Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

2 Thus saith the Lord, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them.

3 For the customs of the people are in vain: for one cutteth a tree out of the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with an ax.

4 They deck it with silver and with gold; they fasten it with nails and with hammers, that it move not.

5 They are upright as the palm tree, but speak not; they must needs be borne, because they cannot go. Be not afraid of them; for they cannot do evil, neither also is it in them to do good.

The above passage is taken from Jeremiah 10: 2 – 5, King James Version of the Holy Bible. It is telling us not to learn the ways of the heathen, and it singles out the practice of cutting down a tree from the forest and decorating it with silver and gold. Amazingly, those instructions from the Old Testament prophet Jeremiah, who lived six hundred years before the birth of Christ, seem to be speaking about the modern day practice of decorating a Christmas tree.

It is safe to conclude that the custom of setting up Christmas trees has nothing to do with what some is the reason for the season – the birth of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. If I am to go by the words of Jeremiah, the custom of setting up Christmas trees is merely following the ways of the heathen. Surely, it should be offensive to right-thinking people to adopt the customs of heathens to celebrate the birth of Christ.

It is also interesting to note that the Christian church only started celebrating the birth of Christ four hundred years after his birth. Again the church adopted pagan celebrations that pre-date the birth of Christ to celebrate that event.

1. @Caswell

Are you sure you want to do this?

Lord haf mercy
    Chri’t haf mercy

2. So?

3. Ditto….

4. Of course all religions involve syncresis.

So the pre-Christian custom of decorating trees in the “winter” has infiltrated the celebration of Christ’s birth, and has even infiltrated the tropics where there is no winter, and where evergreen trees are not regarded as highly symbolic of life, because in the tropics green trees are an everyday commonplace.

However to say that we should not have Christmas trees because of what is written in Jeremiah 10: 2 – 5, is like saying we should not not enjoy the wuk-ups of Crop Over because we have NEVER set foot in a sugar cane field.

5. I always say to Christians they are celebrating the birth of the new Sun and not the Son according to the traditions of the season.

I always laugh when persons say Christ should be returned to the season, because he was never in it from its inception. Good post.

6. I am not saying that people should not celebrate Christmas, but I think that they should be aware what they are actually celebrating. Pagan celebration at this time of the year existed long before the birth of Christ. The Christian church adopted the celebration as a way of appeasing the pagans that they were seeking to convert but the pagans refused to give up their merriment, so the church dusted of the pagan celebration and repackaged it as the birth of Christ. Essentially, the church perpetrated a massive fraud on the world. Unfortunately, religious leaders continue the charade of Christmas even though they know better.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ What? | December 27, 2012 at 5:21 PM |
    “I always say to Christians they are celebrating the birth of the new Sun and not the Son.”

Be careful how you tread on hallowed turf. Unless you speak from the lectern of esoterica erected on the Altar of the God Sol Invictus you might be wounded by the arrows of ignorance from the likes of Zoe and his minions.
    Godspeed on your journey of enlightenment, my friend “What?”!

8. Please kindly note that Jeremiah 10: 2 – 5,has nothing to do with decorating Christmas trees.If the text is rightly divided in its context as it should, one would note that this verse is one of many OT scriptures that has to do with idols, or false gods. If one will read Psalm 115, will get a good understanding of this.

Psalm 115
    1 Not unto us, O Lord, not unto us, but unto thy name give glory, for thy mercy, and for thy truth’s sake.

2 Wherefore should the heathen say, Where is now their God?

3 But our God is in the heavens: he hath done whatsoever he hath pleased.

4 Their idols are silver and gold, the work of men’s hands.

5 They have mouths, but they speak not: eyes have they, but they see not:

6 They have ears, but they hear not: noses have they, but they smell not:

7 They have hands, but they handle not: feet have they, but they walk not: neither speak they through their throat.

8 They that make them are like unto them; so is every one that trusteth in them.

The early church, and the church which went underground after Constantine’s foolishness certainly did not celebrate Christmas or decorate trees. Instead, the early church is said in Acts 2:42 to do this……… And they continued stedfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers.

9. @Caswell “Essentially, the church perpetrated a massive fraud on the world.”

But Caswell it is not a fraud. Any Christian over 10 years old knows what you know.

We celebrate because we enjoy the festivities.

Just as we celebrate wuk-ups of Crop Over even though we have no intention of EVER setting foot in a sugar cane field.

We know. We have not been fooled by the Church. We are not ignorant.

10. And”no” we are not celebrating the birth of the new sun. Because in teh tropics the sun and its life sustaining warmth never goes away.

We fully understand that many current Christmas celebrations are relics of Northern European pre-Christian festivals.

Otherwise why in the tropics so people buy fake snow?

And bring a green tree inside, when the outside is full of living green trees?

Why the rigmarole about the new birth of the sun, when in the tropics the sun and its warmth NEVER goes away.

Why yule logs? Really does anybody in the tropics burn wood in a fireplace indoors?

We fully understand that many current Christmas celebrations are relics of Northern European pre-Christian festivals.

11. @GP

Does Christmas have pagan origins?

12. Simple Simon

I most certainly would not mind being one of your Current men … HA HA HA. I often wondered what it would be like doing nasty things with a women that is of the same mind … HA HA HA

13. I think that David is glad that there is this person called Caswell. Man he does attract attention to his comments like flies to jam or shite, which is it …?

14. Baffy….behave yourself nuh? RFLMAO

15. Sorry Island

This ain’ your thread tonight … This is the thread for lonely miserable people who believe that there is still a chance to change the world for the better … HA HA HA

16. in someway caswell is right even if he misinterpret the chapter as xmas was borne out of paganism connected to the ritual of a lighted and decorated xmas tree which in part is a symbol of idolatry .

17. Current Christmas rites are a syncresis of pre=Christian European festivals and Christianity.

Easter same thing. You really think that Santa Claus and egg laying “Easter” bunnies appear in the 4 Gospels?

But the Resurection is about new life.

And eggs are about new life, didn’t we all come from sperm eggs and ovum eggs?

And are not bunnies know for their friskiness (like BAFBFP) and lively reproductive successes?

18. But Baffy didn’t I ask you before, “what if I am a gay man?”

19. Simon

I got to talk soft, ’cause I don’ want Cas to hear … But if you is a buller, I would be made to feel really hard done … HA HA HA .. Now da soun’ like a pun too nah .. HA HA HA …!

20. @BAFBFP

Be careful, Simple Simon may want you to go out and help fork, plough or weed that acre of greens!!! HA, HA, HA~

21. In order to get Pagans to worship Christ the Romans replaced the Pagan Winter Solstice with Christmas. The Pagans still drink and party.

Jesus was not born on 25th December,
    he may have been born on Aprils Fools Day

Si ‘mon’ said that already

22. Yes David.As celebrated ChriSTmas has pagan origins dating back to CONSTANTINE’S TIME CERCA 313 WITH THE ORIGIN OF THE ROMAN CHURCH.
    THE EARLY CHURCH THAT EXISTED PRIOR TO THIS DID NOT CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS

23. @Thanks GP, what is your contextual view of it given that paganism is frowned upon by Bible doctrines?

24. Some church groups in Christendom dont celebrate Christmas.But since most are an off shoot from the Roman church, many do.

I think there is nothing wrong with an annual meditation concerning all the Scriptures that teach the first coming of Christ as some church groups do .My church group which tends to be Christocentric in its worship style, will discuss the first coming of Christ at any time of the year.

.Otherwise as celebrated for most of christendom it is just another pagan festival.

I dont rant and rave about the celebrations anymore. however.

25. All these comments and David only respond to the man that like shouting ,,, HA HA HA … WELL DA IS A’RIGHT DAVID …!

Kiki you is a youngster, you must know when to be quiet around grown ups … a’ight …? 🙂

Pat

Dey ain’ nuttin’ green ’bout Simon hear … too many ex-men … HA HA HA

26. St George's Dragon Avatar

Most readers and contributors to BU would believe that to be religious is to be Christian.
    What would they have believed if by accident of birth they had been born in India, or Afghanistan, or Sri Lanka? That to be religious is to be Hindu, Buddist or Muslim.
    Christmas trees are a minor detail in just one of the world’s major religions.

27. Just a couple of days ago in response to BushTea writing that he doesn’t “do Xmas” and I responded that Miller doesn’t celebrate it either but he would probably call it a “Saturnalian Bacchanal” no one bit on the reference.

Here is what I was referring to if one was seeking the origin of Xmas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saturnalia

28. Pretty cool offering Sarge

29. Caswell Caswell Caswell.

Ignorance is bliss. Knowledge can be a curse. Accepted truth is a blessing.

Put the lid back on the Pandora box before somebody call Zoe and tell she bout this thread or someone else brings up the Sabbath. 🙂

@simon
    I dey wid ya all the way on this one….well except the gay part. Ain’t sure if Baffy want to find out more but we cool like dat

Educational as usual.

@st. George’s
    Many other things are minor in the grander scheme of things

Just observing

30. St George's Dragon Avatar

Saturnalia is just one of many winter solstice festivals.
    I like the Babylonian Akitu festival, which was a winter / spring festival in ancient Mesopotamia. Marduk who is celebrated in the festival appears as a life-death-rebirth deity, reflecting the festival’s agrarian origin based on the cycle of sowing and harvesting. He is imprisoned in the underworld and rises again on the third day. The festival lasted 12 days. Sounds familiar.
    Look also at:
    Soyal – the Zuni and the Hopi Indians held on December 21.
    Yalda – the Persian winter solstice celebration which is celebrated on or around December 20 or 21 each year. They believed Mithra, the Persian angel of light and truth was born this night.
    Mōdraniht (Old English “Night of the Mothers” or “Mothers’-night”) – an event held at what is now Christmas Eve by the Anglo-Saxon Pagans.
    Pancha Ganapati – a modern five-day Hindu festival celebrated from December 21 through 25 in honor of Lord Ganesha, Patron of Arts and Guardian of Culture.
    Dies Natalis Solis Invicti, or “Birthday of the Unconquered Sun” – celebrated by the Romans on December 25th. It is claimed that the date of for Christmas was selected in order to correspond with this Roman festival.
    Yule – a midwinter festival celebrated by the Germanic peoples.Another 12-day festival.
    Malkh – a festival of the Vainakh people celebrated on 25 December which was the birthday and the festival of the Sun. During the ceremonies suppliants turned to the east. Christian churches are still aligned to the east.
    Clearly the winter solstice is the rock on which a lot of festivals including Christmas, were based. and it is equally clear that many symbols of Christmas were borrowed from other beliefs – trees, yule logs, snow, reindeers, Santa Claus and mistletoe spring to mind.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Sargeant | December 27, 2012 at 9:16 PM |
    “… I responded that Miller doesn’t celebrate it either but he would probably call it a “Saturnalian Bacchanal” no one bit on the reference.”

So you thought!
    I give way to “Observing’s” bit of advice: “Ignorance is bliss. Knowledge can be a curse. Accepted truth is a blessing”.

Zoe has been shut away in his bat cave for the season under heavy medication (probably alcohol). Revealing the truth about Xmas would be like a taste of fresh blood to a vampire in a dungeon. You don’t want to see Zoe on the zealot’s rampage this holiday now, do you?
    BTW, I like the pet name “Miller the Tapir”. Funny enough that’s what an old sport from the days of hunting calls me (LOL!!!). But not for ac to hear! Even BAF is envious of a dead man.

32. @caswell the writer of this column…i know you wanted to use the scripture to make your point.I would suggest next time try to used the appropriate text to fit the point you are trying to convey.This one you have taken out of context and at the time this scripture was written for god people through jeremiah about their idol worship.If you would have slanted your column along those lines you would be right on point.So next time research the text and its history and background before using it out of context.

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Charles

You got this all wrong. I read everything that I get my hands on: one of them happened to be the Bible, and while reading, I came across the text that I quoted. In my little simplistic way, I said that the writer was referring to a practice that was similar to this Christmas tree thing. I then checked to see when the Prophet Jeremiah did his work, again in one of my books, only to discover that he lived six hundred years before Christ. I therefore decided to share what I have found with my friends and others on BU.

I am not planning to get into the pastor/ charlatan business. Like most of the pastors around here, I am not inspired nor educated enough to pastor any flock. I will stick to industrial relations and labour law to make my living. Meanwhile, I will comment on anything that I see fit, avoiding defamation in the process.

34. @BAFBFP | December 27, 2012 at 6:19 PM | Very annoying, but I agree with you once again – and you have made me laugh, which is even more annoying.

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mr. Franklyn

Your admirer SSS here. I suggest with the upmost respect that you do not thread on subjects to which you are not so apt.

36. Zoe must be coming to terms with the realisation that everyone is spiritual and it is all based on love for each other not getting angry about doctrine in books, I’m sure we will see a much happier wiser Zoe in 2013
    with his meditation more mellow transformation needs patience and awareness

37. Cas, even at the expense of pleasing Amused (my Gad) I have to admit that I ain’ all that impressed wid you right now …

38. BAFBFP

You really think that I care how you feel about me? You hold yourself too high in my estimation.

39. Caswell ought to be commended on reading up on the background of the Prophet Jeremiah, and even having a book with comments thereon. This is much more than what most of the bible illiterates who post on BU on BIBLE matters can say. Note that I said BIBLE and not RELIGIOUS matters.

Caswell’s only error in his” simplistic way” in saying “that the writer was referring to a practice that was similar to this Christmas tree thing” was that he tried to apply the text before understanding what the text says and what it means- the first two steps in exegesis. In so doing, he has merely done what about 99% .of those who post on BU do. He started at step three.

Caswell, please kindly note that I have never been a pastor anywhere- just a serious student of the word. I don’t think that Zoe is either-but I am not sure. However, I understand that he also has a doctorate in theology. Most pastors I have met are not charlatans at all, but are quite poor. In my church group, the leaders are said to be “tent makers” and are unpaid laymen

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | December 28, 2012 at 11:51 AM |
    “Caswell’s only error in his” simplistic way” in saying “that the writer was referring to a practice that was similar to this Christmas tree thing” was that he tried to apply the text before understanding what the text says and what it means- the first two steps in exegesis.”

Pardon my ignorance and biblical illiteracy but could you please apply the correct step in exegesis to explain to a simple miller the following biblical extracts from the same Old Testament?

“They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man……..Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. (Numbers 31:7, 17-18)”
    “Kill everything that breathes” (from humans and animals)! Deuteronomy 20:16
    The miller in his simplistic way might have misquoted or even misinterpreted these commands from your god Yaweh or EL but he sounds rather megalomaniac and a genocidal dictator. Please set the record straight, Apostle GP and tell us what your god Yaweh really meant.

41. Is Zoe GP in Mad Dog Mode? Maybe David can run some identification verification on the WordPress Stats

42. Miller etc quoting Deut ““They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man……..Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. (Numbers 31:7, 17-18)” “Kill everything that breathes” (from humans and animals)! Deuteronomy 20:16”

Or kill the men, boys and mothers. Rape, and impregnate the virginal teen and pre-teen girls.

Sounds like war crimes to me or the voice in the head of the young man in Newtown.

43. RE Pardon my ignorance and biblical illiteracy but could you please apply the correct step in exegesis to explain to a simple miller the following biblical extracts from the same Old Testament?

SIR your ignorance and biblical illiteracy is hereby pardoned.
    The correct step in exegesis are
    1 determine what the text says
    2 determine what the text means
    3 apply the text

To accomplish 1 and 2 one may revert to word studies, history geography etc
    I have given you the tools- now try to use them.

Let me now leave you with these relevant verses from 2 Timothy 2

15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.
    16 But shun profane and vain babblings: for they will increase unto more ungodliness.
    23 But foolish and unlearned questions avoid, knowing that they do gender strifes.
    24 And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,
    25 In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth;
    26 And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will.

44. GP
    “SIR your ignorance and biblical illiteracy is hereby pardoned.
    The correct step in exegesis are
    3 apply the text”
    ==
    SIR
    That is basic Computer Programming Concepts
    1 Input
    2 Process
    3 Output

and Eastern Religious Philosopy/Gods
    1 Input : Ganesh (Education)
    2 Process : Buddah (Meditation)
    3 Output : Kali Amman (Application/Destruction)

45. Do Bajans remember or research any African Philosophy?

I was recently told of an African tribe that does the most beautiful thing.

When someone does something hurtful and wrong, they take the person to the center of town, and the entire tribe comes and surrounds him. For two days they’ll tell the man every good thing he has ever done.

The tribe believes that every human being comes into the world as GOOD, each of us desiring safety, love, peace, happiness.

But sometimes in the pursuit of those things people make mistakes. The community sees misdeeds as a cry for help.

They band together for the sake of their fellow man to hold him up, to reconnect him with his true Nature, to remind him who he really is, until he fully remembers the truth from which he’d temporarily been disconnected: “I AM GOOD”.

46. Kiki

Look youngster you sayin’ too much now … HA HA HA HA

47. Cas my feelin’ fah you is only temporary … HA HA HA … Tek it light nah … HA HA HA

48. Here are a few scriptures from a word study that I am currently playing with on the word HIMSELF. These ‘himself” verses listed below tell us why Jesus came the first time. I have just listed the verses. Those who care, can interpret them for themselves.–I hope
    Enjoy
    WHAT JESUS ACTUALLY DID
    • Hebrews 2:14 KJV
    Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is , the devil;

• 1 Timothy 2:6 KJV
    Who gave himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time.
    • Titus 2:14 KJV
    Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.
    • Hebrews 9:14 KJV
    How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?
    • Hebrews 9:26 KJV
    For then must he often have suffered since the foundation of the world: but now once in the end of the world hath he appeared to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself.
    • Philippians 2:7 KJV
    But made himself of no reputation , and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:
    • Philippians 2:8 KJV
    And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.
    • Colossians 1:20 KJV
    And, having made peace through the blood of his cross, by him to reconcile all things untohimself; by him, I say, whether they be things in earth, or things in heaven.
    • Ephesians 5:2 KJV
    And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet smelling savour.
    • Ephesians 5:25 KJV
    Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;
    • Ephesians 5:27 KJV
    That he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.
    • Galatians 1:4 KJV
    Who gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from this present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father:
    • Ephesians 1:5 KJV
    Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will,
    • Ephesians 2:15 KJV
    Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace;
    • Galatians 2:20 KJV
    I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live ; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

• 2 Corinthians 5:18 KJV
    And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation;
    • 2 Corinthians 5:19 KJV
    To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation.

49. Bushie FULLY supports Caswell again on this post..with the obvious exception of the reversion to the suit (….clearly David’s doing 🙂 )

The fact that Christians lay claim to Christmas is just a bunch of nonsense and it typifies the lack of substance to 90% of their beliefs and customs. Everyone knows that Xmas is a pagan festival which was assimilated by Christianity – just as the Trinity doctrine is a Catholic creation which has been assimilated by most others.

These DIVERSIONS all foster a global blindness to the BASIC GOSPEL (good news) that Jesus brought to mankind…. That he came to earth so that ordinary men can “become God…”

GP says….
    “The correct step in exegesis are
    3 apply the text”
    This is the approach used in bible schools and it fully explains Zoe.
    It is WRONG, misguided, and GUARANTEED to lead to mass confusion.

The ACTUAL correct steps in understanding the Bible are;
    1. genuinely want to have the answers.
    Ask
    Seek
    Knock

2. you will NEED to acquire a spiritual component to your carnal mind in order to understand what is a spiritual (and NOT an intellectual) message. This is freely available – it is called the Holy Spirit.

3. You will eventually become a bushman, and not only understand what the text is saying and meaning, but even be able to identify where the text is WRONG (as for example where jokers have tampered with the translations, the actual text or the interpretation.

NOTE WELL! THIS IS ‘BRAIN POWER’ NEUTRAL.

GP’s 3 point plan is useful for ACADEMIC research and scholarship, but not at all helpful in UNDERSTANDING. (As is clearly evident among such “scholars”.)
    How do you think that ordinary fishermen were able to “understand” well enough to actually WRITE the scriptures? ….by brain power?

50. 2 PETER 20 Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

21 For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

NOTE friends that the Bible was not written by fishermen only 6 [probably 8] of 27NT books were written by fishermen, and that much of the Bible was written by educated men.

note also that these verses from 1 Corinthians 2 have been quoted by both Zoe and I on BU several times over the last 4 years

9 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.

10 But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.

11 For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God.

12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God.

13 Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with spiritual.

14 But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

Leave a Reply to patCancel reply