a classic. Now that is how Bajans should record what is going wrong. NAME THEM AND SHAME THEM! I know I wouldn’t be touching or shaking any man’s hand in Barbados AT ALL! Especially in Bridgetown.

35. How have they managed to deal with this problem in Singapore …? Ahum … ahum …

Baffy dem ent got nuh black people dey!

36. Islandgal246
    HA HA HA … Wah wunna drinking in the new year … Wunna getting too clever now … HA HA HA … ahum

The links that Buggy put up should be
    http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae236/Bradley432/URINAL1_zps148775a7.jpg
    and
    http://i975.photobucket.com/albums/ae236/Bradley432/amsterdam-outdoor-urinal-2_zps117d1a2a.jpg
    I would luvs to see a woman trying to mek use a dem … And wah ’bout de chilren’

37. Welcome to Barbados, where clearly alot of people dont see anything wrong with alot that is practiced and is WRONG there. Hopefully, education will one day sink in.

38. BAFBFP | January 2, 2013 at 8:36 AM |
    Thanks BAFF .

39. islandgal246 | January 2, 2013 at 7:34 AM |
    Colonel your links not working can you repost?
    I know I wouldn’t be touching or shaking any man’s hand in Barbados AT ALL! Especially in Bridgetown.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    Bajan men may have the monopoly on the open peeing thing, but certainly not on the failure to wash hands their hands afterwards. Recently the operators of a cruise liner out of a UK port, on which many passengers went down with a virus, blamed it squarely on the failure of many passenger to wash their hands after using the toilets.
    So be careful also how you shake hands in Paris, London, New York and Bush Hill.

40. Not very long ago a taxi driver at the busy Cane Vale -Maxwell Hill street junction, in Ch Ch stopped his car, and proceeded to piss at the left side of the car pointing his prick , in full view of motorists at the major stop on the side road,and in from of the nearby homes.
    He presented such a hazard , in a double bend, near a T-junction, that I had no time to take a shot of him.
    Not only did he piss, but he appeared to be pissed as well.

41. Here is a way that the Russians supplement their toilet facilities at weekends and at large gatherings. These bus- like vehicles are temporarily connected to the existing sewerage system.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8339876436/

42. The vidoe though seems funny presents a case of where an uneducated public is unawre of the severe health hazard that pissing can contribute in open areas to the enviroment. not to mention the creation of superbugs which can easily be created in such an enviroment in tropical countriies due in part to the bacterial content derived by the piss and the conditions for rapid germination which then gets into the atmosphere by way of wind , water , and other natural sources

43. Here are a couple of visitors experiencing their own Street View of Bridgetown. Who needs Google?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8343293655/

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply