Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

As we prepare to enter a brand new year, 2013 will be another benchmark one for us personally. Our small hotel celebrates its fortieth birthday and my wife and I enter our collective one hundred years in the hospitality industry.

I owe old copies of National Geographic magazine to my first interest in tourism, while spending prolonged time in hospital as a child. Even five decades ago the images were outstanding, and to me, captivating. I knew, that with my limited formal education, that I was never going to be destined for a ‘normal’ job or career. Even before leaving school I worked as a waiter in the Bath Hotel in Lynmouth, North Devon and later training as a Commis de Rang, at one of Britain’s historical hotels, the Old Ship in Brighton which opened it’s door in 1559. Not for a moment did I think waiting on tables was a demeaning task and would genuinely take great pleasure in ensuring diners had the very best possible service and experience. Surely that’s what we all want.

Most of the monies earned were spent travelling. My first big trip was hitch hiking to Istanbul, along the way stopping in many cities, towns and villages. I vividly remember visiting Paris for the first time and marvelling how beautiful it was and so different to London. Yet geographically, so close.

Among, the many ‘adventures’ that followed, was reliving an old television series Route 66, across the United States and even now, recalling the amazing hospitality of the American people. One example, was while waiting hours for a lift in a small Texan town called Whitesboro, its Sherriff, driving one of those huge Ford police cars, pulled over and told me to get in. Flashes of the part Rod Steiger played in the film ‘Heat of the Night’ went through my brain, thinking that he was arresting me for jay walking or some other infringement. As it was late in the day, he took me to his office, let me sleep in an unlocked cell overnight and the following morning, his wife brought me the first ever Texas breakfast that I had experienced.

By this time, tourism had become my life and the only industry that I wanted to be part of. Money soon ran out, but I was lucky to land a job in a small travel agency based in Winnipeg, Canada. This was the solution, work in the industry, get paid and learn every aspect of what makes it tick. Later I joined a Swiss company, Globus Gateway, based in Lugano, as a tour director escorting coach holidays across Europe and North Africa. My very first tour, 47 days long, visited 17 countries, four of which I had never previous visited. I met the group in London and flew with them to Madrid, where we joined our European motor coach and driver for the remaining six weeks. Manuel spoke only Spanish and had never driven outside Spain, so you can imagine, what a defining learning curve this was.

I will be eternally grateful to Globus for having the confidence in me, to trust that not only would we survive that first tour intact, but go on to direct many others successfully. Along the way gathering the knowledge needed to get better and better at the job.

Returning to the UK, we started our own tour company, but that is part two of the story for another week.

1. IT IS NO CONSOLATION TO ME .WE WILL NEVER FORGET.!
    ARE YOU ENGLISH BY THE WAY LAWSON?LOL
    TRICKY.?WERE THE ENGLISH SLAVES?AND TO WHOM SUNNY?
    LUCKY WE IRISH DON’T DO THE BOMBING THING THERE YET/
    I SAY YET AS THE FAT LADY HAS NOT SUNG ON THIS YET.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 2, 2013 at 12:55 PM |
    “WHY SHOULD WE BELIEVE ANYTHING COMING OUT OF ENGLAND ABOUT HOW WE SHOULD THINK, SPEAK OR WHAT OPINIONS TO HAVE?”

Yet you blindly accept the King James’s version of the Judeo-Christian book of myths and lies as your moral compass. Your stridently and potentially violent obsession with and objection to homosexuality are informed by this book of horrors pretending to be the word of some white man god.

If you object to homosexuality on ‘reasoned’ grounds like its biological redundancy or high risks to the health of male practitioners then people with a modicum of intellect might listen to you and follow your argument. But as it stands your objection to homosexuality is conditioned by the literature written by Jewish moral law makers and cleverly amended and presented to black fools like you. We are sure that David and Jonathan who displayed undying love for each other according to the history book of Samuel would not have agreed with you.

3. Actually I was born in scotland, we used to say you can always tell an englishman from far but once they get close you cant tell them a damn thing.However I never overlook advice coming from anywhere because even a stopped watch is right twice a day.
    We are probably not so different my ancestors worked the fields for others my parents started in the mills at 13. Hurdles were always in front of us getting ahead and carrying the weight of all that extra poor me baggage made them much harder to get over. So I made a dicission my life will be controlled by me. All my mistakes are mine cant blame them on anyone else but all my successes are also mine and do not owe anybody for those either.
    A englishman goes into the library in Edinburgh and asks the librarian do you have any books on suicide she replies piss off you’ll no bring it back.
    What chance do the English have with Celtic thinking like that.

4. What you talking about?? haven’t been to church read a bible since i was twelve and realized it was a FRAUD. Never forced my children to go either, let them find out the fraud on their own. Always warned them to look for signs that will tell you the priest or minister is a pedophile, I was unto that scam from real early. That’s part of the problem in bim, religious fanatics.

5. And again I never objected to homosexuality, only to the homosexual rape of people. Jeez, what are you people reading?

6. Glad to see some of the people from various euro countries engaging, the education is priceless to those who do not know. The bible in view is just a history book, very well crafted and revised to suit the times, sadly although people read the book; the rich, politicians and a number of others are still doomed to repeat the same mistakes, though they run to church every sunday with the book in their hand, forget everything on Monday. Talk about counterproductive. I keep far from that particular drama. However, what I want to know is how someone who is english speaking can read something and then completely misinterpret what they read?? Please read in segments.

7. Another piece of valuable information would be to educate black bajans to the reality that whites were slaves as well, on a different level, most don’t know this and think all white people are wealthy, and they should work for them. Education is very valuable, no sense keeping that info secret anymore, it will come out soon anyway.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 2, 2013 at 6:53 PM |

Since that bible crap has not filled your head with a lot of moral filth you are capable of reasoning.
    Now stop discriminating and condemn the rape of people, period! Man, woman or child should not be raped. Paedophilia is a form of rape and must be punished severely.

But two consenting adults or more, whether man and man or woman and woman or man and woman can do to each other whatever pleases them on a consensual basis.

9. Hard headed Miller…… the only people I condemned were the people responsible for victimization. I swear most of you come on the blog to pick fights. Hope you don’t have psychological problems. Why do you think I kept saying I have NO PROBLEM with them when everyone was trying to make the whole thing a biological diagnosis, rather than look at it in various categories – cause and effect.

10. or more??? in your adaconda ball like scenario is it consensual if alchohol or drugs are involved ????

11. Thanks for the link, those were studies, some incomplete that did reveal that they recognize some homosexuality is biological. the studies are not done and are complex, as we know. It does relate to genetics, but they still have not touched on areas of victimization that in reality creates some homosexuals. It is a very complex and why I don’t discriminate, since every homosexual or lesbian can give you a story and try to explain why they feel confused or just plain accept their orientation. These stories all vary and hence why studies are still continuing.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 2, 2013 at 7:16 PM |

I would pick fights with any racist, homophobic, sexist idiot and religious bigot who discriminates against people because of any disability or cultural difference.

Since you claim not to be one of them you have nothing to fear from the miller. But you need to make your views and opinions much more clear and understandable and stop vacillating on the homo bandwagon. Do you hate homosexuals (aka bullers and wickers in Bajan lingo) because of their sexual orientation? Because this came over rather strongly in your initial response to P. O’Connor’s criticism of Blackman’s article in another thread while making unnecessary derogatory references to his ethnic or cultural origins.

13. WELL! WELL! must be a politician fuh she sure know how to talk out both sides of her mouth. talking bout not having no problem with homosexual. .well well i haven’t read nothing positive that WEll ! WEll said about homosexuals.

14. Sometimes the truth sounds derogatory to those who don’t like to hear it and prefer some people not talk about it; lets not try to indoctrinate anyone, let’s deal with these matters as they really are, homosexuality is a reality, just like everything else we have to deal with. For many centuries people, particularly, in small island colonies in Barbados were expected to shut-up and don’t express any views and opinion, without being told they did not have the mental capabilities to understand anything. THOSE DAY ARE OVER, GET OVER IT, DEAL WITH IT. We can now dialogue and have fantastic forums to do so, multiple forums. Some people are steeped in their old colonial ways thinking whatever they say is gospel and should be adhered to, some black bajans are guilty of that as well, they bajan whites and some europeans still think they know everything. IT’S OVER, different era. People in the caribbean are still reluctant to speak their mind, deal with these issues and tell someone they are wrong. IT’S OVER. Derogatory is when you still think you are superior to another race and still make derogatory comments about them, everyone can do that now. See, if blue eyes think i am going to apologize, hell will freeze over. I certainly hope he understood the links you sent me and see for himself the studies are still incomplete and complex.

15. as for the tourism industry . they too are well aware of the financial power the homosexual community weilds. ask butch he try shutting them out but he soon learned that money is inclusive and boycotts is a favourite pastime of the gay community.

16. If I have to come back on this Earth in a different time zone and had the choice I would choose anywhere between 1650 and 1800 as a White male plantation owner in Barbados. Now surely that would be heaven … wow!

17. BAFBFP, that is why it will NEVER happen again. But for argument sake what if it should be attempted now, do you think you could survive????. We are fully aware that alot of you yearn for those evil old days, when laziness and cruelty was the white man’s mews. There is a saying, be careful for what you ask, you may very well get it. ITS OVER, GET OVER IT.

18. You know relating to gay tourism, am of the opinion it could be a good thing, however it could be a double-edged sword like present tourism. Now i know most of you heard the story of the ship filled with gays cruising into St. Lucia??? Grenada?? and two individuals felt quite comfortable engaging in intercourse while the ship was going into harbor in full view of the natives. Of course they were arrested, and I think that was the end of that in that particular island. Now if they behave themselves……………………… as i said double edged sword.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | January 2, 2013 at 8:06 PM |

You would have had to bed pure (virginal) black wenches to avoid the claps and syphilis.
    Pedophilia and rape would have been par for the course.
    Who said you weren’t and reincarnated as a black man as punishment for your past transgressions (LOL!!).

20. Don’t forget ANAL RAPE Miller………… ANAL RAPE of slaves. As I kept saying over and over and over, those vicious acts predated homosexuality. In your excitement you forgot that is what i kept saying.

21. Someone told me they had to cancel the christmas pageant in Bridgetown because they couldnt find three wise men, obviousley they werent looking hard enough

22. Miller….Too focused on the pure virginal black wenches to remember they were also raping everyone anally, both black and white, male and female, you better thank your lucky stars you were not of that era, you would not be able to laugh out loud.

23. @BAFBFP
    ’cause I coming fah yah ass … HA HA HA

Isn’t that for another thread on this blog?

24. , After CENTURIES of ANAL RAPE OF BOTH RACES, THE ANDROGYNOS male has now surfaced,can anyone say MANIFESTATION. Please do some research before jumping on me, i invite you.

25. Barbados didn’t quite make the cut. Thank’s to Check-this-out for drawing this to out attention.

The 10 Best Countries to Retire to in 2013
    Planning to retire abroad? Ecuador is the top spot for North American retirees, according to InternationalLiving.com’s newly-released Annual Global Retirement Index 2013.
    This is Ecuador’s fifth consecutive year at the top of the heap.
    This annual Index—now in its 22nd year–ranks the best international retirement destinations. To compile the ranking, InternationalLiving.com editors collated data from its team of experts on the ground in the most popular countries among U.S. and Canadian expat retirees. Editors assessed factors ranging from the price of groceries and average temperature, to utility costs and the friendliness of locals.
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/jacquelynsmith/2013/01/04/the-10-best-countries-to-retire-to-in-2013/

26. Finally something about Barbados in the Ottawa newspaper, large editorial mostly on the Crane resort (getting people to buy a timeshare) but it did speak of the people and the island in glowing terms.Unfortunately every travel advertizement was going somewhere else.Why cant they (whoever they are) co-ordinate good press with at least a couple of specials It seems one hand doesnt know what the other is doing.

Leave a Reply to barbadostripadvisorCancel reply