Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

JORDAN: So the 11 MPs were eager to meet with the Prime Minister simply to have a discussion?

SINCKLER: Well, you say eager; I think some of us wanted to meet.

A question posed to Minister Chris Sinckler in the Big Interview  by former Editor in Chief Kaymar Jordan (18.12.2012)

BU is reluctant to ‘sully’ its blog offering during the Yuletide season with content of a political flavour. However, we have been enticed to compromise our position as a result of Prime Minister Stuart’s weekend pronouncement. He stated that he saw no evidence of a coup and therefore his promise to ‘chop’ off’ the head or heads of those in the vanguard of the Eager 11 (E11) assault is not required. In the minds of many Barbadians Stuart’s inaction to deal with the E11 affair agrees with a widely held view that he is not a leader.

Some who read the tea leaves maybe intrigued that Prime Minister Stuart waited almost one year to the day to make a decisive statement about the E11 affair. Perhaps the Prime Minister is readying the party for election battle by seeking to deflate this issue which is sure to raise its head on the election platform. Was he advised by Hartley Henry to be so bold as to address the issue? Perhaps Stuart appreciates the sandy political turf he will have to trod shortly and the appearance of a cohesive and united team more favourable weighs the scale then giving political fodder to the Opposition which ‘chopping of a head or heads” may cause. It is accepted that Prime Minister Stuart CANNOT ‘touch’ Minister Sinckler who CADRES has fingered as the most popular political personage in Barbados after Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley.

If Stuart has delayed disciplinary action because he believes it will disadvantage the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with a general election on the horizon – political pundits have revised the election date to 12 February 2013 –  can one say Stuart has compromised on the leadership position necessary to grow his stature as a fearless leader? Our history shows that Barbadians have an affinity for Prime Ministers who are not afraid to figuratively crush some political heads.

Stuart’s defenders may hasten to suggest that to project an image of DLP togetherness on the eve of a general election is a commonsense strategy. To speak to the issue now, Stuart has allowed the longest possible period to elapse to benefit from the 9-day memory of Barbadians to fully set.

There will also be the reference to the Mia Owen conflict to balance the argument. Arthur kicked Mia to the political curb but she has obviously retreated and decided to line up behind the party cause to ensure her political relevance. In the post Mia Arthur conflict he gets a few points for effectively stomping on the head of a strong challenger. Although the BLP platform cannot speak directly to this Arthur win, on every occasion Mia and Owen shares political space it will subliminally register in the minds of a politically savvy public that Arthur is the undisputed leader of the BLP.

Yes Mr. Prime Minister, it is the Yuletide Season but we are watching you!

1. @ Plastic Rain.
    Owen is being painted into a very very tight corner, the two walls are already rubbing against his ass.

Could christ plastic you killing me wif laugh this Friday night.ahhahahahaha

2. correction its Wednesday night plastic comment so hilarious it turn my head lol

3. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Enuff
    “That is their RIGHT as long as they are not distorting facts”

But they are distorting the facts. You read the lies that Pat Hoyos wrote about the Arthur administration paying bills for BNOCL and then the GM of BNOCL had to write the Nation the same week and state that Hoyos was basically lying or misleading the public and that BNOCL was forced to raise a bond and nearly went under.
    The only reason Hoyos wrote what was a blatant lie is that he wants to make the BLP look good. There is no reason why a supposedly senior business journalist would write something that is so obviously false.
    You have Mascoll basically writing a political ad and passing it off as a column on finance.
    Sanka Price can write about CLICO and never mentions the failure of the office of Supervisor of Insurance for which Owen Arthur was the line minister.
    If any DLP opposition leader was absenting himself from parliament for 4 and a half years while drawing a fat salary.Albert Brandford would be using his space on Sunday to expose that leader. But he does not touch Arthur,Why?

The columnists at the Nation are entitled to their own opinion but they are not entitled to their own FACTS.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

News from Jamaica
    (under Portia’s Government)

Chicken prices going up

Bus fares going up

Water rates going up

Fruit and vegetable prices are already through the roof

I do hope that Jamaicans are enjoying their change of Government!

5. This DLP Government will suffer a huge loss
    Elections in March 2013

6. St George's Dragon Avatar

An article about the Caribbean Development Bank said one Government is 180 days behind in its repayments – part of the reason why its credit rating has been downgraded. Is it Barbados?

7. Something's happening Avatar
    Something’s happening

ac | December 19, 2012 at 6:43 AM |
    Good mawning onions.yuh quiet as a church mouse.

ac how many spokespersons and messages the BLP using they confounding the public. Last week Onion was in the paper singing the praises of the QEH for saving his life the next week foul mouth Dugid the rolly polly is in the paper calling the QEH a cesspool. There is something about Dugid that’s sinister his squeaky high pitch voice is irritating.

8. Random thoughts we miss you where are YOU? Please come back to BU we need more sensible persons like you on BU. Pleeeze come back to BU. sniff sniff.

Bonnie gone and didn’t even say goodbye…Bonnie eff yuh reading dis Pleeze come back to us at BU, we loves yuh!

Scout are you still sulking? Man grow up and come back to BU. We miss you even though you are a sourpuss.

Onions pleeze keep staying away, you haven’t been missed as yet so stay just where you are!

Perlixing Pearlie…yuh still skiining yuh botsy at people? Be careful yuh might ketch cole in yuh poonkaloopsie!

Tecchie ….you have been too silent are you alive? We miss you too.

9. @ac

$187 million dollars from the sale of the BNB shares and the first thing they do is approve $28 million to be paid from that sale proceeds to Preconco for Valerie housing.

10. a rash ole joke.

11. @ St Georges
    The government of Grenada denied they are the culprit.

12. Rihanna’s grandmother? What about the late Dr. Dalton Durant, a radiologist? We have gone mad in this country.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The people of Bermuda have just elected a new Government.

The reasons for removing the old Government mirror the reasons Barbadians removed the Barbados Labour Party.

Corruption

Murky spending of taxpayers monies

Arrogance

Cronism

Nepotism

Lost touch with the people

Lack of accountability

Questionable spending of taxpayers monies on capital projects

Government Ministers living high off the hog while the people scrunting

Note this, they were in power for fourteen years just like the Barbados Labour Party. The people of Bermuda are now rejoicing.

14. IG246
    You can be anything on the Internet, J; Random Thoughts and Simple Simon, what do they have in common? They are all the same person, Onions must be thinking “how could she get away with it and I am here stewing?”

15. Rihanna’s grandmother?

Yes Enuff. who buying Oncology equipment?

In Canada people donate millions and get a wing named after a family member.

16. islandgal246

Bonny died last year … I thought you knew… I feel Scout ketch the same bus too …
    You want Random come back ’cause they women ’bout hey getting scarce .. HA HA HA

Octopussy

Tell me sweet heart, you really got eight …? HA HA HA HA

17. HONESTY AND MORALS VS CORRUPTION Avatar
    HONESTY AND MORALS VS CORRUPTION

Let us not forget these guys .

During the 2011 Budget debate Owen Arthur tried to distance himself from the stench surrounding the arrangements for the new prison built under his reign. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and Finance Minister

or

.Outburst by William Duguid in Barbados Parliament .

or

First we were treated to the xenophobic outbursts of Owen Arthur during the January by election. Now another of Mr. Arthur’s loyal and progressive henchmen lets us into the racist ideology underpinning

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

Your list of offences posted at 9:29 yesterday applies equally to both BLP and DLP. The only difference is that it took the BLP 14 years to achieve but the DLP took five years to achieve the same level of nastiness. You are really making out a case for the removal of the DLP from office: you are not helping your cause.

19. Think on these Things Avatar
    Think on these Things

Frankly speaking Caswell you have no credibility to speak on these matters someone who’s was charged in the law courts for theft and someone who has no record of being gainfully employed for any period of time, for some one who has been fired from every job ever given to you, for someone who touts himself as the leader of of a Union of ONE 1 person, is either grossly ignorant, or grossly misled about your self importance or just Gross all round.

Not a soul in the present government, this distinction is that of Arthur alone and like you Caswell he should be charged with theft can be accused or proven to have demanded to be paid $ 1,000,000,00 yes one million dollars for their signature to approve a Town and Country Planning Permission for Mr Salt at Portico St James.

20. You can always tell when I hit a nerve; the fools come out attack me in order to silence me. That tactic might work with someone else but if you like spitting in the wind please continue.

By the way, I realise that you know of Portico. My advice to you is that you should concentrate your efforts there. You might get results there: you certainly would get none trying to attack me. Water off the duck’s back.

21. Think on these Things Avatar
    Think on these Things

No I would expect it would be water off a crooks back, after all anyone who would steal a vehicle does not exactly instill honesty to any discussion.

22. Think on these Things Avatar
    Think on these Things

Also to birds of a feather flock together very much like crooks and thieves would do, so no wonder you jump to Arthur’s defence on Corruption charges in the hope he would jump to yours on thef charges.

Tell the public why your dear friend Arthur refused to attend Parliament to debate the Prevention of Corruption Bill or after having misspoken in your party on the matter of Tourism to have offered a half a billion dollars to hotel owners why he did not see it fit to attend Parliament to debate the White Paper on Tourism ?

What interest, if any does your party have in this country other than wanting to rape it again ?

23. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

I have heard from all of the DEMS that “the worst international recession in 100 years” has stopped them from thinking, planning, and executing ways to manage Barbados. I guess that when Moodys says “the country’s growth prospects remain very limited due to its deteriorating competitiveness and declining productivity coupled with heavy dependence on tourism,” they are in fact saying that it is the policies pursued or not pursued by the DLP, the things done or not done by the DLP administration, and the willingness to make or not make decisions by the Prime Minister are the biggest obstacles to Barbados’ recovery. Am I not right that we in Barbados need to rid ourselves of the DEMS forthwith?

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party’s options are so limited that they had to return to the dump heap AND RAKE BACK UP SEETHRU.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just like in Barbados, following the massive defeat of the Barbados Labour Party, the leader of the Bermuda PLP Paula Cox has resigned as Party leader(for now), lets just see if she returns to wrestle the leadership from the new Party leader some time in the future just like SEETHRU did here in Barbados.

These fourteen year Governments are something else. Tiefing bad.

26. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

The silly thing is that the DEMS are more concerned and worried about Owen Arthur than on the downward trajectory of the Barbados economy or the increased levels of poverty negatively impacting on the overall standard of living in Barbados. The DLP’s weekly column is clear evidence of an administration focusing on the wrong things at the wrong time and which are sure to produce the wrong results for suffering individuals, businesses, and men and women who are joining unemployment lines almost as fast as the government is either borrowing or printing money. What a shame: Let us get rid of the DEMS in 2013!

27. Here we are facing the most parlous of times and we can’t prioritised the issues which would drive ideas to the fore. Many of the exchanges on BU simply reflect current realities.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cayman Islands cabinet ministers to be expelled from party

Caribbean News Now contributor

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands — Following the removal of Cayman Islands Premier McKeeva Bush from office in a vote of no confidence on Tuesday afternoon, the five members of the ruling United Democratic Party (UDP) that voted with the opposition to oust Bush have now been threatened with expulsion from their party on the grounds of “undesirable conduct”.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is how you deal with crooks.

We in Barbados can only dream.

That new “Hilton Hotel” in St. Phillip should have populated with so many BLP people.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Why dont you and Adrian Loveridge join a political party and offer yourselves as candidates in the upcoming elections?

You all are so full of answers!

What an awesome place Barbados will be with the two of you in Parliament. But then again it is much easier to hide and snipe at others.

31. George C. Brathwaite your Phd translates to Positive Half Dummy. The puerile rubbish you trot out make nicompoops blush. The BLP start the weed whacker empowerment of the block boys with Project Oasis. Your partner in irrelevance the traitor Malik wid Teet could fill in the details.

32. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Thanks Certify, greatly appreciated.

33. Since it seems to be accepted that FS will go down to the wire in calling the election and that this translates to some sort of genius at work. Could someone tell me how the new moody downgrade will work in his favour in justifying the late call of the elections? Has he muzzled the AX teachers or bought out Broomes? Will he conclude the CLICO giveaways before the elections, etc. etc.?

34. Carson C. Cadogan how come after 5 years in office the DLP has not laid any charges against, as you call it, the corrupt BLP officials and friends?

it is really amazing the shite you want Bajans to believe. meantime, you comment on all kinds of things but not ones that matter, kind of like the DLP you support. Moody’s just downgrade Barbados to JUNK, confirming S&P JUNK rating and i don’t believe will hear a word from official. well no words that will try to ease Bajan’s fears.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Checkit-Out

You asked some very good questions. My information suggests that: the Ministry of Education is currently looking around for schools to place Abena Williams and Vernell Woods; Broomes will be placed on special leave, even though they know that they have no legal authority to do so. They anticipate that he would go to court and because our courts are notoriously slow, the matter would be drawn out long enough for him to reach retirement age; and Joy Gittens would become Principal of Alexandra School to compensate her for being overlooked for the post of Deputy Chief Education Officer in favour of former BUT President Karen Best.

36. but Caswell Franklyn here is a million dollar question, when will Mr. Broomes reach retirement age? if you know the answer to that, than you will see how much of a waste the $600K was.

37. David (not BU)
    Could it be within the next year?

38. The JUNK I have to read just to get some substance. I believe too many of us are too touchy and MOODY….Pun imtented

39. David (Not BU)

I think that Broomes will be 59 years old on Christmas Day. But let me share with you how the experts at delay function in our system by citing the example of the Winton Campbell case against the Government.

The case was filed on October 19, 1992
    The hearing was completed on December 5, 1995.
    Mr. Justice Frederick Waterman delivered the judgment on December 4, 1998.
    Campbell filed his appeal on December 23, 1998.
    The Appeal was heard on October 22 & 23, 2002 and January 30 & 31, 2003.
    The Court of Appeal delivered its judgment on June 26, 2007.
    The CCJ gave its judgment on April 3, 2009.

Campbell’s case took 17 years to get through the system: Broomes has only six years to retirement.

40. Checkit-Out like he know some thing

41. oh dear me… lol!!!

42. David; Nice Video, in every respect!!

43. RE Roverp | December 21, 2012 at 11:31 AM |
    The JUNK I have to read just to get some substance. I believe too many of us are too touchy and MOODY….Pun imtented

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT SIR

44. That video was designed and produced by a White owned and operated advertising agency. Let’s face it. There is motive here and it is NOT upfront

45. It is amazing how in a few short weeks, the pendulum that had started to ever so slightly swing towards the DLP’s side has. Now reversed swing as if pulled/pushed.

Winning this election will call for skillful surgical communication, messaging and capitalising on every good while sweeping every bad under the rug. The DLP seems to have run out of rugs.

The stink bomb that is AX, the whoopee cushion that is CLICO and now the stinkweed delivered by Moody’s. Consumer spending down, tourism uncertain and uncharted and a MoF that says the downgrade is “no surprise.”. No surprise about low productivity, rising debt, decreased competitiveness and zero prospects for robust growth. Yet we’re still trying to shout a rally cry of “adequate foreign reserves” and “containing the physical deficit”

Heading into 2013 we’re strategically and politically the same place where we were at the start of 2012. Not good for the DLP.

Just observing

46. OBSERVING
    —————————-
    WHAT pendulum swinging what DLP side what ? when , where –stupse ! Never happened.
    You hard ears people dont understand that the Pendulum swung against the DLP eversince. I have told you that the word on the ground was/is that this DLP Government has failed and that people were ready to vote dem out. The people have decided that Freundel Stuart is not the leader they want. Every other potential leader is preferred. Cadres polls aint telling lies, Bajans have traditionally voted for a leader , the one who commands the greatest attention at the time. Freundel Stuart by his handling of the eager 11 demonstrates that he is not the leader and the DLP is a joke because it says that if they cant find someone better that Stuart, they aint saying a ping nor a pang ! —and this is only one example !-Get real !

I have said then and I will say now that the result of the next election is

BLP= 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT – 1 SEAT

Some ass called me a buffoon, two or so weeks ago and said that I had stopped with posting my result for the next election and he seemed to suggest that I was forced to do so. Do I have to say this everyday. I said it already and I have not or will not retract it. By the way the , the electorate will decide but the people have made up their minds

CALL THE FRIGGIN ELECTIONS !
    January 25 th 2013
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW
    WHAT YUH WAITING FOR, THE WORLD TO COME TO AN END ??
    WELL IT CAME AND WENT
    CALL ELECTIONS NOW

47. @just asking
    Lol. Ya hafta admit d muddle message on privitisation followed up by passing IL and the belated White Paper were politically good moves. Have to aggree with you though that the pendulum hasn’t shifted to their side and there are too many forces that will push it even further.

Never know though, Freundel might pull a rabbit or a horse out of his hat. Lol.

48. yes George Brathwaite !
    We need to get of the DEMS
    Bajans took things for granted in 2008 and voted foolishly.
    I remember Owen Arthur warning Bajans that tough times were ahead and that they should not tinker with the idea of change that the DLP were pushing.
    At Bay Street, the night before the election, Arthur asked the question: “Change to what and for what ?”

AND Daid Ellis say he aint know about that ???

JUST ASKING

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply