Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Taxation, not surprisingly is a very controversial subject and while most people accept and understand the need for Government(s) to raise taxes, they also reasonably expect that collection and subsequent spending of them is equitable.

The revelation that American based Starbucks Coffee retailer, globally the second largest restaurant or cafe chain (after McDonald’s) had paid less than 1 per cent in corporation tax, despite generating US$4.5 billion of revenue from over 700 United Kingdom branches during a 14 year period, shocked many.  Over the last three years, Starbucks has reported no profit, and paid no income tax, on sales of US$1.8 billion in the United Kingdom. Apparently, the company has broken no laws, only making every possible use of existing tax legislation.

But you don’t have to travel 4,000 miles across the ‘pond’ to find similar examples, they exist right on our doorstep. Carnival Corporation, the world’s largest cruise operator with its 12 dominating brands, is a classic case in point. Despite declaring a profit of US$11.3 billion during the last five years, Carnival paid no US Federal taxes at all last year, even though, in essence it is headquartered in the United States.

In fact over that same five year period, while using the services of twenty Federal agencies such as the Coast Guard and Customs, it paid an average of 1.1 per cent in federal, state, local and foreign taxes. For a hotelier or other land based tourism business, that must seem like an unattainable dream become true.

Even if you chose to ignore all the one-sided advantages the cruise ship companies have, then you cannot escape the ultimate commercial option. If the going gets tough, they just move the ships to where they can extract higher revenues and profits. The shipping companies will argue they pay lots of other taxes, but do they in reality?

While in many cases port fees are now included in the purchase price, but the operator merely acts an intermediary collecting them from the customer. Certainly with any Carnival group product it clearly states, but not government taxes which are an added extra, payable again by the cruiser. You also have to ask the question, what taxes are paid on the items consumed by the passengers, like food and beverages. Absolutely none, I suspect.

Do they pay the majority of their staff National Insurance contributions or any portion of any applicable personal income tax? I am also pretty certain any form of land tax doesn’t enter into the equation.

Then look at pay and working conditions. I cannot imagine any reputable trade union, either in the USA or Caribbean allowing the commonplace practices that crew onboard have to endure on many of the ships, to be tolerated here on land. Of course, they largely depend on nationals from poor and developing countries, like the Philippines, where an agricultural worker may earn as little as US$4 a day. The very low wages paid are the norm, hugely enhanced by gratuities, again, in the overwhelming number of cases, by the passenger.

This week is one of the busiest of the year for Bridgetown Port, with their website indicating some 22 ships arriving and departing. Boxing Day alone could welcome up to 9,000 passengers based on the individual ships capacity. Hopefully, some taxes will be left here on Barbados while visiting our attractions, activities restaurants and shopping. This may in some way, help sustain our disadvantaged land-based tourism players who unlike Carnival Corporation, already pay lots of taxes.

1. Observing(…) | December 26, 2012 at 4:13 PM |
    @carson and investigaor
    Don’t shoot the messenger. Deal with the facts

What facts? You are ignoring the facts and lying on the true state of occupancy in the hotels.
    just saying.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observing

this is for you,

Ex-Moody’s analyst: ‘By 2006 it was toxic everywhere’

William J Harrington talks to Joris about what he loved and hated about the rating agency, and why the system broke down

William J Harrington was a senior analyst at the rating agency Moody’s between 1999 and 2010 in New York. Since then he has been campaigning for reform and drawing attention to ongoing problems with ratings. Bill is coming into the comment threads here to answer your questions and discuss his views.

“The rating agencies have been the all-purpose bogeymen for the crisis. They bear a heavy responsibility, absolutely, but this exclusive focus obscures how the problems are embedded in the whole system: the big banks, accountancy firms, financial law firms, investment firms, regulators, the financial press. The rating agencies have done us a disservice by allowing so much of the blame to rest on them. They are effectively protecting these other players – who seem quite happy with this arrangement. Meanwhile, people at rating agencies say: ‘Just blame us, we’re used to it.’

“The rating agencies are such small entities in such a huge industry. They are like the Panama canal. Crucial but very small. Worldwide the nine big registered rating agencies have less than 4,000 junior and senior analysts working for them, combined across all activities. JP Morgan alone employs a quarter of a million people. Again, this state of affairs seems to suit the big players well. The rating agencies are one moving piece in the machine that they can push around.

“An added problem is that rating agencies form an oligopoly, with Moody’s, Fitch and S&P [Standard and Poor’s] controlling 97% of the market between them. If there were many significant rating agencies of varying sizes and ownership structures rather than three indistinguishable large ones, then if a few changed their approach it would be hard for the rest to simply continue to go along for the ride. Currently, this is not a self-correcting system.

“The CEO of Moody’s in the run-up to the fiasco in 2008 is now … still the CEO of Moody’s. Last year his compensation was $6m, in line with his five-year average. Rating agencies make so much money … Moody’s has never had a losing quarter. This is why analysts who follow Moody’s for investors really like Moody’s. Moody’s always makes a profit.

“I have asked people at Moody’s: why didn’t you fire those responsible? But that would be an admission of liability, I was told. Worse, precisely the managers responsible for the instruments that blew up have been rewarded and promoted. I don’t believe in conspiracies but here you really have a small cabal of people doing this.

“The cliched idea about rating agencies seems to go like this: a deal to rate a complex financial instrument came in, we stamped it triple A and collected our check. This is a canard. People were working all day on these things, and in the end there would be a committee vote on whether to extend a triple A rating.

“How it works: you have junior analysts, senior analysts and management. Together we work through the instrument, running our models and finding out exactly how it is designed. It is a constant collaborative process between junior and senior analysts and management at Moody’s, plus the bankers. At the end there would be a committee meeting on the basis of one man, one vote: juniors, seniors and management were ostensibly all equal. I loved that system, to go into committee and cast your vote. My family is from New England, where the town hall meeting was invented. It’s a beautiful tradition to stand before your peers and express yourself in this way.

“Rating agencies are powerful. Without that AAA rating the bank cannot sell the instrument. Even if we’d delay our rating by a few days because of further questions, the bank would look bad, having to explain the delay to their clients. So the goal was for bankers to improve the instrument in such a way that our models would record AAA results and we could proceed to committee to vote.

“Over time this system broke down. Management began to promote those analysts who kept the machine running, who didn’t push back against bankers. At the same time they hired more and more junior analysts who were cheaper. These junior analysts were impressive in their own right, just probably too inexperienced by, say, 10 years.

“More and more it was the bankers who drove the process. They became bolder, as they discovered that they’d get their rating without having to improve an instrument. In 2004 you could still talk back and stop a deal. That was gone by 2006. It became: work your tail off, and at some point management would say, ‘Time’s up, let’s convene in a committee and we’ll all vote “yes”‘. Issues brought up by analysts in committee would be dismissed, or management would park them, saying ‘Let’s make a note of that’. Or: ‘I am glad you’re raising it’ – nothing would happen. You knew that while management talked the talk in the committees and big group meetings, they would have agreed to other things with the bankers earlier. Again, it was never rubber-stamping. Most analysts did not go on autopilot. It was more subtle.

“By 2006, I concluded that the committee process for these complex instruments had irredeemably broken down. I moved full time to a derivative sub-sector where I still felt it was possible to make committees work.

This is why it’s easy for me to talk about all this. Also, when I walked out in 2010 after having wound down my responsibilities I didn’t take a “package”. If I had I might have gotten a year’s salary – but I’d have to sign a ‘non-disparagement’ clause which meant that I’d remain silent about what I saw. By the way, everything I am writing about now, and everything I am telling you, I raised all of that when at Moody’s. I never leaked anything to the Wall Street Journal. I could have. But I never did.

“In my days it was individual managers who set the rules of how to interact with the bankers: for instance whether we could scream back at them (we could not). Management is the big problem, bankers or no bankers. And there is no way to get around management. There is no structure, no attempt to evaluate committee proceedings based on analyst contribution over time. Moreover, managers have great discretion to reverse committee outcomes by essentially calling a foul and insisting on a do-over.

“In response to the crisis Moody’s has changed its committee format somewhat. These days junior rating analysts vote first, to prevent them from taking their cues from their superiors. This looks like a solution. But senior managers can send all sorts of non-verbal signals. Junior and senior analysts take their lead from managers who oversee them both in committee and in all other matters as well, for instance compensation and promotion. If management makes it clear there is no downside for letting something go, for overlooking potential problems in an instrument … To be sure, every analyst is individually responsible for their votes no matter how toxic the environment. No one is forced to work at Moody’s.

“Rating agencies work differently from banks, law and accountancy firms. These are often solo practices where small groups of people form teams which work on the premise that you eat what you kill – bring in a lot of business and you make a lot of money. Then within the team there’s a star system where some players get far more than others.

“Moody’s is different. Our department’s revenues fed into one big pot, together with those from other activities – Moody’s rates corporations, countries, derivatives and many other things. Moody’s Corp, the ultimate parent, earned profit margins of 90% from our group.

Another difference with law, investment banks and accountancy is that teams there are often poached wholesale by competitors. That would never happen in rating agencies. You just wouldn’t jump ship and join Fitch. By the way, our management would always make fun of Fitch, as in: that Mickey Mouse shop, they’ll rate anything.

“I trained as an economist and worked for Merrill Lynch but I knew that was a training ground. A rating agency suited me much better. I liked being able to turn off work at night. I liked working with lots of different banks, and was happy to argue with bankers. I liked the systemic thinking that rating requires, looking at lots of variables, and I am comfortable telling people when there’s something I don’t understand. I never sought a management role, I didn’t like the way they threw their weight around in committee.

“I knew rating agencies were seen in the industry as losers and also-rans. I didn’t care. I didn’t go to conferences, to industry parties. The reality is they attract rather different kinds of people. Junior and senior analysts alike were exceptionally intelligent, many with PhDs.

“Even when the environment turned toxic in 2006, I stayed and accepted that I might be fired for doing so or that I might feel obligated to resign – by then it was toxic everywhere. I expected the financial system to fall apart, it was inevitable.

“In investment banks people always seem to want more, more, more. The reward system is just so … straight. You see people get old before their time because their primary concern seems to be find the next deal. They seem to lose everything that makes them unique. And they have this enormous sense of self-importance. Moody’s really suited me, it clicked.

“In cross-industry surveys Moody’s has received a 100% score as a good place for gay people to work. People would sometimes ask, coming into Moody’s: ‘Why is it so gay here?’

“I suppose that once a place establishes itself as gay-friendly, others will gravitate towards it. I do suspect some of the most toxic managers at Moody’s liked to hire beaten-up people who may have felt they had few options – getting people indebted to them by not being homophobic.

“Being gay in finance has left an important stamp on my life. I remember when I was interning at Salomon Brothers – in those days a venerable firm. They offered me a job and I went around introducing myself to people on the trading floor, as was the protocol. At one point a trader looked at me and said: “Salomon Brothers is great. Unless you’re a faggot. I hate faggots.”

“I had trained myself not to flinch since I was 10, so I didn’t. It was horrible. This was 1991. Nobody was out on the floor and I wanted to come out at my own speed without having to lie. I never went along to a strip club, never pretended to have a girlfriend. I believe discrimination blocked me at Merrill as well although I started coming out anyway and some people responded positively. Being openly gay was not an issue at Moody’s.

“I don’t want to reveal my pay at Moody’s; these things are private. I will say that I was one of the two top analyst earners worldwide by 2004-2005. But I made less in salary and bonus than Goldman Sachs whistleblower Greg Smith’s $500,000. Typically compensation was 60% salary, 40% bonus – with that bonus calculated primarily on the basis of the whole firm’s performance and secondarily on our own department’s.

“One misunderstanding is that the problems that caused the crisis are no longer with us. But banks post complex financial instruments as collateral to central banks. These still follow the ratings to assess the value of these instruments. This means that re-evaluating those ratings and downgrading them will have serious knock-on effects on the capital base and hence the financial health of banks.

“Another misunderstanding is that we can start assigning triple A-rated asset-backed securities (ABS) again. There are problems baked into ABSs, in particular the derivative contracts underpinning them. The problem is what happens with the ABS when the bank counter-party for a derivative hedge becomes insolvent. Last, rating agencies make bailouts more likely by factoring open-ended taxpayer support into bank ratings.

3. @xarson

Observing was obsering thorough the year that Barbados economy would have collapsed by now and that his party would have been holding the reigns by now, but he has been waiting in vain. He has five more years waiting.

4. @Observing (…)

Why debate with party hacks who are blinded by party colours? They don’t get it. The global economy is tough but Barbados tourism numbers has dipped under our neighbours. Concern Bajans must ask why. Minister Sealy boast of the fact that our hotel room revenue rate is the best ever. It is the only indicator which he shouts about.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

observing

That is why I am on this blog to prevent people like you from fooling the Bajan public that a six is a nine.

To prevent you and others like you from operating on the premise that all Bajans have short memories.

To remind Bajans that it dangerous to put the fox in charge of the hen house and the rats in charge of the cheese.

To ensure that ALI BABA AND THE FORTY THIEVES remain on the oppposition benches.

6. @David

yes if we are getting fewer tourists and more revenue then it means that we are maximising the spent of tourists. Isnt this a good thing as long as the revenue for each hotel is at least above the break even point

7. As soon as the roads to Pearson clear the Canadians will be heading to Barbados.

“Meteorologist Arnold Ashton said the Greater Toronto Area is set for the most snow it’s seen since 2010.

“Two years ago we got 10 centimetres and we may get that much snow in the GTA today,” he said Wednesday, adding the storm will slide towards Ontario’s border with Quebec throughout the evening.
    “It’s pretty nasty anywhere you go. Basically the whole (Highway) 401 corridor” will be affected, he said.

8. @To the point

One KPI does not a summer make. What some of us are trying to wrap our heads around is why is Barbados trending South when compared to our neighbours in the region. This is the point.

9. @Hants

book yah flight aand come down then.lol

10. @carson
    If i were a party hack I wouldn’t be here. 😉

Your lengthy cut and paste article speaks to the role of the rating agencies with respect to the global recession. We’re speaking strictly about their rationale for downgrading Barbados. One thing at a time please!

“To remind Bajans that it dangerous to put the fox in charge of the hen house and the rats in charge of the cheese”

But Carson, we all know that foxes and rats have easy access to the costume store and therefore fool gullible persons like you and I. Do you know who are the real foxes and rats?????

@investigator
    i never disputed “the state of occupancy in hotels.” I highlighted the state of occupancy in some hotels as opposed to others, then further went on to mention that occupancy does not translate into tourist spending which is the real boon to the economy. This perchance was mentioned in the Moody’s downgrade. You are free to debate any of this with any facts that you may have!

@TTP
    “He has five more years waiting.”

But supposed I am a born and bred, blue card carrying, bleed to the death, raise up in George Street DLP die hard???? You sure you want to say this?? lol.

“Why debate with party hacks”

Because Barbados deserves a better, higher, more consistent and intelligent level of discourse and debate from everyone regardless of party colour. That’s how we progress as a nation. These guys have to come better if we are ever to raise our standard.

11. David | DecemberDavid | December 26, 2012 at 7:41 PM |
    They don’t get it. The global economy is tough but Barbados tourism numbers has dipped under our neighbours.

CTO latest stayover stats disprove your point. Most destinations are down including Loveridge love children St. Lucia and Greneda. look at Bermuda 600 miles off the US coast.

Anguilla Jan-Aug 48,138 -1.7 – – –
    Antigua & Barbuda * Jan-Sep 186,626 1.7
    Aruba Jan-Sep 676,315 2.8
    Bahamas Jan-Jun 773,896 4.3
    Barbados P Jan-Aug 377,853 -4.8
    Bermuda Jan-Jun 106,805 -4.0
    British Virgin Islands Jan-Jul 240,087 1.7
    Cozumel (Mexico) – – – Jan-Sep 2,027,720 -4.3
    Cuba Jan-Aug 2,021,534 5.2 – – –

Dominican Republic * Jan-Sep 3,519,987 7.3
    Dominica Jan-Sep 57,981 2.9
    Grenada Jan-Jun 55,924 -5.1
    Jamaica Jan-Jun 1,072,232 2.5
    Martinique Jan-Aug 354,156 -1.4
    Montserrat Jan-Aug 3,493 -6.7 – – –
    Saint Lucia Jan-Aug 215,526 -2.1
    St. Vincent & the G’dines Jan-Aug 53,175 2.3

12. @observing

i stand by what i say, and i can assure u that u r a red card member and yes u have five more years to wait before ur red card will take prominence.

13. @ttp
    ASSurances (in this case) may be as ASSinine as ASSumptions. Nuff said.

@investigator
    Your stats show that Barbados is the third highest decrease. Are you sure these are the figures you want to present?

Just observing

14. Observing(…) | December 26, 2012 at 9:03 PM |
    Are you sure these are the figures you want to present?

Very sure.
    Barbados is down mid range between -1.7% and-6.7% not extra ordinary in the recession. I expect the marketers wish Barbados was 8% up, thats not going to happen with its source markets under severe economic stress. You doom and gloomers want to make Barbados the odd man out, the super duper disastrous performer. It isnt so my friend the world economy is performing badly we are just part of it. Rich and famous playground Bermuda is a striking example a half hour flight away from the biggest economy the world has ever known and its down -4%. Barbados 4,000 miles away and down -4.8. Think.

15. @ttp
    For the record, I’m not a gloom and doomer.
    Next, are you sure you want to go “mano y mano” with Bermuda???

Observing

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Investigator,
    I really don’t think its a case of doom and gloom, but more about addressing the clear and obvious problems with our tourism product. Please name one other regional competeting destination (apart from Cozumel) that is down at least 34,000 long stay visitors so far (until end of November) this year?
    Yes! some of our hotels may be full over Christmas but sadly one week doesn’t pay the bills for 52.
    November was a disaster (down 18.7 across all markets) with the single only market (Germany) showing any increase at all (153 extra people).
    The CTO is reporting an increase of around 5 per cent from the US and Canada across the region, while Barbados is reporting a double digit decrease from those two sources.
    It’s so easy to blame everything on the recession.

17. @observer

from the time i have been reading your postins, you have been a doomer and gloomer in relations to the government, if my memeory serves me corrrectly, and i thin it has, you have been predicting gloom for barbados, not recognizing that we swim or sink together. Yes all of us here have a political bias, but we must be as objective as possible in our analysis.

We live in a global village and hence we are integrated into the worl economic order.

18. @adriin

what are the hotelers doing to address the problems, instead of looking for hand outs from governemnt.? Hasnt the governement continued to market barbados as a tourism destination? Is the marketing straegy flawed and what changes would you recommend, including asking the hoteliers to contribute some of their pofit to the market budge?

Cant hotelers consider forming their own tour companies in major markets instead of relying of the cut throat tour operators?

19. @To the point

Why is it so difficult to understand that if the government has a 92 million dollar budget WE the people must hold them accountable for its spend? If the other islands continue to do better than us – an they are operating in the same market – we have to ask questions. Especially when one considers government’s sorry record managing public expenditure.

20. and what role should the owners of these hotels play in marketing their business it seens evereything in the tourism industry is left up to govt.not one mention or suggestion by any have been said about management role in marketing .all i hear is GOVT! GOVT! GOVT! gimme gimnmme gimme.

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

To the point,
    First I doubt that you will find many hotels on Barbados making a profit. Remember that the President of The Bankers Association saying that 43 per cent of ALL non-performing loans were tourism related. And those that are making a profit, why on earth would they give it to an organisation that is non-performing and largely guided by political cronies that clearly no nothing about tourism. I hate constantly repeating, but 37 hotel closures during the last 20 years and close to 100,000 lost long stay visitors over the last FIVE years.
    Why don’t we just face the facts and take measures to reverse the damage already caused?

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

ac,

If we left it up to Government, many of our tourism business would be bankrupt. YES! I agree that the industry could do more for themselves but I can assure you that small hotels like ours have never looked to Government (s) for any meaniful guidance or support. Government contribution to our business is keeping us waiting over two years for $30,000 in VAT refunds.
    What sort of incentive do you think that is for our hotels to upgrade and refurbish?
    We (P&Q) ploughed well over $100,000 (of our OWN money) into building the re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show which brought around $1 million of foreign exchange to Barbados annually, only to be told that the BTA would not support it by even taking a $500 stand at the event as stating they did not have two persons out of their 150 staff to ‘man’ it for a day and a half.

23. @Adrian

Again, why do you guys bother? Those with political blinkers will never concede the point you are making. The irony is that the BLP is now saying the industry needs millions of dollars to infuse it with life.

24. @Adrian

Again to your last comment, we have shown on another blog that Jamaica has concessions to the tourism sector legislated, why? Because it is a strategic industry.

25. @ David
    This discussion is going nowhere. We have not gone past the starting position so Bushie will throw a spanner in…. 🙂

Over the years, Barbados has enjoyed a level of success in tourism that has been MULTIPLES of that of our neighbors….particularly among the wealthy.
    The world has now gone into a period of recession, it is largely the wealthy who are continuing to travel. Far fewer persons are now willing to borrow money for luxury travel

Is it not OBVIOUS that with a market that is now largely the well to do, and where our plant is aged, our reputation is tarnished, and the product is WORN, that the other emerging destinations will make progress at our expense?

Wunna feel that Barbados got some eternal RIGHT to have the tourist choose to come here?

When Singapore faced this problem a few years ago they TOOK a decision to rebrand, built new state of the art CASINO complexes and now that has become a mainstay of their tourism.
    …all our tourism leaders are doing is trying to maintain the hostels at 1980 standards and to complain talk a lot of shoite…. Can’t even come up with a plan to clean the damn place….

Barbados styled tourism is going the way that sugar went…..FULL STOP.
    ….don’t try and look for something else to do….!!

26. @Bushie

Agree with you. It is why BU, Observing et al have been calling for some serious evaluation to be made of the industry and how we proceed.

27. Adrian wrote, “BTA would not support it by even taking a $500 stand at the event as stating they did not have two persons out of their 150 staff to ‘man’ it for a day and a half.”

They could set up banner stands or a 10ft popup with graphics and a 42″ led monitor with their messages running all day.

28. @ David
    “….calling for some serious evaluation to be made of the industry and how we proceed…”
    That means that you do NOT agree with Bushie.
    There is nowhere to “proceed” with a dead industry. The best that we should do with tourism is to ‘make it as comfortable as possible’ for the next few years while we exploit the next developmental phase….but this is REAL LATE…

If we had leaders with vision over the past 30 years we would have long identified a new post-tourism phase and would have been well on the way by now …..that way, we could have just shot the sick tourism animal and put it out of its misery now.

NOTHING LASTS FOREVER. Barbados is in the enviable position of having done EXTREMELY well from tourism, however instead of using that success to identify and develop the next cycle, we like true idiots, assume that sweet life will continue forever….talking shoite bout wanting to become a “developed” society and ’bout a car in each garage and a graduate in each house…. PURE STATUS AND SHOW.

Now that the Goose is getting old, we scrunting with high debts, old infrastructure, poor leadership, no strategy, no plan, and a lotta complainers….

The REAL QUESTION is ….What after tourism…?
    If we don’t find an answer REAL fast, the default answer will be hell..

29. I am not speaking of the small business .no one can deny the colassal financial investment that have been poured into the tourism industry over the years and was not put to good use by ownership. now all that people are saying that those hoteliers who have benefitted over the years must step up to the plate and do more in investing in the product.fuh goodness sake some of them have not even as much as promote our local produce and entertainment throughout the years.

30. @Bush Tea

If you read the attempt at a development plan for tourism, if you listen to the Governor of the Central Bank, if your listen to the Prime Minister, if your listen to the Prime Minister in waiting, they are all pinning their hopes on revitalizing the tourism industry. The interesting point is that there are heavy linkages to the international business. It is about making the best of it as you say because there is not other avenue being explored at the moment. What alternative do we have that can generate the forex needed to fuel the consumption monster?

31. And to you David you seems of recent to be showing alevel of “intolerance” regulate to differing opinion. inas much as referencing those of opposing views as “political hacks” instructing not to respond to those whom you have deemed as”political Hacks.it is my belief that a onesided point of view does nothing for good debate or freespeech. intolerance at any level should not be tolerated. inside the irrationale there is always a philosphy which should not be mistaken for irrationality or childsplay.

32. Will someone please hurry up and unplug these energy sapping washing machines and dryers?

33. @TTP
    “if my memeory serves me corrrectly, and i thin it has, you have been predicting gloom for barbados”

Feel free to search this wonderful internet and refresh my memory.

“we must be as objective as possible in our analysis.
    I concur, hence my efforts to get you to dig a little deeper with your analysis and answer/rebut the questions that will deservedly and inevitably come.

@Bushie
    “The REAL QUESTION is ….What after tourism…?”
    Default seems to be the preferred choice nowadays..

Just Observing

34. Someone said earlier only the rich are travelling, I disagree, the babyboomers are tavelling, us old grey haired pot bellied tourists that have just retired with usually a pretty good pension. Foremost in our mind is, yeah I want to see the pyramids… but is it safe? Do something about crime how you inforce it and how you address it, you cannot keep sweeping things under the rug. Turn the 150 people at the bta into policemen they will do more good. Re brand become the safe island, and mean it, increase sentences for crimes, have road gangs cleaning up the island for time off their sentences Safety, Safety Safety teach it, promote it enforce it but most of all sell it.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@To The Point | December 27, 2012 at 6:41 AM |
    “… what are the hoteliers doing to address the problems, instead of looking for hand outs from government.? ”

Why do the government continue to make promises to the hotel sector that are impossible to meet?
    Can you tell us, TPP, what is the position with the Four Seasons project?
    We were promised a restart since September 2009. This is almost January 2013 and the only development is that the place is now overrun with bush and rusting steel.

Where has the MoF’s braggadocio gone?
    Why has “Sinliar”, with his known turgid tumultuous outburst, gone so silently torpid on the matter? Why couldn’t he move in getting this project restarted with the silent alacrity as he did with the sale of the shares in RBL?
    I don’t expect you to answer this one since you would avoid it like a sharp point right up your derriere.

36. 1000 pounds of blubber Avatar
    1000 pounds of blubber

ac | December 27, 2012 at 10:05 AM |
    And to you David you seems of recent to be showing alevel of “intolerance” regulate to differing opinion.

Bang on target ac our boy David did a 360 he is completely backing Owen and the Bees now. There was a time when he made us believe he was balanced. Not any more. It makes you think as is the case with Sanka Price and Albert Brandford he get promise to feed at the trough if the red party wins. He’s calling discredited Owen Arthur the PM in waiting. Well some of us have news for him Owen and the Bees shall not get our votes no matter what. Time will tell the eventual winners.

37. @1000 pound of blubber aka Investigator

BLP Opposition government in waiting, Opposition leader PM in waiting, get it?

Maybe you are right, BU has been promised something. Life is a bitch when DLP surrogates begin to attack BU isn’t it?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ 1000 pounds of blubber | December 27, 2012 at 4:20 PM |

So you and ac are attacking David BU, are you now?
    Not a good sign. Sounds like acts of desperation.
    Now if you are so confident why not announce the date of the general elections as a New Year message and gift to the people of Bim?
    Or do you intend to go until 13 May 2013 meanwhile having your last draught of the swill from the pig trough containing the remaining 10 pounds of blubber.

But here is a new year wish from the miller to you, blubber! The people deserve the government they currently have. The piggy mess is yours to clean up.

39. Ouch Investigator aka 1000 pounds of blubber got called out. I guess he/she will be back under another new name….tsk tsk.

40. @Miller
    i joined the blogging fsmily less than two years now, and from that time, you, enuff, observing, scott who seemed to be hibernating, enuff, among others have been calling for elections. I am sure the PM has stated that the gove will serve it term. Your team predictioms have been far off. Elections will be called when the PM is ready and your thiefing team will get an opportunity to vie to share in the fatted calf, incluing you.

41. @Miller

why did you and the BLP sell the shares in the National Bank and the Insurance Corporation of Barbadosl; two profitbale enitities?

Why did you and your govt allow the BNOCL to amass so much debt only to be put on a sound financial footing by this administration?

Why did you and your party retreat after being attacked by its own party supporters as regards privatisation?

42. According to retired Permanent Secretary William Layne, Barbadians were offered the chance to buy the shares. Perhaps one can say that Arthur knew that the immature investment climate and the lazy comfort of Bajans would have made his ultimate objective achievable i.e. sell to external customer to get forex.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@To The Point | December 27, 2012 at 7:29 PM |
    “why did you and the BLP sell the shares in the National Bank and the Insurance Corporation of Barbadosl; two profitbale enitities?”

For the same reason this DLP administration sold the shares in RBL and the NIS investment in the BL&P.
    Talking about privatization? Or is it divestment?
    Idiot par excellence, you are!
    Man, get back to the point and tell us what’s the problem with Four Seasons restart!

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sandy Lane Hotel’s general manager Randal Wilkie said tonight that Sandy Lane had fantastic occupancy for the year 2012 and he expects 2013 to be even better.

How come this sort of news never makes it to Barbados Underground?

It goes without saying that ADRIAN LOVERIDGE will never mention this sort of news.

45. Did anyone listen to head of the National Trust this evening Dr. Karl Watson begging for our tourism product which he described as stale to be revamped? Sounds familiar? Maybe it is time for that vaunted and eagerly awaited Product Committee to come into vogue.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

More news sure to upset ADRIAN LOVERIDGE and make him reach for the PEPTO BISMOL:-

THE HEADLINE

CHEER FOR HOTELS(this will bring sadness to Adrian)

Sharon Hugh-white(general manger)Bougainvillea Beach Hotel, “What has happened was that we had incredibly good winter last year(when adrian was saying everthing so bad, MY WORDS)but so far this year and going into 2013, we have exceeded all of our occupancy levels that we had fo 2011/2012.

So we are forecasting a very good winter season and beating all our occupancies from last year.”

How come that I am the only person seeing this kind of news?

Somehow this type of news bypasses DAVID(blog owner)AND ADRIAN LOVERIDGE(gloomanddoomer).

More to come…………

47. Government can market all it wants and if there are dilapidated hotels, do u expect repeat visitors. Hoteliers In plenty did not re-invest in their plants, but bank their profits overseas and IS NOW holding the goverement to ransom. They must think outside the box. WE are forgetting that hotel costs are high in Barbados and some of those musty run down hotesl dont even have free internet in the rooms and modern televisions. As Dennis Johnson said some time ago hoteliers need to employ marketeers.

Customer satisfaction is critical for the survival of the industry, each hotel should have its website inviting guests to comment on their stay and how the service could be improved. I travelled a few places this year and as soon as I reached home my views were sought and discounts are constantly being offered. Jamaca ensures that guests have an immersions in Jamaican culture including the local foods. On mornings for breakfast you get some good jamaican food like the cassava bread, dont know how to spell the name, good saltfish with ackee, among other local stuff. The tourists are also taugh dialect and they find that fascinating, In a word, it is the jamaican experience that make them feel speical.

Every hotetl I stayed at outside the caribbean used their daabase to keep in contact, infroming me to family specials as well as that for individuals.

Guests made to feel special and desired. I am not saying that that is the only to maintain loyalty. Word of mouth is very critical and a staisfied customer willl be an advocate for the institution

Barbados was the hub of activity for the garment and other industries, when the cost of production start to rise, those companies in some instances disappear and went to cheaper cost centres simliar to what lime did with it call centre.

You are on record as quoting from an article whereby the MOT is purported to have said that we got increased spent from fewer tourists. I could recall asking Adrian to substantiate what the roi we are getting compared to islands he is referencing and he did not address that. It is expected that we will get competition form our neighbours, but yes we must re-brand, but would re-branding musty hotels attract more tourists.

I would rather have fewer tourists and more spent, at this time until the recession eases. OUR BIGGEST PROBLEM IS COST, COST AND MORE COST.

As bushie said, our plant is tired and needs to be re

48. @David

why did you refer to a blogger previous blogging name to let bloggers know who the current blogger used to be? Is this a part of your intolerance that Ac is speaking about. As long as the blogger did bot have more than one handle, there was no nee for such action.

49. A rundown hotel plant is defined by more than the hotel plant.

50. just like a poor blog is defined by more than a poor blog

Leave a Reply to lawsonCancel reply