Image credit: BBC News - CLICK ON IMAGE TO WATCH VIDEO
Image credit: BBC News – CLICK ON IMAGE TO WATCH VIDEO

“Two British women who were raped within days of each other in Barbados say they are convinced the man who has been charged is not their attacker. Researcher Dr Rachel Turner, from Hertfordshire, and Diane Davies, from Anglesey, in north Wales, were attacked on a beach in Holetown St James in October 2010.

Barbadian Derick Crawford, 47, has been charged but both women, who have waived their right to anonymity, told BBC Breakfast’s Bill Turnbull and Louise Minchin why they believe he is innocent. They say he is much younger than the man who raped them. Both women hope the case will be dropped at the next hearing on Thursday.”

Read full BBC Report

1. What is also extremely disturbing is the length of time the Police has been waiting on the DNA results, twenty months!

As Royalrumble would say – where is the outrage?

What is our AG saying?

What is the shadow minister Dale Marshall sayings?

It is Christmas and one would have thought an excellent time for NGOs to speak to this issue. One that should resonate with Christians.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-20515608

BU will comeback to this matter after the holidays.

Perhaps Carl Moore instead of wasting his 600 words promoting books of Si Carlisle and Harold Hoyte, here is a more worthwhile issue. But we know he is part of the establishment!

2. @Inkwell “The question needs to be asked and an answer demanded. How do the police get a man who is innocent to confess to a serious crime like rape?”

I expect that they got the confession by bullying, and beating.

But isn’t that how we all get our own way?

Isn’t the use of browbeating, bullying, beating and torture wide-spread at homes, schools, and workplaces WORLDWIDE?

The POLICE ARE JUST LIKE US.

We raised them.

We raised them in our homes, our communities, our schools, our churches.

The police are not little green men from Mars.

THEY ARE US.

3. simple Simon that is not the answer . people asked question to fix or to rectify a problem. not to be given generalities as reason for the problem.

4. It may not be the answer, but it is the TRUTH.

TRUTH is often painful.

Can’t bear to look in the mirror, can we?

The police do the dirty work for us because we want it so, and then they come home and sit at our dining tables, and we embrace them in our beds at nights, and then we go to church on Saturdays or Sundays and say “Glory Hallelujah.”

5. Shut up ac
    Simple Simon gave the precise answer.
    She even answered Inkwell’s questions about what will happen….

Apart from the Blogs…..not one ask…..

6. When Davies and Turner were in Barbados did they visit the Police Complaints Authority? Another ineffective government agency.

7. What disappoints Bushie about you David, is the fact that after five years of in depth exposure to the realities of 21st century life issues via BU, you have not yet seen the FUTILITY of the whole exercise.

…as a wise man once said of it…, “All is vanity”

When you get around to accepting this futility, Bushie will be happy to outline the REAL good news (gospel) about living in Barbados in these times…. 🙂

8. bush tea ! but how does one correct a problem is pertinent to the question RELATING to the problem which means asking relative questions and thorough investigation . we all know what simple simons said. however that doe not correct the problem!

9. The Anti-American try speaking ’bout the Police Complaints Authority and the Office of Professional Responsibility and he get cut all four times … I glad, ha ha. Who de hell he t’ink he is trying to expose the futility of censoring police action in Barbados, pun an establishment media house pun top ah that.

BTW, Inkwel, Royal Rumble, brings back memories … Wah happen to Rumpelstiltskin … and Scout …? Wah happen to Scout …?

10. I believe it was around 1978 while attending a political meeting in River road, near the then Rediffusion building, Errol Barrow said as a practicing
    attorney he discovered; the cops who beat the crap out of the suspects would then not take the statement. Thus, when the question was raised during the trial, the officer giving evidence could deny ever laying a finger on the accuse.
    Did our national hero put measures in place to prevent events such as what we’re discussing from occurring…
    How about erecting statues of these two ladies…
    My fellow Bajan men, here are two ladies with BALLS much larger than yours

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 14, 2012 at 7:31 AM |

We notice there is a marked absence of input from your regular backers on this topic.
    What has become of your loyal band of windbags and yardfowls like CCC, Fractured BLP, BLPNationNewspaper, To the Point and more recently Amazing?

Ac, who are you going to blame for the disgustingly embarrassing turn of events? Are you going to blame the BLP or even the international recession?

This country is now the laughing stock in the British media. How can a country boast of so many so-called educated people allow its judiciary and law enforcement agencies to sink to such a low level and to lose respect and confidence of the people? What has gone wrong?

If these incompetents don’t resign or are fired by the powers-that-be, then it’s time this administration act by firing itself. Let them announce the date of elections early in the new year by January 04, 2013 as a new(s) year gift to the nation.

12. ac
    When you read back your last post you will no doubt see that you are making no sense. However, even you must know that the VERY FIRST step in addressing any problem is understanding the root cause.
    EVERYBODY and their cousins know of the dirty linen of police confessions. Every lawyer knows In even more graphic detail.
    YOU THINK THE COMMISSIONER DON’T KNOW?
    YOU THINK THE AG DON’T KNOW?
    …well it is possible that the PM does not know…. 🙂
    …and it seems that the CJ still trying to come to grips with the fact that he actually has a big job….
    BUT EVERYONE ELSE KNOWS…
    ….and we accept the situation because, as SS says, it is who we are.

Now if we just fire the COP, what would make his successor any better? …Hell, he/she may be worse (especially if it is a SHE 🙂 )
    The solutions needs to go to the HEART of the problem – A CHANGE OF CULTURE.

To achieve such a change, we will need a RADICAL change in leadership AND in leadership STYLE. ..a new way of doing things.

The solution is OBVIOUS!!!

1-CASWELL, BAFBFP (or the Anti-Americam would do too…), David, Islandgal and some others get together and launch the Barbados Unity Party (BUP)
    2-The party identifies 30 mass based community leaders and appoint them as the NSC (National Supervisory Committee)
    3- the NSC advertises for a PM and for potential managers of Government Business and interviews qualified applicants
    4- Thirty successful candidates are entered in the constituencies during the next elections. Each candidate is REQUIRED to sign an undated letter of resignation to be held by the NSC.
    5- The NSC endorses the candidates and encourages the support of their various organizations.
    5- Once BUP wins a majority of the seats, the successful interviewees are appointed to manage Government business

Conclusion and Analysis
    We would have competent managers of Government business in position
    We will have a POWERFUL NSC with bite to oversee issues of GOVERNANCE
    We will have the immediate power to deal with poor performance, unprofessional behavior, dishonesty etc
    Issues like AX, sickening Law Courts, out-of-control police will be quickly addressed by professional managers.

…this is THE way to privatize Barbados.

13. Whitehill

Dem two ladies get rape. They got their dignity huffed just so. They have nothing to lose now. That is not balls, that is a normal human response to a sickening series of events.

Balls is taking on a system that has provided much comfort for oneself in a way that changes it for the better, even at one’s own expense. Did Barrow have balls …?

The problem with Barrow is that he knew all of the ills of society and had the ability to eloquently describe them, but he chose not to venture too far in fixing them.

14. Plausible deniability is a phrase the Americans use

15. Bush Tea Bush Tea Bush Tea

You assuming that people like me likes to among the masses … To be involved with public life and to be good at it (like Hammie) you need to have a genuine concern for the well being of People. Me … I ain’ all dah enamored by them, hear. I jus’ don’ feel the luv …! But true I do want to have institutions work and work properly and I am very much opposed to blatant exploitation of the ignorant … But nope … no luv, sorry …!

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

The two rapes and release of Mr. Crawford has just been broadcast as the lead story on BBC World Service. Can you imagine how many MILLIONS of people have now heard about this?

17. @Adrian, Baffy

Didn’t the CoP publicly declare when this story brought 3 or 4 weeks ago that the Police had overwhelming proof against Crawford?

18. Another thing: today’s Nation refers to Andrew Pilgrim giving an exclusive interview to the Nation. Why would he do this if true?

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | December 14, 2012 at 8:51 AM |

Yes, he did make that declaration. All the more reason (and proof) he should do the decent thing; with the DPP following suit.
    This country is just collapsing pillar by pillar. What has gone wrong with the nation? Seems as if God has given up his Bajan citizenship previously conferred upon him by a silly lot.

20. What are the BEST civil servants doing about this humiliating situation? Where is the PM on this? Where is the CJ for whom the laws were changed? There is a deafening silence! Where is the Minister of foreign affairs?

What has happened to the case of the female Jamaican drug mule who was raped while in custody? Now two more policemen are charged with rape and theft of visitors. It seems that we have a predatory problem in the civil service.

Isn’t it about time to start cleaning out the government closets? Who is in charge of this banana Republic?

21. Will there ever be an incident/situation that will cause Barbadians to rise from their slumber? Of course, if we gwine awake like a stupid lumbering giant; then, by all means sleep on. In our sleep we can dream that we are still the smartest and brightest, awake and be raped by a few schmucks that are our leaders who we repeatedly elect to be in that position.

22. Hands up who read today’s Nation editorial!

Here is a quote which floored BU, “It (judiciary) is sometimes under attack, and unfairly so, for the length of time it may take to get some matters heard or the number of adjournments given before a matter is finally disposed of.” Well doggone it!

23. I repeat
    IN BARBADOS NO OFFICIAL IS HELD TO ACCOUNT FOR ANYTHING!
    Don’t you get it?

24. There is a symbiotic relationship between the Police and the Prosecutors, the Police arrest and lay the charges and the DPP’s department prosecute. They have their own “don’t ask don’t tell” when it comes to how evidence is procured. The DPP or his department are not going to go out and criticise the Police otherwise they will work to rule when it comes to arrest and detention and we would have thrown out the baby with the bathwater.

Taped confessions are a good idea but that wouldn’t stop the Police from taking a suspect out on some cart road as they did years ago to “soften” him up. More recently in Chicago many people confessed to crimes that they were innocent of because of relentless Police questioning and they have “taped” interviews and confessions.

As to the role of the CJ, it is a Judicial precept that Judges do not discuss/comment on any issue that is before the Courts, Judges never tell Prosecutors whom to prosecute, they consider the evidence presented and provide their rulings.

Are changes needed? A few months ago a Policeman was the subject of Internal discipline and he threatened to expose the wiretapping of Bajans that the Police was engaged in, suddenly the charges disappeared into the ether, Bajans should be worried about that.

25. This issue about DNA is a CYA moment, I don’t think any DNA sample was requested you don’t need DNA if a confession is at hand. They thought the victims would show up and accept their evidence and PRESTO another felon behind bars.

One more thing who was this man’s lawyer? If he was so convinced of his innocence why wouldn’t he demand a DNA test?

26. bushie what does not make sense is you taking a complex situation which is obvious in need of radical change and compartamentalising it .the fact still remains in order to separte “goat from sheep” a stand must be taken and it starts with “we the people”whose voices must be heard asking questions and seeking answer and not just a “laisserfaire ” approach or simplifying these matters as to what society has become as a whole..

27. Sargeant

“One more thing who was this man’s lawyer? If he was so convinced of his innocence why wouldn’t he demand a DNA test?”

Asked the same question to myself … Andrew Pilgrim is the lawyer. If the DNA was available as the police claimed could something not have been worked out in advance that would save time and expense …?

28. @ BAFBFP
    ….what lawyer what?!?
    He only got interested after a rich woman offered to pay….
    …and his comments afterwards focused on the “bravery of his clients” (the women WHO PAID HIM) and not on the gross injustice to the innocent man…..
    His lack of outrage was notable to Bushie…… Obviously a consequence of being a regular participant in the warped process.

….and those three women are no “brave heroes”. They are just regular, mature adults accustomed to behaving like mature adults in a mature society. they are certainly not “donkey lickers” like most Bajans are….
    Just like Clement Payne had to come from Trinidad to open our foolish eyes, these ladies had to come all the way from England to do the same thing in 2012….

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

In an interview carried on the BBC International Diane Davies made the local police look like a bunch of bungling bumbling fools.
    According to her the only evidence the police used to charge and remand Mr. Crawford was that he fit the description of the rapist given by the victims.
    This certainly doesn’t square with what the two ladies were saying about the description given of the real rapist. The two ladies flatly refused to identify or finger poor Mr. Crawford as the man who raped them. According to them the description of the rapist given to the police was certainly not even a close fit of Mr. Crawford’s physique, or appearance or age.
    As Amused pointed out this scandal will have serious ramifications for Barbados as a safe and reliable destination as long as the real rapist is still at large.

We shall await the response of the CoP and indeed the AG.

It seems that our poor Cinderella industry has lost both crystal slippers on the way to the local ball aptly called: “The Coming Winter Tourist Season – One Slip and We Gone”.

30. Bush

I agree …

31. Andrew Pilgrim “I hate to bring it back to dollars and cents but … somebody got to pay, somebody got to pay for what has happened …!” (Source CBC News HA HA HA)

Andrew with respect, shut to f#ck up …! Your mantra should have been …”Fire Somebody Please!” …. With respect …!

32. Has the Chairman of the Police Complaints Authority been driven to make a statement on this matter yet? A complaint was lodged with his office? Another toothless agency?

http://www.amnation.com/vfr/archives/021095.html

33. Perhaps while the present administration is on their crusade renaming everything that is nailed down , they should give some thought to renaming this once beautiful island BARKBADOS, cause sure as hell it is slowly going to the dogs.
    What a pity that we are not located in Africa or Central America.

34. BU is pleasantly surprised to read that President of the Bar Andrew Pilgrim has added his voice, albeit late, to a call for Commissioner Dottin to go! He also called for AG Adreil Brathwaite to get involved (whistling in the wind)

President of the Bar Association of Barbados, Andrew Pilgrim, believes that if Commissioner of Police, Darwin Dottin, does not properly investigate the case of former rape accused, Derick Crawford, he needs to go.
    In addition, Pilgrim suggested that Dottin should come forward and make a statement on the issue, while Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite needs to get involved in the case.
    Pilgrim offered these suggestions earlier today while speaking to the Press at his office on Whitepark Road, the City, following the acquittal of Crawford at the Holetown Magistrates Court yesterday.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2012/12/14/speak-mr-commissioner/

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | December 15, 2012 at 11:43 AM |

He should have also called for the head of the DPP who took on such a ‘weak’ case in the first instance with obvious contradicting evidence and its high profile potentially negative international implications.
    Until he does that, one can only conclude that he does not want to offend a “friend”.

Just one big concoction making poor Bim look real bad. They say when a man down on the ground he is kicked by all even his former so called friends and even family.

36. @miller

Perhaps the DDP will say that he was given an air tight case by the COP.

37. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

I apologize to the citizens of Great Britain at the beginning of this comment.

Two white women get rape in Barbados and the great luminary Andrew Pilgrim rush to dem defense.

A black woman get rape by two policemen in Paynes Bay and dem threaten to kill she if she talk and tell she nuh body en gine give she nuh justice against dem

i doan see he, dis knight is shining armour, Pilgrim, nor de Police Complaints Authority nor none of wunna “how bad dis mekking Bim look to de mudder cuntry” town criers and soothsayers getting up and striking unna chest bout “de indignity of it all”

De Jamaican Girl get feel up and de same righteous soothsayers say dat she is a hoare so dat pus*y fingering “is par fuh de course” but two white ummen get some mandingo doggie in a cuntry where “all unna black people look alike, wid sprawl out noses” and all uh we crying “fire de Commissioner” and de DPP.

Whu from how dat BAFBFP talking en ting i would feel dat Darwin was de one to do de dastardly deed. Mr Dottin sir where was you de night of de incident??

No similar support for our own damsels who getting rape by known suspects no sah, dere is no similar righteous indignation.

Let the same alacrity that is extended to these white women by the “hang them at dawn crew’ be employed when our own black girls (and illegal guyanese denizens) get unfair in similar circumstances

38. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

You are correct that we tend to show outrage by events which tend to expose our psychology/history. It is what it is.

39. An update to this story:

A grandmother who battled to clear the name of her accused rapist has vowed to keep fighting until the real attacker is brought to justice.

Derick Crawford walked free from court in Barbados on Thursday having been charged with raping two British women in separate attacks on the island two years ago.

Diane Davies from Anglesey and Dr Rachel Turner from Hertfordshire bravely waived their anonymity and helped organise Crawford’s defence costs to prevent “a terrible miscarriage of justice”.

Read more: Wales Online http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/2012/12/15/barbados-rapes-welsh-victim-calls-for-police-to-find-the-real-attacker-91466-32430535/#ixzz2F962GWr8

http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/2012/12/15/barbados-rapes-welsh-victim-calls-for-police-to-find-the-real-attacker-91466-32430535/

40. Is this CoP for real? What case study what?

Case study

COMMISSIONER OF POLICE Darwin Dottin (File Picture)
    By Dawne Parris | Tue, December 18, 2012 – 12:11 AM

COMMISSIONER OF POLICE Darwin Dottin will today begin a series of meetings with officials within and outside the Police Force before speaking publicly on the dismissal of two rape cases against a man whose British “victims” had insisted on his innocence.

But the police chief said that the dismissal of the charges did not prove the innocence of former double-rape accused Derick David Rudolph Crawford, who now wants to sue the state for malicious prosecution and false imprisonment.

Dottin has also defended the overall competence of investigators.

It was last Thursday that Crawford, who was charged with raping researcher Dr Rachel Turner and retired teacher Diane Davies in separate incidents in October 2010, had his cases dismissed.

41. I am convinced that Dottin and some of his people are suffering from amnesia. He needs to retire FORTHWITH! What is he waiting for?

42. Two women were raped. The rapist has not been caught.The complainants are cooperative.

Commissioner please put together a team of detectives to investigate. You have to be completely devoid of intelligence not to do this.

43. @ Hants
    “You have to be completely devoid of intelligence not to do this.”
    DUH!

44. Perhaps, and this is just a perhaps, Commissioner may have to send a couple of his sleuths to interrogate the Britishers again?

45. Commissioner Dottin, the recent statements that you have made are an EMBARRASSMENT!! to this country’s good name, and by extension that of the RBPF. RESIGN!!!!

46. Taken from FB

Bajan Scorpian Small
    Son just saw a man dressed in all black by a track where an elderly lady lives alone, when my son saw him he shouted at him, the man tell my son ‘just keep walking’ Some one enlighten me, is 211 not the Police emergency number?????
    So why is that I am calling it at 10.40p and no one is answering the phone I am still waiting 5 minutes later, further 5 minutes and someone finally answers and sounds annoyed that I disturbed them……stupes.
    Like · · Follow Post · 14 hours ago near Bridgetown

Marva Lashley-Todd……. I had to call them tonight too and the phone rang off and I called back again. I was on Lower Broad St and a minibus B169 Hillaby came around by COB and stop. Some people ran out and then I saw people fighting. The bus then came around to the front of the Mutual Building and the people were throwing bottles and still fighting. I had to call twice…totally ridiculous!
    13 hours ago · Like · 1
    Bajan Scorpian …..Small that’s why we pay taxes??????
    13 hours ago · Like · 2
    Ruby Niles ……Scorps this is the kinda stuff (people lurking and talking bout ‘keep walking’) that makes me stay home TOO much.. And Toddie, I thought there was supposed to be heavy police presence at Xmas time. tsk tsk. Wunnah int realize wunnah either wake up …See More
    2 hours ago · Edited · Like · 1
    Bajan Scorpian ………Small what made me pissed da police ask me ‘so what u want us do patrol the area????? that’s ya job right????? stupes
    6 hours ago · Like · 2
    Bajan Scorpian…… Small That’s why I have very little respect for them, they are in a job where they really could not careless until pay day and the gall to be asking for more money
    6 hours ago · Like

Leave a Reply to PeltdownmanCancel reply