Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First they came for the Communists, but I was not a Communist so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Socialists and the Trade Unionists, but I was neither, so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Jews, but I was not a Jew so I did not speak out. And when they came for me, there was no one left to speak out for me – Pastor Martin Niemoeller

They have come for Jeff Broomes, and as a trade unionist, I must speak out before they come for me. From the outset, let me state that I am not defending Broomes because I think that he is guiltless. In Barbados, everyone, even Jeff Broomes, is innocent until he pleads guilty or guilt is established after a duly constituted body makes that determination after hearing the evidence, and giving the accused the right to be heard. I am therefore concerned that the Public Service Commission (PSC) has taken steps against him, under the guise of a transfer, before it follows the rules in order to establish his guilt or innocence.

The Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) has achieved its goal of separating the Principal from Alexandra School; but they have nothing to rejoice about when you consider the way it was done. I hope that the membership of the union is sensible enough to condemn the method that was adopted by the PSC. BSTU should vociferously disassociate itself from the denial of due process to Mr. Broomes. Even murderers who kill in front of witnesses are given the right to be heard before sentence is pronounced. In essence, he has fewer rights than a murderer.

The PSC is supposed to be an independent body charged with the responsibility of making appointments and exercising disciplinary control over members of the Public Service. Its power and procedures are set out in the Constitution, the Public Service Act and regulations. It does not have the right to act on the recommendations of any body that is not authorized by those pieces of legislation. It certainly cannot hold a straight face and expect to convince the country that it acted independently of the recommendations of the Waterman Commission into the affairs of the Alexandra School. Mr. Waterman clearly stated that these matters should be investigated by the PSC. I do not pretend to be all knowing, but I am not aware of any investigation by the PSC that would have authorized it to act against Broomes and inflict collateral damage on other innocent public officers.

The PSC could not be so naïve as to believe that by transferring Broomes and a number of others that it has resolved anything. Its actions have only served to give the Government the opportunity to call the elections in a period of industrial peace because the teachers would not be on strike. However, if the BSTU is worth its salt, it would move with all deliberate speed to be seen to protect the rights of its shop steward, Mrs. Gail Streat-Jules. She was acting on behalf of the union and has been adversely affected in her employment as a consequence. At the very least, BSTU should report the PSC to the Police for breaching section 40A of the Trade Union Act. If the Police fails to act, the union should institute a private prosecution against the PSC. The immunities granted to service commissions by section 106 of the Constitution does not appear to extend to conduct that might appear to be criminal. And section 40A makes it an offence, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, for an employer to dismiss or adversely affect an employee for taking part in trade union activity.

That might only be the beginning of the legal troubles for the PSC. Remember it has acted against Jeff Broomes without giving him an opportunity to be heard. It would be completely out of character for him to meekly accept punishment by whatever name called for peace sake. He is now the victim, but this matter is bigger than him. Every right thinking person in this country should find the behaviour of the PSC to be offensive: it should not be seen to be trying to circumvent the rules. Luckily, Broomes has options, and he finds himself uniquely placed not only to defend his rights, but to establish standards and procedures which will serve as precedence to guide future service commissions.

I now find myself in the uncomfortable position of advising Jeff Broomes: I consider him to be the villain in the Alexandra matter, but even villains have rights that must be protected. My advice to him would be to institute proceedings in the High Court for a judicial review of the actions of the PSC. He has more than enough grounds for seeking relief, but I will only quote a few from the Administrative Justice Act, namely: breach of the principles of natural justice; acting on instructions from an unauthorized person; and failure to satisfy or observe conditions or procedures required by law.

The BSTU should not be happy to have achieved its goal of separating the Principal from the school at this cost. I cannot be so shortsighted to believe that removing Jeff Broomes by any means necessary is okay. What will be their position when something similar happens to one of their members that they consider to be innocent?

Finally, my advice to the Public Service Commission is simple, resign before you do further damage to the institution called the Public Service.

1. I wonder if owen if for real with his comments on the back page of the Nation. I would like him to address the issue of killing of the use car dealers to appease simpson motors and Nasco. Also who is this young lady that brought in a luxury vehicle for pleasure that got every thing waived while he was PM and why he did not offer the same concessions to her friend who brough in the q similar vehicle. Why he changed the zoning for lqnd from zone 1 to 2 and who subbsequebtly bebfitted from such action. Why did he spend abou 1,5 million dollars on the St. Joseehp Hospital inquiry, by the way there are still outstanding debts for that.. Whar Barbados got for the 400 mil dollars spent on Eduteckway. What benefits simmons and st. john got from JAWS. Mascoll could help with that. Who benfittd from the importation of vehicles and parts under his administration. What was his assets before entering politcs and after demiting office?

2. @Smooth Chocolate | December 30, 2012 at 11:42 AM |
    SC>I always knew you had at least one post that makes sense in you. The break up of Broomes and the AX teacher cabals is the most equitable decision. Reasonable persons after hearing the COI would come to the same conclusion. This action could not be done before COI because most us were not seized of the facts and took sides based on emotion and who dont like who. Huge rspect is due to the PM and MOE for the decision to shift all the players. No one wins frankly no one deserved to. Citizens with no axe to grind agree the move is a just and fair one.

Bush Tea is an anarchist and an anachronism. I thought the nihilistic jobbee he writes went out in the 1920’s. He is irrelevant except for the odd sick joke. Caswell is completely without credibility. Any man who cant keep a job, who is not a team player, opinionated beyond reason and a known loser must be punished with laughter.
    For Christ sakes Caswell started a workers union and not one person joined. He is like the PDC except the PDC claims to have a membership of two.Caswell looks around sixty but argues like a 5yr old. Caswell leaves anybody with a semblance of grey matter to dismiss him as a clown.

The AX solution arrived at is the best in the circumstances. I am a taxpayer and I endorse the decision.

3. @Clone
    “Teachers are trained to teach and so there should no problems getting student’s SBAs ready for April.”

You’ve adopted a simple view to a more complicated matter.
    new teachers must
    – quickly glean where the students are at academically
    – adapt their teachig style to the students learning style they have
    – adjust to the culture of the new school
    – get to know the children personally and by extension parents
    – mitigate for differences in the learning styles and level of students where the came from versus where there are heading to
    – instruct, assess, modify and provide constructive feedback in one term for a five year programme.
    – make up for any deficiencies of the previous teacher while not wiping the slate they had clean.

Given the critical time (SBA completion and CXC preparation during a short sports term), methinks that there will be some problems albeit manageable ones depending on the ability, professionalism, emotional maturity and adaptability of the teachers (training is the least significant factor here!). Even so, in all fairness we are asking a lot of them that “did nothing” to contribute to the AX saga.

Just Observing

4. @Caswell

If Bromes was forcibly retired what rights would he have had? Would he be a villain?

Did u envisage that Mary Redman would have been in this position now having been advised badly by an attorney and Frosty who we called a guru in industrial relations. lol

@Observing
    I am cognisant that a judege would have to make that determination.

@Walter Maloney

You normally ha ve a lot to say, even if it is nonsense. Did u get the appointment u carried the nupw to represent u on, evn though u dont have the qualifiacation. Do u think that David Thompson who gave u the post can save u now?

Leroy u have long past the retirement age, home.

5. @TTP
    let’s say that you are right and Owen was completely wrong in all he did (allow ppl to be squeezed out and give preference to others). does that make it right if it is done now by those with the power to do it?

just observing

6. @Observing(…)

Acknowledging all you have posited on the AX matter do you or anyone believe there is a painless solution?

7. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

PSC or MOE??????

8. @david
    There was never going to be a painless one. All things considered this solution may have been the best of the worst options. It gives no one room to realistically contest it on any concrete grounds, save maybe the 1 or 2 AX teachers who were at the school since adam was a lad, if there are any.

Sometimes a little pain is needed to make some gain. The unforseeable future is always the best judge of the actions of the present.

Observing

9. Observing;

Well reasoned as expected. However, I think that even though I can concede that other aspects of the problem and the need to wrestle them to the ground were of possibly equal importance and required a solution, those factors were not included in my argument. I think that the actual solution to the mess you alluded to and that was put in place is seriously flawed even if it was conceived as the best politically inspired one to make at this time. Indeed, I think it has the seeds of misfiring and resulting in a situation that might not be of particular political benefit to the person whose ultimate brainchild it probably was.

The decision to transfer Broomes and some of the Teachers is probably a good one, given the circumstances, but why transfer 21 teachers at one time? Why not Broomes and an additional 3 or 4?, a solution that would have sent the same message of arguable even handedness, and result in lesser dislocation of all concerned. Why the heavy hammer approach? Why go so far outside the faint recommendations of the COI? Did the Services Commision have an in house trial with no witnesses and arrive at that decision? To me, It does not make sense. But a lot of things don’t make sense to me these days and I am probably in the wrong again.

To me, the question of from whose brain)s) the above decision emanated, is of great importance as it tells us something of the quality of his or their thought processes especially if they are to lead us for another term. If it turns out, by the reactions or lack thereof of broomes and the teachers, their unions, their lawyers and the schools that are inadvertently participating in the transfers, that the decision is a good one, The originating genius or genii should take some bows now. If, in good bajan tradition, it peters out, so be it. But if there might arguably be political consequences, positive or negative, for the decisions and actions reported this weekend, we could at least discuss it here on BU even though it is possible, and highly so, that the real decision maker(s) will never be revealed.

But all will likely be revealed in the fulness of time.

10. Observing
    Every first and second term in the school system teachers go on leave may it be long leave, sick leave or maternity leave that means that new teachers come into the system to teach the same children.

To make my argument stronger the teachers coming in are usually untrained graduates. In this case the teachers moving are all appointed trained graduates who have been teaching at the CXC level for most of their career.
    I know what I am talking about brother.

The only problem I envisage are those students at Alexandra who were allowed last term to terrorized the school fighting on Jeff Broomes behalf. This must not be allowed again. If this happens then there should be transferred over to Alma Parris and Edna Nichols center.

11. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY
    600, 000. 00 Barbados dollars could have done a lot for poor people,
    In these so-called economic times, this expenditure is not satisfactory at all.
    Justice Waterman should be fined for engaging in nonsense.
    The Prime Minister should lose his seat and the Government given 30 years in opposition

12. Another Retired Teacher . Avatar
    Another Retired Teacher .

@ observing
    ” teachers must adjust …”
    Are you trying to suggest that having new members come on to a teaching staff is something new in the teaching profession ? Are you suggesting that a trained teacher who is accustomed to teaching a subject would find it difficult to pick up in a new school and carry on where his predecessor left off ? If this is what you are suggesting I must say that you are far from being an informed and objective observer . New teachers come on to staffs at all times during a school year.
    It should be clear that the solution found in this Alexandra matter is the most equitable under the very difficult circumstances . The views expressed here by Caswell are typical of his style ..shallow , offensive and disrespectful of authority . No wonder it is said that he has been fired from every job he has ever held ( I note with interest that he has never responded to this claim ) . That he could be regarded as an authoritative source on every subject possible speaks of the kind of mediocrity we have become willing to accept as a standard in this country .

13. Bush Tea
    I am sorry but I don’t think Caswell would be the person to lead any restructuring of Barbados.

His positions are confusing to me.

Reading his past posts against Jeff Broomes made up my mind that he likes an argument. There is a no win situation with him.

14. David;

You asked about a painless solution. I think there is none. However, I think that the eventual solution could have been sugar coated to cause minimal disruption at AX and the other Schools while sending the essential message already sent and not departing significantly from the recommendations of the COI.

To me, the essential message is that Broomes was NOT the only one responsible for the mess at the School over the past 10 years or so. So the transfer of Broomes AND the main ringleaders at AX would have sufficed to make that point. Thus Broomes could have been transferred to another secondary School if they couldn’t legally transfer him to a desk job at MOE. (Indeed transferring him to another School shows plainly that they had absolutely no strong evidence of his wrongdoing). It would however only need the additional transfer of two or three of the protagonist Old AX teachers to make the essential point above.

There would be no widespread disruptions at AX itself.
    The fallout would be minimal. Only 3 or four additional schools would have been affected.
    If Broomes protested, that situation could be handled.
    The transfer decisions could wait until the end of this school year. The BSTU could be persuaded that striking again would not be in their best interests.

QED

15. @Checkit-out

If a problem – discussed extensively on BU – was the old girls AX culture layered with teachers said to be cherrypicked by Broomes, someone obviously made the decision to remove all of the ‘cancer’. No half measures.

16. the decisions caught the nay sayers all by surprise for which the response should be taken with a grain of salt. the need to keep this matter in the public arena has been taken away giving way to a smooth transition. what purpose would it serves Broomes to fight the recommendations and disrupt the lives of the children .after all a teachers job is one of called to “duty” and that duty includes all children and broomes is well aware of that, nothing has been taken away from Broomes moreso he has been given a chance of redemption and to prove that the education of children are the foremost importance issue that matters. never mind Caswell and his narrow mindedness to him is “BAH! HUMBUG!

17. Check it Out
    Mary Redman would have embarrassed the country again with another strike..

An investigation should be carried out on Mary Redman in terms of her productivity as a Teacher.
    Many parents of children in the classes she teaches at Lodge says she is absent on a regular basis from the classroom especially during that strike action.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

For some reason I think that you like me. However, the problem is that I am not attracted to fools.

19. And now for the annual awards ceremony …

For the prize for the most prolific commenter … the prize goes to ac

The prize for the most prolific contributor … and the winner is Native Son

The prize for the most controversial commenter … and the winner is PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

The prize for the most string story telling … And the winner is john jackson

The prize for the most consistent and bull headed comments … And the two winners are Bush Tea and Zoe 🙂

The prize for the most uncouth behavior … and the winner is ac

The prize for the most insightful goes to Observing(…)

Two prizes for the most melodramatic goes to … Caswell Franklyn and Rosemary Parkinson

The prize for the most uninspiring comments goes to … Amused HA HA HA

The prize for he/she that exhibited the most restraint for the year goes to … David

So therefore the prize for the least insightful commentator goes to … BAFBFP ….!

HAR HAR HAR

20. David mah man, my comment get huff (awaiting moderation) See wah you could do ’bout that. Reminds me of my day with BFP now … ha ha ha

21. RE
    Caswell Franklyn | December 30, 2012 at 3:30 PM |
    AC

For some reason I think that you like me. However, the problem is that I am not attracted to fools.

EXCELLENT AND ELEGANT SHOT!

22. you give yourself too much credit .actually think i would be “attracted to you” another one of your foolish comments almost as outlandish as your suggestions to broomes and Redman in your article.

sent from my a. h…..l.

23. @clone and Retired teacher

Let’s add some context

“new teachers come on all the time”

This happens unexpectedly in a one by one maybe two by two basis. NOT 21/22!

Also, Where teachers go on extended leave (@Clone), that leave is typically planned for or known about in advance and as mentioned above, happens in ones and twos.

Where teachers are untrained graduates (or even trained), the departing teacher(s) leave(s) a set programme in place for them to carry on with and consults with them as needed (ideally). In addition, there is guidance and mentorship from the Head of Department to assist with what is going on or to ensure continuity. Can any of you guarantee that any of this will be the case with the 21 teachers who are being rotated???

It would be remiss of me to mention that 8 out of the 9 Heads of Departments are being transferred as well as Senior Teachers. If that point is lost on you then I really can’t help you.

I could go into the intricacies of today’s students, the mindsets of the AX students given the saga and the fact that the teacher-student relationship is paramount to good learning far less good learning in a transition phase, but I’ll leave that for another time. I may also leave out the impact of the disruption in the continuity of a curriculum or an academic programme on that entire programme (hence our disgust with Redman and co.’s actions in January).

Education is not simple. Teaching today is not straightforward. Our students and this particular generation (even under the best of circumstances) bring challenges that even the most trained teacher (under the best of circumstances) will have challenges navigating.

Please don’t dumb down the issue. Context is critical.

21 teachers, all at the same time, from different schools, pulled together, without prior notice, without consultation, without interaction with the teachers they’re replacing, in a different culture, under strained circumstances, most likely reluctantly, with a new principal, with uncertain students, and a 3 month period to deliver on SBAs, and a 5 month period to deliver on CXC’s.

“i know what I am talking about brother”
    – I’m certain that one of us does. 😉

“you are far from being an informed and objective observer ”
    – Indeed, you are correct. I passed that stage and have moved to the next one a few years back.

@check-it-out
    The problem was too deep rooted for a stitch or two. Amputation was the only real cure. The only issue which I agree with you on was the timing, how far up the limb and the type of tool to do it with.

Just Observing

24. @ Observing,
    “the real decision maker(s) will never be revealed! What’s left to be seen now is if any external resource persons will be assigned to AX to assist with the transition”.

I do not think these decisions were made in the MOE based on what I was told by an official of the MOE at a Christmas do I attended.

The officials did not seem to even know what going on as the person said that no one in the ministry was touching this issue as they were upset that the PM took the matter out of the hands of the ministry and they felt that having to testify before the COI was embarrassing for them.

Ministry officials were looking for the teachers to go on strike next week. So this clearly tells me that the MOE was kept out of the loop! What a country we live in!

25. @TTP
    What was his assets before entering politcs and after demiting office?

I want you to ask the same the same question to Michael Lashley, Dennis Lowe, Kenny Worst and Donville Inniss. Fair is fair!

26. @check it out
    that should read that I agree with you the issue of timing etc……. 🙂

@Baffy
    When the award ceremony is? And what’s the dress code?? I assume that all of us have to wear masks and that we’re inviting Carl Moore to be the guest speaker for the night???

We could get Broomes to hand out the awards and Jonesey and Mary Redman to give the Vote of Thanks! Ask Sinckler early for concessions and a vat rebate on the trophies that we importing from China!!!! 🙂

27. Look at this Caswell maybe you can recuit GEORGIE PORGIE to be a member of your Union . he apparantly loves confortation.Two love bird you couple would make.

28. So who appointed Broomes–the Board at Alexandra, the PSC, the Minister……. and who transferring him?

29. I guess that is why Barbados is in such a pitiful state. What is wrong with transferring Broomes to another school. Isn’t Broomes a part of management. Here in the USA, a principal can be transferred to any school at the whim of the school chancellor. A principal can even be pulled from the school and be assigned to central office. Do we all agree that there are issues to be addressed at Alexandra school. Why should one employee have so much power that he/she can’t be transferred? No one is saying that an employee shouldn’t have any rights, but the employer should have the right to do what’s best for his/her business. No wonder why the status quo will always remain in Bim. No wonder why the government employees act the way they do to the public. There are no consequences to pay, so there are no incentive to change. Don’t get me wrong I am a union member working for the city of NY and I love the unions. But as the old saying goes bare foolishness Is going on back there in Barbados.

30. @To The Point | December 30, 2012 at 4:56 AM |
    “Mr. Broomes cannot be transferred without his consent as he appointed to the school”

What special appointment does Broomes hold that he cannot be transferred unless he agrees to it? Respectfully, what am I missing? I would think whoever put him in that position can remove him without his approval. Even if he were elected then there is a process to get him out – again he still wouldn’t have the final word.

I think all teachers, including principals should be transferred, rotated whatever you call it after at least 4 or so years. I think Broomes should simply accept the transfer without any fuss; doing so is peace of mind for all including the students who are caught in the midst of this embarrassing ruckus. I really don’t know what he would be proving by taking his transfer to another height.

31. @ Clone re Caswell
    Don’t be confused. This man is the EXACT, ideal person to move political life in Barbados in the right direction.
    The fact for example that he has been fired from every job that he has held, is a MAJOR PLUS in Bushie’s book. Any normal man of principle AND with balls WILL be fired from almost any job in Barbados.
    Have we not established OVER and OVER that this place is run by brass bowls? You ever stood up to a brass bowl with authority?
    Most Bajans just learn to “brown-nose-it” and keep their little picks…. But CASWELL IS NOT LIKE THAT.

Even the Guyanese girl (that Bushie hear he had) is not a surprise or shock …. Remember a fellow name David, king of Israel? Could not keep his hands off the women….(too much testestarone) …yet he was described as “…a man after God’s own heart”. ….Caswell may need to back off the Lowdown Goatmilk….

With respect to the AX matter, Bushie CANNOT HELP Him. David will confirm that Bushie advised Caswell to STAY OUT OF IT from the very very start…. But he was always hard ears…

No!
    Bushie sticking with Caswell as the only hope for the kind of GOVERNANCE that can get this place on the right track. His thinking about the Broomes matter is one of PRINCIPLE….even if it is tenuous.
    This is the kind of thinking that should guide good governance.

If Bushie can get Caswell, Baffy, BU David and Islandgal together on this project….look out Barbados! 🙂

32. The officials did not seem to even know what going on as the person said that no one in the ministry was touching this issue as they were upset that the PM took the matter out of the hands of the ministry and they felt that having to testify before the COI was embarrassing for them.

“Upset that the PM took the matter out of the hands of the ministry”. There you have it ladies and gentleman the laugh of the day. How long was the Ministry working on his again? Those embarrassed officials have two speeds “dead slow” and “stop”.

33. David and Observing;
    Re. Transfers, Cancers and Amputations.
    Sometimes wholesale amputations might not solve the problem. Sometimes a series of treatments may be the best course. Not that it is of any use now,, but perhaps, removal of the main cancers (The Broomes, the Deputy and the Greaves lady and perhaps Leslie Lett) followed by regular observation and further excisions / treatments, if necessary, might have led to total remission, if the problem was properly diagnosed.

But at this point this particular discussion is purely academic. Perhaps the real discussion should be around; Is FS’s legacy and prospects in the upcoming General election likely to be enhanced by this action? and, Is the current action likely to benefit the Students’ readiness for exams and overall progress over the next 2 terms?

I say no for both. What say ye?

34. Erskine Miiller; Granted that the situation here is highly irrregular but I haven’t seen any poster saying that Broomes or the Alexandra teachers should not have been disciplined. What I’m seeing is that a few posters are calling into question the details of the transfer.

Is it normal in the USA for there to be problems between Principals and Staff? Is it normal there for the President to get into such a problem at a school? Is it normal for a school board to transfer 2/5ths of the teachers at one school at one fell scoop, including 8/9th of the senior staff?

35. Obs(…)

I organisin’ it cause it ain’ gun cos’ a red cent. After all none a wunna gun show up not even wid masks … MURDA. You see Carl Moore knew wah he did talking ’bout … HA HA HA HA. Shhhh, I talkin’ soft so only you could hear but if Bush Tea read da comment on the awards he would drop me from he list like a hot bun … HA HA HA … Don’ tell nah body hear.

BTW if you want the MoE to be there, well he can’ be giving a vote a’ thanks, he would deserving of an award too …wah you t’ink…. A Demonic Trophy that Georgie would present … HA HA HA HA HA … MURDA

36. Check it out: what government would let a situation like this go on for ten years. Are you telling me this situation is not unconscionable. Ten years give me a break. A principal can be transferred, demoted or fired at any time. Here in New York the problems are not really between the teachers and the principals, it’s between the teachers union and the NYC board of education. Are you telling me that people in the moe should still have jobs? Are you telling me that Ronald Jones should still be the moe? Are you telling me that the CEO should still have his job. Apparently all they are there to do is collect a check. The laws in Barbados needs to be changed. Nothing can be accomplish because of the threat of law suits. Hard decisions needs to be made without fear or fervor. No wonder Barbados is in the mess it’s in. Every one can do what he/she please without suffering any consequences. Are we interested in the children or we interested in our own interest.

37. @Candid

i am not speaking from an emotional perspective. r u familiar with administrative law or do u have a basic understanding of law and natural justice?

38. @check it out
    I say nay to both for now…but, the true consequences of the action will lie in the REactions to come this week. I still have my popcorn ready to put in the microwave….

U made an interesting point on another thread about the dlp regaining some ground. Let’s revisit that later this week in light of recent events. :). AX will neither damage nor enhance Stuart based on how it has turned out. Let’s see how the major players (bstu, bappss, nupw, broome, redman, the transferees) deal with it.

39. @Checkit-out
    When a principal,teacher or any government employees get hired is there a probation period and if there is a probation period, how did Broomes kept his job as a principal when within months of him being hired there were problemsa between him and the teachers. Here in NYC any new employees hired/promoted is on probation for on year and if there are problems with that employee whether regular, supervisor or manager that person can’t pass his/her probation and will either be fired if coming off the street or if a civil servant will be demoted back to his/her civil service position. For instance i applied for a promotion as an Staff Analyst i am waiting to be given a start date, because i was told that i got the position. Since I’m being promoted to a Staff Analyst II. I am already a Staff I, i will be placed on six months probation and if i have any issues at all within that six month period i will be demoted back to my original position and i will not be able to challenge my employer. It could be that the supervisor don’t like me and the union can’t do anything about it. Why

40. What laws ! bajans dont’t recognise rules and laws that is why Broomes did whatever the hell he like and got away for twelve years, erskine notice the response most of those in favour with broomes keep adding another law in the argument ,not willing to seek resolution. there are many defacto PM in barbados and interpretators of the law just take a look at the above article. no body ready to give in just keep the fight going. Barbados and NY law worlds apart, too many drivers and no passengers EVERYBODY in charge in bubados . LAW ! What LAW!

41. So Mr Erskine we can take it that everything is hunky dory in the NY schools system then? All going like clockwork and children learning and doing well…?
    Or Is it a fact that less than 50% of black and Hispanic children complete high school in the Metro Area?
    Was the NY school system not forced to recruit trained teachers from third world countries, including Barbados, a few years ago in order to meet required teacher quotas…?
    Are the school bus drivers union going to strike in January?
    Has the NYCDOE and the city teachers union completed a new contract yet?

We all have our problems and “problem administrators”.
    Lol …..let us cuss our idiots and you cuss yours….

42. see what i meaning. another assine comment coming from one of our well known “defacto PM ” bushie tea.

43. @ac
    We all know that bushtea is often out there, but I agree with him here.

We all have our problems and “problem administrators”.
    Lol …..let us cuss our idiots and you cuss yours….

The educational system in the USA IS ELEPHANT EXCREMENT

IT CAN NOT COMPARE WITH OURS AT ALL
    DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY MORONS THAT COULD NOT GET PASS FORM THREE IN BIM EMERGED AS SCHOLARS IN THE USA.

ANY JACKASS CAN PASS A MCQ TEST, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE ASKED TO GIVE THE STUDENTS QUESTIONS THAT THEY HAVE SEEN ALREADY

DO YOU KNOW THE NUMBER OF COLLEGE STUDENTS WHO SAY THEY ARE SEEKING TO GO TO GRADUATE SCHOOL THAT CANT WRITE A SIMPLE ESSAY, AND WHO LIKE YOU ARE OBLIVIOUS OF THE RUDIMENTS OF SPELLING, PUNCTUATION AND SYNTAX?

44. …and yet another malapropism coming from our resident idiot ac

What? How long did you think it would be before Erskine worked out that you don’t know didly squat about anything but cussing….?

We won’t want him getting too chummy with you and ending up in Arizona now would we…?

45. Observing(…) | December 30, 2012 at 3:44 PM |

Having read you comment in its entirety I can only conclude that the majority of Bajan students duncy and the teachers incompetent.

46. Wunna ent tired beating up pon AC, you Bushie you are an abuser. Leff she alone even though she called me a biatch a few days ago. We all know she is not too classy a broad but leff she do.

47. i think it is about the laws in barbados and the lack of respect. we can cuss and churnch and turn but in the long run if the laws are not adhere to what good is in having them which is in the case of AX is what happen, nothing to do with academics and passing grade but in respect as to how the administrative of the laws allowed Broomes to do as he please for so long without recourse .i agree with erskine that being NY Broomes a.ss would have been long gone.no cussing! no intermeditators! No COI!

48. the kind of response to this topic is not surprisng given that most of the men supporting Broomes have a dinosaur mentality and still believes that woman are “idiots” and should put up with bull..shit or shut up .there response is a continuance of their abusive and archaic mentality towards woman even to the point where woman having different point of views or sstanding up for their rights are called menopausal . Exhibit A BUSHIE TEA>

49. @hants
    Lol. Which part of my comment gave you that impression? Actually it’s because they are not duncy and not incompetent that they’ve managed to achieve what we have so far despite the maaaany internal and external challenges!

Imagine what they would do if only we had a purpose driven, visionary and agile education system that catered to their needs!

Just observing

50. hope that Mr. Broomes will exhaust all the options available to him in Administrative Law.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply